March 28, 2024, 03:42:35 AM

Author Topic: Thread for Colombia Women vs T&T Women (14-Jul-2015)  (Read 6842 times)

Re: Thread for Colombia Women vs T&T Women (14-Jul-2015)
« Reply #30 on: July 14, 2015, 08:22:52 PM »
Thank you, Cordner. Exactly why I said two things: Colombia has GK issues and either Cordner or Mollon playing narrowly and closer to the goal will yield benefits.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 08:47:17 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #31 on: July 14, 2015, 08:23:00 PM »
Well yes, take dat
Cordner equalizer ...... Injured on the play

« Reply #32 on: July 14, 2015, 08:25:06 PM »
Still a lot of time to play with 5 minutes added on.

« Reply #33 on: July 14, 2015, 08:27:11 PM »
This will be a test of our game management. Very similar to the last few minutes v. Ecuador.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 08:29:41 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #34 on: July 14, 2015, 08:28:20 PM »
Conveniently lost my feed after we equalized  :cursing:

« Reply #35 on: July 14, 2015, 08:34:36 PM »
A game of two goals from GK errors.

Congrats T&T!!!!!

« Reply #36 on: July 14, 2015, 08:35:25 PM »
Looks like the final score is 1 - 1 after we equalized near the end of the game so well done to our Women Warriors.

Here is link to final game stats: http://results.toronto2015.org/IRS/en/football/results-women-a-05.htm

« Reply #37 on: July 14, 2015, 08:42:41 PM »
Now both of our teams face Mexico next. One with a mission of needing to win (the women) and the other with the mission of maturing from the experience. Only blot on the copybook this week is yesterday's unfortunate event (and the impasse between the MoS and TTFA).

Let's go, T&T! :wavetowel:

I hope the injured players have only minor concerns.

« Reply #38 on: July 14, 2015, 09:59:14 PM »
Congratulations ladies - lawd wish we had a chance at Ecuador - redemption is ah bitch - but say what this is the same Columbian team that buss up France?

Look nah this is our ladies World Cup - leh we play and show the world what could have been from this TnT!

« Reply #39 on: July 15, 2015, 03:05:26 AM »
Cordner rescues T&T as Women Warriors hold Colombia.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Kennya Cordner scored an 87th minute equalizer for Trinidad and Tobago against Colombia yesterday that spoiled the South Americans' victory party as both teams settled for shared points.

In their second match at the 2015 Pan American Games in the new CIBC Hamilton Pan Am Soccer Stadium in Canada, T&T came up with another tie, this time against World Cup Round of 16 finalist and group leader, Colombia.

The Soca Princesses fell behind in the 4th minute when Ingrid Vidal gave her side the early lead. T&T were persistent, and in the 87th minute Tobago-born striker Kennya Cordner came to the rescue when she pounced on a defensive error to clinically finish on goal.

T&T are in third place and must defeat Mexico on July 18th to advance to the semifinals. Ironically, T&T men's senior team also have a date with Mexico in a 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Group-C match-up. A draw today will see T&T finish in first place.

The only hiccup for both men and women's teams are, talented midfielder Tasha St Louis, like Andre Boucaud, will both miss their country's next matches because of recurring yellow-card cautions.

Results

Colombia  1  v  T&T  2
Vidal 4'    Cordner 87'

Teams

T&T: - Kimika Forbes; Brianna Ryce (Tasha St Louis 65th - Yellow 93), Rhea Belgrave, Arin King (Yellow 73), Lauryn Hutchinson, Patrice Superville, Janine Francois (Yellow 77), Maylee Atti-Johnson (capt) (Khadidra Debesette 63rd), Ahkeela Mollon, Mariah Shade (Shenelle Henry 78th), Kennya Cordner.

Coach: - Ross Russell.

Colombia: - Sandra Sepulveda; Natalia Gaitan (capt), Diana Ospina, Daniela Montoya, Ingrid Vidal (Carolina Pineda 72nd), Orianica Velasquez, Angela Clavijo, Katherine Arias, Tatiana Ariza (Isabella Echeverri 84th), Carolina Arias (Yellow 79), Maria Santos (Maria Usme 58th).

Coach: - Felipe Taborda.

Referee: - Marie Beaudoin (CAN).

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Colombia  2  1  1  0  2  1  4
Mexico  2  1  0  1  3  2  3
T&T  2  0  2  0  3  3  2
Argentina  2  0  1  1  3  5  1

« Last Edit: July 15, 2015, 06:29:56 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #40 on: July 15, 2015, 07:48:03 AM »
Cheap yellow card from St. Louis. Avoidable. Steups.

