March 28, 2024, 05:27:22 AM

Author Topic: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead  (Read 52817 times)

Re: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead
« Reply #90 on: June 06, 2016, 10:04:52 PM »
On this squad: Gaitan (capped by DAM), Mercado (capped by DAM) and Pastore too. Regardless of what a coach does, picking players that last beyond one's tenure, speaks volumes.

« Reply #91 on: June 06, 2016, 10:07:17 PM »
That was like watching an mls game with better quality players

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #92 on: June 06, 2016, 10:17:38 PM »
That was like watching an mls game with better quality players

True but the Bolivia vs Panama match was like watching an MLS match with MLS quality players.  :D

« Reply #93 on: June 06, 2016, 10:22:57 PM »
The speed of the modern game has been in the making for a few years and some coaches around the world are beginning to adopt the style.

« Reply #94 on: June 07, 2016, 08:37:45 AM »
Panama with the win....Bolivia could be a good team for us to play in a the future.

Even better is Venezuela.. I can't believe it's been years since we played them.. and they right in we backyard.
Panama with the win....Bolivia could be a good team for us to play in a the future.

Even better is Venezuela.. I can't believe it's been years since we played them.. and they right in we backyard.
True, Deeks been campaigning for that for years. Could be a friendly before Guatemala.

Like I DOTISH or what?

« Reply #95 on: June 07, 2016, 08:47:32 AM »
The speed of the modern game has been in the making for a few years and some coaches around the world are beginning to adopt the style.

This concept tends to come and go. After watching Brazil 1970 WC in Mex, then  74 up comes the clockwork orange with all that speed, precision and agility led by JCruyff. To me that started with Holland aka Ajax. You could only play that if you have players who have the qualities that combine speed and skill. The only local team I can remember doing something like that for a season or two, was Defence Force in the 70s. Maybe that is why they are the only local team to go to the Concacaf finals twice.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2016, 08:49:12 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #96 on: June 07, 2016, 09:35:42 AM »

This concept tends to come and go. After watching Brazil 1970 WC in Mex, then  74 up comes the clockwork orange with all that speed, precision and agility led by JCruyff. To me that started with Holland aka Ajax. You could only play that if you have players who have the qualities that combine speed and skill. The only local team I can remember doing something like that for a season or two, was Defence Force in the 70s. Maybe that is why they are the only local team to go to the Concacaf finals twice.

Speed relative to speed.

Speed as a tactical threat has been present across decades or eras of football. However, are today's players faster? Does speed manifest differently today (in "the modern game")?

For me, the slowest player on the field yesterday was Beausejour. Both with and without the ball. And Beausejour might be considered quick under different circumstances or in a different period of football.

In 2016, collective speed of play AND MOVEMENT... without any significant compromise in accuracy ... and consistency ... is unrivalled.

« Reply #97 on: June 07, 2016, 02:19:31 PM »

True, Deeks been campaigning for that for years. Could be a friendly before Guatemala.

Like I DOTISH or what?

I agree. Not with Deeks being dotish.. But I think Venezuela will be an excellent tune up for the Guatemala game.

As for Copa, so far the organizers are happy with the turn out for most of the games. The tournament is turning out to be a success despite the run up to the event. Both confederation are keeping mum about another Copa that combines Concacaf and Conmebol. However, there is talk about having this event every 4 years. Stay tuned.

« Reply #98 on: June 07, 2016, 03:36:10 PM »
That would be great. The Gold Cup takes place more often than all the major regional tournaments so it would be plausible to substitute it with this larger tournament.
As it is we don't have a way to play conmebol outside of friendlies so I see a big benefit for teams like ours.
I don't think the big conmebol teams will feel the same way unless Mexico beat some of them this rounds.

« Reply #99 on: June 07, 2016, 06:17:32 PM »
Clear penalty. CRC was knocking well until that senseless rush of blood.

« Reply #100 on: June 07, 2016, 06:21:21 PM »
Clear penalty. CRC was knocking well until that senseless rush of blood.

