March 29, 2024, 10:00:21 AM

Author Topic: 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship  (Read 48550 times)

Re: 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship
« Reply #120 on: November 21, 2015, 07:31:18 AM »
Big up to de ladies.

I hope a new president win and really do something for them so they could prepare better for the games coming up.

Well done ladies.

« Reply #121 on: November 21, 2015, 01:09:00 PM »
Congrats to the Lady Warriors. Caribbean Champions again.
Puerto Rico was hungry to announce themselves as new kids on the regional block.
Hope that the TTFA uses the best talent available coachwise and best pool of players to represent when they head to Hawaii and Arizona (or is it San Antonio?)
Don't waste a good thing please.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 11:45:30 AM by dreamer »

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #122 on: November 21, 2015, 03:38:58 PM »

http://youtu.be/nfIxzj4xLms

Post game interviews with Captain King , Francois and Hutchinson

Enjoy your couple of days off and then back to the grind.

Good luck in the upcoming USA victory tour.

« Reply #123 on: November 21, 2015, 03:50:10 PM »
Women Warriors tops Puerto Rico to claim Caribbean gold.
By Inshan Mohammed (SWO Media).

Without two of their most inspirational attackers, host Trinidad and Tobago rallied to defeat Puerto Rico 1-0 to claim the top spot in the 2015 CFU Olympic qualifying stage at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

A week ago former captain Maylee Attin-Johnson and Tobago-born striker Kennya Cordner refused to play for their country under current team manager, Sharon O’Brien. The pair also complained about personal problems with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), among other personal issues.

The move however, did not stop the current team form going for glory as the Soca Princesses dug deep to finish the Olympic qualifying stage tournament unbeaten and at the same time claimed the CFU title for a second straight year.

The Lady Warriors demolished St Lucia on a 14-1 aggregate two-legged series to breeze into the Caribbean semifinal round. Took care of Jamaica with a come from behind 2-1 win. Then sealed a narrow 1-0 victory over Puerto Rico to regain the title.

Karyn Forbes 24th minute goal was enough to separate both teams. Although, Puerto Rico did have their moments, T&T were solid at the back and made sure they were victorious on the night.

Foreign-born defenders; captain Arin King and Lauryn Hutchinson marshalled T&T defence and took care of everything Puerto Rico threw at them. Talented goalkeeper Kimika Forbes, the sister of Karyn, kept them at bay, while, midfielder's Ahkeela Mollon and Tasha St Louis used their experience to nullify any Puerto Rican attacks, while piling on the pressure at the same time.

In the end, T&T held on for the victory and though there where no champagne to celebrate with, the ladies made use of their water bottle pouring it on each other as they dance their way to glory.

“We were pleased to come away with the result tonight. I think the players deserve full credit for their efforts. It was not an easy tournament but the main thing is that we were unbeaten and we topped the region,” interim coach Anthony Creece told TTFA Media.

Defender Arin King also told the TTFA Media: “It was definitely a battle. We had a lot of outside noise in our heads  but we stayed focused on the task at hand . We fought for one another and that’s what taken us to the next round.

“We need to stay committed and we need our preparation for the next round. We have the heart, desire and passion to play. We know what we need to do for the next phase.”

Guyana meanwhile, pulled of a shock when they also booked a place into the next round with a 2-1 victory over favourites Jamaica.

Tashana Vincent would open the scoring in the 44th minute giving Jamaica the early lead before Guyana responded minutes into the second half in the 48th minute with a strike from Mariam El-Masri. The winning goal would come in the 73rd minute from Brittany Persaud who would give the Lady Jags a 2-1 victory over Jamaica.

As for T&T, they will now take a short break before they resume training in preparations for their high-profile exhibition matches against the United States on December 6th and 10th, both games will be played in Hawaii and Houston respectively.

The next phase of the CONCACAF competition will follow in February 2016 and with the TTFA elections closing in on November 29th is leaves a question mark whether top-coach Randy Waldrum will rejoin the team for the tournament. Same can be said for troubled Maylee Attin-Johnson and Kennya Cordner.

One thing's for certain is, the Women Warriors are through to the next rounds, they have brought glory to their country once more and, with little, very little financial support from their employers.

Congrats to coach Anthony Greece and the entire team, from the Soca Warriors Online (SWO).

