March 29, 2024, 08:33:24 AM

Author Topic: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)  (Read 76864 times)

Re: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
« Reply #180 on: August 14, 2016, 02:06:38 PM »
Sando, who sponsoring foreign coaches? Govt ?  Business community?

Every year you and others ask this SAME question, my point is this is what has to be done to change direction from failure to potential success. Someone or some group has to sponsor them, I do not know who will do it, but it has to be done, if not then results will not change much, you will keep getting one or two bronze medals every Olympics and World Championships.

I eh knocking you, Breds. I know your heart and all of us on the forum are in the right place. But this has been put forward for years. Since after Mottley, Skinner, Roberts, etc. Nothing eh change. Like you, I don't know who go do it.

« Reply #181 on: August 14, 2016, 02:11:17 PM »

Every year you and others ask this SAME question, my point is this is what has to be done to change direction from failure to potential success. Someone or some group has to sponsor them, I do not know who will do it, but it has to be done, if not then results will not change much, you will keep getting one or two bronze medals every Olympics and World Championships.

I eh knocking you, Breds. I know your heart and all of us on the forum are in the right place. But this has been put forward for years. Since after Mottley, Skinner, Roberts, etc. Nothing eh change. Like you, I don't know who go do it.

WHAT? what has been put forward for years? Wha part of my post has been put forward for years? Iz the same old, same old in T&T. dare I say with these 'dunce' heads in charge. First they have to face the reality that our coaching at home is poor, we do not have quality coaches, they have too much pride to even come to this realisation.

What we see in T&T is ah bunch of old men stuck in 1969 ideas and still not realising their has been NO improvement.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2016, 02:12:57 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #182 on: August 14, 2016, 02:12:40 PM »

That's right. Look at a country like Jamaica. The government does not have a lot of dollars to allocate to the JAAA. The JAAA knew what they were getting wasn't enough. So they reached out to the private sector in Jamaica and established agreements with companies like Grace. This was integral to accessing resources to grow track in Jamaica. Eventually PUMA came calling. And so the story goes.

Another thing to think about is taking care of the athletes. The top two racing clubs in Jamaica HAVE MONEY. Even if you're an average athlete and you run with any of them, you will not have to choose between looking for work or going to train. Those two clubs take care of their athletes. So the athletes dont need to rely on govt funding. In TT the athletes have to rely on govt funding, because the track clubs are essentially broke. So it's govt funding or your out on your own.

For track to grow in TT, the various actors need to be less dependant upon govt funding. The NAAA needs to forge long lasting partnerships with the private sector. The clubs need to identify good athletes from a young age and see them as an investment. That means taking care of them. Even a free meal is a step in the right direction.

« Reply #183 on: August 14, 2016, 03:09:16 PM »

Trinidad and Tobago wishes Machel Cedenio all the best in Men's 400m Final tonight! 🇹🇹

https://www.facebook.com/groups/Trinbagolife/2056152541276094/?notif_t=like&notif_id=1471208669078032

« Reply #184 on: August 14, 2016, 05:54:55 PM »
NBC working hard to rehabilitate Gatlin's image.

« Reply #185 on: August 14, 2016, 07:05:30 PM »
That South African fellah. Hard luck Machel, you did your best.

Offline STMB

« Reply #186 on: August 14, 2016, 07:06:37 PM »
Van Niekirk WR 43.03   ::) ::)
Cedenio 4th in TTO NR 44.01   :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #187 on: August 14, 2016, 07:07:48 PM »
Wow.
That 400 WR was ridiculous. And he look like he wasn't really running that hard.

I thought Cedenio had a chance, but so it does go.

Offline STMB

« Reply #188 on: August 14, 2016, 07:09:03 PM »
Wow.
That 400 WR was ridiculous. And he look like he wasn't really running that hard.

I thought Cedenio had a chance, but so it does go.

When you run your best you cannot ask for more, Cedenio is a boss and younger than all 3 medallists

Offline Texastrini

« Reply #189 on: August 14, 2016, 07:12:21 PM »
That was a breast of a race, no shame in that 4th place.  Morris record finally gone.  Well done Machel. Sub 43 next.

« Reply #190 on: August 14, 2016, 07:15:38 PM »
Bahrain get rea shameless importing two Jamaicans so.

« Reply #191 on: August 14, 2016, 07:16:08 PM »
Expect Machel to easily break sub 44 next year and be on the medal podium in the World Champs

Watch d ride  :beermug:

Offline Aviator

« Reply #192 on: August 14, 2016, 07:16:52 PM »
Nothing but pure applause for Machel, that was one hell of a run. Unfortunately he came up in the time of giants.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Online soccerman

« Reply #193 on: August 14, 2016, 07:19:35 PM »
Well done Cedenio, very good effort!

