April 18, 2024, 02:36:54 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Women's World Cup - Canada  (Read 31073 times)

Re: 2015 Women's World Cup - Canada
« Reply #180 on: June 28, 2015, 05:52:41 AM »
Iwabuchi fires Nadeshiko Japan into Women’s World Cup semifinals
The Japan Times

EDMONTON, ALBERTA – Japanese coach Norio Sasaki couldn’t resist making a joke at Mana Iwabuchi’s expense when explaining his decision to substitute the forward in during the second half against Australia on Saturday.

Iwabuchi, Sasaki said with a laugh, went from “not yet” to right now.

Some 15 minutes after entering the game, Iwabuchi scored during a scramble in front of goal in the 87th minute to secure a 1-0 win in their Women’s World Cup quarterfinal on Saturday.

“Her first name is Mana. And in Japanese, ‘Not yet, not yet,’ would be ‘mada,’ so (the words) are very close,” Sasaki said through a translator. “And it didn’t take her too long as far as she’s concerned.”

The fourth-ranked Japanese will stay in Edmonton, where they will face England in the semifinals Wednesday. England defeated host nation Canada 2-1 in their quarterfinal match.

Iwabuchi came on for Shinobu Ono with 18 minutes left and the switch paid off when the petite Bayern Munich striker steered home the winner from close range three minutes from time.

“I’m simply delighted,” said the 22-year-old Iwabuchi. “There was not much time left (when I came on) and I was just thinking about scoring. Everyone tried really hard for 90 minutes and I just wanted to make a contribution so I am pleased about that.

“I haven’t scored much for Japan and I want to be the kind of player that can score goals at crucial times (like today).”

Patience and fresh legs paid off for Nadeshiko Japan, the defending champions, as their ball-controlling style combined with the 32-degree Celsius temperatures gradually wore down the 10th-ranked Australians.

“The difficulty was the heat,” said Utsugi, who was named player of the match for setting up the goal. “However, throughout the game, the resolve of all members to keep it up to the end was the challenge. However, we did manage to do that.”

Japan is a perfect 5-0 in Canada, and has won eight straight World Cup matches since winning the 2011 tournament in Germany, when it beat the United Stated 2-2 in a penalty shootout in the championship game. The Nadeshiko are now two victories from becoming the second nation to win consecutive tournaments after Germany won in 2003 and ’07.

The Matildas go home after making their deepest run in tournament history. The 10th-ranked team won its first elimination game by upsetting seventh-ranked Brazil in the round of 16.

“Obviously disappointed at the result, but when you look at the big scheme of things, we lost 1-0,” coach Alen Stajcic said. “It was 1-0 in the 88th minute off a scrappy corner. It’s not as if we were humiliated.”

They were, however, beaten by a team that showed more composure and patience.

The Matildas exerted too much energy chasing the ball in the first 20 minutes. And when they finally got possession, the Australians too often gave the ball right back.

“Certainly (the Japanese) were a lot more composed throughout the 90 minutes,” Stajcic said. “It’s a heart-breaking experience for all of us. But sometimes you learn the most from these experiences.”

Japan has gone 4-0-1 in its past five meetings against its Asian regional rival, and is 8-1-1 in its past 10 games.

The Australians did a better job than Japan’s previous tournament opponents in bottling up the middle and pressuring the ball carrier to disrupt the Nadeshiko’s crisp, short-passing style.

But the Japanese attack finally wore down Australia in the second half.

In the 77th minute, Saori Ariyoshi broke free up the middle only to have her shot blocked by Kellond-Knight.

Japan had the best scoring opportunity of the first half. It happened in the 22nd minute off an Australian turnover.

Nahomi Kawasumi burst free up the right wing and threaded a perfect pass into the penalty area, where Ono punched the ball just over the open right side of the goal.

Some four minutes later, the Australians responded off a great run by Samantha Kerr, who was bowled over by Iwashimizu, who was issued a yellow card. That set up a free kick from 25 yards out. Alanna Kennedy took the kick, but curled her shot well wide of the right post.

Sasaki was pleased with how his team didn’t let down following several missed scoring chances.

“I was thinking that even if we didn’t have a goal in 90 minutes, we would certainly do that by 120 minutes,” Sasaki said. “While we do recognize the big growth of the Australian team in this World Cup, I think the result of this match has given confidence to the Japanese players.”

Matildas coach Alen Stajcic admits Australia were outclassed by Japan
By Dominic Bossi (The Sydney Morning Herald).

Matildas coach Alen Stajcic says his players were heartbroken after losing the quarter-final to Japan but admits his side was outplayed by the world champions.

Unlike Australia's loss to the US in their opening game, there was no feeling of a missed opportunity after the Matildas were outclassed by Japan in the quarter-final of the Women's World Cup.

There was no shortage of disappointment but that was mostly of their own performance after Japan pulled the strings in a dominant display against a brave and gallant Australian team. Speaking after the Matildas bowed out of an impressive World Cup, Stajcic admitted the better team progressed to the semi-final.

