March 28, 2024, 08:30:34 AM

Author Topic: CAC Games Thread  (Read 21164 times)

Re: Makeshift T&T football team for CAC Games
« Reply #30 on: November 17, 2014, 06:55:26 PM »
How come the women wearing addidas and not Joma?

TTOC wears adidas so they are part of the TTOC contingent.

« Reply #31 on: November 17, 2014, 11:00:55 PM »
For a makeshift team, they did ok. Or were they training in secret and we did not know.

Yes good result for this team  :applause:

I hope this result will give them more motivation

« Reply #32 on: November 18, 2014, 07:29:59 AM »
Apparently Haiti only had 11 players available for de match. Two of their goalkeepers played as midfielders/forwards.

« Reply #33 on: November 18, 2014, 09:52:23 AM »
Fuentes also has the match starting at 10 am. It started at 12.

http://uk.women.soccerway.com/matches/2014/11/17/world/cac-games-women/haiti/trinidad-and-tobago/1966855/

Again, it's an open tournament for the women led by Rajesh Latchoo, not "Rajeezh Latchoo".

Express, Newsday and Guardian all had the same untouched press release.

And this man is de official press officer.

So Rajesh went from indian to spanish.

Offline presspass

« Reply #34 on: November 18, 2014, 09:58:31 AM »

http://uk.women.soccerway.com/matches/2014/11/17/world/cac-games-women/haiti/trinidad-and-tobago/1966855/

Again, it's an open tournament for the women led by Rajesh Latchoo, not "Rajeezh Latchoo".

Yuh want to get in trouble wit d bossman owa. He is the Director of Communications! And you can spot him from far away with that massive ego!

« Last Edit: November 18, 2014, 10:24:49 AM by Flex »

« Reply #35 on: November 18, 2014, 10:25:49 AM »

Yuh want to get in trouble wit d bossman owa. He is the Director of Communications! And you can spot him from far away with that massive ego!

Yuh eh see how long de man beak getting. Like he does real dig he nose.

« Reply #36 on: November 18, 2014, 10:39:01 PM »
Mexico and Colombia also drew 1-1 in the group.

« Reply #37 on: November 19, 2014, 02:52:16 PM »
T&T starting XI vs Mexico:
Tenesha Palmer (GK), Taylor Mims, Jonelle Warrick, JoMarie Lewis, Abishai Guy, Chelcy Ralph, Candace Edwards, Natasha St. Louis, Iyesha Ollivierre, Anastascia Prescott, Danielle Findley
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 02:56:06 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #38 on: November 19, 2014, 03:33:46 PM »

Go for the win ladies !  :beermug:

« Reply #39 on: November 19, 2014, 03:58:51 PM »
Mexico 1 vs T&T 0
Corral 45'

« Reply #40 on: November 19, 2014, 04:06:18 PM »
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 07:05:31 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #41 on: November 19, 2014, 04:53:26 PM »
FINAL: Mexico Women whipped T&T 6-0 at the Central American and Caribbean Games in Veracruz, Mexico today. Goals were scored by Charlyn Corral (45’, 55’, 64’, 70’), Maribel Domínguez (46’), and Carolina Jaramillo (60’).

Offline presspass

« Reply #42 on: November 21, 2014, 12:00:02 PM »
T&T's women's team closed its account at the CAC Games with a 7-0 loss to Colombia in the third and final  group stage match.

Colombia 7 (Katherine Arias 6th, Diana Ospina 16th pen, Iyesha Ollivierre own goal 32nd, Ingrid Vidal 33rd, Katerin Castro 77th, 79th, Hazleydi Rincon 90th+3) v T&T 0

This follows a 1-1 draw with Haiti and a 6-0 loss to Mexico.

Tough, but Mexico and Colombia went to win. Team T&T went for exposure and experience. 

« Reply #43 on: November 21, 2014, 02:54:27 PM »
International opportunities are so few and far between one can't fault that exposure plan. They still have classification matches to play.

