March 28, 2024, 01:41:58 PM

Author Topic: 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship  (Read 48514 times)

Offline Soccer 19

Re: 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship
« Reply #150 on: January 26, 2016, 10:51:27 AM »
Canada names its roster for Concacaf

http://www.canadasoccer.com/canada-soccer-names-roster-for-concacaf-women-s-olympic-qualifying-championship-texas-2016-p159108

I know this team quite well living North of the Mason-Dixon Line :duel:
The Canadians are quite a bit younger with this roster then they ever have been.
It will be very interesting how the youth integrates with the veterans.
Never-the-less John Herdman will have them ready for battle come early February.

Am sure you all saw the USA hammer Ireland this past weekend 5-0.
It was 4-nil at the end of the first half. The game could've been easily 8-9 + nil if not for some sloppy finishing from the USA forwards.
Makes one wonder how well we could really do with extend camps & friendlies / Resources $$$$ ETC ETC.
Our Costa Rican trip being cancelled at the 12th hour doesn't help matters either.

Mexico looks like they have regained some form playing oer in China this past week as they went undefeated.
Fixtures for the Four Nations Tournament 2016 – Shenzhen, China

21 January 2016

20:30 – Korea Republic 5 – 0 Vietnam, Lee Mina 13′, Lee Hyunyoung 45′, Yoo Younga 45′, Kim Sooyun 52′, Lee Sodam 87′
17:00 – Mexico 0 – 0 China PR

23 January 2016

17:00 – Mexico 2 – 0 Korea Republic, Veronica Perez 5′, Desiree Monsivais16′
20:30 – China PR 8 – 0 Vietnam

26 January 2016

17:00 – Korea Republic 0 – 2 China PR, Ma Xiaoxu 11′, Wang Shanshan 77′
20:30 – Mexico 1 – 0 Vietnam
- See more at: http://www.womenssoccerunited.com/four-nations-tournament-2016-shenzhen/#sthash.LzEpD4TB.dpuf

Hope the TTFA can find a few sheckles to continue with another camp ASAP as all the hard work as of late may be all for not.

« Reply #151 on: January 27, 2016, 02:39:46 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/2qfDG8AQ9mo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/2qfDG8AQ9mo</a>

« Reply #152 on: January 27, 2016, 04:24:42 PM »
Women’s team to leave on Sunday for training camp in Houston.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

This country’s National Senior Women’s Team will depart for Houston on Sunday for a live-in training camp ahead of its CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying opening match against Guatemala on February 11th at the BBVA Compass Stadium.

TTFA President David John-Williams relayed on Wednesday that the team would not be traveling to Costa Rica for two international warm up games which had been previously announced, due to financial constraints and visa matters. Members of the team only received their US visas on Tuesday. Originally the two games against Costa Rica were carded for January 25th and 27th.

“Contrary to what has been reported in the media there are several factors that contributed to the team not going to Costa Rica, one being we applied for visas and we only got back the passports yesterday and that is fact. So there is no way we could have gone to Costa Rica and that is coupled with the funding that was available to travel o Costa Rica and Houston,” John- Williams told TTFA Media.

“I was a bit disappointed that what has been reported in the media was reported from a player. I take great offense to that and it is something we need to address.

“The girls will leave on Sunday for ten-day camp in Houston and we are trying to arrange a game with Mexico and two club teams. I don’t see the preparations as being affected, We will go to the Olympic qualifies in good spirits and we hope that the girls will do well,” The TTFA President added.

John-Williams also commented on the T&T Futsal Team’s progress to the CONCACAF playoff in May following its 5-4 victory over Guadeloupe last night in Cuba which saw the team finish third in the Caribbean Football Union championship.

“I am happy that we can a least go in to the playoff. It will be a little more expensive for us but at the end of the day we have to hope that the game grows from it,” he said, adding that he didn’t think the team received the best preparation due to the change in administration and the Christmas vacation period leading up to the tournament.

“We were in a transitional period but I think now things are beginning to smoothen out. Now the Futsal team has qualified for the playoff and the Women’s team is off to Houston so those are two things out the way. After that we just have to focus on the World Cup Qualifiers for the Men’s team and a couple youth tournaments that are coming up.

“It’s going to be a huge year but now the administration has settled down. There has been a transitional period and I think things are going to smoothen out. We all know the difficult with funding. We have approached corporate Trinidad and Tobago and hopefully we can get positive results from that and the Association can get back on its feet,” John-Williams concluded.

T&T Women’s Team will face Guatemala on February 11th, Canada on February 14th and Guyana on February 16th. The top two teams in the group will advance to the semi finals with the two finalists moving onto the Rio 2016 Olympics.

Video - TTFA President Gives an Update on Senior Women's Team

« Reply #153 on: January 30, 2016, 11:06:58 AM »
NBC to stream all 15 matches of CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying
By Jeff Kassouf, NBCSports.com

All 15 matches of the CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will be streamed live on NBC Sports Live Extra, in addition to up to four matches airing on NBCSN. The eight-team tournament takes place from Feb. 10-21 in Houston and Frisco, Texas, with the top two teams advancing to the 2016 Rio Olympics.

The all-important semifinal featuring the United States — assuming the heavily favored U.S. women, who are three-time defending Olympic gold medalists, make the semifinal — will be aired live on NBCSN on Feb. 19. The tournament’s two semifinal winners will advance to this summer’s Olympics on NBC.

