April 25, 2024, 07:56:54 AM

Author Topic: 2015 IAAF World Relays: Sat.2nd & Sun.3rd May, Thomas Robinson Stadium, Nassau  (Read 32598 times)

Ma, both out women 4x1 came in 4th. The men 4x4 came in 7th. Disappointed. Lalonde was not himself tonight.  He put Jarrin at a real disadvantage. We never had a chance. Zero medals. Zero points. But 3 Rio qualifications. That was the only plus. The NAAA has their work cut out. Good luck.

The women came 5th and not 4th in the 4x1!

Both Lalonde and Quow did not run any competitive 400m races prior to these World Relays so I think they both were rusty as I was pointing out after analysing their splits in the Heats.

The one plus of today was to see how MLA destroyed Allyson Felix on the 2nd leg of the women's 4x100m before the very poor baton exchange between herself and Thomas. Had they not messed up that baton exchange between the 2nd and 3rd legs T&T would have been among the medals in that women's 4x100m relay final this evening. Once both KAB and Hackett are back in the team and in good shape, T&T will be a serious threat in the 4x1 to even the USA and Jamaica so I am looking forward to the ladies 4x100 relay come World Championships.

We got some work to do but I still think come World Champs that T&T will be strong medal contenders in both the Men's and Women's sprint relays as well as in the Men's Mile relay.
Heard that Jamol James ran a new PB of 10.15 this weekend somewhere in the USA so he is another one who can strengthen our 4x100m relay pool. If only Jonanthan Farinha can recover from his injury and peak in time for National Champs as well as Sorrillo and if only Darrell Brown can get his act together then T&T should have a decently deep and fast men's 4x100m relay pool to work from.

I believe if these 10 athletes are all fit and in form and can get to near 10 flat or better this season running outside of T&T (Keston Bledman, Richard Thompson, Marc Burns, Rondell Sorrillo, Emmanuel Callender, Darrel Brown, Jamol James, Jonathan Farinha, Marcus Duncan, Kyle Greaux) then we should still be strong medal contenders in the men's 4x100m relay despite most of our competitors for bronze behind Jamaica and the USA improving over the last year.
We need to get to the stage where our top two guns can be rested for the final and the other guys can confidently qualify us for the final with a good lane draw.

I would also like to see most of those guys running both the 100m and 200m more regularly to build on their speed endurance. When last has a T&T sprinter dipped below 20s in the 200m since Ato?

Our Women's Mile Relay team needs some serious work and we need to deepen the pool of quality athletes available for all our relay teams so we can handle the rounds and still get good lane draws for the final and then  bring in our top guns with fresh legs for the finals like the Americans and the Jamaicans can do.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 10:27:34 PM by Socapro »

Just hope KAB is ok when she come back. We missed her badly. Yes MLA gave Allyson a run for she money. 4x4(men-women) has to improve on their first leg.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/t9CNTpEQVA0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/t9CNTpEQVA0</a>
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 10:19:49 PM by Socapro »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/j1r4kbP_KpQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/j1r4kbP_KpQ</a>
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 10:20:12 PM by Socapro »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/J-DUS0coZlk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/J-DUS0coZlk</a>
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 10:21:37 PM by Socapro »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mZVXlOXzwsk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mZVXlOXzwsk</a>
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 10:21:55 PM by Socapro »

Just hope KAB is ok when she come back. We missed her badly. Yes MLA gave Allyson a run for she money. 4x4(men-women) has to improve on their first leg.

KAB ran 10.98 last weekend so of course she is going to be ok when she is back in the squad. Our only concern right now with our women is if Semoy Hackett will come back with a similar level of fitness and form that she was showing before she was suspended.
If Semoy comes back on a similar level and can run near 11 flat or her first sub-11 this season then T&T is going to be giving both the USA and Jamaica some serious worries in the 4x100m relay this summer provided we can get the baton round smoothly.

Here were the splits for the guys in the 4x400m final in which they ran 3:03.10 and placed 7th (just worked it out from splits provided on the IAAF website):-

Lalonde Gordon - 45.88 (very poor but this was only his 2nd competitive 400m race outdoors this season so hopefully this is just down to him being rusty from lack of competitive races)

Jarrin Solomon - 46.13 (I guess after his heroics of rescuing the team in the Heats he was drained and unable to repeat heroics again in the final after Gordon's slow opening leg)

Renny Quow - 46.34 (As I said after the Heats, Quow is obviously 400m race rusty as he did not run a competitive 400m outdoors prior to these World Relays)

Machel Cedenio - 44.75 (Once again Cedenio is our fastest runner and shows that he deserved the anchor man job. I won't be surprised to see Cedenio go sub-45 in the individual 400m race a few times this season and lower his PB and even turn out to be our fastest quarter miler by this summer.
Last year Lendore was our fastest quarter-miler but I won't be surprised if this year Cedenio turns out to be our fastest quarter-miler).