Today I thought the better team won. They kept the ball and had a lot more patience and technique than us, especially in the first 20 minutes of the match, and I think we expended a lot of energy chasing the ball during that period," Stajcic said.
Advertisement

"Even though they scored from a set piece and a scrappy sort of goal they were probably better at more aspects of the game than we were."

Australia succumbed to an 87th-minute goal from a corner, which was a sore point for the players after speaking publicly about the extensive work they completed studying Japan's threat from set pieces. Japan scored the only goal of the 2014 Asian Cup final from a corner against Australia.

"It's a heartbreaking experience for all of us but in saying that we've got such a good base to build from now, it was a good learning experience for everyone and it's our job to get better – we don't want to compete with the best, we want to beat the best," Stajcic said.

The Matildas significantly improved their ranking in women's football after not only escaping the group of death but reaching the quarter-final at the expense of Brazil. With such a young squad, Stajcic believes they can aim to go further in 2019 in France and can strive to play football akin to Japan's superb possession-based game.

"The better we get as a team and the more mature we get as a team we'll learn to keep the ball a little bit better," Stajcic said. "Japan were better at that aspect of the game."

« Reply #181 on: June 28, 2015, 06:01:32 AM »
Lionesses roar into last four
FIFA.com

A quickfire first half double from Jodie Taylor and Lucy Bronze was enough to see England into their first ever FIFA Women's World Cup™ semi-final and eliminate hosts Canada with a 2-1 win. Christine Sinclair's effort, also in the opening period, could not spark a comeback for John Herdman's side at a full BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, who fail to match their semi-final performance at USA 2003.

Canada had the first opportunity, crafted by captain Sinclair. The No12 worked the ball well on the Canadian right, nutmegging Laura Bassett and hitting a long crossfield ball to find Melissa Tancredi in space. Tancredi cut in onto her right foot, but her effort flew harmlessly over Karen Bardsley’s crossbar.

The hosts were made to instantly rue that missed chance when they handed England a golden opportunity to take the lead, which Taylor took. Lauren Sesselmann miskicked the ball and lost her footing as the last line of defence, and the England No19 pounced on the error, robbing her of possession and sprinting clear. Taylor sidestepped Allysha Chapman’s challenge and fired an accurate drive past Erin McLeod.

It then got even better for the Lionesses. Fara Williams drilled a free-kick from the English right to Canada’s back post. Bronze, also England’s matchwinner in the Round of 16, rose above Allysha Chapman to thunder a header in off the crossbar. BC Place Stadium was stunned.

The woodwork was rattled once more by an England header later in the opening period, with Katie Chapman rising highest from another set-piece to see her looping effort bounce off the top of the crossbar and away.

It was left to Canada's talisman to drag them back into the game. Ashley Lawrence turned on the edge of the England penalty area and hit a fairly tame left-footed shot at goal which Bardsley spilled into the path of Sinclair. The Canada skipper made no mistake and poked home to reduce the deficit.

Backed by a vociferous crowd Canada pressed forward throughout the second half in search of an equaliser, with England looking dangerous on the counter-attack. One such break resulted in McLeod superbly keeping out a curling Taylor effort. A late snapshot by Sophie Schmidt flew over substitute goalkeeper Siobhan Chamberlain's crossbar as the hosts pressed, but the leveller did not come for Canada.

It was to be England's evening in Vancouver. They head to Edmonton for a showdown with holders Japan on Wednesday while the hosts will join their compatriots in the stands to savour the remainder of Canada 2015.

Match Highlights

John Herdman, Canada coach
It’s not how we imagined it all to end. You win this game and you hope to go all the way through. Congratulations to Mark (Sampson), and his team, and they were very hard to break down. I’m just disappointed for all of Canada. We had good shape and good rhythm, but this is football at this level. The players can be proud walking out of here tonight. I can guarantee those fans that we gave our best, but our best just wasn’t quite good enough.

Mark Sampson, England coach
To get a result in that atmosphere against an incredible Canada team was an amazing result. I’m really proud of women’s football today, with a sell-out crowd. I have never experienced a crowd like that before. We are only the third England team to reach a semi-final, after the 66 and 90 teams. This team has shown incredible character and resilience throughout the tournament. These two (knockout) games have been about staying in games and getting results. It was pretty darn tense on the sideline. Credit to John (Herdman) and Canada, they made us fight for every single ball.

« Reply #182 on: June 28, 2015, 06:05:32 AM »
Canada's medal dreams end with 2-1 loss to England
By Gary Kingston (Vancouver Sun).

Canada’s Women’s World Cup run came to a crushing, heartbreaking end Saturday, the victim of a couple of glaring defensive miscues and an attack that just isn’t skilled or creative enough.

England, advancing further than it ever has at a World Cup, scored twice in the first 14 minutes, stunning a raucous red-and-white clad crowd of 54,027 at BC Place, and hanging on through a scoreless second half for a 2-1 quarterfinal victory.

