March 28, 2024, 05:22:07 AM

Can the West Indies progress to the semi-final?

Yes: Anything is possible
1 (25%)
No: The cut-ass book!
2 (50%)
We still playing?
1 (25%)

Total Members Voted: 4

Author Topic: New Zealand v West Indies, World Cup 2015, 4th quarter-final, Wellington  (Read 3582 times)

New Zealand aim to continue as overwhelming favourites
THE PREVIEW BY GEORGE BINOY
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/story/852861.html

Match facts
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Start time 1400 local (0100 GMT; 9:00 PM EST)

Links:
http://www.crictime.com/

Big Picture
South Africa are not the only country to have struggled with knockout games in previous World Cups. New Zealand have won only one such match. But how have they made it to - and lost - six semi-finals then? In five of those World Cups the semi-finals were not preceded by a quarter-final, but by group or round-robin combat.

That history, however, will not impact Brendon McCullum's side being billed as overwhelming favourites to beat West Indies at the Regional Stadium on Saturday.

New Zealand have spent the days leading up to the quarter-final training, resting, and signing autographs and being part of 'selfies' at a fan event. They have been out and about - one Wellington resident said on Twitter that she walked past Trent Boult at the post office - embracing the increasing love and expectation, fully aware that this is a special time in their lives. They have confidence in their aggressive game, though McCullum understates it, and unless they have a shocker it is hard to see them not doubling that tally of one knockout victory in World Cups.

Over the last few days, several people from the West Indies camp - Darren Sammy, Curtly Ambrose, Jason Holder and Clive Lloyd - have acknowledged that not many people gave their troubled campaign a chance of getting this far. With Chris Gayle struggling with his back and the rest of the West Indian top order mis-firing, there is an acceptance of being the underdog. Unlike Ireland, who narrowly missed out on this quarter-final, the West Indies team is often less than the sum of its parts despite being filled with players capable of astonishing individual feats. But nothing less than unison will be enough to derail New Zealand.

March 21 is the equinox, the date after which nights get longer in this part of the world. All of New Zealand will hope their World Cup summer lasts another week.

Form guide
(last five matches, most recent first)
New Zealand WWWWW
West Indies WLLWW

In the spotlight
Gayle's dodgy back. Without him the West Indies top order looks paper thin, and more so against arguably the best new-ball attack in the World Cup. Gayle has a cortisone injection in a bid to play the quarter-final, and if he does, but is even a trifle slow in his movements, Tim Southee and Trent Boult could be too good for him. Would West Indies risk anything than a less-than-fully-agile opener against two quicks on top of their game?

McCullum and the New Zealand fast bowlers have headlined their World Cup campaign, but Corey Anderson has been an important part of their success. He's scored 158 runs at an average of 39.50 but more importantly taken 10 wickets at an average of 13, strike rate of 16, and economy of 4.82. His bowling success has ensured McCullum hasn't had to use a sixth bowler too often. Kane Williamson and Grant Elliot have had to bowl only eight overs in the World Cup.

Teams news
McCullum said New Zealand were likely to make only one change to the XI that beat Bangladesh to make it six wins out of six in the group stage: Adam Milne, who missed that game with an injured shoulder, was set to replace Mitchell McClenaghan.

New Zealand (probable) : 1 Brendon McCullum (capt), 2 Martin Gupill, 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Grant Elliott, 6 Corey Anderson, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Daniel Vettori, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Adam Milne.

If Gayle is fit to play, a decision on that will be taken only on Saturday, then he should come in for Dwayne Smith, who has made 93 runs in six innings in the tournament. Johnson Charles and Jonathan Carter had half-centuries against UAE and should keep their spots. The other decision West Indies will have to make is whether to play an all-pace attack, or pick Sulieman Benn instead of Kemar Roach, who has one wicket in three games and an economy of 6.81. Marlon Samuels wasn't at training on the eve of the game but the West Indies management said that he had been given the day off because of a hectic schedule and is available for selection.

West Indies 1 Chris Gayle/Dwayne Smith, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Marlon Samuels, 4 Jonathan Carter, 5 Lendl Simmons, 6 Denesh Ramdin 7 Darren Sammy, 8 Andre Russell, 9 Jason Holder, 10 Jerome Taylor, 11 Sulieman Benn/Kemar Roach

Pitch and conditions

The forecast for Saturday is some cloud, some sun, and no chance of rain. Temperatures are expected to range between 19 and 14 degrees. There was not a blemish in the sky when the ball swung heaps for Southee against England, but there wasn't as much assistance for the bowlers in the other two games at this venue. The pitch will be the same one on which South Africa made 341 before dismissing UAE for 195.

