April 19, 2024, 08:30:55 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (27-Mar-2015)  (Read 31880 times)

Offline Fyzo10

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (27-Mar-2015)
« Reply #120 on: March 27, 2015, 07:11:53 PM »
Anyone got a link to that Jamaica v Venezuela game?

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #122 on: March 27, 2015, 07:18:58 PM »
Dwayne James came on for Neveal Hackshaw

Its Dwane..

autocorrect  ;D

« Reply #123 on: March 27, 2015, 07:20:08 PM »
de locals not cutting it

he had one shocking pass but I like the look of Dwane James... the rest.. meh  :(
SH is a brave coach and it will pay off in the long run. The team did not look bad, as a matter of fact the majority of the failure came in the last third of the field. I hope for the Jack boy that this was just an extremely bad game. otherwise I liked the look of the youngsters and even the James guy. If we can get lots of warm up I can see a very exciting gold cup.
Btw we must work on our spot kicks. they are predictable and awful. Our shooting from outside is non-existent.
t

agreed. We always want to win but this was a loss rich in learning and revelation

« Reply #124 on: March 27, 2015, 07:34:44 PM »
This has to be a joke. JA could get a game vs Ven. And we right next door and can't organize ah cobo sweat with them.

« Reply #125 on: March 27, 2015, 08:10:10 PM »
Hard luck to the team losing at home to Panama but I think they put up a decent showing considering their lack of games together since the year started.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #126 on: March 27, 2015, 09:05:39 PM »
Can anyone upload the game on youtube please?

Has the next friendly been announced yet? Stephen Hart was saying it would be vs El Salvador.

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #127 on: March 28, 2015, 01:34:41 AM »
The team eventually coped well with the Panamanian attack but many players looked nervous and not ready for the occasion. Lots of mistakes, but Hart should now have a clearer idea for his tinkering.

- Shannon Gomez (12) : The best of the debutants. Started a bit shaky and his positioning was erratic but was always committed. If he made a mistake, his head never dropped. Full of character.
- Sheldon Bateau (4) : Very good on the night. Cleaned up many of the mistakes and was always calm
- Mikhail Williams (17) : Very impressive display. Started the game a bit nervous but grew into his role and was the best T&T player on the night.
- Justin Hoyte (2) : Rusty. Caught out of position and beaten far too often in the first half. Was better in his accustomed right back role but didn't look sharp at all
- Neveal Hackshaw (18) : Another who struggled with the occasion, especially in the first half. Out played in the first half but understood his role better in the second and was more composed.
- Khaleem Hyland (8) : Didn't inspire all that much. Took it upon himself to try and clean up the numerous mistakes and bad passes around him.
- Tyrone Charles (7) : Looked out of his depth. Was found in space on the right on numerous occasions with zero end product. Took either too little or too much time on the ball to make decisions. Has always been a hot and cold player at Pro League level and well tonight int he rain, he was quite cold indeed.
- Kevin Molino (10) : Almost anonymous in the first half, especially for the expectation attached. Wasted a bit on the left flank and his lack of covering may be the reason for all the joy the Panamanians found on that side in the first half. Looked better when he tried to command the ball and increase the tempo in the second
- Ataulla Guerra (11) : Stereotypical frustrating display from Tulla. Poor decision making and if he wasn't trying some fancy flick, he was holding onto the ball for far too long. Same frustrations that exist when he plays for Central. Lots of huff, puff and one or two sparkles but too inconsistent and laid back
- Willis Plaza (9) : Starved of service. Still was not showing enough hunger when trying to feed off of the scraps. Another who is too casual in his approach lately.
- Jamal Jack (6) : Poor poor display and one that I know for a fact he will be annoyed at himself for. Played out of position at left back. Made two bad passes and his confidence plummeted from there. Easily is one of the best centre backs in the Pro League alongside M. Williams, especially with being able to make positive passes from the back but this was a night to forget.
- Dwane James (14) : Looked tidy for the most part. Good ball circulation but maybe not 100 % intensity. Given his penchant for being a bruiser a la Roy Keane, maybe he was trying to restrain himself. In the league, he has mastered the art of aggressive fouling without being carded
- Akeem Garcia (5) : Very raw, but lots of potential. Has been Connections "breakthrough" player this season. Similar to his fellow debutants, "Froggie" struggled to find his feet
- Jomal Williams (19) : Not bad. Showed some willingness to put in some work. Would need some more minutes on the pitch to gain a better idea.
- Marcus Joseph (16) : Tried his luck with two free kicks that came off the wall but given his jackhammer of a left foot, I don't blame him for trying. Overall he still needs to show more to prove that he belongs at this level

« Reply #128 on: March 28, 2015, 04:57:10 AM »
This has to be a joke. JA could get a game vs Ven. And we right next door and can't organize ah cobo sweat with them.

