March 28, 2024, 10:22:15 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (17-Nov-2015)  (Read 44421 times)

Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (17-Nov-2015)
« on: July 28, 2015, 03:20:02 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying T&T vs USA game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from 7:36pm on the 17th of November 2015 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

beIN Sports, NBC Universo, En Vivo Extra

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC/Trinidad), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United/Trinidad).

Defenders

Sheldon Bateau (FC Krylia Samara/Russia), Radanfah Abu Bakr (HB Koge/Denmark), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land FC/South Korea), Justin Hoyte (Dagenham & Redbridge/England), Daneil Cyrus (Chicago Fire/USA), Aubrey David (FC Shakhter Karagandy/Kazakshtan), Yohance Marshall (Murcielagos FC/Mexico), Mekeil Wiliams (Antigua FC/Guatemala).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge/England), Keron Cummings (North East Stars/Trinidad), Kevan George (Columbus Crew/USA), Neveal Hackshaw (North East Stars/Trinidad), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo/Belgium), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire/USA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava/Slovakia), Trevin Caesar (Austin Aztex/USA), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes/USA).

Forwards

Jonathan Glenn (Breidablik Kopavogur/Iceland), Kenwyne Jones (capt) (Cardiff City/Wales), Willis Plaza (Central FC/Trinidad).

Coach - Stephen Hart (T&T).

USA Squad

Goalkeepers

Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England), Bill Hamid (D.C. United/USA), Tim Howard (Everton/England).

Defenders

Ventura Alvarado (Club America/Mexico), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City/USA), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach/Germany), Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls/USA), Michael Orozco (Tijuana/Mexico), Tim Ream (Fulham/England), Brek Shea (Orlando City/USA).

Midfielders

Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake/USA), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/Canada), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC/USA), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution/USA), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers/USA), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/England), Miguel Ibarra (Leon/Mexico).

Forwards

Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/Canada), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy/USA), Jordan Morris (Stanford University/USA), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/Germany), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy/USA).

Coach - Jurgen Klinsmann (Germany).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 05:30:21 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (17-Nov-2015)
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2015, 08:31:06 AM »
Anyone know when and where I can get tickets for his game?

Is there any plans for it?

A game of this pedigree should have been advertising by now.

I expect (hoping) for a full stadium.

« Last Edit: September 05, 2015, 08:37:05 AM by Sando »

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2015, 03:31:17 PM »
Ah study USA and right now they not playing like they should, a perfect time to beat them.

They don't like to play against a running team, it confuses them but once we allow them to control de pace and de plays we will get burn.

We have to take it to them from start to finish.

Bradley, Howard, kakahole Dempsey and Altidore will be they key players who must get shut down early.

Zardes is overrated but he have some toes.

Yedlin does play with no sense.

Zusi ok.

Jermaine Jones is a fighter but slow.

Johannsson could finish.

They nothing special, but as a team they could move the ball and play in their positions good.

« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2015, 06:43:32 AM »
Ah study USA and right now they not playing like they should, a perfect time to beat them.

They don't like to play against a running team, it confuses them but once we allow them to control de pace and de plays we will get burn.

We have to take it to them from start to finish.

Bradley, Howard, kakahole Dempsey and Altidore will be they key players who must get shut down early.

Zardes is overrated but he have some toes.

Yedlin does play with no sense.

Zusi ok.

Jermaine Jones is a fighter but slow.

Johannsson could finish.

They nothing special, but as a team they could move the ball and play in their positions good.

dais d key write dey .......D US is more or less similar to mexico in dat respect....don't like teams to run at dem.......dey might handle we press better than Mexico with dey strength and speed so as well as press we also need to watch our channels and as good as we playin right now, we need to stop leakin goals and learn to protect leads....

as an aside who else tink we could take points from d states on d road if we continue to improve

« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2015, 11:26:57 PM »
I also believe is a good time to give USA their due beating. And this is the coach and the team to do it. Hats off to you Mr. Hart. The Chosen One!

Offline Fyzo10

« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2015, 05:52:36 PM »
Come on Trini lets get a full stadium for this game. Someone contact TTFA and get them to advertise this game and make it cheap for people to go to.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2015, 06:45:11 PM »
Attn: TTFA there is no excuse, we want de stadium pack (any means necessary) so when we buss da usa net the thunderous roar and eruption must send ah clear message, is we time now...

