April 19, 2024, 10:57:12 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (9-Jul-2015)  (Read 35283 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (9-Jul-2015)
« on: March 13, 2015, 08:47:09 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Guatemala 2015 Gold Cup game at Soldier Field, Chicago (7pm) on the 9th of July 2015 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

http://deportesenvivo.univision.com/game/guatemala-at-trinidad-on-20150709

http://johnnystv.blogspot.com/

Possible TV Station.

Fox Sports 2 (in US)

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders

Mekeil Williams (Antigua GFC, Guatemala), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen, Belgium), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire, USA), Radanfah Abu Bakr (HB Koge, Denmark), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Aubrey David (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Yohance Marshall (Juventud Independiente, El Salvador).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge, UK), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo, Belgium), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Keron Cummings (North East Stars), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes, USA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava, Slovakia), Dwane James (North East Stars), Kevan George (Columbus Crew, USA).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (A.F.C. Bournemouth, UK), Jonathan Glenn (IBV, Iceland), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Rundell Winchester (Portland Timbers 2, USA), Kadeem Corbin (St. Ann’s Rangers).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Guatemala Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: July 09, 2015, 04:49:35 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (9-Jul-2015)
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 07:10:52 AM »
Warriors move to Chicago for opener.
T&T Express Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago senior men's team will arrive in Chicago just after midday today ahead of their opening 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup opening match against Guatemala on Thursday at Soldier Field.

Head coach Stephen Hart is expected to conduct a light session this evening at a nearby training field before the “Soca Warriors” run out for a one-hour training session at the match venue the following day.

Skipper Kenwyne Jones and his team will be hoping to see evidence of support for the team in the stadiums for the games and already one person has guaranteed this for the game against Cuba in Phoenix.

Dr. Anil Ramnanan,Consul General of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago of Miami, visited the team during their training camp in Fort Lauderdale and looked on at the 1-0 victory over Haiti at the Central Broward Regional Park. Ramnanan revealed that there will be buses takings T&T nationals from Florida to Phoenix to support the team on July 12.

Meantime, goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams is focusing on the Guatemala affair.

“The training camp here in Fort Lauderdale had its benefits for us. We have been growing in confidence. The players have been coming together and really focusing now on what is ahead of us.

The level of preparation before this camp was not perfect but now we have had some valuable time together. The vibe and atmosphere in the camp has gotten better. There are lots of competitions for places in the team and that is always good heading into matches like the ones we are preparing for,”Wiliams said.

RELATED NEWS

Jones rallies supporters for Gold Cup.
T&T Newsday Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team will arrive in Chicago just after midday today ahead of their opening 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup match against Guatemala on Thursday at Soldier Field.

Skipper Kenwyne Jones and his team will be hoping to see evidence of support for the team in the stadiums for the games and already one person has guaranteed this for the game against Cuba in Phoenix.

Dr Anil Ramnanan, Consul General of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago of Miami, visited the team during their training camp in Fort Lauderdale and looked on at the 1-0 victory over Haiti at the Central Broward Regional Park. Dr Ramnanan revealed that there will be buses taking TT nationals from Florida to Phoenix to support the team against Cuba on July 12.

“It’s been a pleasure seeing any national team play up here. We are very happy to welcome this national football team as they move on to play their first game in Chicago, North Carolina and Charlotte thereafter,” Ramnanan said.

“We feel with the institutional success of TT football over the decades, the tenacity and hard work, the innate talent and skill, the coaching and the effort these guys have put in, we must show our appreciation to the team. We want to say that the TT nationals abroad are here to support our national team and we will see them as we travel on the road in large numbers as we offer our support to them. We have already purchased block tickets and will be going there in numbers to show our support to the boys.

“There is a burning desire for people to see their national teams participating out there. With football being the most popular sport in the world and gaining so much popularity here in the US it’s even more welcoming and heartening to see our national team here. The United States is looking forward to Trinidad and Tobago success over here,” Ramnanan said. Meantime, goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams is focussing on the Guatemala affair.

“The training camp here in Fort Lauderdale had its benefits for us. We have been growing in confidence.

“The players have been coming together and really focussing now on what is ahead of us. The level of preparation before this camp was not perfect but now we have had some valuable time together.

“The vibe and atmosphere in the camp has gotten better. There are lots of competitions for places in the team and that is always good heading into matches like the ones we are preparing for,” Williams said.

« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 07:15:32 AM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 07:44:14 AM »
florida to phoenix by bus. Give them people medals.. the boys Must play for them.

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2015, 08:20:45 AM »
T&T must play compose and take their chances they cannot let Guatemala come at them to hard and control the game early.

Phillips
Williams
Abu Bakr
Bateau
Cyrus
Joevin
Boucaud
Cummings
Peltier
Plaza
Jones

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2015, 08:22:48 AM »
Any updates on TV stations viewing options for tomorrow's match?

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2015, 08:42:52 AM »
The game is Thursday and it's on Fox Sports 2 (if you have that channel), not sure about online.

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2015, 09:08:33 AM »
T&T must play compose and take their chances they cannot let Guatemala come at them to hard and control the game early.

Phillips
Williams
Abu Bakr
Bateau
Cyrus
Joevin
Boucaud
Cummings
Peltier
Plaza
Jones

Harty not playing a 4-4-2... its a 4-3-3...

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2015, 09:14:13 AM »
The game is Thursday and it's on Fox Sports 2 (if you have that channel), not sure about online.

Thank you

« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2015, 09:55:02 AM »

Thank you

game is also on sportsnet world in canada

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2015, 02:11:03 AM »
Warriors touch down in Windy City.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Hart expects tough Guatemala challenge

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men footballers will have a walk through Soldier Field, Chicago tomorrow (Wednesday) on the eve of their opening 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup encounter with Guatemala. They will train once on Wednesday in the early afternoon at the University of Illinois training field.

The Team arrived in Chicago at 3pm TT Time from Fort Lauderdale before settling in at the  Marriott Magnificent Mile hotel.

Head coach Stephen Hart told reporters in Chicago that he is expecting Guatemala to pose a difficult challenge to the “Soca Warriors” but nothing that would be beyond Kenwyne Jones and his teammates.

“I think they will be a difficult opponent for us. We’ve had a look at them on tape and we saw also them against the US a couple days ago. The scoreline was flattering for the Americans because Guatemala also created a lot of scoring chances which they didn’t capitalize on. They have always been a decent team and I expect them to come at us,” Hart said.

“But I think we are also up for this challenge. Our immediate aim is to get out of the group stage which I think we are capable of doing and then of course we are here to go one step better than we did in 2013 which would mean us wanting to get to the quarter finals and then get into the last four,” Hart added before conducting a training session with the team at the University of Illinois Training field at 7pm on Tuesday.

T&T player Joevin Jones is back in familiar territory and would be more accustomed to the conditions here than most of his teammates having been with MLS club Chicago Fire for the past few months.

“It’s great to be here with the national team. I’ve been here playing for a good bit of time now and to be able to play with my country is special. We’ve been working quite hard over the past few days and hopefully we can show it on the field on Thursday,” Jones said.

“I have a few fans at the club here and hopefully they will be supporting us in the match on Thursday. It would be wonderful to taste victory with Trinidad and Tobago here in Chicago,” Jones added.

Slovakia-based winger Lester Peltier was the final player expected to join the team on Tuesday, coming in from Slovakia.

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2015, 03:55:05 AM »
Gonna predict 1-0, don't know which way, sadly I suspect Guatemala, but desperately hoping for T&T

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2015, 04:59:49 AM »
if our players follow the coaches instructions and play with purpose there's no way guatemala could beat us, it would have to be purposeful sabotage like they did in jordan. i've seen guatemala and they are the worst team in the whole competition, especially now since they don't have ruiz.

« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2015, 05:33:37 AM »
Gonna predict 1-0, don't know which way, sadly I suspect Guatemala, but desperately hoping for T&T
How can 1-0 either way be a prediction?  ::) Come better than that!

« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2015, 05:34:02 AM »
2-0 T&T victory...

« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2015, 06:06:48 AM »
How can 1-0 either way be a prediction?  ::) Come better than that!

I'm hedging my bets, sitting on the fence, could go either way, pick your favourite phrase ;) I'm gonna plum for T&T, might even lay a bit of money on it, but sadly think that I might be wrong.

« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2015, 06:20:50 AM »
All the best T&T Socawarriors. Joevin looking to see you explode in Chicago and get on like a marabunta on the L midfield, whipping in crosses with your L foot or darting inside, weaving and twisting, letting go shots outside the box or causing free kicks at the edge of the area. Rundell while he is doing that, I want to see you make off the ball runs, spreading the Guacamole Guatamole defense. Guerra need to see the roughneck in you with the laser rocket shot, low into the corner of the net. Plaza do yuh ting like Scrunter de hunter in front of goal. Kenwyne plenty hustle and sweet headers off Peltier's, Cyrus's, Joevin's and Rundell's crosses. Peltier blistering pace from you. Happy that you are healthy and in 90 mins form. Cato you to continue the misery for Guata's L back in the last 20 mins. Hyland steady the ship in the defensive mid and let go your two footed rockets every now and then. Kevan or Boucs, nice hustling, while quietly doing your thing. Bateau, Marshall or Abu, best of luck in the center mid. Defensive rocks allowing us to attack more. Mikeil your day to shine in the wing back, before you start playing (actually professionally) in Guatemala. Cyrus manhandle the Guate winger, and to our goal keepers Jan and Marvin, we praying for your spiderman skills to fluorish.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 03:42:05 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2015, 08:47:18 AM »
if our players follow the coaches instructions and play with purpose there's no way guatemala could beat us, it would have to be purposeful sabotage like they did in jordan. i've seen guatemala and they are the worst team in the whole competition, especially now since they don't have ruiz.

Negative. Pescado was the mastermind slowing down the proceedings versus Bermuda. He's involved at this Gold Cup.

« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2015, 10:01:24 AM »
2-0 TT ... Not a fence sitter.. TT taking this...

« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2015, 10:49:39 AM »
2-0 TT ... Not a fence sitter.. TT taking this...

« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2015, 10:52:08 AM »
Time to vibes it up fellas!  :challenge: :wavetowel: :challenge: :wavetowel: :cheers:

« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2015, 01:04:25 PM »
Got a whole British Pound riding on T&T for the win! Could afford half a pint if I win! ;)

« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2015, 04:47:43 PM »
Disappointed I can't make it tomorrow, good luck T&T (and Cuba)

« Reply #22 on: July 08, 2015, 05:34:37 PM »
Although I am lucky to have fox sports 2, it is ridiculous that none of the local stations is televising any of Trinidad and Tobago's matches.

No wonder our football is in the state it is in...

« Reply #23 on: July 08, 2015, 06:25:07 PM »
Head Coach Stephen Hart gives his thoughts ahead of Trinidad and Tobago’s Gold Cup opener against Guatemala
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/KK-87TSNZok" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/KK-87TSNZok</a>

« Reply #24 on: July 08, 2015, 08:39:54 PM »
Head Coach Stephen Hart and Captain Kenwyne Jones speak at a CONCACAF Gold Cup pre-match press conference ahead of T&T’s opener against Guatemala
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-zEWZEZSw6k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-zEWZEZSw6k</a>

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #25 on: July 08, 2015, 08:56:53 PM »
That stereotypical question that the latin journalist asked Jones is precisely the reason why I want Jamaica and Haiti to also have success. Jones should have asked if the Latino players were gonna dive roll around everytime they feel slight contact. You could tell coach and captain were very annoyed by that one.

« Reply #26 on: July 08, 2015, 09:05:27 PM »
Head Coach Stephen Hart gives his thoughts ahead of Trinidad and Tobago’s Gold Cup opener against Guatemala
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/KK-87TSNZok" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/KK-87TSNZok</a>
coach hart it's trinidad and tobago, not trinidad. thank you.

« Reply #27 on: July 08, 2015, 09:18:02 PM »
steve hart looks like a very unhappy man with the present state of trinbago football and the problems that plague the team behind the scenes on an administrative level. i sure hope he stays for the world cup qualifying.

« Reply #28 on: July 08, 2015, 09:29:41 PM »
Although I am lucky to have fox sports 2, it is ridiculous that none of the local stations is televising any of Trinidad and Tobago's matches.

No wonder our football is in the state it is in...
CNC3 has already committed to showing CPL T20 cricket every night

« Reply #29 on: July 08, 2015, 09:35:23 PM »
steve hart looks like a very unhappy man with the present state of trinbago football and the problems that plague the team behind the scenes on an administrative level. i sure hope he stays for the world cup qualifying.

Thanks to the corrupt Tim Kee