April 23, 2024, 07:22:27 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Jamaica Game (18-Nov-2014)  (Read 45304 times)

Offline reggae-fan

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Jamaica Game (18-Nov-2014)
« Reply #330 on: November 19, 2014, 10:11:21 AM »
I'll trade you our two upcoming Copa America Appearances for a chance at the Women's World Cup. Any takers? :)

Fun and jokes aside, I can't say I am surprised at the result in the game last night.  The Jamaicans were superior in the fitness department... even given that the core of the T&T team was heavily rotated throughout the tournament.  I believe also that facing Curacao and to a lesser extend French Guiana in the early rounds somewhat didn't provide a stiff challenge to your guys... in the same way facing Martinique and Haiti did for Jamaica... both Martinique and Haiti I believe are better than Cuba who , prior to Jamaica, was your stiffest opponent all tournament.

Nothing to brag about re Jamaica performance... the squad is weak in many areas, and has potential in others, but lots of football to be played in the coming two years and overall much room for improvement.

Same goes for T&T.

Cuba, Haiti, T&T, Jamaica ... traditionally the better teams in the region came to the fore in the tournament and will represent the region at the Gold cup.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 10:16:32 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #331 on: November 19, 2014, 10:40:46 AM »
I would like to recognise Joevin Jones for converting a crucial penalty yesterday to extend the sequence. Liked him at #4. Although I think any of the kickers at 2, 3 or 4 could be scrambled within that order, Molino for me preferably goes at #1 or #2.

I didn't have Hyland on my list of kickers. KJ? Yes.

5th? Cato.

« Reply #332 on: November 19, 2014, 10:43:36 AM »
Ah, Dr. Ah Ah. Any comments?

Yeah.

Last night the operation was a success, the f#%king patient died.

« Reply #333 on: November 19, 2014, 10:56:44 AM »
Now that I think about it after the initial disappointment of losing in yet another final, I am glad the Warriors lost.

Insipid, timid football should never be rewarded with victory and our players would start to believe that they can play that sort of dog excrement and expect to win trophies.

« Reply #334 on: November 19, 2014, 11:16:44 AM »
I would like to recognise Joevin Jones for converting a crucial penalty yesterday to extend the sequence. Liked him at #4. Although I think any of the kickers at 2, 3 or 4 could be scrambled within that order, Molino for me preferably goes at #1 or #2.

5th? Cato.
You guys make me laugh yes..... were you at practice to know who were/are the best kickers?  Otherwise you comment is pointless.....  You think is just so ah man does walk up and take a penalty?  Don't you think they practice these things to identify who are the top 5?  Hilarious   :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline socalion

« Reply #335 on: November 19, 2014, 11:44:22 AM »
All want to say  is  i am proud   of our team  and   say thankyou to coach stephen  hart for bringing some respectability  to our football again ,  it would take a blind not  to see  some progress has been  made  over the past 18 months and that there's  work still to be done as the coach himself has alluded to !!    much respect to coach stephen hart and  his entire contingent of  players ...!!  best wishes  as we look ahead..!!

« Reply #336 on: November 19, 2014, 11:47:50 AM »
All want to say  is  i am proud   of our team  and   say thankyou to coach stephen  hart for bringing some respectability  to our football again ,  it would take a blind not  to see  some progress has been  made  over the past 18 months and that there's  work still to be done as the coach himself has alluded to !!    much respect to coach stephen hart and  his entire contingent of  players ...!!  best wishes  as we look ahead..!!

This is among only 3 or 4 sensible post match responses in here.

« Reply #337 on: November 19, 2014, 12:22:38 PM »
Took a while to post so as to let all emotions settle:

