March 28, 2024, 08:46:19 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Curaçao Game (5-Jun-2015)  (Read 13807 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Curaçao Game (5-Jun-2015)
« on: June 01, 2015, 12:59:21 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Curaçao game at the Sentro Deportivo Korsou Stadium in Curaçao on the 5th of June 2015 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

Radio Coverage

To be updated.

Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic).

Defenders

Kaydion Gabriel (Central FC), Shannon Gomez (W Connection), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Mekeil Williams (W Connection), Eljiah Belgrave (Police FC).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—England), Leston Paul (Central FC), Khaleem Hyland (Unattached), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Sean De Silva (Central FC), Keron Cummings (North East Stars), Kadeem Corbin (St Ann’s Rangers), Dwane James (North East Stars).

Forwards

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Kenwyne Jones (Cardiff City—England), Devorn Jorsling (Defence Force).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Curaçao Squad From

Germaine Agustien (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Roly Bonevacia (Wellington Phoenix)
Shanon Carmelia (NEC)
Elson Hooi (Viborg FF on loan from NAC Breda)
Luidjino Hoyer
Gino van Kessel (AS Trenčín)
Darryl Lachman (FC Twente)
Gianlucca Maria (RKC Waalwijk)
Michaël Maria (VfL Bochum)
Rhu-Endly Martina (FC Twente)
Quenten Martinus (FC Botoșani)
Shelton Martis (Osotspa Saraburi)
Vidarell Merencia
Rihairo Meulens (Rapid București)
Dustly Mulder (Apollon Limassol)
Gevaro Nepomuceno (Petrolul Ploiești)
Jeremy de Nooijer (Sparta Rotterdam)
Zeus de la Paz (GK) (Jong PSV)
Prince Rajcomar (BEC Tero Sasana)
Jonathan Richard
Eloy Room (Vitesse Arnhem)
Rowendy Sumter (GK)
Charlton Vicento (Helmond Sport)
Jason Wall (RKTVV Tilburg)
Felitciano Zschusschen (FC Twente)

Coach - Patrick Kilvert.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: June 06, 2015, 06:36:50 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Curaçao Game (5-Jun-2015)
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 02:27:45 PM »
So game on for real?

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 03:47:31 PM »
Apart from Cyrus I have not seen our defenders in action.
What about our foreign based defenders?

Kluivert is manager right?

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2015, 04:00:17 PM »
Where is that game being played.

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2015, 04:23:11 PM »

It is not a FIFA match date, so clubs do not have to release players. Cyrus is only there because I think the V.League is on a month break.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2015, 05:19:37 PM »
Good squad for these games. Well deserved call ups for Sean De Silva and Kaydion "Drogba" Gabriel...also Kadeem Corbin, special talent.

Glad to see Dwayne James recalled, thought he had a very tidy cameo vs Panama in March. I really hope the Curacao game comes off so this group can get 2 decent friendlies....btw mods Dwayne James is a Central Midfielder.

I expect the likes of Justin Hoyte, Gavin Hoyte, Sheldon Bateau, Abu Bakr, Yohance Marshall, Joevin Jones, Lester Peltier, Cordell Cato etc to join squad post Jordan friendly and be in the final Gold Cup squad. 
« Last Edit: June 01, 2015, 05:22:37 PM by Banter Banton »

« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2015, 07:43:40 PM »
Good squad for these games. Well deserved call ups for Sean De Silva and Kaydion "Drogba" Gabriel...also Kadeem Corbin, special talent.

Glad to see Dwayne James recalled, thought he had a very tidy cameo vs Panama in March. I really hope the Curacao game comes off so this group can get 2 decent friendlies....btw mods Dwayne James is a Central Midfielder.

I expect the likes of Justin Hoyte, Gavin Hoyte, Sheldon Bateau, Abu Bakr, Yohance Marshall, Joevin Jones, Lester Peltier, Cordell Cato etc to join squad post Jordan friendly and be in the final Gold Cup squad. 

