April 26, 2024, 02:37:06 AM

Author Topic: Gov’t negotiates Gold Cup feed; Sancho, TTFA discuss Pan Am bacchanal  (Read 5577 times)

TTCB wants $31m from Govt
Jelani Beckles

The T&T Cricket Board (TTCB), meeting in an executive retreat over the weekend in Couva, has approved and submitted a budget of $31,351,275 to the Sport Company of T&T to cover their developmental programme for the current fiscal year.

Of this amount, the board will put forward approximately $1,593,000, with external funding through grants and sponsorship totalling $31,351,275.

The funds requested represent proposals for the upgrade of their sprawling 17-acre training and administrative facility at Balmain, Couva, and the undertaking of several important projects to enhance the preparedness of its national teams, increase their assistance to clubs, and provide specialist training for curators, umpires and scorers.

The TTCB also has set key timelines to achieve several other major objectives including competitive tours for boys and girls teams (primary and secondary schools), the constitution of an elite umpires’ panel, and the establishment of minimum coaching requirements for the BGTT age-group competition.

And in a fulfillment of a pledge to alleviate the burgeoning costs associated with club administration and community development which are intrinsically linked, the TTCB is allocating approximately $9,000,000 in grants.

In addition, the clubs are being asked to twin with educational institutions and urged to develop their own grant and scholarship programmes which will add impetus to the board’s vision to expand the potential of their sport-education model to ensure success in the future.

One of the biggest chunks of the budget targets the National Cricket Centre (NCC), which is wholly owned by the TTCB, with proposals to outfit it with a state-of-the art electronic scoreboard costing in the region of $2,000,000.

There is also a proposal for the laying of a sand-based outfield at the NCC which is expected to bring it on par with internationally accepted standards and is estimated to set the board back approximately $3,000,000.

The board also hopes to erect bleachers to accommodate cricket fans at the NCC which should be in place by October 31, and will enhance the facility’s capability to host mega-events in a safe and comfortable environment.

Stressing that coaching and youth development are two of its major strengths, the board also intends to continue to improve its development model to meet the changing requirements of the game and has placed additional emphasis in this regard.

For preparation of the national teams under its purview, the TTCB has budgeted $2,371,250 for their Under-13, Under-15, Under-17, Under-19 and senior Red Force teams to be supported by island-wide coaching programmes costing $750,000. These initiatives involve 3,000 children instructed by 120 coaches.

Specialist coaching programmes to boost the TTCB’s successful initiatives are also listed for batting, bowling and fielding ($300,000) while the board’s unique Cricket Academy, the incubator of latent talent on the threshold of national senior selection, has also been allocated $300,000 for the training of 20 elite cricketers.

The annual Easter Bunny Programme casts a net for 5,000 children supervised by 200 trained coaches while the Primary Schools Cricket League attracts the participation of 386 schools throughout T&T for boys and girls who will benefit from development tours costing $100,000 each. That figure is $50,000 less than that budgeted for their Secondary Schools Cricket League colleagues.

At the U-11 level, the board aims to double its intake of schools in the Scotiabank Kiddy Cricket Programme, a holistic programme combining athletic skills with scholastic performance with a target of 104 schools.

The national executive places great importance on improving the cricket standards on and off the field and has catered for the training of umpires ($100,000), curators ($120,000) and National League scorers ($50,000).   

The board also recognises the valued contribution made by its 188 affiliated clubs, described as the lifeblood of the organisation and as such have pledged $864,000 for an ambitious sports foundation; assistance for the provision of pitch covers ($408,000) and for acquiring equipment ($240,000).

In addition to $120,000 for development seminars, the total budget for club development is $1,892,000 of which the TTCB will cough up $180,000 to be supplemented by $1,712,000 which will be raised from external sources. 

The progress the TTCB hopes to achieve in the coming months will be measured by key timelines for other important initiatives including draft fixtures for the 2016 National League; a review of competition regulations; establishment of an elite umpires’ panel (Premier I and II) in conjunction with the Cricket Umpires and Scorers’ Council.

The timeline for the training of National League officials in electronic scoring, and an exercise to assess the performance of umpires using video footage of selected matches has also been set. This is all expected to be completed by October 31 when the financial year ends.

