March 28, 2024, 07:16:00 AM

Author Topic: 15th IAAF World Championships 2015: 22nd~30th August (Beijing, PR of China)  (Read 73306 times)

Allyuh see the Men's 400 Metres Semi-Finals Startlists?!!
Each Semi-Final is almost like a Final by itself when you look at the line-up.

Those who want to make it into the 400m final may need to run 44.low or better in their Semi just to guarantee themself one of the two automatic qualifers spots.

http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/15th-iaaf-world-championships-4875/results/men/400-metres/semi-final/startlist#resultheader

15TH IAAF WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS

400 METRES MEN SEMI-FINAL
FIRST 2 IN EACH HEAT (Q) AND THE NEXT 2 FASTEST (Q)

HEAT 1 24 AUG 2015 20:05
ORDER / LANE   BIB   ATHLETE   COUNTRY   SB 2015   PB

2   189   Chris BROWN   BAH BAH   44.54   44.40
3   632   Peter MATTHEWS   JAM JAM   44.69   44.69
4   943   Renny QUOW   TTO TTO   44.54   44.53
5   1067   David VERBURG   USA USA   44.41   44.41
6   410   Luguelín SANTOS   DOM DOM   44.56   44.45
7   580   Kirani JAMES   GRN GRN   43.95   43.74
8   216   Kévin BORLÉE   BEL BEL   45.01   44.56
9   1050   Vernon NORWOOD   USA USA   44.44   44.44

HEAT 2 24 AUG 2015 20:13

2   362   Nery BRENES   CRC CRC   44.80   44.65
3   940   Lalonde GORDON   TTO TTO   44.64   44.52
4   520   Rabah YOUSIF   GBR GBR   45.01   45.01
5   631   Rusheen MCDONALD   JAM JAM   43.93   43.93
6   194   Steven GARDINER   BAH BAH   44.27   44.27
7   715   Yousef Ahmed MASRAHI   KSA KSA   43.93   43.93
8   1049   Bryshon NELLUM   USA USA   44.65   44.65
9   243   Isaac MAKWALA   BOT BOT   43.72   43.72

HEAT 3 24 AUG 2015 20:21

2   759   Liemarvin BONEVACIA   NED NED   44.72   44.72
3   204   Michael MATHIEU   BAH BAH   45.00   45.00
4   627   Javon FRANCIS   JAM JAM   44.50   44.50
5   938   Machel CEDENIO   TTO TTO   44.36   44.36
6   1047   LaShawn MERRITT   USA USA   44.36   43.74
7   857   Wayde VAN NIEKERK   RSA RSA   43.96   43.96
8   521   Martyn ROONEY   GBR GBR   44.45   44.45
9   217   Jonathan BORLÉE   BEL BEL   44.67   44.43

I am predicting that Cedenio and Van Niekerk will make it out of Semi-Final 3 as the automatic qualifiers but it’s almost impossible for me to predict who will be the automatic qualifiers from the other two Semis.

Who do you guys predict will make it out of each 400m Semi-final as the first two automatic qualifiers?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 09:40:42 AM by Socapro »

I won't be surprised of all our athletes make 400 final once they give a solid performance in the semis.  Medalling in the final is the REAL challenge

And here is the Women's 100 Metres Semi-Finals Startlists!!
Again each Semi-Final is tough and almost like a Final when you look at the line-up.

Those who want to make it into the 100m final may need to run sub 11 or better in their Semi just to guarantee themself one of the two automatic qualifers spots.

http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/15th-iaaf-world-championships-4875/results/women/100-metres/semi-final/startlist#resultheader

100 METRES WOMEN

HEAT 1 24 AUG 2015 19:40

2   394   Asha PHILIP   GBR GBR   11.10   11.10
3   252   Yongli WEI   CHN CHN   11.28   11.28
4   637   Blessing OKAGBARE   NGR NGR   10.80   10.79
5   271   Marie-Josee TA LOU   CIV CIV   11.06   11.06
6   510   Shelly-Ann FRASER-PRYCE   JAM JAM   10.74   10.70
7   810   Semoy HACKETT   TTO TTO   11.16   11.04
8   884   English GARDNER   USA USA   10.79   10.79
9   518   Sherone SIMPSON   JAM JAM   10.95   10.82