Stats and trivia
  • Since 2012, West Indies have won six ODIs against New Zealand and lost three.
  • McCullum averages 24 in six innings against West Indies over the last three years. Williamson's average in eight innings is 29.
  • Gayle averages 55 and has a strike rate of 102 in his last five innings against New Zealand. Samuels averages 67 in his last four.

Quotes
"No, I wouldn't."
West Indies captain Jason Holder on whether he was able to give a percentage probability of Gayle playing.

"There is added pressure because it's a knockout game, but the game doesn't change because there is more on the line. We still need to play the attacking brand of cricket, it doesn't guarantee us success but it gives us our greatest opportunity of being successful."
New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum

« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 08:31:31 AM by Bitter »

Offline Michael-j

I think our best chance is to bat first if we win the toss. Gayle in for Smith... Hope our top order fires and hope the middle order continues so we could reach to at least 320-340.
New Zealand have been unbeaten but they don't look unbeatable....Bangladesh gave them a good run and Australia almost defended a sub-200 total.  Drop Roach for Ben or Miller....The key would be to get Brendon McCullum out early and cheaply because he can take the game away from you really early on. We need to fire in all 3 areas today - batting, bowling and fielding.....we are certainly the underdogs but we could get the win if we decide to actually fight.

If we go with this line up tonight we will win .

Lewis
Simmons
L. Bravo (Out because of injury) replacement Solozano
Mohammed
B. Bravo
Pullhard
Cooper (Out of team to fix arm action) replacement Emrit
Ramdin
Narine (Out of team to fix arm action) replacement Badree
Rampaul
Gabriel
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 01:09:19 PM by che »

New Zealand 27/1 (4.3 ov)

89/2 (16)

 232/3 (38.3 ov)

 278/4 (43.2 ov)

309/4 (45.0 ov)

Licks sharing now.

Offline StoreBayLimer

I just checked skysports.com and  could not believe the score.

Well doh check it now.

:frustrated:

393/6 after 50 overs  :cursing:

237 for Guptil. We will be lucky if we make 200 total.

As soon as I saw that New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat, I was very uneasy....

That uneasiness has turned to complete terror.

Time to change mih vote

Well, to offer a faint glimmer of optimism, there was a one day between South Africa and Australia some years ago where Australia bludgeoned its way to somewhere in the region of 434/4 only for South Africa to chase down the target, thus completing a remarkable victory.

Ah, I found the details of thus match

http://www.espncricinfo.com/rsavaus/engine/current/match/238200.html

So, it can happen folks...

Well, to offer a faint glimmer of optimism, there was a one day between South Africa and Australia some years ago where Australia bludgeoned its way to somewhere in the region of 434/4 only for South Africa to chase down the target, thus completing a remarkable victory.

Ah, I found the details of thus match

http://www.espncricinfo.com/rsavaus/engine/current/match/238200.html

So, it can happen folks...

The last time the West Indies successfully chased a target of 300 or more?...
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 11:30:11 PM by Bitter »

Here comes the collapse...

West Indies 80/4 (9.5 ov)

WI have a habbit of giving me hope and pulling stones.
I will bite my tongue.

Offline Aviator

There was a lack of temperament in this chase. We have the hitters that could have won this match. The run rate is incredible (250/9) after 30 overs. Had it been 5 or 6 down, it would have been game on.

P.S. Match done
« Last Edit: March 21, 2015, 03:18:30 AM by Aviator »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

as some said we lack the temperament to chip away and be patient.

NZ was 247 at the 41st over. 

I'm not sure what kind of game strategy they have in the dressing room about scoring.

Do they just go out and bat or do they say well in 10 over we should score this amount?

Thing Phil Simmons will try to improve this part of the game.

Offline Michael-j

We didn't seem to have a plan at all.....If Samuels held on to that Guptil catch when he was on 4 things may have been different....talk about making us pay for a mistake  :P
Our WC ended before it even started but it's officially over now. I could only hope Phil's addition will usher in a new dawn in WI cricket....I live in hope.

All yuh good. My bed eh wet and the bible say your sleep should be sweet.

Well we can't depend on the Prince Of POS predictions anymore  :D

http://www.caribbean360.com/sports/lara-backs-windies-to-upset-black-caps

We have to commend Gayle for his effort.

The man seemed to have some kind of problem. He ddn't seem able to move his legs and still batted like a beast.

New Zealand beat South Africa by the Duckie/Lewis method.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/cricket/32029786