March 28, 2024, 08:55:01 AM

Author Topic: Ecuador edge T&T women to secure final World Cup spot.  (Read 8224 times)

Re: Ecuador edge T&T women to secure final World Cup spot.
« Reply #30 on: December 05, 2014, 05:39:17 PM »
Allyuh don't forget, the girls have to get back to and on with life. They are not all pro ballers. They already sacrificed better part of a year. However, as Johnson said, if jobs can be arranged.

« Reply #31 on: December 06, 2014, 09:50:52 PM »
Post-match comments from Maylee

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/nscXVI3KdVw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/nscXVI3KdVw</a>

« Reply #32 on: December 07, 2014, 04:32:00 AM »
This young lady is articulate bright composed and has a certain appeal to lead. I wonder if given her academic background if the TTFA could invest in her as a coach. Maybe sponsor her for training and coaching credentials - maybe a stint with some qualified female coaches in USA and have he begin working with the Ladies' program.
Isn't the coach from Ecuador only 25?

« Reply #33 on: December 07, 2014, 12:50:52 PM »
It was really tough watching the Women's World Cup draw KNOWING that we should have been there.

And it in Canada to boot making it a really accessible place for T&T nationals to come and support the team. So much was riding on that qualification. But as in 1989, I guess we just not ready. The players perform on the field, but the administration, media, corporate T&T, fans etc. We ALL failed to qualify.

And when we did qualify in 2005, we promptly proceeded to f**k it up by banning the same players that brought so much pride to the country. Is like we bound to find a way to f**k up.

Hopefully one day we will learn
« Last Edit: December 07, 2014, 12:53:50 PM by palos »

« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2014, 02:35:57 PM »
It was really tough watching the Women's World Cup draw KNOWING that we should have been there.

And it in Canada to boot making it a really accessible place for T&T nationals to come and support the team. So much was riding on that qualification. But as in 1989, I guess we just not ready. The players perform on the field, but the administration, media, corporate T&T, fans etc. We ALL failed to qualify.

And when we did qualify in 2005, we promptly proceeded to f**k it up by banning the same players that brought so much pride to the country. Is like we bound to find a way to f**k up.

Hopefully one day we will learn

Look nah Palos- I still eh quite over it!!! I travelled down- attended the game fully expecting to be ready for this summer. Following this team's performance against USA CR and Mexico ah say they should be progressively better- boi ehhhhh look nah Edmonton ah dey Vancouver ah dey-

Choices now Gold Cup- Pan Am Games or drive three hours to Edmonton and cheer on the Maple Leafs.

« Reply #35 on: December 07, 2014, 09:52:39 PM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/nscXVI3KdVw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/nscXVI3KdVw</a>
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=146.msg1231#msg1231
the whole discussion was good, and should be read, even doh there was little total agreement..
I just pulled out a quote, to re-iterate the point I made above, in support of Mz Johnson comments.
"Allyuh don't forget, the girls have to get back to and on with life. They are not all pro ballers. They already sacrificed better part of a year. However, as Johnson said, if jobs can be arranged"

to break it down simply...Forget the National awareness issue

Presently, We have some of our better players getting foreign contracts and scholarships....Dem gone...many not to be seen on a National scale again.
Now we start a football academy, increase the level of the youths from an earlier age...As they develop even better, yuh think they won't get more or earlier scholarships and foreign contracts.. They will go even faster....so the ones who don't accept these lucrative offers stay, but would they be our best, sure the overall ability will improve, but we would have lost more of our better players at an even faster rate as the system evolves into an elite supplier of cheap footballers...How will that help us produce a better National program?

This is just an opinion eh, but as I see it may lead to a faster Talent drain on the short Term, and same boat on the long term.

Nah, I think our National development, can only be improved by having stuff( jobs-professional & otherwise) to keep our better players home. Thus it may seem as if I am not talking about improving our football on a youth level, yet in fact I am.   - see previous post

« Reply #36 on: December 07, 2014, 10:14:00 PM »

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=146.msg1231#msg1231
the whole discussion was good, and should be read, even doh there was little total agreement..
I just pulled out a quote, to re-iterate the point I made above, in support of Mz Johnson comments.
"Allyuh don't forget, the girls have to get back to and on with life. They are not all pro ballers. They already sacrificed better part of a year. However, as Johnson said, if jobs can be arranged"

to break it down simply...Forget the National awareness issue

Presently, We have some of our better players getting foreign contracts and scholarships....Dem gone...many not to be seen on a National scale again.
Now we start a football academy, increase the level of the youths from an earlier age...As they develop even better, yuh think they won't get more or earlier scholarships and foreign contracts.. They will go even faster....so the ones who don't accept these lucrative offers stay, but would they be our best, sure the overall ability will improve, but we would have lost more of our better players at an even faster rate as the system evolves into an elite supplier of cheap footballers...How will that help us produce a better National program?

