April 18, 2024, 05:38:49 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Haiti Copa Game (08-Jan-2016)  (Read 58987 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Haiti Copa Games
« Reply #30 on: September 13, 2015, 02:14:08 PM »
According to Mls.com the top ranked teams from the Gold cup were supposed qualify directly for Copa Americano Centenario.

http://m.mlssoccer.com/goldcup/2015/news/article/2015/03/10/gold-cup-final-two-copa-america-spots-be-handed-out

I wouldn't be surprised if Concacaf reverts to choosing the highest ranked Gold cup teams for the final two spots. This was the original plan.

« Reply #31 on: September 17, 2015, 09:51:21 AM »
I just read that the USA soccer officials skipped today's Copa America meeting in Mexico. Some are saying that the USA's absence is a sign the the USA will not be hosting the tournament, hence they MIGHT NOT be participating in the Copa 2016. There is also talk that the tournament might be scaled down to 12 teams. This explains why there isn't any dates for the qualifiers.

In the end the tournament will be taking place. The question is whether or not it will be held in America, Mexico or South America. If it is held in Mexico, I don't think the tournament will be scaled down from 16 to 12 teams. However if it is held in South America, there is a likelihood that the tournament will be scaled down to 12 teams. We will have a better idea at the end of the day where it will be held.

If America pulls out, and Mexico hosts the event, my guess is that Panama will replace America, TT will play Cuba and Haiti will play El Salvador for the remaining spots. Another scenario could be, Panama play Canada, TT play El Salvador and Haiti play Cuba. Just speculating.. So we will see what happens today.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2015, 09:55:35 AM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #32 on: September 17, 2015, 02:08:27 PM »
Many sources are saying that the USA will not be hosting Copa America 2016. They might not even participate in it.

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2015/09/17/sports/soccer/copa-americas-fate-uncertain-as-us-soccer-skips-meeting.html?referrer=

« Reply #33 on: September 17, 2015, 02:13:51 PM »
Now they are saying that the tournament is still on in the USA. It's official that the tournament will take place next year with the hosts being USA. This article was published today after the Concacaf and Conmebol meeting.

http://www.starsandstripesfc.com/copa-america-2016-centenario/2015/9/17/9347295/copa-america-centenario-host-us-soccer

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #34 on: September 17, 2015, 03:23:02 PM »
and the whole world was corrupt, copa America too... more corruption than fifa and uefa combined,
Interpol about to kick down some doors and make some arrest, ttfa was not mentioned but other concacaf heads have already been contacted...

« Reply #35 on: September 18, 2015, 07:17:08 AM »
Copa America Centenario in United States still a possibility - CONCACAF
BY JEFF CARLISLE (ESPN)

Hope remains to hold the Copa America Centenario in the United States next summer, according to a CONCACAF spokesman.

Leaders of CONMEBOL and CONCACAF, as well as CONCACAF's television partners, Televisa and Univision, met in Mexico City on Thursday in a bid to kick-start an organizing process that has run aground in recent months.

"The meeting was very positive and we emerged from the meeting with the common goal of holding the Copa America Centenario in the United States," said CONCACAF spokesman Jurgen Mainka via telephone.

The U.S. Soccer Federation did not have a representative in attendance but a USSF spokesman said that the federation's leadership already had a meeting scheduled for Thursday.

In May, the indictments of 14 soccer and marketing executives revealed corruption surrounding the organizing of the Copa America Centenario. Since then, U.S. Soccer, which had been selected by CONMEBOL to host the expanded version of the Copa America, has sought assurances that the companies involved were above board and that there was total transparency with regard to the commercial and television rights of the tournament.

U.S. Soccer hasn't been able to receive those assurances to its satisfaction and may withdraw from hosting the tournament as a result.

With each passing day, the likelihood that the tournament would be held has lessened, since the U.S. promoters in line to book stadiums for the tournament are starting to look elsewhere in order to fill their venues with other events. On Wednesday, a source familiar with the situation confirmed the lengthening odds.

While Mainka said that progress was made during the meeting, he did note that some challenges remain.

"We know that there is an aggressive timeline with respect to the operations of the tournament that needs to be hosted," he said. "We are well aware of that. We're also aware that there are a couple of more steps that need to be taken to put this tournament together. What's important is that we have alignment with these four entities."

