March 28, 2024, 03:46:37 PM

Author Topic: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead  (Read 52849 times)

Re: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead
« Reply #390 on: June 22, 2016, 12:21:03 AM »
The US sentiment is that they were missing 3 of their top players so the scoreline and outcome would have been different. How delusional, as the talent, speed and execution of play was not even close.

I wish the Argies didn't take their foot off the gas until the score was 7-0 so that Mexico and the US would have something in common.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 05:51:03 AM by futbolfan »

« Reply #391 on: June 22, 2016, 03:26:36 AM »
It was either mercy, or dey conserving energy, but dat whole missing players crap is funny.

Sent from my puta ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 03:30:31 AM by lefty »

Offline madness

« Reply #392 on: June 22, 2016, 06:54:31 AM »
the commentators are funny. the US team were outplayed by the Argentina .  :banginghead: :banginghead: the commentators believed that the US team had a chance to play good football against Argentina  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #393 on: June 22, 2016, 07:21:49 AM »
Unlike Chile who arguably now starting to gel under their new coach, Argentina strategy seems to be "don't adjust the gears" unless they need to.

Which if u watched all their games is scary as they won quite comfortably in 1st gear. That said, when u go through a whole tournament at 1st gear and suddenly have to go up 1 or 2 gears in a final, u may not be able to.

Anyway, Sunday should be nice...

« Reply #394 on: June 22, 2016, 08:36:00 AM »
dey jus show dat freekick from every cam angle lawd have mercy

dat freekick was a real drone strike.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #395 on: June 22, 2016, 09:43:50 AM »
hope d U20 watching this....a constant diet of international ball  should be on this fellas plate both live and recorded....learn from watchin and analyzin what dey seeing

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #396 on: June 22, 2016, 10:13:26 AM »
Di Maria didn't even play. Is he still with the team? I knew his grandmother passed away just before the first game, not sure if he left because of that.

« Reply #397 on: June 22, 2016, 11:11:12 AM »
USA-Argentina Copa Centenario Player Ratings
By Ridge Mahoney, Soccer America.

The USA fell behind early to Argentina, the top-ranked team in the world, and chased most of the 90 minutes in a convincing 4-0 defeat Tuesday night in Houston.

A couple of good saves by Brad Guzan aside, the U.S. seldom looked up to the task of battling Lionel Messi and an array of excellent players. The Americans failed to put a shot on goal and their defense sprang leaks repeatedly.

The U.S. finishes its Copa America Centenario in the third-place game against either Colombia or Chile on Saturday.

USA-ARGENTINA EXPRESS:

June 21 in Houston
USA 0 Argentina 4. Goals: Lavezzi 3, Messi 32, Higuain 50, 86.
Att.: 70,858.

USA Player Ratings
Starters:
PLAYER (TEAM) GP/G

5 Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/ARG), 50/0.
Left himself stranded on first goal by doing nothing as ball dropped to a wide-open Ezequiel Lavezzi. Otherwise, got to the crosses he should have and handled the shots. Excellent save foiled Gonzalo Higuain but rebound wound up in the net. Big save on Messi in the final minutes kept the score respectable.

3 DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/ENG), 38/0.
Averted a breakaway by chasing down Augusto Fernandez. Worked a nice one-two with Zardes to reach the byline but didn’t deliver a precise cutback. Played a good ball to Pulisic inside the box. Left huge swathes of space near the corner that Argentina exploited.

4 Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), 45/4.
Thwarted Higuain from point-blank range with a strong tackle. Cut out a couple of Messi’s passes.

3 John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/GER), 26/3.
Headed a few balls out of danger, often outclassed on and off the ball. Clueless about finding a good position to receive a ball when teammates were under pressure. Let Higuain run free to head in third goal.

4 Fabian Johnson (Borussia M'Gladbach/GER), 48/2.
Raced back after a corner to block a shot from close range. Breached several times and gave away too much space to crosses and dribbles.

3 Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), 57/1.
Seldom quick enough or clever enough to cope with Argentina. Lost track of opponents, struggled to connect passes under pressure. What was he doing on first Argentina goal?

3 Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), 120/15.
Chased shadows and always seemed a step behind the Argentines. One or two set-play deliveries were okay. Needed to be sharper and cleaner and shrewder under pressure and just wasn’t.

4 Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), 30/6.
No shortage of effort on both sides of the ball, but limitations of touch and guile were glaring.

3 Graham Zusi (Sporting KC), 40/5.
Work rate slowed down Argentina a few times. Not effective one-v-one and hit a terrible crossfield ball 30 yards from the nearest teammate.

2 Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), 34/10.
No impact offensively, gave away costly free kick with a clumsy foul after horrible pass put U.S. in trouble. Probably Klinsmann’s worst personnel decision of the tournament.

3 Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), 130/52.
Did a lot of work off the ball offensively and defensively without troubling Argentina. Very lucky to escape sanction for flagrant elbow to the jaw of Javier Mascherano.

TRIVIA. Messi broke the Argentine all-time goalscoring record by scoring his 55th goal in his 112th international. Gabriel Batistuta scored 54 goals in 78 appearances.

Substitutes
5 Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), 5/0.
Challenged the Argentine backline a couple of times, won a corner kick. Tried to relay a ball to Zardes but defender intervened.

3 Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), 7/1.
Was doing okay until terrible error opened the door to fourth Argentine goal.