Hopefully by this summer all members of our 4x400m relay pool will have ran sub-45s for the season and provided we are in that position we will be strong medal contenders and would have put this defeat at the World Relays in the Bahamas behind us. What really matters is World Champs and these World Relays in the Bahamas was simiply part of our early season preparations for that.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 11:16:37 PM by Socapro »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/j1r4kbP_KpQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/j1r4kbP_KpQ</a>

I reckon that a T&T team in this order can give KAB the baton to anchor our team level with or in front of Jamaica and the USA.

Semoy Hackett on 1st leg >> Michelle-Lee Ahye on 2nd leg >> Kai Selvon on 3rd leg >> Kelly-Ann Baptiste on anchor.
NB: Semoy Hackett and Kai Selvon can be swopped depending on which one is the faster starter as we want our quickest starter on the 1st leg.

This team will be worries and problems for USA and JA especially if Semoy Hackett and Kai Selvon can get themselves into 11 flat form this season trying to kept up with MLA and KAB who are both going to run a number of sub-11s this season.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 10:47:57 PM by Socapro »

Injury floors T&T ...4x1 hopes dashed by Sorrillo’s quad strain
« Reply #98 on: May 04, 2015, 12:17:51 AM »
Injury floors T&T
4x1 hopes dashed by Sorrillo’s quad strain

By Kwame Laurence kwame.laurence@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 3, 2015 at 11:55 PM ECT

Sorrillo is stretched off track after sustaining a quad strain during Men's 4x100 metres final

NASSAU

A quad strain sustained by Rondel Sorrillo during the men’s 4x100 metres final, late on Saturday, dashed Trinidad and Tobago’s medal hopes in two events at the IAAF/BTC World Relays, here in Nassau, Bahamas.

Halfway through the sprint relay final, T&T were in contention for precious metal, Keston Bledman and Marc Burns doing the early work for the Red, White and Black. But Sorrillo felt discomfort in his right quadriceps muscle during his third leg run, and visibly slowed. He eventually passed the baton to Richard “Torpedo” Thompson, but by that time T&T were no longer in the medal hunt, and had to settle for seventh spot in 38.92 seconds.

“I didn’t see him slow down,” Thompson told the Express, “which is why I got out very hard. I realised after a while that he couldn’t catch me. I thought it was just one of those bad exchanges. Fortunately, I was able to slow down and still get the baton. However, afterwards, when I looked up at the big screen, I saw Marc holding Sorrillo. That’s when I realised he must have hurt himself.”

Thompson and Burns rushed to the aid of their fallen comrade, lifting him off the track.

“It’s just unfortunate,” said Thompson, “and we just wish him a speedy recovery. Hopefully, its nothing too serious and we can have him as an addition to the 4x1 later on.”

A strong United States quartet—Michael Rodgers, Justin Gatlin, Tyson Gay and Ryan Bailey—dethroned Jamaica, the Americans winning in a championship record time of 37.38 seconds. Not even sprint legend Usain Bolt, on anchor, could prevent Gatlin and company from securing gold, the Jamaicans finishing second in 37.68. Japan clocked 38.20 to bag bronze.

T&T went into Saturday’s sprint relay final with understandably high hopes, following victory in their qualifying heat in 38.32 seconds, anchorman Thompson shutting down well before the finish line. But while there was disappointment in the T&T camp at the end of the championship race, Burns saw a silver lining.

“We could still come out here with a big plus,” the veteran sprinter told the Express, “seeing that we ran 38.3 in the heats. That’s a sign of big things to come for us once we tidy up a couple passes.”

Bledman also saw a positive side.

“God knows everything, and in good time everything shall fall into place. It’s just like a wakeup call for us. Better it happens now than in a World Games or Olympics.”

Sorrillo was expected to team up with Emmanuel Callender, Marcus Duncan and Kyle Greaux in yesterday’s 4x200m relay. The injury, however, forced T&T’s withdrawal from the event.

Lalonde Gordon, Jarrin Solomon, Renny Quow and Machel Cedenio were expected to compete in the men’s 4x400m final, after press time, last night. The T&T quartermilers won their heat on Saturday in three minutes, 02.09 seconds to advance as the fastest qualifiers.

In a late race, on Saturday, Janeil Bellille, Magnolia Howell, Romona Modeste and Alena Brooks clocked 3:36.69 for fourth spot in heat three of the women’s 4x400m. T&T finished 13th overall, and competed in the “B” final, after press time last night.

Brooks, who ran the anchor leg for T&T in the qualifying round, described the team’s performance as a “little disappointing”.

“But as a team,” she told the Express, “we’ve got to come together and work. This was just a bad race. It happens. We’re just going to move forward. It will only make us stronger.”

The US-based Howell has switched camps, and is now being coached by American Bob Kersee. She trains in California, alongside Olympic champions Allyson Felix and Dawn Harper.

“The Olympics is what I’m doing all this for. This year to get stronger, but next year is the climax. That is the focus for me.”