« Reply #41 on: July 15, 2015, 07:52:02 AM »
How did we look last night? Would you say an improvement from the first game?

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #42 on: July 15, 2015, 08:38:13 AM »

Interested to know as well...
Did Lady Andrade play for Colombia? Would have been nice to see how our defenders fared against her.

« Reply #43 on: July 15, 2015, 09:01:33 AM »
We defended well, but struggled in the attacking third of the field. Too many errands passes. I only saw the first half. But we have plenty of fortitude. This team has a certain will power to get a positive result every time so far.

« Reply #44 on: July 15, 2015, 09:54:02 AM »

Interested to know as well...
Did Lady Andrade play for Colombia? Would have been nice to see how our defenders fared against her.

Lady Andrade didn't play. The key figures for them last night were Vidal and Ospina. Yoreli Rincon, who is normally at the center of action, wasn't brought to Pan Ams ... she asked to be excused so that she could participate in her club's pre-season; she just signed with a club in Norway. So we did not face the most potent COL side. COL gave minutes to Tati Ariza who was a player on the margin during the WC, and I think the subs were also in that category.

How to evaluate this game? We got a favourable result. We had significant problems linking up play and maintaining possession of the ball. Sad to say, we struggled.

Technically the Colombians are better. They have crisper ball movement; found more success when they passed to feet rather than trying to play into space. We didn't defend well collectively, but COL lost the plot during the second half so we grew into the game (disjointed, but we grew). Thing is doh, we never really tested Sepulveda in goal ... we generally struggled to get close. And for me, that renders set plays all the more relevant.

We need to rethink how we approach set plays ... play to our strengths. I don't think our set plays do that. There has got to be more than balls floated over the top. We need to consider our success ratio on them.

Anyhow, this was a very different game from the ARG game. In the ARG game we resolved more problems immediately; last night we didn't have a clear playing identity and couldn't quite get that done consistently ... but the switches in personnel showed promise.

Last night the rain was pouring, Maylee got hurt, several things were out of sync. I would say that this COL game was easier to plan for, but there were some tactical deficiencies (example ... no pressing!!). We had some headless chicken moments. Not being harsh ... just being frank. Some players will shudder if they see the video.

Yet, I suspect had COL not scored early ... we might have had 3 points.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2015, 09:58:14 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #45 on: July 15, 2015, 10:23:16 AM »
 :beermug: Thanks for the re-cap. This team has a lot of potential and talent, if we can play consistently as a cohesive unit, we will force to be reckoned with.

« Reply #46 on: July 15, 2015, 12:06:36 PM »
Any highlights?

« Reply #47 on: July 15, 2015, 12:35:29 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/dSSbopLPphQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/dSSbopLPphQ</a>

« Reply #48 on: July 15, 2015, 04:31:11 PM »
:beermug: Thanks for the re-cap. This team has a lot of potential and talent, if we can play consistently as a cohesive unit, we will force to be reckoned with.

I dead on in agreement with seeker assessment....we get exposed time and time again on defence by colombian set plays
and especially their tactical awareness on the run

Man so much time dat vidal woman breeze troo , we defence look dishevelled ....we mid field was tight tho...nice passes in spaces
On a side note , I fine half of dat colombian squad have endomorph body types but dey still fast, matchin T&T pace on de ball easy

On the other  hand, what de highlights doh show is how de TT women fight...dey scrap for everything!! hard tackle passin on astroturf and dey get up limpin but gorne again.
Heads crashin in mid air for air balls..dey gettin up and still goin...dey tired and rain fallin sideways..dey still goin
Unlike de TT supporters who run when rain start...me and a few die hards take rain fuh dem too

As for Cordner..she hardcore..barkin orders, runnin both ends of the field, have the presence of mind  in lashin rain to capitalize on the colombian defensive lapse and tie it up...get injured on da play,stretchered off and come back on limpin tuh  finish
True Warrior!

Ah drive home soakin wet to mih draws well satisfy wit the effort

email allyuh cousin and tantie We need more supporters for the mexico game, dem colombian outnumber we three to one in the stands

« Reply #49 on: July 16, 2015, 08:18:56 AM »
Nuff respect Dutty! Way to brace the elements and support like a true die hard. I think this Mexico game could be intense, in light of the game last night.

« Reply #50 on: July 16, 2015, 08:34:42 AM »
Ditty, you talk about being outnumbered. When we play El Sal, Hondo, Mex, Guat or JA, Haiti in the US. then you realize how small we is.