March 29, 2024, 05:22:48 AM

Author Topic: 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship  (Read 48540 times)

Re: 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship
« Reply #210 on: February 11, 2016, 07:50:45 PM »
Golasso Tasha!

« Reply #211 on: February 11, 2016, 08:35:46 PM »
WATCH: Post-match interview with game-winning goalscorer Tasha St. Louis. Guatemala Women vs Trinidad and Tobago.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/trNbWZXBkKQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/trNbWZXBkKQ</a>

« Reply #212 on: February 11, 2016, 09:33:39 PM »
FINAL: Guatemala Women 1-2 Trinidad and Tobago Women. Goals scored by Ana Lucia Martinez (17’ pen); Kennya Cordner (74’), Tasha St. Louis (78’).

Well done T&T Women! People right here on this forum did not believe in you but you got the job done.. remember the journey is not over. Stay focused and motivated.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #213 on: February 11, 2016, 10:26:39 PM »
So happy they won. The women showed tremendous character to come back with two goals to take this one.

« Reply #214 on: February 11, 2016, 10:51:15 PM »
meanwhile Canada A beat Canada B , 5-0

« Reply #215 on: February 12, 2016, 05:24:30 AM »
St Louis spurs on T&T to 2-1 win over Guatemala.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women footballers pulled off a spirited comeback to secure their first three points of the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying round when they came from a  goal down to defeat Guatemala 2-1 at the BBVA Compass Stadium on Thursday.

An equalizing goal by Kennya Cordner and a stunning 78th minute winner by veteran Tasha St Louis sealed the win for the Women Warriors who had earlier fallen behind following a bizarre penalty call which led to Ana Lucia Martinez’s conversion on 17 minutes. St Louis was named CONCACAF “Player of the Game” for her performance. Canada were meantime comfortable 6-0 winners in the evening’s second match. T&T will meet Canada on Sunday at the same venue.

The win was the first at international level for Richard Hood since he took over the head coach position but it came only after skipper Maylee Attin-Johnson and her teammates persisted for the 90 plus minutes. T&T dominated on goal attempts, having some 18 attempts on goal including four decent chances  in the opening 15 minutes which were muffed by Cordner and Mariah Shade.

Guatemala eased themselves into the match after struggling to handle T&T’s pace and athleticism. And the call in their favour by American Referee Margaret Domka helped put them ahead. T&T defender Karyn Forbes picked the ball up with her hands on the right of the goal after camera replays clearly showed the ball going out of play but instead Domka, a referee at the FIFA 2015 Women’s World Cup, blew for a penalty which Martinez’ wrong sided Kimika Forbes to put the Central Americans ahead.

But T&T didn’t back down and continued to press on. Guatemala though were able to hold on their lead until the halftime break.

T&T head coach Richard Hood later spoke about the win, saying : “I was delighted with the victory but so happy about the performance. I think we could have been more clinical and we made the game hard for ourselves. But all in all I think the ladies deserved credit for coming back to earn the three points and hopefully now we can continue to build and look ahead to the next two games against Canada and Guyana.”

Team captain Attin-Johnson, who scored the winning penalty when T&T defeated Guatemala on a similar 2-1 scoreline in the 2015 World Cup qualifier, added: “It’s a good win for us to start the tournament. We knew we needed to start well and come out on top in our first game and now we can hopefully push on from here for the rest of the tournament.

CONCACAF 2016 Women’s Olympic qualifying Results

Group B Results

Trinidad and Tobago  2  v  Guatemala  1
Cordner 74    Martinez 18-Pen
St Louis 78

Canada  5  v  Guyana  0
Rose 25
Lawrence 29
Rose 40
Lawrence 46
Lawrence 48

Group A Results

Mexico  6  v  Puerto Rico  0
Dominguez 18
Mendez 22
Dominguez 51
Rangel 54
Dominguez 89-Pen
Johnson 90

United States  5  v  Costa Rica  0
Morgan 1
Lloyd 9-Pen
Dunn 15
Morgan 62
Press 83

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Kimika Forbes; 6.Khadidra Debesette, 14.Karyn Forbes, 5.Arin King, 2.Jenelle Cunningham (16.Jo Marie Lewis 75th); 9.Maylee Attin-Johnson (capt), 11.Janine Francois (15.Liana Hinds 65th); 12.Ahkeela Mollon (7.Kayla Taylor 56th), 10.Tasha St Louis, 19.Kennya Cordner; 3.Mariah Shade.

