March 28, 2024, 08:16:16 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (19-Jul-2015)  (Read 44561 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (19-Jul-2015)
« Reply #60 on: July 18, 2015, 03:23:46 PM »
Comments from Stephen Hart, Kenwyne Jones, Yohance Marshall, Radanfah Abu Bakr, and Marvin Phillip regarding tomorrow’s Gold Cup Quarterfinal against Panama

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/iL5mKlFvTbo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/iL5mKlFvTbo</a>

« Reply #61 on: July 18, 2015, 05:09:28 PM »
TTFA teams up with CNMG to broadcast remaining Gold Cup matches.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Following the thrilling 4-4 tie with CONCACAF powerhouse, Mexico, which led to the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team winning Group C in the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association successfully brokered a deal between free to air station, CNMG, and CONCACAF to have the remaining Gold Cup matches broadcast live in Trinidad and Tobago; beginning with the quarterfinal match between the Soca Warriors and Panama on Sunday July 19th at 4:30 pm at Met Life Stadium in New Jersey.

According the TTFA President, Raymond Tim Kee, “We are extremely pleased to play a role in facilitating this arrangement between our regional governing body and CNMG. Football will bring this country together and the TTFA will continue to make efforts for the people of Trinidad and Tobago to watch our national teams in action.”

T&T progressed unbeaten in its three Group C Matches but local fans had to depend on Fox Soccer 2 on Cable or via live internet streams to follow the action but will now have the luxury of viewing the game via the local station following the TTFA’s dialogue which led to an agreement with CONCACAF.

Trinidad and Tobago has qualified for the Quarter-finals for the third time since the inaugural competition in 1991; the last two appearances under Stephen Hart.

About the Gold Cup

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the confederation’s premier event for national teams, crowning a champion every two years. Initially involving eight teams, the Gold Cup has developed into a competition of 12 nations, which qualify from each of CONCACAF’s three sub-regions: North America (three automatic entrants), Central America (Central American Cup) and the Caribbean (Caribbean Cup). It has reached exceptional levels of popularity, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of TV viewers throughout the world. The Gold Cup has been contested on 12 previous occasions.

Now, here's the thing. Unless something drastic has taken place, Ministry of Sport paid towards the rights to be purchased. I have no doubt that TTFA were instrumental in convincing CONCACAF to drop the price from US$40,000, but TTFA didn't pay a $ yet they give no kudos to Minister Sancho for securing the funds. Every one says they're sick of the infighting between Tim-Kee and Sancho, yet Tim-Kee still being dishonest and disrespectful to Sancho!

Are you sure, the money came from Sancho?

Let me confirm this cause I heard differently.

« Reply #62 on: July 18, 2015, 05:10:38 PM »
Ready for Panama!
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

'WARRIORS' EYE SEMI-FINAL SPOT

This Country’s Senior National Footballers are one victory away from entering the last four surviving teams at the CONCACAF Gold Cup. And unlike their three previous matches which included the unforgettable 4-4 draw with Mexico in the Group C decider last Wednesday in Charlotte, tomorrow’s quarter final clash with Panama is set to be their most important assignment yet.

The stage is set at the MetLife Stadium in New Jersey for a gripping contest. Two well poised teams, the “Soca Warriors” on an unstoppable drive thus far and the 2013 beaten finalists that are definitely an outfit not to underestimate.

T&T had a full session on Saturday morning before a scheduled walk through at MetLife later in the day. Hart used part of the session to work on the team shape and finishing as well as penalty takes.

Hart is vastly experienced at the Gold Cup, being the only coach alongside  USA’s Bruce Arena to reach the quarter final stage on four occasions (2007 and 2009 including a semi final with Canada and 2013 and 2015 with T&T).

He is also aware that while Panama are yet to qualify for a World Cup Finals, they are accustomed to the Gold Cup big stage, losing the 2013 Final to the US and reaching the semi finals in 2011.

T&T and Panama have met once before at the Gold Cup, in 2005 where both teams drew 2-2. T&T got goals from Marvin Andrews and Cornell Glen. Kenwyne Jones is the only surviving member from that squad while Panama’s Luis Tejada who netted a double in that match, is also in the current Panama team.

