March 28, 2024, 06:24:46 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (15-Jul-2015)  (Read 60994 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (15-Jul-2015)
« on: March 13, 2015, 08:50:29 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Mexico 2015 Gold Cup game at the Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte (8:30pm) on the 15th of July 2015 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders

Mekeil Williams (Antigua GFC, Guatemala), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen, Belgium), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire, USA), Radanfah Abu Bakr (HB Koge, Denmark), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Aubrey David (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Yohance Marshall (Juventud Independiente, El Salvador).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge, UK), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo, Belgium), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Keron Cummings (North East Stars), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes, USA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava, Slovakia), Dwane James (North East Stars), Kevan George (Columbus Crew, USA).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (A.F.C. Bournemouth, UK), Jonathan Glenn (IBV, Iceland), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Rundell Winchester (Portland Timbers 2, USA), Kadeem Corbin (St. Ann’s Rangers).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Mexico Squad

Goalkeepers

Guillermo Ochoa (Málaga), Moises Munoz (América), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey).

Defenders

Yasser Corona (Querétaro), Hector Moreno (Espanyol, Spain), Diego Reyes (FC Porto, Portugal), Francisco Rodriguez (Cruz Azul), Miguel Herrera (Pachuca), Miguel Layún (Watford FC, UK), Paul Aguilar (América), Jesús Dueñas (UANL), Jorge Torres Nilo (UANL).

Midfielders

Antonio Rios (Toluca), Carlos Esquivel (Toluca), Jesus Corona (Twente, Holland), Hector Herrera (FC Porto, Portugal), Andres Guardado (PSV, Holland), Jose Juan Vazquez (León), Jonathan dos Santos (Villarreal, Spain).

Forwards

Javier Hernandez (Manchester United, UK), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad, Spain), Oribe Peralta (America), Giovani dos Santos (Villarreal, Spain).

Coach - Miguel Herrera.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: June 30, 2015, 04:25:01 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Mexico Game (15-Jul-2015)
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2015, 09:45:26 AM »
Villarreal's Giovani dos Santos set to miss 4 weeks through injury
By Tom Marshall

Mexico international Giovani dos Santos may not play again for Villarreal this season, with the club confirming on Monday that he has suffered a Grade 1 strain in his right thigh.

Dos Santos, 25, was named in Villarreal's starting team to face Cordoba in La Liga on Sunday, but pulled up in the warm-up and was replaced by Nigerian Ikechukwu Uche.

The former Barcelona forward has already had an injury hit season and has started just 14 of Villarreal's 32 league matches.

Although the club didn't give an estimated recovery period, reports have suggested it could be around one month, which would mean it is possible his season is at an end, with Villarreal's final game in La Liga away at Athletic Bilbao on May 23.

The injury could also affect Dos Santos' role this summer for the Mexican national team, with coach Miguel Herrera set to name his provisional Copa America squad on May 11. El Tri are also involved in CONCACAF's Gold Cup, which begins in July.

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2015, 06:42:20 AM »
Real Madrid forward Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez, Real Sociedad's Carlos Vela, Villarreal teammates Giovani and Jonathan dos Santos, Malaga's Guillermo Ochoa, Porto's Hector Herrera and Diego Reyes, PSV Eindhoven's Andres Guardado, Espanyol's Hector Moreno, Watford's Miguel Layun and Twente's Jesus Manuel Corona were all called up by the Mexico Football Federation on Friday as El Tri named its Europe-based players for Gold Cup 2015.

El Tri's manager Miguel Herrera had previously announced that the Gold Cup -- despite the lower quality of teams involved compared to the Copa America -- was a priority, because winning it leads to a playoff against the United States for a place at the Confederations Cup in Russia in 2017.

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2015, 12:35:54 PM »
We beating that mexico team... Hard luck mih boy chicharito!

« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2015, 04:12:04 PM »
What about Raul Jimenez from Atletico?  Not that I complaining.  The less guns they bring the better.

