March 29, 2024, 03:59:24 AM

Author Topic: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead  (Read 52876 times)

Re: Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda......
« Reply #30 on: February 24, 2016, 02:05:24 AM »
I like Hart and I hope he learns, but his careful approach was a big decision for us not being there.

When you have an understrength Haitian team to beat, you pile it on them.

Then after a certain period he was hoping for extra time.

Youthman Neveal Hackshaw should not have been on the field in a must win game and you have players like Cato, Winchester and Guerra on the bench. Hackshaw didn't cover his man and he scored after chasing him down from midfield.

Hyland or Boucaud should have made way.

Peltier was another one, yes, he fought hard but added nothing going forward and gave away a few important passes. This was a player who one time used his pace to unsettle teams, now he is a shadow of himself.

Aubrey David should have replaced Mitchell after that head butt he got.

I know you guys will string me for this, but I say it like it is, Hart got this one wrong.

Still love him as our coach, but he needs to stop with his hoping not to lose approach.
most of the things you post actually rubs me the wrong way, but i have to admit that this time I agree with you somewhat except what you post about coach hart.

That hacksaw was resposible losing losing his man and not recovering fast enough, and caryle mitchel for marking his man on the wrong side, IMO Mitchell is one of our shakiest defenders on the senior team, he is prone to making so many basic mistakes, and yes Aubrey David would have been a much better choice in central defense.

I also have to agree with your critique of peltier, I believe he should be shown the door especially since his contribution going forward had been rubbish the last two years, maybe he's being played out of position I suppose, because I specifically remember under otto phister where he scored quite a few goals playing as a center forward.

But I have to agree that we got it way wrong on that day, and I guess there will be other copa Americas to qualify for. in all honesty I actually believe that you shouldn't reward complaisance  and ineptitude with success, so believe it serves the players right that they will miss this dance in the summer, these guys for the most part didn't deserve it, and I'm glad to see them sit it out even though as a fan its a bitter sweet affair.

Maybe de silver should be reintroduced to the team and used on the wing, but these boys must understand that the time for playing with your trade will not be tolerated, like going to a boat rude the night before camp begins.

Re: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead
« Reply #31 on: February 24, 2016, 02:09:52 AM »
I saw the draw and it was disappointing not seeing T&T there.

T&T doesn't do well in games they need to win.

Since Hart have been coach he has won one important game and that was the last one against Guatemala.

Since the match against USA you could tell that the team were being held back.

I do not blame him because he doesn't get the warm up required to fix these problems but I do blame him for working under these conditions.

Under Jack Warner T&T was always a better team.

Under Jack, T&T have been to 5 youth world cups and one senior.

T&T hosted 2 (men u17 & women u20) and qualify for 2 under 20 (Portugal & Egypt), one under 17 in S.Korea and a senior in Germany.

Give credit where credit is due.

This is will never happen again.
what you've been drinking mate? Haiti beat us in the Caribbean cup final in Trinidad 2007 under the reign of jack warner.

« Reply #32 on: June 03, 2016, 06:03:15 AM »
USA vs Colombia today.

« Reply #33 on: June 03, 2016, 11:14:54 AM »
USA vs Colombia today.

Will be there

« Reply #34 on: June 03, 2016, 04:50:31 PM »

There is a good reason Colombia is ranked No.3 in the world right now. They are playing at a very high level. Since the last world cup they have maintained a high level of quality football. USA will have their hands full against them tonight

« Reply #35 on: June 03, 2016, 07:48:07 PM »
Excellent opening goal x Colombia. Training ground routine.

« Reply #36 on: June 03, 2016, 07:48:46 PM »
Guzan's purpose in life is to get string-up

« Reply #37 on: June 03, 2016, 08:12:00 PM »
Guzan's purpose in life is to get string-up

« Reply #38 on: June 03, 2016, 08:19:18 PM »
I don't like the penalty call. But we know Guzan wasn't going to get close to it.

« Reply #39 on: June 03, 2016, 08:23:23 PM »
I don't like the penalty call. But we know Guzan wasn't going to get close to it.

I think Yedlin tried to disguise it.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #40 on: June 03, 2016, 08:33:17 PM »
Colombia hitting the US with a classic rope a dope. Giving them possession and waiting patiently for the Americans to make mistakes.