By your logic, Bahamas would be getting regular games with the USA, Guyana with Brazil etc.

« Reply #129 on: March 28, 2015, 05:50:17 AM »

By your logic, Bahamas would be getting regular games with the USA, Guyana with Brazil etc.

Breds, I eh casting any aspersion on your country. My comment, is both serious and tongue in cheek. The fact is, TT is 7 miles from Ven,and we hardly try to get games with them. We also have cultural and familial ties with them. By my logic, yes, Bahamas should be getting regular games with USA or teams in Florida because of close proximity. The same with Guyana. Long ago Guyana use to make regular trips to Boa Vista for friendlies.

« Reply #130 on: March 28, 2015, 06:07:50 AM »
I went down last night, given the number of players on debut it was a fair showing. The pro league players need games like these to get a true feel of the level required for international football. Panama is a tidy outfit and probably top 4 in the region. Noticeably we looked smaller in height and brawn. We probably won 10% of headers all game. Not sure what talent is available but we need a true ball winner in midfield, its my clarion call. The Hylands and the like not good enough. Easily beaten in midfield but not for lack of effort, just not strong enough to body up with the Panama mids.

Marvin Phillip was excellent last night.

« Reply #131 on: March 28, 2015, 07:57:30 AM »
The team eventually coped well with the Panamanian attack but many players looked nervous and not ready for the occasion. Lots of mistakes, but Hart should now have a clearer idea for his tinkering.

- Shannon Gomez (12) : The best of the debutants. Started a bit shaky and his positioning was erratic but was always committed. If he made a mistake, his head never dropped. Full of character.
- Sheldon Bateau (4) : Very good on the night. Cleaned up many of the mistakes and was always calm
- Mikhail Williams (17) : Very impressive display. Started the game a bit nervous but grew into his role and was the best T&T player on the night.
- Justin Hoyte (2) : Rusty. Caught out of position and beaten far too often in the first half. Was better in his accustomed right back role but didn't look sharp at all
- Neveal Hackshaw (18) : Another who struggled with the occasion, especially in the first half. Out played in the first half but understood his role better in the second and was more composed.
- Khaleem Hyland (8) : Didn't inspire all that much. Took it upon himself to try and clean up the numerous mistakes and bad passes around him.
- Tyrone Charles (7) : Looked out of his depth. Was found in space on the right on numerous occasions with zero end product. Took either too little or too much time on the ball to make decisions. Has always been a hot and cold player at Pro League level and well tonight int he rain, he was quite cold indeed.
- Kevin Molino (10) : Almost anonymous in the first half, especially for the expectation attached. Wasted a bit on the left flank and his lack of covering may be the reason for all the joy the Panamanians found on that side in the first half. Looked better when he tried to command the ball and increase the tempo in the second
- Ataulla Guerra (11) : Stereotypical frustrating display from Tulla. Poor decision making and if he wasn't trying some fancy flick, he was holding onto the ball for far too long. Same frustrations that exist when he plays for Central. Lots of huff, puff and one or two sparkles but too inconsistent and laid back
- Willis Plaza (9) : Starved of service. Still was not showing enough hunger when trying to feed off of the scraps. Another who is too casual in his approach lately.
- Jamal Jack (6) : Poor poor display and one that I know for a fact he will be annoyed at himself for. Played out of position at left back. Made two bad passes and his confidence plummeted from there. Easily is one of the best centre backs in the Pro League alongside M. Williams, especially with being able to make positive passes from the back but this was a night to forget.
- Dwane James (14) : Looked tidy for the most part. Good ball circulation but maybe not 100 % intensity. Given his penchant for being a bruiser a la Roy Keane, maybe he was trying to restrain himself. In the league, he has mastered the art of aggressive fouling without being carded
- Akeem Garcia (5) : Very raw, but lots of potential. Has been Connections "breakthrough" player this season. Similar to his fellow debutants, "Froggie" struggled to find his feet
- Jomal Williams (19) : Not bad. Showed some willingness to put in some work. Would need some more minutes on the pitch to gain a better idea.
- Marcus Joseph (16) : Tried his luck with two free kicks that came off the wall but given his jackhammer of a left foot, I don't blame him for trying. Overall he still needs to show more to prove that he belongs at this level

Nice report amielisadore, thank you.

We needed a leader on the field, Hyland is not the answer and has dropped since before the last gold cup and if Hoyte don't start playing regular football, he needs to be on the bench.

These guys have not played football in almost a year consistently and are still playing for T&T first team?

Hart is making the same mistakes past T&T coaches did.

They could have played because they are not bad players but taken off at half time.

Molino was a big disappointment, maybe in big games he just cant raise to the occasion, same against Jamaica in the Caribbean Cup finals last year when he was absent on the field, hence the reason he couldn't make it in Europe?

