March 28, 2024, 10:26:04 AM

Author Topic: Hart open to foreign-born players.  (Read 14406 times)

Hart open to foreign-born players.
« on: April 06, 2015, 04:39:35 AM »
Hart open to foreign-born players.
By COLIN BENJAMIN (NEWSDAY).

TRINIDAD AND Tobago football team coach Stephan Hart has stated he is open to the idea of recruiting foreign-born players with family heritage from the twin island republic to play for the national team, ahead of 2018 World Cup qualification later this year.

Hart used the recent international friendly versus Panama to test out local Pro League players in an attempt to strength his player pool. “I’m all for it (getting foreign players) once the players show an allegiance. But it’s also equally important that we present our selves as professional as possible with our planning to such potential players,” explained Hart.

It was reported in February that former national midfielder Chris Birchall speaking about 19-year-old Crystal Palace defender Ryan Inniss as an option for the “Soca Warriors”. He is currently on loan at Birchall’s club Port Vale, stands at six feet five inches, has played for England’s Under-16 and U-17 teams and has a Trinidadian father.

While Hart understandably did not want to confirm whether he has made any approach to Inniss, he did confirm that discussions with players such as Inniss were done in recent times.

Throughout the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) in the last few months many teams are making attempts to solicit overseas-based (mainly Europe) talent to strengthen their squads.

Last December, DIRECTV W Connection played an international friendly versus a European boosted Suriname who has an ambitions vision called “Project Suriname”, in which they are seeking to bring back many Dutch players born to Surinamese parents. Caledonia AIA coach Jamaal Shabazz recently began his third stint as Guyana coach and they attracted players with English Premier League and championship experience in Matthew Briggs and Neil Danns.

CFU Champions Jamaica alongside Antigua, Grenada and St Kitts/Nevis also have similar plans.

Hart noted this development certainly means CFU teams boosted by these overseas acquisitions will be no pushovers. Thus the traditional strong CFU/CONCACAF teams will have to maintain their competitive edge, to avoid being eliminated earlier than expected like what happened to Trinidad and Tobago in the 2014 qualifying campaign.

Re: Hart open to foreign-born players.
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2015, 04:54:48 AM »
Scouting is all well and fine..but how about international friendlies...I was reading concacaf.com and all our neighbors used the international window to its full potential playing 2 games against top competition. ..is only the TTFA playing De ass...I am of the opinion that they think the gold cup would be sufficient playing for the time being...and then after that...They will see about some friendlies for the world cup campaign. ..I keep braying. ..mr. ttfa. ..fail to prepare and prepare to fail!!! Tim Kee not serious about football..He serious about being mayor for town...something hadda happen...is 9 years now...we taste a WC...we know what it takes...come on now!

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2015, 04:57:28 AM »
I already put that fiasco(2014 WC) out of my mind. I can't even remember!
« Last Edit: April 06, 2015, 06:54:45 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2015, 05:02:09 AM »
Scouting is all well and fine..but how about international friendlies...I was reading concacaf.com and all our neighbors used the international window to its full potential playing 2 games against top competition. ..is only the TTFA playing De ass...I am of the opinion that they think the gold cup would be sufficient playing for the time being...and then after that...They will see about some friendlies for the world cup campaign. ..I keep braying. ..mr. ttfa. ..fail to prepare and prepare to fail!!! Tim Kee not serious about football..He serious about being mayor for town...something hadda happen...is 9 years now...we taste a WC...we know what it takes...come on now!

Good talk.

Hart saying one thing but doing the next.

I am sure Inniss and DeLeon could have made the trip instead of regulars like Hoyte and Molino.

He cant call them to play for T&T in the gold cup, now is the time to see them play and get them accustom with T&T style and players.

We dont get much friendlies so when we do we have to make it count.

« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2015, 06:55:34 AM »
Errol, you know for sure that Deleon wants to play for TT?

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2015, 08:23:48 AM »
Anyone have a list of potential foreign born players ?  Please add any name to the small list I have below.

Gavin Hoyte has played for us already and I'm sure he will be part of squad going forward.