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2015, 06:18:46 PM »
Chicharito, Vela headline Mexico's 23-man Gold Cup squad

Squad in full:

Guillermo Ochoa - Malaga
Moises Munoz - America
Jonathan Orozco - Monterrey
Francisco Rodriguez - Cruz Azul
Diego Reyes - Porto
Hector Moreno - RCD Espanyol
Yasser Corona - Queretaro
Miguel Herrera - Pachuca
Paul Aguilar - America
Jesus Duenas - Tigres
Jorge Torres Nilo - Tigres
Miguel Layun - Watford
Jose Juan Vazquez - Leon
Andres Guardado - PSV Eindhoven
Hector Herrera - Porto
Antonio Rios - Toluca
Carlos Esquivel - Toluca
Jonathan Dos Santos - Villarreal
Jesus Corona - FC Twente
Giovani Dos Santos - Villarreal
Oribe Peralta - America
Carlos Vela - Real Sociedad
Javier Hernandez - Manchester United

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2015, 07:37:15 PM »
Giovani still 23?

« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2015, 09:12:39 PM »
Mexico 4 TnT 1

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2015, 06:38:48 AM »
Chicharito is out, injury, but not a big one, so you never know.

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2015, 10:04:24 AM »
Chicharito is out, injury, but not a big one, so you never know.

Broken collarbone is not a big injury?

« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2015, 07:45:16 AM »
dey have jesus on their side .... actually TWO jesus  ;D

« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2015, 08:30:27 AM »
dey have jesus on their side .... actually TWO jesus  ;D

They also have dos Dos Santos  ;D

« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2015, 08:42:16 AM »
I doh care who Mexico have in the line up, we need to play them hard as Guatemala did, "give no quarter" and go at them from the word go. CATO and Jones need to be on the wing to run at the defense all day, but they have to play them crosses to give our strikers an opportunity for headers.

SO PROUD OF THE BOYS !! YEAHHHHH.

We are in a historic position first time in a long time we don't have to wait for other match results to determine our fate!!!!!

« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2015, 11:20:27 AM »
whats you all thoughts on "rotation " for this final group match vz Mexico...??...I think we should use squad players etc...with the 1/4 final in mind and also upcoming WCQ

« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2015, 11:58:28 AM »
whats you all thoughts on "rotation " for this final group match vz Mexico...??...I think we should use squad players etc...with the 1/4 final in mind and also upcoming WCQ

nah..keep the players switched on esp against quality opposition

esp as they need to go out and correct a few technical and tactical mistakes ive seen them make previous two matches

« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2015, 11:59:31 AM »

maintain momentum by seekin a positive result specifically not losing........not that I think the second string team can't get a result.......but I also feel that positive results always help rather than hinder............a good approach against mexico might be to try and get the first goal by pressing them as we did guat mostly because I feel they may not expect that from us..........but then is mexicodem ent get where dey is by being unprepared for such situations so...............

« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2015, 01:35:27 PM »

maintain momentum by seekin a positive result specifically not losing........not that I think the second string team can't get a result.......but I also feel that positive results always help rather than hinder............a good approach against mexico might be to try and get the first goal by pressing them as we did guat mostly because I feel they may not expect that from us..........but then is mexicodem ent get where dey is by being unprepared for such situations so...............

SH alluded to in his post match conference that he wanted to use the players that didn't get a run yet to keep them fresh.. So I anticipate they will be played... Time will tell

« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2015, 04:26:54 PM »
ok..cool

« Reply #18 on: July 13, 2015, 04:27:00 PM »

I with you.  Rotate against Mexico.  I would play the following:

Marvin Phillip
Cordell Cato - right wing back
Yohance Marshall
Abu Bakr
Mikiel Williams
Hyland
James
Winchester
Cummings
Plaza
Glenn (Corbin off the bench)

« Reply #19 on: July 13, 2015, 05:26:57 PM »
wow i am surprised that some are calling for a strong squad for mexico when our players has played tow hard games in 6 days. in my opinion it's time to rotate the squad. it's only logical.