England now advances to face Japan, 1-0 winners over Australia Saturday, in a semifinal in Edmonton on Wednesday.

Canada controlled more of the possession, and maybe had the better chances. But after living dangerously all tournament – two 1-0 wins barely squeaked out and a pair of draws, 0-0 and 1-1 – their lack of finish caught up to them, as did the mistakes.

“Brokenhearted,” said midfielder Sophie Schmidt of the feeling of the players, who didn’t hit the media mixed zone until an hour and 40 minutes after the final whistle.

“We put in a performance, but tonight it just wasn’t enough. It’s disappointing for our fans. It was an incredible atmosphere and we truly thought we had the potential to win this tournament.”

Schmidt was one of only three players to stop and talk to reporters. Captain Christine Sinclair and centre back Kadeisha Buchanan were the others.

Schmidt said the coaching staff and Sinclair all spoke in the somebre post-game locker room. And there were plenty of tears.

With England defending diligently in the second half, often in two banks of four, the Caps struggled to get clear chances at second-string goalkeeper Siobhan Chamberlain, who came on in the 55th minute after Karen Bardsley appeared to sustain an eye injury.

But a desperate Canada did have two great opportunities late. In the 82nd minute, substitute Adriana Leon made an aggressive run into the six-yard box only to lose the ball when surrounded by three defenders. A minute later, Sophie’s first-timer from about eight yards out on a nice cross was hammered over the cross bar.

“England played well defensively,” said Schmidt. “We didn’t get that many opportunities. When that left my foot and I saw it sail wide, or high, or whatever happened . . . it was like ‘I can’t get that chance back.’

“It’s disappointing because you want to put that away for your team and we fought so hard for the opportunity. To not even have it hit the target, it’s disappointing.”

England scored off a horrible giveaway by stumbling centre back Lauren Sesselmann and on ball to the far post that Canada failed to defend properly.

Sesselmann had committed a couple of similar turnovers earlier in the tournament, but was bailed out by goalkeeper Erin McLeod and her back line mates. Not this time.

Forward Melissa Tancredi had a couple of gilt-edged chances in the first half, but the 33-year-old, a star at the 2012 London Olympics with four goals, appears to have the goal-scoring instinct after taking 18 months away from the game.

« Reply #183 on: June 28, 2015, 06:20:18 AM »
Teams eliminated from the competition following the quarterfinal round
Australia
Canada
China
France

Teams moving on to the semi-finals
England
Germany
Japan
US

Semi-final matches
Olympic Stadium, Montreal
US v Germany (Tuesday, 30 June)

Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton
Japan v England (Wednesday, 1 July)

« Reply #184 on: June 28, 2015, 03:40:24 PM »
French Player Slams FIFA: "They Have To Stop Taking Us For Idiots"
By Billy Haisley (Deadspin.com).

As undeniably awesome as last night’s France-Germany match was, it was complete and utter bullshit that these two teams were forced to meet in the quarterfinals. Far from being an unforeseen, unlucky occurrence, this is exactly as FIFA planned it. And France’s Camille Abily, for one, is none too happy about that.

Abily was interviewed in French sports paper L’Équipe following her team’s disappointing loss. Much of the questions addressed how if feels to lose a game she know her team dominated, the impressiveness of France’s World Cup in spite of the result, and what her plans are in the future. The interviewer also made time to get the midfielder’s opinion on the bracket itself, which saw the world’s number one-ranked team face the third-ranked one in the second knockout round:

Isn’t the main frustration at having to face Germany so early in the competition?

“Yes, unfortunately, we are going back to that but FIFA did not conduct a real draw. This is not to blame them [for the loss] but why don’t we do it like the boys? A1 is Canada and for the rest, we would’ve be drawn randomly according to our seeding (*). Do not tell me that for the World Cup, there wasn’t anybody in Moncton! At some point they have to stop taking us for idiots ... I’m sorry but if they did a real draw, maybe we would not have played Germany or the United States after. Inevitably, it’s frustrating even if we knew this from the start. The hope was still to go all the way, as we proved Friday.”

*FIFA has arbitrarily placed the seeded teams in the different groups for sporting reasons and concerning location, according to Jérôme Valcke, the secretary general of the international body.

To clarify exactly what Abily was getting at, this SI article explains the particularities of the WWC’s seeding process:

France and Germany were two of the six seeded teams for the WWC draw last December. But unlike in the men’s World Cup, where seeded teams (other than the host nation) are drawn randomly into their groups, FIFA decided before the draw which groups all the seeded teams would be in at the Women’s World Cup.

[...]

When I asked FIFA why it would arrange a likely marquee matchup between No. 1 and No. 3 in the quarterfinals, a spokesperson noted that the Women’s World Cup is different from the men’s World Cup. Basically, FIFA feels like it needs to put certain teams in certain cities to sell tickets and in certain time zones to help with TV ratings back home.