Also discussed at the executive retreat at the Metro Hotel was an umpire recruitment programme, a course for curators, and the setting of minimum coaching certification for the BGTT Youth Series: Under-13, Under-15 (Level 1); Under-17 and Under-19 (Level II)

It was also decided that the BGTT Under-13 series will be played immediately after the 2016 Secondary Entrance Assessment for primary schools, to facilitate minimum disruption for the students and their teachers.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2015-07-08/ttcb-wants-31m-govt

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Money for medals
Pan Am athletes to be rewarded for success in Canada
By Roger Seepersad

The Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC), in an effort to give its athletes extra motivation to perform at the Pan Am Games in Toronto, Canada, has announced medal bonuses which will form part of the TTOC's 10 or more Olympic gold medals athlete welfare and preparation programme.

TTOC president Brian Lewis set a national objective to achieve eight more Olympic gold medals by the 2024 Summer Games and for the first time in its history the TTOC will have a medal bonus which will see athletes getting US$3,000 for winning a gold medal, US$2,000 for a silver and US$1,000 for bronze in individual competition at the Toronto Games which start on Friday.

In the relay events, teams will get US$9,000 for gold, US$6,000 for silver and US$3,000 for bronze.

In respect of team sports, US$1,500 will be rewarded per athlete for a gold, US$1,000 for silver and US$750 for bronze.

The TTOC is determined to take the necessary steps and decisions in its effort to create the environment that will assist

the athletes in striving to achieve medal winning objectives.

TTOC vice-president Dr Ian Hypolite feels that the introduction of the medal bonuses could be a very worthwhile initiative.

He said that while athletes are already motivated to do well, the incentives will let them know their efforts are appreciated and will be like the icing on the cake.

“Anything that serves to incentivise our athletes is obviously welcome,” Hypolite told the Express. “It is a bold initiative and principle in the cause in an attempt to incorporate corporate Trinidad in the process.”

“There are a lot of expectations surrounding our athletes but I think the public needs to understand that athletic success is not a give and that support is always vital. The incentives are one thing but what the TTOC is really calling upon is for corporate Trinidad and Tobago to support our athletes,” he explained.

“Motivation is a complex thing. Many athletes are already intrinsically motivated however some extrinsic motivation in the form of a reward can always be like the icing on the cake so to speak,” Hypolite added.

“I don't think there are any athletes who are going to say they are going to run for the money. They are already motivated to do well but I think the rewards will be an indication of some level of appreciation for the athletes' commitment towards Trinidad and Tobago and I think that is also a major consideration,” he said.

According to a TTOC press release, “the introduction of medal bonuses is an essential component of the 10 or more Olympic Gold medals athlete welfare and preparation programme.

“In pursuit of its strategic goals and objectives the TTOC acknowledges the support of its corporate partners: bpTT, Guardian Group, Scotiabank, Adidas, Lisa Communications and NLCB. It is an exciting time for the TTOC. Rio 2016 is just around the corner. Pan Am Toronto will get underway this week. Lots of challenges but it's exciting,” the release stated.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

$12M for anti-crime ‘Hoop of Life’
By ANDRE BAGOO

THE $12 million “Hoop for Life” community basketball league programme will cover nine regions across Trinidad and Tobago over three years. In contrast, Minister of National Security Jack Warner said yesterday, the State spends $392 million per year to feed prisoners.

At a media briefing held at Temple Court, Port-of-Spain, Warner said the programme is not meant to be the solution or panacea to crime and criticised the Opposition for attacking the programme, given the PNM’s track record on crime.

In particular, Warner asked questions about a $13.8 million crime-fighting programme which was approved by the PNM Cabinet for one region alone — Laventille East/Morvant, the constituency of PNM MP Donna Cox.

“Where they spent this money?” Warner asked. “Where it went? I am still looking at the files to see if I can find it. I don’t know where the money gone. I will find it. Why aren’t people asking questions about that?”

Warner continued, “They believe anything this Government does must be attacked and criticised.” Warner said he has not heard “one young person” object to the programme, which will impose a condition on participants stating they have to avoid crime.

There will be an estimated 1,300 participants (including coaches and game officials) and 286 administrators. Warner said the State incurred no cost to bring retired American basketball star Shaquille O’Neal to the launch event of the programme last week Saturday.

“It did not cost the State a cent,” Warner said. He said private sponsorship covered expenses. Warner opted to keep the source of that private sponsorship under wraps saying private sponsorship is exactly that: ‘private’.