Offline Fyzo10

« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2015, 07:52:05 PM »
...Commenting on the turn out after the game, which saw just about 4,800 people in attendance as confirmed by Trinidad and Tobago Football Assocaition (TTFA) officials, T&T midfielder Andre Boucaud said, "The stadium can hold about 24,000 people so it was disappointing to have seen and felt the lack of support as evidenced by the low number of people who came out to the game. We need more people to come out to the games, especially when we face the United States on November 17th. We need as much support as possible when we go into the World Cup qualifiers." The English-based player added, "When we go to other countries to play, the support is overwhelming for the home team and their fans make it uncomfortable for us to play. We need that same type of support at home to motivate us and make us comfortable to play, and the other team uncomfortable to play." T&T will next face Guatemala in an away game on November 13th in their first match of the World Cup Qualifiers.

Dam they should give out free tickets or something...Can't believe they don't have solid advertisements for the team. We're arguably one of the best teams on CONCACAF right now yet the team has a poor federation.

WN crew meet-up for Nov 17th match.
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2015, 05:00:36 AM »
Please let us know if Warrior Nation is getting together for the match vs USA on November 17th.

1. Lets try and sit in the same area.

2. Let me know about if you guys are bringing in the giant flag and I will contact Sheldon Phillips to make sure all is run comfortably.

3. SWO is looking for 2 individuals (reporter and photographer) to cover the match. Let me know INADVANCE.

4. Everything must be done in advance this way it will be better organised.

5. If you guys want to run a donation to host a tailgate party for the WN crew in attendance, let us know early, so we can organise something. We do however need a local base (serious person) to organise it down there.

6. The TTFA will have a host of T&T products on sale, go out there and support them.

7. The players want to hear you guys. Let us be the 13 Warrior.

Send me a PM with your info and query.

Thank you.
From SWO.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2015, 07:25:55 AM by Flex »

Re: WN crew meet-up for Nov 17th match.
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2015, 05:20:57 AM »
I nominate TOUCHES to be the reporter. Good Idea Flex and we foreign base need to see pics of the Forum members

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2015, 05:43:40 AM »
Flex im a Photographer and wont mind being the photographer for the match

« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2015, 07:32:30 AM »
Can you guys please tell me what section WN is sitting?

I have a group of about 30 people joining me for the T&T game.

We will gladly help lifting the giant WN flag.

Flex, do you know if the TTFA stores at the Stadium will accept credit cards?

Can we also bring coolers in?

« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2015, 07:34:35 AM »

Maybe you miss his message, he said send him a PM with your info.

« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2015, 08:38:15 AM »
I nominate TOUCHES to be the reporter. Good Idea Flex and we foreign base need to see pics of the Forum members

I nominate him also, but does he want to, that's the question.

« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2015, 08:38:48 AM »

Send me your CV or full info.

« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2015, 03:16:17 PM »
I just watch South Korea hand Jamaica their ass on a platter. JA traveled halfway around the world to catch a buss ass. They probably would have benefitted more by playing a concacaf team like SVG or Antigua. The 3-0 defeat to South Korea and 3-2 loss to Nicaragua makes their win against the USA in the Gold cup look like a total fluke.

« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2015, 03:35:59 PM »
...Commenting on the turn out after the game, which saw just about 4,800 people in attendance as confirmed by Trinidad and Tobago Football Assocaition (TTFA) officials, T&T midfielder Andre Boucaud said, "The stadium can hold about 24,000 people so it was disappointing to have seen and felt the lack of support as evidenced by the low number of people who came out to the game. We need more people to come out to the games, especially when we face the United States on November 17th. We need as much support as possible when we go into the World Cup qualifiers." The English-based player added, "When we go to other countries to play, the support is overwhelming for the home team and their fans make it uncomfortable for us to play. We need that same type of support at home to motivate us and make us comfortable to play, and the other team uncomfortable to play." T&T will next face Guatemala in an away game on November 13th in their first match of the World Cup Qualifiers.

Dam they should give out free tickets or something...Can't believe they don't have solid advertisements for the team. We're arguably one of the best teams on CONCACAF right now yet the team has a poor federation.