« Reply #20 on: July 13, 2015, 05:36:27 PM »
wow i am surprised that some are calling for a strong squad for mexico when our players has played tow hard games in 6 days. in my opinion it's time to rotate the squad. it's only logical.

Rotation is needed and SH already alluded to that..

« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2015, 05:50:40 PM »

He did some rotation in the 2nd  game, didn't he?

« Reply #22 on: July 13, 2015, 07:40:08 PM »

He sure did. We also have men carrying yellows so this might affect them for the quarters if they get another.

The Jones-Guerra combo eh doing it for me. KJ used to be so damn deceptive  and now ..... Would like to see a speedy, skillful parter with KJ or perhaps just rest KJ and go with Glenn-Corbin.
The truth is we not seeing the guys at practice.

« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2015, 08:28:39 PM »
What is the extent of Jan Michaels injury? What is the option for goal keeper back up?

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #24 on: July 13, 2015, 09:33:24 PM »
Please rotate...

Marvin- Aubrey Marshall Abu Bakr M.Williams- James Hyland- Peltier Cummings Winchester- Plaza

Cato and Joevin to me should be the first choice wide men so I would give Peltier 60 mins, Cato on then. Glen for Plaza or Cummings eventually. Corbin to get 15 minutes as well. That's my 3 subs.

« Reply #25 on: July 13, 2015, 11:01:04 PM »

nah..keep the players switched on esp against quality opposition

esp as they need to go out and correct a few technical and tactical mistakes ive seen them make previous two matches
Even though KJ's role is crucial to the supporting striker at the moment, it will be interesting to see what type of attacking adjustments up front Hart is going to make as well as overall balance of the midfield and defense line-up. For me, Rotation is needed and after the Mexico game on Wednesday Hart should have a clearer picture of his decisions in the near future and slightly beyond. 
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 01:13:27 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #26 on: July 14, 2015, 01:26:01 AM »

He sure did. We also have men carrying yellows so this might affect them for the quarters if they get another.

The Jones-Guerra combo eh doing it for me. KJ used to be so damn deceptive  and now ..... Would like to see a speedy, skillful parter with KJ or perhaps just rest KJ and go with Glenn-Corbin.

jones is doing a lot off the ball which in turn is freeing up a lot of space for the goal scorers. believe me when i say that i am not a kenwin jones fan at all but this coach is such a clever one that he uses jones in a different capacity other than scoring which is causing others to come into the attack. as for guerra, i don't know what's eating him.

« Reply #27 on: July 14, 2015, 06:49:48 AM »
I feel we should take a chance with this team, all we need is a tie, rest de regulars for de quarters?

Ah drop Cyrus because he carrying a card and we go need him later on.

Phillip
Williams
Bateau
Abu Bakr
Marshall
Joevin
Hyland
Cummings
Peltier
Winchester
Glenn

« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2015, 07:57:18 AM »

jones is doing a lot off the ball which in turn is freeing up a lot of space for the goal scorers. believe me when i say that i am not a kenwin jones fan at all but this coach is such a clever one that he uses jones in a different capacity other than scoring which is causing others to come into the attack. as for guerra, i don't know what's eating him.

I like the role that Hart has given KJ. Hart realizes that all the teams will choose to double team KJ. So he let's them do so.. in turn this strategy allows another attacker to get into free space.

KJ is probably the strongest forward in the tournament. That's why teams will continue to put two defenders on him. As soon as the other teams catch wind of Hart's strategy, they will try to mark the other attacker, hence freeing up KJ. That's when KJ will get his goal.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 07:58:52 AM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2015, 08:42:34 AM »
Smart team under the circumstances Sam. Concern with putting Marshall at R back as although he is quick as a last stopper, I am not sure he has the vital blistering wing back speed to handle the Peraltas and such types pelting down the wing. But yuh damn right, Marshall will br there and I hope he shines like he did against Argentina. That would have been Justin Hoyte's role but we go see. Two newbees up front without Kenwyne to lay it on against a Mexican defense is kinda rough but say wha ...