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Kimika Forbes; 13.Annalis Cummings, 20.Lauryn Hutchinson, 5.Arin King (capt), 2.Danielle Blair; 8.Naomie Guerra (15.Victoria Swift 64th), 6.Khadidra Debesette; 12.Ahkeela Mollon, 14.Karyn Forbes, 19.Chevonne John (11.Janine Francois 63rd); 10.Tasha St Louis.

Unused substitutes: 17.Nicolette Craig (GK), 3.Melissa Woo Ling, 4.Daniella Findley, 7.Dernelle Mascall, 9.Sharain Cummings.

Coach: Anthony Creece.

Puerto Rico: 1.Karly Gustafson; 17.Adriana Font, 14.Ashley Marie Rivera, 7.Delyaliz Rosario Amber (capt), 4.Jacqueline Marie Cruz; 20.Britanny Cruz, 10.Laura Suarez; 16.Alejandra Carrion (11.Annie Lee Mendez 46th), 19.Stephanie Colon (18.Nicole Rodriguez 46th), 6.Scout Benson (8.Selimar Pagan 64th); 9.Karina Socarras,

Unused substitutes: 13.Sandra Rolon (GK), 2.Franchelies Alvira, 3.Nashila Class, 5.Noella Reyes, 12.Antonella Monreal.

Coach: Garabet Avedessian.

Referee: Annia Navarrete (Cuba).

Video: - Post Match Reactions after T&T Women defeat Puerto Rico to top CFU Olympic Qualifiers

2016 Olympic Qualifying Caribbean Zone Full Results -
(All games were played at the Ato Boldon Stadium)

(Friday November 13)

Trinidad and Tobago 6 (Ahkeela Mollon 3, 66, Tasha St Louis 10, 33, 38, 58) v St Lucia 0

(Sunday November 15)

Trinidad and Tobago 8 (Ahkeela Mollon 12, 12, 81, 83, Lauryn Hutchinson 23, 26, Naomie Guerra 65, Sharain Cummings 87) v St Lucia 1 (Ellaisa Marquis 58-Pen).

(Wednesday November 18)

Semifinals

Puerto Rico 1 (Karina Soccarras Villalonga 119) v Guyana 0.

Trinidad and Tobago 2 (Dernelle Mascall 60, Tasha St Louis 91) v Jamaica 1 (Jodi-Ann McGregor 44-Pen).

(Friday November 20)

Finals

Trinidad and Tobago 1 (Karyn Forbes 24) v Puerto Rico 0.

Third Place Play-Off

Guyana 2 (Mariam El-Masri 48, Brittany Persaud 73) v Jamaica 1 (Tashana Vincent 44).

« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 04:37:00 AM by Flex »

« Reply #124 on: November 21, 2015, 09:25:24 PM »

Hutch upbeat attitude and relaxed interviewee response style is infectious...don't drive it away admins

« Reply #125 on: November 22, 2015, 03:27:56 AM »
Congrats to the squad on winning!!!

HOWEVER, the tactical indiscipline engaged in by players who should know better was inexcusable nonsense. It indicated a lack of maturity on the field, by mature players who just yesterday were knocking on a World Cup berth. None of that would fly/have flown under Waldrum, so why engage in it when his back "turn" (although he likely will see it on footage). From comments made in the stands, other spectators felt the same.

What was all that unneccesary, unproductive dribbling?

Despite the win, some of the decision-making was woeful!

Do better now, to do better later. It eh hard.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 03:32:48 AM by asylumseeker »

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #126 on: November 23, 2015, 09:36:23 AM »
http://www.concacaf.com/es/video/draw-concacaf-womens-olympic-qualifying-texas-2016

Draw results for Concacaf Olympic Qualifying .....See Link enclosed.

Very favorable draw for us.

Lots of work to be done however we know the Women Warriors are up to the task.

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :duel: :duel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #127 on: November 23, 2015, 09:41:40 AM »
http://www.concacaf.com/es/video/draw-concacaf-womens-olympic-qualifying-texas-2016

Guyana, Guatemala, Canada.... Not a bad draw at all... We have no excuse not to come of this group...

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #128 on: November 23, 2015, 11:22:54 AM »
http://ccf-draw.s3-website-us-east-1.amazonaws.com/woq-2016/WOQ_2016.pdf

The schedule is posted.

Open Versus Guatemala then we face Canada and finally Guyana.

Good luck ladies & now the fun begins !!!!!

« Reply #129 on: November 23, 2015, 12:10:21 PM »
http://wired868.com/2015/11/20/bibi-sinks-puerto-rico-wwarriors-rule-caribbean-again/

Baby Forbes scored in the 24th

King was Man of the Match

Congrats to our Women Warriors!