HEAT 2 24 AUG 2015 19:47

2   301   Ramona PAPAIOANNOU   CYP CYP   11.36   11.36
3   554   Viktoriya ZYABKINA   KAZ KAZ   11.20   11.20
4   865   Tori BOWIE   USA USA   10.81   10.80
5   168   Rosângela SANTOS   BRA BRA   11.04   11.04
6   519   Natasha MORRISON   JAM JAM   11.03   11.03
7   807   Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE   TTO TTO   10.84   10.83
8   771   Mujinga KAMBUNDJI   SUI SUI   11.17   11.17
9   534   Chisato f**kUSHIMA   JPN JPN   11.23   11.21

HEAT 3 24 AUG 2015 19:54

2   923   Jasmine TODD   USA USA   10.92   10.92
3   646   Ezinne OKPARAEBO   NOR NOR   11.12   11.10
4   508   Veronica CAMPBELL-BROWN   JAM JAM   10.99   10.76
5   622   Dafne SCHIPPERS   NED NED   10.92   10.92
6   197   Ivet LALOVA-COLLIO   BUL BUL   11.09   10.77
7   806   Michelle-Lee AHYE   TTO TTO   10.97   10.85
8   705   Carina HORN   RSA RSA   11.06   11.06
9   270   Murielle AHOURÉ   CIV CIV   10.81   10.81

I am predicting that KAB and MLA will make it out of their Semi to the Final but Hackett will be less fortunate. If Hackett can run near to her PB in her Semi then that will be a positive satisfactory performance from her which she can take into the 200m which seems to be her stronger event.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 09:52:08 AM by Socapro »

The race of 2015!!

Usain Bolt Wins 9.79 100m Final IAAF World Championship Beijing 2015 (short version)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/q3h0sadCa10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/q3h0sadCa10</a>

Usain Bolt Gold (9.79) Men's 100m Final IAAF World Championships beijing 2015 (long version)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/HAXIBwjsOEs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/HAXIBwjsOEs</a>

Nice post race interview with Bolt.

WHC 2015 Beijing - Usain Bolt JAM 100m Final Gold
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Ab-LnYzVXo0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Ab-LnYzVXo0</a>

Jamaica’s Usain Bolt did just enough in 100 metres at the World Championships to defeat Justin Gatlin and take the gold medal at the World Championships here on Sunday #Beijing2015.

Usain Bolt: "I'm a true champion"
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/OxPCFz6_Qww" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/OxPCFz6_Qww</a>

Justin Gatlin described his silver medal performance as "bitter sweet" and that "It (race) got away from me in the last 5m" Gatlin was second in 9.80 behind Usain Bolt 9.79 at the XV World Championships #Beijing2015.

Gatlin: "It got away from me in the last 5m"
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MBV8kHXZnNE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MBV8kHXZnNE</a>
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 02:05:05 AM by Socapro »

Respect to Jessica Ennis Hill. She delivered for her country. Interesting to see how Britain finish on the medal table

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/l978A_Nwm6c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/l978A_Nwm6c</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/HtYpG3_5vHc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/HtYpG3_5vHc</a>

Men's 400m Hurdles Heat 2 IAAF World Championship Beijing 2015 featuring Jehue Gordon
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/AwgaTCiCjMU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/AwgaTCiCjMU</a>

Nice interview with Jehue regards losing his 400m Hurdles title and hopefully coming back stronger for Rio next year.

WCH 2015 Beijing - Jehue GORDON TTO 400m heat 2
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/f_iAYCrcS5k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/f_iAYCrcS5k</a>
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 12:09:13 PM by Socapro »

Another athlete representing Britain. A man developing into legendary status. If him win next year in Rio give him the 'legend' title.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ooE_WO89Qj8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ooE_WO89Qj8</a>

Here is interview with Trini traitor Kerron Clement after his 400m Hurdles Semi-Final.

WHC 2015 Beijing - Kerron Clement USA 400m Hurdles Semi Final 1
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MxwAYc_stKk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MxwAYc_stKk</a>

And here is an interview with Andre De Grasse (another athlete with Trini blood) after winning his bronze in the 100m Final.