« Reply #44 on: November 21, 2014, 03:10:30 PM »
It is obvious the WC game next  2 weeks had an effect on which team would be at this CAC. Had they qualified for the WC, they could have used the WC to get added match practice. And I am certain  that  they would not have been beaten so badly. But this is also experience the "2nd team" will have gained.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2014, 03:12:27 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #45 on: November 21, 2014, 03:50:37 PM »
HIGHLIGHTS of Colombia Women’s 7-0 thrashing of T&T.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/un2R1nXwyPI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/un2R1nXwyPI</a>

« Reply #46 on: November 21, 2014, 06:18:31 PM »
It's one thing to say that participating in this tournament gives the participants experience, but it's another thing to apply a structure to build on them having gone. If we didn't know before, the evidence in the video confirms/demonstrates that we are significantly further off than building on mere experience. If we are to bridge the gap between the WNT and the next wave of players, a full court press has to take place right now. Essentially the U-12s to U-16s (at home and abroad) are real crucial for focus. My fear is we have a void following this WNT, and a long period in the wilderness unless the WNT prevails and stays in the mix for a while.

« Reply #47 on: November 21, 2014, 08:18:08 PM »
Who paying Latchoo for this mission? Or is this voluntarism for "the experience" too?  :P
« Last Edit: November 21, 2014, 08:23:52 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #48 on: November 21, 2014, 09:55:38 PM »
My fear is we have a void following this WNT, and a long period in the wilderness unless the WNT prevails and stays in the mix for a while.

Our U-20 team is a decent crop of young ladies, but if we not keeping dem active, we go suffer.

« Reply #49 on: November 22, 2014, 06:23:22 AM »
My fear is we have a void following this WNT, and a long period in the wilderness unless the WNT prevails and stays in the mix for a while.

Our U-20 team is a decent crop of young ladies, but if we not keeping dem active, we go suffer.

Dahis good to hear. Aside from technical ability, work ethic is a concern I've heard aired regarding the understudies.

I suppose the issue is how much time they have before they get tossed in at the deep end to replace the preceding generation. There should be a buffer U-23 group.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #50 on: November 22, 2014, 08:24:00 AM »

Dahis good to hear. Aside from technical ability, work ethic is a concern I've heard aired regarding the understudies.

I suppose the issue is how much time they have before they get tossed in at the deep end to replace the preceding generation. There should be a buffer U-23 group.

True. But I don't expect a mass departure of players from the senior team once this campaign is over. From the information available the present womens senior team seems to be a relatively young group , averaging about 25 yrs I would estimate, so I would expect many of them to be around for at least another WC campaign to form the core around which a team inclusive of new, younger players can be developed.

Re: Women Warriors Thread
« Reply #51 on: June 06, 2018, 12:40:58 AM »
T&T Women and Men’s teams get CAC Games Groupings.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team will come up against Mexico, Haiti and Nicaragua in Group B of the Women’s football tournament at the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Barranquilla, Colombia in July.

T&T will face Mexico in their opening match on July 20th at the Estadio Moderno Julio Torres. They then face Nicaragua on July 22nd and Haiti on July 24th. Group A comprises of Costa Rica, hosts Colombia, Venezuela and Jamaica. The Group winners and runners up will advance to the semi finals. The Gold Medal and Bronze Medal matches are scheduled for July 30th.

T&T Women’s head coach Jamaal Shabazz said these matches would be ideal for his players to challenge themselves against good quality opposition and will serve well ahead of the CONCACAF Caribbean Final Round of World Cup qualifiers in August.

“These matches in the CAC Games are providing  a great opportunity for us to measure where we are at CONCACAF level,” Shabazz told TTFA Media.

“In football you cannot elevate by being a blogger. You improve by raising your standard when you meet tougher opposition. Mexico, Nicaragua and Haiti are certainly tougher opposition but we are ambitious enough to at least desire a medal in this CAC games. Allahu ‘Alim and God knows best,” Shabazz continued.

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 20 team will also appear at the CAC Games and are in Group A alongside Colombia, Costa Rica and Honduras. The Men’s tournament is for under 21 players with teams allowed three players over the age of 21. T&T will face Honduras on July 20th at the Rogelio Martinez Stadium in Barranquilla, followed by Costa Rica on July 22nd and Colombia on July 24th. Group B comprises Mexico, Venezuela, El Salvador and Haiti. The Gold and Bronze Medal matches are scheduled for July 31st. The T&T U-20 Men’s Team is preparing for the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

Re: CAC Games Thread
« Reply #52 on: June 06, 2018, 03:36:29 PM »
I am glad to see the TTFA giving these "small" tournaments some relevant importance. Next is Panam games and the Olympics. Baby-steps.

« Reply #53 on: June 24, 2018, 12:45:34 AM »
King to join T&T women’s team for CAC Games.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

EXPERIENCED central defender Arin King is set to join the T&T women’s football team for the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games, which will take place in Barranquilla, Colombia from July 19-30.