Mainka declined to elaborate on what those steps are, but a source with knowledge of the situation indicated that the major sticking point surrounds Datisa, an Argentina-based marketing company that owns the commercial rights to the Copa America Centenario, and was implicated in the FIFA scandal to the extent that its accounts have been frozen by U.S. investigators.

Datisa was formed as a joint venture that included Traffic Sports, Full Play and another Argentine company, Torneos y Competencias. Datisa acquired the rights to the 2015, 2016, 2019, and 2013 Copa Americas for $318 million. Datisa later acquired CONCACAF's share of the commercial rights to the Copa America Centenario as well.

If CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, Televisa and Univision can somehow obtain those rights from Datisa, then the odds of the tournament being held in the U.S. go up considerably. A complicating factor however is that Datisa had already sold some of the commercial rights to third parties, a group that includes Televisa.

Mainka also said in a news conference on Thursday: "We are still aligned with a common goal of holding the Copa América Centenario in the U.S. on the dates previously planned. There are several steps that must be taken but our alignment is very clear and we are working toward this goal."

Copa America is normally held every four years, with the latest edition having been held last June in Chile. This edition is designed to celebrate the 100-year anniversary of the formation of COMNEBOL, and was set to include six nations from CONCACAF in addition to the 10 countries that comprise COMNEBOL.

Last week, CONCACAF had issued a statement in which it alluded to the ongoing concerns of both the confederation and U.S. Soccer.

"We are continuing to work with CONMEBOL, the U.S. Soccer Federation and all other stakeholders on hosting the Copa America Centenario tournament in the United States," the statement read. "CONCACAF is committed to continue working with all parties to address the operational, format and financial issues relating to the tournament in order to ensure greater transparency to this event. We are hopeful that the meeting on Thursday in Mexico City will lead to progress on these issues."

On Wednesday, a source with knowledge of the ongoing conversations had said that the U.S. chances of hosting were dwindling before Thursday's meeting in Mexico City. The U.S. national team currently has no games scheduled for the summer months in 2016.

« Reply #36 on: October 15, 2015, 09:44:00 PM »
Looks like we should get a date of the playoff soon. Concacaf and the tournament stakeholders resolved the problem regarding the marketing company. So the tournament is on in the USA.

http://www.espnfc.us/copa-america/story/2664857/copa-america-centenario-set-to-go-ahead-in-us-sources

« Reply #37 on: October 16, 2015, 06:25:31 AM »
Good stuff Gop.
The politics of whether T&T competes or not is well beyond our hands
but it can be said that our recent good Gold Cup performances and stellar game ratings of the Mexico clashes
and recent defeat of Panama could make us a marketing desirable and this certainly does not hurt our chances of folks lobbying for our inclusion by a fair playoff qualification series.

« Reply #38 on: October 16, 2015, 10:19:57 AM »
Np Dreamer. I hope Concacaf and Conmebol decide to go with the initial plan i.e. Take the top ranked teams from the Gold cup as qualifiers for the Copa. The last thing we need is another 2 leg qualifier during WCQ campaign.

Considering that the end of the year is upon us, the FIFA windows for international games are occupied by WCQ,  and the federations need enough time to properly market the tournament, it would be wise to give the spots to TT and Panama.. They definitely earned it.

Like you said Dreamer, the Gold cup performances coupled with the recent results, makes us much more marketable than Haiti. Conmebol is aware of what we can do. And if they had to choose between TT and Haiti, reason and logic would say choose TT.

Let's wait and see if a playoff date is set. My guess is if we don't have a  playoff date before the end of the year,  Concacaf and Conmebol will go with Panama and TT.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2015, 10:21:41 AM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #39 on: October 16, 2015, 05:12:29 PM »
if we can't beat haiti convincingly home and away, then we don't deserve to be in the competition.

« Reply #40 on: October 24, 2015, 06:48:54 AM »
Copa America Centenario will be held in United States next summer
ESPN STAFF

CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and the U.S. Soccer Federation announced Friday that plans to hold the Copa America Centenario in the United States during the summer of 2016 will proceed as originally planned.

The announcement concludes a tortuous process in which the holding of the tournament had been in doubt ever since 14 soccer administrators and marketing executives were arrested back in May on corruption charges.