Cant blame the TTFA for poor attendance. The fans have to go and support the team and once its done consistently, better things from the TTFA will happen. These games cost a lot of you have to give them credit as things are better and they are trying for the LITTLE they have.

« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2015, 05:35:10 AM »
Flex, I will instruct Touches to be the reporter. Consider that Post Filled.

Offline lucky4life

« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2015, 03:20:16 PM »
The team that have went to South Korea was not the JAMAICAN team that had play in the GOLD CUP and beat the USA, it was a MAKE UP TEAM for the JFF to make some money, more than half the players that have went to South Korea are LOCAL PLAYERS, here are the names of the players that have went to South Korea

Players
 Rosario Harriott--was no there
 Lee Williamson-- was not there
 Simon Dawkins
 Andre Clennon--did not play in the gold up but was on the roster
 Allan Ottey--did not play in the gold up but was on the roster
 Michael Seaton--did not play in the gold up but was on the roster
 Deshorn Brown
 Shaun Cummings--was not there
 Jermaine Woozencroft--was not there
 Ryan Thompson
 Adrian Mariappa
 Hughan Gray--was not there
 Joel Grant
 Andre Blake
 Lance Laing
 Giles Barnes
 Darren Mattocks
 Upston Edwards--was not there
 Errol Stevens--was not there
 Ricardo Morris--was not there

The players that are missing from the GOLD CUP are

Michael Hector (Reading/England);
Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls/USA);
Jermaine Taylor (Houston Dynamo/USA)
Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers/USA);
Wes Morgan (Leicester City/England);
Daniel Gordon (Karlsruher SC/Germany);
Sean McFarlane (Florida
Rodolph Austin (unattached);
Omar Holness (University of North Carolina/USA);
Christopher Humphrey (Preston North End/England);
Joel McAnuff (Leyton Orient/England);
Garath McCleary (Reading/England);
Je-Vaughn Watson (FC Dallas/USA);
Jamar Loza (Norwich City/England);
Romeo Parkes (Isidro Metapan/El Salvador);

« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2015, 04:03:15 PM »
Flex, I will instruct Touches to be the reporter. Consider that Post Filled.

That would be nice, but does Touches feel the same?

« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2015, 07:45:51 AM »

The WN crew usually sits approx halfway between the half line and the goal on the side facing Movie Towne in uncovered......ah confuse yuh??  :)

« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2015, 07:54:35 AM »
Flex, tailgate party as in the typical tailgate party like you guys do in the US?  I've only experienced one (the game against Uncle Sam in Nashville) and while people can park in the Stadium car park in the US, we aren't allowed to park in the HCS park during games here.

Just mih initial thought on it nah.  Unless the TTFA will give a few passes for certain vehicles....again just mih initial thought nah....

« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2015, 10:26:26 AM »

The WN crew usually sits approx halfway between the half line and the goal on the side facing Movie Towne in uncovered......ah confuse yuh??  :)

« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2015, 10:28:04 AM »
Flex, tailgate party as in the typical tailgate party like you guys do in the US?  I've only experienced one (the game against Uncle Sam in Nashville) and while people can park in the Stadium car park in the US, we aren't allowed to park in the HCS park during games here.

Just mih initial thought on it nah.  Unless the TTFA will give a few passes for certain vehicles....again just mih initial thought nah....

Hhmm.... thanks for clearing this up...

I am not sure the TTFA or who ever will allow vehicles then, if this is the case... I can't se them making an exception, but it wouldn't hurt asking.

I keep you guys posted...

https://www.facebook.com/WarriorNationTT

« Reply #24 on: October 19, 2015, 10:08:12 AM »
Jan
Mekeil
Abu Bakr
Bateau
Justin
Joevin
Cummings
Cato
Boucaud
Cyrus
Kenwyne

« Reply #25 on: October 19, 2015, 06:21:27 PM »
I managed to get a pass once from ttfa to bring in the flag. We tend to sit on 18yard line movietowne uncovered side.
Avoiding the fight up with the crowd in that area with the flag, we found it easier to spread it out a lil behind the movietowne side corner flag.
I should be there depending once i not on shift or can't get my shift switched.

« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2015, 05:41:55 AM »
Sizing up the U.S. player pool ahead of World Cup qualifying
Yahoo Sports.

