March 28, 2024, 12:03:32 PM

Author Topic: Thread for USA Women vs T&T Women Games (06 & 10 - Dec-2015)  (Read 20252 times)

Re: Thread for USA Women vs T&T Women Games (06 & 10 - Dec-2015)
« Reply #60 on: December 07, 2015, 08:50:38 PM »
You are correct, lot's of air travel. They will be wacked when they reach San Antonio. They definitely need to rest due to the jet lag. And then after those two games, another long flight to Natal. The only plus is that it is on the coast.

State, businesses weighing fallout from canceled U.S. soccer match
« Reply #61 on: December 08, 2015, 06:18:54 AM »
State, businesses weighing fallout from canceled U.S. soccer match
By Rick Daysog (Hawaii News Now)

While thousands of soccer fans will be getting refunds for the canceled match between the U.S women's team and Trinidad and Tobago, the state is hoping to avoid paying U.S. soccer officials more than $200,000 to help sponsor the event.

The game was canceled less than 24 hours before the game after players said Aloha Stadium was unsafe. The Hawaii Tourism Authority was one of the game's marketing sponsors and has signed a contract to pick up a large chunk of the game's promotional costs.

"I believe that $200,000 should not be paid. Not with the way it happened," said former Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hannemann, CEO of the Hawaii Lodging and Tourism Association.

The money was supposed to come from the state-run Hawaii Tourism Authority. Its contract required the tourism agency to pay $100,000, or half of that money, by the end of last month and the rest at the end of the year.

But so far it has not paid a dime yet. HTA declined comment when asked if it will pay.

"None of the sponsorship funds have been paid out, as HTA has never received an original, fully executed ... contract," HTA CEO George Szigeti said in a statement.

The cancellation has also hurt some local, small businesses.

Bob Picerno, owner of the Soccer Locker on Kapahulu Avenue, said many fans ordered official jerseys to wear to the game. But after the cancellation, some asked for refunds.

"We had ordered about $6,000 worth of jerseys. We're going to get stuck with probably half of that," Picerno said.

"The biggest impact was on people who came in from the outer islands and there were a lot."

Big Island resident Jesse Kerr says he traveled here with a group of seven avid soccer fans from Hilo, hoping to get a glimpse of the World Cup champions in action.

While their tickets will be refunded, they're out several thousand dollars for hotel costs and air fare.

"They were bummed. The whole group was bummed," Kerr said.

"They've been saving for this and all of the parents agreed this was their Christmas present."

A review of the U.S. Soccer Federation's contract with the Aloha Stadium Authority does not contain that type of language calling for penalties over the cancellations. Typically, contracts will include language calling for damages in case of disputes over failure to perform.

"To have something like this happen at the 11th hour, there should have been some language in the contract that made it almost impossible, save an act of nature, to have such a cancellation," Hannemann said.

« Reply #62 on: December 08, 2015, 10:22:19 AM »
Disaster of epic proportion. Wow!
Still cyah believe it.

« Reply #63 on: December 08, 2015, 10:36:30 AM »
On the plus side, this trip could serve as a nice bonding experience for the team. Hawaii is one of the best places for that, with all the natural attractions, awesome beaches, good food, natives are friendly and there's a "Trini" like feel (at least I think so). If we really went there on our dime, then that's a very expensive bonding trip ;D

« Reply #64 on: December 08, 2015, 11:10:35 AM »
Yes soccerman. Good to be as positive as possible
Happy for players. Somebody will explain to us if there was any very serious negative impact on the already-reeling TTFA.
In the meantime: Go Warriors, represent and play yuhself in San Antonio.

« Reply #65 on: December 08, 2015, 11:25:45 AM »
This can't be TTFA fault!!!

Head of U.S. Soccer Apologizes for Cancellation
« Reply #66 on: December 08, 2015, 04:58:33 PM »
Head of U.S. Soccer Apologizes for Cancellation
By Sam Borden (New York Times)

Sunil Gulati, the president of U.S. Soccer, said the last-minute cancellation of a women’s national team exhibition game over the weekend in Honolulu because of an unsafe artificial turf field was “absolutely a black eye for this organization,” and he apologized to the team’s fans, players and support staff for the federation’s “series of mistakes” in failing to ensure that the field was suitable for an international match.

