April 19, 2024, 01:38:58 AM

Author Topic: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)  (Read 77563 times)

Offline Trini1

Re: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
« Reply #120 on: August 12, 2016, 09:02:17 PM »
If it's not injury then KAB should have stayed with Ato lol. At least she will be well rested for the 4x100m. Come back stronger Kelly.

« Reply #121 on: August 12, 2016, 09:03:56 PM »

VIDEO: MICHELLE LEE AHYE wins her heat in 11.00!

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/posts/10154452753187996

« Reply #122 on: August 12, 2016, 09:05:20 PM »

Dinner Mints yuh quote the wrong person hoss  :D
I eh even bothering to fix it.

Offline STMB

« Reply #123 on: August 12, 2016, 09:34:40 PM »
MEN'S 400M SEMI-FINALS START LISTS

Can't understand these semi assignments - heat 3 is a cake walk compared to 1 and 2.

Tough going for Lalonde in lane #3 but he can see the opposition.
If he runs close to Merritt and James and beats out Santos he has a chance

Cedenio has a decent lane draw but cannot leave it late
He needs to run like he did in the first 300m of his heat

FIRST 2 IN EACH HEAT (Q) AND THE NEXT 2 FASTEST (Q)
HEAT 1
ORDER / LANE   BIB   ATHLETE   COUNTRY   SB 2016   PB
1   2620   Javon FRANCIS   JAM JAM   44.77   44.50
2   2125   Karabo SIBANDA   BOT BOT   45.15   45.15
3   2980   Lalonde GORDON   TTO TTO   44.69   44.52
4   2539   Kirani JAMES   GRN GRN   44.08   43.74
5   2262   Nery BRENES   CRC CRC   44.60   44.60
6   3090   LaShawn MERRITT   USA USA   43.97   43.65
7   2327   Luguelín SANTOS   DOM DOM   45.47   44.11
8   2780   Liemarvin BONEVACIA   NED NED   45.41   44.72

HEAT 2
1   3102   David VERBURG   USA USA   44.82   44.41
2   2304   Pavel MASLÁK   CZE CZE   45.13   44.79
3   2910   Wayde VAN NIEKERK   RSA RSA   44.11   43.48
4   2623   Rusheen MCDONALD   JAM JAM   45.22   43.93
5   2977   Machel CEDENIO   TTO TTO   44.34   44.34
6   2929   Luka JANEŽIC   SLO SLO   45.22   45.22
7   2880   Abdalelah HAROUN   QAT QAT   44.81   44.27
8   2126   Baboloki THEBE   BOT BOT   44.22   44.22

HEAT 3
1   2121   Isaac MAKWALA   BOT BOT   44.85   43.72
2   2849   Rafal OMELKO   POL POL   45.14   45.14
3   2171   Ali Khamis KHAMIS   BRN BRN   44.55   44.55
4   3093   Gil ROBERTS   USA USA   44.67   44.53
5   2065   Steven GARDINER   BAH BAH   44.46   44.27
6   2540   Bralon TAPLIN   GRN GRN   44.38   44.38
7   2275   Yoandys LESCAY   CUB CUB   45.36   45.13
8   2461   Matthew HUDSON-SMITH   GBR GBR   44.88   44.75
« Last Edit: August 12, 2016, 09:36:17 PM by STMB »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #124 on: August 12, 2016, 10:49:26 PM »
I feel for Kelly. I really would like for her to fulfill her potential. I feel like she still has years left. I just dont know what happened

« Reply #125 on: August 13, 2016, 05:08:10 AM »
Seems partially mental with KAB.   Was leaving Ato's camp the right decision?

« Reply #126 on: August 13, 2016, 06:36:17 AM »
I don't know what it is with KAB, but I hope she resolve it when time for the relays. I also feel for her.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #127 on: August 13, 2016, 08:54:46 AM »
It could be the timing of when she left rather than leaving itself. I do believe there is a mental aspect to it. She is better than that by a mile... At about 60m she just seemed to hit a wall. Could be the timing of the heats comined with the weather too. I just want her to come back stronger.

« Reply #128 on: August 13, 2016, 09:31:15 AM »
So far it's not looking good for our men in the 100M heats

Offline Aviator

« Reply #129 on: August 13, 2016, 09:46:16 AM »
abject f!?$ing failures...what sh!t  is really on display right now from our athletes????:cursing:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #130 on: August 13, 2016, 09:47:15 AM »
So far it's not looking good for our men in the 100M heats

You really thought the Trini men would progress? I am not surprised. That era has come to an end. We not winning a medal in the 4x100 men relay.

« Reply #131 on: August 13, 2016, 09:49:42 AM »
Where Socapro? He say this 4x100 team would have run under 38. They lucky if they make the final.

Offline STMB

« Reply #132 on: August 13, 2016, 10:03:50 AM »
10.20, 10.23, 10.29 after running sub-10s in NAAA champs.

They said they had a great camp, and these guys are experienced, so it couldn't be nerves, they knew what level of effort was required. Maybe it is just as you all say, an end of an era, guys legs just too worn out.