Warner explained the competition, which begins July 21, will see the $1 million first prize awarded to a team. Half of that sum ($500,000) will be paid to team members over six installments. The other half will be spent on a project of the winning team’s choice. The contest will last five to six months per year over three years. In down time, coaching activities and training will take place.

Warner warned that participants charged with crime during the contest they will be disqualified. While admitting this could be unfair given the presumption of innocence, this was necessary given that the programme is meant to fight crime. He also said if, after the contest, a member of the winning team is charged, that member would not share in the prize money.

The programme will be in the following zones: North; North West; East; Deep South; South; Central A; Central B; North East; Tobago East and Tobago West. Each zone will have between four to seven teams allowing 50 communities across Trinidad and Tobago to have franchises.

There will be a steering committee with oversight including: Ministry of National Security; Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs; Ministry of Housing; Ministry of Community Development; Ministry of the People and Social Development; the National Basketball Federation of Trinidad and Tobago; the Association of Basketball Officials of Trinidad and Tobago; and regional representatives of the eight regions.

A flyer given out yesterday said the programme is “in conjunction with the Ministry of Housing, Ministry of Food Production Land & Marine Affairs, Ministry of Community Development and the Ministry of the People and Social Development.” The brochure bears a logo for the “Office of Law Enforcement Policy (OLEP)” and “Making Life Important”.

Yesterday’s brifing was attended by Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal and Sport Minister Anil Roberts.

« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 05:47:19 PM by Sando »

T&T Athletics: NGC provides $4m boost for track and field
sportsmax

The National Gas Company (NGC) in Trinidad and Tobago is committing $4 million annually to the National Association of Athletic Administrations (NAAA) for the next three years.

The money committed reflects an almost doubling of the funding over last year’s $2.3 million.

NGC president of Finance and Information Management Anand Ragbir said the company was satisfied that its support was in line with the stated priorities in the NAAA’s 2012-2016 strategic plan.

Those identified priorities were, improved governance, including accountability and capacity building among its member clubs, operational effectiveness and the development of corporate and other partnerships.

NAAA president Ephraim Serrette said the increased support would be of great benefit to track and field’s governing body.

“In the past we would have been planning with the hope of getting funding to do some of the programmes. It now leaves us with a better planning framework,” he said.

Trinidad and Tobago get USD 1 million for Champions League T20
The 2009 Champions LeagueT20 finalists leave for the sub-continent on Monday after two warm-up matches this week.
Reported by: Indo-Asian News Service

Port of Spain: The Trinidad and Tobago side has received USD 1 million from the government as it prepares to leave for India for the Champions League which begins next week.

The Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) would retain USD 500,000 to offset expenses related to the team's participation in the tournament while the other USD 500,000 will be shared among the players, reports CMC.

The 2009 CLT20 finalists leave for the sub-continent on Monday after two warm-up matches this week.

"We will be here cheering on for you all," said Juliana Boodram, secretary in the ministry of tourism, during a function on Wednesday.
"I want to urge you to play with pride, play with passion and make your country proud."

The Trinidad and Tobago will play one practice match in Ranchi before the start of the tournament on September 21.
They open their campaign against the Brisbane Heat at the same venue on September 22.

What usually happens is that they get into a crisis and rush to the MoS for more funds. If MoS don't pay, they rush to the press.
This is what I'm interested in. Where under Sancho's watch has the ministry paid for something that wasn't already in the budget / cabinet note?

There are several instances over the last four months where MoS approved funding for matches/camps etc and last minute TTFA requested additional funds. If all of these requests had been agreed, the pot would have been empty and the mens Gold Camp would not have happened and the women would not have competed (apparently). It is the opinion of people inside the MoS that once the funding is exhausted, if TTFA request additional funds and the Ministry cannot assist, TTFA will exert pressure via the media to force Govt into supporting. This cannot continue.

Shut yuh f00cking mouth FS and go with de shit yuh talking.

The 9 million got approve already, its not your position to put terms on it.

If de TTFA got the money and exhausted it then thats on them, not you.

So now they cant run to de press and as claim.

Yuh acting like you is Sancho oman? yuh know them oman always protecting they man wallet.

Sancho need to get a audit on Lifesports and de Brian Lara stadium.

Monkey really know what tree to climb.

If was me, ah run up in yuh office and plannass both of allyuh with meh 3 canal.

Allyuh to f00cking hypocritical. Thats why when Anil Roberts use to f00ck Central is good now.