Meanwhile, Kamaria Durant, Michelle-Lee Ahye, Reyare Thomas and Kai Selvon were on show after press time, last night, in the women’s 4x100m final. The T&T quartet finished second in their qualifying heat in 42.87 seconds yesterday.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sorrillo injured in 4x1 final
Story Created: May 3, 2015 at 11:13 PM ECT

Rondel Sorrillo hurt himself during the IAAF/BTC World Relays men's 4x100 metres final, on Saturday night, the injury putting paid to Trinidad and Tobago’s chances of securing a medal.

The combination of Keston Bledman, Marc Burns, Sorrillo and Richard “Torpedo” Thompson finished seventh in 38.92 seconds. Afterwards, Sorrillo had to be lifted from the track by Burns and Thompson.

Click this link to view video: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Sorrillo-injured-in-4x1-final-302371791.html

T&T 7th in men’s 4x1 final
Story Created: May 3, 2015 at 11:15 PM ECT

Trinidad and Tobago finished seventh in Saturday’s IAAF/BTC World Relays men’s 4x100 metres final, Keston Bledman, Marc Burns, Rondel Sorrillo and Richard “Torpedo” Thompson teaming up for a 38.92 seconds clocking.

Sorrillo sustained an injury during his third leg run, and though he still managed to get the baton to Thompson, there was too much work for the anchorman to do.

After the race, Burns, Thompson and Bledman spoke to CCN TV6.

Click this link for video of interview: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/TT-7th-in-mens-4x1-final-302371821.html
« Last Edit: May 04, 2015, 02:39:39 AM by Socapro »

Poor performances by T&T teams. NO excuses.

Gordon ...this guy can have bad races

That is understandable. But it also shows that we need depth. Injuries and fatigue did us in. I think the 4x1 men and women and 4x4 men can bring medals at the Worlds and Rio. The rest have to practice real hard. It was good to see the women 4x4 in the mix-up. This team is long overdue. We need to younger women in the 400 and 800 discipline. I had to admire Bahamas. They would have cut we arse even if the this meet was held in TT. This country only have 600 thousand and you look at the record. This organized a greet meet. At least what I saw on tv.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2015, 09:10:56 AM by Deeks »

That is understandable. But it also shows that we need depth. Injuries and fatigue did us in. I think the 4x1 men and women and 4x4 men can bring medals at the Worlds and Rio. The rest have to practice real hard. It was good to see the women 4x4 in the mix-up. This team is long overdue. We need to younger women in the 400 and 800 discipline. I had to admire Bahamas. They would have cut we arse even if the this meet was held in TT. This country only have 600 thousand and you look at the record. This organized a greet meet. At least what I saw on tv.

They all have to practice real hard my friend. It doesn't matter too much how fast your athletes are if they are not going to get lots of pracitce for the realys and so mess-up their baton exchanges when it matters most in the major competitions on the world stage.

What our 4x400m women team lacks even more that quicker legs is practice at a high level by being entered regularly into quality relay competitions like Penn Relays, etc.
Notice this year we did not even enter any of our national teams into the Penn Relays and the excuse that the NAAA's gave was lack of funds. Well that excuse from our NAAA's is not good enough if we want to progress because what our relay teams lack the most is practice from not being entered regularly enough into top relay competitions. You don't get good at running relays at the top level by sitting at home and watching it on TV.

Also for your information we did enter a women's 4x400m relay team into the World Relays last year and they just missed out on qualifying for the "A" Final and ran a 2014 SB of 3:30.91 in the Heats which is a faster time than they did this year. So based upon the time our 4x4 women ran this year at world relays of 3:35.23 in the B Final, they have not improved upon their performances from last year.
Lets hope the NAAA's management realise this fact and get our team entered more regularly into relay competitions this year so they have the opportunity to practice more and improve against tough competition.

Go here for the women's 4x4 results from last year: http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-relays/iaaf-world-relays-5409/results/women/4x400-metres-relay/heats/result or you can also go to my World Relays thread from last year at this link (2014 IAAF World Relays: Sat.24th & Sun.25th May, Nassau, Bahamas (videos added)) for further info.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2015, 12:47:58 PM by Socapro »

Medal dry run
« Reply #103 on: May 04, 2015, 07:52:11 PM »
Medal dry run
Story Created: May 4, 2015 at 8:15 PM ECT

Michelle-Lee Ahye runs past Allyson Felix in 4x100m Relay Final at 2015 World Relays

NASSAU

Michelle-Lee Ahye outsprinted American track star Allyson Felix on the back straight, but the fine effort was not enough to earn Trinidad and Tobago a medal in the IAAF/BTC World Relays women’s 4x100 metres final, at the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium, here in Nassau, Bahamas, on Sunday night.

Kamaria Durant, Ahye, Reyare Thomas and Kai Selvon combined for a 42.88 seconds run, the clocking earning them fifth spot. Veronica Campbell-Brown anchored Jamaica to gold in 42.14 seconds, while silver went to United States in 42.32.

Selvon battled on anchor for T&T, but was unable to get to the line ahead of Margaret Adeoye, the Great Britain sprinter securing bronze for her team in 42.84. Canada, meanwhile, clocked 42.85 to claim fourth spot.