Gavin Hoyte (Defender- RB+CB - Gillingham- 24 yrs)
Ryan Innis (Defender- RB+CB- Crystal Palace on loan at Port Vale- 19yrs)
Nick De Leon (Midfielder- CAM+LAM- DC United- 24 yrs)
Hallam Hope (Striker - Bury- 21 yrs)
Sheanon Williams (Right Back- Philadelphia Union- 25 yrs)
Rory McKenzie (Winger- Kilmarnock- 21 yrs)
Dale Bennet (Defender- Forest Green Rovers in England- 25 yrs)
Shaquell Moore (Defender - FC Dallas ? - 19 yrs)
Aaron Maund (Defender - Real Salt Lake- 24 yrs)

We are lacking wide options. If we could find a winger that would be ideal.

« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2015, 09:33:12 AM »
Zamora -  QPR       :devil:

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2015, 10:43:21 AM »
Anyone have a list of potential foreign born players ?  Please add any name to the small list I have below.

Gavin Hoyte has played for us already and I'm sure he will be part of squad going forward.

John Bostock (CAM & RW - OH Leuven {Belgium 2nd Division} - 23 yrs)

Daniel Carr (Striker - Huddersfield Town - 21 yrs)

I don't think Hope is eligible as his parents aren't trini. His grandfather is though.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2015, 11:00:19 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2015, 11:15:21 AM »

John Bostock (CAM & RW - OH Leuven {Belgium 2nd Division} - 23 yrs)

Daniel Carr (Striker - Huddersfield Town - 21 yrs)

I don't think Hope is eligible as his parents aren't trini. His grandfather is though.

John bostock is who we need he is a dead ball specialist . there are more   . I think rohan Ince may be eligible also

« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2015, 01:18:41 PM »
De day Hart or any T&T coach call up Aaron Maund is de day I officially stop supporting T&T football.

« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2015, 02:07:23 PM »
Jason Puncheon, half Trini and Jamaican.

Not 100% sure though.

« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2015, 03:40:07 PM »
Jason Puncheon, half Trini and Jamaican.

Not 100% sure though.

Just by his name, he would feel at home in TT.

« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2015, 04:49:42 PM »
By now De Leon knows he eh getting any call up to the USMNT. College players and NASL/USL players getting minutes on the USMNT and De Leon eh even getting ah training camp. So it have to be he eh wasting he time with T&T - just like Zamora.

« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2015, 04:51:57 PM »
Wait why has is Samuel[?] (think he playing in the Middle east now, related to Andre) never play for we again?

« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2015, 05:58:24 PM »
Wait why has is Samuel[?] (think he playing in the Middle east now, related to Andre) never play for we again?

Remember this? TTFF manager takes Jlloyd for a joy ride

« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2015, 06:29:50 PM »
I think J Lloyd was a pretty good player.

« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2015, 09:25:24 PM »

Remember this? TTFF manager takes Jlloyd for a joy ride

Oh gawd oh....how I forget that boy. Textgate

« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2015, 10:28:24 PM »
yea but are the foreign born players open to playing for the inept TTFA???

that is the real question...

« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2015, 06:35:43 AM »
yea but are the foreign born players open to playing for the inept TTFA???

that is the real question...

Watch yuh contents homie. Yuh could get persecuted / terrorized by them or their Boko-TTFA henchmen

Offline Thomo

« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2015, 12:45:45 PM »
I dunno why this is even a debate when our competitors are clearly reaping the benefits of such. Lord knows we need them to at least to give this present bunch some competition cause from what I see some dudes have started getting comfortable. However as the situation remains the same with this seemingly inept TTFA, I doubt any will come on board soon. If this bunch of lads don't step up their game in the next 6 months we'll struggle in the WC qualifiers against other countries that make use of the same foreign-born players

« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2015, 01:02:02 PM »
You're a professional footballer not born in T&T, know of it through your family, and eligible to play for T&T as a result of said family.

You're open to the idea of playing for T&T and excited about playing international football, knowing full well that you're unlikely to be selected for the country of your birth

You've done some research and realize that T&T has some footballing pedigree and has even been to a FIFA Men's World Cup where they performed creditably.  They've also been to the World Cup at U20 and U17 level.

