March 28, 2024, 02:51:10 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (13-Nov-2015)  (Read 39299 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala Game (13-Nov-2015)
« Reply #30 on: November 06, 2015, 08:52:09 AM »
Real selection headache, good job by Hart for doing this, de only thing is, we need a next keeper.

De man is de best thing happen to T&T football EVER !!!!!!
Jan Williams
Bateau
Mitchell
Cyrus
Hoyte
Joevin
Hyland
Cummings
Boucaud
Cato
Kenwyne

Good line up

I think a  4-5-1 formation is necessary in for our away games... Qualification is the name of the game... Win yuh home games and play for a victory or draw in yuh away games.
Both 4-3-3 and to a lesser extent 4-4-2 formations are exciting , but as seen in past outings we are susceptible to giving up goals...

I agree besides that we've seen that Guat doh like when we hustle and press dem....so dat might be ah option but again guat in guat is not guat in d states :-\

« Reply #31 on: November 06, 2015, 08:58:34 AM »
Real selection headache, good job by Hart for doing this, de only thing is, we need a next keeper.

De man is de best thing happen to T&T football EVER !!!!!!
Jan Williams
Bateau
Mitchell
Cyrus
Hoyte
Joevin
Hyland
Cummings
Boucaud
Cato
Kenwyne

Good line up

I think a  4-5-1 formation is necessary in for our away games... Qualification is the name of the game... Win yuh home games and play for a victory or draw in yuh away games.
Both 4-3-3 and to a lesser extent 4-4-2 formations are exciting , but as seen in past outings we are susceptible to giving up goals...

I agree besides that we've seen that Guat doh like when we hustle and press dem....so dat might be ah option but again guat in guat is not guat in d states :-\

I like a 451 generally speaking, and yes gust in guat is a rel uphill battle...de only thing I don't like about that line up is hyland playing next to Cummings....boucaud is a defensive mid and so is hyland, but hyland to me don't seem to get the ball fwd and fall back as well as boucaud...boucaud does a solid job defensively and moving fed...where as hyland is more of a scrapper in the midfield and clumsy going fed...recently he has shown a lil improvement in that department tho...so let's see! Solid pick Sam!

« Reply #32 on: November 06, 2015, 01:11:25 PM »
It's really a 4-4-1-1 with Cummings playing as a withdrawn striker

« Reply #33 on: November 06, 2015, 06:14:18 PM »
It's really a 4-4-1-1 with Cummings playing as a withdrawn striker
fi
tink people know but jus doh fight dong d semantics

« Reply #34 on: November 06, 2015, 07:12:40 PM »
This is world cup eh allyuh, so play smart.

Once we don't allow Guatemala to pile it on we consistently we go be alright.

But we need to score early and score again and doh play like Chelsea under Jose.

« Reply #35 on: November 07, 2015, 02:33:28 PM »
Ah want to repeat this again eh

Very important to start this journey with a win

Important for T&T to start our campaign strong. A win away from home will do our boys well for team morale.

« Reply #37 on: November 08, 2015, 02:52:24 AM »
Jones sounds Guatemala warning.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Soca Warriors striker and captain Kenwyne Jones warmed up for this country’s opening 2018 World Cup Concacaf Semifinal Round Qualifier away to Gautemala by scoring in Cardiff City’s 2-0 win over Reading yesterday.

The headed goal by Jones from Joe Ralls’ free-kick, in the 44th minute was the first scored by a Cardiff player since October 3 while Matt Connolly doubled the lead as he nodded in from a corner in the 53rd, before David Marshall preserved the hosts’ clean sheet with several fine saves. The result sees Cardiff leapfrog Reading into seventh spot in the Championship, with 25 points from 16 matches, three points behind the play-off places.

The 31-year-old Jones was expected to link up with his T&T team-mates in Florida as they go into a live-in camp ahead of Friday’s World Cup qualifier against Guatemala at the Estadio Mateo Flores in Guatemala City.

In Slovakia, national winger Lester Peltier played the first 77 minutes for Slovan Bratislava in its 2-1 win over FK Senica to stay second with 34 points from 16 matches on the Fortuna League table, four behind Trencin which has a match in hand. On Wednesday, Mikheil Williams and his Antigua Guatemala club edged Depotivo Mictlan 2-1 while in Mexico’s Yohance Marshall’s Murcielagos had a 1-0 win over Correcaminos de la UAT.

And in Belgium, Khaleem Hyland picked up a yellow card in bottom club KV Westerlo’s 2-2 draw with Waasland-Beveren.