1. Good tactical game and congrats to Ja who is further along in its team development and squad tweaking, unlike T&T which is still at basic squad experimentation.
2. Actually good performance by T&T granted that we had striker crisis with no reliable properly vetted available options to replace a tired looking and probably emotionally weary Jones. No Plaza, Winchester and nobody calling Cornell again. So we were very thin in the striker Dept as Hart was caught off-guard having to submit a squad early.
3. Surprisingly good defensive staying power having to completely change the players. Better than I expected performance by Aubrey David who grew in ratings enough to be called up again. Joevin jones ratings went up big time as a speedy wingback who can hold his own without Cyrus's help . Cyrus just looked a class on his own and can do ANY position in the back. Solid from Hoyte. All this in Jamaica without Marshall and Mitchell. Impressive but lots of room for improvement, which will happen.
4. Good stuff from Molino, too little time for Guerra but I understand that Hart was focusing on defending till a critical time. It almost worked. Solid stuff by Hyland who showed why he us so important against tough opponents. The yellow put a li'l spoke in his wheel. Midfield needs Guerra in it with Molino at the same time and we need to find one more explosive midfielder to replace Guerra when he is tired after being used as a starter.
5. Hope to see in action Plaza & Rundell soon. Hope to see more of what Glenn can do.
6. Great and improved looking Jan who looked sharp & almost impenetrable and high quality yesterday.
7. Good job Hart with the hand that he was dealt.
8. Actually enjoyed listening to Angus Eve even if he has a green verb habit.
9. Good fight by the players who were distracted by the reimbursement drama and thanks for making history by getting paid via some well thought out tactical moves. Hope to see you all again and Hart build this side some more for the upcoming Gold Cup. I was really into this build up and thank you for the thrill of the event.

« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 12:25:48 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #338 on: November 19, 2014, 12:37:29 PM »
Love our coach though. Under his guidance tnt always have a plan. If Guerra had buried that or Molino we would be singing a different tune, we had our chances, it just wasn't our night. i am sure the coach will sort things out for the Gold Cup and it will be fun to watch tnt face some of the big gunz in the region.

Look on the bright side, it's not like before where we losing to Guyana at home, be careful who's head you call for when you don't know what head you going to replace it with.
bro i don't think we will have the same coach come next week. on another note, i would rather lose to haiti or antigua these people have class.   i can't stand losing to these people. hawk too

I understand you are upset. Please refrain from insulting our opponents on these boards. Its ok we all hurt about the loss, we had chances to win and we must accept the result and move on.

Edit: I am editing your post and removing those comments please be more careful in the future.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 12:46:17 PM by sHOTTA12 »

Offline socalion

« Reply #339 on: November 19, 2014, 12:56:56 PM »
nice observations dreamer.....In addition i do believe from here on   its absolutely necessary to  impliment  the  necessary programs for our national teams !!  consistency is lacking !!

Offline socalion

« Reply #340 on: November 19, 2014, 01:02:58 PM »
Reggaefan   congrats  to j.a  your win  !!   

« Reply #341 on: November 19, 2014, 01:03:45 PM »
hope hart/ttfa tries to get nick de leon and others in the mix going foward

I highly endorse this.

« Reply #342 on: November 19, 2014, 01:07:44 PM »

5th? Cato.
You guys make me laugh yes..... were you at practice to know who were/are the best kickers?  Otherwise you comment is pointless.....  You think is just so ah man does walk up and take a penalty?  Don't you think they practice these things to identify who are the top 5?  Hilarious   :rotfl: :rotfl:

Leh me see if I can help yuh get serious ... Normally you have better judgement, but I'm going to walk you through this with the respect you deserve.

First off, there's nothing in my comment to indicate an issue with who kicked last night, or that the outcome would have been different, but for X or Y. The fact is there were 11 players on the field at the conclusion of play, and from those 11 players (Williams, Hoyte, David, Cyrus, Jones, George, Hyland, Cato, Molino, Guerra and Jones ), I weighed in with 5 available candidates (underlined) to kick.

I shouldn't have to point out to you that our 5 "best" kickers were not necessarily on the field at the conclusion of the supplemental 30 minutes. I do not think all of our best penalty kick takers were on the field at the conclusion of the game. Thus, it didn't come down to the best kickers, but the best from the lot on the field. HOWEVER, I have NO issue with that because given the conditions of the game, the game wasn't poised in a manner such that ensuring specialist kickers be on the field prioritized/prematurely would have been the correct call. In our right, we made a push to secure the game prior to 90+ and again prior to 120'. That was what should have been done. It jes didn't work out (ask Guerra).

I think 3 very credible spot kickers in Molino, Guerra and J. Jones were on the field. Although KJ has converted emphatic powered penalties, he was by no means having the game of his life. However, he was on my list given the occasion, his experience, his leadership, his expressed passion for wanting to win the Cup, and the fact that having made it to minute 120, I was of the view he would be kicking one way or the other.

Thus, the real challenge for me was the 5th name. For the 5th name on the list, I regarded the contenders as Hyland, Cyrus and Cato. I went with Cato, and, frankly, (in the interest of providing you a further giggle) Cyrus finished ahead of Hyland in my assessment. I did not, and do not regard Hyland and Jones as qualitatively different kickers ... either stylistically or in their approach to the settled ball.