Unused substitutes: 18.Shalette Alexander (GK), 20.Saundra Baron (GK), 4.Danielle Blair, 8.Victoria Swift, 13.Naomi Guerra, 17.Anastasia Prescott, Chevonne John.

Coach: Richard Hood.

Guatemala: 1.Yoselin Franco; 16.Kellin Mayen, 6.Gloria Aguilar (Yellow 90), 4.Christian Recinos (19.Andrea Rabanales 46th), 17.Didra Martinez, 14.Coralia Monterroso, 3.Marilyn Rivera, 8.Jennifer Munoz (Fabiola Gonzalez 82nd), 9.Ana Martinez, 10.Vivian Herrera, 18.Diana Barrera (Celeste Gatica 46th).

Coach: Benjamin Monterroso.

Referee: Margaret Domka (USA).

Videos: -

CWOQ 2016: Guatemala vs Trinidad & Tobago Highlights

Women Win - Check out this GameDay Video Recap of T&T's 2-1 win over Guatemala

Post Match Press Conference - T&T Women Victory over Guatemala

Guatemala vs Trinidad and Tobago Interviews

Standings.

Group A

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Mexico  1  1  0  0  6  0  3
United States  1  1  0  0  5  0  3
Costa Rica  1  0  0  1  0  5  0
Puerto Rico  1  0  0  1  0  6  0

Group B

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Canada  1  1  0  0  5  0  3
Trinidad and Tobago  1  1  0  0  2  1  3
Guatemala  1  0  0  1  1  2  0
Guyana  1  0  0  1  0  5  0

Upcoming Fixtures
(All kick offs given in TT time)

(February 13)

Costa Rica v Puerto Rico, 2.30 pm, Group A, Toyota Stadium, Frisco;

Mexico v United States, 5 pm, Group A, Toyota Stadium, Frisco;

(February 14)

Guyana v Guatemala, 2.30 pm, Group B, BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston;

Trinidad and Tobago v Canada, 5 pm, Group B, BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston;

(February 15)

Mexico v Costa Rica, 7 pm, Group A, Toyota Stadium, Frisco;

United States v Puerto Rico, 9.30 pm, Group A, Toyota Stadium, Frisco;

(February 16)

Trinidad and Tobago v Guyana, 7 pm, Group B, BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston;

Canada v Guatemala, 9.30 pm, Group B, BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2016, 05:49:39 AM by Flex »

« Reply #216 on: February 13, 2016, 06:29:02 PM »
T&T go for second win versus Canada.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women will look for a second straight victory when they face off with 2012 Olympics Bronze Medallists Canada in their second match of the 2016 CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying competition at the BBVA Compass Stadium from 5pm (3pm in Houston) on Sunday. Guyana faces Guatemala in the earlier game from 1pm.

Both teams are coming off opening victories with Canada thumping Guyana 6-0 and T&T coming from a goal down to defeat Guatemala 2-1 on Thursday. Canada came away 4-0 winners when both teams met at the International Women’s tournament in Natal Brazil in December. The Canadians also defeated Mexico 3-0 in Natal but lost to Colombia (1-0), Costa Rica (2-0) and Brazil (2-0).

This time T&T will be fielding a more  strengthened team, led by captain Maylee Attin-Johnson and they will be expecting to pose a tougher challenge to the Concacaf giants.

“This time we have a stronger team and we have been preparing together for a longer period than when we played them in Brazil, so I’m expecting us to be better,” T&T player Arin King told TTFA Media.

