March 28, 2024, 04:25:41 PM

Author Topic: Keron Cummings Thread.  (Read 39826 times)

Keron Cummings Thread.
« on: July 15, 2015, 08:39:03 PM »
The last Cummings that scored a double against Mexico was Gally. See clip. Well done Keron.

« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 07:29:00 AM by Flex »

Re: The last Cummings that scored a double against Mexico
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2015, 08:43:08 PM »
Nice reminder Flex! :-)

Keron Cummings Thread.
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2015, 01:53:42 AM »
‘Ball Pest’ Keron.
T&T Express.

Friends and teammates call him “Ball Pest”.

And Cummings says he is willing to live up to his nickname by pestering opposing players. He did so against Cuba at the CONCACAF Gold Cup on Sunday, closing down their midfielders and not allowing them to thread through balls at a time when T&T strove to preserve their lead.

“They call me Ball Pest, so I willing to go out and work for meh national team and put them back on the map where they supposed to be,” he said.

Cummings, hails from Petit Valley, and has been one of the outstanding players of the 2014-2015 local Pro League season. Playing on a North East Stars team minus a true attacker since the departure of Trevin Caesar for the USA, Cummings has often been pushed forward with great success. He is also an astute dead-ball specialist.

Cummings has always been talented, but said to be undisciplined, resulting in him bouncing around the Pro League between several teams, including W Connection and San Juan Jabloteh, before finally getting serious under the guidance of disciplinarian Angus Eve at North East Stars. He has also been on a couple of youth national teams and had a previous call-up to the seniors as well.

His newly found maturity has landed Cummings a spot on the senior national team and head coach Stephen Hart showed confidence in him with a second half run against Cuba.

“Ah had a nice lil (Pro League) season and a get call back to the national team. Is a good experience coming back into the team. Ah mean, ah work hard for it, ah thankful for it,” Cummings said. “It’s a good experience being with Kenwyne Jones, being with Boucard, being with Hyland, because ah grow up playing together with some of them.”

« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 05:55:13 AM by Flex »

Re: Keron Cummings Thread.
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2015, 06:09:14 AM »
Played well against Cuba as a midfielder and had a wonderful game against Mexico scoring two goals. Is Hart responsible for this switch , if the answer is Yes then credit must be given to the coach for recognizing this talent. Someone said in another post that he has sown up the midfield position. I like him up front.

« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2015, 06:17:16 AM »
Rumour has it that he has matured a lot. He was released by Connection and then Central for playing fete match and minor league football. Graham Rix was really frustrated by him and could never understand how a guy with so much talent would prefer to play minor league than focus on being a professional.

It's good to see that he persevered. I remember his last words to me when he left Central. He said "Mr Harrison, I'm gonna straighten myself out and come back to Central" I heard he was thinking about doing just that this season, so, BallPest...the door is always open!!

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2015, 06:24:06 AM »
Rumour has it that he has matured a lot. He was released by Connection and then Central for playing fete match and minor league football. Graham Rix was really frustrated by him and could never understand how a guy with so much talent would prefer to play minor league than focus on being a professional.

It's good to see that he persevered. I remember his last words to me when he left Central. He said "Mr Harrison, I'm gonna straighten myself out and come back to Central" I heard he was thinking about doing just that this season, so, BallPest...the door is always open!!

I think you've lost him.

« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2015, 06:52:48 AM »

I think you've lost him.

I think we can't afford him lol

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2015, 08:59:32 AM »

I think you've lost him.

Lol, yea...I think his price tag just got a little too big for us but it's good to see him turn it around. Great story Supporter.

« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2015, 09:10:23 AM »
FS, who is the coach for Central? Your CCL games are coming up soon.

« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2015, 09:20:19 AM »
how old is Ball Pest ??..ive seen him in the pro league a couple times...but nothing like this at all...very very impressed...

very expensive left foot

« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2015, 09:56:39 AM »
He's 27 according to the info out there. Also seeing that he's been linked (or a smartman is presenting that he's linked to Pan American Calcio). This entire script is predictable.

My advice: hold strain soldier, the cavalry coming. Doh make no sudden moves. Yet.

« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2015, 10:03:31 AM »
I wouldn't be surprised to see a few MLS teams make a pitch.  Tallman really did say he have something to offer after watching the closed door Haiti game.

« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2015, 12:54:10 PM »

I think you've lost him.

Lol, yea...I think his price tag just got a little too big for us but it's good to see him turn it around. Great story Supporter.

If he's truly left minor league behind, my respect for him as a player has grown even more. And, he's a nice guy too!

« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2015, 01:09:32 PM »
Minor league not easy to leave nuh

In his post match interview, he was asked what was the difference in the team for the 2nd half.

First thing out his mouth was..."the crowd".  Then he mentioned his teammates etc

This is a major item that hinders the development of the Pro League and helps to make it unattractive to players.