WHC 2015 Beijing - Kerron Clement USA 400m Hurdles Semi Final 1
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/XBLDqkMaQRs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/XBLDqkMaQRs</a>
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 10:58:12 AM by Socapro »

Here is interview with Trini traitor Kerron Clement after his 400m Hurdles Semi-Final.

So called traitor is doing well for USA so far

Those who want to make it into the 400m final may need to run 44.low or better in their Semi just to guarantee themself one of the two automatic qualifers spots.

http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/15th-iaaf-world-championships-4875/results/men/400-metres/semi-final/startlist#resultheader

400 METRES MEN SEMI-FINAL

HEAT 1 24 AUG 2015 20:05

2   189   Chris BROWN   BAH BAH   44.54   44.40
3   632   Peter MATTHEWS   JAM JAM   44.69   44.69
4   943   Renny QUOW   TTO TTO   44.54   44.53
5   1067   David VERBURG   USA USA   44.41   44.41
6   410   Luguelín SANTOS   DOM DOM   44.56   44.45
7   580   Kirani JAMES   GRN GRN   43.95   43.74
8   216   Kévin BORLÉE   BEL BEL   45.01   44.56
9   1050   Vernon NORWOOD   USA USA   44.44   44.44

HEAT 2 24 AUG 2015 20:13

2   362   Nery BRENES   CRC CRC   44.80   44.65
3   940   Lalonde GORDON   TTO TTO   44.64   44.52
4   520   Rabah YOUSIF   GBR GBR   45.01   45.01
5   631   Rusheen MCDONALD   JAM JAM   43.93   43.93
6   194   Steven GARDINER   BAH BAH   44.27   44.27
7   715   Yousef Ahmed MASRAHI   KSA KSA   43.93   43.93
8   1049   Bryshon NELLUM   USA USA   44.65   44.65
9   243   Isaac MAKWALA   BOT BOT   43.72   43.72

HEAT 3 24 AUG 2015 20:21

2   759   Liemarvin BONEVACIA   NED NED   44.72   44.72
3   204   Michael MATHIEU   BAH BAH   45.00   45.00
4   627   Javon FRANCIS   JAM JAM   44.50   44.50
5   938   Machel CEDENIO   TTO TTO   44.36   44.36
6   1047   LaShawn MERRITT   USA USA   44.36   43.74
7   857   Wayde VAN NIEKERK   RSA RSA   43.96   43.96
8   521   Martyn ROONEY   GBR GBR   44.45   44.45
9   217   Jonathan BORLÉE   BEL BEL   44.67   44.43

I am predicting that Cedenio and Van Niekerk will make it out of Semi-Final 3 as the automatic qualifiers but it’s almost impossible for me to predict who will be the automatic qualifiers from the other two Semis.

Who do you guys predict will make it out of each 400m Semi-final as the first two automatic qualifiers?

Absolute FIRE.. I agree with what you have there. I am predicting that one of the big names will not make the final. Regardless, there will be another talent to replace whoever it is.

Here are other interviews with our TTO athletes after their events and getting thru to the next round.

WCH 2015 Beijing - Cleopatra Borel TTO Shot Put Qualification
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Zo8NejK-A7o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Zo8NejK-A7o</a>

WHC 2015 Beijing - Sparke McKnight TTO 400m Hurdles Heat 1
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/o9Z5Kix0onY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/o9Z5Kix0onY</a>

WHC 2015 Beijing - Michelle Lee Ahye TTO 100m Heat 3
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/GjUMRREjAyM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/GjUMRREjAyM</a>

WHC 2015 Beijing - Kelly Ann Baptiste TTO 100m Heat 6
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/XLXAqi4DtUk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/XLXAqi4DtUk</a>

WHC 2015 Beijing - Machel Cedenio TTO 400m Heat 1
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/6KkFJ2Usp5c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/6KkFJ2Usp5c</a>

WHC 2015 Beijing - Lalonde Gordon TTO 400m Heat 4
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/JgB-1st0dBQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/JgB-1st0dBQ</a>

WHC 2015 Beijing - Renny Quow TTO 400m Heat 6
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/8H537OjSOlE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/8H537OjSOlE</a>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Podium target
Ahye leads T&T trio into women’s 100 semis

By Kwame Laurence (T&T Express)
Published on Aug 23, 2015, 10:55 pm AST

SAFELY THROUGH: Trinidad and Tobago's Semoy Hackett, centre, and Ukraine's Olesya Povkh, right,  race in a women's 100m round one heat at the World Athletics Championships at the Bird's Nest stadium in Beijing, China, yesterday. —Photo: AP

“I came here for one purpose and one purpose only. It's to be on that podium.”