“For me they are the best team that really was in that group (current Gold Cup) in the sense that for me, they were unfortunate. They should have come away with a result in that US game,” Hart told TTFA Media after a morning session at the New York Jets Training Facility on Saturday morning.

“They are a team that are completely in balance  and by that I mean is that it’s more or less the same team that played in the last Gold Cup final and been together for quite a while so they have a really good understanding of each other,” he said

Hart stressed on the importance of his team being able to maintain its form and focus on Sunday.

“The mood seems to be good. The main concern was the sort of emotional state of the players because that was an extremely emotional game (against Mexico) for the players, mentally and  physically draining and the recovery times between games has not been ideal But so be it. We wanted to be in a quarter finals and we said we wanted to do one better which is to get into the semi final. But first things first, we have Panama tomorrow,” he said.

Satisfying for Hart is also the increase in start team selection options resulting from the way additional players have risen to the call during the tourney.

“There is competition for places and that’s the most important thing in a team. What was pleasing was the way that players stepped in ready to play, focused, totally energized and dynamic with a certain fighting spirit that brought about the draw. And I think if you are going to play international football and get results that is what is required,” Hart said.

All players are injury free and available with the exception of the injured goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams. T&T’s Keron Cummings and Sheldon Bateau are among the tournament’s top scorers with two goals each. USA’s Clint Dempsey and Mexican Oribe Peralta have three goals apiece.

Panama, which had two extra days to prepare for the contest. drew all of its first round matches with USA, Haiti and Honduras. Their head coach Hernan Dario Gomez said Panama will not change its style against T&T.

“Here the most important thing about this is that Panama maintains its style, it is composed, that we do not betray our style and that playing good football produces results as it has until now,” he said.

T&T’s match kicks off at 4:30pm while Mexico faces Costa Rica in the second match from 7:30pm.

« Reply #63 on: July 18, 2015, 06:10:41 PM »
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Following the thrilling 4-4 tie with CONCACAF powerhouse, Mexico, which led to the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team winning Group C in the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association successfully brokered a deal between free to air station, CNMG, and CONCACAF to have the remaining Gold Cup matches broadcast live in Trinidad and Tobago; beginning with the quarterfinal match between the Soca Warriors and Panama on Sunday July 19th at 4:30 pm at Met Life Stadium in New Jersey.

According the TTFA President, Raymond Tim Kee, “We are extremely pleased to play a role in facilitating this arrangement between our regional governing body and CNMG. Football will bring this country together and the TTFA will continue to make efforts for the people of Trinidad and Tobago to watch our national teams in action.”

T&T progressed unbeaten in its three Group C Matches but local fans had to depend on Fox Soccer 2 on Cable or via live internet streams to follow the action but will now have the luxury of viewing the game via the local station following the TTFA’s dialogue which led to an agreement with CONCACAF.

Trinidad and Tobago has qualified for the Quarter-finals for the third time since the inaugural competition in 1991; the last two appearances under Stephen Hart.

About the Gold Cup

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the confederation’s premier event for national teams, crowning a champion every two years. Initially involving eight teams, the Gold Cup has developed into a competition of 12 nations, which qualify from each of CONCACAF’s three sub-regions: North America (three automatic entrants), Central America (Central American Cup) and the Caribbean (Caribbean Cup). It has reached exceptional levels of popularity, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of TV viewers throughout the world. The Gold Cup has been contested on 12 previous occasions.

Now, here's the thing. Unless something drastic has taken place, Ministry of Sport paid towards the rights to be purchased. I have no doubt that TTFA were instrumental in convincing CONCACAF to drop the price from US$40,000, but TTFA didn't pay a $ yet they give no kudos to Minister Sancho for securing the funds. Every one says they're sick of the infighting between Tim-Kee and Sancho, yet Tim-Kee still being dishonest and disrespectful to Sancho!

Its T&T taxpayers money and not Sancho's money.

The people of T&T deserve to see their national team play live in the Gold Cup and the Minister of Sport should not have waited to hear that our team is doing well and have gotten out of the Group stage before ensuring that the T&T public can view their team live on local television.

Its time to place country and patriotism above politics.

