March 28, 2024, 08:36:27 AM

Author Topic: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead  (Read 52824 times)

Re: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead
« Reply #150 on: June 09, 2016, 08:27:14 PM »
Would like Yard to see more of the ball. Now they are obligated.

Hesitation in the defence. Chicharito is 2 goals away from being MEX's record goalscorer.

« Reply #151 on: June 09, 2016, 08:28:46 PM »
The game is still early. But you give Mexico an inch, they will take a mile.

« Reply #152 on: June 09, 2016, 08:31:47 PM »
I have a feeling the Reggae Boyz will get a point in this game. Mexico hasn't played a physical team in a while.

lol what? pray for your team

« Reply #153 on: June 09, 2016, 08:33:21 PM »
This is the game to do it ... especially with Memo Ochoa in goal.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #154 on: June 09, 2016, 08:43:47 PM »
Honestly Jamaica has had the better chances but they have no finisher.

« Reply #155 on: June 09, 2016, 08:46:04 PM »
Would like to see more initiation of the JAM attack from the right, rather than through McAnuff primarily.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #156 on: June 09, 2016, 08:48:17 PM »
Provided we beat Guatemala we will score goals vs Mexico in the hex. Kenwyne would have finished at least one of those.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #157 on: June 09, 2016, 08:51:25 PM »
Yet another great chance.

« Reply #158 on: June 09, 2016, 08:53:40 PM »
Would like to see more initiation of the JAM attack from the right, rather than through McAnuff primarily.

Why when he making it happen? Arguably MF engine room

« Reply #159 on: June 09, 2016, 08:55:15 PM »
Provided we beat Guatemala we will score goals vs Mexico in the hex. Kenwyne would have finished at least one of those.

Ah feel yuh. But our conversion rate vis-a-vis chances on goal presents an "interesting" stat/picture.

« Reply #160 on: June 09, 2016, 08:56:49 PM »

Disagree. What is he making happen? The final balls?

« Reply #161 on: June 09, 2016, 08:58:12 PM »
When a team get opportunities especially against higher rank teams is to make them count. On the other hand Mex is attacking Jam down the flanks, im seeing a sign of weakness there.

« Reply #162 on: June 09, 2016, 09:02:53 PM »

We might have to agree to disagree then, all the connectivity in MF comes from him, the 2nd chance that was struck against the Mex def came from him....there's a reason he's the center piece in their MF for this length of time...he alone is probably one of the biggest reasons our game vs them in the CFU final was disrupted

« Reply #163 on: June 09, 2016, 09:19:22 PM »
When a team get opportunities especially against higher rank teams is to make them count. On the other hand Mex is attacking Jam down the flanks, im seeing a sign of weakness there.

Yes! Jamaica is weak on their flanks. Mex is exploiting them in that area

« Reply #164 on: June 09, 2016, 09:33:00 PM »
Even Blake give Donaldson ah pass and he couldn't finish.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #165 on: June 09, 2016, 09:34:09 PM »
This Donaldson is terrible how many chances he need

« Reply #166 on: June 09, 2016, 09:43:44 PM »
This Donaldson is terrible how many chances he need

« Reply #167 on: June 09, 2016, 09:45:58 PM »

Licks!

Dais it for Jamaica. No coming back

« Reply #168 on: June 09, 2016, 09:47:47 PM »

:D Look at that crowd! when Mex play in America they have home advantage against any team

« Reply #169 on: June 09, 2016, 09:48:24 PM »

:D Look at that crowd! when Mex play in America they have home advantage against any team

Culo!

« Reply #170 on: June 09, 2016, 09:49:34 PM »

That is how Trump will round them up to build the wall.

« Reply #171 on: June 09, 2016, 09:53:57 PM »
Anybody see Reggaefan?  ;)

He not bragging tonight?  :D

Ah wonder if he man enough to come in here and show himself.

Jamaica getting dey ass buss right now.

« Reply #172 on: June 09, 2016, 09:56:46 PM »
Chich header was impressive. I scoff when they send in the cross for this short man in between tall defenders. Man float and bury a difficult header yes. 