Michelle-Lee Ahye was brimming over with confidence after her opening round run in the IAAF World Championship women's 100 metres dash, here in Beijing, China, yesterday. And the Trinidad and Tobago sprint star had good reason, winning heat three in 10.98 seconds, into a 1.2 metres per second headwind.

“I'm actually in shock to see that time,” Ahye told the Express, “because my coach said to execute the first 40 (metres) and then look to see if I'm in a good position. I did that, I shut it down, looked at the time…I was like wow. It just shows I'm in shape and ready to run.”

Ahye runs in the third and final semi-final heat at 7.54 this morning (TT time). Among her rivals in the race will be Jamaica's 2007 100m world champion Veronica Campbell-Brown. But Ahye is fully fit again, following a troublesome leg injury, and ready for the challenge.

“After that injury it got me enough rest to build back my body and stuff. I'm good,” Ahye declared, “a hundred per cent healthy.”

Ahye's T&T teammates, Kelly-Ann Baptiste and Semoy Hackett will also be on show in the semis. At 7.47am, Baptiste squares off against American Tori Bowie in the second semi. And in the opener, scheduled for 7.40, Hackett takes on Jamaica's defending world champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Nigerian Blessing Okagbare.

The top two in each heat will progress to the 9.35am final.

In round one, Baptiste looked very comfortable in winning heat six in 11.13 seconds. The T&T sprint star was also at the Bird's Nest Stadium in 2008, representing T&T at the Olympic Games.

“I have a lot of things in the back of my head. One of them is that I came here in 2008 and didn't do as well as I wanted to, so I'm just embracing the opportunity to compete. For me it's making the final, and once I do that, I feel like everything is possible. Everybody in the eight lanes has an equal chance to run well, so I'm just focused on making it to the final.”

For Baptiste, the experience at the last IAAF World Championships was not a happy one. She left Moscow, Russia in disgrace after it was revealed that she had a positive drug test in April, 2013. After serving a 21-month ban, the Florida-based sprinter returned to competition in February this year.

“Sometimes, because of media, public,” Baptiste told the Express, “it's always going to come up. But for me personally, it's behind me. The way I've performed this year testifies that hard work and training is all I've been doing. Given the unfortunate circumstances, I was in that position, but I feel great knowing I was able to come back, replicate my performances from years past. In that sense, it's completely behind me.”

Hackett is also enjoying a successful comeback season on the heels of a drug ban. She returned to the track in June, following a 28-month suspension.

In heat five, yesterday, Hackett clocked 11.16 seconds, equalling her season's best and securing second spot in the race, behind Dutch sprinter Dafne Schippers (11.01).

“I don't feel much pressure,” Hackett told the Express. “I think the 200 is my better shot, but I didn't want to go straight into the 200, so I said let me try the 100, see how I feel, and then it would probably pump my esteem to go into the 200.”

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Perfect 400
Cedenio, Quow, Lalonde, McKnight in semis

By Kwame Laurence (T&T Express)
Published on Aug 23, 2015, 10:40 pm AST

AUTOMATIC QUALIFIER: Lalonde Gordon, right, during his men's 400 metres preliminary round heat at the IAAF World Championships, in Beijing, China, yesterday. Gordon finished third. —Photo: @GETTY IMAGES

Trinidad and Tobago scored a perfect three from three in the first round of the IAAF World Championship men's 400 metres event, at the Bird's Nest Stadium here in Beijing, China, yesterday.

Machel Cedenio, Renny Quow and Lalonde Gordon all advanced to the semi-final round, and will be back on the track today, bidding for championship race lanes.

Cedenio did not expect to run as fast as he did in the opening round. He had no choice, however, but to turn it on coming home. Trailing the heat one front-runners at the top of the straight, the 19-year-old's customary strong finish propelled him into second spot in 44.54 seconds. American David Verburg won in 44.43.