The U.S. national team is a mess. There is no other way to say it after a disastrous Gold Cup and gut-wrenching loss to Mexico in the CONCACAF Cup.

The U.S. looks old and Jurgen Klinsmann has to know this, which is why he has to start thinking about integrating more new blood into his player pool, even with World Cup qualifying set to kick off next month.

Just how bad are things in the player pool? A closer look suggests that while there are still too many older players who can make good claims to being the best options at a variety of positions, there are good prospects in the pipeline at most positions. The real question is how long will it take those prospects to get to a level good enough to merit a call-up.

Klinsmann is in an interesting predicament because his window to experiment openly has closed on him after the team's run of bad results. Klinsmann spent the six months after the World Cup trying out different things, bringing in new faces, testing out different formations. There were some poor results, but it was chalked up to experimentation. Now, with so many bad results in recent months, Klinsmann may not have the luxury of testing out things and running the risk of more losses.

The November World Cup qualifiers will tell us plenty about just how much pressure Klinsmann is facing, and how much freedom he still has to try things out. If Klinsmann keeps trotting out squads loaded with players in their mid-30s, then it will be clear he no longer feels safe in his job enough to experiment. Now, if Klinsmann brings in a young team to qualifying next month it will be a very clear sign he still isn't feeling that much pressure.

What options is Klinsmann facing when it comes to choosing his team? Here is a closer look at the state of the U.S. player pool, position by position:

GOALKEEPERS

The Starter- Tim Howard. After a year out of the starting lineup, Howard is ready to retake the top spot. We know Klinsmann called it an open competition, and said he would rotate goalkeepers, but as things stand, Howard is the clear choice to be the No. 1.

The Backup- Brad Guzan. Did an admirable job filling in for Howard, and could still be the starter eventually, but should sit behind Howard going forward.

Don't forget about- Bill Hamid. Klinsmann may seem reluctant to incorporate him on a consistent basis, but Hamid is the best American goalkeeper in MLS and, at 24, only has room to grow.

Time to say goodbye- Nick Rimando. A good teammate, and someone who made the most of his appearancs, but at 36, Rimando needs to make way for the next generate of goalkeepers.

One for the future- Ethan Horvath. Currently starting matches for Norwegian side Molde, the 20-year-old netminder recently started in Olympic qualifying for the U.S. and is already drawing raves from overseas.

RIGHT BACK

The Starter- Fabian Johnson. It may seem strange to list a player who may or may not ever play for Klinsmann again, but there's no denying he's the best option in the U.S. player pool, so for now, he stays on the list. It will be interesting to see just how long it takes for Johnson and Klinsmann to make up, assuming they ever do.

The Backup- DeAndre Yedlin. Though Klinsmann has preferred him in a right wing role, Johnson's looming banishment might make it necessary to give Yedlin a long look at fullback earlier than Klinsmann would have liked.

Time to say goodbye- Brad Evans. The 30-year-old Evans actually turned in an admirable shift in the loss to Costa Rica, but he'll be 31 in the spring and it's time to look at younger options. Klinsmann may have to hold off on saying goodbye, though, if Johnson doesn't return to the national team any time soon.

Don't forget about- Timmy Chandler. Many U.S. fans will want to forget about Chandler's showing at the Gold Cup, but that awful tournament doesn't change the fact Chandler is a German Bundesliga starter when healthy and one of the few natural options at a thin position.

One for the future- Desevio Payne. Though he was a bit overshadowed by the center backs and goalkeeper on the U.S. Under-20 World Cup team, Payne was very impressive at right back. Having broken through with Dutch side Groningen last year, Payne has fallen off the radar a bit since his summer breakout due to injuries, but the 19-year-old is definitely one to keep an eye on when he returns to full health and starts seeing first-team minutes in the Netherlands.

RIGHT CENTER BACK

The Starter- Geoff Cameron. After spending almost a year without playing in this spot, Cameron showed in recent matches that he is the best option in the pool.

The Backup- Ventura Alvarado. Yes, he is very raw, and his shakiness in recent months has soured plenty of U.S. fans on his potential, but he's 23, on a big team in Club America, and Klinsmann loves him. He needs to get better to keep his current place on the depth chart, but there's no denying he's being given every chance to succeed.