You're a proactive individual and decide to contact the Federation to tell them of your interest and eligibility.

Then you find out you have to pay your own way to Trinidad to maybe have a trial.

What would you do?

« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2015, 01:14:07 PM »
Palas yuh is a boss, good one.

And better yet, yuh eating KFC and drinking water in training.

And they have no bibs, cones etc.

Then yuh find out you might have to wait two years to get paid and you may not play for T&T again even though you is de best player because de TTFA doh have de money to buy yuh plane ticket.

« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2015, 01:19:00 PM »
These from the same people who kill Maund who played and then drop we faster than a bad habit. HYPOCRITES AMONG US.

« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2015, 01:49:16 PM »
Zamora can get his chance now.  ::)

« Reply #24 on: April 07, 2015, 02:42:44 PM »
You're a professional footballer not born in T&T, know of it through your family, and eligible to play for T&T as a result of said family.

You're open to the idea of playing for T&T and excited about playing international football, knowing full well that you're unlikely to be selected for the country of your birth

You've done some research and realize that T&T has some footballing pedigree and has even been to a FIFA Men's World Cup where they performed creditably.  They've also been to the World Cup at U20 and U17 level.

You're a proactive individual and decide to contact the Federation to tell them of your interest and eligibility.

Then you find out you have to pay your own way to Trinidad to maybe have a trial.

What would you do?

was waiting for the punchline breds  :D nice :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: April 07, 2015, 03:20:40 PM »

What would you do?

was waiting for the punchline breds  :D nice :beermug:

Some situations are different that others. Maybe we should ask Me Moms Birchall if he paid his way. If you are a high profiled player and TTFA contacted you, more than likely TTFA will pay your ticket home. But one who is not high profiled will have to pay his or her way. That goes for other sports also. If I recollected, Maxg did have to put out his own money to have his kids come to TT for swimming trials. please correct me Max.aAllyuh know The assoc. bleeding for money.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2015, 03:22:40 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #26 on: April 07, 2015, 05:02:55 PM »
Allyuh could vex if allyuh want. I taking him.

« Reply #27 on: April 08, 2015, 03:22:14 PM »
Just my take on this.

Corbin not doing much these days, he's just not taking football serious.

Inniss badly injured until May or so.

DeLeon have issues getting a passport, his father lost all his papers and like he is not interested in going and get it, he wants the FA to get it and does not realise that he has to go in person.

Kaydion Gabriel may get his chance soon as he has been great all season for Central, but Jamal Jack have been doing well also and did himself no favors vs Panama. So we'll see, these guys have to grab the chance with both hands, we hardly get games therefore its hard for them to get more caps if they show no promise.

Shannon Gomez is attracting MLS interest.

The TTFA is working their socks off the make the camp and games in June a reality and once this happens it will surely help everyone's case.

« Last Edit: April 08, 2015, 03:38:59 PM by Flex »

« Reply #28 on: April 08, 2015, 04:18:50 PM »
Just my take on this.

Corbin not doing much these days, he's just not taking football serious.

Inniss badly injured until May or so.

DeLeon have issues getting a passport, his father lost all his papers and like he is not interested in going and get it, he wants the FA to get it and does not realise that he has to go in person.

Kaydion Gabriel may get his chance soon as he has been great all season for Central, but Jamal Jack have been doing well also and did himself no favors vs Panama. So we'll see, these guys have to grab the chance with both hands, we hardly get games therefore its hard for them to get more caps if they show no promise.

Shannon Gomez is attracting MLS interest.

The TTFA is working their socks off the make the camp and games in June a reality and once this happens it will surely help everyone's case.

so deleon is interested  nice to hear

« Reply #29 on: April 08, 2015, 04:34:15 PM »
Allyuh could vex if allyuh want. I taking him.

In our current state...I would add him to the list as well. Kenwyne aside, at 34 Zamora is playing at the highest level and better than any striker we have. He can also be an excellent super sub when KJ stickin'.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2015, 04:46:40 PM by FireBrand »