“We gave the best we could have done today,” Selvon told the Express, after the championship race. “It’s just the beginning of the season…better things to come.”

Ahye echoed those sentiments.

“We went out there, did our best. I know we could have done better but we’ll wait for next time to do that.”

The same quartet, running in the same order, bagged bronze for T&T at the 2014 edition of the IAAF World Relays. But while the four sprinters were unable to reproduce their podium finish in 2015, there was still a sense of gratitude.

“I’m just happy,” said third leg runner Thomas, “that all of us finished injury-free.”

And Durant, who performed lead-off duties, is already looking ahead to the August 22-30 IAAF World Championships, in Beijing, China.

“I want to make the team, and probably run an individual race at the Championships.”

T&T also missed out on a medal in the men’s 4x400m, the final event at the 2015 IAAF World Relays.

T&T needed a good start from Lalonde Gordon. But the double Olympic bronze medallist was not at his best, and was near the back of the field when he handed the baton to Jarrin Solomon.

T&T were unable to recover. Solomon got boxed in, and to make matters worse, there was a hiccup on the second exchange. Renny Quow had to reach for the baton, costing T&T valuable time.

Nineteen-year-old anchorman Machel Cedenio put in a big effort, splitting 44.75 seconds, but could not improve T&T’s position, the 2014 bronze medallists finishing seventh in three minutes, 03.10 seconds.

STRONG ANCHOR: Machel Cedenio, left, anchors Trinidad and Tobago to victory in their IAAF/BTC World Relays men's 4x400 metres qualifying heat, at the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium in Nassau, Bahamas, on Saturday. In Sunday's final, T&T finished seventh despite another strong achor from Machel Cedenio. -Photo: © Getty Images for IAAF

“We didn’t execute today,” a disappointed Solomon told the Express, “and that’s what happens when you don’t execute. I felt alright, but I got the stick a little behind, got boxed up, and then people cut me off and I tripped. That’s why you’ve got to run from the front. It’s easier. You don’t get all the mix-up with the exchange and all that stuff. I just ended up getting tripped…the rest is history.

“We’ve got to regroup,” Solomon continued, “and get ready for World Championships. Beijing’s a long way away, so we have a lot of time to get back in shape, get our legs ready to go. We’ll be ready.”

United States grabbed gold in 2:58.43. Bahamas clocked 2:58.91 for silver, while Belgium claimed bronze in a national record time of 2:59.33.

Also on Sunday night, T&T finished fourth in the women’s 4x400m “B” final. Romona Modeste, Janeil Bellille, Magnolia Howell and Josanne Lucas produced a 3:35.23 clocking. Cuba won in 3:30.94, from Japan (3:34.65) and Bahamas (3:35.01).

At the 2014 IAAF World Relays, T&T earned three medals—one silver and two bronze. But in 2015 there were no trips to the podium, and T&T had to be content with 13th spot overall after accumulating eight points at the two-day global meet.

The Americans retained the golden baton, completing their campaign with 63 points and a comfortable cushion on second-placed Jamaica (46). Third spot went to Poland (34).

4x1 women 5th
Story Created: May 5, 2015 at 7:21 PM ECT

Team Trinidad and Tobago - Kamaria Durant, Michelle-Lee Ahye, Reyare Thomas and Kai Selvon - finished fifth in Sunday’s IAAF/BTC World Relays women's 4x100 metres final in 42.88 seconds.

Jamaica won in 42.14, from United States (42.32) and Great Britain (42.84).

After the race, Selvon, Ahye, Thomas and Durant spoke to CCN TV6.

Click this link for video of interview: http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/4x1-women-5th-302678921.html

4x4 men finish 7th
Story Created: May 5, 2015 at 7:36 PM ECT

The Trinidad and Tobago men's 4x400 metres team - Lalonde Gordon, Jarrin Solomon, Renny Quow and Machel Cedenio - performed below expectations in the IAAF/BTC World Relays final, on Sunday night, finishing seventh in three minutes, 03.10 seconds, more than a second slower than their 3:02.09 qualifying round run.

United States grabbed gold in 2:58.43. Bahamas clocked 2:58.91 for silver, while Belgium claimed bronze in a national record time of 2:59.33.
After the championship race, T&T’s second leg runner, Jarrin Solomon spoke to CCN TV6.

Click this link for video of interview: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/4x4-men-finish-7th-302680831.html
« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 02:41:37 PM by Socapro »

You serious? You guys think before you type? Sorillo injured, and a weakened 4 x 100 womens team lost the bronze in a blanket finish and this is what your brain told you to type?

Steups

You serious? You guys think before you type? Sorillo injured, and a weakened 4 x 100 womens team lost the bronze in a blanket finish and this is what your brain told you to type?

Steups

Glad you said it. Bet if he was an athlete he would be thinking differently and would have a little more appreciation for their efforts.

Yes, all of us are disappointed, but they gave their best at this time of the year. Injury hit the 4x1 men, but like 'Pro said, Sorillo did well to continue so that we finished the race. Fatigue took a toll on Lalonde, but we qualified for Rio. The women 4x1 was close, but qualified for Rio. The 4x4 ladies did their very best.  I just hope they are given resources to make that qualifying run. They have PanAm and World Championships to get that done.