The T&T team have been drawn in Group B, where they will take on Mexico (July 20), Nicaragua (July 22) and Haiti (July 24). Group A will feature hosts Colombia, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Venezuela.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, slated for July 27, with the final, and third-place match, set for July 30.

T&T coach Jamaal Shabazz said in an interview on Thursday, “Arin King is supposed to come in by next week (to the training squad).”

King has been out of the T&T team for the past year due to injury.

Shabazz mentioned during the recent CONCACAF Women’s Championship Qualification (Caribbean Zone) Group C qualifiers that the T&T team will be using the CAC Games as preparation for the Caribbean Zone Final Round qualifiers, which will be contested in Jamaica from August 25 to September 2.

There is uncertainty over the status of veteran winger Kennya “Ya Ya” Cordner, who suffered an injury recently.

There are three newcomers in the training squad – winger Tori Romano, midfielder Meyah Romeo (both United States born) and winger Melissa Baynes (Canada-born).

“We have a couple foreign (born) players,” said Shabazz. “We have Tori Romano, she’s 15 years old and is more than a storm in a teacup. She’s quite a tinymite but more than a handful.

“Melissa Baynes also (chose) to come in on Saturday,” added the T&T women’s team coach.

National Under-17 striker Afiyah Cornwall is also in the training squad and Shabazz pointed out, “She’s settled down nice with the seniors.”

The former Guyana and T&T men’s team coach said, “The girls have been making a good effort, training four days a week. The younger ones have exams. So, we’re balancing between exams with some of the younger ones and new players coming in, who we’re looking at right now.”

National Under-20 midfielder Shenieka Paul is still recovering from a knee injury which forced her to miss the Caribbean Zone First Round qualifiers.

US-born utility player Liana Hinds also missed those Caribbean Zone matches due to injury. Shabazz said, “She’s expected to come in (to the training squad), in early July.”

« Reply #54 on: June 28, 2018, 12:47:34 AM »
T&T Under 20 Men step up preparations for CAC Games.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 Men’s Team is currently engaged in preparations for next month’s Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Colombia.

Head Coach Russell Latapy has been conducting sessions at the TTFA Home of Football with training shifting to the Larry Gomes Stadium on Friday. Among the players working under Latapy is T&T Senior Men’s team defender Triston Hodge one of the three players over the age of 21 who will be allowed to participate in the competition.

T&T in Group A alongside hosts Colombia, Costa Rica and Honduras. The Men’s tournament is for under 21 players with teams allowed three players over the age of 21. T&T will face Honduras on July 20th at the Rogelio Martinez Stadium in Barranquilla, followed by Costa Rica on July 22nd and Colombia on July 24th. Group B comprises Mexico, Venezuela, El Salvador and Haiti. The Gold and Bronze Medal matches are scheduled for July 31st.

T&T U-20 midfielder John Paul Rochford is anticipating the upcoming fixtures, saying that it would serve as worthwhile preparations for the CONCACAF U-20 World Cu qualifiers in Florida in November.

“Things are going along well. The team he (Latapy) has selected for the CAC games has the core of the squad that he wants to participate in the World Cup qualifiers in November. So once we stick together and continue training as a unit then we will be ready for the games,” Rochford told TTFA Media on Tuesday.

Rochford, who was the topscorer with three goals in the recent Guadeloupe Six-Nation Tourney, is also keeping a keen interest in the ongoing World Cup in Russia as he focuses on his efforts for T&T.

“It’s a privilege and pleasure to be part of this team and also an honour to represent my country at the Under 20 level, the CAC Games and the World Cup qualifiers. I’m continuing to view this World Cup and learn from it. The football has been amazing and I will continue to learn from with tactical and positional observances,” Rochford added.

T&T captain Jayden Prowell meantime is remaining focused on the upcoming assignments.

“Things are shaping pretty well. Everyone is working really hard and digesting the knowledge that the coaches are trying to impart upon us. We are eager to play these games which are imminent,” said Prowell who recently returned from a training sting with Porto FC in Portugal.

“The key to us doing well will be to play to the coach’s instructions and be confident in what we do. It’s really good working under coach (Latapy). He has a lot of knowledge and we are very fortunate to have him as our coach. We are trying our best to develop ourselves not just as footballer players but as individuals,” Prowell stated.