Please stop ... special talent don't play in the proleague

« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2015, 08:15:22 PM »

It is not a FIFA match date, so clubs do not have to release players. Cyrus is only there because I think the V.League is on a month break.

Turns out that the loan period has expired, so he's back with W-Connection until further notice.

« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2015, 08:05:16 AM »
Work on set pieces Hartie...we have been wasteful with those goalscoring opportunities. Don't have any player stepping up to take freekicks and corners. Designate your dead ball specialists like De Silva and keep Hyland far.... 

« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2015, 08:43:43 AM »
Work on set pieces Hartie...we have been wasteful with those goalscoring opportunities. Don't have any player stepping up to take freekicks and corners. Designate your dead ball specialists like De Silva and keep Hyland far.... 

But you self. We wasting dem ting about 15-20 years now. Learn tuh cross de ball properly first.

« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2015, 09:56:19 AM »

But you self. We wasting dem ting about 15-20 years now. Learn tuh cross de ball properly first.

True...but I think it worse now. I does just cringe when Peltier or Hyland take corners and de ball go over de goal line or doh even make it past de first defender. Players like Joevin Jones more consistent on corners and should be taking them. And I agree with you on crosses...since Angus Eve we haven't had good crossers of the ball. Joevin and Cato are decent at it though and Peltier can put in a few good ones on his day, but he is too inconsistent. Hart needs to work with them.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2015, 10:09:45 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2015, 11:24:23 AM »

True...but I think it worse now. I does just cringe when Peltier or Hyland take corners and de ball go over de goal line or doh even make it past de first defender. Players like Joevin Jones more consistent on corners and should be taking them. And I agree with you on crosses...since Angus Eve we haven't had good crossers of the ball. Joevin and Cato are decent at it though and Peltier can put in a few good ones on his day, but he is too inconsistent. Hart needs to work with them.

we need bostock for them set pieces

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2015, 11:41:45 AM »

Firebrand I not sure I'm comfortable with Joevin Jones on corners. His delivery has been really mediocre for us. I remember in the Argentina game his set prices were consistently bad and one corner was so bad that he actually started a fast break the other way that was almost a goal. Peltier took over after and was marginally better. With that said I do think it is a confidence thing because his delivery with his clubs, Chicago and W Connection seems really good. I do agree with Trini2018 we could use Bostock. He could fill our need for another playmaker with Molino injured, and someone to take consistent set pieces since Keon Daniel went MIA.

« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2015, 12:26:54 PM »

Firebrand I not sure I'm comfortable with Joevin Jones on corners. His delivery has been really mediocre for us. I remember in the Argentina game his set prices were consistently bad and one corner was so bad that he actually started a fast break the other way that was almost a goal. Peltier took over after and was marginally better. With that said I do think it is a confidence thing because his delivery with his clubs, Chicago and W Connection seems really good. I do agree with Trini2018 we could use Bostock. He could fill our need for another playmaker with Molino injured, and someone to take consistent set pieces since Keon Daniel went MIA.

Though I would agree that he is quite skilled, I think Bostock is a headcase that we need to stay very far away from. Keon had/has his issues but I'd take him any day of the week and twice on Sunday before Bostock.

« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2015, 12:30:06 PM »
Yuh hit de nail on the head... It is a confidence issue with Joevin. This was also evident in the last Gold Cup against El Salvador, but as he matures and gains more experience on the national team I believe he will achieve the required level of consistency on corners and crosses. 

I agree with you and Trini_2018 on Bostock. Would love to see him, De Leon and Sheanon Williams feature in the Gold Cup for T&T. 

« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2015, 12:37:54 PM »

Though I would agree that he is quite skilled, I think Bostock is a headcase that we need to stay very far away from. Keon had/has his issues but I'd take him any day of the week and twice on Sunday before Bostock.

What gives you that impression of Bostock?  With regard to reliability could he really be worse than Keon?

« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2015, 01:06:20 PM »

What gives you that impression of Bostock?  With regard to reliability could he really be worse than Keon?

well he contacted us then changed his mind(as they say) .. is what Mose is getting at .. his club is back up in the belgium top fight ... and his career coming is back on track .... this would be a make or break season for him...
Hope hart could coax some players on board this pool needs more depth and competition for spots.. Ah mean players coming on board for  grenada antigua even guyana ...

« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2015, 02:51:43 PM »

well he contacted us then changed his mind(as they say) .. is what Mose is getting at .. his club is back up in the belgium top fight ... and his career coming is back on track .... this would be a make or break season for him...
Hope hart could coax some players on board this pool needs more depth and competition for spots.. Ah mean players coming on board for  grenada antigua even guyana ...

Nah, I watched him with Toronto and you could see the guy had skill but for some reason never really influenced the game. My memory is very sketchy on this but I'm of the impression there were locker room issues as well, hence the 'headcase' label. If I'm wrong, my bad. If he has gotten his act together and is interested, I'd say we could consider him. But with all the issues surrounding our team and the federation the last thing we need is somebody who's going to cause issues in the dressing room and disrupt the team. Despite Keon's issues I never got the impression he caused those kinds of problems.

« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2015, 05:38:59 PM »
Keon is such a talent..good reading of the game and a key play maker...such a pity...its a loss loss situation... Playing on the NT ...gold cup cld hv attracted scouts eyes...and the team wld hv benefitted from his creativity......SOS... KEON IF U READING... COME BACK HOME!

« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2015, 02:01:16 AM »
Soca Warriors, Curacao friendly tomorrow.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

A  Soca Warriors squad left here yesterday for Willemstad, Curacao where it will play that country’s national team tomorrow in a friendly international at the Stadion Ergilio Hato.

Earlier this week, the match looked in doubt after the Dutch-speaking nation requested to have the match brought forward by two days to yesterday (Wednesday), a move that has not been met with a positive response from T&T coach Stephen Hart and the T&T Football Association (T&TFA). Commenting on the situation T&T coach Stephen Hart had stated that Curacao football authorities called and requested a change in the date of the friendly match, but his team only began training on Monday and it would have been difficult to get his team ready.”

In the end both parties decided to go back to the original decision to play the match on Friday with the Soca Warriors team returning home on Saturday and continuing to work towards its next engagement at Jordan on June 16. T&T last faced off with Curacao in the group stages of last November’s Caribbean Football Union Cup Finals in Montego Bay, with the Soca Warriors coming away with a 3-2 win courtesy a Kenwyne Jones double (26th & 38th) and a 52nd minute winner from Kevin Molino.

This after Curacao led through Rihairo Meulens in the 18th and then drew level in the 48th thanks to Gianluca Maria at the Catherine Hall Sports Complex. Included in the senior team for the first time that left yesterday are national Under-20 striker Kadeem Corbin of St Ann’s Rangers, and defenders, Kaydion Gabriel of Central FC and Elijah Belgrave of Police FC while Triston Hodge who was named in the provisional 20-man team was the odd man out.

Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling, Stars’ Kerron Cummings and Central FC midfielder Sean De Silva have all earned recalls while regulars in the squad are goalkeeping duo, Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC) and Marvin Phillip (Pt Fortin Civic), defenders: Mekeil Williams (W Connection) and  Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), midfielders Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—UK), Leston Paul (Central FC), Khaleem Hyland and Ataullah Guerra (Central FC).

The T&T squad is also set to face Croatia in Europe later this month, and Haiti next month in Miami as they continue preparations for the Concacaf Gold Cup. However, the clash against Croatia, the 1998 FIFA World Cup semifinalist, is yet to be finalised. With the Gold Cup just over a month away coach Hart is certain to be without midfield duo, Hughtun Hector and Kevin Molino while defender Carlyle Mitchell faces a fitness battle.