Perhaps you take specific issue with the specific exclusion of Hyland? Who knows? I also excluded Williams, Hoyte, David, George and Cyrus. Nothing personal.

To assert transparently that I had Jones on my list (and he missed) but not Khaleem (and he missed), is really a matter of me sharing/posting a personal, considered assessment. There's no agenda. And, if you've been paying attention ... not a first-time comment on penalties (which I hold the view are not as randomized as some assert) … and research/literature supports me on this.

I don't know what methodology was employed to select the 5 ... do you? Practice is an influential environment, but it isn't always absolutely controlling or definitive. Also, it isn't uncommon in the international arena to have a cohort of possible kickers, but then to have kickers self-select from within this cohort. When you factor in that not all of the cohort is necessarily on the field when ideally needed ... perhaps some light is shed on your comment actually being less sustainable than you seem to regard it. Moreover, it also depends on whether the coach is authoritarian in saying x, y, or b will kick ... based on preference and observation ... or whether he is more democratic.

From time to time, I manage to pull myself away from the keyboard, and get out to witness players in their natural habitat. I'm fully aware of the variables.

Five (5) kickers from 11 on the field had to be chosen. Above, I expressed who I thought would be kicking prior to viewing who actually kicked. This is not Monday morning quarterbacking. As it turns out 4 out of my 5 kicked.  Under any assessment, that’s a solid return.

And guess what? The focus is on who would kick, not on whether they would actually convert.

Even had Hyland converted I would have shared he wasn't on my list to kick. Would we still be having this conversation?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 01:10:55 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #343 on: November 19, 2014, 01:17:07 PM »

1. Good tactical game and congrats to Ja who is further along in its team development and squad tweaking, unlike T&T which is still at basic squad experimentation.
2. Actually good performance by T&T granted that we had striker crisis with no reliable properly vetted available options to replace a tired looking and probably emotionally weary Jones. No Plaza, Winchester and nobody calling Cornell again. So we were very thin in the striker Dept as Hart was caught off-guard having to submit a squad early.
3. Surprisingly good defensive staying power having to completely change the players. Better than I expected performance by Aubrey David who grew in ratings enough to be called up again. Joevin jones ratings went up big time as a speedy wingback who can hold his own without Cyrus's help . Cyrus just looked a class on his own and can do ANY position in the back. Solid from Hoyte. All this in Jamaica without Marshall and Mitchell. Impressive but lots of room for improvement, which will happen.
4. Good stuff from Molino, too little time for Guerra but I understand that Hart was focusing on defending till a critical time. It almost worked. Solid stuff by Hyland who showed why he us so important against tough opponents. The yellow put a li'l spoke in his wheel. Midfield needs Guerra in it with Molino at the same time and we need to find one more explosive midfielder to replace Guerra when he is tired after being used as a starter.
5. Hope to see in action Plaza & Rundell soon. Hope to see more of what Glenn can do.
6. Great and improved looking Jan who looked sharp & almost impenetrable and high quality yesterday.

9. Good fight by the players who were distracted by the reimbursement drama and thanks for making history by getting paid via some well thought out tactical moves. Hope to see you all again and Hart build this side some more for the upcoming Gold Cup. I was really into this build up and thank you for the thrill of the event.

Good stuff 1-9 ... ah will deal wid 8 only doh ... ah eh know why Banter B doh give Eve credit for rendering a decent contribution. Thanks eh, Angus!

« Reply #344 on: November 19, 2014, 01:35:48 PM »
I understand you are upset. Please refrain from insulting our opponents on these boards. Its ok we all hurt about the loss, we had chances to win and we must accept the result and move on.

Edit: I am editing your post and removing those comments please be more careful in the future.

It eh take yuh long at all tuh find yuh moderator hat  :Police:

« Reply #345 on: November 19, 2014, 01:37:54 PM »
Bakes with

With posters like you and the regulars, there isn't much (if any)Police work to do! You guys are awesome.

« Reply #346 on: November 19, 2014, 01:39:56 PM »
Bakes with

With posters like you and the regulars, there isn't much (if any)Police work to do! You guys are awesome.