NBCSN will also air the United States’ final group-stage match against Puerto Rico on Feb. 15 live at 8:30 p.m. ET. The United States’ group-stage match against Mexico on Feb. 13 will be aired on delay at 9:30 p.m. ET, and the tournament final on Feb. 21 will air at 11 p.m. ET.

CONCACAF approached NBC about broadcasting the tournament just over two weeks before it is set to kick off. Such a quick turnaround made for extremely limited TV windows, which are scheduled months in advance.

The U.S. women will compete in Group A in Frisco, Texas, against Mexico, Costa Rica and Puerto Rico. Canada — the other team favored to advance to the Olympics — will compete in Group B in Houston, Texas, against Trinidad & Tobago, Guatemala and Guyana.

New Zealand qualified for the Olympics earlier this week, joining hosts Brazil and Colombia from South America, France and Germany from Europe, and South Africa and Zimbabwe from Africa. The final five spots at this summer’s Olympics will be filled by two CONCACAF teams, two teams from Asia and the winner of a four-team playoff in March between Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and the Netherlands to determine the final European bid.

2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship Schedule

Frisco, Texas – Toyota Stadium
Houston, Texas – BBVA Compass Stadium
Times U.S. Central (U.S. Eastern in parentheses)

FIRST ROUND
Group A: USA, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Costa Rica
Group B: Canada, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana

Wednesday, Feb. 10 (Frisco)
Puerto Rico vs. Mexico                                   5 p.m. (6 p.m.)
USA vs. Costa Rica                                        7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

Thursday, Feb. 11 (Houston)
Guatemala vs. Trinidad & Tobago                   5 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Canada vs. Guyana                                       7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

Saturday, Feb. 13 (Frisco)
Costa Rica vs. Puerto Rico                              12:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)
USA vs. Mexico                                              3 p.m. (4 p.m.) NBCSN at 9:30 p.m. ET

Sunday, Feb. 14 (Houston)
Guyana vs. Guatemala                                   12:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.)
Trinidad vs. Canada                                       3 p.m. (4 p.m.)

Monday, Feb. 15 (Frisco)
Mexico vs. Costa Rica                                    5 p.m. (6 p.m.)
USA vs. Puerto Rico                                       7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.) LIVE on NBCSN

Tuesday, Feb. 16 (Houston)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Guyana                        5 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Canada vs. Guatemala                                   7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.)

SEMIFINALS

Friday, Feb. 19 (Houston)
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up          4:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.) ***
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up          7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.) ***

FINAL

Sunday, Feb. 21 (Houston)
Semifinal winners                                        4 p.m. (5 p.m.) NBCSN at 11 p.m.

***USA’s semifinal, should the USA advance, will air LIVE on NBCSN

« Reply #154 on: January 30, 2016, 01:01:35 PM »

TTFA president: ‘Women Warriors’ prepared*

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160127/sports/ttfa-president-8216women-warriors8217-prepared

President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) David John-Williams made assurances yesterday that the women’s national football team are on track preparation-wise for the final round of the Women’s Olympic Football Qualification competition to be held in Houston, Texas despite his organisation’s inability to send the team to play Costa Rica earlier in the week.

John-Williams spoke via the TTFA’s YouTube channel and said visas as well as funding were the main causes of the cancellation of team’s two-match warm up series in Costa Rica.

“Contrary to what has been reported in the media, there are several factors that have contributed to not going to Costa Rica,” he said.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #155 on: January 31, 2016, 10:40:57 AM »
http://ttfootball.org/2016/01/31/hood-selects-21-member-tt-womens-squad-for-houston/

The team has departed Piarco this morning at 09:15 on a direct flight to Houston.
More than a few postives  to start this trip.
Arriving to destination 10 days early to prepare.
Flying direct to avoid a long travel day. They could in theory have a light training session tonight.
Having a chef with the team is huge   Proper nutrition is a big part of preperations.
Having one exhibition friendly confirmed is a step in the right direction
Give Williams kudos to finding the dollars to start this trip early.
Good luck Soca Women Warriors   We all will be cheering you every step of the way  :wavetowel: :wavetowel::wavetowel: :wavetowel: :

« Reply #156 on: January 31, 2016, 12:14:34 PM »
Hood selects 21-member T&T Women’s Squad for Houston.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Thirteen members of this country’s Senior Women’s Team will depart Port of Spain on Sunday morning at 9:15 am for Houston where they will be joined by eight other members for a ten-day live in training camp leading up to the CONCACAF Final Round of Olympic Qualifying action.

T&T head coach Richard Hood selected 21 players for the squad which will be captained by Maylee Attin-Johnson with defender Arin King as Vice-captain.

Hood described the squad as a balanced one with a combination of experienced individuals and others who will breaking onto the Concacaf stage  for the first time such as Kayla Taylor and Jo-Marie Lewis.

“The squad comprises a mixture of experienced and new players to international football,” Hood told TTFA Media.

“We do have a few players carrying minor injuries buy we are confident that everyone will be ready to compete.

“I believe that it is a tremendous boost to the team that we have the opportunity to camp and acclimatize to the conditions in Houston,” he added.

Hood mentioned that despite the absence of Rhea Belgrave and Brianna Ryce who were both ruled out due to College commitments, the T&T team possesses the ammunition to advance in the competition.