The investigation that led to those arrests uncovered $110 million in bribes that had been paid by sports marketing company Datisa, which owned the commercial rights to the Copa America Centenario.

Sources indicated that the USSF had refused to go forward with the tournament unless complete transparency could be ensured by CONMEBOL and CONCACAF, which included the removal of Datisa from any aspect of the tournament.

One sticking point included having Datisa return the money it received for selling those rights to third parties, including Mexican multimedia company Televisa. That proved tricky, as Datisa's assets had been frozen by the Department of Justice.

Last week, CONCACAF announced that it had reacquired its marketing rights for the tournament from Datisa, thus smoothing the way for the tournament to be held.

CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, and the USSF also announced the formation of a new executive committee to govern the event. It will be comprised of five members, two from CONMEBOL, two from CONCACAF, and one from the USSF. The intent is to provide even greater financial transparency regarding funds collected for broadcasting and sponsorships.

The 16-nation tournament, to be played from June 3-26, 2016, will feature all 10 national teams from South America and six from CONCACAF, including the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica and Jamaica.

The areas that expressed interest to host were Atlanta; Baltimore; Boston; Chicago; Cleveland; Dallas; Denver; Detroit; Houston; Indianapolis; Jacksonville, Florida; Kansas City, Missouri; Los Angeles; Nashville, Tennessee; New York/New Jersey; Orlando, Florida; Philadelphia; Phoenix; St. Louis; San Diego; San Francisco; Seattle; Tampa, Florida; and Washington, D.C.

Organizers are in the process of selecting from the list of host cities and venues. However, sources told ESPN that the final will be played at the Rose Bowl, in Pasadena, California, and one of the semifinals will be held at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

In a joint statement, CONCACAF and CONMEBOL said: "We are extremely happy for our fans, our teams and our partners, that we were able to find a way to host the Copa America Centenario celebration in the United States under an entirely new structure for managing the tournament's operations and finances. The improved governance structure will bring greater accountability and transparency to the event so it can serve its two intended purposes - to celebrate the 100 years of history of Copa America, and provide a once in a lifetime spectacle for fans in the CONCACAF and CONMEBOL regions."

« Reply #41 on: October 24, 2015, 12:57:05 PM »
So no Trinidad or Haiti?

« Reply #42 on: October 24, 2015, 03:00:29 PM »
So no Trinidad or Haiti?

You read the article and that is what u thought to ask?

« Reply #43 on: October 24, 2015, 03:29:56 PM »
So no Trinidad or Haiti?

Yeah. Comprehension is a hell of a thing. Smh.

« Reply #44 on: October 24, 2015, 04:17:25 PM »
So no Trinidad or Haiti?

Yeah. Comprehension is a hell of a thing. Smh.

Sorry nah both of you geni-asses ...i asked a question...not to get no dotish answer...I accidentally overlooked something...so shake yuh head til it fall off! Comprehend that

« Reply #45 on: October 28, 2015, 09:43:28 PM »
I rather T&T play Haiti in a one game confrontation on neutral territory instead of a two game home and away.

Trinidad and Tobago to face Haiti on January 8th
« Reply #46 on: October 29, 2015, 12:49:44 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago to face Haiti on January 8th for Copa América Centenario berth
CONCACAF.com

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced details of the two play-in matches for the final two berths in the historic Copa America Centenario, to be played in the United States from June 3-26, 2016.

Two matchups – Panama vs. Cuba and Trinidad & Tobago vs. Haiti – will be played as a double header on Friday, January 8 2016, at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City, Panama. The winner of each match will advance to the Copa America Centenario. Exact kickoff times will be announced shortly.

CONCACAF will have six representatives in the 2016 Copa America Centenario, hosted in the United States and marking the first time the South American championship has been played outside that continent. CONCACAF Gold Cup champion Mexico, 2013 Gold Cup champion and host United States, reigning Central American Cup champion Costa Rica and Caribbean Cup Champion Jamaica have already secured their places in the event.

The four playoff contenders set to compete in Panama earned their places in the play-in matches by virtue of their performances at the 2015 Gold Cup. Cuba, Haiti, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago were all quarterfinalists. Panama earned the right to host the play-in event as the best finisher of the group, advancing to the semifinals and eventually finishing in third place.