Time to say goodbye- Michael Orozco. Why say goodbye to a player who doesn't turn 30 until January? There are simply better options, both younger and older, and Orozco isn't likely to get much better than he is now. That hasn't stopped Klinsmann from continuing to call him in, but in a crowded picture at center back, Orozco looks like the one most likely to lose out.

Don't forget about- Omar Gonzalez. There is no denying his form is in a bad place right now, which explains why he has fallen out of the national team picture for the moment, but he's only a year removed from being dominant and at 27 there is little reason to think he can't regain his best form.

One for the future- Cameron Carter-Vickers. The hype train slowed down on Carter-Vickers after his so-so showing in Olympic qualifying, but when you consider he's still just 17 years old you realize just what a special talent we're talking about. He's a few years away from being a force, and he has all the attributes to be a national team starter eventually.

LEFT CENTER BACK

The Starter- Matt Besler. Overcame a drop in form after a very taxing 2014 in time to regain his starting spot after John Brooks went down injured. It is clear Klinsmann sees Brooks as the future, and a healthy and in-form Brooks seems a safe bet to return to the starting lineup, but for now Besler should be the option as World Cup qualifying begins.

The Backup- John Brooks. The lasting memory of his Gold Cup struggles has erased the memories of his impressive World Cup, but the reality is he's still just 22 and has the talent to be worth considering a future starter. He needs to get healthy though, and get back to being a regular for Hertha Berlin. Until he does that, he will sit behind Besler.

Don't forget about- Matt Hedges. If Hedges played in a major media market he would be receiving significantly more buzz, which would be deserved given the outstanding season he's having with FC Dallas. Technical and boasting good size, Hedges keeps getting better, and at 25, he still has room to grow as a player.

One for the future- Matt Miazga. It has been a breakout 2015 for the New York Red Bulls defender, starting on the top team in the league, and coming off an impressive showing at the Under-20 World Cup. A move to Europe seems inevitable in 2016,

LEFT BACK

The Starter- Tim Ream. He may not be the most natural fit at the position, but Ream understands the spot and has the tools to be a serviceable starting option for the immediate future until a more dynamic option emerges. Ream's positioning and passing make him a player who should be able to hold things down in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, but he probably isn't the long-term answer at the position.

The Backup- Greg Garza. Sidelined after surgery to repair a hip injury, Garza has been sidelined for a while, and been carrying an injury dating back to the start of 2015. We haven't seen his best in a year, but those who remember him at his best know he just might wind up being the top option by the time the hexagonal roles around in 2017, if not sooner.

Time to say goodbye- DaMarcus Beasley. Yes, he can still do the job, but Beasley is 33 and it's time to look at other players. The next round of CONCACAF qualifying is a good time to try out some younger options.

Don't forget about- Brek Shea. It's easy to forget the Orlando City speedster was a regular part of Klinsmann's plans before injuries sidelined him. At the start of the year he was seen as a left back option, with the help of Orlando City playing him there. Injuries ended that experiment though, leaving Shea to play in midfield before being sidelined by surgery. Now that he's back, Shea could once again develop into a left back option, particularly if Orlando City gives him another shot at the position in 2016.

One for the future- John Requejo. The Club Tijuana defender did relatively well at the Under-20 World Cup, and the Xolos are said to have plans for him to see more minutes with the first team in the coming seasons.

DEFENSIVE MIDFIELDER

The Starter- Jermaine Jones. At age 33, Jones should be listed in the "Time to say goodbye" section alongside Kyle Beckerman, but with no other younger options appearing ready to take the mantle, Jones could be the one old-timer to carry on into the next round of World Cup qualifying. It remains to be seen whether Jones could really handle playing as a pure defensive midfielder, but he may have to in order to stick around.

The Backup- Danny Williams. It should be the Reading midfielder's time to step up and fill the void of aging options Jones and Beckerman, but his awful showing against Costa Rica earlier this month didn't exactly instill a ton of confidence. Look for Klinsmann to give him more chances though.

Time to say goodbye- Kyle Beckerman. The 33-year-old RSL midfielder did a outstanding job of enjoying a late-career national team renaissance, but his time should be up. Klinsmann needs to integrate younger options.