“We are missing a few players that we would have liked to have with us including Rhea Belgrave and Brianna Ryce but were unable to secure the necessary time off from college. We believe that we have a realistic chance of attaining success in this tournament. We are very aware that it is going to be an enormous task but God’s willing we shall prevail,” Hood added.

The 21-member squad

The players leaving Port of Spain include: Maylee Attin Johnson, Kimika Forbes Saundra Barron, Arin King, Jenelle Cunningham, Anastasia Prescott, Chevonne John, Janine Francois, Naomi Guerra, Tasha St. Louis, Ahkeela Mollon,Kennya Cordner and Jo- Marie Lewis.

Joining the team in Houston will be Shallette Alexander, Karyn Forbes, Liana Hinds Danielle Blair, Mariah Shade, Kayla Taylor , Victoria Swift and Khadidra Debesette.

During the training camp, T&T has one warm-up game confirmed at this point, to be played against ECNL Club.

T&T will play its opening game of the tournament against Guatemala on February 11th at the BBVA Compass Stadium. T&T will then face Canada on February 14th and Guyana on February 16th. The top two teams in the group will advance to the semi finals with the two finalists moving onto the Rio 2016 Olympics.

Chef to travel with Team

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association President David John-Williams does not intend to sit down and cry over the financial woes he has inherited.

Instead he has found an innovative way to cut costs starting with the National Women’s Team trip to Houston, Texas for the 2016 Concacaf Olympic Qualifying Tournament.

The Trinidad & Tobago team will fly to Houston for a full ten-day camp ahead of the tournament during which time will also play two warm up matches.

However instead of incurring high prices for hotel meals the Women Soca Warriors will take along a Chef which would considerably reduce the costs of meals during camp .

Speaking to TTFA Media,John Williams said. ” We have got to make the best of this bad financial situation we inherited. ”

“The Sports Company and the Ministry of Sports have done their part with the tickets and the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee has chipped in as well. Therefore we must be innovative and think outside the box to cut costs,’ Williams added.

While the measure is primarily aimed at cutting costs, the TTFA President pointed to other advantages of traveling with a Chef.

“We are taking someone with an appreciation for what an athlete must eat and off course there is nothing better tasting that good home cooked T&T food,” he added

Williams hinted that this innovation may become standard especially with the T& T youth teams.

“With the falling oil prices we have got to become creative while operating on tight budgets. We will evaluate how this works and then see the feasibility for the other teams especially in youth football,” Williams stated.

Video: - T&T Senior Women prepare for Olympic Qualifiers

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #157 on: January 31, 2016, 01:09:26 PM »
There is no club called ECNL Club in America nor Texas. There is an Elite Clubs National League that has 79 youth clubs with age groups from U14 to U18. The press release doesn't say which ECNL team our women will play, I would presume U18 but is that the level of competition required before our qualifiers?

The inclusion of a chef should not be viewed as an innovative idea to save money but a fundamental requirement utilized by most youth clubs in Europe. Furthermore, the reference to TnT cooking is not encouraging because our typical meals are not best suited for world class athletes.

It may be best for DJW and the TTFA to not say anything for a while

« Reply #158 on: February 01, 2016, 08:24:12 AM »
So they staying in a private house. where they getting kitchen to cook?

Either way, it still costly, because they still have to buy goods.

This eh make any sense.

Ticket price, goods, pots, pans and utensils..

This eh no big savings unless he plan to give them bread.

That is how David Clown Williams plan to say money?

Steups..

He should find a way how to make money.

« Last Edit: February 01, 2016, 08:26:21 AM by Sam »

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #159 on: February 02, 2016, 05:33:25 AM »
Puerto Rico will be in camp in North Carolina and has scheduled friendlies with several college teams and the Charlotte Lady Eagles: http://www.concacaf.com/article/puerto-rico-women-head-to-north-carolina-for-camp

PUERTO RICO WOMEN’S NATIONAL TEAM
Pre-CWOQ North Carolina Training Camp Schedule

Sunday -- January 31, 2016
Arrive in Charlotte, North Carolina

Monday -- February 1, 2016
Friendly v St. Andrews University (Laurinburg, North Carolina)

Tuesday -- February 2, 2016
Training

Wednesday -- February 3, 2016
Friendly v University of North Carolina – Wilmington (Wilmington, North Carolina)

Thursday -- February 4, 2016
Training

Friday -- February 5, 2016
Friendly v Winthrop University (Rock Hill, South Carolina)

Saturday -- February 6, 2016
Training

Sunday -- February 7, 2016
Friendly v Charlotte Lady Eagles (Charlotte, North Carolina)

Puerto Rico's roster (http://www.fedefutbolpr.com/listado...epresentaran-a-puerto-rico-en-el-preolimpico/):
1 Karly Gustafson Winthrop University
2 Kelley Johnson Agente Libre
3 Victoria Barris Quickstrike FC
4 Viviana Fiol Agente Libre
5 Noelia Reyes Bayamón FC
6 Marie Ashley Johnson Agente Libre
7 Delyaliz Rosario Romano SA
8 Selimar Pagán Bayamón FC
9 Karina Socarrás Bayamón FC
10 Laura Suárez Romano SA
11 Annie Lee Méndez Bayamón FC
12 Alejandra Carrión Gurabo FC
13 Sandra Rolón Romano SA
14 Ahsley Rivera Romano SA
15 Ángela Díaz Caribbean Stars
16 Marianée Zaragoza Águilas de Añasco
17 Adriana Font Challengers FC
18 Nicole Rodríguez Durham, Inglaterra
19 Stephanie Colón Agente Libre
20 María del Carmen Guerrero Puerto Rico High Performance

Any further news on our friendly situation  ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

« Reply #160 on: February 02, 2016, 07:49:52 AM »
19, based on who PR is playing, I can tell you their arrangements for opponents for the warm-ups was probably driven by a player. One in particular.