“I was surprised,” Cedenio told the Express. “Normally first round is 45. I actually ran my second fastest time in the prelims.”

The 2014 world junior champion was even more surprised by what happened in heat two. He paused during the interview to enquire about the time that had been clocked. Both the winner, Saudi Arabia's Yousef Ahmed Masrahi and second-placed Rusheen McDonald of Jamaica ran 43.93.

“Yuh lie,” Cedenio exclaimed in disbelief. “Just crazy. It's a fast track.”

Sporting a lot of facial hair, yesterday, the Florida-based quarter-miler explained his reason for not shaving.

“I just try to keep it rough to know that I'm coming out here to war.”

If the first round times are anything to go by, Wednesday's one-lap final could well be the ultimate athletics battlefield.

Like Cedenio, Quow was pushed to the second fastest time of his career in his opening outing. Running in the sixth and final heat, the 2009 World Championship bronze medallist finished second in 44.54 seconds, behind South Africa's Wayde van Niekirk (44.42).

“I thought it would have been a little bit slower,” said Quow.”

In a repeat of the 2012 Olympic final result, Gordon was third in heat four. The London Games bronze medallist clocked 44.97 seconds to trail Grenadian Olympic champion Kirani James (44.56) and Dominican Republic's silver medallist Luguelin Santos (44.62).

Gordon told the Express he was satisfied with his first round effort.

“I ain't run in two weeks, so I was a little rusty this morning, but it was a good run. Right now the confidence is high. Just try and make the final, and once I'm in anything could happen.”

In order to face the starter in the championship race, Gordon must successfully negotiate the second of three semi-final heats. At 8.13am, he will do battle with Masrahi, McDonald and another sub-44 quarter-miler, Botswana's Isaac Makwala.

Quow will be on the track at 8.05, taking on James, Santos and Verburg in heat one.

And at 8.21, in heat three, Cedenio tackles reigning world champion LaShawn Merritt of the United States, as well as van Niekirk and Jamaica's Javon Francis.

Only the top two in each heat will advance automatically to the final.

Coming off the final bend in the opening women's 400m hurdles first round heat, Sparkle McKnight was well-placed to challenge for one of the four automatic qualifying berths up for grabs. And qualify she did, the T&T athlete finishing second in 55.77 seconds. Jamaica's Kaliese Spencer won the race in 55.03, while third spot went to Sweden's Elise Malmberg (55.97).

McKnight, who clocked a personal best 55.41 seconds in seizing silver at the North American, Central American and Caribbean (NACAC) Championships in Costa Rica earlier this month, was pleased with yesterday's run.

“I felt comfortable. I kept saying in my head, 'Sparkle just be patient, just be patient, don't focus on anybody else in your race and bring it home'.”

McKnight has come on strong in recent weeks, finishing fifth at the Pan American Games in Toronto, Canada, and following up with the NACAC silver.

“What has accounted for that is my daughter most of all. I had a lot of obstacles this year, and yes it's now pulling through for me, but the beginning of the year I wanted to give up. Friends, family told me not to, so I'm really blessed to be here.”

At 7.18 this morning (TT time), McKnight will face the starter in the second of three semi-final heats.

“I really don't have any goal. I just want to take it round by round, execute the best way I can, the best way my coach told me to, and the results would come.”

A top-two finish in her semi-final would earn McKnight an automatic berth in the championship race.

Meanwhile, Keshorn Walcott is hoping for precious metal here in Beijing. The reigning Olympic men's javelin champion has thrown 90.16 metres this season, and seems set to be a medal contender.

But before Walcott can think about challenging for a podium finish in Wednesday's final, he must successfully negotiate today's qualifying competition. He will be the 10th man to throw in Group “A”.

The immediate target for Walcott is the 83.00m automatic qualifying distance. It may seem a simple enough task for the 90-metre man, but the 22-year-old Toco field athlete is nursing an ankle injury which limited him to an 83.27m golden throw at the Pan Am Games.

If he is able to compete unhampered by the injury, Walcott should enjoy a comfortable passage to the final.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2015, 02:36:07 PM by Socapro »

 :worried:
And here is the Women's 100 Metres Semi-Finals Startlists!!
Again each Semi-Final is tough and almost like a Final when you look at the line-up.