Offline STMB

« Reply #194 on: August 14, 2016, 07:22:52 PM »
Expect Machel to easily break sub 44 next year and be on the medal podium in the World Champs

Watch d ride  :beermug:

If he runs in altitude in La Chau-de-Fonds or Sestriere this year, that sub-44 will happen.

« Reply #195 on: August 14, 2016, 07:28:30 PM »
Cutass!

Online soccerman

« Reply #196 on: August 14, 2016, 07:29:09 PM »
Usain facking Bolt!!!

« Reply #197 on: August 14, 2016, 07:39:49 PM »
Usain facking Bolt!!!

Pretty much. Legend.

« Reply #198 on: August 14, 2016, 07:44:47 PM »

Capital steups @ dem.

« Reply #199 on: August 14, 2016, 07:53:06 PM »

WHAT? what has been put forward for years? Wha part of my post has been put forward for years? Iz the same old, same old in T&T. dare I say with these 'dunce' heads in charge. First they have to face the reality that our coaching at home is poor, we do not have quality coaches, they have too much pride to even come to this realisation.

What we see in T&T is ah bunch of old men stuck in 1969 ideas and still not realising their has been NO improvement.

Breds, I was saying guys like Jesse Noel, Rawle Raphael of the past have all put forward plans for athletic success. But all have come to little success. We have always depend on athletes leaving home for betterment. Jehue and Keeshond are the exception to the rule. I don't know what it will take to get the business community to come aboard. I honestly feel they don't have any interest. T&F is not their priority.

Offline STMB

« Reply #200 on: August 14, 2016, 08:34:41 PM »
Perspective:
Cedenio's NR 0f 44.01 would have medalled in every other Olympic Games 400m final in history.

In many it would have garnered gold or silver, and in all except this one, at least bronze.

He moved from 46th (44.34) to 15th fastest 400m performer ever.

Only Jeremy Wariner (44.00); Larry James (43.97); Kirani James (43.94); and Steve Lewis (43.87) have run faster before turning 21 (Cedenio will be 21 in September) - all are Olympic champions except Larry James an Olympic silver medallist. Nice company and great signs for his future.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2016, 09:41:06 PM by STMB »

« Reply #201 on: August 14, 2016, 10:07:03 PM »
Perspective:
Cedenio's NR 0f 44.01 would have medalled in every other Olympic Games 400m final in history.

In many it would have garnered gold or silver, and in all except this one, at least bronze.

Only Jeremy Wariner (44.00); Larry James (43.97); Kirani James (43.94); and Steve Lewis (43.87) have run faster before turning 21 (Cedenio will be 21 in September) - all are Olympic champions except Larry James an Olympic silver medallist. Nice company and great signs for his future.

Good stuff! :thumbsup:

« Reply #202 on: August 14, 2016, 10:47:55 PM »
Perspective:

Good perspective.  I am really proud of him.  He chased after 3 giants of the 400m. 

Well done Machel.  Keep it up.  You are heading in the right direction.

As for WVN, biggest talent in track and field since Bolt.  This guy is pure greatness.  He ran 43.03 and looks like he can go a lot faster.  The amazing thing is he did that in lane 8.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #203 on: August 15, 2016, 01:20:28 AM »
If Cedenio starts running the 200's he can challenge both L Merritt and K James.

« Reply #204 on: August 15, 2016, 03:29:34 AM »
If Cedenio starts running the 200's he can challenge both L Merritt and K James.

So why yuh leave Wayde van Niekerk name out of it, yuh feel he bionic?  8)

« Reply #205 on: August 15, 2016, 08:22:14 AM »
Cedenio will be a future 400m champion.

« Reply #206 on: August 15, 2016, 08:23:01 AM »

Capital steups @ dem.

Ent, they can rehab all the silver medals in the world.

Offline STMB

« Reply #207 on: August 15, 2016, 08:29:36 AM »

So why yuh leave Wayde van Niekerk name out of it, yuh feel he bionic?  8)

He may well be except for the last 100m.
Here are unofficial 100m splits from an internet article today - looks likely after reviewing the video
100m - 10.7
200m - 9.8 (20.5)
300m - 10.5 (31.0) - Michael Johnson (31.66)
400m - 12.0 (43.03) - Michael Johnson (11.5)

« Reply #208 on: August 15, 2016, 09:02:12 AM »
Jehue Gordon finshed last in his heat, He has declined very badly since winning World Champs three years ago.

« Reply #209 on: August 15, 2016, 09:04:58 AM »

Steupse terrible Jehue that was very terrible and this was only the heats