March 28, 2024, 07:20:07 AM

Author Topic: Keron Cummings Thread.  (Read 39810 times)

Offline Swima

Re: Keron Cummings got shot this morning.
« Reply #60 on: December 27, 2015, 12:03:14 PM »
Tragedy and pain continue to haunt this team but this is why they will succeed. From Jan's wife, to Marvin's baby... From Hyland and Guerra losing their brothers to violence to this... But this team will persevere! Get well soon Soldier!
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #61 on: December 27, 2015, 12:23:28 PM »
Tragedy and pain continue to haunt this team but this is why they will succeed. From Jan's wife, to Marvin's baby... From Hyland and Guerra losing their brothers to violence to this... But this team will persevere! Get well soon Soldier!

Indeed. Cant have the resilience without the adversity.

« Reply #62 on: December 27, 2015, 12:47:59 PM »

Indeed. Cant have the resilience without the adversity.

ditt0 on both count this has madness has to end.....it this point we need some kinda fear factor to deter criminals but what can we do short of turn d country into a quasi police state every time something serious happens

« Reply #63 on: December 27, 2015, 12:59:26 PM »
Foolishness... My prayers are with him to recover and resume playing.. Take the man money but don't shoot the man.. How some men so spiteful and envious

« Reply #64 on: December 27, 2015, 01:06:47 PM »
Steups I just glad he still have his life.
I hope he heals properly.

« Reply #65 on: December 27, 2015, 01:16:48 PM »
oh man PEST....speedy recovery.. met him 3 weeks ago..at a doubles man..the doubles man was " counseling " him..advising him about dis and dat and stay out of dis and dat...THE DOUBLES MAN...

dat shoot in foot sounds like " take dat baller "..

" WE"RE LIVING IN REALITY and T ".

« Reply #66 on: December 27, 2015, 01:37:44 PM »
when will y'all declare war ?

« Reply #67 on: December 27, 2015, 01:37:55 PM »
Prayers and guidance for a full and speedy recovery.  Grateful to the almighty that his life was spared, and prayerful that he will be able to continue with a successful career.

Madness.

« Reply #68 on: December 27, 2015, 01:44:12 PM »
oh man PEST....speedy recovery.. met him 3 weeks ago..at a doubles man..the doubles man was " counseling " him..advising him about dis and dat and stay out of dis and dat...THE DOUBLES MAN...

dat shoot in foot sounds like " take dat baller "..

" WE"RE LIVING IN REALITY and T ".

It sounds as if the surgery was well and immediate.. This is good. Let's see when he is released.. if it is soon, the injury was probably not as severe as we think. However if he has shattered bones, it can be a whole other ball game.

So I guessing no Haiti game for sure. Maybe see him in the summer?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2015, 02:08:05 PM by gawd on pitch »

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #69 on: December 27, 2015, 02:57:22 PM »
This news real sour my afternoon... BIG SCHUPSSS!!! Get well soon bro  :praying: :praying: :praying:

Offline socalion

« Reply #70 on: December 27, 2015, 03:32:28 PM »
Real madness, Oh jeezanages wdf  going in TnT ?   it is really  disturbing to say the least what's taking place in TnT . !!  ....... Anyways to Keron Cummings Wishing a full and Speedy recovery  .  blessings to you

« Reply #71 on: December 27, 2015, 04:44:14 PM »
Sad indeed. Our prayers are with you. Speedy recovery.

« Reply #72 on: December 27, 2015, 05:18:30 PM »
damit cummings just give up the material gains and move on nah man. why resist these animals when they come for your things? he's lucky he didn't lose his life. this here is ugly ass news, i am sorely depressed. haitian jumbie i presume. 
« Last Edit: December 27, 2015, 05:25:29 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #73 on: December 27, 2015, 05:32:36 PM »
the state of my homeland and what everyday people must deal with breaks my heart. so sad.

heal well, fast and hope you can still have a career Mr Pest. Prayers.

« Last Edit: December 27, 2015, 06:54:36 PM by Jumbie »

« Reply #74 on: December 27, 2015, 05:34:01 PM »
Heard it on the news a little while ago.

Speedy recovery Cummings.

« Reply #75 on: December 27, 2015, 06:57:00 PM »
They saying it wasn't a robbery attempt.

http://wired868.com/2015/12/27/soca-warriors-star-keron-cummings-shot-mls-target-will-miss-copa-play-off/

The bullet broke the thigh bone. This might affect his chances of securing something with Orlando city.

« Reply #76 on: December 27, 2015, 08:24:27 PM »
Speedy recovery my yute and Police try to solve this 1 nah.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #77 on: December 27, 2015, 08:54:17 PM »
dammm get well soon buddy what a sour way to end of 2015 :-\

« Reply #78 on: December 27, 2015, 09:13:35 PM »
This is sad. I wish him a speedy and full recovery.

