April 18, 2024, 07:34:07 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Women's World Cup - Canada  (Read 31075 times)

Re: 2015 Women's World Cup - Canada
« Reply #270 on: July 07, 2015, 09:55:06 AM »
Without PamAm being in Toronto, those stats would have been better? There wasn't really a WWC buzz in Southern Ontario.

All the talk these days is HOV lanes in and out of Toronto.

« Reply #271 on: July 07, 2015, 10:57:04 AM »
Necib definitely lacks pace. That stood out for me. I think soccerman might be considering that Necib at times takes up starting positions at or near the left flank, before she embarks on diagonal movement towards the goal. Coming through central channels Le Sommer could wreak havoc. But the question becomes, how engaged should she be defensively and where?

Somehow I feel soccerman doh have the same love for Scott, so he should weigh in with who he would replace her with.

In the 4-4-1-1 you proposed, you could achieve success with Miyama on the left flank, leave Lloyd central, and place Le Sommer to support Sasic. (But, I would rather see Sasic support Le Sommer, strictly speaking. IMV, you get Le Sommer playing to her strengths in and around the penalty spot, and Sasic's greater range and versatility, coming on to the ball).

However, a factor to be considered would be Necib failing to participate defensively, particularly on recovery runs. Noticed this in her play. That consideration might force you to reconsider Scott's contribution. Or, sacrifice Necib.

The 4-5-1 might offer more flexibility on pitch and in accommodating your fondness for Scott.

Switching Buchanan and Renard should also be considered.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 10:59:42 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #272 on: July 07, 2015, 11:19:24 AM »
Necib definitely lacks pace. That stood out for me. I think soccerman might be considering that Necib at times takes up starting positions at or near the left flank, before she embarks on diagonal movement towards the goal. Coming through central channels Le Sommer could wreak havoc. But the question becomes, how engaged should she be defensively and where?

Somehow I feel soccerman doh have the same love for Scott, so he should weigh in with who he would replace her with.

In the 4-4-1-1 you proposed, you could achieve success with Miyama on the left flank, leave Lloyd central, and place Le Sommer to support Sasic. (But, I would rather see Sasic support Le Sommer, strictly speaking. IMV, you get Le Sommer playing to her strengths in and around the penalty spot, and Sasic's greater range and versatility, coming on to the ball).

However, a factor to be considered would be Necib failing to participate defensively, particularly on recovery runs. Noticed this in her play. That consideration might force you to reconsider Scott's contribution. Or, sacrifice Necib.

The 4-5-1 might offer more flexibility on pitch and in accommodating your fondness for Scott.

Switching Buchanan and Renard should also be considered.

Scott is excellent defensively... she tracks back amazingly well.  Not the quickest, that would be her greatest weakness, but positionally aware, and certainly enough of a mindset to know to get back into a supporting position after her frequent forays upfield.  But I think she's a complete player on that right wing, excellent technical ability on the ball, good defensive tenacity, good target on set pieces, always makes herself available as a midfield outlet, and perhaps most surprisingly, a willingness to take on her (wo)man.  Who would you replace her with?

I wouldn't want to play Miyama exclusively on the wing because I think the full range of her contributions would be unnecessarily muted, as much as I gush over Scott I'd be damn near ecstatic if I went in on Miyama... and she's a deadly set piece specialist at that... in an age when players seem to either lack for ideas, technique or execution of flighted balls into the box (both male and female), she consistently threatened with her deliveries.  I'm not dead set on playing her on the left side of midfield (and actually prefer Necib there) except I can't recall seeing her play across the middle/right side, so wasn't sure where else to put her, except that she had to be on the field.

Prefer Necib on the left as mentioned, and envisioned her linking with Le Sommer who would use her pace on the wing.  You might have a point of Le Sommer playing thru the middle, except as a general proposition I always envision there being more room to operate on the wings, her pace and willingness to take on her player I think plays to strengths best utilized on the wings rather than in the box, but admittedly I don't know enough to really argue against her being slotted there.

Finally I did think of putting Buchanan in the Right CB position, except that's the only place I've seen Renard play and she's been such a rock there that it's hard to even consider moving her elsewhere.  Relative to Buchanan though, and to your point, her experience may make her the more flexible option of the two.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 01:53:27 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #273 on: July 07, 2015, 11:28:49 AM »
I like Jill Scott, she's a skillful player and did well in this tournament. I will select her to my WC XI but If I were to replace her I may select a Brazilian lol (take your pick). I also noticed Necib played on the left mid quite often but she's versatile enough to play both positions. However, Necib and Scott on the flanks will be poison.

« Reply #274 on: July 07, 2015, 11:45:58 AM »
In the abstract .... I think ... almost unquestionably ... the purest wing play of the tournament was demonstrated by Thomis (France). 
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 11:47:45 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #275 on: July 07, 2015, 11:50:18 AM »
I like Jill Scott, she's a skillful player and did well in this tournament. I will select her to my WC XI but If I were to replace her I may select a Brazilian lol (take your pick). I also noticed Necib played on the left mid quite often but she's versatile enough to play both positions. However, Necib and Scott on the flanks will be poison.

I think Necib's lack of pace would make it easy for opponents to neutralize her. Besides, who she stopping on the wing? lol

In the abstract .... I think ... almost unquestionably ... the purest wing play of the tournament was demonstrated by Thomis.