The T&T U-20 Men’s Team is also preparing for the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 World Cup qualifiers in November.

Videos -

T&T U-20 Men get ready for CAC Games

T&T U-20 Men look ahead to CAC Games in Colombia

« Reply #55 on: June 28, 2018, 04:16:06 AM »
Is Justin Jadoo on this team?

« Reply #56 on: July 11, 2018, 12:27:30 AM »
Senior Women shift focus to CAC Games in Colombia.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team are completing their final few days of preparations on home soil before departing for Colombia to contest the Central American and Caribbean Games.

T&T, coached by Jamaal Shabazz and including defender Arin King and goalkeeper Kimika Forbes who are back in training having recovered from injuries. will open their Group B account against Mexico at the Estadio Moderno Julio Torres in Barranquilla on July 20th. Two days later they face Nicaragua before closing the group stage against Haiti on July 24th. Group A comprises hosts Colombia, Venezuela, Jamaica and Costa Rica. The group winners and runners up will move onto the semi finals on July 27th with the bronze medal and gold medal matches scheduled for July 30th.

As Shabazz puts the squad their its paces, the spirit in the camp is an upbeat one as T&T also looks ahead to the final CONCACAF Caribbean round of World Cup qualifying in Kingston, Jamaica in August.

Experienced midfielder Karyn Forbes recognises the value of the upcoming matches in Colombia.

“We are working really hard at the moment especially on fitness and organization. The mood is really great and it’s just for us to keep our heads down and stay focused,” Forbes told TTFA Media following a session at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

“We need to be a bit more focused going into these games simply because of the fact that we are going to play Mexico, Haiti and Nicaragua which are all organised teams. We also have some new players in the squad including the return of my sister Kimika (Forbes) and Arin King as well as other players like Liana Hinds coming back in. We know these opponents and their capabilities, so we will be taking each game at step at a time and trying to ensure we are as solid as possible,” she added.

The return of King and Forbes who missed the early part of CONCACAF Caribbean World Cup qualifiers is a much welcomed boost to the team according to Forbes.

“Having them back in the team gives us more stability from the back come up. Arin brings her experience from Canada and Kimika from Colombia. It’s about having everyone helping the team in the best way possible. The mood now is really good. We are trying to push the younger players seeing they are part of the next generation coming forward. When my era moves out of the football, they have to take up the mantle and help the country as best as they can,” Forbes said.

Under 20 team player Natisha John is also anticipating the chance to stake a claim with the senior team.

“It has been a great experience so far. It’s fun being a younger player and the older ones motivate players like myself a lot. They are always behind us to push more.  And then being one of the younger ones means I have to push myself more to keep up with the rest,” John said. “As a team communication is key for us. We try to have fun as much as possible but we are serious when it comes to preparation and games.

“I think we have it in us to bring it home when we get to Jamaica and secure a spot in the CONCACAF Finals. We know the Caribbean teams tend to come strongly at us so we know we have to bring our A-game. This CAC Games will also present with a good opportunity to get some match time before we travel to Jamaica for the qualifiers,” John said.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #57 on: July 15, 2018, 09:14:04 PM »
Roster?

Latapy’s Under 20s aim to compete strongly at CAC Games
« Reply #58 on: July 17, 2018, 06:38:31 PM »
Latapy’s Under 20s aim to compete strongly at CAC Games
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team was scheduled to arrive in Barranquilla today ahead of their opening match on Friday at the Romelio Martínez Stadium, Barranquilla.

Head coach Russell Latapy finalised his team on the weekend for what is expected to be three critical matches in preparation for the 2018 CONCACAF Men’s Championship in November which also serves as Under 20 World Cup qualifiers.

“The main focus is on preparation for the Under 20 Qualifiers at CONCACAF Level in November so the squad selection for the CAC Games was made with that in mind,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“We are taking players who are18 and 19 years old but we also needed some experience at the back and are very fortunate to have Triston Hodge from the senior team making the trip with us,” Latapy added. “He can guide the younger players and be our leader on the pitch.

“We have been working on our defensive organization and these games will be perfect for us to see where exactly where we at,” Latapy said.

“Our opening game is against Honduras which is CONCACAF opposition and this will give us a chance to test ourselves against similar type teams we will face in November. We have a chance to face Costa Rica for a second time this year and of course the host nation Colombia will be a very good test for us and a great opportunity for the boys to challenge themselves against quality opponents,” Latapy added.