« Reply #79 on: December 27, 2015, 09:24:57 PM »
evillous minds!!!   get well soon Keron. Father put a healing hand on this yute in Jesus name Amen!

« Reply #80 on: December 27, 2015, 09:39:56 PM »
This can't be happening. Thank you Lord.  Thank You. Thank You. Thank You.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #81 on: December 27, 2015, 10:58:26 PM »
Very Very lucky. Glad he is on the road to recovery as he was playing very well all year. Luck really was on his side.

Its very difficult to hit someone in the leg, intentionally while they are resisting and/or moving....If robbery is the motive, then its understandable, a struggle/scuffle and hit at close range.

But its is very difficult to comprehend how someone would intentionally shoot him in the leg. If it wasn't a robbery then what else could it be? Maybe a falling out of some sorts. Either way thank God he is ok.

This is terrible to even fathom. Get well soon pest

« Reply #82 on: December 27, 2015, 11:36:48 PM »
Very very hurt by this news and obviously the missed opportunities that will occur as result...
but try and look on the brighter side, Keron, you made it out alive. Your life and family matters more.
So try your best to chin up Keron and same to all the fans who marvel at your football skills.
You'll be back (as a footballer) with prayers .... just like Molino will be.

« Reply #83 on: December 27, 2015, 11:52:13 PM »
Very very hurt by this news and obviously the missed opportunities that will occur as result...
but try and look on the brighter side, Keron, you made it out alive. Your life and family matters more.
So try your best to chin up Keron and same to all the fans who marvel at your football skills.
You'll be back (as a footballer) with prayers .... just like Molino will be.
you alone hurt? i felt like it was a family member who was shot. seems like our football needs a bush bath. just when we get a player who makes a difference, this nonsense happens. there's never a dull moment in trinidad football boy, is negative action from start to finish. any way get well soon keron.

« Reply #84 on: December 28, 2015, 12:26:54 AM »
We lost Molino, now the magical too-good-to-be-a-true replacement: Kern "Ball pest" Cummings
To be brutally honest, Guerra you got selected without knowing this latter crisis would happen to Ball pest.
So Tullah, against Haiti, play like your life depends on it, as this is your chane to show us and Big Mag why we thought you could have been it
Hart is watching you. Perform breddah and secure that contract and hit that right foot to sink Haiti. Guerra you can do it.
Do it for Ball pest.

« Reply #85 on: December 28, 2015, 06:27:32 AM »
National star footballer shot in leg.
By Stephon Nicholas (Newsday).

Rising national football star Keron “Ball Pest” Cummings’ career was almost ended early yesterday morning by an unidentified gunman who shot him once in his leg as he sat in a car driven by his girlfriend on Simeon Road, Petit Valley after returning home from a boat cruise.

Cummings, 27-years-old, suffered a broken leg but is currently warded in stable condition at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital.

He will have surgery today that will likely sideline him for several months.

Reports stated that Cummings and his girlfriend arrived at his home around 3am when the gunman sneaked up on the North East Stars footballer and fired once through the vehicle, hitting him on his leg before fleeing. Cummngs’ girlfriend was unhurt in the incident and drove him to the hospital.

No one was arrested up to press time yesterday and West End police officers are investigating.

The predicament brings a sour end to what had been a phenomenal 2015 for Cummings who enjoyed a meteoric rise under national coach Stephen Hart that was highlighted by an impressive double in a 4-4 thriller against Mexico in the CONCACAF Gold Cup in July.

Cummings, who was scheduled to join the national training camp in Couva yesterday, will now miss the crucial 2016 Copa America playoff against Haiti on January 8, 2016 in Panama and likely the tournament itself in June if TT emerges victorious.

His January transfer from North East Stars to Orlando City in the MLS (Major League Soccer) following a successful trial three months ago will now definitely be shelved as the national footballer begins his recovery with the hope of recapturing the form that attracted several MLS scouts. An irate North East Stars head coach Roland Clarke yesterday expressed no doubts as to the motive behind the attack on his player. “They showed no signs of robbery. It was a hit due to envy,” he stated emphatically.

National team manager David Muhammad, who visited Cummings at the hospital yesterday concurred. “That act in my assessment was surely an act of vice and envy. The easy thing would have been to shoot in the head or chest if you’re sitting in a car. This person aimed the gun down and towards his leg. They didn’t want to injure him that bad but it was straight to the bone. “A lot of things are being said that I can’t repeat but one of my immediate concerns is if there is some sort of sick mind out there,” he said, while calling for a thorough investigation to be conducted by the police.

He revealed the incident has left Cummings shaken and in a state of depression as his career, which looked to be taking off with his first overseas contract, is curtailed.

“His mood is understandably sombre. He’s in a state of grief trying to wrestle with this tragedy as he was about to go to camp. He was in magnificent form and it’s very painful to come to terms with this.

I believe he will bounce back and play again. He’s surrounded by lots of family and friends and (Orlando City star and national teammate) Kevin Molino visited him too. He (Molino) can definitely offer words of counsel about coming back after he was out for close to six months (with a torn ACL).” National coach Hart, who yesterday returned to Trinidad after spending Christmas with family in Canada, was left stunned on hearing the news that greeted him mere hours as he came off the airplane.

Taking a moment to compose himself, the soft-spoken coach said: “I mean...It’s...We all hope he recovers back to a state where he can go do what he loves. It’s a reality in Trinidad that citizens are not safe and athletes are not safe anymore.” Despite losing arguably his best attacking player for the Haiti match, Hart said the impact it would have has not crossed his mind and he is cognizant it could have been much worse than what transpired.

“If there is a silver lining in a shooting it’s that he’s alive,” he reflected.

Cummings’ shooting is the second incident in just over six months in which a national footballer has been caught in the midst of gunfire. Woman Soca Warrior Ahkeela Mollon escaped death in June earlier this year when she crawled from her car which was shot up in Longdenville, Chaguanas as rival gangs exchanged fire near her home. Mollon was unhurt in that incident.

RELATED NEWS

Team’s co-manager: Someone wanted to ruin Keron’s career.
By Rhondor Dowlat (Guardian).

National midfielder Keron Cummings, 27, was shot and wounded yesterday by a masked gunman, moments after he returned to his home from a boat cruise lime.

Cummings’ team co-manager David Muhammad strongly believes the act may have been committed under envy and is therefore calling for the police to thoroughly investigate the incident “leaving no stone unturned.”

“It seems as though the sole intention was to injure Keron in such a way to ruin his career because Keron has been top of his game more recently,” Muhammad said.

“It is clear that if the gunman really wanted him dead he would have shot him in the head or upper part of the body but he aimed for his leg. And, this of course, is a scary situation,” he added.

Cummings, 27, will definitely miss the Copa América Centenario qualifying play-offs against Haiti on January 8 in Panama City, Panama. Cummings was due to start training with the national team at 6 pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain, yesterday, ahead of the Copa playoff.

According to a police report, at about 2 am Cummings was dropped off near Bagatelle corner in Diego Martin by a close female friend when he was approached by a masked gunman, who shot him in the leg before running off.

Cummings, who also plays for the North East Stars, was taken to the Port-of-Spain General Hospital treated and subsequently warded. According to hospital officials, Cumming’s bone has been shattered.

He is due to undergo surgery later today.

An investigating officer said there were no signs of robbery as the motive.

Muhammad said that he, along with several other teammates, have visited Cummings at hospital.

“Keron is struggling to come to terms with this. We all are because this have left all of us in shock,” Muhammad said.

“Some of us are wondering what are the possible risks now especially if that individual (the perpetrator) is still at large and maybe targeting other top players because we still do not know for sure if it is a personal issue or an envy thing. Keron was really in top form. That is why we really want the police to launch an intensive and extensive investigation into this,” he added.

Muhammad said he already spoke to investigating officers and intend to keep in constant contact with them.

Soca Warriors Manager, William Wallace said that he was saddened over the incident and wished Cummings a miraculous speedy recovery.

Cummings was one of the players, who had threatened not to play in the playoff against Haiti but decided to go ahead with the game since they had successfully negotiated for match fees owed to them for the Concacaf Gold Cup, an International Friendly against Nicaragua and two World Cup qualifiers against Guatemala and the United States.

Cummings scored two goals this year against Mexico in an International Friendly match.

Investigations are continuing.

National senior footballer Keron Cummings speaks on his cell phone while warded at the Port-of-Spain General Hospital after being shot in the leg after returning home from a party on Saturday. Cummings was expected to join the national team in camp ahead of the Copa America Centenario match against Haiti on January 8. Photo: MARCUS GONZALES

« Last Edit: December 28, 2015, 06:29:47 AM by Flex »

« Reply #86 on: December 28, 2015, 06:48:02 AM »
Unacceptable!!!

« Reply #87 on: December 28, 2015, 07:33:49 AM »
T&T has to take some draconian measures to alleviate the fear of its citizens from these criminals who on the other hand have no fear to do wrong.BRING BACK DE DAMN FLYING SQUAD !!!   

« Reply #88 on: December 28, 2015, 07:38:54 AM »
At least he wasn't shot his left foot.

Speedy recovery youth, see you for the St Vincent games.

« Reply #89 on: December 28, 2015, 09:18:33 AM »
Real sad steupesss.
Would the cops find the person would they look in the right places .Did the gunman follow him back from the cruise or
Does he live in the area?
Does the girl have a secret admirer ?
Do any Haitians ex military  live in the vicinity ?
True crime is is stranger than fiction.