NR Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), 9/1.
Maybe a tuneup to start third-place match?

June 21 in Houston
USA 0 Argentina 4. Goals: Lavezzi 3, Messi 32, Higuain 50, 86.
USA -- Guzan; Yedlin, Cameron, Brooks, Johnson, Bradley, Beckerman (Nagbe, 78), Zardes, Zusi, Dempsey (Birnbaum,60), Wondolowski (Pulisic, 46).

Argentina -- Romero; Mercado, Otamendi, Funes Mori, Rojo (Cuesta, 85); Fernandez (Biglia, 60), Mascherano, Banega; Messi, Higuain, Lavezzi (Lamela, 66).

Referee: Enrique Caceres (Paraguay).
Att.: 70,858.

« Reply #398 on: June 22, 2016, 11:12:51 AM »
From Ridge Maloney's Soccer America article above:

Big save on Messi in the final minutes kept the score respectable.

Talk about exaggeration.

« Reply #399 on: June 22, 2016, 11:31:36 AM »
Argentina had 66% possession and yet some of these commentators talking bout if we had we regular team...they were outclassed. Bradley their best player looked in awe of the Argentinians. The US were exposed and found wanting as their only asset, fitness, what they've used to a measure of success, proved inadequate against a team was technically and intellectually superior.

« Reply #400 on: June 22, 2016, 03:08:36 PM »
Di Maria didn't even play. Is he still with the team? I knew his grandmother passed away just before the first game, not sure if he left because of that.

He was injured, has been cleared to play and was on bench yesterday. Expect Kun and him to feature. Lavezzi out

« Reply #401 on: June 22, 2016, 03:49:35 PM »
Messi couldn't place that ball any better if he had climb a ladder and put it there with he hand.

Stunning.  No chance fuh Guzan....or anybody else.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #402 on: June 22, 2016, 04:35:17 PM »
Argentina had 66% possession and yet some of these commentators talking bout if we had we regular team...they were outclassed. Bradley their best player looked in awe of the Argentinians. The US were exposed and found wanting as their only asset, fitness, what they've used to a measure of success, proved inadequate against a team was technically and intellectually superior.

Some of these commentators make me laugh these are the same people who talk about us Costa Rica and other respectable Concacaf nations in a degrading manner. They say the USA should beat them easily, well shouldn't Argentina beat the US easily.

« Reply #403 on: June 22, 2016, 06:03:43 PM »
Look pace now

« Reply #404 on: June 22, 2016, 06:06:16 PM »
Allyuh mess up the anthem?

Ok, they just explain it. The explanation worse than if it was somebody messing up.

« Reply #405 on: June 22, 2016, 06:06:39 PM »
Messi couldn't place that ball any better if he had climb a ladder and put it there with he hand.

Stunning.  No chance fuh Guzan....or anybody else.

Couldn't have said it better.

Ooh Guuude! What a goal. My goodness.

« Reply #406 on: June 22, 2016, 06:18:08 PM »
colombia lookin leaky

« Reply #407 on: June 22, 2016, 06:18:54 PM »
This game got real ugly real quick...

« Reply #408 on: June 22, 2016, 06:24:48 PM »
COL climbs the Andes. Real wuk to do.

« Reply #409 on: June 22, 2016, 07:24:00 PM »
Lightning delay in this game.
Colombia creating chances, a goal from them will liven this up.

« Reply #410 on: June 22, 2016, 07:48:08 PM »
dat pissing me off because I'm forced tto listen to Alexi Tatas I often wonder if he is really that stupid. I could understand being a cheerleader for your national team but does he seriously think that the US is that good

« Reply #411 on: June 22, 2016, 08:09:05 PM »
Ha ha Lalas know his audience. Zeppo want to hear good news no bad news.

« Reply #412 on: June 22, 2016, 08:09:59 PM »
dat pissing me off because I'm forced tto listen to Alexi Tatas I often wonder if he is really that stupid. I could understand being a cheerleader for your national team but does he seriously think that the US is that good
We have man asking why Joevin Jones not in de Prem.

« Reply #413 on: June 22, 2016, 08:19:27 PM »

Alexi Lalas equals tata i don't listen to him at all he is a very bias person  i figured him out several years ago.

« Reply #414 on: June 22, 2016, 08:24:24 PM »
I will be surprised if they play this half tonight. Now it delayed until 10:45. The weather radar have plenty rain to come though.

Now it scheduled for 11:20. Players on the field warming up
« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 09:12:55 PM by Peong »

« Reply #415 on: June 22, 2016, 09:20:25 PM »
Different game without Vidal.

« Reply #416 on: June 22, 2016, 09:25:02 PM »

I don't mind de bias, we all are, but it is the arrogant condescending and psuedointellectual  manner from which he speaks that is really annoying.

« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 09:26:40 PM by MEP »

« Reply #417 on: June 22, 2016, 09:26:40 PM »
Ball dead on the second bounce.

« Reply #418 on: June 22, 2016, 09:37:53 PM »
Is #6 cause the first goal?

« Reply #419 on: June 23, 2016, 07:11:01 AM »
http://www.socceramerica.com/article/69314/gulati-were-obviously-a-long-way-off.html?edition=15747

Finally a dose of reason. Also solid viewpoint in the comments section.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2016, 07:13:02 AM by asylumseeker »