Yesterday, Soca Warriors coach Stephen Hart, his technical staff and the quintet of locally-based players in Central FC’s Jan-Michael Williams and Willis Plaza, North East Stars’ pair, Kerron Cummings and Neveal Hackshaw as well as Morvant Caledonia United goalkeeper Marvin Phillip left via 12.30 pm flight for Fort Lauderdale for the training camp before flying to Guatemala City on Wednesday.

The USA-based Daneil Cyrus, Kevan George, Joevin Jones, Trevin Caesar and Cordell Cato, as well as Iceland-based Jonathan Glenn and Justin Hoyte and Andre Boucaud of English League Two club, Dagenham & Redbridge while the rest of the team will arrive today ahead of the camp which gets going on tomorrow.

Today, Sheldon Bateau’s Krylya Sovetov Samara, 11th on the table faces 12th placed Rubin Kazan in the Russian Premier League. In the Denmark First Division’s Radanfah Abu Bakr’s HB Koege, third from bottom faces Fredericia and in Kazakhstan Aubrey David’s Shakhter Karagandy clashes with Okzhetpes in a relegation playoff match.

« Reply #38 on: November 09, 2015, 03:21:11 AM »
Soca Warriors kick off camp.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Soca Warriors coach Stephen Hart kicked off the T&T senior team  training camp with a light shift yesterday morning and followed it up with a complete session in the evening period at the Sawgrass Grand training facility in Fort Lauderdale, USA.

The “Soca Warriors” will be based in Florida until Wednesday as they engage in preparations for their opening 2018 Fifa World Cup Concacaf Semifinal Round Group C opener  away to Guatemala on Friday, from 7.06 pm (9.06 pm TT Time).

The home-based players, along with Kazakhstan-based defender Aubrey David and US-based winger Trevin Caesar, arrived from Port-of-Spain on Saturday for the camp at the facility which was also used ahead of the 2015 Concacaf Gold Cup.

T&T teams have also been based here in the past including the build-up to the 2005 World Cup qualifier away to Guatemala and then in 2006 under Dutchman Leo Beenhakker after the team had already qualified for the 2006 Fifa World Cup Finals in Germany.

The other players already at the camp include Chicago Fire duo Daneil Cyrus and  Joevin Jones, San Jose Earthquakes forward Cordell Cato, Mexican-based defender Yohance Marshall and forward Jonathan Glenn who joined locally-based goalkeepers Jan Michael Williams and Marvin Phillip, Keron Cummings, Willis Plaza and Neveal Hackshaw who flew in from Port-of -along with members of the team staff. Team captain Kenwyne Jones, who netted for Cardiff City in their 2-0 win over Reading on Saturday,  arrived late yesterday afternoon with some of other overseas-based players. Cardiff boss Russell Slade, in his delight while commenting after the win, said he would prefer if Jones did not have to travel for the match.

“I’d rather Kenwyne Jones stay in Cardiff. I expect him to go away for ten days now but if I was to be selfish then I’d rather him stay,” Slade said.”

Hart said was keen to get on with the preparations over the next few days.

“Of course it’s vitally important to regroup and get our focus going again ahead of the Guatemala match. We’ll use thee next couple of days to put things into perspective with regards to how we will play the match and just getting everyone into the correct frame of mind and ensuring that we are ready to go for the start of the campaign,” Hart said. Soca Warriors assistant manager Peter Rampersad will travel to Guatemala City today (Monday) to oversee all arrangements with the hotel, ground transportation and training facilities prior to the team’s arrival there.

Yesterday, T&T defender, Sheldon Bateau was an unused substitute in Krylya Sovetov Samara’s 2-0 loss to Rubin Kazan in the Russian Premier League while in the Denmark First Division’s Radanfah Abu Bakr’s HB Koege edged Fredericia 2-1; and in Kazakhstan Aubrey David’s was not in the 18-man Shakhter Karagandy squad in its 1-0 loss against Okzhetpes in a relegation playoff match.

And on Saturday, defender Carlyle Mitchell back in the T&T squad after a long absence played 76 minutes for Seoul E-Land FC in a 1-0 loss to Gyeongnam in the Korean League Challenge. For today’s second day of the camp, Hart is expected to have a full squad of players.

« Reply #39 on: November 09, 2015, 07:57:45 AM »
Allyuh doh sleep on Carlos Ruiz eh.