Nonetheless, this reflects internal initiative.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2016, 11:53:07 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #161 on: February 02, 2016, 02:14:59 PM »
19, based on who PR is playing, I can tell you their arrangements for opponents for the warm-ups was probably driven by a player. One in particular.

De goalie?

« Reply #162 on: February 02, 2016, 02:31:01 PM »

De goalie?

Correct. Her club coach is now the head coach at their first opponent. And, of course, the team is slated to play her college team. Her college squad is based a stone's throw away from Charlotte, just on the other side of the state line, so the Charlotte Eagles likely then fell into place. She transferred to Winthrop from NC State. She is a NC baller.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #163 on: February 03, 2016, 07:57:21 AM »
Last time I checked our roster was at 21 players in camp however the roster number for the tournament is 20. I believe every other country in the tournament has announced their 20 players on or before Feb 1st.
I thought I read in an article (dammed if I can find it , nor is it published in the rules , if it is I don't see it ...lol) that the deadline for announcing the 20 players for the tournament was February 1st. Can somebody please confirm the roster deadline date .Has anyone seen our official roster as unfortunately one player will be released. Which leads to the bigger question why bring 21 as did Coach Hood not have enough time to make that decision in Trinidad.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #164 on: February 04, 2016, 05:55:15 AM »
I was wrong about every other country having posted their 20 players yesterday. :(
Mexico announces Olympic qualifying roster. Long time National team regular Charlyn Corral and leading scorer in the Spanish League, is left off the roster after calling for a new coach after the WWC. Lot of new faces however Maribel Domínguez Delantera 18/11/1978 is still going strong.

1 Cecilia Santiago Portera 19/10/1994

2 Esthefanny Barreras Portera 02/11/1996

3 Bianca Henninger Portera 22/10/1990

4 Arianna Romero Defensa 29/07/1992

5 Janelly Farias Defensa 12/02/1990

6 Alina Garciamendez Defensa 16/04/1991

7 Valeria Miranda Defensa 18/08/1992

8 Greta Espinoza Defensa 05/06/1995

9 Annia Mejía Defensa 12/03/1996

10 Mónica Flores Defensa 31/01/1996

11 Nayeli Rangel Media 28/02/1992

12 Teresa Noyola Media 15/04/1990

13 Verónica Pérez Media 18/05/1988

14 Karla Nieto Media 09/01/1995

15 Mónica Ocampo Delantera 04/01/1997

16 Alicia Johnson Delantera 14/09/1994

17 Paloma Zermeño Delantera 18/06/1995

18 Tanya Samarzich Delantera 28/12/1994

19 Maribel Domínguez Delantera 18/11/1978

20 Desiree Monsivais Delantera 19/01/1988

https://twitter.com/CharlynCorral?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

One tweet translated

Tweeted 7:42 PM - 3 Feb 2016

Todo cambia menos las cosas en @miseleccionmx femenil. Mas transparencia y menos mentiras. (3/3)

Everything changes unless things feminine miseleccionmx . Greater transparency and fewer lies. (3/3)

It would appear that our women's team is not the only WNT that is having issues.

« Reply #165 on: February 04, 2016, 10:43:17 AM »
So dey lef dey Maylee home ...

« Reply #166 on: February 04, 2016, 11:33:45 AM »

No, she in Houston.

« Reply #167 on: February 04, 2016, 01:31:22 PM »

No, she in Houston.

Nah, that was a reference to Mexico leaving the vocal Corral out of the squad.

« Reply #168 on: February 04, 2016, 01:36:17 PM »

No, she in Houston.

Or hor

Nah, that was a reference to Mexico leaving the vocal Corral out of the squad.

TTFA allegedly asks Waldrum to help get W/Warriors match practice.
By Lasana Liburd (wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) allegedly turned to axed American coach Randy Waldrum yesterday in a vain effort to get warm-up matches for the “Women Soca Warriors” before their CONCACAF 2016 Olympic qualifying series kicks off against Guatemala on February 11 in Houston.

Waldrum, who the TTFA replaced as coach for being two hours late with paperwork, could not assist the local football body since his professional club, Houston Dash, is in its off-season at present.

The former Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Senior Team coach, who responded to questions from Wired868, made it clear that he wished his former team well and was sorry to hear they were still struggling to confirm matches.

“Unfortunately when (TTFA technical committee member Jinelle James) called, I told her the Dash and all NWSL (National Women’s Soccer League) teams don’t start (practice) until March,” Waldrum told Wired868. “I mentioned the local youth teams would be the best they could get on such short notice… I do wish them well for the girls’ sake.”

Waldrum had initially organised a January 2016 camp for Women Warriors in Houston with all costs covered by a Houston-based university. However, the TTFA did not take up his offer and subsequently removed him as coach instead.