Offline lucky4life

Weir blasts American sprinter Bailey for Bolt gesture at World Relays
« Reply #107 on: May 05, 2015, 07:37:31 AM »
Weir blasts American sprinter Bailey for Bolt gesture at World Relays
Published:Tuesday | May 5, 2015 | Andre Lowe | Jamaica Gleaner

Left Photo: T&T's Richard Thompson (left) and Jamaica’s Usain Bolt (right) both chase USA’s Ryan Bailey (centre) on anchor during the men’s 4x100 metres final at the IAAF World Relays at the Thomas A. Robinson Stadium in The Bahamas on Saturday night.
Right Photo: Jamaica’s Warren Weir reacts after anchoring the men’s 4x200 metres team to the gold medal at the World Relays at the Thomas A. Robinson Stadium in The Bahamas on Sunday night. - Photos by Gladstone Taylor

NASSAU, Bahamas:

Warren Weir spent much of Sunday afternoon on Twitter blasting American sprinter Ryan Bailey for what he called blatant disrespect of Jamaican teammate Usain Bolt.

Later that night, perhaps with tempers still hot, he was driving Jamaica to the gold medal in the 4x200m at the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Relays.

The issue?

Bailey, ecstatic that the United States had finally got one over the Jamaicans in the men's 4x100m a night earlier - the first time the Jamaicans were beaten since the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing - struck a modified Bolt 'To di Worl' pose by dragging his finger across his throat in a cutting gesture.

Bailey strikes Bolt "To Di world" pose with cut-throat gesture after USA's 4x100m victory over JA
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QLaC5QABy0s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QLaC5QABy0s</a>

The anchor would later say in an interview that he had been wanting to spoof Bolt, whom he considered "somewhat of an icon", for a while, drawing the wrath of Weir, who is Bolt's training partner at Racers Track Club in Kingston.

Shortly after leading the Jamaicans to a successful defence of their 4x200m title with a 1:20.97 win over France, 1:21.49 and Germany, 1:22.65, Weir, the Olympic 200m bronze medallist, scolded Bailey.

"It's great that our team could be able to come back here and defend a title, especially after losing another (men's 4x100m). Seeing the team lose the 4x100m last night was definitely a push for us, and additionally, knowing that we didn't have a Usain Bolt in our team, also provided that extra drive for us to get the job done," Weir told The Gleaner.

Then he laid into Bailey.

"When you see the greats, you have to show them respect, you have to respect the legends of our sport. Especially when you are a little nobody, you really are to show more respect to those who are leading the way and those who have accomplished way more than you have," Weir blasted

"He disrespected track and field. He also said that Bolt is 'somewhat of an icon', he is an icon and he was not showing enough respect, not just to Bolt, but to the sport. As an athlete, I feel like he was disrespecting me and as a member of this Jamaican team, I also felt upset and disrespected about it," Weir added. "This is just the beginning."

The Jamaicans would later strike the Usain Bolt pose at the top of the medal podium as they dedicated the win to the six-time Olympic champion, eight time world champion and triple world record holder, who had to withdraw from the team at the last minute after complaining of a sore hamstring.

Jamaica celebrate their 4x200m victory at the IAAF/BTC World Relays, Bahamas 2015
(Getty Images) © Copyright

Weir's teammates - Nickel Ashmeade, who ran the third leg; lead off man Rasheed Dwyer and Jason Livermore, who almost blew it with a spotty first baton exchange, expressed their delight with the result.

"We came out here with a strong team without having the big man (Usain) Bolt and it really shows how strong Jamaica is, so I'm really excited and I'm really proud," Ashmeade said.

"We are very pleased about this win. We came out here as a team, we were determined to show our unity and execute the plan and that's what we did, so I'm very happy," Livermore chipped in.

Dwyer added: "Bolt is an amazing athlete and he deserves all the praise. But any four athlete that you put out there for Jamaica is capable of giving you the result and that's our strength. This was a good win for us."
« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 06:31:09 PM by Socapro »

I think Weir is getting a bit testy on the gesture. I thought it was a cool spoof of the ICON Usain. I don't think he disrespected Bolt. So what if you get beat. Just stick it back to them in Beijing and Rio! By the way, Usain is not the first sportsman to do the lightening bolt pose.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 09:42:41 AM by Deeks »

T&T leave Relays empty-handed
« Reply #109 on: May 05, 2015, 05:14:27 PM »
TT leave Relays empty-handed
Tuesday, May 5 2015 (T&T Newsday)

Marc Burns passes baton to Rondell Sorrillo during 4x100m Relay Final at World Relays 2015.
Sorrillo sustained a quad strain during his leg and slowed down resulting in T&T placing 7th in final.

Trinidad and Tobago finished empty-handed at the 2nd edition of the IAAF World Relays which concluded in the Bahamas on the weekend.

It was a disappointing showing from the national athletes after taking three medals in the inaugural edition. TT placed 13th overall with just eight points.