Can't remember when last (with quality entries) we didn't advance anyone past the 2nd round/QF at the WC or OG

« Reply #133 on: August 13, 2016, 10:11:27 AM »
I'm surprised not even one of them advanced., I thought this was where we had our strongest athletes.

« Reply #134 on: August 13, 2016, 10:19:16 AM »
I'm surprised not even one of them advanced., I thought this was where we had our strongest athletes.

Best chances in Track is w100 aand m400, specifically MLA and MC. MLA looked amazingly comfortable for that 11 flat. If she maintains that for 3 rounds tonight should be interesting.   M40 is stacked with Kirani, Wade, Merrit and Santos. If MC can sustain and improve his PB who knows.

Sportwise I am footballer, but always anxious at the time of the Olympics, not sure how serious we are in athletics, there is an uptick visible to even myself compared to say 96, but not at the level where we are consistent world contenders. You experts can say why....
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 10:22:15 AM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #135 on: August 13, 2016, 10:51:08 AM »

If you based your opinion on national trial times but this is our weakest 100m pool since 2008.  I expected RT and KB to reach semis at best.  I think they can sneak in the finals based on experience and very good baton exchanges.  Leg speed is not in our favor.  If we make finals and everything works great for us I see 5th or 6th place at best (well rested, good exchanges and others messing up).  major mess ups could lead to a bronze but that is just wishful thinking.  if we make finals, we coming last.  That being said, we shouldn't criticize these guys, they served us very well and this era is ending during this Olympics.

Instead of blaming them, blame the NAAA.  There is no young sprint talent in the pipeline except for St Fort.

« Reply #136 on: August 13, 2016, 10:56:20 AM »
I think our best medal hopes are the men 4x4.  We can get silver if Lendore is in form.  he looked horrible yesterday.  Lalonde looked like he ran his best race already.

Keshorn and MLA are dark horses for medals.  I expect both to reach finals (javelin and 100) but finish 4th - 6th range.  Hope I am wrong.

Women 4x1 can medal with good exchanges, KAB finding her legs and we need some teams to mess up a little.

Cedenio needs to not only break Ian's record which I believe he will but he got to run sub 44 to have a chance at a medal.  I predict 4th place for him.  Again I hope I am wrong.  Would love for him to crazy that 3 man party.

Don't be surprised if jehue goes out in the first round.

Semoy might surprise ppl and squeeze in the 200 finals otherwise semis is a realistic expectation.

Offline STMB

« Reply #137 on: August 13, 2016, 11:23:58 AM »
I honestly do not know why Jehue is on the team, his season's best shows as 50.30 on the IAAF website. Emanuel Mayers has run 50.05 and as of 2015 showed he can contribute sufficiently to the 4x400m pool in the Panam Games.

And let's be honest, being in Ato's camp did not yield what was expected - KSF improved/PRed barely and has been injured; there was much fanfare about RT running the 200m this year but did not happen anywhere near frequent nor with quality (maybe his car accident had something to do with that); KAB left for some reason that we will find out in due course. I think his transition to coaching is a work in progress and his camp may need to mature like others with resources in sports science, massage therapy, dietetics.

As has been echoed - being a world class junior athlete doesn't ensure the same success as a senior. Well, being a world class senior athlete does not necessarily translate into a world class coach. As an ambitious fella I expect he will eventually succeed tremendously.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #138 on: August 13, 2016, 12:05:45 PM »
I think our best medal hopes are the men 4x4.  We can get silver if Lendore is in form.  he looked horrible yesterday.  Lalonde looked like he ran his best race already.

Keshorn and MLA are dark horses for medals.  I expect both to reach finals (javelin and 100) but finish 4th - 6th range.  Hope I am wrong.

Women 4x1 can medal with good exchanges, KAB finding her legs and we need some teams to mess up a little.

Cedenio needs to not only break Ian's record which I believe he will but he got to run sub 44 to have a chance at a medal.  I predict 4th place for him.  Again I hope I am wrong.  Would love for him to crazy that 3 man party.

Don't be surprised if jehue goes out in the first round.

Semoy might surprise ppl and squeeze in the 200 finals otherwise semis is a realistic expectation.

Spot on and no they shouldn't be put down as they have served us well. I think we are no where near as disappointed as they would be in themselves right now. So what they need is encouragement.

Personally I would love to have strength on both of our women's and men's sprint teams at the same time. NAAA needs to see this and realize we need some programs set up for developing our sprint talent.

« Reply #139 on: August 13, 2016, 12:06:16 PM »
What impressed me the most about Ahye heat was how much she had left in the tank after running 11:00 with ease. Looking forward to her semi final run. She has the entire country behind her right now supporting her

« Reply #140 on: August 13, 2016, 12:58:43 PM »
What impressed me the most about Ahye heat was how much she had left in the tank after running 11:00 with ease. Looking forward to her semi final run. She has the entire country behind her right now supporting her

She looked good but assuming they get a wind between 0-2.0, 10.7 - 10.8 is going to be the range to medal.  You got Elaine Thompson, Dafne, the 3 Americans and SAFP cannot be ignored.  Plus you have another 3-4 sprinters in great form including MLA.  She got to break the national record to medal and probably even do it in the semis as well to get to the finals.