Hodge is also anticipating the chance to represent T&T at the Games.

“It’s a really good opportunity for us to get three proper matches. It’s been a great experience working with this team under coach Russell and I’m really looking forward to the games as I think the squad is capable of pulling off some strong performances in Colombia and getting in the practice they need for the CONCACAF qualifiers in November,” Hodge said.

Following the opener against Honduras, T&T faces Costa Rica on July 22nd and Colombia on July 24th. Group B comprises Mexico, Venezuela, Haiti and El Salvador. The semi finals takes place with the top two teams from each group on July 28th with the gold and bronze medal matches set for July 31st.

T&T 20-man  Squad
Ethan Bonaparte, Rivaldo Coryat, Jerrin Jackie, Derron John, Shaqkeem Joseph, Isaiah Garcia, Darnell Hospedales, Jayden Prowell, John Paul Rochford, Kierron Mason, Denzil Smith, Jessie Williams, Judah Garcia, Triston Hodge, Mark Ramdeen, Nickel Orr, Jodel Brown, Jarred Dass, Isaiah Lee and Jadel Poon Lewis.

T&T Women and Men’s U20 team start CAC campaign tomorrow
« Reply #59 on: July 19, 2018, 06:45:43 PM »
T&T Women and Men’s U20 team start CAC campaign tomorrow
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Senior Football and Men’s Under 20 team will be hoping to kick off their Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in campaign on a positive note when they commence their respective group phase assignments in Barranquilla tomorrow (Friday).

The T&T Women will come up against Concacaf powers Mexico from 7pm (8pm TT Time) at the Estadio Moderno Julio Torres while the Men’s team, comprising of mostly under 20 players and three overage played including senior team defender Triston Hodge will face Honduras from 4pm (5pm TT time) at the Estadio Romelio Martinez.

The Women’s best finish at the CAC Games came in 2010 when they picked up silver medals, losing to Venezuela in the final in Puerto Rico. The Men’ best finish was also silver medal performance when they lost to Cuba in the 1974 Final in Santo Domingo. T&T’s next best performance followed in 1998, when they came in fourth place, losing to Costa Rica 6-1 in the third place playoff in Maracaibo, Venezuela. T&T had beaten Jamaica 3-2 in the quarter finals.

T&T ’s Women will come up against a Mexican outfit that includes striker Charlyn Corral, last season’s top scorer from Levante UD soccer club. Mexico are the defending women champions and their team also includes various overseas players, including Atletico Madrid’s defender Kenti Robles from Spanish league La Liga, as well as five other prominent players from the US soccer league. They defeated Colombia 2-0 in the final in 2014 in Vera Cruz.

“We are here to compete as best as we can and our first aim will be to achieve results that can take us into the knockout stage,” Shabazz said,

“The players are very eager to enter the competition because they see this tournament as the ideal opportunity to challenge themselves against some top quality opposition before we enter the final round of the CONCACAF Caribbean qualifiers next month. We are grateful for these matches.  The players have been working hard in training and staying disciplined and focused on the task ahead of them. We know what Mexico offers and we are anticipating a difficult encounter but not one in which we will back down at any time,” Shabazz said.

On the men’s side, Latapy said that despite some challenges with the conditions in Barranquilla, his team is ready to give it their best in the opening fixture.

“In terms of the trip so far I would say that it as been a very tiresome one in terms of our traveling to get here as we had to come in two different groups on two separate days.  In terms of the organisation I think they are a bit behind in terms of being ready for a Games of this magnitude but we’ll get on with it,” Latapy told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“In saying that, the preparation is ongoing. I am happy to say that this team is really looking forward to these matches in preparation for the CONCACAF qualifiers in November. We have five under 17 players in this squad and one player who is sixteen. In relation to moving forward I think this is the direction we want to go with in relation to planning for the future.

“I am quietly confident that a lot of the things we have been working on, we will show in this tournament. It is important that these players have an opportunity to experience international football at the highest level which will be invaluable experience going into the November tournament and we will be looking to compete against the other teams,” said the former Porto player.

“We know Honduras will be a physically strong team and we will prepare to face that. We want to keep working on our defensive organisation in these games. Technically all of our players are solid enough. Our biggest issue is what we do when we do not have the ball and hopefully in this tournament our players can get a better understanding of this aspect as we continue the preparation process. We have one final session later today where we’ll go over a few things before the match,” Latapy added.