« Reply #173 on: June 09, 2016, 10:08:06 PM »

We might have to agree to disagree then, all the connectivity in MF comes from him, the 2nd chance that was struck against the Mex def came from him....there's a reason he's the center piece in their MF for this length of time...he alone is probably one of the biggest reasons our game vs them in the CFU final was disrupted

My contention is twofold:

1. Variation to exploit the right. Not necessarily seeking penetration behind the defender(s), because JAM can't/couldn't do that consistently without compromising balance and risk conceding a second goal ... but to generate the entry ball from the right (ahead of the defence) for (2) McAnuff to be involved in the finalizing.

Aside from the 3 for 1 chance (which was not generated by McAnuff), Jamaica was failing at second balls from the left but had promising looks when service came from the right. With the finishing being what it is centrally, McAnuff showed promise to finish from the left ... particularly off the run. He was dynamic but not creative.

For me, the overlooked Jamaican contribution was service to McAnuff and Donaldson, but McAnuff on his own was not dangerous enough.

The critical final pass he made (that probably caught your eye) was generated by service from central midfield, which he latched on to off the run. On his own, he did not do enough.

To accommodate my comment, I re-watched the first half. Started at 31'. Post-goal.

In any event, one has to examine his contribution pre- and post-goal. And my thoughts on this started formulating before Mexico scored. His actions pre-goal definitely did not generate sufficient danger of consequence. He attracted a couple defenders but/because he never sought to penetrate, but to link up and combine.  After Mexico scored, gehhin production became even more important. Just wasn't there.

Doh geh me wrong eh. I think he played a useful role, but I would not describe him as the engine merely because he saw a lot of the possession.

His role was to unlock and to provide. In my mind, he deserves to be on the bench as he is right now. Not because of fatigue, but because he wasn't effective. In this game. CFU? What have you done for me lately?

At the end of the day, this is a question of philosophy (regarding how the coach prefers to orient his attack) ... but it seems that Schaeffer's withdrawal of McAnuff supports the issue as to his effectiveness in this game.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2016, 10:13:05 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #174 on: June 09, 2016, 10:15:43 PM »
Sylum, yuh eh easy, yuh come back with a masters thesis!  :beermug:

Anyway, respek bredda...like u say, is a qu of the type of CMF u want re-coaching philosophy...yes the pass caught my eye, but observing him a while now...wonder what Jam will do after this and a likely early WC qual exit. My guess is rebuild

Messi tmr!

« Reply #175 on: June 09, 2016, 10:33:08 PM »
Didn't see the Venezuela-Uruguay match. Whais de scene with Suarez rolling around on de ground? On the bench at that.

« Reply #176 on: June 09, 2016, 10:38:41 PM »
Didn't see the Venezuela-Uruguay match. Whais de scene with Suarez rolling around on de ground? On the bench at that.
Suarez was warming up to go on and at the last minute the coach told him NO! he's not going in, only to find out he wasn't listed to play.

If you see my boy getting ready before the game, halftime and even during the 2nd half. De man tape up he ankles, put on shin pads, ready to go....so the assumption is the coaching staff never told him he wasn't listed to play.

« Reply #177 on: June 09, 2016, 10:58:10 PM »
Suarez was warming up to go on and at the last minute the coach told him NO! he's not going in, only to find out he wasn't listed to play.

If you see my boy getting ready before the game, halftime and even during the 2nd half. De man tape up he ankles, put on shin pads, ready to go....so the assumption is the coaching staff never told him he wasn't listed to play.

Thanks. Just read that he laced up before the Mexico match also.

« Reply #178 on: June 09, 2016, 11:08:13 PM »
Sylum, yuh eh easy, yuh come back with a masters thesis!  :beermug:

Anyway, respek bredda...like u say, is a qu of the type of CMF u want re-coaching philosophy...yes the pass caught my eye, but observing him a while now...wonder what Jam will do after this and a likely early WC qual exit. My guess is rebuild

Messi tmr!

According to de maths, they could still make the hex. Ah feel the most they could do between now and then is replace pieces.

One way or the other doh, rebuilding is in their future whether they make it to the hex or not. We should have some hints during the Caribbean Cup rounds.

« Reply #179 on: June 10, 2016, 09:15:24 AM »
What is the best game you guys have seen so far? My pick is Argentina-Chile.