I think the women's 100m is the most competitive event in the Olympics.

« Reply #141 on: August 13, 2016, 01:03:19 PM »
I honestly do not know why Jehue is on the team, his season's best shows as 50.30 on the IAAF website. Emanuel Mayers has run 50.05 and as of 2015 showed he can contribute sufficiently to the 4x400m pool in the Panam Games.

And let's be honest, being in Ato's camp did not yield what was expected - KSF improved/PRed barely and has been injured; there was much fanfare about RT running the 200m this year but did not happen anywhere near frequent nor with quality (maybe his car accident had something to do with that); KAB left for some reason that we will find out in due course. I think his transition to coaching is a work in progress and his camp may need to mature like others with resources in sports science, massage therapy, dietetics.

As has been echoed - being a world class junior athlete doesn't ensure the same success as a senior. Well, being a world class senior athlete does not necessarily translate into a world class coach. As an ambitious fella I expect he will eventually succeed tremendously.

RT has never been the same after the accident but we got to give him props for the effort in the relays over the years.  Hope he and the team can give us one more medal and go out in style.

As for Ato I think he will get better once committed.  Between coaching and being a commentator that seems like a lot to do but that is for him to decide.  I don't know his schedule so I cant say he should do one or both.

« Reply #142 on: August 13, 2016, 01:03:38 PM »

She looked good but assuming they get a wind between 0-2.0, 10.7 - 10.8 is going to be the range to medal.  You got Elaine Thompson, Dafne, the 3 Americans and SAFP cannot be ignored.  Plus you have another 3-4 sprinters in great form including MLA.  She got to break the national record to medal and probably even do it in the semis as well to get to the finals.

I think the women's 100m is the most competitive event in the Olympics.

I am willing to wait to see how the semi finals turn out before making any assumptions. And who dare say those same sprinters you named cannot push Ahye to run faster than her personal best? We shall see what will happen

« Reply #143 on: August 13, 2016, 01:13:56 PM »
Who here noticed bolt ran his heat in red,white and black track shoes?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 01:33:03 PM by davyjenny1 »

Offline Trini1

« Reply #144 on: August 13, 2016, 01:27:41 PM »

Honestly I have zero expectations from now on forward. If MLA makes the final cool, if she wins a medal congratulations and I will be proud but zero expectations is the way forward I think. Anything can happen.

« Reply #145 on: August 13, 2016, 04:37:25 PM »
I am reading some of the comments on social media in response to poor performances from most of our athletes at the Olympics.

All I would say is the T&T public is used to failures from our national athletes so they have been conditioned to commend failure. Athletes struggling to get out the preliminary stages and I see people commenting with "you did great" .."you made the country proud"..

Who to blame for this weakness in our national psyche?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 05:04:17 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #146 on: August 13, 2016, 05:05:51 PM »

She did. But seemed less potentially explosive than SAFP.

When are the next rounds of sprints?

« Reply #147 on: August 13, 2016, 05:08:48 PM »
Where Socapro? He say this 4x100 team would have run under 38. They lucky if they make the final.

Stop twisting my words my friend. I said they are capable of running sub-38 if everyone appears in similar form to what they displayed at National Champs. I did not say that they would have run under 38.

Plus the 4x100m relay is yet to come so they still have the ability if they can get their act together and want to contend for a medal.

What we know for sure is that they will need to run sub-38 if they wish to medal in the relay.
Its not impossible if everyone is firing and the baton exchanges are all on point so we lose no gound on the exchanges.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 05:10:30 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #148 on: August 13, 2016, 05:19:25 PM »

She did. But seemed less potentially explosive than SAFP.

When are the next rounds of sprints?

Men 400m semi final in less than an hour tonight

Women 100m semi finals about an hour after the men semi finals tonight

« Reply #149 on: August 13, 2016, 05:28:24 PM »

Stop twisting my words my friend. I said they are capable of running sub-38 if everyone appears in similar form to what they displayed at National Champs. I did not say that they would have run under 38.

Plus the 4x100m relay is yet to come so they still have the ability if they can get their act together and want to contend for a medal.

What we know for sure is that they will need to run sub-38 if they wish to medal in the relay.
Its not impossible if everyone is firing and the baton exchanges are all on point so we lose no gound on the exchanges.

I respect your optimism Soca. But this team is not capable of running sub 38, 38.1 or 38.2. The 2012 team did not run sub 38. And Richard, Keston and Emmanuel were in much better form then. I see them running  about 38.2 at the best.  Won't be enough for a medal.

One last thing, something is not looking right for KB, RT and RS. They looked 10x better at trials. They all ran the race much smoother. But today they all looked sloppy. They all looked like they are nursing something.