The Vietnam-based Hector and Molino of US Major League Soccer’s newcomer Orlando City are both out due to season ending knee injuries sustained over the last two months while Mitchell is into the second week of a month-long layoff right ankle injury suffered in his Seoul E-Land FC’s 4-0 win over Chungju at the Seoul Olympic Stadium, in the South Korean K-League Challenge (Second Division)..

At the Concacaf Gold Cup the Soca Warriors faces Guatemala in its opener on July 9, at Soldier Field, Chicago; Cuba  on July 12 at the University of Phoenix Stadium,  and Mexico (July 15) at Bank of America Stadium, in Pool C. USA, Haiti, Honduras and Panama are in Pool A while Costa Rica, El Salvador, Canada and Jamaica comprise Pool B.

Soca Warriors captain, Kenwyne Jones, right, closes in on Ataullah Guerra during the national team’s training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Tuesday night in preparation for their friendly international against Curacao at the Stadion Ergilio Hato, Willemstad, Curacao tomorrow. Photo: Anthony Harris

« Last Edit: June 04, 2015, 06:57:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #20 on: June 04, 2015, 12:15:51 PM »

I hope to see T&T win by playing good football. Winning by playing shit will not suffice. Simply because you will need to beat teams 10x better than Curacao to have a chance of qualification for the WC

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #21 on: June 04, 2015, 12:37:00 PM »
I wonder who is funding this trip....................

« Reply #22 on: June 04, 2015, 01:39:27 PM »
Hart looks ahead to Curaçao encounter
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/1cIZey9lXhY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/1cIZey9lXhY</a>

Senior Team trains ahead of Curaçao friendly
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vMavD416xjs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vMavD416xjs</a>

Kenwyne Jones looks ahead to Curaçao friendly
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/YJLShvYOg1k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/YJLShvYOg1k</a>

« Reply #23 on: June 04, 2015, 02:34:16 PM »
Yes syahhhh... I was quiet even tho ttfa say we getting ah sweat...I didn't believe it til they were on a flight...so kudos for getting is a friendly...is something!

Wave that flag...large and proud warriors...nice clean touches... And buss net!

« Reply #24 on: June 04, 2015, 04:24:41 PM »
Curaçao Squad:

For those of you who feel that Curaçao is just made up of jokey part-time players, this gives you an idea of where they play. This is not offering an excuse for losing, but it is meant to show that at least on paper they are good quality opposition.

Germaine Agustien (Brighton & Hove Albion, Championship - England)
Roly Bonevacia (Wellington Phoenix, A-League - Australia)
Shanon Carmelia (NEC, Eerste Divisie - Netherlands)
Elson Hooi (Viborg FF - Danish First Division on loan from NAC Breda - Eerste Divisie - Netherlands)
Luidjino Hoyer
Gino van Kessel (AS Trenčín, Super Liga - Slovakia)
Darryl Lachman (FC Twente, Eredivisie - Netherlands)
Gianlucca Maria (RKC Waalwijk, Eerste Divisie - Netherlands)
Michaël Maria (VfL Bochum, 2. Bundesliga - Germany)
Rhu-Endly Martina (FC Twente, Eredivisie - Netherlands)
Quenten Martinus (FC Botoșani, Liga I - Romania)
Shelton Martis (Osotspa Saraburi, Premier League - Thailand)
Vidarell Merencia (ADO Den Haag, Eredivisie - Netherlands)
Rihairo Meulens (Rapid București, Liga II - Romania)
Dustly Mulder (Apollon Limassol, First Division - Cyprus)
Gevaro Nepomuceno (Petrolul Ploiești, Liga I - Romania)
Jeremy de Nooijer (Sparta Rotterdam, Eerste Divisie - Netherlands)
Zeus de la Paz (GK) (Jong PSV, Eerste Divisie - Netherlands)
Prince Rajcomar (BEC Tero Sasana, Premier League - Thailand)
Jonathan Richard (Amsterdamsche FC, Topklasse - Netherlands)
Eloy Room (Vitesse Arnhem, Eredivisie - Netherlands)
Rowendy Sumter (GK)
Charlton Vicento (Helmond Sport, Eerste Divisie - Netherlands)
Jason Wall (Willem II, Eredivisie - Netherlands)
Felitciano Zschusschen (FC Twente, Eredivisie - Netherlands)
« Last Edit: June 07, 2015, 04:19:58 PM by Tallman »

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2015, 09:13:28 PM »
With Kluivert on board a lot of Dutch league players committed to the cause now....so look how teams go cyar sleep on curaçao again.

Curaçao Squad:

Shanon Carmelia (NEC)
Luidjino Hoyer
Vidarell Merencia
Jonathan Richard
Rowendy Sumter (GK)
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #26 on: June 05, 2015, 01:59:03 AM »
Soca Warriors take on Kluivert’s Curacao.
T&T Guardian Reports.

AT&T’s Soca Warriors will face Curacao in the first match of their preparations for next month’s Concacaf Gold Cup at the Sentro Deportivo Korsou, from 8 pm today. Both teams are using the game as a tune-up as Curacao hosts Cuba in their 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier on June 8 while Stephen Hart’s T&T, which also faces Jordan on June 16, and has matches planned against Croatia and Haiti are preparing for the upcoming Gold Cup with their opening match carded for July 9 against Guatemala in Chicago. 

T&T’s World Cup qualification campaign does not start until the semi-final phase in November. The 19-member T&T  squad arrived in Curacao on Wednesday, led by skipper Kenwyne Jones and including the likes of Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland, English-based Andre Boucaud, experienced goalkeepers Jan-Michael Williams and Marvin Phillip.

The majority of the squad comprises of T&T-based players including striker Devorn Jorsling, Sean De Silva, Daneil Cyrus, Willis Plaza, newcomers Elijah Belgrave and Kaydion Gabriel, Ataullah Guerra and national Under-20 duo Shannon Gomez and Kadeem Corbin among others. Speaking yesterday on the eve of the contest and prior to his team’s scheduled 7 pm training session at the match venue Jones, who netted a double in his last outing against Curacao, expects the encounter to be anything but a walk through for the “Soca Warriors.”

“This game is another step in our preparation for the Gold Cup. We don’t expect it to be easy by any means. Curacao have proven to be a formidable opposition and they are obviously in preparation for their World Cup qualifier and will be looking to do well in this match,” Jones said.

“We came up against them in the Caribbean Cup last year and came away with a 3-2 win but they were a decent side and we expect them to be up for the match at home. For us it’s just about taking everything in stride ahead of the Gold Cup. We have quite a few of the overseas players missing but the squad now has a lot of experience and some good young talent in it so hopefully we can come together and give a good account,” the Cardiff City forward added.

The match will be played just five days before the nine-year anniversary to mark T&T’s 2006 World Cup debut against Sweden. Jones is currently the only surviving member of that team. Back then, T&T was in the international media focus for its World Cup moments, with international press following the team in Germany and also present in Port-of-Spain during the period.

Nine years later, T&T is again in the international spotlight but for reasons away from the field of play. Over the last two days international correspondents from the United States, South Africa, the Financial Times, Associated Press, BBC, CCN, and the UK Times among others have all made their way to Port-of-Spain.

Curaçao Squad:

Shanon Carmelia (NEC)
Luidjino Hoyer
Vidarell Merencia
Jonathan Richard
Rowendy Sumter (GK)

« Reply #27 on: June 05, 2015, 01:08:42 PM »
We playing Curacao while USA playing Netherlands.

« Reply #28 on: June 05, 2015, 02:38:27 PM »
We playing Curacao while USA playing Netherlands.

wha iz yuh point?  ;D

« Reply #29 on: June 05, 2015, 03:02:05 PM »
Have to search for the game time like a needle in a needle stack.

8 pm I'm guessing EST.