“Similar to previous draws for FIFA Women’s World Cups like Germany in 2011, teams are seeded ... and allocated into specific groups for ticketing and promotion reasons,” the FIFA spokesperson replied. “Whilst the interest in the FIFA Women’s World Cup has grown significantly over the last years, the success and great interest from the public in the tournament in Germany in 2011 can’t be compared to the Brazil [men’s] World Cup. Filling the stadia is a FIFA and host association key objective. The allocation of teams to venues, the ticketing and promotion plan and the ticket price strategy are among the key factors for the overall success of the event.”

So that’s why FIFA placed the seeded teams in their respective groups and locations. Fair enough. But why couldn’t FIFA still have done a random draw to determine where the group winners would be placed in the bracket in the knockout rounds? I asked FIFA that question, but it wasn’t addressed in the organization’s response.

You can see how this would piss you off. The most charitable interpretation of these draw decisions are that France and Germany got screwed because FIFA wanted to sell more tickets throughout the rounds. FIFA was probably banking on a good turnout because of the strength of the teams involved and because of the French-speaking Canadians (yesterday’s game took place in Montreal) eager to support a team that speaks the mother tongue. Abily questions that premise when she asks whether, say, a hypothetical, randomly drawn France-Australia match would’ve been well-attended had it been in Moncton.

However, you just as easily could read in more sinister machinations. The U.S. were placed in by far the most difficult group of the tournament, but would still have needed to completely collapse not to come out on top. Similarly, Canada’s group wasn’t the easiest either, with three of the four teams making it all the way to the quarterfinals, though the Canadians were still favorites. It’s not too much of a stretch to wonder if FIFA placed the U.S. and Canada in those difficult but winnable groups to distract everyone from the relative cake walk they’d in the knockout rounds.

America has to have the biggest viewing audience for the WWC, and is also probably the first- or second-biggest in-person attendees of the games. A good USWNT showing would be very good for FIFA’s pockets. Likewise, the local Canadian team going far would also squeeze the maximum amount of juice out of the host nation. None of it smells right, especially when FIFA admits that they drew up the bracket to make the most money.

Unfortunately for Abily, her teammates, and fans who appreciate the greatness of her team, France were a casualty of FIFA’s greed. It’s not too much of a stretch to believe they were set up to fail.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2015, 03:43:25 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #185 on: June 28, 2015, 05:40:48 PM »

Canada’s Women’s World Cup run came to a crushing, heartbreaking end Saturday, the victim of a couple of glaring defensive miscues and an attack that just isn’t skilled or creative enough.

England, advancing further than it ever has at a World Cup, scored twice in the first 14 minutes, stunning a raucous red-and-white clad crowd of 54,027 at BC Place, and hanging on through a scoreless second half for a 2-1 quarterfinal victory.

England now advances to face Japan, 1-0 winners over Australia Saturday, in a semifinal in Edmonton on Wednesday.

Schmidt said the coaching staff and Sinclair all spoke in the somebre post-game locker room. And there were plenty of tears.

Forward Melissa Tancredi had a couple of gilt-edged chances in the first half, but the 33-year-old, a star at the 2012 London Olympics with four goals, appears to have the goal-scoring instinct after taking 18 months away from the game.

The coach have to take a LOT of heat for that....in an age where France Germany Japan etc playing high speed chess on the field...he still have dem cdn woman playin boom-kick football

da felah watch sesselmann fackin up in every single game and put she in to start in all :banginghead:

The only ladies dey playin world class football was Sinclair, Buchanan and Lawrence..de res ah dem passin sorf and thinkin slow like my daughter U-13 team

« Reply #186 on: June 28, 2015, 05:49:01 PM »

The coach have to take a LOT of heat for that....in an age where France Germany Japan etc playing high speed chess on the field...he still have dem cdn woman playin boom-kick football

da felah watch sesselmann fackin up in every single game and put she in to start in all :banginghead:

The only ladies dey playin world class football was Sinclair, Buchanan and Lawrence..de res ah dem passin sorf and thinkin slow like my daughter U-13 team

Lawrence and Buchanan are the future of Canadian football. Could you picture King playing instead of Sesselmann. Buchanan has to be named to the all star team.

« Reply #187 on: June 28, 2015, 05:50:02 PM »
Spot on, Dutty!!!

Re: Sesselmann ah was wondering how come she cyah get subbed.

Even more surprising, de papers even called her out specifically for screwing up ... Think it was in de Sun self. Will look for it.

« Last Edit: June 28, 2015, 05:55:03 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #188 on: June 28, 2015, 06:08:04 PM »
Before the Canada v England game

In defence of Sesselmann's play at the Women's World Cup
Steve Ewen (The Province).

Canadian centre-back Lauren Sesselmann has taken some flak in this Women’s World Cup.

It’s come from the media covering the tournament, the ones who managed to navigate the rigmarole that is the FIFA accreditation process. And it’s come from fans on Twitter.