The U.S.-hosted Copa America Centenario was originally announced in May 2014, when it was determined the reigning UNCAF and CFU champion, as well as Mexico and the United States, would represent the CONCACAF region, along with two additional teams to be determined via play in matches after a ranking of the best finishers from the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. That procedure was confirmed last week, along with the final details of the Copa America Centenario in the United States.

« Reply #47 on: October 29, 2015, 02:11:50 PM »
Jan 8 is not a FIFA international match date. That could be problematic

« Reply #48 on: October 29, 2015, 02:14:54 PM »
I rather T&T play Haiti in a one game confrontation on neutral territory instead of a two game home and away.
You got your wish!

« Reply #49 on: October 29, 2015, 02:26:45 PM »
Jan 8 is not a FIFA international match date. That could be problematic

Should be fine. Kenwyne wouldn't miss any matches for Cardiff. The other UK-based will miss at most one club match. Most of the other foreign-based will be either on winter break or in their off-season.

« Reply #50 on: October 29, 2015, 02:57:48 PM »
This will be intense!

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Haiti Copa Game (08-Jan-2016)
« Reply #51 on: October 30, 2015, 09:27:22 PM »
I'm glad about the 1 game playoff at a neutral location. A 2 leg home and away playoff wouldn't have made much sense.

The two wcq games before this fixture will be good preparation.

« Reply #52 on: October 30, 2015, 09:52:30 PM »
Very happy about the neutral location and 1 game, only concern is that would our full contingent of players be available? Haiti have always proved to be a challenging opposition!

« Reply #53 on: November 19, 2015, 03:31:43 AM »
Soca Warriors target Haiti next
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago’s men’s senior national football team, the Soca Warriors, will regroup on Boxing Day to prepare for their Copa America Centario playoff in Panama City against Haiti in just under two months from now.

With no official FIFA international match dates for the next four months, the COPA playoffs is an assignment the Soca Warriors head coach relishes. The January 8 playoff gives T&T a chance to face possibly the likes of Brazil and Argentina and valuable matches against quality opponents.

The qualifier itself also serves as a good warm-up for T&T’s next World Cup assignments, home and away matches to St Vincent and the Grenadines on March 25 and 29, 2016. Hart thinks the Haiti clash is ideal preparation for the “Vincey Heat”.

“We have the game in January which is healthy for us,” Hart said following T&T’s goalless draw with the United States on Tuesday.

“We have the game in January, which is a tricky fixture because of course its not a FIFA date,” Hart continued.

“We intend to start (preparing) on Boxing Day and have camp and maybe get a game against a select Pro League team or something of that nature, and go into the Haiti game.”

Hart will likely have available his MLS players Joevin Jones, Daneil Cyrus, Cordell Cato and Kevan Gibbes, since their MLS season ends in December. Hart will also likely have available Sheldon Bateau, Khalem Hyland, Radanfah Abu Bakr and Lester Peltier, who play in European leagues with winter breaks.

“With the winter break, if I could work it out with the clubs, I wouldn’t mind playing in January and then again in February,” Hart said. However, Hart may be forced to find replacements for Britain-based Andre Boucard, Jonathan Glen, Justin Hoyte and skipper Kenwyne Jones, since their leagues have no winter break. Cardiff City striker Jones is asking his Soca Warriors teammates to do all possible to get the team qualified for the Copa Centario.

“Keep the flag flying,” Jones said.

“Push us on to try and to be in that competition in June. It will be good experience for us and also good experience for them, because you do not know who will be in the squad at that time.”

Jones confirmed that he is almost certain to miss the Haiti playoff, given his important role with Cardiff City, a Welsh club playing in the English Championship Division.

“Probably on that weekend I will have a club game,” Jones lamented.

“It is not a FIFA period. The (CONCACAF) organisation was a bit funny in organising the game in that period, when we had so many FIFA windows (open) to play it in.”

The Soca Warriors are vying for one of the final two spots in the prestigious Copa America Centenario, a 16-team tournament which marks the 100-year anniversary of the South American Football Championship.

Featuring four of the top-10 ranked football teams in the world--Argentina (#3), Chile (#5), Colombia (#7) and five-time World Cup champions Brazil --the event will be held from June 3-26 in venues across the United States.

« Reply #54 on: November 19, 2015, 07:38:00 AM »
 Hart may be forced to find replacements for Britain-based Andre Boucard, Jonathan Glen, Justin Hoyte and skipper Kenwyne Jones

I did not know Johnathan is playing is Britain.

