March 29, 2024, 01:38:10 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (8-Oct-2015)  (Read 34112 times)

Offline Majestic

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (8-Oct-2015)
« Reply #240 on: October 12, 2015, 12:23:02 PM »
I am among those who would like to see Cyrus play center midfield alongside Hyland- whether is 4-2-3-1 or 4-4-2...ah feel he ha more quality to offer than both George and Boucaud in dat role as enforcer, keeping d knock and goal-scorer. It worth a try...if it doh work, we move on.

He Is Highly

« Reply #241 on: October 12, 2015, 01:00:03 PM »
 :yellowcard:People doh geh tie up with short memories. Cyrus is not ideally a mr responsible last stopper although he can do it. He is damn fast for a tall man and was a revelation for us holding dong the El Salvadorean dangerman winger in the previous Gold Cup when Hart just took de wok. Like allyuh fuhget. As long as we double team them back when the central Americans try to double team us with a deceptively timed late-run wing overlap (the same ting dat Mexico, Guatemala, and all the central Americans feel dey could do we), we good, whether is L back or right back. Doh panic. So Cyrus stay on r back and alternate with Justin Hoyte when he is fit. Without Justin, you are the man. Little Garvin Hoyte is lower on the pecking order.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2015, 01:05:04 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #242 on: October 12, 2015, 04:12:19 PM »
:yellowcard:People doh geh tie up with short memories. Cyrus is not ideally a mr responsible last stopper although he can do it. He is damn fast for a tall man and was a revelation for us holding dong the El Salvadorean dangerman winger in the previous Gold Cup when Hart just took de wok. Like allyuh fuhget. As long as we double team them back when the central Americans try to double team us with a deceptively timed late-run wing overlap (the same ting dat Mexico, Guatemala, and all the central Americans feel dey could do we), we good, whether is L back or right back. Doh panic. So Cyrus stay on r back and alternate with Justin Hoyte when he is fit. Without Justin, you are the man. Little Garvin Hoyte is lower on the pecking order.
I agree with you. Disagree better option than Boucaud or George..not even close
« Last Edit: October 12, 2015, 04:14:16 PM by maxg »

« Reply #243 on: October 13, 2015, 10:49:01 AM »
One thing I noticed with Panama in this game is like the head coach allowed one of his assistants to coach the team and get some head coaching experience at the NT level. I noticed the coach took a back seat and even allowed the assistant to answer the questions at the press conference afterwards.

« Reply #244 on: October 13, 2015, 07:35:54 PM »
#fuerzaromán (the banner in the video highlights with this on it)

Only just really vibesed this now. Fitting tribute by the Panamanians to their injured skipper, Román Torres.

Team solidarity.

« Reply #245 on: October 13, 2015, 07:41:32 PM »
The captain put his foot through that ball boy.

Absolutely.

(Somewhat lost in the comments is Glenn's decision to lay the ball off for KJ, rather than to attempt to penetrate on his own).

That decision, and the quality of the pass, influenced KJ's "decision" to shoot without taking an additional touch. Both decisions, and the quality of KJ's strike, bought the timing to beat Penedo.

The goal came at a critical moment to deflate what was rising Panamanian confidence.

Off the pitch, it registered with the  many young Panamanian players that hold him in high esteem. Here's a T&T player that is a point of reference for Panama's U16 JNT players. Quite an interesting dynamic.

Classy goal, yes the backheel was very well done and made the room for the shot.

Ah doh see that as the surface used. Appears to have been played using the "inside" of the foot.

« Reply #246 on: October 13, 2015, 10:14:19 PM »
Mexico 1 Panama 0.

Panama: in the context of both games ... is better individually than the sum of its collective parts. Also, the players hold the ball longer than is advisable and longer than is the average for success at the international level. They also run a lot, but it isn't clear that this is economical or collectively beneficial.

Despite these facets, with fewer imprecisions on final balls, several of their disappointments could be victories.

Funny thing is ... given their attacking qualities, I think Klinsmann could get more out of them than he has squeezed from the US.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2015, 10:19:43 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #247 on: October 21, 2015, 08:57:03 AM »
Public access to the full match available?