« Reply #41 on: June 03, 2016, 08:43:20 PM »
Is China a better team than Klinsmann's US?

« Reply #42 on: June 03, 2016, 08:47:17 PM »
I see that Bradley is still playing terribly.
The US is playing really soft on D. No hustle or pressing.

« Reply #43 on: June 03, 2016, 08:54:46 PM »
This is our best chance to beat the soccer players

« Reply #44 on: June 03, 2016, 09:30:05 PM »
Licks

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #45 on: June 03, 2016, 09:31:46 PM »
USA Team is at its lowest level since 1998. Possibly not going to qualify for the next World Cup.

Incredible gap with the quality of Mexico and Costa Rica on paper. No reason why a full T&T squad won't win the group.

« Reply #46 on: June 03, 2016, 09:32:28 PM »
Licks
we could beat dem...with d first team...if dey still clickin by with dat fool DJW upsetting d apple cart.

« Reply #47 on: June 03, 2016, 10:16:51 PM »
USA Team is at its lowest level since 1998. Possibly not going to qualify for the next World Cup.

Incredible gap with the quality of Mexico and Costa Rica on paper. No reason why a full T&T squad won't win the group.

The only thing that saves Klinsmann is Bradley.....

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #48 on: June 04, 2016, 12:24:32 AM »

The only thing that saves Klinsmann is Bradley.....

Bradley is the last old guard player that Klinsman needs to get rid of to play the style he wants. Bradley holds the ball too long then plays only a 30 yard ball in the air or gives it away much too often. Once Klinssman puts a younger, more dynamic midfielder in for Bradley then that team will play much better. The problem is he has players but he got so much heat for Donovan, he is cautious with this All American sacred cow.

I hope Klinsman leave Bradley there because Bostock, Boucaud, Molino, and Hyland will eat him up.

« Reply #49 on: June 04, 2016, 06:57:08 PM »
Haiti, hanging in vs peru. 0-0. Maybe our guys should look at how Haiti playing. Jeff Louis is poison!!!!

« Reply #50 on: June 04, 2016, 07:02:33 PM »
Peru 1-0. Nice diving header by Guerrero. Pressure does bust pipe.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #51 on: June 04, 2016, 07:37:46 PM »
What a chance for Haiti on the last kick of the game. If only Haiti had a decent forward.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #52 on: June 04, 2016, 07:40:29 PM »
Haiti, hanging in vs peru. 0-0. Maybe our guys should look at how Haiti playing. Jeff Louis is poison!!!!

They played with so much heart and put in so much effort we could definately learn from them. They just lacked a little composure on the ball for the majority of the game.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2016, 07:42:27 PM by Dynamite Warrior »

« Reply #53 on: June 04, 2016, 07:48:43 PM »

They played with so much heart and put in so much effort we could definately learn from them. They just lacked a little composure on the ball for the majority of the game.

Our guys can't stay away too long not playing together. They tend to lose the intensity. We played well in the GC and then fell flat a couple months after in that one playoff game  vs Haiti. Like Hart does have to start over with them everytime they congregate.

« Reply #54 on: June 04, 2016, 08:51:47 PM »
Brazil have a team full of Sergenio. Fadder I feel I watching Brazil in Arima.

« Reply #55 on: June 04, 2016, 09:37:43 PM »
So Lucas Moura got a late call as a replacement, and now he warming up. Let's see what he does.

Filipe Luis playing timidly going forward.
And as i type that he aggressively hit coutinho's forehead with his face.
Look like he blacked out for a split second while going down
« Last Edit: June 04, 2016, 09:42:10 PM by Peong »

« Reply #56 on: June 04, 2016, 10:01:24 PM »
Brazil playing real dunga......no excitement no creativity

« Reply #57 on: June 04, 2016, 10:14:29 PM »
Brazil have any strikers in this team?
Ecuador played decent. They could have had a goal but it was probably the correct call.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #58 on: June 04, 2016, 10:51:54 PM »
Maybe its time for DJW to start looking for a new coach.

« Reply #59 on: June 05, 2016, 03:33:07 AM »
Maybe its time for DJW to start looking for a new coach.
hello john, i didn't know you visited the site? welcome again