« Last Edit: July 09, 2015, 08:05:09 AM by Sam »

Yuh acting like you is Sancho oman? yuh know them oman always protecting they man wallet.

If was me, ah run up in yuh office and plannass both of allyuh with meh 3 canal.

Allyuh to f00cking hypocritical. Thats why when Anil Roberts use to f00ck Central is good now.

Hi Bakes Sam  Don't you follow the news? Lifesport is under Ministry of National Security. Lara is under UDECOTT.  So, your plan is to give TTFA everything one time? And you honestly believe that they won't come back for more?  And, by the way, a Cabinet note is not a guarantee of payment, neither is a subvention. If Sancho was really how you say, he could just say f**k off.

So we getting a Gold Cup feed or not?

Hi Bakes Sam  Don't you follow the news? Lifesport is under Ministry of National Security. Lara is under UDECOTT.  So, your plan is to give TTFA everything one time? And you honestly believe that they won't come back for more?  And, by the way, a Cabinet note is not a guarantee of payment, neither is a subvention. If Sancho was really how you say, he could just say f**k off.

So if Lifesport is under Ministry of National Security, why Anil taking credit for it and why he was fired? And doh tell me is for de video alone, who pay to cut all de grass in de stadium and why Sancho at every venue making sure work is getting done?

Look, take de 9 mllion and pay off they arrears and then tell them to go f00ck off.

Why would a misinter here for 6 months act like he long term?

He time short like de rest of them.

I just fed up with de bullshit bra.

And Bakes not here, so you can roam free now and sell Sancho shit.

Allyuh should worry about Central FC.

How would you feel if I get a job in England as a foreigner and f00cking de English FA in return because my boss doh like them.

They woulda stone meh.

I eh saying give de TTFA unlimited money, just pay them what they owe and tell them to f00ck off.

At least they cant say anything bad or no one will listen to them or take them seriuors.

« Last Edit: July 09, 2015, 09:55:08 AM by Sam »

So if Lifesport is under Ministry of National Security, why Anil taking credit for it and why he was fired? And doh tell me is for de video alone, who pay to cut all de grass in de stadium and why Sancho at every venue making sure work is getting done?

Look, take de 9 mllion and pay off they arrears and then tell them to go f00ck off.

Why would a misinter here for 6 months act like he long term?

He time short like de rest of them.

I just fed up with de bullshit bra.

And Bakes not here, so you can roam free now and sell Sancho shit.

Allyuh should worry about Central FC.

How would you feel if I get a job in England as a foreigner and f00cking de English FA in return because my boss doh like them.

They woulda stone meh.

I eh saying give de TTFA unlimited money, just pay them what they owe and tell them to f00ck off.

At least they cant say anything bad or no one will listen to them or take them seriuors.

TTFA are the bunch of liars... why don't you ask them how much they collect in Jordan and for the Gold Cup? Aside from the money the MOS gave to them... ask them why they lying about how much money they're receiving from external sources but begging the MOS and putting unreasonable stipulations on them... Just to play the political game...

get rid of tim kee and get a transparent ttfa, right now we have liars leading our nation's football and they can't organize a fete match at the savannah without some lie or money passing under the table... dont let them fool you with their political game they are playing...

Good question Contro...

How much Jordan paid them, and I thought Jordan paid for the entire trip and fees because they wanted the TTFA FIFA vote?

I think this is as pertinent a question as the Jordan one...

I am not sure, maybe here

http://w.atch.me/watchCONCACAFgoldcuplive

Good question Contro...

How much Jordan paid them, and I thought Jordan paid for the entire trip and fees because they wanted the TTFA FIFA vote?

There was no fee from Jordan. They paid for hotel, meals, transportation, and round trip travel from London to Jordan.

Good question Contro...

There was no fee from Jordan. They paid for hotel, meals, transportation, and round trip travel from London to Jordan.

I wouldn't put my neck on the chopping block for that brother... TTFA had these expenses in their MOS allocation...  :o

Good question Contro...

I wouldn't put my neck on the chopping block for that brother... TTFA had these expenses in their MOS allocation...  :o
No, the Jordan trip only incurred return flights to London and two nights hotel in London for the Ministry.

Good question Contro...

No, the Jordan trip only incurred return flights to London and two nights hotel in London for the Ministry.

My bad... I was under the impression this was covered by MOS as well..