I would like to recognise Joevin Jones for converting a crucial penalty yesterday to extend the sequence. Liked him at #4. Although I think any of the kickers at 2, 3 or 4 could be scrambled within that order, Molino for me preferably goes at #1 or #2.
I didn't have Hyland on my list of kickers. KJ? Yes.
5th? Cato.
You guys make me laugh yes..... were you at practice to know who were/are the best kickers? Otherwise you comment is pointless..... You think is just so ah man does walk up and take a penalty? Don't you think they practice these things to identify who are the top 5? Hilarious
Leh me see if I can help yuh get serious ... Normally you have better judgement, but I'm going to walk you through this with the respect you deserve.
First off, there's nothing in my comment to indicate an issue with who kicked last night, or that the outcome would have been different, but for X or Y. The fact is there were 11 players on the field at the conclusion of play, and from those 11 players (Williams, Hoyte, David, Cyrus,
Jones, George, Hyland,
Cato,
Molino,
Guerra and
Jones ), I weighed in with 5 available candidates (underlined) to kick.
I shouldn't have to point out to you that our 5 "best" kickers were
not necessarily on the field at the conclusion of the supplemental 30 minutes. I do not think all of our best penalty kick takers were on the field at the conclusion of the game. Thus, it didn't come down to the best kickers, but the best from the lot on the field. HOWEVER, I have NO issue with that because given the conditions of the game, the game wasn't poised in a manner such that ensuring specialist kickers be on the field prioritized/prematurely would have been the correct call. In our right, we made a push to secure the game prior to 90+ and again prior to 120'. That was what should have been done. It jes didn't work out (ask Guerra).
I think 3 very credible spot kickers in Molino, Guerra and J. Jones were on the field. Although KJ has converted emphatic powered penalties, he was by no means having the game of his life. However, he was on my list given the occasion, his experience, his leadership, his expressed passion for wanting to win the Cup, and the fact that having made it to minute 120, I was of the view he would be kicking one way or the other.
Thus, the real challenge for me was the 5th name. For the 5th name on the list, I regarded the contenders as Hyland, Cyrus and Cato. I went with Cato, and, frankly, (in the interest of providing you a further giggle) Cyrus finished ahead of Hyland in my assessment. I did not, and do not regard Hyland and Jones as qualitatively different kickers ... either stylistically or in their approach to the settled ball.
Perhaps you take specific issue with the specific exclusion of Hyland? Who knows? I also excluded Williams, Hoyte, David, George and Cyrus. Nothing personal.
To assert transparently that I had Jones on my list (and he missed) but not Khaleem (and he missed), is really a matter of me sharing/posting a personal, considered assessment. There's no agenda. And, if you've been paying attention ... not a first-time comment on penalties (which I hold the view are not as randomized as some assert) … and research/literature supports me on this.
I don't know what methodology was employed to select the 5 ... do you? Practice is an influential environment, but it isn't always absolutely controlling or definitive. Also, it isn't uncommon in the international arena to have a cohort of possible kickers, but then to have kickers self-select from within this cohort. When you factor in that not all of the cohort is necessarily on the field when ideally needed ... perhaps some light is shed on your comment actually being less sustainable than you seem to regard it. Moreover, it also depends on whether the coach is authoritarian in saying x, y, or b will kick ... based on preference and observation ... or whether he is more democratic.
From time to time, I manage to pull myself away from the keyboard, and get out to witness players in their natural habitat. I'm fully aware of the variables.
Five (5) kickers from 11 on the field had to be chosen. Above, I expressed who I thought would be kicking
prior to viewing who actually kicked. This is not Monday morning quarterbacking. As it turns out 4 out of my 5 kicked. Under any assessment, that’s a solid return.
And guess what? The focus is on who would kick, not on whether they would actually convert.
Even had Hyland converted I would have shared he wasn't on my list to kick. Would we still be having this conversation?