April 19, 2024, 04:41:22 AM

Author Topic: Dash Cam Footage: Police Officer Shoots And Kills Unarmed Man  (Read 2187 times)

Dash Cam Footage: Police Officer Shoots And Kills Unarmed Man
« on: January 09, 2015, 10:11:00 AM »
Dash Cam Footage: Police Officer Shoots And Kills Unarmed Man During A Traffic Stop

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PmV442QGydg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PmV442QGydg</a>

Billings, MT — A jury at a coroners inquest has determined Wednesday afternoon that a Montano police officer, who shot and killing an unarmed man during a traffic stop was justified.

Billings Police Officer Grant Morrison testified to the jury that he feared for his life during a traffic stop where he fired the 3 shots which killed 38-year-old Richard Ramirez.

Morrison testified that he saw Ramirez “reach for his waistband” during the 30 second encounter last April.

“I knew in that moment, which later was determined to be untrue, but I knew in that moment that he was reaching for a gun,” Morrison said. “I couldn’t take that risk. … I wanted to see my son grow up.”

Because of Marrison’s decision to pull the trigger, Ramirez will not have that opportunity.

No one is claiming that Ramirez is an angel, but did he deserve to die right then and there?

According to the AP, all  but three of the 15 people called to testify during the two-day inquest were from law enforcement. Several police officers spoke at length about their prior dealings with Ramirez and others in his family.

“I don’t care what things my brother did in the past,” Renee Ramirez said criticizing the inquest as one-sided. “What does that have to do with shooting my brother?”

Police video showed Morrison repeatedly ordering Ramirez and other occupants of the vehicle to raise their hands and it appears that everyone is complying.

Ramirez’s actions were largely obscured in the video but Morrison said Ramirez dropped his left hand to his side — out of the officer’s view — and “started to jiggle it up and down” just before he was shot.

If Morrison was so worried about “watching his son grow up,” why was it that he didn’t sit in his patrol car until the backup, which was obviously close by, arrived?

If these suspects were so dangerous, getting out by yourself, is a poor choice.

The fact of the matter is that Ramirez could be alive today if better decisions would have been made.

This is not the first time Morrison has killed a person while on duty either, he shot and killed another man in 2013. The man he killed in 2013, Jason Shaw, had a young son, who he described as a “beautiful baby blue-eyed boy.”

Unfortunately Shaw will not get to enjoy “watching his son grow up.”

He was cleared of any wrongdoing in that case as well.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2015, 10:18:31 AM by Trini _2018 »

Re: Dash Cam Footage: Police Officer Shoots And Kills Unarmed Man
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2015, 12:15:14 PM »
This is the second time this killer has been let off the hook after taking another man's life under questionable circumstances.  Two killings in less than 14 months... five police killings by the Billings PD in the past 8 years and he's responsible for two of them... but he's not doing anything wrong.

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2015, 02:54:58 PM »
Did they find a gun on Ramirez.

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2015, 04:18:09 PM »
Did they find a gun on Ramirez.

No gun on the man. I read another article where they said they found drugs in the car near where he sat and they think he may have been trying to hide them when the police man shot him. Apparently in the inquest 12 of the 15 witnesses testified for the police and they brought up his past criminal history and mentioned that he had enough meth in his system to kill someone who hadn't used the drug before. That's all well and good but I am not sure what bearing that had on the police man's decision to shoot. So in the end, yet again, the dead victim becomes the focus instead of the police and their decision making. 

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2015, 07:50:03 AM »
In 2013, Morrison shot and killed James Shaw after a routine traffic stop. Shaw, as you will have to carefully hear since the shooting is just out of the sight of the camera, is first hit with a taser then immediately shot and killed by Morrison. Morrison says he shot Shaw because he had a "crazed look on his face."

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/0VTKyVgjW-c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/0VTKyVgjW-c</a>

« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2015, 01:34:01 PM »
In 2013, Morrison shot and killed James Shaw after a routine traffic stop. Shaw, as you will have to carefully hear since the shooting is just out of the sight of the camera, is first hit with a taser then immediately shot and killed by Morrison. Morrison says he shot Shaw because he had a "crazed look on his face."

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/0VTKyVgjW-c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/0VTKyVgjW-c</a>

Rodney King looked liked a "Crazed animal" or something like that.  I will find the quote how the officer described Mike Brown.

Once is ah black man the black man does transform into some nether creature.

« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2015, 01:36:17 PM »
At least this one did not die.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/RBUUO_VFYMs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/RBUUO_VFYMs</a>

« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2015, 03:16:13 PM »
... this goes directly to De Blasio's comments regarding conversations with his son.

Those sort of sudden, jerky movements unaccompanied by words of caution (ok officer, ah reaching fuh meh license ... ) create a platform for being shot.

Seems to be a Columbia, SC incident.

« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2015, 12:15:28 AM »
Wait, wait ,wait, a seatbelt violation led to the office shooting up that fella? I surely hope that officer is behind bars right now!

I have to watch myself from now even though I'm a law abiding man....at least I real glad to hear that solider survived.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2015, 12:24:35 AM by soccerman »

« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2015, 12:08:17 PM »
Wait, wait ,wait, a seatbelt violation led to the office shooting up that fella? I surely hope that officer is behind bars right now!

I have to watch myself from now even though I'm a law abiding man....at least I real glad to hear that solider survived.
these is the times i does glad for lawyers. i hope somebody try to bankrupt that police dept. lie bout he told him don't go in the car.

« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2015, 12:22:21 PM »
He didn't lie... and yes he's behind bars facing charges. He was also summarily dismissed from the South Carolina state police force. This was posted 5-6 months ago.