Puerto Rico would likely have a number of players that play Womens US University football so they wouldn't be an easy team to beat.

BTW....in this day and age we need to rename the award to Player of the Match or something so.

« Reply #130 on: November 23, 2015, 12:14:39 PM »

Guyana, Guatemala, Canada.... Not a bad draw at all... We have no excuse not to come of this group...

question......now that the team qualify WITHOUT Attin-Johnson and Cordner......should those 2 players be eligible for selection for the next phase?

Or did they disqualify themselves entirely?

As ah did say before....slippery slope dey.

Offline MilkyX

« Reply #131 on: November 23, 2015, 05:05:41 PM »
Well done. On top of this, a favourable draw with no USA or Mexico. Nice. Let's hope these ladies get good support and not lip service from the powers that be. I'm looking at you TTFA and by extension Ministry of sport. Don't find a way to mess this up!
« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 05:10:00 PM by MilkyX »
Only the humble can be truly great!

« Reply #132 on: November 24, 2015, 02:51:56 AM »
Women Warriors drawn with Canada, Guatemala.
T&T Express Reports.

The “Women Warriors” will open their final round of the CONCACAF Oympic Qualification against Guatemala on February 11, 2016, after they were drawn with the Central Americans, Guyana and Canada in Group B of the eight-team competition.

T&T will play all their matches at the BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas while Group A which contains the hosts the United States, Puerto Rico, Mexico and Costa Rica.

The “Women Warriors” will have their work cut out for them as they will have to win their group in order to qualify. The two finalists of the tournament will automatically qualify for the Women's Olympic Football competition which will be staged at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. This means that Canada will most likely be the team to stand between them and a ticket to Rio next year.

In the run up to the final round, T&T have two high-profile friendlies against the US next month and have just recently won the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) final, when they beat Puerto Rico 1-0 at the Ato Boldon Stadium last Friday.

T&T's Group B Fixtures
(all in T&T time)

Thursday February 11, 2016

Guatemala v Trinidad and Tobago 5p.m.

Sunday February 14, 2016

Trinidad and Tobago v Canada 3 p.m.

Tuesday February 16, 2016

Trinidad and Tobago v Guyana 5 p.m.

« Reply #133 on: November 24, 2015, 09:14:49 AM »
So nobody pick Guyana?!!

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #134 on: November 24, 2015, 09:53:48 AM »

question......now that the team qualify WITHOUT Attin-Johnson and Cordner......should those 2 players be eligible for selection for the next phase?

Or did they disqualify themselves entirely?

As ah did say before....slippery slope dey.
Weren't both players injured? So why they talking about ticket and not playing if they injured. If they are healthy and back to form, yes they should be included, however, stars with attitudes can disrupt TEAM chemistry and create more problems. Slippery slope indeed!
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #135 on: November 24, 2015, 10:30:39 AM »
Them feel them is Yorke and Latapy, they injured since de Pan Am games in summer and was getting medical treatment, they wasn't training and playing games but yet they want to just jump up on run on de team.

Yorke (Tobago) and Latapy (Trinidad).

Yaya (Tobago) and Maylee (Trinidad).

Watch de patern, Yaya better doh follow Maylee, because she reaching retirement age soon, Yaya can still play pro.

If I was de coach ah never pick them again.

Is de point behind it.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #136 on: November 25, 2015, 07:45:52 AM »
So nobody pick Guyana?!!

Guyana's team is mainly comprised of players from Toronto Ontario Canada. They have exceeded expectations in making it to Concacaf however this forumite is not surprised they succeeded as all the Guyanese players are playing their local club  team soccer with the top teams in Ontario league. They too like most Caribbean women's teams suffer from lack of funding. They have only one camp in July for a long weekend in Toronto and then it was straight to CFU Group one matches. They arrived in Trinidad only a few days before Round 2. The game reports that I received were that Guyana should have won the game versus Puerto Rico however the PR keeper stood on her head to keep them in the game. Hopefully Guyana can have an extended camp before Concacaf to iron out their game plan. Guyana is definitely relieved as is Trinidad that they are not in the group of death.