« Reply #64 on: July 18, 2015, 08:10:38 PM »

Leh we start de pre game fete from now  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9z0j-8MUPg

« Reply #65 on: July 19, 2015, 02:53:35 AM »
you all please don't dog the lads if we were to lose this game vs pana for the simple fact that we have over achieved in this tournament thus far given the preparations and the resources that was available to the senior team. it goes to show that if our administration the private sector and the government was truly serious about advancing football we could only imagine how far we could reach if these groups were to work in tandem with each other, maybe the sky would be the limit.

just remember that panama is a very good team and we are in the advance stage of this competition, so lets not exceed our expectation and instead try to be realistic and not get besides our selves.  good luck warriors and may god be with you.

« Reply #66 on: July 19, 2015, 03:42:14 AM »
Pullstones I get your point...and I agree with everything you said...I want to add something tho..yes panama is a very good team...but they taking ah licks today from another very good team!!! Lehhhweeee go!!! This bunch hungryyyyy

« Reply #67 on: July 19, 2015, 04:08:21 AM »
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

About the Gold Cup

Are you sure, the money came from Sancho?

Let me confirm this cause I heard differently.

FS, from my understanding, the MOS was not involved.

Can you clarify your statement?

Offline toonmili

« Reply #68 on: July 19, 2015, 05:08:17 AM »
I agree that the money is from the people of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and not any Government minister.   And if they did secure money from MOS I don't see they need to thank them publicly everytime.  It is a national team.  The ministry is supposed to provide funding and make sure our guys are comfortable while they represent the country.  If they get corcorporate sponsors then they can go out of their way to thank them. Also as far as I knowknow if CNMG facilitated the deal then that would be the ministry of communication (or something like that)  and they can be thanked and praised for supporting the team since it is not the job that ministry to promote sports and the minster could have easily put the money towards something else.

« Reply #69 on: July 19, 2015, 05:14:45 AM »
I agree that the money is from the people of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and not any Government minister.   And if they did secure money from MOS I don't see they need to thank them publicly everytime.  It is a national team.  The ministry is supposed to provide funding and make sure our guys are comfortable while they represent the country.  If they get corcorporate sponsors then they can go out of their way to thank them. Also as far as I knowknow if CNMG facilitated the deal then that would be the ministry of communication (or something like that)  and they can be thanked and praised for supporting the team since it is not the job that ministry to promote sports and the minster could have easily put the money towards something else.

Well said toonmili.

Sancho acting like the money is coming from his pocket. Why didn't they bring the games since the group stage then?

And FS remember, this is our country and you are a welcome guest here, just be careful not to get carried away with your position, please, it hurts to know that a foreigner could talk like this all of a sudden and not to long ago he was totally a different person.

Central FC was a victim of government (the current one) abuse for a long time, so he knows the feeling.

« Reply #70 on: July 19, 2015, 08:15:37 AM »
What time is the game ,flex did not say .

« Reply #71 on: July 19, 2015, 08:36:03 AM »
What time is the game ,flex did not say .

4:30 pm I think.....

« Reply #72 on: July 19, 2015, 09:05:51 AM »
Thanks ,
On a side note steupppsss am working till 7 ,hopefully we get a full dl somewhere damn.

« Reply #73 on: July 19, 2015, 09:11:23 AM »
Thanks ,
On a side note steupppsss am working till 7 ,hopefully we get a full dl somewhere damn.

Showing on sportsnet world brother in Canada.. They will show the replay tomorrow ... You can subscribe to it if you have Rogers or bell.. For the tournament ...

Channel 1420 and 420 on bell
« Last Edit: July 19, 2015, 09:21:33 AM by Controversial »

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #74 on: July 19, 2015, 09:18:50 AM »
Thanks ,

"T&T’s match kicks off at 4:30pm while Mexico faces Costa Rica in the second match from 7:30pm."

« Reply #75 on: July 19, 2015, 09:40:30 AM »
Random question. For next year's Centennial Copa America, would reaching the semi-finals mean we qualify? USA, Mexico, Costa Rica and Jamaica are already qualified for that tournament.

« Reply #76 on: July 19, 2015, 09:56:49 AM »
Random question. For next year's Centennial Copa America, would reaching the semi-finals mean we qualify? USA, Mexico, Costa Rica and Jamaica are already qualified for that tournament.

I think we have to play Haiti in a playoff match to determine if we will play in that tournament.