This is just an opinion eh, but as I see it may lead to a faster Talent drain on the short Term, and same boat on the long term.

Nah, I think our National development, can only be improved by having stuff( jobs-professional & otherwise) to keep our better players home. Thus it may seem as if I am not talking about improving our football on a youth level, yet in fact I am.   - see previous post

I've been working on a plan to deal with such situation. I am still working out the kinks. It however, will take a massive coordinated effort from the administration and commitment from players.

« Reply #37 on: December 08, 2014, 04:24:39 AM »
Anyone have a recording of this game?

« Reply #38 on: December 08, 2014, 04:26:52 AM »
I've been working on a plan to deal with such situation. I am still working out the kinks. It however, will take a massive coordinated effort from the administration and commitment from players.

Sadly many ideas put forth are depedent on who is in power, who you vote for, and the usual, who yuh know. However, if there is anyway I can help let me know. Academy wise, I already informed of a program we have here in quebec. Player retention and job wise, no idea, especially when when a TTFA cannot afford it's coaches and staff, therefore jobs without pay, thus volunteer work. Graduating students cannot afford that.
PM me, let me know if I can help.

« Reply #39 on: December 08, 2014, 02:01:53 PM »

Sadly many ideas put forth are depedent on who is in power, who you vote for, and the usual, who yuh know. However, if there is anyway I can help let me know. Academy wise, I already informed of a program we have here in quebec. Player retention and job wise, no idea, especially when when a TTFA cannot afford it's coaches and staff, therefore jobs without pay, thus volunteer work. Graduating students cannot afford that.

I raised similar concerns where it regards to employing the women going forward.  From what I understand, the TTFA have both Akheela and Maylee on their radars.  Maylee even worked as a team manager in the past, I believe.

« Reply #40 on: December 08, 2014, 11:15:25 PM »

I raised similar concerns where it regards to employing the women going forward.  From what I understand, the TTFA have both Akheela and Maylee on their radars.  Maylee even worked as a team manager in the past, I believe.

What about Izler Browne? The best Female player to ever wear the T&T uniform. She, by now, should be a mainstay in the TTFA coaching ranks. Can't understand how she is not the coach of the U15 girls or the U17 girls.

« Reply #41 on: December 09, 2014, 07:39:39 AM »

on youtube

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/fcd3TySEh7o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/fcd3TySEh7o</a>

« Reply #42 on: December 09, 2014, 01:13:52 PM »
What about Izler Browne? The best Female player to ever wear the T&T uniform. She, by now, should be a mainstay in the TTFA coaching ranks. Can't understand how she is not the coach of the U15 girls or the U17 girls.

Does she want any part of the dysfunction that is working for the TTFA right now?  She probably getting paid more, and more regularly by the VI Soccer Federation.

« Reply #43 on: December 09, 2014, 01:29:20 PM »

Does she want any part of the dysfunction that is working for the TTFA right now?  She probably getting paid more, and more regularly by the VI Soccer Federation.

Yuh sources rel good Bakes.    :beermug:

« Reply #44 on: December 09, 2014, 03:59:09 PM »
Yuh sources rel good Bakes.    :beermug:

Google has a much better reputation than you give it credit for  :beermug:

« Reply #45 on: December 10, 2014, 01:50:21 PM »

on youtube

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/fcd3TySEh7o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/fcd3TySEh7o</a>

Thnx

« Reply #46 on: December 11, 2014, 02:54:43 AM »
Yorke: One loss is not the end of the road.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Former national football captain Dwight Yorke voiced his support towards the national women’s team prior to their December 2 final World Cup qualifier against Ecuador. A victory, he said, would have propelled the women’s game but with the result now history, Yorke has another message for Maylee Attin-Johnson and her teammates.

Yorke was a teenager on November 19, 1989 when T&T suffered a 1-0 loss to the United States, a defeat that saw the Strike Squad falter at the final hurdle. Shattering as it was, T&T continued to chase that qualification dream and eventually accomplished it in 2005/2006.

“It’s heartbreaking and it’s something that never leaves you,” Yorke said. “This is a memory you will take with you for the rest of your lives but it makes you a stronger person and you take the lessons from it. I had the same experience as a youngster in 1989 but I didn’t let it keep me down. Instead I used it to my advantage and I pushed myself to do better, to chase more dreams and to achieve things.

“This is what these young women have to do now. They’ve set a good platform for women’s football and now they have got to believe more than ever before that they can go on to achieve other things. There will be more tournaments and more World Cups to come.

Hopefully now the people and I mean the association, the stakeholders, the Government and the players can realise how important it is to give it their all both for the women and the men’s football back home.”

« Last Edit: December 11, 2014, 03:00:44 AM by Flex »