To answer your question they have as good a shot as any in Group B. Canada should be in the next round however the ball is round and any given day anything can happen. I like Trinidad's schedule though as we have a good shot at winning Group B. We need to beat Guatemala , tie Canada & then beat Guyana and with some goal differential end up in first in the group. This way 1st place avoid playing the USA in the crossover game.  Am thinking positively here  :cheers:

« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 07:54:37 AM by Soccer 19 »

« Reply #137 on: November 25, 2015, 08:40:08 AM »
I was not saying  that in jest. I have watch clips of their women's team. They eh bad, given the constraints they are put under.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 09:52:06 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #138 on: November 25, 2015, 09:40:20 AM »

Hutch upbeat attitude and relaxed interviewee response style is infectious...don't drive it away admins

Is that minted in, and imported from, Canada? I've noticed it in the ranks of other players with CAN connections.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #139 on: November 25, 2015, 11:28:31 AM »
Is that minted in, and imported from, Canada? I've noticed it in the ranks of other players with CAN connections.

I am not 100 % sure of where the Canadian Guyanese team players were born. Whether they were born in Guyana & then immigrated to the Toronto area at a young age however they all have been playing soccer at the highest levels in Ontario for their entire playing careers. I believe a few had scholarships to play in the states at DIV 1 schools and many played at their University schools in Ontario as well most were also involved in the Ontario soccer association Provincial program trying to make team Canada U-17 back in the day.

Jamaica also has at least one high profile  Ontario ,  team Canada player ( Exeter the team Captain) and of course Trinidad has King & Blair from Ontario. Many of these players play on the same club teams in the Toronto area. Guyana is hoping to get funding from their government as well as some high profile businessmen. Jamaica is mostly funded by the Marley foundation so lets hope despite this setback they continue to get stronger for WWC 2019. Once the Presidential election is over with in Trinidad and an new committee is in place then the women can get their funding. The soccer gods finally being kind to Trinidad as as being in group B they have a very good shot at qualifying with the right resources and of course Waldrum back in the picture.

Outside of the Caribbean the Toronto and surrounding area has the highest concentration of men & women footballers who given the chance could contribute to their parents birth countries playing on the National teams which would greatly strengthen and deepen the respective countries player pools.

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #140 on: November 25, 2015, 10:30:11 PM »
Arin King's post on Facebook

To my team: I want to congratulate you on once again being titled #1 in the Caribbean!!!! 👏🏼🙌🏼🏆⚽😊 I am proud to have led this bunch of girls to victory. It was an honour😌. You ladies showed true heart and fight. We may not have gone into these games with our full squad but we showed that hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard. Respect to our Coaches who chose to help this team when we were struggling, I thank you for your sacrifices too. For eight years now I have put on the Red White and Black. And honestly speaking, for the first time I was discouraged to play and represent for my country. I always wear my uniform proudly, but the stress and patience for what is going on behind the scenes has really become unbearable. Enough is enough. We as players should have one thing to focus on, and that is the game alone. I can only speak for myself; but I have never been so worried, stressed, or concerned for the Senior Women's lack of sufficient and efficient preparation, resources, and the guarantee of players to be brought in to play. I want to thank my teammates, because if it wasn’t for you and my passion for the game I wouldn’t have gotten to reap in our success. For the girls who don’t usually get the opportunity to be a part of the National team, us Senior players truly appreciate you playing when asked upon. To the young bucks, I want to personally congratulate you on your first Senior caps, you nerds are a true inspiration. Sometimes we take the game for granted, but to see the energy, passion, and optimism you ladies bring.. it honestly made me fall in love with the game all over again and reminded me of why I continue to strap up my boots.
The road to athletic greatness is not marked by perfection but the ability to constantly overcome adversity and failure. The Senior Women’s team has gone through countless disappointment, sacrifices, and poor treatment that only we as players can truly feel the pain. I swear, one day we could write a book on everything we’ve been through. We have come a long way in terms of development, and came off a huge high last year in our World Cup Campaign. We won the respect and hearts of Trinidad and Tobago, yet not of our very own federation. It’s not the will to win that matters - everyone has that. It’s the will to prepare to win that matters. In saying that, I call upon the TTFA to make a change. I stand behind my Coach, Randy Waldrum. He is a man that has fought for us, and even when he was left in the dark continued to support us. He can take this team where no Caribbean Women’s program has gone before, grant him the security for the next four years to do so!! For once believe in us. You see the talent, heart, desire, passion and hard work this team has to offer. Every game we battle to prove to you and to our doubters that we can be successful and qualify for major tournaments. You are our last piece to the puzzle that will get us over the mountain. “Together We Aspire, Together We Achieve”. Bring Equality. Give us Respect. Help us to Prepare Properly. Reign in our Success.

https://www.facebook.com/arin.king.1/posts/10153665287299000?pnref=story

Offline socalion

« Reply #141 on: November 25, 2015, 11:22:51 PM »
And there it is ladies and gentlemen a plea  from a true warrior ( miss arin king ) on behalf the enrire team   of lady warriors for the becessary tools and assistance needed  in order to maximise their efforts as they strive to attain further successes along te way ..... it is surely a heart felt plea ,  i say  to all the stake holders come to their aid, they certainly deserve it ....