Those who want to make it into the 100m final may need to run sub 11 or better in their Semi just to guarantee themself one of the two automatic qualifers spots.

http://www.iaaf.org/competitions/iaaf-world-championships/15th-iaaf-world-championships-4875/results/women/100-metres/semi-final/startlist#resultheader

100 METRES WOMEN

HEAT 1 24 AUG 2015 19:40

2   394   Asha PHILIP   GBR GBR   11.10   11.10
3   252   Yongli WEI   CHN CHN   11.28   11.28
4   637   Blessing OKAGBARE   NGR NGR   10.80   10.79
5   271   Marie-Josee TA LOU   CIV CIV   11.06   11.06
6   510   Shelly-Ann FRASER-PRYCE   JAM JAM   10.74   10.70
7   810   Semoy HACKETT   TTO TTO   11.16   11.04
8   884   English GARDNER   USA USA   10.79   10.79
9   518   Sherone SIMPSON   JAM JAM   10.95   10.82

HEAT 2 24 AUG 2015 19:47

2   301   Ramona PAPAIOANNOU   CYP CYP   11.36   11.36
3   554   Viktoriya ZYABKINA   KAZ KAZ   11.20   11.20
4   865   Tori BOWIE   USA USA   10.81   10.80
5   168   Rosângela SANTOS   BRA BRA   11.04   11.04
6   519   Natasha MORRISON   JAM JAM   11.03   11.03
7   807   Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE   TTO TTO   10.84   10.83
8   771   Mujinga KAMBUNDJI   SUI SUI   11.17   11.17
9   534   Chisato f**kUSHIMA   JPN JPN   11.23   11.21

HEAT 3 24 AUG 2015 19:54

2   923   Jasmine TODD   USA USA   10.92   10.92
3   646   Ezinne OKPARAEBO   NOR NOR   11.12   11.10
4   508   Veronica CAMPBELL-BROWN   JAM JAM   10.99   10.76
5   622   Dafne SCHIPPERS   NED NED   10.92   10.92
6   197   Ivet LALOVA-COLLIO   BUL BUL   11.09   10.77
7   806   Michelle-Lee AHYE   TTO TTO   10.97   10.85
8   705   Carina HORN   RSA RSA   11.06   11.06
9   270   Murielle AHOURÉ   CIV CIV   10.81   10.81

I am predicting that KAB and MLA will make it out of their Semi to the Final but Hackett will be less fortunate. If Hackett can run near to her PB in her Semi then that will be a positive satisfactory performance from her which she can take into the 200m which seems to be her stronger event.

Yes. Both stand a good chance of making the final. Hackett needs her first sub 11 to make it out of that heat.

Offline STMB

Absolute FIRE.. I agree with what you have there. I am predicting that one of the big names will not make the final. Regardless, there will be another talent to replace whoever it is.

I am still going with Merritt and James to make the finals and be the favorites, they have not "blown their wad" to make the semis due to smarter control of the pace in their heats, not making it a time trial. Though Merritt has not been a force early in the season under a new coach, he has progressed slowly but steadily. James has not shown his cards as yet.

Our fellas have not tried to show off either, deciding to take the lesser placings into the semis. I will even go out on a limb to predict that neither Masrahi , Makwala, nor McDonald will not make the finals. Cedenio will have to get out just a bit faster and not leave himself too much as that only works with 44.5-45.5 men, plus he will be spent in the finals if he has to rely on those heroics again.

The finals and the medals will be reserved for the seasoned and the fittest. So if van Niekerk wants to bust a sub-44 to make the final don't expect to see him amongst the medallists.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 02:21:14 PM by STMB »

Offline Aviator

Oi Ato, yuh curry or stew that crow before yuh eat it ?? ;D
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 08:27:05 PM by Aviator »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Important day for the athletes from the twin island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Keshorn will be in action first.

Not mad at Semoy Hackett. She ran a season best of 11.13 despite not finishing top two for automatic final qualification.

Offline Aviator

Not mad at Semoy Hackett. She ran a season best of 11.13 despite not finishing top two for automatic final qualification.

A good effort from her, but none advancement not unexpected. KAB is through comfortably. MLA didn't get as good a start as yesterday, but still makes it through as a fastest loser. Brilliant stuff girls.