« Reply #55 on: November 19, 2015, 08:40:03 AM »
Hart will likely have available his MLS players Joevin Jones, Daneil Cyrus, Cordell Cato and Kevan Gibbes, since their MLS season ends in December. Hart will also likely have available Sheldon Bateau, Khalem Hyland, Radanfah Abu Bakr and Lester Peltier, who play in European leagues with winter breaks.

Kevan Gibbes...

Who de f00ck is that?

And Deeks, look how he spell Boucaud and Khaleem.....

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Prescott have to be a dunce.

« Last Edit: November 19, 2015, 08:43:06 AM by Sam »

« Reply #56 on: November 19, 2015, 11:12:01 AM »
the problem is, would hahiti have it's full compliments of foreign based like jean louis and the other league one players. hopefully aubrey david and mikiel williams will be available, then we really don't need the english based, even though J.glen would have been a nice addition, but all the same we have ball past and guerra to fall back on.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #57 on: November 19, 2015, 11:49:42 AM »
Who will really be in season? Off the top of my head Kenywne, Boucaud, Hoyte brothers.

We will have Jan, Marvin, Cyrus, Marshall, Abu Bakr, Bateau, Mitchell? M.Williams, Aubrey? Peltier, Cato, Joevin Jones, Rundell Winchester, George, Hyland, Hackshaw, Cummings, Guerra, Ceaser? Glenn, Plaza.

CM department weakened without Boucaud but good chance for a local based CM to get into the squad

« Reply #58 on: November 19, 2015, 12:34:52 PM »
Good data Banton. Time for Guerra to step up, train like a beast, be hongry and demand selection on merit at the time.
Chance for Mitchell and Yohance to get a taste. Time for Plaza to buss de net.

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #59 on: November 19, 2015, 01:36:51 PM »
http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/2016-copa-america-centenario-host-stadiums-revealed-new-york-los-angeles-chicago-111915

By Kyle McCarthy FOX Soccer
Nov 19, 2015 at 11:30a ET
Ten cities will host Copa América Centenario matches next summer, CONCACAF and CONMEBOL revealed on Thursday.
The list includes the historic Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. and MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J. Both venues are strong contenders to stage important matches during the tournament.

Tournament organizers also placed matches at other venues across the United States, including CenturyLink Field (Seattle), Gillette Stadium (Foxborough, Mass.), Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia), Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, Calif.), NRGi Stadium (Houston), Orlando Citrus Bowl Stadium (Orlando), Soldier Field (Chicago), University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, Ariz.).

Each stadium is expected to host matches on multiple days during the tournament (June 3-26) and most of them will stage at least three matches, according to a CONCACAF release.

“These 10 cities and venues will provide a fantastic setting for fans across the world to attend Copa America Centenario and allow them to see the amazing passion for soccer in the United States,” U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati said in a statement. “The participating teams and fans will be treated to a first-class environment in each city and stadium, adding to the world-class talent that will be competing on the field. We are looking forward to working closely with all of the cities and venues in hosting this prestigious event and creating an extraordinary experience for fans.”

Twenty-four cities expressed initial interest in hosting matches earlier this year. The Copa America Local Organizing Committee sifted through those proposals and selected the final 10 venues. The process eventually culled several major metropolitan areas -- including Atlanta, Dallas and Washington, D.C. -- before reaching the final list.

Tournament organizers are expected to lay down temporary grass at several venues in order to make them suitable for the Copa América, including CenturyLink Field and Gillette Stadium.
U.S. Soccer reached an agreement with CONCACAF and CONMEBOL last month to host the one-off tournament to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Copa América next summer. The fate of the tournament hung in the balance after U.S. Department of Justice officials indicted several CONCACAF and CONMEBOL executives earlier this year. U.S. Soccer officials received assurances about the marketing contracts and the governance structures for the tournament before moving forward as hosts.

Sixteen teams -- including all 10 CONMEBOL teams and six CONCACAF representatives -- will compete in the tournament. United States, Mexico, Costa Rica and Jamaica have already qualified from CONCACAF, while a pair of playoffs -- Trinidad and Tobago vs. Haiti and Panama vs. Cuba -- will determine the final two berths.