Wired868 tried unsuccessfully to get comment from TTFA president David John-Williams and interim general secretary Azaad Khan while James was unavailable since she left with the women’s team this morning.

The Women Warriors were supposed to play two international warm-up matches against Costa Rica last week but did not go. Williams failed to respond to media queries about the cancelled friendlies but, in a subsequent statement to his own press officer, he admitted that the TTFA was late in its visa applications.

Williams retorted then that the TTFA was lining up warm-up matches against Mexico and two club teams and the Women Warriors’ preparation would not be affected.

“The girls will leave on Sunday (January 31) for a 10-day camp in Houston and we are trying to arrange a game with Mexico and two club teams,” Williams told the TTFA Media. “I don’t see the preparations as being affected. We will go to the Olympic qualifiers in good spirits and we hope that the girls will do well.”

However, in a press statement today, the TTFA admitted to having just one friendly match lined up before the national team’s Olympic campaign begins. And, even then, the local football body could not name the team that the squad would face or the date and venue.

“T&T has one warm-up game confirmed at this point,” stated the TTFA media release, “to be played against (an) ECNL club.”

The ECNL is the Elite Clubs National League and comprises of 79 youth clubs with levels between under-14 to under-18.

It is uncertain exactly which Houston-based women’s under-18 team will get to enjoy sharing the field with the likes of Trinidad and Tobago stars Kennya “Yaya” Cordner, Arin King, Maylee-Attin Johnson and Ahkeela Mollon.

The TTFA did go into more detail—273 words—about its decision to take a chef with the women’s squad. The release described the new staff member as “an innovative way to cut costs” as the squad would not have to rely on hotel food.

“We have got to make the best of this bad financial situation we inherited,” Williams told the TTFA Media. “The Sports Company and the Ministry of Sports have done their part with the tickets and the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee has chipped in as well. Therefore we must be innovative and think outside the box to cut costs.

“We are taking someone with an appreciation for what an athlete must eat and of course there is nothing better tasting that good home cooked T&T food.

“With the falling oil prices we have got to become creative while operating on tight budgets. We will evaluate how this works and then see the feasibility for the other teams especially in youth football.”

The team’s accommodation in Houston will be financed by the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC).

Attin-Johnson has been restored as the squad’s captain with King’s blessing, after the talented defender steered the Women Warriors through the Caribbean stage of their Olympic campaign during the former player’s self-imposed exile.

Coach Richard Hood will miss defenders Rhea Belgrave and Brianna Ryce, due to school commitments, while utility players Lauryn Hutchinson and Khadisha Debesette are out through injury.

However, Hood told the TTFA that he was happy with the balance of his team, which also includes star goalkeeper Kimika Forbes, attacker Tasha St Louis, France-based striker Mariah Shade and newcomers Kayla Taylor and Jo-Marie Lewis.

“The squad comprises a mixture of experienced and new players to international football,” said Hood. “We do have a few players carrying minor injuries but we are confident that everyone will be ready to compete.

“I believe that it is a tremendous boost to the team that we have the opportunity to camp and acclimatise to the conditions in Houston.”

Hood assured football fans that, despite their challenges, his team’s goal is to qualify for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

“We believe that we have a realistic chance of attaining success in this tournament,” said Hood. “We are very aware that it is going to be an enormous task but, God willing, we shall prevail.”

Players who left from Port of Spain: Maylee Attin-Johnson (captain), Arin King (vice-captain), Kimika Forbes, Saundra Barron, Jenelle Cunningham, Anastasia Prescott, Chevonne John, Janine Francois, Naomi Guerra, Tasha St Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner and Jo-Marie Lewis.

Players who will join the team in Houston: Shallette Alexander, Karyn Forbes, Liana Hinds Danielle Blair, Mariah Shade, Kayla Taylor, Victoria Swift and Khadidra Debesette.

« Last Edit: February 05, 2016, 12:26:34 PM by Flex »

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #169 on: February 05, 2016, 06:31:39 AM »
Costa Rica announces their roster of 20 players.

https://twitter.com/FEDEFUTBOL_CR/status/694961382236622848/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

We have 15 in camp with 5 more players arriving today and Mariah Shade (in France) arrives Monday
Every other countries roster is 20 so seeing that we have 3 keepers in camp (Forbes , Baron , Alexander), I am going to assume either Baron or Alexander will be watching from the stands.
I can't seem to find online anywhere the published deadline for when the final roster of 20 must be submitted.

Taken from Wired 868 article yesterday:
At present, there are 15 Warriors in the team camp while another five players—Shallette Alexander, Karyn Forbes, Khadidra Debesette, Victoria Swift and Kayla Taylor—are scheduled to arrive in Houston tomorrow.

The Trinidad and Tobago squad will play a practice match against an ECNL (Elite Clubs National League) youth team on Sunday, which is the only confirmed warm-up fixture for the Women Warriors before the CONCACAF leg of the Olympic qualifiers gets underway.

France-based striker, Mariah Shade, will miss the warm-up match, as she arrives to complete the 21-member squad on Monday.

http://wired868.com/2016/02/04/women-warriors-get-in-shape-for-olympic-qualifiers/

Would have like to have seen everyone in camp at latest by Tuesday Feb 2nd as of the 5 players arriving today at least 2 will be in the starting line up on game day versus Guatemala as it would have given coach Hood more time to have his starting 11 gel even more however at least they get 5 days with each other as this is better than nothing. I guess the schools would not allow the players out until today. (Disappointing however not much one can do). Anyways Women Warriors keep working hard.

