April 20, 2024, 09:11:30 AM

Author Topic: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)  (Read 77632 times)

Re: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
« Reply #150 on: August 13, 2016, 05:30:05 PM »
What impressed me the most about Ahye heat was how much she had left in the tank after running 11:00 with ease. Looking forward to her semi final run. She has the entire country behind her right now supporting her

She did. But seemed less potentially explosive than SAFP.

When are the next rounds of sprints?

Men 400m semi final in less than an hour tonight

Women 100m semi finals about an hour after the men semi finals tonight

I am seeing it now live. Lalonde is about to race. I won't say the results until yoy see it. It will be tape delayed by NBC. So I won't spoil it for you.

« Reply #151 on: August 13, 2016, 05:50:35 PM »

Nice semi final run Cedenio. I am backing you to spring an upset in the final and win a medal. Give it your all youngster.

Offline jason23

« Reply #152 on: August 13, 2016, 06:04:05 PM »
I am reading some of the comments on social media in response to poor performances from most of our athletes at the Olympics.

All I would say is the T&T public is used to failures from our national athletes so they have been conditioned to commend failure. Athletes struggling to get out the preliminary stages and I see people commenting with "you did great" .."you made the country proud"..

Who to blame for this weakness in our national psyche?

Sando prince i think that all blame should be at the Sporting Administrators and NGO's in the country and not the athletes
just my opinion, that we have failed our athletes with poor training and inflated ego's
ask your self this question, as this era is coming to an end with RT and KB etc
who is the next sprinter in Trinidad that is gonna take there place? or from Tobago??????

we have no structure and plan, at all
more like pelting mango on mango season hoping to find ah athlete by chance
perfect EG: since Serrette has taken over NAAA we have regressed in carifta consistently, no programs are in place for Nuturing the young ones, heck if ato didn't bring in Khalifa we would of been in shit street for our women sprinting going in to the future and that jus shows where we are as a Sporting nation!!

weakness in our national pride= Carnival freeness

« Reply #153 on: August 13, 2016, 06:09:46 PM »
Ahye had a poor start and still managed to be in front. She would have easily won that semi final with a better start.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 06:44:06 PM by Sando prince »

Offline RC

« Reply #154 on: August 13, 2016, 06:25:52 PM »
MLA looked good and could possibly sneak a medal. SAFP was by far the most impressive and could well become a 3 time champion

« Reply #155 on: August 13, 2016, 06:30:19 PM »
MLA looked good and could possibly sneak a medal. SAFP was by far the most impressive and could well become a 3 time champion

Gold has Thompson's name on it. Shelly looked like she was in some pain.

Michelle can SNEAK a medal if that start gets some fine tuning.

Offline STMB

« Reply #156 on: August 13, 2016, 06:34:03 PM »
How de hell Taplin got lane 4 in the final with Cedenio in lane 3?

FIRST 2 IN EACH HEAT (Q) AND THE NEXT 2 FASTEST (Q)
POS   RANK   HEAT   BIB   ATHLETE   COUNTRY   RESULTS
1   1   1   2539   Kirani JAMES   GRNGRN   44.02 Q SB
2   2   1   3090   LaShawn MERRITT   USAUSA   44.21 Q
3   1   2   2977   Machel CEDENIO   TTOTTO   44.39 Q
4   1   3   2540   Bralon TAPLIN   GRNGRN   44.44 Q

5   2   2   2910   Wayde VAN NIEKERK   RSARSA   44.45 Q
6   3   1   2125   Karabo SIBANDA   BOTBOT   44.47 q PB
7   2   3   2461   Matthew HUDSON-SMITH   GBRGBR   44.48 Q PB
8   3   3   2171   Ali Khamis KHAMIS   BRNBRN   44.49 q NR

ORDER / LANE   BIB   ATHLETE   COUNTRY   SB 2016   PB
1   2125   Karabo SIBANDA   BOT BOT   44.47   44.47
2   2171   Ali Khamis KHAMIS   BRN BRN   44.49   44.49
3   2977   Machel CEDENIO   TTO TTO   44.34   44.34
4   2540   Bralon TAPLIN   GRN GRN   44.38   44.38

5   3090   LaShawn MERRITT   USA USA   43.97   43.65
6   2539   Kirani JAMES   GRN GRN   44.02   43.74
7   2461   Matthew HUDSON-SMITH   GBR GBR   44.48   44.48
8   2910   Wayde VAN NIEKERK   RSA RSA   44.11   43.48

« Reply #157 on: August 13, 2016, 06:41:49 PM »
Records will be broken. Van Niekerk will go out hard in lane 8. Everyone will be chasing him. Ian Morris, say good bye to your record. Cedenio looks like he is in SUB 44 form. I think it will be a special night.

« Reply #158 on: August 13, 2016, 06:44:31 PM »
I am reading some of the comments on social media in response to poor performances from most of our athletes at the Olympics.

All I would say is the T&T public is used to failures from our national athletes so they have been conditioned to commend failure. Athletes struggling to get out the preliminary stages and I see people commenting with "you did great" .."you made the country proud"..

Sando prince i think that all blame should be at the Sporting Administrators and NGO's in the country and not the athletes
just my opinion, that we have failed our athletes with poor training and inflated ego's
who is the next sprinter in Trinidad that is gonna take there place? or from Tobago??????

perfect EG: since Serrette has taken over NAAA we have regressed in carifta consistently, no programs are in place for Nuturing the young ones, heck if ato didn't bring in Khalifa we would of been in shit street for our women sprinting going in to the future and that jus shows where we are as a Sporting nation!!

Ah hear yuh beds but its about time we change this mentality.

« Reply #159 on: August 13, 2016, 06:51:54 PM »
MLA is in lane 8. How that happen.