Shotta de ass kissin moderator?!  :rotfl:

Yuh better dan tiredsis aready in my book  :beermug:

« Reply #347 on: November 19, 2014, 01:41:11 PM »
 :beermug:  :rotfl:

On a serious note fellas, looking at raidcall and 100tb, I know its mostly used for gaming but it can be setup as a chatroom for us. Check it out and leave me some feedback.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 01:43:35 PM by sHOTTA12 »

« Reply #348 on: November 19, 2014, 01:49:27 PM »
Shotta de ass kissin moderator?!  :rotfl:

Yuh better dan tiredsis aready in my book  :beermug:

Tireasis sweet talk Flex... den fire de wuk after 3 months   ;D

Offline MilkyX

« Reply #349 on: November 19, 2014, 02:21:46 PM »
We took the Jamaicans to pk's in a final at the office...that in itself is an accomplishment. Any team that goes there face an uphill task...jamaica stuck to their plan....close down Peltier,  Molino and Jones. ..they did...technically they were better. Sad to lose, yes! But forever positive....we qualify for the Gold cup...made it to the finals...and held our own...well done warriors!

Wasn't at de Office. Was in Montego Bay.
Wait....wait...wait. Taking JAMAICA to a penalty shootout is an accomplishment? WHAT! Are we going in reverse here? Winning (not qualifying for) the Gold cup = accomplishment. Qualifying for a world cup = accomplishment. What happened in that game = embarrassment! First off, the Soca warriors played garbage and Jamaica still needed penalties to beat them. Doesn't say much for Jamaica if you ask me  Second, we didn't take them to a penalty shootout. You making Jamaica sound like Argentina or something. If T&T showed any of the quality that they are cable of, they would be champions right now. It was one of the worse games I've seen them play under Hart. And third...KJ......oh lord...just typing his initials gives me a headache. Please sir. Ah begging. Just learn to control the ball. Just a little bit. Please. PLEASE.
Only the humble can be truly great!

« Reply #350 on: November 19, 2014, 03:37:57 PM »
Our midfield play was poor for long periods.  Our defense got opened up too many times.
We had no shots on target after 120 mins.
The home crowd wasn't a factor, they seemed quiet most of the time.
All that said, Guerra was about a foot away from giving us the trophy.

« Reply #351 on: November 19, 2014, 03:42:13 PM »
So where do our MNT go from here???
to the gold cup obviously. im not unhappy we lost as much as im unhappy that we were out played in the final attacking third by a mediocre team, not one shot at the keeper which is beyond embarrassing.
Yes I know we're going to the GC but I'm looking at the bigger picture in terms of if the players will be willing to com back and play under the current TTFA administration.
as long as hart is coach. that is what i gathered from jonsey's words in his pre match interview that they are behind the coach all the way. in the grand scheme of things these boys needs international football as more than international football needs them, after all who in their right minds would jeopardize their career like that.

« Reply #352 on: November 19, 2014, 03:49:14 PM »
I'll trade you our two upcoming Copa America Appearances for a chance at the Women's World Cup. Any takers? :)

Fun and jokes aside, I can't say I am surprised at the result in the game last night.  The Jamaicans were superior in the fitness department... even given that the core of the T&T team was heavily rotated throughout the tournament.  I believe also that facing Curacao and to a lesser extend French Guiana in the early rounds somewhat didn't provide a stiff challenge to your guys... in the same way facing Martinique and Haiti did for Jamaica... both Martinique and Haiti I believe are better than Cuba who , prior to Jamaica, was your stiffest opponent all tournament.

Nothing to brag about re Jamaica performance... the squad is weak in many areas, and has potential in others, but lots of football to be played in the coming two years and overall much room for improvement.

Same goes for T&T.

Cuba, Haiti, T&T, Jamaica ... traditionally the better teams in the region came to the fore in the tournament and will represent the region at the Gold cup.
you mean the same french guiana and cuba who whiped and kicked you out of the last gold cup in antigua? oh i see easily we forget.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #353 on: November 19, 2014, 03:58:45 PM »

Same goes for T&T.

you mean the same french guiana and cuba who whiped and kicked you out of the last gold cup in antigua? oh i see easily we forget.

Fast forward to 2014 please sir :)

« Reply #354 on: November 19, 2014, 04:04:43 PM »
Love our coach though. Under his guidance tnt always have a plan. If Guerra had buried that or Molino we would be singing a different tune, we had our chances, it just wasn't our night. i am sure the coach will sort things out for the Gold Cup and it will be fun to watch tnt face some of the big gunz in the region.

