March 28, 2024, 12:42:10 PM

Author Topic: T&T U-20 coach pleads ‘keep this team together’  (Read 3736 times)

T&T U-20 coach pleads ‘keep this team together’
« on: January 23, 2015, 02:51:35 AM »
T&T U-20 coach pleads ‘keep this team together’
T&T Newsday Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Under 20 Team surrendered their World Cup qualifying aspirations as they succumbed to a 1-0 defeat to the United States in their final Group A encounter at the Concacaf Championship in Montego Bay on Wednesday evening.

TT, with the loss, finished fourth on the six-team table ahead of hosts Jamaica (2 points) and Aruba (1) with Panama topping the table followed by United States and Guatemala. The two latter teams will advance to the playoff to fight for the two remaining spots for the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in New Zealand. Panama and Mexico have qualified by virtue of topping the groups.

The winner for the US came from Bradford Jamieson in the 78th minute, soon after TT threatened to break the deadlock on a couple occasions.

Neveal Hackshaw had earlier kept USA from going ahead when he cleared off the line in the 49th. Duane Muckette had a close shave from Matthew Woo Ling’s free-kick in the 54th.

US head coach Tab Ramos, knowing his team needed at least a draw to advance, described the encounter as a difficult one.

“It was a very difficult match. We knew Trinidad had quite a few good players that we had to be careful with, and they played like it was their last game. We’re happy to get the three points,” Ramos said.

“ I know in general terms we played poorly compared to the way we’ve been playing. Having said that, we took nineteen shots which is very positive for us. Unfortunately we just couldn’t cash in. That’s kind of been the story for us in this tournament. We’ve taken a lot of shots – I think we’re leading the tournament in shots and yet we’re not getting the goals. We’ve got to do better for the next game if we’re going to go to the World Cup, that’s for sure.”

TT head coach Derek King was understandably disappointed but saw some positive points to take away from the competition.

“It wasn’t bad today. We had them on the back foot for the opening ten minutes. We did exactly what we wanted in the first half by not giving away anything and creating a couple chances,” King told TTFA Media.

“Defensively we were solid. Akeem Garcia was used as the lone striker and he did well and Matthew Woo Ling came into the team also give us a good showing. But in the end we’re disappointed to have come here with hopes of advancing and not being able to,” King added.

The former TT Senior team player and current Senior team assistant coach, said progress would continue with the right approach going forward.

“Preparation is the key. We were not outplayed by any of the teams here in this tournament but when you look at their resources and what their preparation looked like it could prove to be the difference. I’m not making excuses but teams like Canada and USA have much more in their buildups to these tournaments, and we still competed with everyone including Panama which went on to qualify for the World Cup.

“I hope we can keep this team together because they are the future players for our country’s senior team. Stephen Hart was impressed and other coaches as well who witnessed the team play.

“As a team and a nation we still have to work to get up to being comfortable playing at that level on a consistent basis.

I think the players realised the work that has to be done mentally and physically. We also have to keep working on our finishing and stop conceding soft goals.

The guys need to keep their heads up and move on from this. The plus for us here is that we were able to match these teams.” King concluded.

Re: T&T U-20 coach pleads ‘keep this team together’
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2015, 03:26:07 AM »
I would say we're even more of a talented bunch...if ....IF we had put our heads down...properly prepared. ..Panama and USA was ripe for de picking....

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2015, 07:28:59 AM »
King, stop with the bull.

If you complaining about scoring goals but yet you playing with 10 midfelders then how you expect to score goals?

You went Jamaica with two strikers, one good one and the other you never saw play.

So when you have such a tin squad of strikers how can you cater for suspensions or injury as was the case with Corbin?

Then you consistently playing such a defensive formation, then how would you expect to score goals then?

As for the team being kept together, sorry, good idea, just dont hold your breath with the current admin.

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2015, 07:44:19 AM »
Pleading by the coach that's likely to once again fall on deaf ears. Who cares? Why should people in T&T care when most are hardly aware. Check yuh own friends, neighbours, family & see how much they care.
I could hear the loud steups by Uncle Tim and the other stakeholders who hardly have time to raise money for the cause, while dey lashin' drinks with Horner & company..