Guerra and Plaza was terrible also and these guys play regular football week in and week out. Never liked Guerra for some reason. Leston Paul might have been a better gamble?

The senior players did not do much (Marvin apart) to help the new guys on the field.

All of the senior players on the field were big disappointments.

Good job by Mr Hart for the experiment on the new players at least you has a clearer picture now. I can only hope you do not show to much obligation to Hoyte and Hyland if they dont get a club soon. No more favoritism.

I do believe, we need to play a few more games with some of these players and not right them off to soon.

One game cant be the judgement for them, at least for some of them, Levi Garcia should have be training on this team for the least.

Dwane James and Gomez are decent, and give Akeem Garcia and Jomal Williams some time.

Jamal Jack was also a disappointment.

The Central FC players did not look good at all.

;)

Would have liked to see Bentick, Andrews, Arcia and Johan get a run.

« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 08:49:53 AM by Errol »

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #132 on: March 28, 2015, 08:48:26 AM »
DELETED
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 11:10:16 AM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #133 on: March 28, 2015, 08:51:37 AM »
Hard to understand why Yohance Marshall who is the top defender in the El Salvador league woulnd't feature vs a Central American side. The same can be said about Kordell Samuel who has taken his team out of relegation zone since arriving in January.

Kordell Samuel, who is that? Never heard of him? how many goals has he scored and who has he played for?

Was he part of T&T youth system?

We do not need Yohance right now, this was an opportunity to see some new YOUNG players.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #134 on: March 28, 2015, 09:27:00 AM »
DELETED
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 11:09:46 AM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #135 on: March 28, 2015, 09:40:00 AM »
Just I find it interesting that Miguel Camargo of Panama who plays for Aguila in El Salvador, under former Panama coach Julio Dely Valdes, was featuring last night. Aguila lost earlier in February vs Pasaquina, Kordell Samuel was man of the match and was praised publicly by Julio Dely Valdes. He has now become a target of Aguila for the summer transfer window. More recently Pasaquina knocked down Marshall's Juventud Independiente from the first position. Again Kordell Samuel was praised as man of the match. While not a high scorer currently due to Pasaquina limited potential, he has taken the team by hand and sits now 4 points above relegation. He is the type of player that will keep the defense under constant pressure with bursts of speed. Most forwards next to him tend to score more. It is no surprise that most top teams in the league are chasing him for the summer window. That would include Aguila, Isidro Metapan, FAS, etc.

http://m.edhdeportes.com/#/articulo/liga-mayor-de-futbol/pasaquina-deja-sotano-tras-ganarle-aguila-20985

Thanks for the update. I wish him well, but until he starts scoring more goals and playing for better teams no one will take him to serious.

What is his stats?

Who has he played for in the past?

Was he a part of T&T youth teams?

Did he play in the SSFL?

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #136 on: March 28, 2015, 10:11:51 AM »
DELETED
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 11:09:06 AM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #137 on: March 28, 2015, 11:03:49 AM »
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T’s 1-0 loss to Panama

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZV3TMwuSMZY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZV3TMwuSMZY</a>

Panama's goal
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VAT5nqGlHp8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VAT5nqGlHp8</a>

« Reply #138 on: March 28, 2015, 11:55:11 AM »
Reactions from Head Coach Stephen Hart

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/jrWMeIikH3I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/jrWMeIikH3I</a>

« Reply #139 on: March 28, 2015, 12:44:52 PM »
Jeez atleast 2 should of been scored . My boy Plaza miss that one dey! Normally he would bury that chance, it was a good opening but the ball did bubble and didn't fall nicely for him.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 12:51:08 PM by SWO_TNTFAN »

« Reply #140 on: March 28, 2015, 01:35:51 PM »
Plaza did not look that good yesterday. We know he better than that. But the mid-field service was poor. When he did get the ball around the area, the Canal Boys was swarming.  Our mids were not in  good position to assist. Then the usual long balls from the back were mostly unhopeful.

« Reply #141 on: March 28, 2015, 01:45:55 PM »
if Hoyte don't start playing regular football, he needs to be on the bench.

These guys have not played football in almost a year consistently and are still playing for T&T first team?

Hart is making the same mistakes past T&T coaches did.

They could have played because they are not bad players but taken off at half time.
I'm guessing Hoyte played in part  because of 2 factors:

1 - He knows what is expected of him and has played the role before.  In other words....experience
2 - He performed better than the alternatives in practice

Molino was a big disappointment, maybe in big games he just cant raise to the occasion, same against Jamaica in the Caribbean Cup finals last year when he was absent on the field, hence the reason he couldn't make it in Europe?
That's a really unfair assessment.  Molino has literally carried the T&T attack in several IMPORTANT BIG games previously.  Because he had a below expectation performance in the Caribbean Cup final  and yesterday doesn't follow that he can't rise to the occasion in big games.  Besides, this was a friendly yesterday.  Hardly a "big game".