After finishing seventh in the Men’s 4x100m relay on Saturday, the Men’s 4x400 team won their heat in three minutes, 2.09 seconds, only to finish 7th in the final in a slower time of three minutes, 3.10.
Jarrin Solomon, Renny Quow and Machel Cedenio were unable to get back into contention following a less than stellar opening leg from Lalonde Gordon. USA were golden in a world leading time of 2:58.43 ahead of Bahamas 2:58.91 and Belgium (2:59.33).

There was not much to celebrate from TT’s one-lap women’s relay squad which was already weakened by the absence of top sprinter Kelly-Ann Baptiste, and ran fifth in the final in 42.88 seconds. TT were also fourth in the 4x400m women’s ‘B’ final on Sunday.

IAAF World Relays Summary
Story Created: May 4, 2015 at 10:10 PM ECT

We lead off with athletics, and some improvements will be needed before the World Championships in China come august. No medals last night in the Bahamas with T&T settling for a 13th overall finish at the IAAF World Relays after accumulating eight points at the two-day global meet.
The Americans finished top again with a hefty 63 points.
Kwame Laurence followed the action.

Click this link for video of interview: http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/-Iaaf-world-relays-5203---302507481.html
« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 02:53:31 PM by Socapro »

World Relays: A Look Beyond
« Reply #110 on: May 07, 2015, 12:15:26 PM »
World Relays: A Look Beyond
May 7th, 2015 7:56am
By Robert Taylor, Special to Trackalerts.Com

The 2015 IAAF World Relays was uneven in my view. Russia and Ethiopia did not send a team while Kenya sends a watered down team. To see Kenya coming last in a 4x800m race with Jamaica fielding a team finishing in front of Kenya explains it best. I am not saying the Jamaican team was not a worthy opponent, I am saying that at this point in track and field development, neither Jamaica male or female athletes are in the class of the Kenyan 800m elite runners.

The US dominated the victory stand with some excellent performances. Their female 4x400m team was in great form with Jamaica coming a credible second. For example, Sanya Richards was reported to have run a 48.7 leg. This is unusual to see an athlete running this fast at such an early juncture of the season. The way the US team performed without Allyson Felix, I am tempted to believe this will be another year of the Jamaican female 4x400m team playing the bridesmaid role.

The US males won the 4x100m and a hefty celebration ensued. I guess after a drought starting 2008, anything would be worthwhile celebrating. Justin Gatlin and Tyson Gay seem to be in superb form and if Jamaica does not take notice they could be left lamenting in August at the World Championships. My expectation is that Jamaica will come stronger the next time around. To be fair, so will the US. The next time around I believe it will be a lot closer race at the very least.

It was hard for me to take a lot from most of relays, except to say the US female and male 4x400m teams will be difficult to beat and in the male sprinting, the same old horses will be leading the way. Bolt, Asafa, Gatlin and Gay seem to be the ones who will be dictating the medal situation. I do not know what to say about Yohan Blake at this time because of the two years’ season-ending injuries.

The usual challenger in the 4x400m, Bahamas and a mostly young and rising Trinidad & Tobago team should be in the mix seeking to dethrone the US. Jamaica seems to be at least 1 year away from a serious challenge for a medal or top place. The young quarter milers Jamaica have should need a little more time for senior maturity. European countries like Sweden, Great Britain and possible Poland and Russia should be competing for the minor medal spots.

The women 4x100m was and has been between Jamaica and the US for some time now except in 2008 when both teams did not finish because of one reason or another. Trinidad & Tobago with the rising star, if not already a star, Michelle-lee Ahye, along with Kelly-Ann Baptiste, Semoy Hackett and if they can find a credible fourth runner, could form a quality team to make it a three way clash. The Bahamas I think need a year or two before their female sprinters are developed enough to field a quality 4x100m team.

The Relays once again showed the depth of the US track & field team. They are the only country to field quality teams in all events. Fortunately or unfortunately depends on one’s perspective, countries like Jamaica, Kenya and Ethiopia concentrate on areas where they have comparative and competitive advantage. Thus, while the US dominated, they will find stiff competition in all races ranging from 100m through marathon and all relays. It is quite possible the US wins in the World Championship will be few and far between.

The just completed event, serves an excellent purpose, in that it provides additional competition for athletes and entertainment for the fans. Importantly, additional earning potential for athletes is accomplished. I believe more could be accomplished if the timing were later in the year. It takes place much too early in the athletic season, so depending on the athletes training schedule; they will either miss the meet or will turn up far from peak condition. This is compounded by the fact that 2015 is a World Championship year. Like the Olympics, it is athletics biggest competition. Thus, the athletes will have no problem sacrificing the Relays for the two major meets. The only solution I think is to have them later in the season where athletes are in superb condition and then the meet will be used for fine tuning of relay teams and races for athletes who need races before the big one.

In the off years, having the Relays during the time athletes are at or close to peak, will have better times and even world records that fans view as significant. This will improve the image of the event. An improved image is important in more ways than one. Then, we will see the top athletes coming in peak condition, with more fans turning up at the stadium and bigger television rights fees. This can bring in more money for the IAAF, athletes and Bahamas, the host country.