Preparation might be much better next time. If we lucky, players geyyin' a call up 2 weeks before the tournament with lots of drills around cones (generously supplied by the T&T traffic branch), visa requests on the nail-biting week before the tournament, US visa appointments superbly arranged the day of the booked flights, refusal of some visas the day before travel & thus reducing the squad and building unnecessary anxiety, arrival in Miami the week of the tournament to play a high school team mayor's eleven while Haiti plays Spain, France, South Korea and broke-ass Jamaica plays Uruguay, Argentina and Colombia long in advance to assess strategic progress and heal from match games.
Let Lasana dare touch that topic and is a venomous "yuh f**ker" in yuh ruckertuhkungkung he geyyin', from those heavily & desperately invested in keeping the status quo for a variety of perverse reasons.

How could you expect different results with the same preparation that seems to be only "minimally less" than the opposition?
How could you expect more when there is no indication or press release by Uncle Tim and Shell-done that the modus operandi will be different the next time?
Good luck with BraveHart and the senior squad trying to fight the same disease with the other squads.

Maybe, we gotta be real and stop butting our heads against the same harricrete concrete wall.
Flex, a proposal: Let's channel our precious energies for better and quicker results into lobblying for cricket, swimming and a national wine-on-a-bamsee competition ... and while we at it, get ex =minister Anil "2 pull" some strings for us and see if the response is different. Everybody knows investing in football is a waste of taxpayers' money. Let's be honest.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 01:34:29 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2015, 11:13:16 AM »

If you complaining about scoring goals but yet you playing with 10 midfelders then how you expect to score goals?

You went Jamaica with two strikers, one good one and the other you never saw play.

So when you have such a tin squad of strikers how can you cater for suspensions or injury as was the case with Corbin?

Then you consistently playing such a defensive formation, then how would you expect to score goals then?

As for the team being kept together, sorry, good idea, just dont hold your breath with the current admin.

exactly he needed an extra foward

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2015, 11:35:12 AM »
Why do you guys think we didn't qualify?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2015, 11:48:42 AM by SWO_TNTFAN »

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2015, 11:59:16 AM »
Why do you guys think we didn't qualify?

Lack of match experience.

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2015, 01:21:52 PM »
arrival in Miami to play a high school team mayor's eleven while Haiti plays Spain, France, Korea and broke ass jamaica plays Uruguay Argentina and Colombia.

Not trying to underscore your point, but both JA and Haiti did not do well either. Haiti drew 3 and lost 2. Well Ja ........

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2015, 03:31:40 PM »
arrival in Miami to play a high school team mayor's eleven while Haiti plays Spain, France, Korea and broke ass jamaica plays Uruguay Argentina and Colombia.

Not trying to underscore your point, but both JA and Haiti did not do well either. Haiti drew 3 and lost 2. Well Ja ........

So they prepared well and fail means that we should do what? Nothing? Do get the thought process that some countries prepared well and did not do well so we should not bother to much about us not preparing well.

I have studied and failed exams and not studied and passed exams. Does that mean I should not study?

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2015, 03:52:38 PM »
In my humble opinion it was very clear the Jamaica game result rested squarely on the Head coach decision to not close out the game- via using proper subs at critical times, maybe a bit of in-experience at this level. The amount of energy exerted during the first game showed in the second and continued on from there - which eventually lead to frustration because of the physical demands of the competition. This isn't different from any other competition.
I am not saying "don't use local coaches" or even "our coach wasn't good enough" however, it is clear that our plans wasn't properly thought out and the results didn't show the performance of the team.

Comparing tnt performance to that of Haiti or Jamaica is irrelevant, competing against quality opponents is also not the best thing just before a tournament because of two factors - mental state based on confidence levels and two - physical fitness level in short meaning it drains the players. That said playing underdog high school sides builds confidence and also don't overwork the team to where they are nursing injuries or overworked.

With this said, I don't blame the players but the tactics of the coach and the ways in which he used the players available to him. For instance it would of been ideal to rest the important players against Aruba before playing Guatemala. It also helps to watch the other teams and build a strategy around how they play - since we going into the competition as underdogs, we must adapt in order to exploit the weaknesses of other teams - as well as using our physical strength to grind out results.