« Reply #170 on: February 05, 2016, 06:56:22 AM »
Women Warriors raise intensity in Houston.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s footballers have been engaging in double training sessions daily during their live-in training camp at the Lindsay Lyons Sports Complex in Houston.

T&T head coach Richard Hood described the camp as satisfactory so far with fifteen members his 21-player squad involved in the camp so far. Five players are scheduled to arrive in Houston on Friday including Shallette Alexander, Karyn Forbes, Khadidra Debesette, Victoria Swift and Kayla Taylor. France-based professional Mariah Shade will join the camp on Monday.

“The camp has gone well so far. The girls have been in good spirits for the most part and have been working hard throughout,” Hood told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“We’ve done double sessions Monday to Wednesday and we have been pushing the players during the sessions and they have been responding quite well.”

The team’s technical staff has been joined by physiotherapist Matthew Vasquez and conditioning coach Derrick Jonkins.

“They have both been working hard to get the girls in proper shape before the tournament starts. The conditions are a bit cold at the moment and is expected to get colder later in the week but everyone has coped well so far.

“We have a couple players who are being treated for niggling injuries but they are expected to be fit and ready for the tournament,” Hood added.

T&T will play a training match against an ECNL team at the Lindsay Lyons Sports Complex on Sunday,

“This game will give us a chance to test the fitness level of the individuals and the team as it relates to our game plan and to measure the collective understanding of the unit in terms of how we function in the three periods of the game – when we are in possession, when in defence and when we are in transition,” Hood stated.

T&T will play its opening game of the tournament against Guatemala on February 11th at the BBVA Compass Stadium. T&T will then face Canada on February 14th and Guyana on February 16th. The top two teams in the group will advance to the semi finals with the two finalists moving onto the Rio 2016 Olympics.

The tournament commences on February 10th with Mexico facing Puerto Rico and the United States taking on Costa Rica on in a double header at the Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #171 on: February 05, 2016, 08:09:52 AM »
I just found the document that indicates the the number of roster players for the upciming tournament. I missed it the first time I looked. Time for new glasses...lol

Its in the FIFA Regulations for the Olympic tournament (see page 33 on preliminary competitions' player lists).
http://resources.fifa.com/mm/document/tournament/competition/02/54/40/46/oftsregulationsrio2016-e_neutral.pdf
22 Player lists – preliminary competitions
20 players (eleven selected players and nine substitutes) shall be eligible to
take part in the matches. Three of these 20 players must be goalkeepers, with
the number one shirt being reserved for one of them. All goalkeepers and the
captain must be identified as such.

Now I did not find when the drop dead date for roster submission in writing is. At least I cannot find it anywhere however a contact of mine just indicated that the deadline was Feb 3rd.
This means a field player would have to be released furthermore it would probably be one of the players already in Houston since last Sunday as it would make no sense to release one of the five flying in today.
I guess the thinking was to take an extra player in case of an injury.
Thoughts?????

« Reply #172 on: February 07, 2016, 12:41:49 PM »
Puerto Rico defeated St. Andrews University 8-1, drew 0-0 with UNC Wilmington and lost 1-0 to Winthrop University. The match versus Charlotte Eagles is in progress (first half).

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #173 on: February 08, 2016, 06:31:48 AM »
The Soca Women Warriors beat Challenge SC yesterday afternoon 2-nil.  The Warrior's opened the scoring in the first half and added another in the 2nd to win 2-nil. No game details to report.

The Guyana lady Jags who arrived Saturday morning played the Albion Hurricanes FC yesterday afternoon to a one all draw. No game details other than AHFC opened the scoring.

Both the Challenge SC and the Albion Hurricanes FC play in the ECNL (Elite Clubs National League Texas Conference).
in 4th place in the ten team conference Challenge SC has a record of 6 W - 4 L - 2 D
Albion Hurricanes FC is in 9th place with a record of 1 W - 4 L - 5 D

http://www.eliteclubsnationalleague.com/standings/78817208/78817267.html

Both National teams will have to step up their respective levels of intensity if they expect a positive result versus team Canada. The best chance for the Olympic Qualification for any team in group " B " is to shock Canada whether it be a tie and or a win. Of course win the other 2 group games. The team that finishes 2nd in Group " B " will undoubtedly face the USA in the semi final.

Yes the ball is round and anything can happen any given day however lets be realistic. Win Group " B " and have a chance versus Mexico or Costa Rica in the semi final. End up in second place and you play the States to take door # 3 door prize. :(

No preparation information that I can find anywhere on the Guatemalan Women squad.

Canada has been in Houston since last Monday (no friendly details have been released) if they have played any at all (usually their games are closed door hush hush  :bs:)

Has anyone seen our official 20 player roster yet ?