Her critics will point to moments where she was sloppy with the ball, including during Sunday’s 1-0 playoff-opening win over Switzerland, as well as in the 1-0 triumph over China in the tournament opener.

Her supporters will point to the fact she’s been part of a back line that’s allowed a paltry one goal in four games so far this tournament, which ties Canada with the U.S. and Brazil for stingiest teams in the event.

Sesselmann, in fact, wasn’t on the pitch when that goal was given up in the 1-1 draw with the Netherlands.

All this can’t be easy for Sesselmann, since she’s social-media savvy. She has more than 26,000 followers on Twitter, and she sells Fit As a Pro workout videos from a website of the same name.

“I try not to read any of that kind of stuff, because I know I’m doing a good job for this team,” said Sesselmann, 31. “I’m doing what the coach needs me to do. I just focus on the positive and try to have some fun out there.

“There’s always going to be that negative. That’s what seem people like to do: bring the negative. That’s not what we are focusing on. We’re focusing on the positive and we’re preparing for each game individually.”

Canadian coach John Herdman was quoted as saying that Sesselmann had a “shaky period” during the China game, and he contemplated pulling her out of the game.

It should be pointed out that game was Sesselmann’s first full, 90-minute effort since she tore an anterior cruciate ligament in March 2014.

She balked earlier this week at the idea that she’s not fit just yet.

“I feel very confident,” she said. “I believe in myself.

“Everyone screws up. I don’t know why people continue to bring it (the China game) up.

“The only real slip-ups that I remember were in the first game and I think every game has gotten better for me. I’m doing my job defensively and I think that’s the most important thing.”

Sesselmann grew up in Green Bay, Wisc., and played college at Purdue University. She’s eligible to suit up for Canada thanks to her father, who is from Newfoundland, and she made her debut with this country’s senior team in September 2011.

She started all six games for Canada at the London 2012 Olympics.

Other options for Herdman to pair with Kadeisha Buchanan at centre-back include Carmelina Moscato, 31, and Emily Zurrer, 27.

Moscato has gotten into a pair of games into this tournament, including starting in the 1-1 draw with the Netherlands. She also came off the bench to replace Sesselmann in the 68th minute in the 0-0 draw with New Zealand.

Zurrer has yet to play this tournament.

After the Canada v England game

Lauren Sesselmann's error proves costly for Canada
By Joshua Clipperton (The Canadian Press).

Lauren Sesselmann's error on Saturday led to an early lead for England, who never allowed Canada to get back into their quarter-final match.

Lauren Sesselmann collected a pass from a teammate early in the first half on Saturday, a play the Canadian defender has made countless times.

On this occasion, however, in front of more than 54,000 fans, the ball got caught up in her feet. She fell to the ground and tried desperately to recover, but it was too late.

Jodie Taylor was off to the races and made no mistake with her finish in the 11th minute to give England a lead it would never relinquish in beating Canada 2-1 to send the hosts crashing out of the Women's World Cup at the quarter-final stage.

"It's a soccer player's nightmare," Canadian midfielder Sophie Schmidt said of Sesselmann's gaffe. "It's unfortunate. That's how soccer goes, but I'm still proud of her. She didn't let that affect her performance."

Sesselmann, who still had tears in her eyes 90 minutes after the match and declined to speak to the media, had not been on the pitch for a single goal against at the tournament prior to Saturday.

Despite that record — Canada conceded just once through the first four games — the 31-year-old was the target of criticism for some nervy moments.

"She's took a bit of flack this tournament," said Canadian head coach John Herdman. "That player's going in there with the amount of grief she's taken across games. She's shown real resilience to pull that shirt on and play tonight. I'm proud of Lauren. I make the decisions on selection."

Coming off a serious knee injury in the build up to the World Cup, Sesselmann had to convince Herdman to keep her on against China in the opener after some erratic sequences.

"You hear it here and there," Sesselmann said of the criticism earlier this week. "People are always going to have something to say. You can be the best player in the world and they still have something to say. I'm not even worrying about that."

Sesselmann was almost victimized on a couple of occasions against Switzerland in the round of 16, but she and teenage defender Kadeisha Buchanan continued to anchor the backline and had a spotless record together at the World Cup until Saturday.

"I'm not going to hide from mistakes players make," said Herdman. "(Sesselmann) did well tonight to recover from that and come out and show that resilience and still keep playing. You imagine what was going through her head? She'll want that ground to swallow her up. She just came out fighting.

"She had a rocky five minutes after the mistake, but she came back fighting. All credit to her. All credit to that woman."

« Reply #189 on: June 28, 2015, 06:12:55 PM »

Lawrence and Buchanan are the future of Canadian football. Could you picture King playing instead of Sesselmann. Buchanan has to be named to the all star team.