Gulati, who made the decision to cancel the game against Trinidad and Tobago less than 24 hours before it was set to be played Sunday at Aloha Stadium, said that federation protocol was generally to make a field inspection of new or unusual venues ahead of time. He also said that of the 10 venues being used for the team’s victory tour, Honolulu’s was the only one where an inspection did not happen.

Part of that, Gulati said, was the federation’s knowledge that the N.F.L.’s Pro Bowl would be held at the stadium in a few months. Still, he added, an inspection should have been done.

“We had a series of mistakes involving this game,” he said. “We screwed up. It won’t happen again.”

Rich Nichols, the general counsel for the Women’s National Team Players Association, said the incident in Hawaii was just the latest talking point in a necessary discussion about the use of artificial turf as a playing surface for the women’s team. Nichols did not rule out the possibility that the players might seek to cancel some of the remaining games on their tour, which is celebrating the Americans’ victory at the Women’s World Cup last summer. Two of the remaining three games on the tour are scheduled to be played on artificial turf.

“I think women have made it clear, not just here but around the world, that playing on artificial turf is just not acceptable,” Nichols said. “The women should not be subjected to playing on unsafe fields or under unsafe playing conditions. And artificial turf is unsafe.”

Representatives from U.S. Soccer plan to meet with the players Tuesday afternoon in San Antonio, where the next match of the Victory Tour is scheduled for Thursday. At that meeting, it is expected that the U.S. Soccer officials will reiterate their support for the national team and discuss the 2016 schedule of games that will serve as the team’s run-up to the Rio Olympics.

All of those games, Gulati said, will take place on grass — including an invitational tournament that the United States will host, most likely in March, against top women’s national teams. That tournament will replace the team’s annual trip to the Algarve Cup in Portugal. But artificial surfaces, despite the wishes of many players of both genders, are unlikely to disappear from use in the United States any time soon.

“We’re not willing to rule out artificial surfaces,” Gulati said. “It’s quite possible that the men’s team will play on an artificial surface in the next year, too.”

He added: “Is there always a preference to play on a well-kept grass surface? Yes. Of course. But I can’t rule artificial surfaces out because of all the different factors. Time zones, weather, stadium availabilities — there are a lot of things that go into scheduling games in this country.”

Gulati said he first heard concerns about the field at Aloha Stadium on Saturday while he was in Columbus, Ohio, for Sunday’s M.L.S. Cup final. He spoke with Nichols, who said that he is in daily contact with the team, as well as the team’s coach, Jill Ellis, and then asked federation officials to work with stadium staff to try to rectify the situation. Pictures of the artificial turf at the stadium showed gaps in the seams of the surface as well as filler pebbles made of a substance with sharp edges.

In a post on The Players’ Tribune, the website founded by Derek Jeter that is designed for athletes to speak directly to the public, the women’s national team players said: “There were sharp rocks ingrained all over the field. They were everywhere. The artificial turf was actually pulling up out of the ground, and the turf itself was both low-grade and aging. This was a playing surface that looked like it hadn’t been replaced in years.”

When it became clear that quickly fixing the field was not possible, Gulati said, there was little choice; the players had made it clear that they would not play on the surface.

“I can’t recall anything like this ever happening before,” Gulati said of the last-minute cancellation, calling the situation “incredibly disappointing.”

In the Internet post, the team also expressed disappointment in the grass training field that was provided for the team’s use; Megan Rapinoe, a veteran midfielder for the team, tore the anterior cruciate ligament in her right knee Friday in a workout, and the team said the noncontact injury could be attributed, at least in part, to the “subpar” facility, which had “sewer plates and plastic coverings” along its edges.

Rapinoe’s injury and the cancellation of the match will serve as the latest flash point in a continuing and complex discussion about gender equity in soccer. The debate was particularly heightened last summer when FIFA held the Women’s World Cup on artificial turf fields in Canada — an unprecedented decision for a senior level World Cup; the men’s World Cup has been played only on grass. Several American players participated in a discrimination lawsuit trying to force a change in the surfaces for the Women’s World Cup, but after several unsuccessful attempts at a compromise with soccer authorities, they dropped the suit to focus on preparations for the tournament.