I like Thomis, but don't see her as much other than a slight upgrade over Aluko... a one-trick pony (speed) with the odd effective cross from time to time.  Coming with my pick for goal of the tournament later, but off the top of mih head, slight nod to Bronze over Lloyd (attributable in my mind, more to goalkeeper error than anything), but need to revisit both.

« Reply #276 on: July 07, 2015, 12:26:41 PM »
Thomis is multi-dimensional. One-trick pony is an unfair charge.

Her speed with the ball was in evidence, but her contribution at the WC was multi-dimensional (effective crosses, runs deep in possession, excellent reverse balls, incisive movement inside with the ball to create space behind, positioning, stretching defenses, runs off the ball ... have a look at her diagonal movement to get between Germany's center backs ... and most importantly, goals produced). The footage versus Mexico and Korea also brings this out.

« Reply #277 on: July 07, 2015, 12:29:45 PM »
I wouldn't want to play Miyama exclusively on the wing because I think the full range of her contributions would be unnecessarily muted, as much as I gush over Scott I'd be damn near ecstatic if I went in on Miyama... and she's a deadly set piece specialist at that... in an age when players seem to either lack for ideas, technique or execution of flighted balls into the box (both male and female), she consistently threatened with her deliveries.  I'm not dead set on playing her on the left side of midfield (and actually prefer Necib there) except I can't recall seeing her play across the middle/right side, so wasn't sure where else to put her, except that she had to be on the field.

Spot on.

« Reply #278 on: July 07, 2015, 12:53:57 PM »
Bakes, yuh named a decent squad.

In general, not precise science here, but there are workable considerations.

In reality the defensive concerns expressed above would be resolved with a flexible (less rigid) interpretation of roles, particularly with dynamic players of the quality of Miyama and Necib (they can get about the park with freedom). Stifling and restricting them would be counter-productive. 

To be fair, I do like Scott. Perhaps she makes my XXIII. All of what I raised was to stimulate discussion. Kudos to Sam for kicking it off with an XI. Will drop my squad later.

« Reply #279 on: July 07, 2015, 02:04:01 PM »
Bakes, yuh named a decent squad.

In general, not precise science here, but there are workable considerations.

In reality the defensive concerns expressed above would be resolved with a flexible (less rigid) interpretation of roles, particularly with dynamic players of the quality of Miyama and Necib (they can get about the park with freedom). Stifling and restricting them would be counter-productive. 

To be fair, I do like Scott. Perhaps she makes my XXIII. All of what I raised was to stimulate discussion. Kudos to Sam for kicking it off with an XI. Will drop my squad later.

Yeah kudos to Sam, I didn't give it much thought until he posted and I started to think of notable omissions, as I saw them.   I stand corrected on Thomis, in all fairness to her I functioning at somewhat at a disadvantage in that I didn't see much of the group stages so my squad is heavy on players whose teams made deeper runs.  The Thomis I was going on was the player from 4 years ago, and a 45 minute cameo against Germany.  From the highlights she definitely showed more versatility in attack.  Added benefit was watching mih sweetheart Delie poach some goals in the box, was wondering why she didn't have a better tournament, but look like she just hit a funk at a bad time.

« Reply #280 on: July 09, 2015, 10:23:56 AM »

« Reply #281 on: July 15, 2015, 07:59:40 AM »
Lloyd adds Goal of the Tournament to her haul
FIFA.com

Carli Lloyd thought she had taken everything home with her when she packed her bags at the end of the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015™. Her luggage certainly weighed more than on her arrival, with the addition of a winner's medal, the adidas Golden Ball for the player of the tournament, the adidas Silver Boot as the second-top scorer and four Live Your Goals Player of the Match awards – one for every step of USA's triumphant run through the knockout stages.

However, it turns out that the American midfielder's collection of mementoes was not quite complete. Following the grand finale, voting was opened for the Goal of the Tournament accolade, recognising the finest strike of the competition. The fans were able to have their say for a week, ending on 13 July 2015 at 10:00 (CET), and who else but Carli Lloyd got the nod.

It must be said that Lloyd's chip from the centre circle was a remarkable effort indeed, all the more so when you consider that it came in the Final against the reigning world champions, Japan. Even the poor Japanese goalkeeper, Ayumi Kaihori, must have admired the beauty of the strike as it sailed over her head in her country's 5-2 defeat, and this admiration is shared by the thousands of FIFA.com users who voted for this goal out of the 12 shortlisted by our editorial team.

Lloyd's pearler pipped another long-range piledriver, Daniela Montoya's equaliser for Colombia in their opening game against Mexico, which ended 1-1. Japan's Mizuho Sakaguchi came in third for her curling left-footed finish into the corner of the net following a trademark free-flowing passing move from the Nadeshiko during their 2-1 Round-of-16 win over the Netherlands.

Thank you to all of the FIFA.com users who participated in the vote. We invite you to pick your favourite goal following every FIFA tournament, so in four years' time it will be up to you to choose Carli Lloyd's successor after the next Women's World Cup, France 2019.

NOTE: If you haven't seen the goal, you can see it by clicking on the title of the article.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2015, 08:14:38 AM by asylumseeker »

« Last Edit: July 22, 2015, 06:18:55 AM by asylumseeker »