Look on the bright side, it's not like before where we losing to Guyana at home, be careful who's head you call for when you don't know what head you going to replace it with.
bro i don't think we will have the same coach come next week. on another note, i would rather lose to haiti or antigua these people have class.   i can't stand losing to these people. hawk too

are you serious dude, what did i say that was so offensive or inflammatory? did you see how their team captain snubbed timmkee on the stand and his federation boss had to check him, did you see how the guy slapped away molinos hand when he showed a bit of sportsmanship and the comments of their team captain after the game? please it seems like you wants to usurp your authority on me, in that case i would rather stop posting than to be silenced like im on a communist site. i went to the TRB site and have seen worst so you could stay there with your jamaican infatuation, i for one don't care for them because they are rude and discourteous and that's my choice.

« Reply #355 on: November 19, 2014, 04:20:50 PM »

Same goes for T&T.

in that case french guina was a batter team than last year only because they had 9 french internationals in their ranks as opposed to 4 last time around so it's even more relevant. by the way you're carrying on anyone would swear that jamaica drobbed us well and proper. please..... you guys played with four defenders glued to the 18 yard box and on your own home field, and if we had a proper referee you would have been down to 9 players come full time that's because you fouled the dickens out of hector molino and jones combined while mattocks and mc annuf had loads of room on the ball yet you couldn't get it done from open play. man stop your noise you were just as crappy as us, but there will be other times like the gold cup. lets see what you've got outside of your home field advantage.

by the way what was that mess of a cow pasture that you call a stadium? i saw a ball ran away from jones in thee middle of the field on the edge of that huge ring worm mark, what the hell was that? it was the worst field i've ever seen and believe me i've seen some horrible pitches but this one takes the cake. maybe you could take that 100,000 and fix that disaster of a field.

« Reply #356 on: November 19, 2014, 04:31:06 PM »

I thought our defense played well, that was one of the better performances I've seen from our backline. Defense used to be our waekness now it's steadily improving under Hart. I like Cyrus as a central defender as well, he was outstanding.

« Reply #357 on: November 19, 2014, 05:23:56 PM »
Despite being bitterly disappointed with the team,s performance, Jan and the defense did very well. Jan made a crucial save in the first half and the defense held their own. They were getting all the lash from we in the beginning, but they redeemed themselves in the final. Cyrus eh easy Breds. With good coaching and guidance, he can be one of TT finest stoppers.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #358 on: November 19, 2014, 05:44:46 PM »

Same goes for T&T.

in that case french guina was a batter team than last year only because they had 9 french internationals in their ranks as opposed to 4 last time around so it's even more relevant. by the way you're carrying on anyone would swear that jamaica drobbed us well and proper. please..... you guys played with four defenders glued to the 18 yard box and on your own home field, and if we had a proper referee you would have been down to 9 players come full time that's because you fouled the dickens out of hector molino and jones combined while mattocks and mc annuf had loads of room on the ball yet you couldn't get it done from open play. man stop your noise you were just as crappy as us, but there will be other times like the gold cup. lets see what you've got outside of your home field advantage.

by the way what was that mess of a cow pasture that you call a stadium? i saw a ball ran away from jones in thee middle of the field on the edge of that huge ring worm mark, what the hell was that? it was the worst field i've ever seen and believe me i've seen some horrible pitches but this one takes the cake. maybe you could take that 100,000 and fix that disaster of a field.

I don't believe anyone will disagree with you on the state of the field...  considering that over a dozen games were played on the same surface in the past week... its hardly a surprise, I am sure you will agree.  Unfortunately Jamaica doesn't have the volume of government run facilities like you have in t&t...in much the same way our players are not paid by the central government like yours.  Nothing comes easy for us as a people, we have to fight for what is ours, and despite the obstacles, we manage to rise above and achieve well beyond our means.  Consider yourself fortunate, and save a prayer for the less fortunate Jamaicans, Haitians and Cubans with limited resources.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 05:59:28 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #359 on: November 19, 2014, 05:50:15 PM »

Same goes for T&T.

I don't believe anyone will disagree with you on the state of the field...  considering that over a dozen games were played on the same surface in the past week... its hardly a surprise.
don't come with that, the field was in that condition from game one especially with the ring worm mark in the meddle of the pitch and it was an appalling distraction which the players avoided. excuses excuses.