I know some deference is given to the Diamond League but the Relays happening at the right time of the year, will only help the sport of athletics. I have come to realize that not only fans but people on a whole, love top quality in all things of life over all else.

**The views expressed in this article are those of the author (Robert Taylor) and do not necessarily represent the views of, and should not be attributed to, trackalerts.com.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2015, 12:31:49 PM by Socapro »

The Future: World Relays Finds A Natural Home In Bahamas
« Reply #111 on: May 07, 2015, 12:47:02 PM »
The Future: World Relays Finds A Natural Home In Bahamas
By RENALDO DORSETT (Sports Reporter), rdorsett@tribunemedia.net
As of Tuesday, May 5, 2015 (Tribune 242)

NOW a staple on the athletics calendar, the World Relays has found a home in the Bahamas for the immediate future, and according to IAAF President Lamine Diack, the decision was based on the unique appeal of the country and its people in their role as hosts.

Diack made the announcement during a press conference following a meeting with Prime Minister Perry Christie. An agreement between the government and the IAAF, which will see The Bahamas host the 2017 IAAF World Relays, was also formally signed.

“Bahamians have enthusiastically taken the World Relays to their hearts. We are therefore delighted that The Bahamas will also be the hosts for the next edition which takes place in two years time in 2017,” Diack said.

“The organisation of the IAAF World Relays is a team effort. The IAAF would like to thank the local organising committee, the government of The Bahamas, the Bahamas Association of Athletics Associations, official IAAF partners and suppliers, and national partners and suppliers, for their support. We also send our special thanks to all the volunteers, without whom this event could not take place.”

The United States captured the coveted golden baton for the second consecutive year Sunday night when they won seven of the 10 contested events at Thomas A Robinson National Stadium. They finished with a total of 63 points and set two new world records in the men’s and women’s distance medley.

Diack said it added to the brief but powerful impact the event has had on the sport in just two meetings.

“We witnessed a wonderfully successful event, a colourful festival of athletics which was topped by world records,” he said. “Success is a powerful magnet. In total, teams from more than 40 countries comprising more than 600 athletes competed this year. The best relay squads in the world have been attracted by major incentives: There is US$1.4million in prize money on offer across the 10 relay events, including US$50,000 for each victory. There is additionally a US$50,000 world record bonus.”

President Diack was given the freedom of the city of Nassau by PM Christie and was also presented with a ceremonial key to the city to mark the occasion. There was also an exchange of gifts between Christie and Diack.

The third edition of the event will officially become part of the IAAF World Athletics Series that year.

“The creation of the IAAF World Relays is the latest example of athletics’ continual evolution as a sport,” Diack said.

“The IAAF is especially pleased that this exciting new competition has found a natural home in The Bahamas, a nation with a rich and successful history in the relays.”
« Last Edit: May 07, 2015, 01:07:27 PM by Socapro »

Bahamas To Host World Relays In 2017
« Reply #112 on: May 14, 2015, 10:43:39 PM »
Bahamas To Host World Relays In 2017
By BRENT STUBBS (Senior Sports Reporter), bstubbs@tribunemedia.net
As of Tuesday, May 5, 2015 (Tribune 242)

GOOD HOSTS: Shown (l-r) are Lamine Diack, Keith Parker, Mike Sands and Lionel Haven.
Photo by Tim Clarke/Tribune Staff

ON the eve of hosting the IAAF/BTC World Relays Bahamas 2015, International Amateur Athletic Federation (IAAF) President Lamine Diack announced that the Bahamas will be awarded the third edition when the event shifts to biannual one with the next hosting in 2017.

Diack, who will be demitting office during the IAAF Congress at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China in August, said the IAAF has agreed to award the Bahamas the rights to host the relays for the third time. He announced that after they used the first two consecutive years as a trial, they have now decided to host the relays every two years.

The Bahamas was awarded the bid for the first relays in 2014 and again this year. The relays is the newest initiative by the IAAF.

Mike Sands, CEO and vice chairman of the Local Organising Committee, said they are grateful for the confidence that the IAAF has placed in the Bahamas in awarding the third edition as well.

“We look forward to hosting the next edition of Bahamazing,” said Sands, who was accompanied by LOC managing director Lionel Haven and executive chairman Keith Parker.

In response to a question as to why the IAAF gave the Bahamas the nod over other Caribbean Islands like Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago, Sands said it’s because “it’s better in the Bahamas.”

Haven said a lot of effort went into making this year’s event a success. “It took a lot of work and a lot of effort from a lot of people to ensure the success of the event,” he said. “A lot of people put in a lot of long hours to make sure that everything was in order, so I’m very pleased with the team we had and the personal commitment that they gave.

“That was certainly significant for the overall success that we got. We’re now in the process of decommissioning the event, getting the equipment that was transported in transported out of the country and getting the teams back to their homes in just as safe a manner as they came here. So there’s still a lot of work that we are engaged in.”