Critics of U.S. Soccer have also long railed against the unequal treatment of the men’s and women’s national teams — with the disparity in the number of games played on artificial surfaces among the more prominent issues — while advocates highlight the organization’s longstanding financial support for women’s soccer, its commitment to player development and its support of various iterations of a professional women’s league. Women’s national team players are also full-time employees, receiving steady salaries and severance when they leave the team; men’s national team players are paid on a per-game basis.

There is also a business component to be considered in the turf debate: While the popularity of the women’s national team is high, particularly after its victory at the Women’s World Cup, the revenues generated by the men’s team are significantly higher. In the past, that has made it easier, financially, to justify the expense of laying a grass field on top of turf for a single match.

Moya Dodd, a former member of the Australian women’s national team and a current member of FIFA’s executive committee, has been a leader in pushing for significant improvements in gender equity at the international level. She said that, on balance, U.S. Soccer’s track record on the issue was strong, particularly when compared with many other developed nations around the world.

“In most parts of the world, the women’s national team is more of a hobby than a profession,” Dodd said, “but the United States is an outlier when it comes to women’s national team activity and resourcing. The number of matches and days in camp each year is exceptional.”

That reputation, Gulati said, is why he feels so much frustration about what happened this weekend.

“We love our women’s national team, and we’ve put so much behind them,” Gulati said. “So, for this kind of a screw-up to happen just makes it feel like that much more of a step back.”

« Reply #67 on: December 08, 2015, 10:57:14 PM »
Bakes, I'aint sayin nothing..but wha is all that talk above bout  ;-)

« Reply #68 on: December 08, 2015, 11:08:45 PM »

Yuh right, yuh ent saying nothing... what is what "talk above" about?  Did you read anything saying the USSF accepts responsibility for the cancellation? Ah know they still teach English in 'Montreux,' so it shouldn't be hard to see that Gulati just trying to take front and stave off a growing PR problem.

« Reply #69 on: December 09, 2015, 12:29:59 AM »

Yuh right, yuh ent saying nothing... what is what "talk above" about?  Did you read anything saying the USSF accepts responsibility for the cancellation? Ah know they still teach English in 'Montreux,' so it shouldn't be hard to see that Gulati just trying to take front and stave off a growing PR problem.
My bad.. I thought this is what this meant
Sunil Gulati, the president of U.S. Soccer, said the last-minute cancellation of a women’s national team exhibition game over the weekend in Honolulu because of an unsafe artificial turf field was “absolutely a black eye for this organization,” and he apologized to the team’s fans, players and support staff for the federation’s “series of mistakes” in failing to ensure that the field was suitable for an international match.

« Reply #70 on: December 09, 2015, 12:47:18 AM »

Yes your "bad"...yuh coulda highlight that point without trying (and failing) to call me out.  I never said the USSF acted perfectly or didn't play their part.  Clearly Gulati admits that they erred in not sending someone to check on the condition of the field ahead of time as they normally do.  The question is who is responsible for the match being canceled and who is/would be responsible for compensating the TTFA.  The USSF not in charge of facilities so they could never be responsible for facilities being sub-par, when they contract with a third party to make sure that the facilities were up to par.  They not responsible for the failure of that third party to perform on the contract.  We could argue from a layman's perspective "who tuh blame" if that is what yuh trying to do, but ultimately Aloha Stadium management gave assurances that they could widen the pitch, then set about doing so in a sub-standard manner.  You want to blame the USSF then blame them all yuh want, ah guarantee yuh that Aloha Stadium paying first before USSF even look at their check book.

« Reply #71 on: December 09, 2015, 06:10:43 AM »
"...and he apologized to the team’s fans, players and support staff..."

Correct me if I'm wrong but not once in this whole debacle have I heard an apology to the T&T Women footballers. >:(

« Reply #72 on: December 09, 2015, 08:13:26 AM »
"...and he apologized to the team’s fans, players and support staff..."

