March 28, 2024, 05:53:28 AM

Author Topic: How good was Marvin Faustin?  (Read 3988 times)

How good was Marvin Faustin?
« on: July 15, 2015, 02:40:17 PM »
Was talking T&T football with a few breddrins de other day and underrated players came up.  Who is the most underrated T&T footballer from the 80's to this day?

One man say Rougier

A nex man swear is Dog

Another say KJ

Then a man say Faustin and everybody say...NAH.....Faustin was a bad balla

BUT

Breddrin went on to make the point that Faustin was always in the shadow of Latas, Yorke, Leonson, Nixon, Nakhid, Dwarika etc.  Whenever talk about boss T&T teams come up...he name hardly, if ever get mention.

So......how good was de Marvellous one?  I for one thought he was a player kinda before his time....in local ball at least.

An attacking midfielder that just slotted in anywhere...but mostly at wingback

But ah could see the relation in terms of him being underrated...certainly compared to his peers.

Thoughts?

Re: How good was Marvin Faustin?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2015, 03:04:42 PM »
He was damn good. Had the qualities of a modern day wingback even back then.

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2015, 03:08:33 PM »
Saw Faustin in Germany, was unbelievable how fit he still seemed, as if he hadn't aged at all.  As a Barataria man myself, yeah, he was damn good  ;D  Add Alas to de equation  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2015, 03:10:35 PM »

Would you consider him underrated?

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2015, 03:22:28 PM »

Would you consider him underrated?

I doh think he was underrated per se. I more feel people may have expected him to reach further in his career like some of the names you mentioned. But back then it wasn't easy to get to play outside.

« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2015, 03:26:30 PM »
Faustin for T&T

« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2015, 03:42:47 PM »
look at skilled players lord have mercy

« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2015, 04:07:05 PM »

Forget skilled players...look at the crowd. The oval was ram for that game..Good times. :beermug:

I know they are not on the same level as yet, but ah seeing a bit of Faustin in Joven Jones. Can attack and defend with confidence.

« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2015, 04:10:18 PM »
Nice retro clip dey Flex  :)

Offline amwood

« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2015, 01:55:04 AM »
Extremely good! Could play anywhere on the pitch...

« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2015, 03:04:44 AM »
Was a damn good player! "utility"  is the word. Could play anywhere and real good technique. Could of gone further but had some personal issues that hinder his progress. Anyone who underrate him need a base ball bat to the head.   

« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2015, 08:06:09 AM »
Yes he was underrated due to the fact that he did not reach further. If he had gotten a break he would not have looked back.
Possibly one of TnT's most loved players. Right up there with all the top names of his era and beyond.

« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2015, 08:31:22 AM »

CO-SIGNNNNN

« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2015, 08:32:10 AM »
Nice retro clip dey Flex  :)

CO-SIGNNNNN

« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2015, 01:27:58 PM »
During the 90s I always stated that Faustin and Hutson Charles always seemed to be not truly appreciated by the TT public but in a squad of Latas, Yorke, Nkhid, Dwarika, Nixon and Rougier, I guess people noticed the flashier players.

But those two fellas had real good skills.

« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2015, 01:48:01 PM »
During the 90s I always stated that Faustin and Hutson Charles always seemed to be not truly appreciated by the TT public but in a squad of Latas, Yorke, Nkhid, Dwarika, Nixon and Rougier, I guess people noticed the flashier players.

But those two fellas had real good skills.

Add Kerry Jamerson too

I still wonder to this day if we had Verron Skinner and David Nakhid on that 1989 Strike squad team....where we would have gotten

« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2015, 03:13:30 PM »
You call two of my favorite players of that time.. Hutson Charles and Marvin.  Will always remember the goal Charles score against the USA in WCQ.

I would say they were both under appreciated but not underrated. Also, I always thought that Marvin got the Marvelous added, because of Marvin Hagler
Do you think if they were playing now they would be in T&T, or would have gotten a contract outside?

« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2015, 03:44:42 PM »
KERRY JAMERSON

HUTSON CHARLES

« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2015, 03:50:49 PM »
He was pretty good, but Dog will always be my favorite :)

« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2015, 03:55:08 PM »
You call two of my favorite players of that time.. Hutson Charles and Marvin.  Will always remember the goal Charles score against the USA in WCQ.

I would say they were both under appreciated but not underrated. Also, I always thought that Marvin got the Marvelous added, because of Marvin Hagler
Do you think if they were playing now they would be in T&T, or would have gotten a contract outside?

Depends. I'm confident they would've gotten trials. Whether that would have translated into contracts....especially with bigger european clubs...is debateable.

Both were technically sound, fit, and had tremendous work rates.  Not sure about the strength side of the game though.  Then there's the mental side which you can never really tell.

Remember....even my favourite player ever...Russell Latapy....was rejected in England both at Villa and at Bradford City for being "too small".  Bobby Robson had the insight to bring him to Porto and the rest was history.  But even then.....that was the only truly "big club" Latas excelled at.  Boavista and Hibs were decent mid tier teams.  Rangers was a big club but by the time he went there, he was kind of on the decline in his playing career.

Offline amwood

« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2015, 11:59:06 PM »
John Gregory would have signed Russel had Dwight not signed for Manchester United. As soon as Dwight moved, Gregory's interest in latapy ended. Reports at the time indicated that he was in the verge of being offered a contract - such was the impressive nature of his performance in closed door games...

Offline BESBRAHN

• Football is life!
« Reply #21 on: July 18, 2015, 10:40:39 PM »
Faustin was probably the greatest fullback i have ever seen for T&T. Unbelievably comfortable on the ball, great going forward and defending. Loads of skill and had a bullet on him. Do not if anyone remembered or saw his goal for Trintoc vs Defence force in Arima Municipal stadium where he ended up on the right side...got a pass, with ball bouncing a defender rushed in, he collected a reverse cap and when the ball went behind the player Faustin hit a left foot volley up in the jep nest from a ridiculous angle about 30 metres out. Also, one of his best goals is the shot he scored from the right byline in the intercol final for Sando Tech against Arima Senior Comp. Blazed it in while the keeper was looking for a cross..

« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2015, 06:26:13 AM »
BBP had a right back from the junior team that Marvin was grooming, got called for junior nationals one time I believe, point he was also a true team player, mentor and motivator.

When army, trintoc come to de mang dey used to be panickin!

« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2015, 02:01:28 PM »
Faustin was the best left back trinidad had since the 1980's not seen another one nearly as good as him.

Imagine Faustin compared to Williams who play left back yesterday.

apples and oranges.