« Reply #40 on: November 09, 2015, 11:58:35 AM »
WATCH: The first day of the Soca Warriors’ training camp in Ft. Lauderdale. Hear from Jonathan Glenn and Yohance Marshall.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/W4MyCCpuDbk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/W4MyCCpuDbk</a>

« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2015, 02:39:29 PM »
VIDEO Report; https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10153748872432996/

SOCA WARRIORS BEGIN TRAINING IN FORT LAUDERDALE FOR WORLD CUP QUALIFIER AGAINST GUATEMALA

\T&T Senior Men's Team gather in Fort Lauderdale on first day of training camp ahead of November 13th World Cup qualifier away to Guatemala.

We hear from Yohance Marshall and Jonathan Glenn.
This is a TTFA Media TV production, uploaded to Youtube today.

« Reply #42 on: November 09, 2015, 03:26:38 PM »
Mods...any links to watch this game come game time?

« Reply #43 on: November 09, 2015, 04:05:55 PM »
Warriors step it up.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago skipper Kenwyne Jones resumed training with the national team on Monday morning after making a successful return to play following a short injury lay off last month.

Jones had been sidelined for just over two weeks after suffering a shin injury in the international friendly with Nicaragua at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. He scored a first half goal to help Cardiff City to a 2-0 win over Reading on Saturday before jetting off to the United States early on Sunday.

He joined the T&T team in Fort Lauderdale on Sunday night along with Dagenham and Redbridge midfielder Andre Boucaud, winger Lester Peltier, Belgium-based KVC Westerlo midfielder Khaleem Hyland and South Korean based defender Carlyle Mitchell.

All five players took part in the session at Sawgrass Grand on Monday morning. Guatemala-based defender Mekeil Williams joined the camp on Monday afternoon while Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Justin Hoyte and Kevan George were all expected in later in the day. George’s Columbus Crew advanced to the MLS Eastern Conference Final after defeating Montreal 3-1 on Saturday.

Hart led the team through double sessions on Monday under sunny conditions on a lush outfield at Sawgrass.

“The field is in immaculate condition and ideal for our preparations,” Hart told TTFA Media.  “The facility really has the makings of what you need for a training camp like this. And by tomorrow we should have the full team together but so far with the players here we’ve had a couple good, intense sessions and the players have responded quite well.

Obviously it’s good to have Kenwyne in at this time. He is the leader of the team and therefore he brings that added presence. But generally all the players here have responded well to what we’ve asked of them,” Hart added.

Forward Jonathan Glenn spoke about the camp, saying  the “Warriors” were gearing up for the contest in Guatemala City on Friday.

“It’s been going good so far. The guys are fully focused and giving it our all in practice here in Fort Lauderdale. It’s very crucial that we get a good start to set the tone and go on to advance to the Hex.

“We’re just really ready to go out and get a result. I have a one hundred percent confidence in the guys to go there and get it done. We know it will be tough but if it was easy, then anyone could achieve this so we know we have to go there and work for the right result,” Glenn said.

Meantime, Hart was interviewed by CONCACAF.com on the weekend, and spoke of the importance of getting into the final round next year.

“The objective is to get in the Hex,” Hart told CONCACAF.com, referring to what is widely-known moniker for the final round of qualifying CONCACAF. “If you do your business at home and hope to get some points on the road, you should be able to get in.”

He touched on the November 17th home clash with the United States.

“We will see a different United States team,” he said. “They will be a team that is completely different from what we have seen in the last few outings. However, we have to take advantage of the fact we are playing at home.”

“The main thing is not to panic with the opening two games because there is a huge break between these games in November and March,” the 55-year-old added. “That’s the most important thing.”

Tickets (priced at $300 and $150) for the upcoming World Cup qualifier versus the United States remain on sale at Sports & Games (nationwide), The Fan Club (Movietowne, Trincity and Gulf City Mall), Ramsingh’s Sportworld (Couva), Sportway (Ellerslie Plaza and Gulf City), Heritage Sports (Tobago), Fan Zone (Centre City Mall, Chaguanas) and online at www.islandetickets.com  Gates open at 4pm on matchday with kick off set for 7:30pm. No coolers will be allowed at the event.

« Reply #44 on: November 09, 2015, 08:27:20 PM »
There is a good vibez coming from this team. 2016 is our year.  :beermug:

« Reply #45 on: November 10, 2015, 06:53:41 AM »
There is a good vibez coming from this team. 2016 is our year.  :beermug:

I echo the same sentiment. Sessions look lively and the squad seems a bit more relaxed (away from home). That being said, I hope this confidence can be replicated at home, because of late, the team has been playing a bit more tentatively.

