March 28, 2024, 12:55:46 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (19-Jul-2015)  (Read 44582 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (19-Jul-2015)
« on: July 15, 2015, 09:11:57 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Panama 2015 Gold Cup quarter-final match at the MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford on the 19th of July 2015 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders

Mekeil Williams (Antigua GFC, Guatemala), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen, Belgium), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire, USA), Radanfah Abu Bakr (HB Koge, Denmark), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Aubrey David (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Yohance Marshall (Juventud Independiente, El Salvador).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge, UK), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo, Belgium), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Keron Cummings (North East Stars), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes, USA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava, Slovakia), Dwane James (North East Stars), Kevan George (Columbus Crew, USA).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (A.F.C. Bournemouth, UK), Jonathan Glenn (IBV, Iceland), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Rundell Winchester (Portland Timbers 2, USA), Kadeem Corbin (St. Ann’s Rangers).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Panama Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach - To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2015, 08:36:22 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs CRC/PAN Game (19-Jul-2015)
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2015, 09:33:21 AM »
PANAMA players carrying cards.

Adolfo Machado, Aníbal Godoy, yellow cards vs Haiti.

Jaime Penedo, Luis Tejada, Adolfo Machado, Luis Henríquez (2 yellows) vs Honduras.

Aníbal Godoy, yellow card vs USA.

So Aníbal Godoy and Adolfo Machado is out.

Costa Rica players carrying cards.

Joel Campbell, David Guzmán, Johan Venegas, yellow cards vs El Salvador.

David Guzmán, Celso Borges, yellow cards vs Canada.

So David Guzmán is out.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2015, 09:36:18 AM by Flex »

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (19-Jul-2015)
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2015, 08:48:01 PM »
It'll be hard but we must find a way to refocus for Sunday. Thsee games have proven that this team has the quality and character to do something special.  We must not this opportunity slip.

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2015, 09:01:39 PM »
Flex faster than CONCACAF website....I now gone to check who we playing next and the time.  Completely forgetting SWO better than any football website anywhere...... ;D

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2015, 09:06:05 PM »
Vybez it up fellas!

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2015, 12:59:00 AM »
Boucaud and Cyrus will be back. Licking my chops.  ;D

« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2015, 01:04:33 AM »
in my opinion the best way to beat these teams is to press them even if we are up by a margin. we have held off three time now and got scored on in two different matches, so i say instead of taking your foot off the pedal we press them to the end. no easing up because that is when we get in trouble. good luck warriors on sunday GW.

« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2015, 01:34:19 AM »
in my opinion the best way to beat these teams is to press them even if we are up by a margin. we have held off three time now and got scored on in two different matches, so i say instead of taking your foot off the pedal we press them to the end. no easing up because that is when we get in trouble. good luck warriors on sunday GW.

Yu damn right.

We try to defend a lead and we look stupid. Remember vs CR in the GC of 2000. Was leading easy. Tried to defend for th last 20 mnts and they were all over us and equalised. We then started to play football again and Mickey Trotman scored a Golden Goal.

We need to play our natural game or play from the midfield and don't allow them to live in our third. It's like a fighter on the ropes just taking lash again and again, some will get in.

If KJ hadn't scored that own goal we NEVER would've pressed for that fourth.
I understand what they are tryin to do but that sort of deep defending doesn't seem to work for us and we pay against better opposition.

« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2015, 05:31:44 AM »

Yu damn right.

We try to defend a lead and we look stupid. Remember vs CR in the GC of 2000. Was leading easy. Tried to defend for th last 20 mnts and they were all over us and equalised. We then started to play football again and Mickey Trotman scored a Golden Goal.

We need to play our natural game or play from the midfield and don't allow them to live in our third. It's like a fighter on the ropes just taking lash again and again, some will get in.

I understand what they are tryin to do but that sort of deep defending doesn't seem to work for us and we pay against better opposition.

I agree...

« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2015, 07:01:07 AM »
we press we score simple as dat work on d conditioning and play a pressin game talk done

« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2015, 07:06:15 AM »
I think coach Hart is the new little magician!

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2015, 07:29:48 AM »

Yu damn right.

I couldn't say it any better than that.  Well said!  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline CaribKaraoke

« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2015, 07:48:54 AM »

Yu damn right.

I couldn't say it any better than that.  Well said!  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Agree, Trinidad doesn't seem to be coached enough to know how to play with a lead against skilled teams...or against non-skilled teams.  We just need to play how we play all game. 

« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2015, 08:25:23 AM »
Flex faster than CONCACAF website....I now gone to check who we playing next and the time.  Completely forgetting SWO better than any football website anywhere...... ;D

« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2015, 08:39:47 AM »
2-0 TT is my prediction... :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2015, 10:27:38 AM »
ah want to beat panama real real bad...for what i consider a f#cking insult when they asked if their U23s could play our seniors..
yes i admire the strides they made over the last 5 years...but dont insult me.
ah want to beat them bad.

but now is not the time to get emotional..so...relax Big mag...relax.. ( but ah want tuh beat dem bad)
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 10:33:49 AM by Big Magician »

« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2015, 10:32:33 AM »
Let's not get to complacent guys.

We have a job to complete.

« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2015, 11:47:24 AM »
ah want to beat panama real real bad...for what i consider a f#cking insult when they asked if their U23s could play our seniors..
yes i admire the strides they made over the last 5 years...but dont insult me.
ah want to beat them bad.

but now is not the time to get emotional..so...relax Big mag...relax.. ( but ah want tuh beat dem bad)

I think a 2-0 is in order... Maybe 3

« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2015, 12:08:37 PM »
Be realistic

Yuh think it easy to press?