“I think all of us are really looking forward to the match because a win could give us a chance of topping to group. We know the game will be challenging but I think we have in us what it takes to come out on top and then finish the group on a high next week,” the Canadian-born defender added.

Head Coach Richard Hood conduced a light session on Friday which consisted mainly of recovery exercises and he put the player through their final paces during a another session at the Houston Training Centre on Saturday afternoon.

“We know the Canada game will be much more demanding physically and we will have to be more precise and clinical in our approach,” Hood said.

“Like I said, I wasn’t particularly happy with the performance in the last match even though it was enough to get the result. But we have two games left and we know a good result against Canada will put us in a very good position going into the last group match against Guyana.,” he added.

Midfielder Tasha St Louis who scored the winner over Guatemala is hoping to her side can rise to the occasion again.

“This is a tough game ahead but we really want to top the group. I think we will have to start the match a lot stronger than we did against Guatemala. We have to tidy up a few things and definitely make better use of our goalscoring chances. We have faced Canada before so we know what they are like and hopefully we can bring our best game on the day,” St Louis said.

T&T goalkeeper Kimika Forbes expects T&T to lift its level on Sunday.

“We didn’t put away our chances in the last game so it’s very important that we make use of our chances in the next game. Against a team like Canada we have to believe in ourselves and our ability. I believe we have the ability to upset Canada on Sunday,” T&T goalkeeper Kimika Forbes added.

There are no major injury concerns in the T&T camp. Canada meantime will be looking to 21-year-old Ashley Lawrence to continue her good work after she scored a hattrick in the win over Guyana. Sixteen-year-old Deanne Rose notched a double as Canada featured a strong lineup that included superstar Christine Sinclair up front, Erin McLeod in goal and midfielder Desiree Scott who earned 100th cap for Canada.

“We gave some new players some new opportunities and that was really exciting and to see [Lawrence] get a hat trick and Desi [Scott] get her 100th cap, it was a good night for us,” said head coach John Herdman.

“Three points and Trinidad up next and we’re ready to roll.”

Videos: -

Tasha St Louis and Liana Hinds Post Match Reactions

Women Win - Check out this GameDay Video Recap of T&T's 2-1 win over Guatemala

« Reply #217 on: February 13, 2016, 09:51:11 PM »
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago Women prepare to face Canada. Head Coach Richard Hood shares his views.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/WrvtuGYndRg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/WrvtuGYndRg</a>

« Reply #218 on: February 13, 2016, 10:46:38 PM »
Canada is one of the women powerhouse in ConCacaf. I hope our women play a very disciplined game against them

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #219 on: February 14, 2016, 09:20:33 AM »
Game day people. The game is being live-streamed on CBC Sports.ca at 4pm EST.

Arin King talks about the match on Wired868.
http://wired868.com/2016/02/13/wwarriors-hunt-upset-against-canada-in-key-olympic-qualifier/

Link directly to the live stream.
http://www.cbc.ca/sports/olympics/summer/generic/olympic-womens-soccer-qualifying-live-stream-1.3440139

Go Soca Women Warriors Goooooooo :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #220 on: February 14, 2016, 11:17:07 AM »
I just have a feeling that we will beat Canada today.

« Reply #221 on: February 14, 2016, 12:25:13 PM »
We need a win against Canada. Nothing else. USA is going to top their group.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #222 on: February 14, 2016, 03:03:01 PM »
Game rosters are up on TTFA Facebook page

Mollon not starting

Offline Texastrini

« Reply #223 on: February 14, 2016, 03:05:30 PM »
http://stream.nbcsports.com/nbc/?pid=20681  NBC live stream if you in the US

« Reply #224 on: February 14, 2016, 03:07:06 PM »
Let's go T&T  :wavetowel:

« Reply #225 on: February 14, 2016, 03:29:50 PM »
T&T tired already.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #226 on: February 14, 2016, 03:31:48 PM »

« Reply #227 on: February 14, 2016, 04:22:53 PM »
Still nothing for we locals ??????