« Reply #46 on: November 10, 2015, 07:48:38 AM »
WATCH: Soca Warriors in Ft. Lauderdale (Day 3). Hear from midfielder Andre Boucaud.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ws0ZrSuC9qc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ws0ZrSuC9qc</a>

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #47 on: November 10, 2015, 10:50:12 AM »
Jan
A.David
Bateau
Abu Bakr
J.Hoyte
J.Jones
Boucaud
Cummings
Hyland
Cato
K.Jones

More of a 4-4-1-1 with Ballpest behind Kenwyne.

Compact off the ball, Direct on the ball..all done with aggression, concentration and passion.

« Reply #48 on: November 10, 2015, 12:50:14 PM »
Jan
A.David
Bateau
Abu Bakr
J.Hoyte
J.Jones
Boucaud
Cummings
Hyland
Cato
K.Jones

Compact off the ball, Direct on the ball..all done with aggression, concentration and passion.

I would play Mitchell and Cyrus in the back...

« Reply #49 on: November 10, 2015, 12:52:28 PM »
Jan
A.David
Bateau
Abu Bakr
J.Hoyte
J.Jones
Boucaud
Cummings
Hyland
Cato
K.Jones

I would play Mitchell and Cyrus in the back...

Haven't seen Mitchell in a while and I wasn't impressed with what I saw of Cyrus in central defence at Chicago. That being said, I trust SH will pick the best pair for the job.

« Reply #50 on: November 10, 2015, 04:02:51 PM »
WATCH: Head Coach Stephen Hart gives a recap of the final day of the Soca Warriors’ camp in Ft. Lauderdale
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/evOYoTgPI-Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/evOYoTgPI-Y</a>

« Reply #51 on: November 10, 2015, 04:31:58 PM »
Warriors off to Guatemala for opening world cup qualifier.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team is expected to arrive in Guatemala City just after midday on Wednesday ahead of their opening affair of the CONCACAF semi-final stage of 2018 World Cup qualification at the Estadio Mateo Flores on Friday from 7:06pm (9:06 pm TT Time).

Captain Kenwyne Jones and his teammates had their final work out at the Sawgrass Grand in Fort Lauderdale on Tuesday evening with the full compliment of the 22-man squad engaged in training in the two sessions overseen by Stephen Hart and his staff on the last day of the live-in training camp.

Except for a light shower on Sunday morning, the “Soca Warriors” have trained under sweltering heat here but they have not been alone with Panama also training under similar conditions at Lockhart Stadium the United States team at Barry University ahead of their respective opening World Cup qualifiers against Jamaica and St Vincent/Grenadines on Friday.

Hart summed up the training camp on Tuesday, saying he was pleased with the way things have gone.

“It’s the first session today (Tuesday) we’ve had with everybody because of travel and so on and I thought it went well. The mood was nice, very upbeat and when necessary, it’s been jovial. But it’s been a very concentrated and very intense training so far. We have one more this afternoon which I will demand the same from them, positionally and collectively. Then we travel tomorrow. (Wednesday morning),” Hart told TTFA Media on Tuesday.

Commenting on the return of defensive duo Justin Hoyte and Carlyle Mitchell, he said: “Carlyle trained well but you can see he is very jetlagged. Justin looked very sharp in the sessions.”

Hart concluded by speaking on he intends to see through the next couple of days and what his approach has been like this week with regards to preparing for the opponent.

“We are always discussing in every training session based on what we know of Guatemala but not overly concern about their game. My main concern when I’m talking to the players is about being in control of their own game, how they approach play, being tidier with the ball and how we recover the ball. But tonight we will also look at a video of the game about Guatemala, just go over things in our mind, mentally and collectively of how we will approach the game and what we will expect, of course we don’t know what to expect down in Guatemala, but in terms of what we expect on the field,” Hart said.

Also looking ahead to the clash on Friday with a huge amount of interest is Guatemalan-based defender Mekeil Williams. The former W Connection player has three club teammates who are on the Guatemala national team in defender Jose Pinto, 33-year-old midfielder Fredy Thompson and reserve goalkeeper Victor Ayala.

“I can tell you that everyone back in Guatemala and at the club is talking about the game. We have to be mentally strong and well prepared for it,” Williams said.

“There are three players in my club who are on the Guatemala team and they have been telling me a lot of about the game. The coaches are all taking about it. They have the home advantage so it’s obviously not going to be easy for us.

“I know they will try their best to make it as hard as possible for us but I have a lot of confidence in our squad and I think once we settle down and we remain focus then we can leave there with a result in our favour,” he added.