Correct me if I'm wrong but not once in this whole debacle have I heard an apology to the T&T Women footballers. >:(

« Reply #74 on: December 09, 2015, 01:40:08 PM »
There is more to this... Think about it?! Did #1 ranked USA really intend to play 2 games against us?
Why do we always have to search for some nefarious explanation to straight forward issues? These inferiority complexes and conspiracy theories won't get us anywhere! Small thinking!
« Last Edit: December 09, 2015, 01:54:51 PM by Storeboy »

« Reply #75 on: December 09, 2015, 01:49:11 PM »
sure it have more understory here..even so, in the whole ah Honolulu, another appropriate field wasn't in sight ? an US soccer didn't verify the field conditions before ? dem better pay TTFA for their off field games, since they want to jam Fifa

How familiar are you with Honolulu (or Oahu for that matter)?

This is not a pickup game where you move from one field to another to run a sweat. If the US Soccer had done their job by inspecting the pitch and giving some respect to the Women's game, they could have avoided this. But think logistics: contracts to new stadium, public information, security, television set up. It takes time and planning to execute a proper product.  T&T administration can learn from this.

« Reply #76 on: December 09, 2015, 02:38:50 PM »
Tomorrow's game on TV right?

« Reply #77 on: December 09, 2015, 04:45:44 PM »
Tomorrow's game on TV right?

Yeh, on ESPN2

« Reply #78 on: December 09, 2015, 05:01:21 PM »

Yes your "bad"...yuh coulda highlight that point without trying (and failing) to call me out.  I never said the USSF acted perfectly or didn't play their part.  Clearly Gulati admits that they erred in not sending someone to check on the condition of the field ahead of time as they normally do.  The question is who is responsible for the match being canceled and who is/would be responsible for compensating the TTFA.  The USSF not in charge of facilities so they could never be responsible for facilities being sub-par, when they contract with a third party to make sure that the facilities were up to par.  They not responsible for the failure of that third party to perform on the contract.  We could argue from a layman's perspective "who tuh blame" if that is what yuh trying to do, but ultimately Aloha Stadium management gave assurances that they could widen the pitch, then set about doing so in a sub-standard manner.  You want to blame the USSF then blame them all yuh want, ah guarantee yuh that Aloha Stadium paying first before USSF even look at their check book.
Sorry didn't mean it to be a calling out. Since I updated to Explorer 10 or whatever version it is now..I have been unable to utilize, the stuff above, like bolding, italics etc, including the smileys ..I may have to do something to fix that, not sure what yet. 
However, as we(you, 19 and me) had a discussion going, I thought I would "call you out" to show what may have caused my perceived misunderstanding. Not any issue to show or fight up. U should know me better than that by now. That being said, No biggie about who's fault or not. Doesn't matter where the blame lies, bottom line game cancelled. I just hope that they (America Soccer - whoever they are) see it fit to make it up to us in some way, financial(our minor expenses) or kind, or even some measure (I don't know how) of respect at least, for some future event or endeavour. If they don't or choose not to, then we SHOULD decline any future invitations and/or not extend any, at our further expense. Is all the point I trying to make, I guess.

« Reply #79 on: December 09, 2015, 06:06:06 PM »
Sorry didn't mean it to be a calling out. Since I updated to Explorer 10 or whatever version it is now..I have been unable to utilize, the stuff above, like bolding, italics etc, including the smileys ..I may have to do something to fix that, not sure what yet. 
However, as we(you, 19 and me) had a discussion going, I thought I would "call you out" to show what may have caused my perceived misunderstanding. Not any issue to show or fight up. U should know me better than that by now. That being said, No biggie about who's fault or not. Doesn't matter where the blame lies, bottom line game cancelled. I just hope that they (America Soccer - whoever they are) see it fit to make it up to us in some way, financial(our minor expenses) or kind, or even some measure (I don't know how) of respect at least, for some future event or endeavour. If they don't or choose not to, then we SHOULD decline any future invitations and/or not extend any, at our further expense. Is all the point I trying to make, I guess.