Don't forget about- Alfredo Morales. Another player who hasn't exactly dazzled when given national team opportunities, Morales is starting in the German Bundesliga and is just 25, making him a player who should play a larger role as the current World Cup qualifying cycle rolls on.

One for the future- Wil Trapp. The U.S. Under-23 captain boasts the kind of feel for the game that should help him enjoy a smooth transition to the international level, and Klinsmann just might find himself skipping a generation of options to give Trapp a real shot in 2016.

RIGHT MIDFIELDER

The Starter- Alejandro Bedoya. The veteran midfielder has had a rough year on the national team front, from his awful showing playing out of position against Brazil, to his woefully timed illness that cost him a chance to play in the CONCACAF Cup. When healthy, Bedoya remains a top option, and go-to starter.

The Backup- DeAndre Yedlin.  He isn't a natural winger, but Yedlin's speed makes him an enticing option. Could he really be used as a starter on the wing in important matches? That still seems a bit of a stretch.

Time to say goodbye- Graham Zusi. The 29-year-old Zusi hasn't had the best year, and there's always a chance of a turnaround similar to the one his club teammate Matt Besler enjoyed, but you get the feeling some younger options are knocking on the door, leaving Zusi unlikely to remain in the picture for very long.

Don't forget about- Darlington Nagbe. Now an American citizen, the Portland Timbers standout has the technical and physical qualities to excel on the international level. Klinsmann is aware, having already contacted the Timbers about him. It shouldn't be long before he's a regular part of the national team.

One for the future- Paul Arriola. The Club Tijuana attacker was snubbed from the U.S. Olympic qualifying team after an impressive showing at the Under-20 World Cup, but remains a very intriguing attacking prospect who can play in a number of positions.

LEFT MIDFIELDER

The Starter- Gyasi Zardes. The LA Galaxy speedster has enjoyed a breakout year with the national team in 2015, and while he may not be a natural left winger, he has held his own and should continue to see playing time there until some natural options step up. Like, for example, Brek Shea.

The Backup- Brek Shea. He can still be a bit wild at times, but the 25-year-old free spirit has shown signs of maturity with Orlando City and could definitely force himself back into the picture on the left flank. He isn't quite as good going at defenders as Zardes, but he's naturally left-footed, provides better service, and is versatile enough to play in multiple spots.

Time to say goodbye- Brad Davis. Not a real surprise he's listed here given the fact he turns 34 next month. Davis will go down as a player who had a heck of a left foot.

Don't forget about- Sebastian Lletget. Having taken MLS by storm in his first season in the league, Lletget boasts the kind of technical quality Klinsmann needs in his squad.

One for the future- Josh Perez. The U.S. Under-17 standout boasts speed, a dangerous left foot and the technical quality to develop into something special. With a move to Italian club Fiorentina in the works, Perez has a very bright future, either as a forward or left winger.

ATTACKING MIDFIELDER

The Starter- Michael Bradley. Though you could definitely make the argument the U.S. would be better off with Bradley playing in a deeper role, he remains the choice in the playmaking spot for now based on what Klinsmann prefers in the player pool at the moment. Bradley has shown he can take over a game in this role, particularly when playing behind two forwards.

The Backup- Lee Nguyen. The New England Revolution playmaker has been getting nibbles of playing time from Klinsmann, and, generally speaking, he's done well when given the chance. Will that lead to a larger role at some point? In an ideal world he would be in the starting lineup, with Bradley sitting deeper in midfield, but for now Nguyen remains a bench option.

Time to say goodbye- Benny Feilhaber. This will probably anger some folks who still can't fathom why Klinsmann has refused to call in the Sporting KC playmaker, but he isn't on this list because he isn't good enough to help. Feilhaber surely could offer something to the national team, but it has become painfully obvious that Klinsmann doesn't rate him. Feilhaber turns 31 in January, and with some impressive young attacking midfield talents in the pipeline, you have to think his window for having some sort of role with the national team is closing fast.

Don't forget about- Emerson Hyndman. The Fulham midfielder may be in a tough spot with his club team as he battles through the final year of his contract, but Hyndman showed enough at the Under-20 World Cup, and in Olympic qualifying, to remind us all that he's a very promising midfield prospect. He's still only 19, but if he makes a club move that leads to regular playing time in 2016, he could be a national team regular before long.