Players in every sport everywhere love to perform before a crowd.  Hostile or not.  It's where you get your validation.  Not just sports people, but performers in every realm.

It really comes down to very simple and fundamental stuff.

Respect
Admiration
Love/Hate
Appreciation
$$$

You get all that in Minor League football. Used to get it in Intercol...maybe still do.   Not necessarily the same in Pro League

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2015, 01:10:22 PM »
Impressive stuff so far. Needs to keep focused and keep progressing... Would be great to see an MLS team pick him up. It's crazy how much Joevin Jones has developed while in the MLS. His mentality is stronger, his physique is that of a pro footballer and his overall play has drastically improved.

MLS is at a Concacaf level. We need our stand out local players to be at least at that level...the likes of Cummings, Guerra, Rundell Winchester etc.. It's a great league for development and also a much better showcase for Europe.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 01:12:01 PM by Banter Banton »

« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2015, 01:13:44 PM »
Impressive stuff so far. Needs to keep focused and keep progressing... Would be great to see an MLS team pick him up. It's crazy how much Joevin Jones has developed while in the MLS. His mentality is stronger, his physique is that of a pro footballer and his overall play has drastically improved.

MLS is at a Concacaf level. We need our stand out local players to be at least at that level...the likes of Cummings, Guerra, Rundell Winchester etc.. It's a great league for development and also a much better showcase for Europe.

Re: Joevin Jones.....2 words....professional environment.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2015, 01:41:37 PM »

Yup exactly my point. It will do Guerra the world of good to be there

« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2015, 01:48:59 PM »
Minor league not easy to leave nuh

In his post match interview, he was asked what was the difference in the team for the 2nd half.

First thing out his mouth was..."the crowd".  Then he mentioned his teammates etc

This is a major item that hinders the development of the Pro League and helps to make it unattractive to players.

Players in every sport everywhere love to perform before a crowd.  Hostile or not.  It's where you get your validation.  Not just sports people, but performers in every realm.

It really comes down to very simple and fundamental stuff.

Respect
Admiration
Love/Hate
Appreciation
$$$

You get all that in Minor League football. Used to get it in Intercol...maybe still do.   Not necessarily the same in Pro League

Exactly.

« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2015, 02:31:54 PM »

Yup exactly my point. It will do Guerra the world of good to be there

That is if he get a next game this tournament.

« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2015, 02:39:57 PM »

People can say what they want about minor league. When you playing with the crowd right around the field, the emotion and adrenaline is primary. Validation is secondary as far as I concern.

I play in St.Joseph Savannah. Eddie Hart, St James Infirmary(Poor House), Red Hill, Dabadie, Trou Macaque. All them community league is just adrenaline. If this current proleague had that, then they will be well on their way to be a success. I don't know why they can't get crowds. They over 10 yrs old, they get govt subvention, but they don't draw the crowd of the old POSFL,SFL, SFA, NFL, etc and the days of ASL and them. This league is an independent league. They are not run by the TTFA. So what is their problem.

But if a player signs a contract with a pro club, he has no right playing in minor league. punto final.

« Reply #20 on: July 16, 2015, 03:16:36 PM »

People can say what they want about minor league. When you playing with the crowd right around the field, the emotion and adrenaline is primary. Validation is secondary as far as I concern.

I play in St.Joseph Savannah. Eddie Hart, St James Infirmary(Poor House), Red Hill, Dabadie, Trou Macaque. All them community league is just adrenaline. If this current proleague had that, then they will be well on their way to be a success. I don't know why they can't get crowds. They over 10 yrs old, they get govt subvention, but they don't draw the crowd of the old POSFL,SFL, SFA, NFL, etc and the days of ASL and them. This league is an independent league. They are not run by the TTFA. So what is their problem.

But if a player signs a contract with a pro club, he has no right playing in minor league. punto final.

I think it works both ways with Pro League. In the stadiums, supporters are so far away from the action they don't feel the buzz, plus people are spread wide apart. Those same 300 at a minor league game would be bumping shoulders and be up close to the action. Same with players. In minor league they can feel the buzz from the crowd. The only good thing about our stadiums from a players perspective is that you can take a corner without being pelted by bottles of urine!!

« Reply #21 on: July 16, 2015, 03:18:57 PM »

how could you get the crowds when games are played on a neutral ground tens of miles away from home supporters? even the premier league has home grounds, whitehart lane, anfield, tyne side, wareside, goodison park , bramall lane, ewood park, portman road, the hawthorns. these places are all situated in or around the city center and well within walking distance.

the pro league has to find ways of bringing the games into the community where after a game the home supporters could gather at a bar or on the home pitch and celebrate a victory or drown their sorrows in a neighborhood pub.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 03:55:34 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2015, 03:36:33 PM »
This man scored 2 of the best goals i've seen from any tnt squad.

« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2015, 04:02:49 PM »

how could you get the crowds when games are played on a neutral ground tens of miles away from home supporters? even the premier league has home grounds, whitehart lane, anfield, tyne side, wareside, goodison park , bramall lane, ewood park, portman road, the hawthorns. these places are all situated in or around the city center and well within walking distance.

the pro league has to find ways of bringing the games into the community where after a game the home supporters could gather at a bar or on the home pitch and celebrate a victory or drown their sorrows in a neighborhood pub.

It can be done. I have said before. Jabloteh and Caledonia should be playing at a field constructed in Aranguez. There is enough room in Aranguez to build a 5000 mini stadium(possibly turf field). These 2 teams are about 5 miles apart. Rangers and DF can play in the stadium. NE need a field in Grande. Not a massive field. You mean to say they can't buy a piece a land somewhere in Grande. What about Ojoe rd. Central and Connection have multiple options. Club Sando can play in Skinner Park.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #24 on: July 16, 2015, 06:46:15 PM »
If the government serious and they want to see the pro league take it to another level they have to grant each team a community ground and install stands for 5000 , a quality pitch, dressing rooms , equipment room, administrative offices and bathrooms for spectators...also a training pitch very close to the main ground. Add one more franchise to make it 10 teams and have Friday night football. Each club lacks identity. I guarantee you each home game will sell out. Charge 20$ a game for the first season and each team can start to make money via gate receipts, eventually merchandise and the more the league grows then a possible tv deal will be another income generator.

Crowds and atmosphere raise the intensity levels 100% and creates a better brand for the pro league. Sponsors can see ROI with 5000 people week in week out.

That would be a fantastic gift from the government to Football development in Trinidad and Tobago. It is a worthy investment.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 06:53:57 PM by Banter Banton »

« Reply #25 on: July 16, 2015, 06:51:41 PM »
plenty room for improvement.
He can shoot but he is not consistent.

one minute he wipping a deadly cross next minute he crossing behind the goal.

At this level in addition to having ability you have to be consistent.

« Reply #26 on: July 16, 2015, 07:22:42 PM »
T&T at Mexico 2009-06-10 : Goal by Hayden Tinto

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/N5uZsHK4TGE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/N5uZsHK4TGE</a>

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #27 on: July 16, 2015, 08:06:56 PM »
If the government serious and they want to see the pro league take it to another level they have to grant each team a community ground and install stands for 5000 , a quality pitch, dressing rooms , equipment room, administrative offices and bathrooms for spectators...also a training pitch very close to the main ground. Add one more franchise to make it 10 teams and have Friday night football. Each club lacks identity. I guarantee you each home game will sell out. Charge 20$ a game for the first season and each team can start to make money via gate receipts, eventually merchandise and the more the league grows then a possible tv deal will be another income generator.

Crowds and atmosphere raise the intensity levels 100% and creates a better brand for the pro league. Sponsors can see ROI with 5000 people week in week out.

That would be a fantastic gift from the government to Football development in Trinidad and Tobago. It is a worthy investment.

@Banter Banton --- I'm not trying to fight-you-down, but why should any government fund this private enterprise, though?  Last time I checked, the Pro League was a private venture.  If after 10 years, that private venture don't know how to fill seats at its match-venues, then the issue is really with the people who own and run that private venture.  Added to that is the fact that no government knows how to properly run or manage a business efficiently, so one would run the risk of having the blind leading the blind, if the government decide to spend money on granting land, and building stadiums, for private organizations that haven't as yet gotten their act together.

What I might agree with though, is maybe POSSIBLY some sort of temporary joint-venture between some of the Pro League teams, and the government, whereby the government could maybe fund-half the cost of any newly built fields/stadiums, and the Pro League teams fund the other half.  The government funding could be secured via floating new issue TT Govt Bonds in the market, for the express purpose of building the new venues for those teams.  Each team involved in the JV, will have to re-pay those funds to the tax-payers over the course of 10 to 20 years.

Any default, would simply mean that the Government would take-over the defaulting team, or have an independent firm manage the team until any payment issues are resolved etc. 

There are numerous other ways to structure such deals -- 50-50 JV, 60-40 JV, and 80-20 JV etc etc etc.  And of course with various clauses and covenants specific to each deal.       

Regardless, there would need to be full accountability in any deal in which tax-payer funding is procured to help fund any aspect of a private enterprise.
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #28 on: July 16, 2015, 08:21:08 PM »
Yea it has to be a joint venture...the pro league cannot do it on its own.

« Reply #29 on: July 16, 2015, 08:43:43 PM »
Yea it has to be a joint venture...the pro league cannot do it on its own.

So what allyuh saying, the pro-league is a mirror image of the TTFA??