« Reply #142 on: November 26, 2015, 06:34:43 AM »
Great brave words by Warrior Ms.King.
Speaking truth to power as the corrupt TTFA uses Jackulito-style blacklisting tactics to divide and rule the team as it protests mismanagement and sabotage
Yaya Cordner was hero, Attin-Johnson was hero until they made the "mistake" of identifying Uncle Tim and his syndicate as the problem
They want their inspirational coach and TTFA is sabotaging the effort.
King is not taking this shit and is at breaking point in terms of being ready to quit for a principled stand.
She needs our support. Bring back the Warriors, Warrior captain, Warrior Supa striker and Waldrun!
« Last Edit: November 26, 2015, 06:37:58 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #143 on: November 26, 2015, 12:30:10 PM »
True words.

But TTFA will likely counter....."We broke.  The senior mens national team have world cup qualifying.  The Under 17, 19, etc for both men and women have upcoming tournaments and need preparation. 

Where the $$$ coming from to fund everybody?"

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #144 on: November 27, 2015, 08:48:24 AM »
Canada looking to add to their already strong roster. They have a deeper identified  player pool that is going into a camp in Vancouver soon.

http://www.sportsnet.ca/soccer/canada-womens-team-camp-brazil-vancouver-john-herdman-janine-beckie/

http://www.canadasoccer.com/herdman-assessing-young-talent-as-women-s-national-camp-convenes-in-vancouver-p158870

Lets hope that the new TTFA executive see's the long term big picture and grant's the team a camp in Houston in early January so we can be prepared for Concacaf in February. We avoided the group of death so lets hope we are given the resources to perform admirably at Concacaf. Preparation is key !!!!!

Nothing on-line about the Guatemalan Women's team , even their Women's  website has not been updated since 2012. We did beat them 2-1 at Concacaf WWC qualifying last October and I suspect the team was saw will beat 95 % the same as what we faced at Concacaf.

As for Guyana their squad will be 98 % the same as the team we saw two weeks ago at CFU's. They are working on trying to secure government money a swell as prominent businessman's help in order to have a camp before Concacaf. However the length of the camp is all predicated on funding. Updates to follow as information flows.

« Last Edit: November 27, 2015, 09:16:45 AM by Soccer 19 »

« Reply #145 on: November 27, 2015, 09:10:36 AM »
Allyuh think Arin King could made the Canada national team?

« Reply #146 on: November 28, 2015, 05:44:00 AM »
I am not sure if to post here but in a random TnT women football thread Socapro just created  :D

But to answer your question Deeks. Yes King will make a Canadian Women's team p

« Reply #147 on: November 28, 2015, 11:09:46 AM »
I am not sure if to post here but in a random TnT women football thread Socapro just created  :D

But to answer your question Deeks. Yes King will make a Canadian Women's team p

The thread that I created on the topic of the Women's Football Team is not a random thread as it serves a specific purpose and will make finding dedicated information on the Women's Football Teams much easier in the furture once it is posted to regularly enough by enough posters.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #148 on: January 21, 2016, 06:52:44 AM »
Although the Women Warrior's have been training daily since the appointment of Coach Hood the whole squad now are officially sequestered into a camp today for preparation of upcoming friendlies in Costa Rica. The women will be in Costa Rica from Jan 25th -31st where then they will depart directly to Houston.

In other Concacaf news Mexico currently ranked 26th in the World are over in the Four Nations Tournament in Shenzhen China They are facing South Korea (18th), China (17th) & Vietnam (29th)

The tournament opened today

Full time result China 0 – 0 Mexico

Mexico is without one of their top forwards Renae Cuéllar who is recovering from a meniscus  tear suffered in their recent Tournament of Natal in Brazil. Ms Cuéllar will be facing a 4-6 week recovery and may or may not be ready for Concacaf next month.  This nil nil result today is very good considering the teams recent performance in Brazil last month.

Presently as I write South Korea 2 – 0 Vietnam, 13′ 45′

Good luck to our Women Warrior's in their preparation for the upcoming Concacaf Olympic Qualifiers in Houston Texas next month.

« Reply #149 on: January 22, 2016, 05:41:20 AM »
Peterborough soccer player playing with Team Guyana at Olympic qualifiers
By Mike Davies, Peterborough Examiner.

Growing up in Peterborough Calaigh Copland dreamt of playing soccer for her country but never imagined it would be Guyana.

At age 28, Copland, who had never played beyond the Ontario Women's Soccer League, played her first international match in August. She represented Guyana in the opening rounds of CONCACAF Olympic qualifying in August in the Dominican Republic and in November in Trinidad and Tobago.

Next month, Guyana will compete in the final CONCACAF qualifier in Houston, Texas, the furthest the country has ever advanced. They'll play in a group with Canada, Guatemala and Trinidad and Tobago starting Feb. 11 against heavily favoured Canada. The other group includes the USA, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Costa Rica. The top two teams in each group advance to semifinals with only the finalists advancing to the Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil this summer.

So how does a girl born in Ottawa who grew up in Peterborough, starting soccer in the local youth club at age four, now living and working in Toronto as an audio-visual equipment saleswoman end up playing for Guyana?

Copland's journey began in June.

Donna Joseph a teammate on the OWSL's Woodbridge Strikers is a Canadian girl with Guyanese heritage who has represented the country in the past. Joseph discovered Copland's mother, Kathryn Eyre of Peterborough, was born in Guyana before immigrating to Canada at age four. With the bulk of the team comprised of foreign-born Guyanese, many in the GTA, Joseph urged Copland to try out. She attended a preliminary camp in Toronto in June and was invited to the final camp in Guyana in July.

"I knew my options for playing for Canada were gone because of my age and I didn't get into the program early enough," said Copland. "This was just a really cool opportunity."

Knowing how she compared to Joseph in calibre and that she was younger, Copland felt she had a shot.

The journey to Guyana was more than a soccer trip. It connected her to roots she knew little about.

"My Guyanese side of the family grew up in Guyana so I get the food but I'd never been there before," she said. "I never knew to what extent a Third World country it was until I actually got there and saw it. They have zero tourism and no real kind of commerce."

The team operates on a shoe-string budget. They don't stay in lavish hotels and often jam four or more women into a single room. The women fundraise to try to improve upon the bare bones funding provided by the national soccer body which basically consists of a flight and hotel room.

Being caucasian Copland stood out and was often treated like an outsider. But she and her teammates' performance on the pitch began to change opinions. In August, she scored a goal in an 8-0 win over St. Kitts and they tied Cuba 1-1 to advance to the second stage of Caribbean region qualifying. In November, they lost 1-0 to Puerto Rico but beat Jamaica 2-1 to advance to final stage of CONCACAF.

"Not everyone in the country likes the fact the majority of the team are foreign-born Guyanese. Our success is quickly turning their opinions around," she said. "We're the most successful Guyanese national football team they've ever had. The men's team has never gone as far as we have."

Ranked 89th in the FIFA world rankings, Guyana is considered a long-shot against powerhouses like No. 1 USA and No. 11 Canada. They are ranked seventh of the eight teams but lost to the only team below them, Puerto Rico.

But Copland said they're not going there to roll over for anyone.

"Our goal is to win. We're not just going in to play 18-yard box defence while we play against Canada," she said. "We're coming with a strong strategy and we're looking to actually beat them. We're looking for a spot in the Olympic Games."

Having said that, she understands they're long-shots for a reason. Canada has handily beaten Guyana in past matches. With a new goalie of higher standard, a new technical director plotting strategy and an improved team, Copland said they'll give it everything they have.

"I've never had the opportunity to play against this calibre before or against Canada. It will be very interesting," she said.

Copland has had to balance work life, the bills still have to be paid and playing for Guyana is volunteer-only, with her new soccer schedule. She's gone from one practice and two games a week at the provincial level to training daily. She's yet to crack the starting lineup but is determined to win over the coach.

"I have to manage something which is becoming a little bit more than a hobby. It's made things busier, for sure."

While it's not the red-and-white jersey she dreamt of wearing as a child, Copland said it was special to wear Guyana colours.

"I felt pretty proud and pretty honoured to put it on and be part of what is supposed to be a world class team. I felt like I had achieved something," she said.

No matter what happens, Copland said, it's been quite a ride.

"I'll always have this story to tell," she said.