Who? Arin? Funny thing is that Sesselmann is a Houston Dash player.  :thinking: Over to you, Randy.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2015, 06:17:00 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #190 on: June 29, 2015, 03:38:59 PM »
Bright future beckons dejected Buchanan
FIFA.com

Canada midfielder Sophie Schmidt (R) comforts teammate Kadeisha Buchanan

It is hard to keep smiling when your dreams are dashed. Just ask the 54,000 people who had flocked to Vancouver's BC Place Stadium on Saturday 27 June to cheer on their home heroes in the quarter-finals of the FIFA Women's World Cup™, only for their hopes to be thwarted by the rock-like English back-line. But as the dust settles and the worst of the sadness and disappointment ebbs away, the time comes to take stock and look ahead to the future, in which a rising star in the Canada defence is destined to have a big say.

Kadeisha Buchanan was in tears when the final whistle was blown in Canada's 2-1 defeat, but she soon snapped out of it when her mind turned to the shape of things to come. "It's a big responsibility, because our future will only be bright through a team effort," the down-to-earth 19-year-old told FIFA.com. "But I know that I have to start taking on a leadership role now. I have been playing in this team for three years and I think I can do even more. There are a number of us in the team who are both young and experienced."

Ashley Lawrence, Adriana Leon and Jessie Fleming are other examples, but none of them display quite the maturity of Buchanan, who brought roars from the crowd every time she made a tackle and strode forward with the ball against England. "From the first minute to the last, we gave everything we could, so the loss wasn't for a lack of effort," the Ottawa Fury player said. "We just weren't able to get the goal that would have allowed us to dream. We came close in the final minutes and as the game went on we felt like we were getting nearer. I'm sure that if we'd have had a few more minutes, we'd have done it."

Learning from the best

Buchanan was thrown up front late on and did her utmost to grab an equaliser that would have put the Canadians back on track to reach the final. That is something she would have loved to achieve personally, but also for the sake of the older members of the squad, who have contributed so much to football in the country and may yet hang up their boots without tasting glory. "I know that playing alongside the likes of Christine Sinclair, Melissa Tancredi and Erin McLeod won't last forever," said Buchanan, whom Canucks coach John Herdman has described as his "Christine Sinclair in defence". "I learn something every day, in every match, every training session and every moment I spend alongside them. They are up there among the best in this sport and by training with the best, I become a better defender."

This desire to constantly improve could yet be rewarded at the end of the tournament with the Hyundai Young Player Award, for which Buchanan is a serious contender despite being knocked out in the quarter-finals. However, she is not losing sight of the big picture: "We came really close to a place in the semi-finals, but our main target was to make people proud of us, to inspire the nation," she replied when asked whether the event had lived up to her expectations. "When I think about the support we've received and how sad the people who had cheered us on were at the end of the match, I tell myself that at least we've accomplished this mission."

These thoughts tallied with the rousing speech delivered by her captain in the dressing room after the game, where a mixture of regret and pride pervaded the atmosphere. "It was obviously a sad moment, but Christine took the floor to tell us to pick our heads up and that she was proud of us," Buchanan revealed. "The tournament ends here for us, but we've still got big things to come in the future."
« Last Edit: June 29, 2015, 03:48:03 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #191 on: June 30, 2015, 06:29:54 PM »
and that friends, is why you don't spurn your chances.

Hard luck dey Germany.
The foul was outside the box though.

« Reply #192 on: June 30, 2015, 06:40:04 PM »
I surprised the fox soccer not complaining about how bad the ref is.
I guess is because she not from one of them 3rd world countries.

« Reply #193 on: June 30, 2015, 06:46:29 PM »
and that friends, is why you don't spurn your chances.

Hard luck dey Germany.
The foul was outside the box though.

Missed the goal... penalty?

Second was off a nice play though.  Pity they couldn't get any more f**king gifts like versus France.

« Reply #194 on: June 30, 2015, 06:57:19 PM »
Have to give the US credit for the victory, best game for them so far.
That being said, ref made two bad decisions that influenced the outcome of the game.
A clear path foul is a straight red card which meant the US would have been down to 10 players for the rest of the game.
The US penalty was a foul outside the box and  the assistant should have helped the ref with that call.

« Reply #195 on: June 30, 2015, 07:36:46 PM »
I wonder if  maFIFA were to set up a men's world cup using the format they did for this one what the outcries would be ..... wasn't much football tonight...tired Germany....poor officiating once again. Sad part is that women's football loses out as you can't embrace just parts of the game. 

« Reply #196 on: June 30, 2015, 07:39:57 PM »
That being said, ref made two bad decisions that influenced the outcome of the game.
A clear path foul is a straight red card which meant the US would have been down to 10 players for the rest of the game.
The US penalty was a foul outside the box and  the assistant should have helped the ref with that call.

it's funny how they justified it... "the foul occurred outside but continued into the box"

« Reply #197 on: June 30, 2015, 07:43:21 PM »
I wonder if  maFIFA were to set up a men's world cup using the format they did for this one what the outcries would be ..... wasn't much football tonight...tired Germany....poor officiating once again. Sad part is that women's football loses out as you can't embrace just parts of the game. 

Viewing  figures are significantly up, stadium ram and FIFA pockets fat. Who losing out?

On a side note...Just last month FIFA was being dragged through  the mud and in some cases rightfully so, but tournament start and ah eh really hearing much.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2015, 07:48:18 PM by futbolfan »

« Reply #198 on: June 30, 2015, 07:45:11 PM »

it's funny how they justified it... "the foul occurred outside but continued into the box"

Yeah, it sounded like a basketball, continuation (and 1) type of explanation.

« Reply #199 on: July 01, 2015, 12:24:56 PM »
USWNT stars Morgan Brian and Meghan Klingenberg are living with Jeff Van Gundy(USA TODAY Sports)

By: Laken Litman   

OTTAWA — Sunday mornings mean pancakes at Jeff Van Gundy’s house.

Jeff cuts fresh fruit, his wife Kim flips the pancakes, and Meghan Klingenberg fixes bacon.

Yes, the same Meghan Klingenberg who has played every minute on the United States national team’s back line this World Cup has “Pancake Sundays” with the Van Gundy family in Houston because she lives with them while playing for the Houston Dash in the National Women’s Soccer League.

When Van Gundy learned of the team’s host-family program last year, he jumped on the opportunity knowing little about soccer. The former NBA coach and current ESPN analyst didn’t realize his family received an “absolute blessing.”

Then this past spring, U.S. midfielder Morgan Brian moved in, too.

The most difficult diva of women’s soccer would be the easiest NBA player ever.

Jeff Van Gundy
“I can’t tell you how fortunate we are,” Van Gundy told For The Win. “You don’t know when you have people, but the example they set and also for me having been in the NBA for a long time, they just have a different perspective because they’ve never had it easy. And it’s interesting to watch them. They’re just really excited about the opportunities and how they go about it is impressive.

“The utter lack of sense of entitlement was actually startling for me. For professional athletes, I always think about it in these terms: the most difficult diva of women’s soccer would be the easiest NBA player ever.”

(USA TODAY Sports)

In April 2014, Van Gundy met Brian Ching, the managing director for the Houston Dash, at a fundraiser luncheon in town. During casual conversation, Ching mentioned the Dash has a host family program and Van Gundy was immediately interested. He opened his home before checking with his wife.

Klingenberg had been playing overseas in Sweden and wasn’t wrapping up her season until the end of May. When she arrived in Houston in June, she needed a place to live for the remaining two months of the NWSL schedule and rather than rent an apartment for a short period of time, the Dash set her up with the Van Gundys. Until she actually moved into their house, she didn’t believe it was the same famous NBA family.

“They were absolutely so inviting,” she said. “They made me feel like I was part of a family. Their house was my house. Anything I needed they were willing to help.

“I’m involved in all their family activities and invited to everything. I go to the little one’s cabarets and sit with the family, go out to dinner, sometimes I cook for them because they’re not super into cooking. It’s really a great family dynamic because it’s nice being able to come home from soccer and not having to talk about soccer, think about soccer, be around soccer anymore.”

it’s nice being able to come home from soccer and not having to talk about soccer

Meghan Klingenberg
Brian, who was drafted by the Dash in January, moved in before the 2015 season started in April. Both have quickly grown comfortable and been integrated into the family dynamic, playing in the pool with 11-year-old daughter Grayson and watching TV shows together in the living room like Game of Thrones and House of Cards.

“They’re more tech sound so they can actually get the Apple TV up on the screen, which I’ve never been able to accomplish,” Van Gundy said. “They’ll go up to their rooms some, but they’re pretty invested. They hang out.”

The girls also cook—sometimes just for themselves and also for the whole gang.

“They eat far too healthy for us,” Van Gundy said.

“They’re a tough family when it comes to cooking, I’m not gonna lie,” Klingenberg said, laughing. “They’re picky eaters.”

(USA TODAY Sports)

In the 77th minute of the USA’s second World Cup match against Sweden, Klingenberg had the play of the tournament when she made a leaping, game-saving header on the goal line. Sweden’s Caroline Seger had a perfect shot that was going straight for the upper right corner. Goalkeeper Hope Solo was on the left side, but Klingenberg was in position for the save.

“I thought we were going to lose our minds,” Van Gundy said. “But that was pure pride. We were so happy for her and proud of her.”

Usually when Van Gundy watches these World Cup matches, he gets an “empty pit” in his stomach. Yes, he’s nervous for the U.S. to win like every other fan, but he also knows what hoisting that trophy at the end means to Klingenberg and Brian. In the last year, he’s come to understand the disparity that exists in professional sports and that women’s soccer is vastly different than the NBA, for example.

I thought we were going to lose our minds

Jeff Van Gundy
Soccer is a new love for the Van Gundy family as their two daughters Mattie, 19, and Grayson, 11, don’t play. But they want to see it thrive in their city and across the country.

Houston has only had a professional women’s soccer team since 2014, one season after the NWSL’s inception. But this isn’t the first professional league. In 20 years, there have been four with the W-League, WUSA, WPS and NWSL. The first three all folded, however.

“Go to the games,” Van Gundy said. “I don’t know if there could be a better thing for trying to take your kids to something. It doesn’t matter if you have daughters or sons. You want to see great athletes competing, setting the right example. Going is the best thing anybody can do because they’ve gotta find a way to make (the league) stick and work this time.”

(USA TODAY Sports)

Before the U.S. played Nigeria in its final World Cup group game, Kim and Grayson Van Gundy got lost walking around Vancouver. As they wandered, Kim spotted a familiar face.

“Kristen? Is that you?” Kim said.

It was Kristen Klingenberg, Meghan’s mother, walking around with the rest of the defender’s family.

They were also lost.

The two families, who had met on a previous occasion, hung out the rest of the day and had dinner following the USA’s 1-0 win to clinch the Group of Death.

“I feel like my family has included them as much as they’ve included me,” Meghan Klingenberg said. “I know my parents are just so grateful that they were there and how wonderful they’ve been to me.”

The Van Gundys aren’t sure if they’ll attend any other World Cup games. They don’t want to jinx it by making travel plans. But they are looking forward to seeing if Brian will get more playing time in Friday’s quarterfinal against China now that Lauren Holiday is out with two yellow cards.

(AP)
(AP)

“It’s a chance for her to step up and play well, and Meghan and the defense seem like they’ve played great,” Van Gundy says, the analyst coming out. “Again, I don’t know anything about soccer, but I love watching.”

Even if the Van Gundys don’t make anymore trips to Canada, their house will be ready for Klingenberg and Brian when they return to Houston. The players could have gotten their own apartments, but they’ve built such a strong relationship with the “VGs.”

“I feel like I have my own special little family down in Houston and that wasn’t something I was willing to give up,” Klingenberg said. “They were so welcoming, inviting me to stay next year and I didn’t even think about getting another apartment.”

Nor was she willing to give up “Pancake Sundays.”

(This article previously stated that the Houston Dash was an original NWSL team. FTW regrets the error.)

« Reply #200 on: July 01, 2015, 06:09:30 PM »
Describing the officiating in this World Cup as amateurish is an insult to amateur refs everywhere.  Two dubious penalties, none more so than the dive rewarded by the ref to allow England to draw even.

« Reply #201 on: July 01, 2015, 06:50:16 PM »
Man... football is a cruel sport.  England pressuring Japan at the death when Laura Bassett accidentally puts a Japanese cross in over her goalkeeper's head in the final minute of stoppage time.

« Reply #202 on: July 01, 2015, 07:04:54 PM »
one moment......... had luck England

« Reply #203 on: July 01, 2015, 07:08:23 PM »
Describing the officiating in this World Cup as amateurish is an insult to amateur refs everywhere.  Two dubious penalties, none more so than the dive rewarded by the ref to allow England to draw even.
I was about to say the say thing...I don't understand why the best refs in the world were not at the tournament. The officiating has severely tainted this WC. To have female refs who are substandard hurts the game more. I feel for Bassett .......

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #204 on: July 01, 2015, 07:15:34 PM »
Man... football is a cruel sport.  England pressuring Japan at the death when Laura Bassett accidentally puts a Japanese cross in over her goalkeeper's head in the final minute of stoppage time.

That really was cruel. I was supporting Japan but I really felt that one for England .....hard luck Lionesses...

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #205 on: July 01, 2015, 07:18:27 PM »

I don't know what was worse, the dubious penalty calls or the dumb-ass commentator trying to justify the call by saying the foul "..continued into the box"...wtf

« Reply #206 on: July 01, 2015, 07:32:51 PM »
Yeah I was pulling for Japan too... but rooted for the English women all tournament.

« Reply #207 on: July 01, 2015, 07:34:34 PM »
I don't know what was worse, the dubious penalty calls or the dumb-ass commentator trying to justify the call by saying the foul "..continued into the box"...wtf

I might be willing to buy the Japanese penalty... but not the English one, she accidentally stepped on the English player's heel... had minimal impact on her, if any.  English player takes a step, falls and rolls around.  Good thing that doesn't happen in England.

« Reply #208 on: July 01, 2015, 07:55:29 PM »
so I guess story has already been written as this world cup seems so scripted...the US beats Japan 1-0 to avenge their 2011 loss as Abby Wambauch scores a game winning penalty.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #209 on: July 01, 2015, 08:09:45 PM »

I might be willing to buy the Japanese penalty... but not the English one, she accidentally stepped on the English player's heel... had minimal impact on her, if any.  English player takes a step, falls and rolls around.  Good thing that doesn't happen in England.

I guess the good thing is the second bad penalty call restored parity to a half in which neither team had the clear upper hand. England had the better of the opportunities in the second half and I gave them the edge going in to extra time...but it seemed fate had other plans for them.