One for the future- Christian Pulisic. The U.S. Under-17 national team star is considered a future superstar, and his showings at the Under-17 World Cup have done nothing to slow down the building hype. Currently in the Borussia Dortmund setup, Pulisic has the sort of vision and skill that could see him starring in a World Cup one day. He still has plenty of developing to do, and some stiff competition from the likes of Hyndman and Gedion Zelalem, but Pulisic is as promising a prospect as there is in the entire player pool.

STRIKER

The Starter- Jozy Altidore. He remains inconsistent, but Altidore continues to be the clear-cut top choice starting striker in the pool, and nobody seems ready to offer a real challenge to that standing. If there is a question right now it's whether Klinsmann may consider benching either Altidore or Dempsey in order to inject some consistent pace into the U.S. attack. The pair haven't looked good playing together lately, leaving you to wonder which of them Klinsmann would bench.

The Backup- Bobby Wood. The CONCACAF Cup goal helped Wood earn a special place in the hearts of U.S. fans who had few reasons to celebrate that day. Wood has shown he can score in big moments, and he's earning regular playing time for Bundesliga 2 side Union Berlin. Is he ready to challenge for a starting national team role? Not quite, but he's on a good path and, at 22, Wood should continue to improve.

Time to say goodbye- Alan Gordon. With all due respect to the Galaxy forward, the fact he has been on the periphery of the national team conversation illustrates just how dire the target forward pool is for the U.S. at the moment. As barren as the cupboard is, Gordon shouldn't be needed again.

Don't forget about- Gyasi Zardes. If other wing options emerge to allow Klinsmann to push Zardes into the forward mix, look out for the Galaxy attacker as someone who could provide the pace up top the team sorely needs.

One for the future- Rubio Rubin. The U.S. Under-20 World Cup standout missed out on Olympic qualifying after his club failed to release him, but make no mistake, he figures prominently in that age group as one of the most promising forward talents in some time. After impressing in his national team debut last year, Rubin is squarely on Klinsmann's radar, though foot surgery will sideline him until January.

FORWARD

The Starter- Clint Dempsey. Based on recent form, Dempsey is looking more like he belongs in the "Time to say goodbye" category, but it is probably a bit premature to write him off already because of a bad run of form. Some time off could do Dempsey some good, and we just might see the Dempsey of old in 2016 if he can recharge his batteries this winter.

The Backup- Aron Johannsson. His move to the German Bundesliga has looked like a good fit for him, though he continues to face injuries that raise questions about his durability. With Altidore and Dempsey struggling, Johannsson has a very real chance to assert his position in the player pool, but he has to get healthy and stay healthy first.

Time to say goodbye- Chris Wondolowski. He will never live down "The Miss," but Wondolowski has shown nothing but class in continuing to play well in MLS and keeping himself in the national team picture. He turns 33 in January, though, and with several young forwards looking primed to break in next year, we probably won't see Wondolowski with the national team again next year.

Don't forget about- Joe Gyau. The speedster was on the verge of breaking out in 2014 before a knee injury cost him a year on the sidelines. He is working his way back to action, and while we still don't know if he will be able to return to his previous levels, the 23-year-old is talented enough to merit keeping a close on his recovery.

One for the future- Jordan Morris. You could argue the future is now with Morris, who boasts the kind of speed and nose for goal that must have Klinsmann considering bringing him into the senior team on a permanent basis. Morris is still playing at Stanford, but that's only for a few more months. It's tough to see him staying in college beyond this current season, which means we could see him turn pro in 2016, which would speed up his already-impressive evolution as a player.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2015, 11:15:37 AM »
the socawarriors have some departing gifts for Dempsey at least five...

« Reply #28 on: October 23, 2015, 11:38:48 AM »
We have to keep an eye on Zardes. Man have some toes. Central FC saw him when they played Galaxy in Los Angeles. Cyrus and Justin, Daiz allyuh job to hol' him dong.

« Reply #29 on: October 23, 2015, 01:21:51 PM »
We have to keep an eye on Zardes. Man have some toes. Central FC saw him when they played Galaxy in Los Angeles. Cyrus and Justin, Daiz allyuh job to hol' him dong.

:beermug: I concur!