March 29, 2024, 02:30:48 AM

Author Topic: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)  (Read 76852 times)

Re: IOC Rio 2016 Olympics: Fri.5th~Sun.21st Aug 2016 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
« Reply #240 on: August 16, 2016, 12:12:41 PM »
Video of the women's 1/4 mile? Only seeing stills and hearing description when I search.

« Reply #241 on: August 16, 2016, 12:26:25 PM »
Records will be broken. Van Niekerk will go out hard in lane 8. Everyone will be chasing him. Ian Morris, say good bye to your record. Cedenio looks like he is in SUB 44 form. I think it will be a special night.

« Reply #242 on: August 16, 2016, 12:37:07 PM »
So you see no coincidence that the exact set of disparate points happen to all end up in his one article the day after it was posted?

Don't worry I 'm not asking for commission. As I said glad to help

Perhaps I am simply more knowledgable on this topic.

I did an interview with Ian Morris years ago. I happened to mention the historical perspective of his 1992 time in relation to the Olympics and Gold medals. Kwame and I had practically the same paragraph. Canīt remember who wrote first but we were stating facts and thus our paragraph was basically the same. I know neither of us copied from the other.

I have some hilltop land to sell you in Cocal...steups

There's also a comment (parallel to that made by another poster) that you did not highlight in bold (contained in KL's article)... that tends to suggest more than an ordinary or reasonable coincidence. Won't be the first time, the media has "resourced" forum comments.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2016, 12:40:10 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #243 on: August 16, 2016, 01:12:22 PM »
Gatlin probably the only American w/o Jamaican roots who can recite the JA anthem word for word

Ha Ha Ha  ;D allyuh good oui.

ENT for the memorable quote category

« Reply #244 on: August 16, 2016, 01:14:40 PM »
NBC working hard to rehabilitate Gatlin's image.

Capital steups @ dem.

Ent, they can rehab all the silver medals in the world.

I saw a meme which said he have enough silver to betray Christ. They go kill oui with these memes.

« Reply #245 on: August 16, 2016, 01:17:31 PM »
Right now Gatlin Silver medal is more than the entire T&T team in medals, this is why I do not get carried away with this type of stupid talk by Trinis on social media. Their own country is desperate for medals right now but playing d ass with Gatlin who has won more for his country than most of our athletes. Steupse we loose focus on what is more important.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2016, 01:19:07 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #246 on: August 16, 2016, 01:21:26 PM »
Records will be broken. Van Niekerk will go out hard in lane 8. Everyone will be chasing him. Ian Morris, say good bye to your record. Cedenio looks like he is in SUB 44 form. I think it will be a special night.

Memorable quote right there

« Reply #247 on: August 16, 2016, 02:24:29 PM »

Real recognize real my brother..

All its going to take is a good lane to make history. A much needed one from where we stand. Thats why I am going to say the same thing. Records will be broken. And history will be made. If you can read between the lines, you know what I am expecting to see tonight.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2016, 02:27:20 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #248 on: August 16, 2016, 03:46:25 PM »

Real recognize real my brother..

All its going to take is a good lane to make history. A much needed one from where we stand. Thats why I am going to say the same thing. Records will be broken. And history will be made. If you can read between the lines, you know what I am expecting to see tonight.

Interesting predictions.  I have one too: weary eh go agree with everything yuh say there. 

« Reply #249 on: August 16, 2016, 05:48:35 PM »
Hard luck dey, Haiti! Crashed into and wrapped himself in the first hurdle.  :cursing:

« Reply #250 on: August 16, 2016, 06:35:40 PM »
I wonder if two trini's go make the 200m final. No VCB. Plus no SAFP. I think it's possible.

« Reply #251 on: August 16, 2016, 06:50:03 PM »
Poor Jehue. Jehue has the fastest 400mh time in the last 3 years. He could have easily added a gold medal to his cabinet.

« Reply #252 on: August 16, 2016, 07:28:25 PM »
NR For MLA. Came 2nd behind Bowie. Hopefully she gets a good lane.

« Reply #253 on: August 16, 2016, 07:31:18 PM »
Poor Jehue. Jehue has the fastest 400mh time in the last 3 years. He could have easily added a gold medal to his cabinet.

I must have missed the first 200 m race. I don't see Semoy in the final.

« Reply #254 on: August 16, 2016, 07:33:44 PM »

Came 6th. Didn't make it.

« Reply #255 on: August 16, 2016, 07:38:44 PM »
Brilliant 1500m women's final. Hassan's strategy geh salt once Dibaba shifted a gear.

« Reply #256 on: August 16, 2016, 07:41:26 PM »

Came 6th. Didn't make it.

I know. The strength of the 400mh field is not as strong as 2012. It must be hurting Jehue.

« Reply #257 on: August 16, 2016, 07:53:32 PM »
tIt had any hurdles The french fella with the long hair didn't knock down?