But if there’s any sanctification for the LOC, it’s the fact that Haven said they can build on the first two editions to further refine their preparation for the return in 2017.

“It’s just a matter now of looking at the overall programme, the operations ran over the past two days, seeing what we can do to improve on our efficiencies, improve on our preparations, improve on our planning and then of course, improve on our execution to ensure that things flow a lot smoother,” he said.

“The first year, we had a consulting group that came in from the IAAF to sort of guide us, but this year we went at it for the most part on our own. We still worked hand in hand with the directors of the IAAF, but our directors were given the freedom to run their areas and so we had some improvements over last year and we had some areas where we could still see some improvements.”

Over the next two weeks, Haven said the LOC will be engaged in a vigorous post-mortem as they look at all aspects of the event and hopefully they will be able to put a dollar figure on the operation.

“We still have the accommodations for the visiting athletes, the IAAF delegates and their families, the layout and design for the preparation of the stadium to ensure that it’s to the correct standard and then of course, some minimum capital infrastructure that had to be, we’re not quite sure of the dollar value just yet,” he said.

“We know that the government had set a target figure for the production of $5 million, but we haven’t gotten all of the figures. So I don’t want to give any figures unless I’m factual in the estimation. But for events like these, we can’t focus on whether or not we will net a profit. We have to focus more on the economic impact.”

Haven said persons have to look at the fact that the event was broadcast in more than 161 countries around the world last year and that played a significant role in attracting more people this year, who were able to take advantage of all of the amenities that the country has to offer.

More than 40 countries participated in the two-day event that offered $1.4 million in cash prizes. The United States repeated as the Golden Baton champions with 63 points, ahead of Jamaica, who finished with 46 for second. Poland rounded out the top three with 34. The Bahamas was tied for 10th with Canada with 11.

The Americans won all of the relays, except for the women’s 4 x 100 and men’s 4 x 200 that went to Jamaica and the women’s 4 x 200 which was won by Nigeria.

Two world records were set by the United States in the men’s and women’s distance medley relay, which replaced the 4 x 1,500m that saw the Kenyans set world records last year. There was also a number of championship records and world-leading times.

The Bahamas had two teams in the A finals with the men’s 4 x 400m team of Ramon Miller, Michael Mathieu, Steven Gardiner and Chris ‘Fireman’ Brown picking up the silver behind the United States, while the men’s 4 x 200m team of Deneko Brown, Andretti Bain, Alfred Higgs and Blake Bartlett placed fifth.

The majority of the top athletes in the world competed in the event, including Jamaica’s Usain Bolt and Veronica Campbell-Brown, Americans Tyson Gay and Allyson Felix and Chris ‘Fireman’ Brown and Shaunae Miller of the Bahamas.

There was also a special appearance by ‘Golden Girls’ Sevatheda Fynes, Chandra Sturrup, Eldece Clarke and Pauline Davis-Thompson. In addition to the various IAAF dignitaries on hand, among the special guests were world renowned retired competitors Michael Johnson from the United States, Frankie Fredericks from Namibia and Ato Bolden from Trinidad & Tobago.

2nd IAAF BTC World Relays Bahamas 2015 (All Races!!)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/p3N36ydmXy8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/p3N36ydmXy8</a>

In response to a question as to why the IAAF gave the Bahamas the nod over other Caribbean Islands like Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago, Sands said it’s because “it’s better in the Bahamas.”

This relay thing is becoming like the US Gold Cup in football. Not taking anything from our Caribbean cousins, but this relay would be super in JA. And I think TT can do a good job with an edition.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 05:20:18 AM by Deeks »

Offline STMB

This relay thing is becoming like the US Gold Cup in football. Not taking anything from our Caribbean cousins, but this relay would be super in JA. And I think TT can do a good job with an edition.

A lot of upgrades and professionalism need to be in place to pull something like this off.
1. Need a new, IAAF-certified track for high-quality performances
2. Need to install railings for home-straight, track-side cameras (not likely since HC stadium is used for other sports - football and Carnival fetes
3. Need a full-size warm up track with space for physio tables, etc - not enough space at HC
4. Need professional introduction choreography, video technology, pyro-technics, etc for a Diamond-League type feel and atmosphere
5. Need in-fill, cameraman talent - camera men on golf carts, segways, etc for back straight and post-finish shots
6. Need a staff professional enough to keep on schedule for global TV broadcasting
7. Need state-of-the-art media facilities with all-weather coverage, replete with high-speed Wi-Fi and sufficient bandwidth for the multitude of journalists
8. Need a marketing force and a public that will show up and not embarrass the host country
9. Need enough host nation talent to generate interest in spectatorship
10. Need a credible starting system and clock so that each race does not end in a WR

All in all, not an easy task. Bahamas operates with US currency, and has a serious, T&F-centric sport ministry and culture to make this happen.

Jamaica seems a likely alternative, but they may have to invest in a new stadium without a surrounding cycling track, to keep up with the times, and of course a world-class drug testing facility.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2015, 08:45:52 AM by STMB »

Cool!