Yes to keep the team together but no to keep the coach attached to them. -My opinion.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2015, 04:07:06 PM by SWO_TNTFAN »

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2015, 05:28:02 PM »
So they prepared well and fail means that we should do what? Nothing?

bringing up JA and Haiti performances does not negate the fact that our results were equal poor and have all of  us disappointed. But allyuh bring up JA and Haiti like if those two are in the final. I am very disappointed with the whole TT performance. But preparation was a big issue. Everybody know that. Had we been prepared properply, we should at least be in the US position. We just was not good enough.

« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2015, 06:52:52 PM »
The National Team should not be about "Keeping Team Together" but about pushing individual players on. This is where our next set of NT players coming from so we should be cultivating individuals who can challenge for playing time on the NT. We can't worry about a team perse, but about individuals who can and are willig to make the next step.

« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2015, 02:39:43 AM »
King urges more exposure for TT youth teams
T&T Newsday Reports.

DEREK KING, coach of the Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 football team, is calling on improved preparations for future national youth teams, if they are to succeed at the Concacaf level.

King was speaking in a recent interview, after the national team were unable to book a place at the 2015 FIFA Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

At last month’s Concacaf Championships, Trinidad and Tobago began Group A with a 2-2 draw against hosts Jamaica on January 9, and followed up with a 5-1 hammering of Aruba two days later. But that was as good as it got for the TT team, as they lost 2-0 to Guatemala (January 14), 1-0 to Panama (January 18) and 1-0 to the United States (January 21) to finish the group in fourth spot with four points.

Reflecting on the trip, King said, “it was a good one. Preparation was a key part but we don’t want to make excuses. The guys did well (despite) playing no games before the tournament.

“Canada and the US, they toured Europe and Jamaica had a good preparation,” he added. “The (TT) guys held up well.”

King admitted that the lack of goals affected the team badly “but when we analyse the whole tournament, we matched those teams.”

He made a call to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) to do their best to keep the team together, for competition at the Under-23 and senior team levels.

“We realised that we could match those teams at the international level but the players need to get the exposure. The only way they could get the exposure is by playing friendly internationals.”

King, who serves as assistant to coach Stephen Hart with the national men’s team, also mentioned the inability of the players to remain focused from start to finish.

“I think lack of concentration had a part to play,” said King. “We have to concentrate for 90 minutes plus, especially when you’re playing at the international level, because you can’t afford, more or less, to give the teams (any) opportunity. Fitness-wise still have a part to play but, all and all, it’s the exposure these guys need to play at this level and concentrate for 90-plus minutes.”

Trinidad and Tobago copped the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) title in September, on home soil, but King publicly expressed his concerns that a number of players returned to play at the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) instead of featuring at the Pro League and Super League levels.

“After the CFU, we didn’t really have much time together as a team,” King acknowledged. “Some of the players went back (to) the school level.

“When we analyse the players who stand out, it was the players who were playing at the highest level. That’s a plus and we hope that these players could really go on and represent their clubs, especially (at) the Pro League level.”

Looking back at the Concacaf Championships, King stated, “it was a very good experience. It’s a learning experience. We were very disappointed that we didn’t qualify but we had some good performances from the team itself.

“The most important thing as a coach (is that) I learnt a lot because this is the first time I’ve been a coach in a tournament like this, don’t mind I coached at the Concacaf level with Joe Public,” he added. “It’s a nice learning experience and I hope I can build on it.”

« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2015, 07:03:21 AM »
Exposure. Internationals.
First say the words. Next, make it happen.

« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2015, 08:45:13 AM »
Cue Benjai

« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2015, 09:08:12 AM »
Interesting that there seems to be no mention of players choosing to play SSFL instead of Pro League.

« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2015, 04:54:07 PM »
keeping team together is nonsense back in the day thinking.

Youth football is not about teams it is about developing individual players.

we need to address the strategy at youth level to be focused on the individuals.

take players and put them on different teams so the learn to adapt to different teammates and expose new weaknesses
keep them learning and growing.

worrying about teams is a waste of time at youth level.

« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2015, 09:16:50 PM »
Allyuh real funny boy...look how allyuh waisting dong and fightin dong de coach nah...

« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2015, 09:51:56 PM »
Knd2, what do you mean by put players on different teams.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2015, 11:06:32 PM »

exactly he needed an extra foward
Dre Fortune???
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2015, 09:37:41 PM »
Boy allyuh like to beat dead horses on this forum...always in the past...when will people come with some real ideas for the future of football?