April 27, 2024, 11:38:25 AM

Author Topic: Riquelme - one of a dying breed  (Read 4162 times)

Riquelme - one of a dying breed
« on: October 06, 2008, 10:59:18 AM »
Riquelme - one of a dying breed

One of the great strengths of football is that it can be interpreted in many different ways, but I love watching a player who does his part to keep alive two unfashionable concepts in modern football.

One is change of rhythm, the idea that the game can be slowed down before the application of the killer pass. The other is surprise - the ball that no one was expecting, that wrong foots the entire defence.

Riquelme seeks to pass his way through the opposition whereas so many these days are more concerned with forcing their way through. His type is an endangered species. Something special will be lost from football if they die out altogether.

(continue)

Re: Riquelme - one of a dying breed
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 11:14:10 AM »
Heeeerrrrreeeee comes jai!  8)

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2008, 11:18:26 AM »
funny yuh should bring up Roman, Zeppo like yuh watch de game last night?
i watch dat game with Boca last night, and jed, dis Riquelme is still poison, wayyyy!!!

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2008, 11:44:10 AM »
i watch dat game with Boca last night, and jed, dis Riquelme is still poison, wayyyy!!!

Still?  You sayin' that like the man old...Man is about 30....he still has a few years left in him.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2008, 11:45:42 AM »

Still?  You sayin' that like the man old...Man is about 30....he still has a few years left in him.

kicker yuh say that like ah man in he 30's  :rotfl:

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2008, 02:14:56 PM »
Heeeerrrrreeeee comes jai!  8)

heeeere comes me too...

riquelme... was... is... and always will be a boss!

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2008, 03:08:23 PM »

A boss fuh de vast majority of de time in non meaningful games ... 8)

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2008, 03:41:44 PM »

kicker yuh say that like ah man in he 30's  :rotfl:

;D Ent- doh mind my best years are long behind me.... and even those weren't that good.  ;)

« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2008, 06:05:58 PM »

A boss fuh de vast majority of de time in non meaningful games ... 8)

Trying to avoid me Palos ? well I guess its time for another football lesson ...you have been missing classes lately..you obviously have not been doing you homework have you ?
Just a little stats try and stay up with the class ...

* 2008 Recopa Sudamericana (Boca Juniors)
    * 2008 Football at the 2008 Summer Olympics - Men's tournament (Argentina)
    * 2007 Nominated for FIFA World Player of the Year
    * 2007 Copa Libertadores' Most Valuable Player
    * 2007 Copa Libertadores (Boca Juniors)
    * 2006 Nominated for FIFA World Player of the Year
    * 2005 Nominated for FIFA World Player of the Year
    * 2004 UEFA Intertoto Cup (Villarreal CF)
    * 2001 Copa Libertadores (Boca Juniors)
    * 2001 South American Footballer of the Year
    * 2000 Argentine Apertura Championship (Boca Juniors)
    * 2000 Intercontinental Cup (Boca Juniors)
    * 2000 Copa Libertadores (Boca Juniors)
    * 1999 Argentine Clausura Championship (Boca Juniors)
    * 1998 Argentine Apertura Championship (Boca Juniors)
    * 1997 FIFA's World Youth Championship (under-20)

Now you would motice that Riquelme has already won two titles for the year ....and captained the Olympic winning team...no Brazilian has done that ...not yet..in 4 years maybe ?
I would show some videos of Riqui for Boca but that was in our past classes ...you should attend mpore regularly.
Homework for the next class ...name the two players who play for the same country and  have the same birthday ..clue ...both are rated among their country's best players and one is rated among the best in the world.....I will make it easy ( if not the best in the world )

« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2008, 07:58:02 PM »
good article by Vickery...and I on the dying breed of the old school play-maker types... i really miss them...

« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2008, 05:11:39 PM »
Boca president privileged to have Riquelme at the club

Boca Juniors president Pedro Pompilio said it was a privilege to have Juan Roman Riquelme at the club after the enigmatic Argentina international was publicly criticised by a team mate.

“Riquelme is an extraordinary player to have,” Pompilio told reporters on Wednesday.

“It’s a privilege to have him… I would not think twice about signing him again.”

On Tuesday, Boca defender Julio Cesar Caceres said Riquelme appeared to have more motivation when he played for his country and seemed to be mentally saturated.

(continue)

« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2008, 05:24:31 PM »
When de highlight of yuh career is a winners medal in a Under 23 tournament, it give yuh a propah perspective of yuh accomplishments.  ;D

« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2008, 05:23:42 AM »
When de highlight of yuh career is a winners medal in a Under 23 tournament, it give yuh a propah perspective of yuh accomplishments.  ;D

I suppose dat whole list of achievements I give dey was for under 23 ? When Boca beat real madrid for de Intercontinental Cup was under 23 ? Copa libertadores was under 23 ? ....you have me wondering if you under 23 too !

« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2008, 09:01:38 AM »
Riquelme is class.

« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2008, 09:25:35 AM »
not all midfielders could dictate a game.JJR is blessed.his style is unique.

« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2008, 02:50:27 PM »
For those who came in late and want to know the truth ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2CfqCim0jk&feature=related

It is set to Shakira's music ...
Palos you could look to ..and if anybody see yuh looking yuh could say is de chune yuh like  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2008, 02:53:30 PM »
Wrong link ..it have so many highlights ....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzoRkTRP7Cc&feature=related

« Reply #17 on: October 10, 2008, 08:08:33 AM »
Basile real love Riquelme. He eh dropping him so.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/preview?id=230034&cc=5901

BUENOS AIRES, Oct 10 (Reuters) - Argentina coach Alfio Basile appears undecided whether to field mercurial playmaker Juan Roman Riquelme in Saturday's World Cup qualifier against neighbours Uruguay.

Basile, under increasing pressure after six successive draws in qualifiers and friendlies, has repeatedly expressed his admiration for the elegant but erratic Boca Juniors player, who has started all eight qualifiers so far.

But some indifferent performances from Riquelme, who was this week involved in a public row with a Boca team mate who questioned his recent displays, may prompt the gravel-voiced coach to think again.

In training sessions this week, Basile has tested the first team with and without Riquelme, who is criticised for dragging the rest of the team down with him when he plays badly.

« Reply #18 on: October 10, 2008, 08:25:49 AM »
Basile real love Riquelme. He eh dropping him so.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/preview?id=230034&cc=5901

BUENOS AIRES, Oct 10 (Reuters) - Argentina coach Alfio Basile appears undecided whether to field mercurial playmaker Juan Roman Riquelme in Saturday's World Cup qualifier against neighbours Uruguay.

Basile, under increasing pressure after six successive draws in qualifiers and friendlies, has repeatedly expressed his admiration for the elegant but erratic Boca Juniors player, who has started all eight qualifiers so far.

But some indifferent performances from Riquelme, who was this week involved in a public row with a Boca team mate who questioned his recent displays, may prompt the gravel-voiced coach to think again.

In training sessions this week, Basile has tested the first team with and without Riquelme, who is criticised for dragging the rest of the team down with him when he plays badly.

Yeah ...it is no secret that Riquelme is temperamental ..if motivated there is none better but if not, then he can look ordinary. The test of a good coach is to get it right ...these two have a long history but Basile knows what is possible. You know when you put up the list of the tape Riquelme is the leading scorer for the team in the qualifiers ...now it is hard to exclude your leading goalscorer who happens to also be your playmaker.
The luxury that Argentina has is that Messi can also play that role ..however together they are virtually unstoppable. Just like in all sports geniuses can be intolerable at times ....Maradona, Cantona, George Best, Christiano,Rivera, the animal,Zidane, Latapy etc. all had their moments which they would like to forget.
Some people choose to rememeber the low points ignoring the fact that these same people have contributed in no small way to the beautiful game that we call football.

« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2015, 08:00:54 AM »
“I have decided to no longer play football,” he said. “Now I am just a fan. I will go and suffer in the stadium. I am very pleased with the career I had.

Juan Roman Riquelme, First Team baller November 10, 1996 - January 25, 2015.

« Reply #20 on: January 26, 2015, 08:02:19 AM »
Lots of Riquelme threads on the board. Perhaps a fitting moment to merge them.

« Reply #21 on: January 26, 2015, 09:20:20 AM »
Riquelme say he going in the stands to suffer with the rest of fans. Class guy!

« Reply #22 on: January 26, 2015, 02:26:30 PM »
Nice thread bump, asylumseeker.

I was just about to look for it myself, but you beat me to it.

« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2015, 02:34:38 PM »
Former Argentina, Boca, Barcelona, Villareal midfielder Juan Roman Riquelme retires

Former Argentina international Juan Roman Riquelme has retired from football at the age of 36.

The attacking midfielder was best known for his spells with Boca Juniors and Villareal but also played for Barcelona and, latterly, Argentinos Juniors, as well as making 51 appearances for his country.

He had been linked with a move to Major League Soccer but has instead decided to call time on a career during which he made almost 600 appearances and won a string of individual as well as club honours.

(continue)

« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2015, 02:56:58 PM »
Nice thread bump, asylumseeker.

I was just about to look for it myself, but you beat me to it.

As fate would have it, I'm in Buenos Aires. As I post this, there's a clip on TV showing highlights of his playing repertoire. They are calling it El fin de Román-ce... a play of words on the emotional contribution he brought to fans.

His retirement isn't dominating the news. Practically everything on the screen concerns the supposed suicide, now almost certainly murder, of a prosecutor who likely was on the verge of implicating some powerful domestic actors.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alberto_Nisman
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 04:33:01 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #25 on: January 26, 2015, 03:07:30 PM »
Juan Roman Riquelme: An artist imprisoned in a world of athletes

Bastian Schweinsteiger had endured about all he could take. The German was the future. He’d win Champions Leagues and World Cups. He was technical, too, but combined his ability with strength and athleticism and was good at running fast. And here was this relic, waltzing around his German colleagues without even breaking sweat. It was time to put him in his place. To exterminate his kind.

(continue)

« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2015, 11:46:48 AM »
"Brazil used to have players like Riquelme."
- Pelé

« Reply #27 on: January 29, 2015, 08:31:30 AM »
Riquelme say he going in the stands to suffer with the rest of fans. Class guy!

I think what he meant to convey was translated too literally. Fans use the term in reference to themselves ... indicates their passion for the colors and the emotions - highs and lows that come with being committed to the cause.