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #228 on: February 14, 2016, 04:24:46 PM »

« Reply #229 on: February 14, 2016, 04:30:42 PM »
3-0
Defnsive structure sucks. Ball possession and offensive strategy..non-existent. Depending on the girls individual ability and heart..
4 now...
 can't come with no solid defensive formation against one of the top teams in the world.
and basics.

dammit...girls running back watching the ball..and not watching where the opposing player that they were just covering going....I don't know so much more than any coach..so why am I seeing this
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 04:38:51 PM by maxg »

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #230 on: February 14, 2016, 04:37:37 PM »
3-0
Defnsive structure sucks. Ball possession and offensive strategy..non-existent. Depending on the girls individual ability and heart..
4 now...
 can't come with no solid defensive formation against one of the top teams in the world.

« Reply #231 on: February 14, 2016, 04:39:56 PM »
5 in 75th minute. Honestly not sure what the new coach has implemented..but definitely we have reverted to the old tactics." Chase after the ball..ooops, to late " style.

How the azz Sinclair and Tancredi getting free shot.. we didn't know who they were.
How the azz Lawrence squaring....anyway...oops to late

6..now

as COMMENTATOR SAY...ANOTHER CROSS ANOTHER GOAL
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 04:44:20 PM by maxg »

« Reply #232 on: February 14, 2016, 04:40:07 PM »
Tasha complains to much. We are being out played in every aspect of the game. This team has gone backward from WCQ play. But we should still reach the final four.

« Reply #233 on: February 14, 2016, 04:46:16 PM »
SHIM..10mins to go still...Commentators gone off on Canada coach tight shirt...imagine, that is the most exciting thing bout this game at this point

« Reply #234 on: February 14, 2016, 04:53:17 PM »
now talking about the intense mental & physical preparation & training that Canada players experience. The still wondering why they not on the skill level of the Americans.
88:41
one offering by Leblanc..takes time. However, they on the road to that level. Heavy and long camps..and the players who are not constanly in camp, are now getting in environments, where they are playing in upper level clubs, with and against some of the best players in the world consistently. So in the near future, expecting to reap rewards..
meanwhile Canada throwing way left and right..  fulltime 6:0
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 04:58:05 PM by maxg »

« Reply #235 on: February 14, 2016, 04:56:20 PM »
The Forbes sisters are the only bright spots on this team.

« Reply #236 on: February 14, 2016, 05:02:44 PM »
The Forbes sisters are the only bright spots on this team.
you fine so ?seems to me they always buffin, after the fact..yuh ever see a Top level bright spot player swinging they arms, gesticulating and screaming at teammates..everytime on the field..why wait till after the damage done to be screaming...scream in practice....screaming on the field..only makes bad situation worse..or seem worse to me.  JMO

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #237 on: February 14, 2016, 05:14:12 PM »
Tasha complains to much. We are being out played in every aspect of the game. This team has gone backward from WCQ play. But we should still reach the final four.

I wouldn't be so sure about that. Guyana's playing a decent brand at the moment....they're playing with a lot more cohesion and purpose. I wouldn't write them off at all, especially after their come-from-behind win against Guatemala today.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 05:29:55 PM by Michael-j »

« Reply #238 on: February 14, 2016, 05:17:22 PM »

I wouldn't be so sure about that. Guyana's playing a decent brand at the moment....they're playing with a lot more cohesion and purpose. I wouldn't write them of at all, especially after their come-from-behind win against Guatemala today.

Adiós, Guatemala!

« Reply #239 on: February 14, 2016, 05:22:42 PM »
now talking about the intense mental & physical preparation & training that Canada players experience. The still wondering why they not on the skill level of the Americans.
88:41
one offering by Leblanc..takes time. However, they on the road to that level. Heavy and long camps..and the players who are not constanly in camp, are now getting in environments, where they are playing in upper level clubs, with and against some of the best players in the world consistently. So in the near future, expecting to reap rewards..
meanwhile Canada throwing way left and right..  fulltime 6:0

The contrast in content here ...  how yuh drop that in. Had me rolling.