The countdown has begun ladies as we open on the 11th versus Guatemala.
Good luck Ladies

« Reply #174 on: February 08, 2016, 08:55:45 AM »
Women Warriors step up training ahead of Rio Olympic qualifiers

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160205/sports/women-warriors-step-up-training-ahead-of-rio-olympic-qualifiers

The Trinidad and Tobago senior women’s football team have intensified their training regime in preparation for the final stage of their Olympic qualification campaign, which starts next Friday against Guatemala at the BBVA Compass Arena in Houston, Texas, USA.
The “Women Warriors” will play in Group B alongside Guatemala, Canada and Guyana, in which only the top two will stand a chance of going into the Olympic Women’s Football competition. The top two move into the semi-finals after which only the finalists will qualify for the tournament in Rio.

The team has been engaged in daily double sessions in the training camp at the Lindsay Lyons Sports Complex in Houston. Coach Richard Hood said the camp was satisfactory so far with 15 members of his 21-member squad involved thus far.

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

GK (3) – Shalette Alexander (Wiley College/USA); Saundra Baron (Unattached); Kimika Forbes (Unattached);

DF (5) – Danielle Blair (GS United/CAN); Jenelle Cunningham (Real Dimension/TRI); Liana Hinds (University of Connecticut/USA); Arin King (GS United/CAN); Anastasia Prescott (Unattached);

MF (10) – Maylee Attin-Johnson (Central FC/TRI); Kennya Cordner (Unattached); Khadidra Debesette (West Texas A&M University/USA); Karyn Forbes (West Texas A&M University/USA); Janine Francois (Real Dimension/TRI); Naomi Guerra (St Augustine Secondary/TRI); Ahkeela Mollon (La brea Amgels/TRI); Tasha St Louis (St Ann's FC/TRI); Victoria Swift (Navarro College/USA); Kayla Taylor (Wiley College/USA);

FW (2) – Jo Marie Lewis (St Ann's FC/TRI); Mariah Shade (US Rouvroy/FRA);

« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 05:16:29 PM by Flex »

« Reply #175 on: February 08, 2016, 05:28:52 PM »
T&T Women win final warm up.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s team won their lone warm-up match before the start of the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying final round on Thursday when they defeated the Challenge Under 18 team of the Elite Clubs National League 2-0 at the Lindsay Lyons Sports Complex in Houston on Sunday.

T&T, which will open their CONCACAF campaign against Guatemala, opened the scoring through Tasha St Louis in the 22nd minute before Kennya Cordner completed the win with a 78th minute item.

The team trained once on Monday and will take up base at the Embassy Suites Hotel on Tuesday as they enter the official competition period. Guatemala will also be based at the Embassy Suites. The T&T team had been in camp at the Winchester Suites in Houston for the past week.

Following the win on Sunday, head coach Richard Hood described the exercise worthwhile despite feeling that his team needed to be more clinical in the final third of the field.

“It was a good exercise for us as it give us the opportunity to examine how the team functioned with the new system and to test their fitness as well,” Hood told TTFA Media.

“ I thought that we moved the ball well in building up but we need to be much more clinical in the final third. We created many chances but did not capitalize well mainly due to a lack of composure.

“We were able to observe some of the younger players as well for the first time in a competitive environment and they did well. We now have a much better idea of the areas we have to improve on as we prepare for the tournament,” Hood added, also thanking the Challenge club for the opportunity to play the match.

Among the players who saw playing time on Sunday included captain Maylee Attin-Johnson, Cordner, Arin King, Victoria Swift, St Louis, Kimika Forbes, Saundra Barron, Janine Francois, Liana Hinds, Ahkeela Mollon, Jenelle Cunningham, Jo-Marie Lewis, Naomi Guerra, Danielle Blair, Chevonne John, Khadidra Debesette and Anastasia Prescott.

The former T&T Under 17 Women’s team assistant coach expressed concern over some injury worries heading into Thursday’s opening game and team doctor Dave De Landro who arrived in Houston today (Monday) to join the team will be paying close attention to some of the players who are carrying niggling injuries.

The competition starts on Wednesday with a double header at the Toyota Stadium in Texas with the US facing Costa Rica and Puerto Rico taking on Mexico. T&T’s opening game will be on Thursday against Guatemala at the BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston. Canada faces Guyana in the other game of the double header.

Eight countries will compete against each other in two groups of four, with the top two teams in each group moving on to the semifinals and securing a place in the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

All 15 matches of the tournament will be streamed live on NBC Sports Live Extra, with four also airing on NBC Sports Network (NBCSN). A cable subscription is required to access NBC Live Extra online.

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

GK (3) – Shalette Alexander (Wiley College/USA); Saundra Baron (Unattached); Kimika Forbes (Unattached);

DF (5) – Danielle Blair (GS United/CAN); Jenelle Cunningham (Real Dimension/TRI); Liana Hinds (University of Connecticut/USA); Arin King (GS United/CAN); Anastasia Prescott (Unattached);

MF (10) – Maylee Attin-Johnson (Central FC/TRI); Kennya Cordner (Unattached); Khadidra Debesette (West Texas A&M University/USA); Karyn Forbes (West Texas A&M University/USA); Janine Francois (Real Dimension/TRI); Naomi Guerra (St Augustine Secondary/TRI); Ahkeela Mollon (La brea Amgels/TRI); Tasha St Louis (St Ann's FC/TRI); Victoria Swift (Navarro College/USA); Kayla Taylor (Wiley College/USA);

FW (2) – Jo Marie Lewis (St Ann's FC/TRI); Mariah Shade (US Rouvroy/FRA);

