April 19, 2024, 02:44:52 PM

Author Topic: Google's Android unveiled  (Read 42626 times)

Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #240 on: November 21, 2013, 10:59:16 PM »
Motorola G $179 8gb unlocked. $199 for 16gb.Coming Soon

Quad core Snapdragon 400 cpu
4.5 inch screen
720p display
1 gig ram
Interchangeable cases / covers
Water proof coating
stock android 4.3, guaranteed upgrade to 4.4
5mp rear camera. 1.3mp front
Latest Gorilla Glass
Curved back
FM radio
Dual Sim certain markets

Win!

Press conference

Just got the Nexus 5 on Nov 11th. hmmmm.  DHW, what is the strategy for Motorola? wont this cannibalize its other products?

It's made for the developing market. Third world countries. In America it won't really dent anything it's going to be sold as a prepaid phone. Motorola international presence is pretty low so this should help, I cah even remember when last I see a Motorola phone selling in Trinidad lol. And remember Google owns Motorola mobile devison, so its a great ploy to get more people on Android. I need a new phone but I might hold out for this. $179 is too good to pass up.

Nexus 5 is a better phone, so don't worry too much.

Off topic. Trinidad going to get LTE 4g. Digicel already start upgrading.

thanks ...

was trying to acquire a Note 2 but I waited too long. Could have got it for "free' with my carrier (2 year contract) but will I was hemming and hawing about a Note 3, they sold out. So have not done anything as yet.  the Nexus 5 was for my daughter. So as usual, the children have better technology than me.

found a Note 2. Should be here by Monday I hope ...

« Reply #241 on: December 06, 2013, 05:40:10 PM »
Motorola G selling on Amazon for 179 and 199

« Reply #242 on: December 06, 2013, 06:33:45 PM »
no sd card :( otherwise fair enough, but no secondary is stupid

Re: Re: Google's Android unveiled
« Reply #243 on: December 06, 2013, 06:37:22 PM »

Cah complain considering the price. 16gb big enough for me. Considering this for Christmas not sure yet. My ideal phone would be a S3

« Reply #244 on: December 06, 2013, 06:52:44 PM »

Cah complain considering the price. 16gb big enough for me. Considering this for Christmas not sure yet. My ideal phone would be a S3

my new cheap ass dotish phone has an sd slot, phones die and their internal storage tend to die with them
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 07:25:18 PM by lefty »

« Reply #245 on: December 06, 2013, 06:54:23 PM »

my new cheap ass dotish phone has an sd slot, phones die and their internal storage tend to sie with them

Good point.

« Reply #246 on: December 09, 2013, 06:44:03 PM »
Just as I was about to sign for the Note 2, I noticed that the price of the Note 3 had dropped. So I ended up getting the Note 3 instead of the 2.

Extremely happy with the device.  :beermug:

« Reply #247 on: December 09, 2013, 07:18:05 PM »
Just as I was about to sign for the Note 2, I noticed that the price of the Note 3 had dropped. So I ended up getting the Note 3 instead of the 2.

Lucky. That's a beast phone.

« Reply #248 on: December 09, 2013, 09:18:07 PM »

I rationalized the purchase as I am able to use the notes feature for work related meetings ... the ability to make notes, annotate photos and save it as a PDF is/will my life easier when I am on a shop floor making notes and sketches. I still have to get better with the handwriting to text mode though. A little to slow but I expect the speed to pick up as I get used to the device. And the camera and HD resolution is great. And finally, I like to bigger phone size too.

« Reply #249 on: December 25, 2013, 05:14:47 PM »

I rationalized the purchase as I am able to use the notes feature for work related meetings ... the ability to make notes, annotate photos and save it as a PDF is/will my life easier when I am on a shop floor making notes and sketches. I still have to get better with the handwriting to text mode though. A little to slow but I expect the speed to pick up as I get used to the device. And the camera and HD resolution is great. And finally, I like to bigger phone size too.

Bought the Moto G have to wait till Fri. will try and post some pics of it for those interested in it. And a small review. Need to buy a case for it now 

« Reply #250 on: March 23, 2014, 03:29:32 PM »

Bought the Moto G have to wait till Fri. will try and post some pics of it for those interested in it. And a small review. Need to buy a case for it now 

Just accepted the notification to upgrade to Kit Kat 4.4.2 for the Note 3.

Not seeing any significant differences. However, the icons in the notification bar are all white. In the prior version. I had coloured icons. Not sure how to fix that. Not a major issue but .... colour was nice.

Will have to read-up on what the improvements are.

« Reply #251 on: March 29, 2014, 06:05:46 AM »

So where de pics and review boss??   :waiting: ;D

« Reply #252 on: March 29, 2014, 06:08:49 AM »
So I am toying with the idea of upgrading.  Have an S2 now.  What should I go to next?

