April 27, 2024, 09:21:56 AM

Author Topic: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)  (Read 78106 times)

Re: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
« Reply #330 on: August 18, 2016, 07:49:55 PM »
I was waiting on that one Soca. But let's not play who's predictions did not pan out..

Indeed that was a surprise. Sorrillo ran a storming leg. Very impressive. But let's not forget we have a huge hill to climb. i.e Japan, GB and Canada.

« Reply #332 on: August 18, 2016, 08:01:24 PM »
I was waiting on that one Soca. But let's not play who's predictions did not pan out..

Indeed that was a surprise. Sorrillo ran a storming leg. Very impressive. But let's not forget we have a huge hill to climb. i.e Japan, GB and Canada.

It's a surprise to you but not to me.

What you didn't factor in your argument about them not running sub-38 back in 2012 when all our team members were arguably in better form is that they had some terrible baton exchanges back in 2012 especially on the last leg and had they had efficient baton exchanges back in 2012 we would have easily placed 3rd without having to rely on any of the other teams being DQed for us to medal.

So once again the lesson here is not to underestimate the ability of our team which is capable of beating Japan, China, GB and Canada if all team members execute the footspeed they are capable of and we can pull off efficient baton exchanges.

Hopefully they will run even faster than that 37.96 in the final if they plan to medal. A time closer to our NR of 37.62 will be nice and is totally possible provided all team members run like their life depends on it and execute efficient baton changes on all legs.

If we don't medal it will be down to lack of relay practice and competitive races to prepare our team for the big stage more than any other factor in my eyes.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2016, 08:12:17 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #333 on: August 18, 2016, 08:31:19 PM »
I hoping the same Soca. But getting close to the NR might be out of reach for thus bunch. We will see

« Reply #334 on: August 18, 2016, 09:18:20 PM »
I hoping the same Soca. But getting close to the NR might be out of reach for thus bunch. We will see

Click link to view after 4x100m relay heats interview with the team:
https://twitter.com/CANOCBroadcast/status/766368903614173184

Here is link to watch video of T&T's 4x100m Relay Heat: https://twitter.com/CANOCBroadcast/status/766362704374149120
« Last Edit: August 18, 2016, 09:26:58 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #336 on: August 19, 2016, 07:42:35 AM »
Racewalking...

I hope you win.

« Reply #337 on: August 19, 2016, 08:04:43 AM »
Did they make it to the next round? If they did. They better come to a quick decision. By the way Kerron Clement won the GOLD. The only Trini to do so, so far. Oh Gosh, give the man some love nah! Congrats Kerron.

was just on the today show, congrats to de yute  :beermug:

« Reply #338 on: August 19, 2016, 06:26:36 PM »
4x400 team dq. Lane infraction.

« Reply #339 on: August 19, 2016, 06:27:26 PM »
It was Lalonde. I seen it. But was surprised they took this long.

« Reply #340 on: August 19, 2016, 06:36:06 PM »
It was Lalonde. I seen it. But was surprised they took this long.

And out time was promising in comparison to others. ;-(

Offline Trini1

« Reply #341 on: August 19, 2016, 06:38:24 PM »
Disastrous... one of our best medal hopes...

Offline Trini1

« Reply #342 on: August 19, 2016, 06:38:47 PM »
No expectations

« Reply #343 on: August 19, 2016, 06:39:52 PM »
That was sloppy from Lalonde. Went from being our 2012 hero to...

« Reply #344 on: August 19, 2016, 07:25:24 PM »
I guess the predictions were incorrect. Looks like we will be falling below expectation.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #345 on: August 19, 2016, 07:36:28 PM »
Keshorn it's all up to you

Offline Trini1

« Reply #346 on: August 19, 2016, 07:37:28 PM »
I must say Khalifa did a great job on that last leg

Offline STMB

« Reply #347 on: August 19, 2016, 07:41:09 PM »
By CAC standards maybe, but not quite ready for prime time, wish her the best in coming years.
We need fresh talent - KAB may not be around for 2020, and we need vast improvements from the likes of SH and KS, or someone new.

Offline STMB

« Reply #348 on: August 19, 2016, 07:47:46 PM »
Even China cut we arse - lord this is real guava season
« Last Edit: August 19, 2016, 07:49:29 PM by STMB »

« Reply #349 on: August 19, 2016, 07:49:40 PM »
Sad. Sad. The curtain has finally drawn on the 4x100 mens team. They did us well. Kept us a factor in the 4x100 for the past 15 years. Now its time to do work.

« Reply #350 on: August 19, 2016, 07:51:56 PM »

I was now going and say that. WE LOSE TO CHINAAAAAA. And Japan have now overtaken us as the 3rd fastest team in history. Lets put these Olympic games behind us.

« Reply #351 on: August 19, 2016, 07:52:48 PM »

Point taken, but you know the Chinese have been wukkin in de trenches.

« Reply #352 on: August 19, 2016, 07:53:58 PM »
Lord put ah hand. We cyar buy a medal? lol ......NAAA get yuh damn act together. we run dem men into de ground no new talent.   
« Last Edit: August 19, 2016, 07:57:21 PM by royal »

« Reply #353 on: August 19, 2016, 07:56:41 PM »
Men's 4x100 DQ as well, adding insult to aggravated injury  :frustrated:

« Reply #354 on: August 19, 2016, 07:58:35 PM »
Men's 4x100 DQ as well, adding insult to aggravated injury  :frustrated:

Yea and  USA too.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #355 on: August 19, 2016, 08:17:27 PM »
By CAC standards maybe, but not quite ready for prime time, wish her the best in coming years.
We need fresh talent - KAB may not be around for 2020, and we need vast improvements from the likes of SH and KS, or someone new.
She ran better than the heats. We need something

Offline Trini1

« Reply #356 on: August 19, 2016, 08:24:58 PM »
We need an overhaul of our sprint program

« Reply #357 on: August 19, 2016, 08:34:30 PM »
We need an overhaul of our sprint program

We need a sprint program.

Meh uncle used to say " when trini f00k up, we does really f00k up". 2 DQs in a matter of moments.. I know what he meant now.

Let's put these Olympics behind us. Went from our best to what is looking like our worst.

Offline jason23

« Reply #358 on: August 19, 2016, 08:39:40 PM »
The worst Olympics ever, heck i knew this would be a blighted Olympics  :frustrated: :frustrated:
But i for one im Grateful, for what is happening Now with these Performances,
it just goes to show how half assing and totally Irrelevant the Naaatt is under the Guidance of Serrette, and his board of failures.for years i have been saying this,since our decline in Carifta year after year, yet he constantly skins and grins his teeth like he is accomplishing anything beside Regressing Track and field in this country..
i see people saying we need a over haul etc and NaaaTT need to get they act together, well for me i need them to get the hell out and away from the sport and Start a New Board and Constitution and a New National Program, Centered on Community based and Community Centered Coaching and Athletes in the surrounding areas of such Communities.
if we want Trinidad and Tobago to succeed, we need to start Doing things our way and do away with that failure Administration.
we cant be a Jamaica , cause TnF is only Successful, because of Jamaica over arching and fanatic loving of There Country and Pride they feel when they compete in Regional meets or National meets or even International meets...........etc
« Last Edit: August 19, 2016, 08:51:57 PM by jason23 »

« Reply #359 on: August 19, 2016, 08:46:02 PM »
Indeed Jason. This is an extension of our decline in CARIFTA.