JA qualified after winning the Carib Cup and Costa Rica qualified after winning the Central American Cup

« Reply #77 on: July 19, 2015, 10:15:52 AM »
Hey BraveHart, yuze a good tactician.

I wonder how you go select the right people for this job considering this is it!, the need to neutralize those Panamanian speedsters down the wings, the possibility of extra time or penalty kicks. Do we put Cyrus on the wing (L or R) with the most potent Panamanian speedster and move Aubrey to the R side as he may have a better L foot play. When Justin Hoyte is available and is on the R, Cyrus plays L as he is "Mr anywhere" defender. Do we play Abu or Marshall?. Do we play Peltier or Cato frst. If Catos subs Peltos or Peltos subs Catos, whom do we wish to be there in case of penalty kicks. Should we leave Guerra as supasub in case of penaties and need for fresh legs around de box in de last 20 mins. Does Kevan George start at the expense of Boucaud or Hyland because of his high work-rate. Where do we start?
Presshah! Presshah like this because of difficult choices, is where we want to be a with a deep squad. Imagine we eh even missing much in defense: Carlysle Mitchell, Power, Primus, Julius (now injured), Gavin Hoyte, Big Hoyte, Gabriel and JLloyd Samuel although the wing backs need some more depth so that if something happens to Cyrus we just sail on. Here nah, what leh we just go for it man in a 4-4-2 ...

Marvin
                                    Cyrus,  Marshall (just pipping Abu due to speed), Bateau, Aubrey.
                                            Peltier,  Boucaud,    Hyland,  Joevin
                                                          Kenwyne,  Cummings.

Subs x 3: Guerra for Cummings. Cato for Peltier. Rundell for midfielder if we fall behind with 15 mins to go.
Subs on standby: Abu for a central dfender. Foncette in case Marvin gets hurt. Glenn in case Kenwyne gets hurt.
? First five penalty takers: Jones, Hyland, Joevin, Bateau, Cato (if Peltier gets subbed by him)
« Last Edit: July 19, 2015, 10:22:13 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #78 on: July 19, 2015, 10:59:57 AM »
Today is the day fellas!  :challenge: :bringiton: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: Hope to see some of you there!  #forAkeem

« Reply #79 on: July 19, 2015, 12:59:18 PM »
Still not clear on the cards situation. Are all cards cleared after the first round?

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #80 on: July 19, 2015, 01:25:27 PM »
I would like to see Phillip- Cyrus Marshall Bateau Aubrey - Hyland George- Cato Cummings Joevin- Kenwyne

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #81 on: July 19, 2015, 02:00:31 PM »
STARTING FORMATION
1 MARVIN PHILLIP
3 JOEVIN JONES
4 SHELDON BATEAU
5 DANEIL CYRUS
6 RADANFAH ABU BAKR
8 KHALEEM HYLAND
9 KENWYNE JONES
13 CORDELL CATO
17 MEKEIL WILLIAMS
19 KEVAN GEORGE
20 KERON CUMMINGS

« Reply #82 on: July 19, 2015, 02:09:06 PM »
Any live links showing the build-up to the game folks?

« Reply #83 on: July 19, 2015, 02:09:27 PM »
Warm up in progress, stadium sparse. Lots of unfilled seats at the moment.

« Reply #84 on: July 19, 2015, 02:20:59 PM »
Field being watered following the warm-up.

« Reply #85 on: July 19, 2015, 02:22:00 PM »
Still not clear on the cards situation. Are all cards cleared after the first round?

I believe it is all single yellow cards.  If you picked up a second in the last group game you serve a ban.

« Reply #86 on: July 19, 2015, 02:26:07 PM »

I believe it is all single yellow cards.  If you picked up a second in the last group game you serve a ban.

I find for a tournament of up to possibly 6 games they should have cleared cards for anyone carrying one after the first 3 games.

« Reply #87 on: July 19, 2015, 02:27:58 PM »
hey anyone have a stream link?

« Reply #88 on: July 19, 2015, 02:35:35 PM »
First time since WC 2006 I seeing T&T on live Canadian TV.  :wavetowel:

« Reply #89 on: July 19, 2015, 02:40:15 PM »
cnmg showin it but no live commentry from d game so no atmosphere from d game steups not sounds nutten............ let me find a stream