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #176 on: February 08, 2016, 08:04:21 PM »
Flex, ah really hoping for the best but...our Women's team just beat Challenge SC 2-0. Challenge SC is:

4th in Conference
Does not qualify for ECNL Champions league
IS not high enough in national rankings for a wildward into Champions League
IS 22nd in Consolation ECNL Phoenix tournament

The coach say he is pleased but for the need to be more clinical in final third. The coach implementing a new formation. This all seems too much in a short period of time

« Reply #177 on: February 09, 2016, 04:34:13 PM »

Go out and give us your best football T&T Women Warriors! Good luck! 🇹🇹 🇹🇹

« Reply #178 on: February 11, 2016, 03:29:38 AM »
T&T Women go for three points in Olympic qualifying opener.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior women will begin their CONCACAF Final round quest to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics when they take on Guatemala in the first game of a double header  at the BBVA Compass Stadium from 5pm (7pm TT time) on Thursday.

For skipper Maylee Attin-Johnson and her teammates, the affair is a crucial one as three points will be critical in their aim to advance to the semi-final stage as one of the top two teams from the group with Canada billed as favourites to top the group. They face Guyana in the evening’s other match at 7:30pm.

T&T have spent just over a week acclimatizing to the cold conditions in Houston as head coach Richard hood and his staff put the players through an intense training camp in Houston. The camp included one game which T&T won 2-0 over the Challenge Under 18 Women’s team on Sunday.

“We know how important this first game is because the winner could potentially end up as one of the two teams to advance from the group. We will take each game on merit but starting with three points is definitely our first aim,” Hood told TTFA Media after conducting a session at the Houston Dynamo and Houston Dash sporting complex.

“We’ve had some injury concerns but I don’t expect it to hamper us. The training camp served us well and we have to give credit to Derrick Jonkins and Matthew Vasquez for the work they did to get them fit and to keep them fit in terms of injuries. The work we have gone has been good,” Hood said.

“The spirit is very good and I think they are very focused on the task at hand,” he added.

The teams were only allowed a walk through on the match field on Wednesday but all trained on adjacent fields at the Houston Dynamo/Dash training centre during the morning. At the start time of T&T’s session at midday, the Guatemalans we’re completing the final 20 minutes of their session on a field visible and located less than thirty feet from T&T’s pitch.

On Guatemala, Hood said he would be banking on T&T’s pace and athleticism to get the better of the Central Americans who T&T defeated 2-1 in the 2015 CONCACAF World Cup qualifying final round through goals by Kennya Cordner and Maylee Attin-Johnson. The current team will also bank on the experience of the likes of Arin King, Ahkeela Mollon, Kimika and Karyn Forbes, Khadidra Debesette, Janine Francois, Tasha St Louis, Mariah Shade and Attin-Johnson.

“We expect the Guatemalans to play a strong possession game. I don’t know much about their current team except for reports that I have received and from what I have been told by the players,” Hood said.

“We expect them to play the typical Central American style but we will be prepared for that . We hope to use our athleticism and our speed against them.”

Attin-Johnson was in equally positive spirits.

“We are very excited and very much optimistic. We know how important our first game is to us . We need those three points to have a chance of going through to the next round,” she said on the eve of the contest.”

Attin-Johnson said there was still a bit of pressure on the T&T team to perform on the day.

“There is a little pressure we have not played together for a while but for us we know what it will take. There are no excuses. We have to get the job done and once we execute what coach Hood wants us to do then I think we come out victorious,” Attin-Johnson said.

“They (Guatemala) are going to come out ready to punch and we just have to be able to absorb it and punch right back and be victorious.”

Looking back at the training camp, she added: “It was difficult not having all the players together at the same time but when we did get most of our players, it turned out to be a very successful camp. We have a new coach and a new system and we had a lot of emphasis on executing that system that he wants to implement,” the skipper added.

T&T will face Canada on Sunday and Guyana two days later. The top two teams in the group will advance to the semi-finals with the two finalists qualifying for the Rio 2016 Olympics.

Video: - T&T Senior Women prepare in Houston for Olympic Qualifiers

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #179 on: February 11, 2016, 05:58:06 AM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kC3jydxRJ0Y&feature=youtu.be

Nice to see some of the more senior members of the team being interviewed. Well despite only having everyone in for a short time as the USA girls on arrived last Friday the team has had some good sessions and are very optimistic on a good group showing.

The link above in Flex's post you will see King with a bouquet of roses. It was her birthday on Monday. Happy 25th Kingerrrrrrr !!!!!

Tried watching the games last evening on my Android box as I found NBC Sports extra on it however no active streams. :cursing:
Which was disappointing to say the least. If you live in the United States the NBC Sports Live Extra stream is available however outside the United States it is Geo blocked. To compound matters was having issues with my laptop as a friend advised to download a VPN Hola extension from  Google Chrome . Then change the VPN icon to the USA then refresh your screen.

Did anyone outside of the United States watch the  last evenings streams via NBC Sports (changing your VPN to the USA) to stream or did you find a working pirate link? Please advise us all.

All of Canada's games will be streamed on CBCSports.ca so we will see our match on Sunday however another friend told me group B's matches are not being streamed hence my concern about using the VPN Hola extension. Despite reading an article all group matches are being streamed. Guess we will find out tonight.

Good luck Soca Women Warrior's tonight. We all will be cheering  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: