April 26, 2024, 05:25:09 PM

Author Topic: Jan-Michael Williams says thanks for SWO and Warrior Nation $upport.  (Read 4449 times)

Jan-Michael Williams says thanks for SWO and Warrior Nation $upport.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

In keeping with its objective to positively contribute to T&T football, the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) and the Warrior Nation (WN) have stepped forward in assisting a past servant of the men’s national football team, Mr. Jan-Michael Williams and his family.

The W Connection (WCFC) captain and former T&T goalkeeper was in a terrible state and in need of support and financial assistant after his fiancée, Candice Worrell was literally left fighting for her life at the St Clair Medical Centre in Port of Spain a few months running.

Though her condition has improved, the former beauty queen is still recovering at the Medical Centre after she was brutally assaulted and robbed outside her work place at 38 John Street, Montrose, Chaguanas earlier this year.

While her family pleads for financial assistance from the Minister of Tourism, Dr. Rupert T. Griffith and Chaguanas MP Jack Warner, the SWO and the Warrior Nation have contributed to the cause and made a $5,000.00 donation to the Williams’ family, with another event in their honor to be planned soon.

While the amount donated may not be a large sum, we hope that when combined with other donations it will help ease the financial burden placed on the family as a result of the aforementioned horrific occurrence.

Below are a few questions Jan Michael Williams was asked shortly after the presentation was made by our very own Patricia “Brown Sugar” Smart.

1. How has the incident with Candice affected your ability to represent W Connection.
It has been rough.  But I think the experience helped me to focus better on and off the field.

2. I read an article in the Express where Candice’s mom has stated that the family needs help with Candice’s medical bills?  What are your thoughts on the level of support from teammates, your club, other clubs, the general public etc.?
The support from the wider public has been very good.  It was a bit rough at first but as time went by the support got better and donations such as tonight are coming in and it’s really appreciated.

3. What are your thoughts on the crime situation in the country?
It is bad. I think the government should do more although within recent times I have seen an increase in the number of police patrols in various neighborhoods.  But I think that more could be done to catch these criminals.

4. How is your daughter Nevaeh doing?
(Pronounced Nay-vee-yah).   She is doing fine.  She will be 14 months in 2 days and she is just mischievous as ever. (chuckle)....

5. You played overseas for a while.  What was the experience like?
I enjoyed it.  I learned a lot having played in a number European countries.  Because of that experience I can share my knowledge with my teammates at W Connection.

6. Why didn't you remain playing overseas?
A number of reasons. I was in the process of purchasing/building a home in Trinidad and I felt I needed to be around physically. Then there is the problem of racism in Hungary with Ferencvárosi TC that affected me directly as a black goalkeeper and it was difficult to deal with at times.  Additionally, the situation with the club became untenable after a while and I felt the best move was to come back home to my club W Connection.

7. Do you have any plans for overseas trials (once Candice’s condition has stabilized)?
No.  Due to my age I don’t think it’s in my best interest to go back on trials etc. By the way, Candice actually spoke to her mother today albeit briefly. So it appears as though she is recovering slowly but steadily.

8. How has the experience of being named WCFC Captain been?
It’s been very good and I’m enjoying it immensely.

9. What are your thoughts on the state of football on a National level?
Ooooohhhhh!!!  That one is tricky.  I think that change is needed in the administration of football on a national level.   A step in the right direction was made by including someone like Anthony Harford and more people like him need to become involved.  But overall, the current football administration needs to be overhauled.

10. Have you ever visited the Socawarriors.net website?
An emphatic yes!!  It is my number one website.  I don’t get to go onto the internet very often, but when I do it is the first site I visit.  The site is a good source of information.  I really like the vibes there.   Oh yes I forgot to mention a special thanks to Flex personally and thanks to SocaWarriors.net/WarriorNation members for their love and support.

The SWO would like to wish Candice a complete and speedy recovery as we continue to keep her in our prayers. We would also like to thank Jan Michael Williams for taking the time to do this interview for us even in these tough times. We hope to see many follow our lead and come and support our fellow country man.

Finally, special thanks to the SWO/Warrior Nation members who made it possible.

Alexander
Blades
Zandolie
NUFF
JDB
TnTWC06
E-man
Cantona007
Football Supporter
dtool
Supporter
Flex Mohammed
Tallman
FF
StoreBayLimer
Sam
Brownsugar
lefty
royalian
Agent Jack Bauer
Feliziano
FireBrand
Soccerman

« Last Edit: May 10, 2012, 05:24:22 AM by Flex »

Apart from the other guys....

FYI - Tallman, Brownsugar, Firebrand, Football Supporter and Weary has been tremendous in this effort !!!

Thank you guys.

« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 07:43:55 PM by Flex »

Nuff blessings.

FYI - Tallman, Brownsugar, Firebrand, Football Supporter and Weary has been tremendous in this effort !!!

Thank you guys.

NO PROBLEM

So I didn't help make it possible too?  :(
Ah well it's the thought that counts.

Flex, that 5 000 dollars is it TT dollars?

VB, you donated to the site, not the caused in which it came out after you made your contributions, not your fault what so ever.

TTD..

VB, you donated to the site, not the caused in which it came out after you made your contributions, not your fault what so ever.

TTD..

I eh quite understand what you saying.  But I did donate to the site and later the cause.

At the end of the day we all stood up for a fellow Warrior.

So it was TT dollars eh?

Thank you guys.

NO PROBLEM

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!..... ;D

VB, please PM me if you have personal questions...

Great work guys.

How come coops didn't comment yet ?

Re: Jan-Michael Williams says thanks for SWO and Warrior Nation $upport.
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2012, 12:45:40 PM »
First of all it's heartening to hear about the progress she's making. That's fantastic. Hang in there!

now I couldn't resist:

10. Have you ever visited the Socawarriors.net website?
An emphatic yes!!  It is my number one website.  I don’t get to go onto the internet very often, but when I do it is the first site I visit.  The site is a good source of information.  I really like the vibes there.   Oh yes I forgot to mention a special thanks to Flex personally and thanks to SocaWarriors.net/WarriorNation members for their love and support.

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2012, 04:55:01 PM »
Good one E-man

« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2012, 01:41:48 PM »

« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2012, 01:53:19 PM »
Dias Brownsugar in de locker room wid all dem players dey??? She's ah brave woman ;D

« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2012, 02:10:51 PM »
Like yuhself Brownie!  ;D

« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2012, 02:52:25 PM »
Dias Brownsugar in de locker room wid all dem players dey??? She's ah brave woman ;D

Like she had a good time.  ;)

BTW Leonson overfit for he age eh?

« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2012, 03:37:40 PM »
Need to get dirty thoughts out of mind.

« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2012, 04:16:30 PM »
Wonderful Sugar. Congrats and God Bless!!!

« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2013, 06:56:12 AM »
FYI - Jan-Michael Williams is the goalkeeper coach for Club Sando.

« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2013, 08:14:21 AM »
Allyuh eh notice, Leonson Lewis looking like he have some sugar in he tank ?

« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2013, 09:54:33 AM »
Well done Lads and Ladies, cyar believe dais Leonson in 2013, amazing

« Reply #22 on: July 14, 2015, 02:06:04 AM »
Scan for Jan.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams was due to have a medical scan, but the initial prognosis is that his 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup has ended. The Soca Warriors will also play Mexico tomorrow minus England-born midfielder Andre Boucard, who picked up a second yellow card, amid scoring T&T's second goal against Cuba on Sunday.

Thirty-year-old Central FC keeper Williams was replaced by Marvin Phillips after 44 minutes of the Soca Warriors' 2-0 defeat of Cuba. T&T's first call keeper was injured making a crucial save against the Cubans and was stretchered off.

“It's a hamstring (injury),” said head-coach Stephen Hart. “I haven't gotten a medical report, but the initial report to take him off, was a pulled hamstring. Hart added that “losing Jan” would be a psychological blow to the team.

“We have very capable goalkeeping… I am not worried. But Jan is an inspirational leader,” Hart said. “He marshals the defence. He's an inspiration in the dressing room. He will stay with us in that sense,” Hart added, “But you lose something when you lose somebody like Jan Michael Williams.”

« Reply #23 on: July 14, 2015, 06:22:35 AM »
Tough on him and the team, but looking forward to seeing Marvin step up and fill the spot :)

« Reply #24 on: July 14, 2015, 09:16:11 AM »
Only 3 keepers was name in de provisional squad, so we cah call in back up.

« Reply #25 on: July 14, 2015, 08:52:54 PM »
At the end of the group stage you can replace up to 6 players.