« Reply #259 on: August 16, 2016, 07:59:07 PM »

« Reply #260 on: August 16, 2016, 08:05:08 PM »

She'll be in Lane 7 tomorrow  :-\
https://www.iaaf.org/competitions/olympic-games/the-xxxi-olympic-games-5771/results/women/200-metres/final/startlist#resultheader

She'll be in Lane 7 tomorrow  :-\
https://www.iaaf.org/competitions/olympic-games/the-xxxi-olympic-games-5771/results/women/200-metres/final/startlist#resultheader

Lalova is beside her in lane 8. Was hoping MLA got a faster person to chase. Race strategy for MLA, get in front of Lalova and leave her in the dust.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #261 on: August 16, 2016, 08:30:12 PM »
[quote auth
All the Anti-American track fans (mostly Jamaicans) jump for joy on social media after Miller dives head first like a swimmer to win. They do not care how she did it, they just care America did not win. You have to just shake your head at them
or=Sando prince link=topic=64579.msg958555#msg958555 date=1471368248]
All the Anti-American track fans (mostly Jamaicans) jump for joy on social media after Miller dives head first like a swimmer to win. They do not care how she did it, they just care America did not win. You have to just shake your head at them
[/quote] The girl did not dive, she leaned for the line and her legs gave out. She gave maximum effort and literally had nothing left. She wasn't flat on the track 10+minutes after the race by luck. Don't buy into the American hype trying to belittle the girl 's win. The name of the game is to cross the line first and that's what she did. In 2008 when David Neville actually dived to get his bronze, he was said to give a herculean effort. So de Yankees can go F$@k themselves!
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #262 on: August 16, 2016, 08:37:18 PM »
Michelle, this is it girl.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #263 on: August 16, 2016, 09:08:41 PM »
I think Michelle is in a similar position to Machel. 3 giants ahead of her, but if any slip, she will be able to pounce. She is the best of the rest IMO. So 4th place is what I expect, but hoping for a medal!!

To add to my post, I would think lane 7 is good for her. Firstly she's not the best curve runner out there, so the gentler the curve, the better. Secondly her technique isn't suited to high pressure situations and being in the middle of the track will be a dog fight coming down the straight. She can run free out there in lane 7.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2016, 09:17:26 PM by Aviator »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #264 on: August 16, 2016, 09:20:49 PM »

:rotfl: I noticed that too

Offline Trini1

« Reply #265 on: August 16, 2016, 10:24:11 PM »
I think Michelle is in a similar position to Machel. 3 giants ahead of her, but if any slip, she will be able to pounce. She is the best of the rest IMO. So 4th place is what I expect, but hoping for a medal!!

To add to my post, I would think lane 7 is good for her. Firstly she's not the best curve runner out there, so the gentler the curve, the better. Secondly her technique isn't suited to high pressure situations and being in the middle of the track will be a dog fight coming down the straight. She can run free out there in lane 7.

Spot on again Ave! I'm so proud of her, I know I always knock her technique because I believe she can be the best and have been saying it for years. That aside she has given her all and has made two Olympic sprint finals, she has avoided injury this season also and has just done the nation proud. I know the big three may be out of her reach but this is a stepping stone for her to build on. The ease that she ran that 22.50 in the heats tells me she can run 21.x maybe not tomorrow but definitely in the future.

« Reply #266 on: August 17, 2016, 06:07:38 AM »

Spot on again Ave! I'm so proud of her, I know I always knock her technique because I believe she can be the best and have been saying it for years. That aside she has given her all and has made two Olympic sprint finals, she has avoided injury this season also and has just done the nation proud. I know the big three may be out of her reach but this is a stepping stone for her to build on. The ease that she ran that 22.50 in the heats tells me she can run 21.x maybe not tomorrow but definitely in the future.

Even if she does not medal, she made history. If memory serves, she is the only female from TT to feature in a 100m and 200m olympic final. Ato was the last TT athlete. So MLA is on the path to something special.

Interesting analysis Aviator. I never looked at MLA being in lane 7 in the same light. But what we seen with the outside lanes in this Olympics, if you're in lane 7 or 8, it's about going out hard and letting the field chase you. Shaunae Miller won gold by doing so in lane 7. Van Niekerk won gold and broke the WR by doing the same thing. So we will see if MLA has a similar race plan.

I expect another PR and NR from her tonight. And if one of the big 3 mess up, we can be in for a treat.

« Reply #267 on: August 17, 2016, 08:45:19 AM »
Can anyone recommend some online links for the Olympics. I usually use Batman but just moved to a new house and although we have a good wifi, it's acting up.

Also, any good site with videos of results. Youtube was great for the last Olympics but not so this time.

Thanks,

« Reply #268 on: August 17, 2016, 02:56:38 PM »
VB, if you are stateside use nbcsports.com

« Reply #269 on: August 17, 2016, 03:03:15 PM »
Forum, do you think the TF in this Olimpics is fully supported by Rio. I see a lot of empty seats. I have witnessed past Olimpics with bigger stadiums and bigger crowds. Am I wrong on this?