Even for a half?

To press you need supremely fit players, players that know how to keep the ball once they regain possession, not to mention players who know how to play off the ball.

You think we going to learn to do that consistently during a tournament?  Or a week camp prior to the tournament?

Teams that regularly employ the press have players who are accustomed to it.   Our players are not those players.

Maybe if the coaching staff had them like a club team....the way Gally had the Strike Squad back in 88 and 89.....day in and day out.....then maybe.

Pressing style eh easy.

And I guarantee....almost every team that is ahead....especially those that are ahead 3-2 after being 2-0 down...will play to try and defend the lead.....not attack more and leave themselves vulnerable.

« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2015, 12:46:51 PM »
Be realistic

Even for a half?

To press you need supremely fit players, players that know how to keep the ball once they regain possession, not to mention players who know how to play off the ball.

You think we going to learn to do that consistently during a tournament?  Or a week camp prior to the tournament?

Teams that regularly employ the press have players who are accustomed to it.   Our players are not those players.

Maybe if the coaching staff had them like a club team....the way Gally had the Strike Squad back in 88 and 89.....day in and day out.....then maybe.

Pressing style eh easy.

And I guarantee....almost every team that is ahead....especially those that are ahead 3-2 after being 2-0 down...will play to try and defend the lead.....not attack more and leave themselves vulnerable.

right except that we aren't very good at it....and looked more assured...when attempting to close down the mexican dan sitting back and letting them come at us......maybe a better tactic might be to hold the ball once we possess it... but it have danger in dat too.....but as yuh saw last night we bus is more like ah old bedford than ah greyhound so maybe we shouldn't use it until we upgrade

« Reply #20 on: July 16, 2015, 01:05:26 PM »
Be realistic

Even for a half?

Pressing style eh easy.

Nobody said all out attack, just not all out defence. Look at teh last five minutes vs Mex and you will understand.

« Reply #21 on: July 16, 2015, 01:17:21 PM »

Nobody said all out attack, just not all out defence. Look at teh last five minutes vs Mex and you will understand.

I see it vb.  But come on man.

Game in de dregs.  Men dead on dey feet.  They in front and looking to defend the lead.  ALL dey studyin is to boom kick out de box at that time.  Psychologically, they in defence mode.  Conversely....the opposition needs a result.  They in all out attack mode.  They too are tired and vulnerable to counter....but we not in that mental or physical state to take advantage.

It IS a fitness issue....both mental and physical.

But that not going to get fixed during a tournament. 

Completely understandable IMO

« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2015, 03:22:40 PM »

;)

« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2015, 04:03:40 PM »

Game in de dregs.  Men dead on dey feet.  They in front and looking to defend the lead.  ALL dey studyin is to boom kick out de box at that time.  Psychologically, they in defence mode.  Conversely....the opposition needs a result.  They in all out attack mode.  They too are tired and vulnerable to counter....but we not in that mental or physical state to take advantage.

it takes more energy to defend than to attack and in the end we still had to revert to attacking mode when we dropped two goals, so i say keep attacking but do it conservatively.

« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2015, 04:54:24 PM »

it takes more energy to defend than to attack and in the end we still had to revert to attacking mode when we dropped two goals, so i say keep attacking but do it conservatively.

That all sounds good in theory.  Reality is a different kettle of fish

Just like when a coach instruct a team to play higher up the field yet they do what they accustomed to doing...doh mind coach screaming at them to move up

Lemme see you play a 90 and attack with a 3-2 lead with 5 minutes to go.  And yuh get ketch up field attackin and de opposition counterin in de acres of space vacated because of that attack.  Yuh defenders bawlin fuh yuh to track back...but yuh jes cyah make. 

Tell them yuh stayin up because it take more energy to defend than attack. :D
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 05:08:39 PM by palos »

« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2015, 06:47:11 PM »
Fitness is the key to the puzzle. Look at Haiti they have been running for 90= minutes.
 What I like about this T&T team in this  tournament is that every time they attack they look like scoring.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #26 on: July 16, 2015, 06:49:20 PM »

That all sounds good in theory.  Reality is a different kettle of fish

Just like when a coach instruct a team to play higher up the field yet they do what they accustomed to doing...doh mind coach screaming at them to move up

Lemme see you play a 90 and attack with a 3-2 lead with 5 minutes to go.  And yuh get ketch up field attackin and de opposition counterin in de acres of space vacated because of that attack.  Yuh defenders bawlin fuh yuh to track back...but yuh jes cyah make. 

Tell them yuh stayin up because it take more energy to defend than attack. :D

Good to see some common sense finally.  Press for 90 minutes  ::)haha some of Allyuh men really different for real.

« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2015, 08:12:21 PM »
Looks like we finally getting our ABCs'= ADVERSITY.  BUILDS. CHARACTER

« Reply #28 on: July 16, 2015, 08:29:54 PM »
Haven't posted up in the forum for a while! Anybody know when and where the fellas training? Would like to catch a training session!

« Reply #29 on: July 17, 2015, 07:54:35 AM »

Yu damn right.

Agree, Trinidad doesn't seem to be coached enough to know how to play with a lead against skilled teams...or against non-skilled teams.  We just need to play how we play all game. 

Allyuh eh bet allyuh could talk shit nah. BraveHart has said in more than one post game interview that he didn't want them defending deep. It's the players that does fall back into old habits in these situations nothing to do with coaching