Offline Aviator

End of the road for Keshorn this morning.

Offline Aviator

Gordon better go and say some prayers. He has the last "fastest loser" spot right now, with one more semi to come.

GBR Rabah and Cedenio in it as 2 fastest losers

Offline Aviator

Cedenio bumps Gordon from the last spot.

Keep in mind Cedenio is only 19 years old. I expect great tingz from him in the future.

For him to make the final is a really good start!

Offline Aviator

Well done girls. Our 4x1 is STRONG!!!!!

FINAL
 24/08/2015  07:35 (21:35 LOCAL TIME)
 VIEW PHOTO FINISH
POS   BIB   ATHLETE   MARK   DETAIL   REACTION TIME
1   510   Shelly-Ann FRASER-PRYCE<<<<< She's ah don!!!!
JAM
10.76      0.161

2   622   Dafne SCHIPPERS
NED
10.81   NR   0.129
3   865   Tori BOWIE
USA
10.86      0.153
4   508   Veronica CAMPBELL-BROWN
JAM
10.91      0.137
5   806   Michelle-Lee AHYE
TTO
10.98      0.145
6   807   Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE
TTO
11.01      0.127

7   519   Natasha MORRISON
JAM
11.02      0.200
8   637   Blessing OKAGBARE
NGR
11.02      0.185

Offline Trini1

SAFP was not to be beaten this year. Reigns supreme, the Serena Williams of the 100m.

I'm happy our ladies made it to the final, KAB after two years off and still made the final hopefully she is one of the folks switching to Ato. MLA has so much more potential and needs the right coach we've said it a million times. Overall well done ladies.

4x1 looks solid...

Offline Trini1

Blessing is becoming the Asafa Powell of the ladies. Vast amounts of potential but mentally frail in finals.

Offline RC

 Good performances by all the 400 m Runners hopefully with a days rest Cedeno maybe able to improve and me have an outside chance of a medal. lendore and  Solomon will have to race for placing the final of the 4x4 . With this year's performances and the prospect of Lendore returning to form next year very clear selection criteria will need to be in place for the National Championships to ensure that there is no controversy when the team selected for the Olympics

Offline STMB

Very good performances by our athletes, they gave their best "under the circumstances".

TTOC and NAAAs on the other hand, admit and correct your faulty strategy to send the entire WC team to PanAms, and expect them to improve with such a short turnaround. While this may have worked had there been 2 months between games, it seems to have failed here.

The upside/gamble may have been fine-tuning, but that may be applicable to a subset of athletes in need of races/competition. With such a short timeframe all you got them were injuries/niggles without enough time to recuperate.

Where each athlete is in their final preparations needs to be taken into account - (i) do they need the competition, (ii) are they coming off of injuries, (iii) are they still in final training sessions that need not be disrupted.

I wonder if the powers at hand consulted with the various coaches or just mandated participation in PanAms as a prerequisite to WCs.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 09:17:51 AM by STMB »

Very good performances by our athletes, they gave their best "under the circumstances".

TTOC and NAAAs on the other hand, admit and correct your faulty strategy to send the entire WC team to PanAms, and expect them to improve with such a short turnaround. While this may have worked had there been 2 months between games, it seems to have failed here.

The upside/gamble may have been fine-tuning, but that may be applicable to a subset of athletes in need of races/competition. With such a short timeframe all you got them were injuries/niggles without enough time to recuperate.

Where each athlete is in their final preparations needs to be taken into account - (i) do they need the competition, (ii) are they coming off of injuries, (iii) are they still in final training sessions that need not be disrupted.

I wonder if the powers at hand consulted with the various coaches or just mandated participation in PanAms as a prerequisite to WCs.

Keston Bledman's comments in this post race interview should answer your question:

Bleadman describes early exit as "shameful" #Beijing2015
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/HziJNCmP_oU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/HziJNCmP_oU</a>
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 11:08:43 AM by Socapro »

Offline keelz

QUOW

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/gbOagaw7Jxs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/gbOagaw7Jxs</a>
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 06:11:37 PM by Socapro »

Offline keelz

CEDENIO

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/d5obG2hIzZc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/d5obG2hIzZc</a>
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 06:13:36 PM by Socapro »