The senior players did not do much (Marvin apart) to help the new guys on the field.

All of the senior players on the field were big disappointments.
Perhaps senior players also need time to adjust to players new to the style and speed of play.  You make a pass to where a man supposed to be but isn't....you the one lookin like a shithound.

Good job by Mr Hart for the experiment on the new players at least you has a clearer picture now. I can only hope you do not show to much obligation to Hoyte and Hyland if they dont get a club soon. No more favoritism.
Coach Hart himself will tell you that he wants players on the team that are playing regular club football.  But even with no regular playing time, both Hoyte and Hyland are superior players to the local based.  In such a scenario where the coach is trying 6 new players in the lineup, you need a mixture of youth and experience.

It's not favouritism IMO.  It's pragmatism.

BTW....I endorse sub1's assessment that given the circumstances, it was not a bad outing by the team against one of the powers (Yes...Panama is now a top team) in CONCACAF
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 02:08:51 PM by palos »

« Reply #142 on: March 28, 2015, 01:55:40 PM »

« Reply #143 on: March 28, 2015, 02:02:58 PM »
Ah glad Palos weighed in re: Errol's comments (particularly as concern Molino). Molino deserves better.

« Reply #144 on: March 28, 2015, 02:30:22 PM »

Stephen Hart:
He explained that he selected a few overseas-based players into his current squad to help the rookies grasp his ideas quicker. I wanted to have a situation where some of the players who have been with me and understand what we are doing are present to help the others in the squad,” said Hart. “So I have kept a few who have been in my environment so to speak.”
http://wired868.com/2015/03/21/hart-names-three-teenagers-in-warriors-squad-to-face-panama/

« Reply #145 on: March 28, 2015, 04:14:05 PM »
That 1-0 loss shows the progress that Hart has made since coming in. When I read that Hart was fielding essentially a "b" team and Panama was coming with their "a" team, I was expecting to see TT  lose by 2 or even 3 goals.

Although a loss, there were more positives than negatives.

If Marvin Phillips continues with performances like that, he WILL replace Jan.

« Reply #146 on: March 28, 2015, 05:15:11 PM »
If Marvin Phillips continues with performances like that, he WILL replace Jan.

There's nothing much between the keepers, and they both have similar weaknesses (e.g cross balls, lapse in concentration,). Marvin is probably the better shot stopper.

« Reply #147 on: March 29, 2015, 07:00:23 AM »
for the many times i have been fortunate/unfortunate enough to watch our games in full effect it seems the more things change the more they remain the same. for instance watching this video i have observed the same flaws over the decades passed down from generation to generation in full effect.
in minute 3.07 of the clip i observed the #18 tt player on the right flank allowing an on coming player to find a free pass of an unmarked player in the box without closing him down earlier then backs off after losing the the battle while the panamanian continued his run into the box on a one two pass with a tt midfielder trailing the play #5 also pulls up instead of pursing the play leaving the # 17 to clean up the danger with a slide tackle. this is how we have lost most of our games by glaring defensive errors.

the only time i have ever seen our players free of these bad habits were in the world cup with coach benhaker only to return to them after his departure. another terrible habit we have to maintain is the inability to play under high pressure, it seem that we lose composure on the ball and make forced errors when we are given less time to play. there is no sense of positioning and lack the ability to move the ball sensibly without giving the ball away in countless attempts to make things happen, i particularly noticed this when we played jamaica and cuba.

our players need to learn how to break down defenses with ball movement especially in transition from defense to offense. if these young men wants a career in football they will have to learn to play for 120 minutes of high intensity grueling football without pulling up every ten minutes for air. our pro league is also not helping, they need to stress fitness and raise the bar on the speed of play. it was very clear that these debutants were lost with the speed of play especially in transition. i hope that coach hart made the same observations particularly since it was glaringly obvious to the naked eye. i will take hyland and hoyte over most these players because of their sense of urgency and technique in closing down and following up on the run of play.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2015, 07:19:32 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #148 on: March 29, 2015, 07:06:32 AM »
Plaza did not look that good yesterday. We know he better than that. But the mid-field service was poor. When he did get the ball around the area, the Canal Boys was swarming.  Our mids were not in  good position to assist. Then the usual long balls from the back were mostly unhopeful.
regrettably plaza is a very ordinary player who will flunking in the lowest leagues in england. it's clear to see that most of our guys don't put in serious work in perfecting their craft on their off time, maybe they see football as an income and not a career. sad to say but dwight stern and kenwin seem to be the most clinical players we have produced thus far.

« Reply #149 on: March 29, 2015, 09:19:20 AM »
Khaleem Hyland, Sheldon Bateau and Dwane James speak to the media.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Z80Bg4YtwNg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Z80Bg4YtwNg</a>