Indeed  :beermug: 

And in fairness to you I probably misread the spirit in which it was meant and responded based on that.  One thing I wasn't sure of when I first commented was how far in advance the game was scheduled and whether there was ample time to inspect the field.  Gulati confirmed that they dropped the ball on that one, and he probably regretting it now, because lawsuit file (already!) and that is one of the things the lawyer done start harping on.  They not getting no treble damages, but they stand a good chance of getting all their expenses reimbursed.

As for TnT... I not too sure.  The contract likely would have had some provision with respect to cancellation, but flight alone would have set us back $20-$30,000 USD.  I guess we could try and sue to get that back... and get blacklisted by the number one Women's team in the world... say nothing of the cost and inconvenience.  Ideally something would be worked out, but I'm not sure we're in any position to be giving anybody ultimatums, or telling them we not playing them in the future.  That would be classic cutting off we nose to spite we face kinda thing.

« Reply #81 on: December 09, 2015, 07:00:39 PM »
I'm not sure we're in any position to be giving anybody ultimatums, or telling them we not playing them in the future.  That would be classic cutting off we nose to spite we face kinda thing.

THIS

« Reply #82 on: December 09, 2015, 10:11:25 PM »
I'm not sure we're in any position to be giving anybody ultimatums, or telling them we not playing them in the future.  That would be classic cutting off we nose to spite we face kinda thing.

THIS
True dat. Yet..if we shoot weself in we foot financially chances are we won't afford to play nobody anyway. Did u include player and staff match fees ? Cause I bet everybody not working for free as is US we dealing with.

« Reply #83 on: December 10, 2015, 04:08:18 PM »
Kenedie St. Mary added to Trinidad and Tobago Women’s squad to face the United States tonight
http://www.challengesoccer.com/home/902166.html

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #84 on: December 10, 2015, 04:18:35 PM »
Kenedie St. Mary added to Trinidad and Tobago Women’s squad to face the United States tonight
http://www.challengesoccer.com/home/902166.html

She was part of the U-17 setup earlier this year, not so?.... What a huge leap this is.
..good luck to her.

« Reply #85 on: December 10, 2015, 05:29:49 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago Women eager to meet World Cup champion U.S.
CONCACAF.com

It took thousands of flying miles and a few extra days, but the Trinidad & Tobago women’s national team will finally get to face the United States on Thursday, when they meet in an international friendly at the Alamodome.

This was supposed to be the second of a two-game series, but Sunday’s opener in faraway Honolulu, Hawaii, was canceled due to field conditions at Aloha Stadium.

T&T has been in San Antonio since Monday and is excited to square off against the current CONCACAF, Olympic and World Cup champion.

“I think we are all very focused even though it’s a friendly, but it’s a great opportunity for us to show ourselves against the best team in the world and that’s big factor for us,” said defender Lauryn Hutchinson, who scored against Costa Rica in the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship (CWC).

The Americans have posted eight wins in as many outings against the Trinidadians. In their last game, however, the U.S. needed an early second-half goal by Abby Wambach to post a narrow 1-0 victory in 2014 CWC group-stage play.

“It’s a great test for us ahead of the Olympic qualifiers and we’ll be looking to do the right things against what is a world class opponent,” said T&T head coach Randy Waldrum, a former U.S. under-23 women’s national team manager. “We know they will be all over us offensively, and they will press the game for sure. So we’ll take a more defensive approach, trying to stay compact and organized.”

Both sides are preparing for the 2016 CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Championship, which will be contested February 10-21 in the Texas cities of Houston and Frisco.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #86 on: December 10, 2015, 06:18:07 PM »
www.time4tv.com/2011/09/espn-2.php

Possible link for tonight's match if you don't get ESPN 2

« Reply #87 on: December 10, 2015, 07:29:01 PM »

« Reply #88 on: December 10, 2015, 07:38:51 PM »
T&T Starting XI:
Kimika Forbes (GK), Danielle Blair, Arin King, Brianna Ryce, Victoria Swift, Lauryn Hutchinson, Khadidra Debesette, Janine Francois, Tasha St. Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner

« Reply #89 on: December 10, 2015, 08:23:13 PM »
Good luck T&T ! Give it your all! 🇹🇹🇹🇹