I will be in the US in August and thinking of buying a phone then.  Ah feel like bmobile sticking it to me without Vaseline with them prices ah seeing here in T&T...

Suggestions folks.  Please and thanks.....

(note to self,  organise a lime with the US based crew..... :))
« Last Edit: March 29, 2014, 06:10:35 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #253 on: March 29, 2014, 06:14:28 AM »
S5?

« Reply #254 on: March 29, 2014, 07:02:09 AM »

« Reply #255 on: March 29, 2014, 11:27:47 AM »

So I am toying with the idea of upgrading.  Have an S2 now.  What should I go to next?

I will be in the US in August and thinking of buying a phone then.  Ah feel like bmobile sticking it to me without Vaseline with them prices ah seeing here in T&T...

What kinda budget yuh working with? The S5 is an option but I partial to the fit and finish of the new HTC One. Both of them brand new and carrying the latest tech so yuh will be good for a while. LG have a new flagship coming out but I not impressed by LG hardware or Android skin. These phones will run yuh $600-$700 off contract.

Nexus5 is another option, it about half the price of the S5 and HTC but the battery and camera may not be as good and no SD card slot. The Nexus comes without the software bloat and gets updates direct from Google.

Yuh could also get a MotoX cheap and I think they have the best OEM software on Android. The downside is the specs were midrange when it launched last year so it may not be as future proof and rumors saying an update launching in the summer.

« Reply #256 on: March 31, 2014, 12:21:36 PM »
HTC making some waves..

http://technology.canoe.ca/Mobile/News/2014/03/25/21555936.html

Yes I've been reading a bit about this in past few days.....will take a read of this article in a few minutes.....

« Reply #257 on: March 31, 2014, 12:24:40 PM »

What kinda budget yuh working with? The S5 is an option but I partial to the fit and finish of the new HTC One. Both of them brand new and carrying the latest tech so yuh will be good for a while. LG have a new flagship coming out but I not impressed by LG hardware or Android skin. These phones will run yuh $600-$700 off contract.

Nexus5 is another option, it about half the price of the S5 and HTC but the battery and camera may not be as good and no SD card slot. The Nexus comes without the software bloat and gets updates direct from Google.

Yuh could also get a MotoX cheap and I think they have the best OEM software on Android. The downside is the specs were midrange when it launched last year so it may not be as future proof and rumors saying an update launching in the summer.

Thanks Grimm......was planning to spend no more than $500 (TT $3,200) and even that ah find is plenty to spend on a phone......I eh de techie type that MUST have every new gadget that comes out......but I know the S2 is a dinosaur now so ah looking to upgrade but not necessarily to the latest gadget.......

« Reply #258 on: March 31, 2014, 08:38:26 PM »
M8 rel sexy

« Reply #259 on: August 19, 2014, 09:37:09 AM »
Alright peeps.  So I'm about to buy de phone. BUT, Best Buy have one for $650. (De Samsung S4 that is).
Ah find dat is too much for ah S4.
Amazon have them marked down to $400 and de mini at $289. That within mih budget BUT.....

What does this mean?

"Features & details
Cellular Band - Quad-Band 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 Mhz
Cellular Band 3G - 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100-LTE Mhz"

This would work in T&T?? Is Quad-Band the same as 4G?

Help ah sistah out pls and thx......:)

« Reply #260 on: August 19, 2014, 11:09:23 AM »
Quad band means that it could be used for roaming. Providers use different frequencies to transmit signals...quad band is able to receive all.

4G is
4G is the fourth generation of mobile phone communications. It is a wireless broadband technology that allows high-speed mobile data services. It enables users to download and upload data up to 70 times faster so that they can experience rich multimedia and large files.

Any 3G, WCDMA, HSPA, HSDPA and HSPA+ enabled smart phones, tablet, laptops and computers will allow you to enjoy the fastest download/upload and browsing speeds available over the bmobile 4G service. Check your handset manufacturer website for specifics on your phone

At one time bmobile had a listing telling you what specifications that the phone would need to work with their network. I cant find it now though.

Whatever you do.. make sure the phone IS NOT CDMA. That cant work here.

Think that should help you out.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #261 on: June 18, 2015, 02:06:02 PM »
Looking to get feedback on the LG G4. Anyone with insights?

« Reply #262 on: June 19, 2015, 05:20:40 PM »

my boi did a review , see: https://youtu.be/VTUDzrIgZlI

« Reply #263 on: June 19, 2015, 08:58:25 PM »
MKBHD is always a good source for reviews.

« Reply #264 on: June 20, 2015, 03:54:51 AM »

my boi did a review , see: https://youtu.be/VTUDzrIgZlI

Thanks for that! Been hearing it's a better product than the iPhone 6.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2015, 03:56:35 AM by asylumseeker »