April 19, 2024, 10:02:14 AM

Author Topic: Guerra goal gives Central FC historic win  (Read 1076 times)

Guerra goal gives Central FC historic win
« on: September 18, 2015, 04:54:40 AM »
Guerra goal gives Central FC historic win
CONCACAF.com

Ataullah Guerra scored the lone goal as Central FC (1W-0D-2L, 3 points) kept its Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League hopes alive with a 1-0 win over visiting Comunicaciones (1W-0D-2L, 3 points) on Thursday at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Central, which avenged a 1-0 defeat to Comunicaciones in Guatemala City on August 27, moved into second place in Group D on goal difference (-4 to -5), while the first-place LA Galaxy (2W-0D-0L, 6 points) was idle.

The Couva Sharks broke the scoreless stalemate in the 61st minute, when Guerra -- from 17-yards-out -- tucked in the rebound of a saved Darrell Mitchell effort. It was his team-best second goal of the competition.

Three minutes later, Canadian referee David Gantar sent off Mitchell with a straight red card for a late tackle on Comunicaciones’ Rolando Blackburn.

The Guatemalan champion challenged from the outset as Brandon De Leon nearly capitalized on a poor back pass to goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, but the Central FC captain got a piece of the shot that deflected out for a corner in the opening minute.

In the 19th minute, Emilliano Lopez took a throw-in off the bounce and fired toward the net from 24 yards, but the Argentine’s attempt sailed just wide of the far post.

Central FC’s first scoring chance came five minutes later. Guerra took a free kick from the top left edge of the 18-yard box, but no one was able to connect with his floated ball.

Three minutes from halftime, Williams came up big again for the current Caribbean champion, kicking away a shot from 10 yards by Lopez.

The final scoring chance of the first half went to the host as Guerra put his 32-yard free kick on frame, but Mynor Padilla dived to his right to push the attempt away.

Blackburn was played in toward goal in the 58th minute, but Williams thwarted the attempt, pushing it aside for a Comunicaciones corner kick.

Next up in Group D, Central FC welcomes the LA Galaxy on September 22. The U.S. champion needs only a draw to seal progression to the quarterfinals.

NOTES: It was the second big win for Trinidadian club football within 24 hours. On Tuesday, at the same stadium, DirecTV W Connection upset Costa Rica’s Saprissa, 2-1.

Results

Central FC  1  v  Comunicaciones  0
Guerra 61

Teams

Central FC - 21.Jan-Michael Williams; 2.Elton John, 17.Marcelle Francois, 24.Kevon Villaroel, 4.Andre Ettienne (Yellow 50); 15.Kaydion Gabriel, 10.Marvin Oliver (Yellow), 7.Jason Marcano (99.Marcus Joseph 56th), 45.Ataullah Guerra, 11.Darren Mitchell (Red Card 64); 33.Willis Plaza (14.Nicholas Dillon 90th).

Coach - Ross Russell.

Comunicaciones - 23.Mynor Padilla Zuniga; 2.Ruben Morales (13.Carlos Castrillo Alonzo 13th), Wilson Lalin, 4.Carlos Callardo (Yellow 23), 29.Carlos Figueroa Martinez (6.Carlos Mejia 62nd), 19.Nelson Miranda, 21.Brandon De Leon Ramos, 24.Kendell Herrarte, 25.Jorge Aparicio (Yellow 54) (17.Brayan Ordonnez 69th), 18.Emiliano Lopez, 9.Rolando Blackburn.

Coach - Willy Olivera.

Video - Central FC vs Comunicaciones Highlights

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
LA Galaxy  2  2  0  0  10  1  6
Central FC  3  1  0  1  2  6  3
Comunicaciones  3  1  0  2  1  6  3

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/55_eaYs-A50" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/55_eaYs-A50</a>
« Last Edit: September 18, 2015, 06:00:55 AM by Flex »

Re: Guerra goal gives Central FC historic win
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 05:32:13 AM »
Happy for Tulla.. He needs to get back on track

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2015, 06:26:54 AM »
Where all de haters who say T&T clubs cant beat teams at this level?

Deeks, Palas, where allyuh?

We level low, we cant compete, we this, we that.. all kinda shit yuh hearing.

I say, we can compete, T&T national team did it, all they need to do is fight to de end.

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2015, 09:17:40 AM »

I say, we can compete, T&T national team did it, all they need to do is fight to de end.

Local teams need more prep and money to train against foreign squads for experience, better trainers and conditioning... the talent is there, it was always there, poor coaching killed us for many years

« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2015, 10:08:48 AM »

Dude, your head eh straight this morning. You need to put your face between them two bouncing breasts.

I support local team and coaches. But when there are faults which should not be happening, I tell it like it is. I watched the game. First half, Commun. played better than Central, and could have score on numerous occasions. Second half was much, much better by Central. Guerra, Oliver, Plaza and them stepped up their play. If only Marvin was ten yrs younger. He don't have the back and forth pace. But first touch, passing and overall vision are superb. Attullah had a decent game. Should be dominating the mid field. But scored a nice goal. Willis needed some help up front desperately. Sometimes he alone taking on 3 players. Joseph is a player we need to work with desperately. This guy has a powerful left foot shot. Had he gotten some direct shots, far or near to the goal, the keeper would be in pain.  And Jan saved Central last night. He made numerous crucial saves. Coming off the line just in time. Congrats for the win. But Central is a work in progress. I am really sorry they are in this political situation. I hope the club situation get straightened out.