And I was saying at the moment, yuh doh even have to worry about the cross. Yedlin like he use Jesus Navas as a role model.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #101 on: June 07, 2016, 06:48:51 PM »
Costa Rica have forgotten who they are. They are usually the team that counters they came out way too open.

« Reply #102 on: June 07, 2016, 06:49:40 PM »
usa rippin costa rica

« Reply #103 on: June 07, 2016, 06:50:40 PM »
Costa Rica have forgotten who they are. They are usually the team that counters they came out way too open.

They forget they was a shit squad?

« Reply #104 on: June 07, 2016, 06:54:38 PM »

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #105 on: June 07, 2016, 06:56:26 PM »

I guess so lol. They usually play five in the back today the starting position of the LB Mattarita is way too high. They came out too desperate like they wanted to win the game in the first 10 mins and lost all shape.

« Reply #106 on: June 07, 2016, 07:03:26 PM »
That would be great. The Gold Cup takes place more often than all the major regional tournaments so it would be plausible to substitute it with this larger tournament.
As it is we don't have a way to play conmebol outside of friendlies so I see a big benefit for teams like ours.
I don't think the big conmebol teams will feel the same way unless Mexico beat some of them this rounds.

That's right. Both confederations will be happy with having their own tournaments once every four years.. and a monster tournament like copa americano every four years. This tournament is just an experiment. If it goes well and the confederations make lots of money, they will be foolish to say no to another tournament like this.

« Reply #107 on: June 07, 2016, 07:04:08 PM »

I guess so lol. They usually play five in the back today the starting position of the LB Mattarita is way too high. They came out too desperate like they wanted to win the game in the first 10 mins and lost all shape.

Without a doubt.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

However, I am disappointed with Joe Campbell. At this stage in his career, he should be

1) not playing his deliveries into Guzan
2) more effective, decisive and incisive in his flank play ... especially when he is coming inside playing what the Spanish call pierna cambiada. On the right cutting in with his left ...
3) Finishing ... I guess he's on the Arsenal brand.  :P

« Reply #108 on: June 07, 2016, 07:39:07 PM »
These refs ent consistent at all. But that isn't affecting the game. Costa Rica has been playing against 8 and 9 men in D. I guess that is the way of World football now. But to me, this US setup is the same brand that Bora was playing in the 90s. Clog-ball, counter-attack.

« Reply #109 on: June 07, 2016, 10:10:45 PM »
Spectacular goal by the paraguayo. Best goal I see this tournament. Up in de vees from distance!

« Reply #110 on: June 07, 2016, 10:14:45 PM »
Golaso...look like Josimar with that strike

« Reply #111 on: June 07, 2016, 10:27:21 PM »
Cuadrado real ball tonight.
Colombia playing some neat passes under pressure.
Yuh could see they have more quality but paraguay working hard to keep it close.
The keepers both made some great saves especially the colombian.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2016, 10:32:48 PM by Peong »

« Reply #112 on: June 08, 2016, 05:54:45 AM »
Although Colombia won the game, I think Paraguay was just as good. As a matter of fact, Para. mid field had the upper hand on Col. I liked both teams. That was a golazo!!!

« Reply #113 on: June 08, 2016, 04:01:44 PM »

Wil not be surprised if we see an Argentina vs Colombia final

« Reply #114 on: June 08, 2016, 05:33:29 PM »
I here trying to get past this horrible feeling knowing that could have been us lining up vs brasil.

« Reply #115 on: June 08, 2016, 05:41:18 PM »
I here trying to get past this horrible feeling knowing that could have been us lining up getting licks vs brasil.

« Reply #116 on: June 08, 2016, 05:47:27 PM »
I here trying to get past this horrible feeling knowing that could have been us lining up vs brasil.

Just like our Women's team, we had three opportunities and blew it.

« Reply #117 on: June 08, 2016, 05:50:09 PM »
There's the first one...

« Reply #118 on: June 08, 2016, 05:57:52 PM »