« Reply #160 on: August 13, 2016, 07:00:24 PM »
MLA is in lane 8. How that happen.

Steupse! I hate when dey do shit like that. Woman running 10.90 in semis and still end up in lane 8 in final  steupse

Offline Trini1

« Reply #161 on: August 13, 2016, 07:15:27 PM »

Yup you're right plus I think they need more encouragement than anything.

I feel a fourth place finish for some reason for MLA but I'm hoping she could sneak a medal. That start is the only thing holding her back. Her form has improved.

You are right and they need encouragement right now more than anything.

Im hoping she can sneak a medal. The start is holding her back. Her form looks better which is nice to see. Maybe fourth/fifth because of the start. Hoping I'm wrong.

I love the way SAFP performs at championships she is a real champion. Et is the favourite though.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 07:21:53 PM by Trini1 »

« Reply #162 on: August 13, 2016, 07:25:44 PM »

VIDEO: MICHELLE LEE-AHYE QUALIFIES FOR 100 METRES FINALS

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/posts/10154455579232996

« Reply #163 on: August 13, 2016, 07:30:10 PM »

VIDEO: MACHEL CEDENIO WINS SEMI-FINAL AND QUALIFIES FOR 400 METRES FINAL

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/posts/10154455532507996

« Reply #164 on: August 13, 2016, 07:30:48 PM »

VIDEO: MICHELLE LEE-AHYE QUALIFIES FOR 100 METRES FINALS

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/posts/10154455579232996

I hope she understand her start has to be a lot better than what she did here to medal in the final.

Offline jason23

« Reply #165 on: August 13, 2016, 07:47:44 PM »
Good try ahye , but it wasn't yuh day !!
That ET hmmm she sick bad bad congrats on da Gold hmmm

« Reply #166 on: August 13, 2016, 07:51:27 PM »
Good try. She had a bad lane. If she was in the mix she would have ran better. Look who was beside her.

« Reply #167 on: August 13, 2016, 07:56:51 PM »
Well done Michelle, you represented the country well :beermug:

Offline Aviator

« Reply #168 on: August 13, 2016, 08:32:33 PM »
Excellent performance from MLA. Wasn't as fluent as her semis, but damn good effort  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #169 on: August 13, 2016, 08:49:56 PM »
congrats to Michelle... damn good job but I tell yuh something has to be done with our track and field. change something...please. No new young talent (doh count St Forth), Carifta team is a mess, future prospects seem to be going backwards instead of forwards like Parris de hurdler.Wake up NAAA or shake up. 
« Last Edit: August 13, 2016, 08:53:50 PM by royal »

« Reply #170 on: August 13, 2016, 09:04:58 PM »
How you mean Cedenio :applause:

« Reply #171 on: August 13, 2016, 09:10:19 PM »
Cedenio probably chose lane 3. It might benefit him as he will be able to see the rest of the field. If Cedenio runs a more balanced race and does a strong closing, he might run sub 44.

Van Niekerk in lane 8 is going to be interesting. The field will chase him. Expect some PRs.

« Reply #172 on: August 13, 2016, 09:12:07 PM »

yea you correct..... but one? from de whole country? St Lucia have more dan dat. I heard de javelin youth is also very good. Hope he get de right training so he doh go backwards too.     

« Reply #173 on: August 13, 2016, 09:15:32 PM »

yea you correct..... but one? from de whole country? St Lucia have more dan dat. I heard de javelin youth is also very good. Hope he get de right training so he doh go backwards too.     
Nah I agree with everything you said, I'm no track guy but from hearing from the posters it seems like our federation has no structure and lacking foresight. I'm just happy to see Cedenio when his semi final to advance for the final.

« Reply #174 on: August 13, 2016, 11:03:31 PM »
Well done Michelle, you represented the country well :beermug:

really proud of her especially with all the injury problems over the years.  7 women run sub 11, what a race.
Semoy looked decent in her semis.  I have more confidence in the women 4x100 relay chances now.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #175 on: August 13, 2016, 11:25:26 PM »
That's the best 400 I ever seen Cedenio run hopefully he did not shoot his load if not Morris record is gone if he can go sub 44 1 of the big 3 is going to lose a medal.

« Reply #176 on: August 14, 2016, 08:11:45 AM »
Borel, Michelle and Macel, so far, has been our bright spots. But the journey has been so disappointing. Apart from the diehards who go and support our athletes in 90% empty stadium. The rest of TT don't deserve anything. Disappointing!
« Last Edit: August 14, 2016, 09:02:48 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #177 on: August 14, 2016, 01:09:14 PM »
The coaching and recruitment of talent in T&T are poor.  Years now people have been saying we need hire quality coaches from outside T&T to coach and develop our talent at home here in the country (not only T&F but in other Olympic sports as well). Let the local coaches work under the foreign coaches so they can gain the quality experience which is needed. As for the recruitment, the programs in place do not reach ever corner, every street in T&T so there are talented youths who are not being discovered. And of course their needs to be more financial investment in the youth so there can be a consistent competition throughout the season at home, competition with an incentive to win, and this is where money comes in play.

So we have the track stadiums, we have the new Olympic swimming pool complex, we have a cycling venue as well but all of that will not mean much if we do not have the right minds running these sporting federations.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2016, 01:55:35 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #178 on: August 14, 2016, 01:11:58 PM »
Sando, who sponsoring foreign coaches? Govt ?  Business community?

« Reply #179 on: August 14, 2016, 01:13:46 PM »
Sando, who sponsoring foreign coaches? Govt ?  Business community?

Every year you and others ask this SAME question, my point is this is what has to be done to change direction from failure to potential success. Someone or some group has to sponsor them, I do not know who will do it, but it has to be done, if not then results will not change much, you will keep getting one or two bronze medals every Olympics and World Championships.