Tickets for the upcoming World Cup qualifier versus the United States remain on sale at Sports & Games (nationwide), The Fan Club (Movietowne, Trincity and Gulf City Mall), Kenny’s (POS) Ramsingh’s Sportworld (Couva), Sportway (Ellerslie Plaza and Gulf City), Heritage Sports (Tobago), Fan Zone (Centre City Mall, Chaguanas) and online at www.islandetickets.com Gates open at 4pm on matchday with kick off set for 7:30pm. No coolers will be allowed at the event.

« Reply #52 on: November 10, 2015, 06:41:48 PM »
feeling it...ready

Online soccerman

« Reply #53 on: November 10, 2015, 09:48:47 PM »
This game can be seen live on Bein connect. Not sure if it's their online stream but I'll research it tomorrow.

« Reply #55 on: November 11, 2015, 12:23:31 PM »
WATCH: Sheldon Bateau looks ahead to our first two matches in our 2018 World Cup Qualifying campaign
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/wF8ViOM8Csg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/wF8ViOM8Csg</a>

« Reply #56 on: November 11, 2015, 07:30:02 PM »
Arrival in Guatemala

« Reply #57 on: November 12, 2015, 03:03:52 AM »
Over 20,000 for Guatemala clash.
T&T Express Reports.

Head Coach Stephen Hart is scheduled to oversee a final training session at the Estadio Mateo Flores, in Guatemala City, tonight ahead of the Soca Warriors clash against Guatemala in their opening match tomorrow night in the semi-final round of CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers were scheduled to touch down in Guatemala City at 2 p.m. (4 p.m. T&T time) yesterday, after departing Miami at the end of its training camp.

Word on the ground is that an estimated crowd of 20,000 is expected to fill the stadium, fully behind the host team which is looking to force a win over the “Soca Warrior” following their 3-1 blowout at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The encounter will be a significant test for T&T which last won a World Cup qualifier at the venue in 1989.

Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau says the T&T squad is ready for the steep challenge.

“Definitely there will be some nerves as we know it’s always difficult going to these countries and for most of the players it will be the first time playing a World Cup qualifier in Guatemala. But we have enough experience within the group to cope with this kind of situation. We just have to focus on our game and the task at hand which is getting a result. I think we are ready for whatever they throw at us,” Bateau told TTFA Media.

RELATED NEWS

Bateau says ‘Warriors’ ready for Guatemala.
T&T Newsday Reports.

Russian-based national defender Sheldon Bateau believes the Soca Warriors are ready for the steep challenge against Guatemala in their 2018 World Cup qualifier tomorrrow.

The Soca Warriors arrived in Guatemala City at 2 pm (4pm TT Time) yesterday after departing Miami at the end of their training camp.

Head Coach Stephen Hart took his players through a final training session at the Estadio Mateo Flores, the venue for the encounter, late yesterday evening.

“Definitely there will be some nerves as we know it’s always difficult going to these countries and for most of the players it will be the first time playing a World Cup qualifier in Guatemala.

But we have enough experience within the group to cope with this kind of situation.

We just have to focus on our game and the task at hand which is getting a result. I think we are ready for whatever they throw at us,” Bateau told TTFA Media.

Word on the ground is that an estimated crowd of 20,000 is expected to fill the stadium, fully behind the hosts who are looking to rebound following their 3-1 loss to TT at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The encounter will be a significant test for TT who last won a World Cup qualifier at the venue in 1989.

Asked whether he thinks TT can come away with two favourable results against Guatemala and the United States next Tuesday, Bateau replied “Definitely yes; with the squad we have, the experience, athleticism, chemistry and the results of the last few games even though you can’t really judge too much based on the past.

I think we just need to put everything into these two games as we’ve done before and even more and we can come away with two positive results,” added the former Jabloteh player.

Bateau will like to see a filled Hasely Crawford Stadium on Tuesday.

“I hope we can have a full stadium on Tuesday because as far as I can remember, whenever we played the US and I was there as a fan, the stadium was always filled when players like Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy were around.

I would like to see that again.

We need to make it our home territory and the fans need to play their part and be the extra man for us,” he added.

« Last Edit: November 12, 2015, 03:05:27 AM by Flex »

« Reply #58 on: November 12, 2015, 08:20:25 AM »
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago arrive in Guatemala ahead of Friday’s World Cup Qualifier
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/R5xta7YSXts" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/R5xta7YSXts</a>

Offline Majestic

« Reply #59 on: November 12, 2015, 08:36:59 AM »
lights cameras movements...done dem Warriors

dat poster at the end look boss, cyah rem ever seeing a T&T team poster like dat
He Is Highly