March 29, 2024, 12:45:26 AM

Author Topic: Thread for USA Women vs T&T Women Games (06 & 10 - Dec-2015)  (Read 20263 times)

Re: Thread for USA Women vs T&T Women Games (06 & 10 - Dec-2015)
« Reply #120 on: December 10, 2015, 10:32:29 PM »
They talking bout we federation and lack of financial resources and how we girls not getting paid.

Maybe they reading the comments in here :D

« Reply #121 on: December 10, 2015, 10:32:46 PM »
FULL-TIME: United States Women 6-0 Trinidad and Tobago. Goals scored by Carli Lloyd (20’ penalty), Alex Morgan (52’), Christen Press (62’, 75’, 84’), Lindsey Horan (92’).

« Reply #122 on: December 10, 2015, 10:35:10 PM »
Wow including the U20 team. This is the 3rd game in a row that our Women got hammered.  :(

« Reply #123 on: December 10, 2015, 10:38:03 PM »
We were out of sync and our fitness was not up to par for international standard, especially to face a giant like the U.S.

« Reply #124 on: December 10, 2015, 10:50:45 PM »
3 sides to every story kind sir
The Women's team has been disrespected by the TTFA for years as we all are aware

I don't doubt, and on that they have my support and my sympathies.  But again, if that is your mindset, then I don't agree with using the match as leverage at the last minute.  There's a new administration, give them a chance to at least try and make good on the outstanding debts.  I didn't agree with Kenwyne and the men, and I definitely don't agree with this from the women.  If your plan is to sit out the match then sit out the match.

« Reply #125 on: December 10, 2015, 10:52:31 PM »
They talking bout we federation and lack of financial resources and how we girls not getting paid.

I'm glad the commentators speaking about it... Is embarrassment we like... Hopefully the TTFA will finally give the Women the damn support they need...

I like how some ah allyuh casting this... you'd swear the TTFA sitting down on bags of money and just greedily refusing to pay "support" the women.  Like it's a deliberate choice to not support/pay them.

« Reply #126 on: December 11, 2015, 05:54:17 AM »
Just read on another forum that our girls were not going to play the game because for match fees. USA fed had to step in and loan TTFA money to avoid a strike. Can anyone confirm if this is true?

Disgusting if true.  If you're that upset about match fees then why get on the f**king plane?  Again, we don't know if it's true, but if as a professional you know you won't play from jump then just politely decline the call up and let somebody else take your place.

3 sides to every story kind sir
The Women's team has been disrespected by the TTFA for years as we all are aware

Stop it !!!!!

Disrespected by the OLD TTFA (yes), I am not taking sides, but this flying to games and then opting out is real madness on the players behalf.

David John Williams have been on the job 11 days now, don't think that is hardly enough time to fix the mess Tim Kee and Jack Warner left?

If a few months past and things are the same then go ahead.

You guy acting like it's some trillion-air taking over our football and should just give away money and pay this one and that one.

I am sure DJW is going through the books to fix stuff.

At least give him a chance to fail before you guys start complaining nah.

« Last Edit: December 11, 2015, 05:56:03 AM by Flex »

« Reply #127 on: December 11, 2015, 06:09:30 AM »
WNT Continues Victory Tour with 6-0 Win vs. T&T in San Antonio.
USSOCCER.COM.

SAN ANTONIO (Dec. 10, 2015) – The 2015 World Cup Champion U.S. Women’s National Team resumed its Victory Tour with a dominant 6-0 victory against Trinidad & Tobago at the Alamodome.

Forward Christen Press recorded her third career hat trick, scoring all three goals in the second half after coming on in the 60th minute for Alex Morgan, who scored her 56th career goal on a breakaway in the 52nd minute. Carli Lloyd scored the first goal of the game on a penalty kick and Lindsey Horan added the final tally. It was Horan’s first international goal at the senior level. She also added two assists.

The USA was in control from the start, out-shooting Trinidad & Tobago 29-1. Trinidad’s goalkeeper Kimika Forbes kept her side in the match with 11 saves, most coming in the first half.

In the second half, the three 60th minute subs – Press, Ali Krieger and Stephanie McCaffrey – sparked theU.S. attack as all immediately contributed.

Forward Abby Wambach made her 253rd appearance, coming on in the 76th minute for Carli Lloyd. Wambach now has two games left in her legendary career and the USA will bid farewell to the world's all-time leading scorer Dec. 16 in New Orleans against China PR.

With the win, the WNT extended its unbeaten home streak to 103 games (90-0-13). The last loss at home came to Denmark on Nov. 6, 2004, in Philadelphia.

Goal Scoring Rundown:

USA – Carli Lloyd, 22nd minute: In an odd sequence of events, Alex Morgan and T&T goalkeeper Kimika Forbes collided hard in the air as both players went for a long ball over the top. As both players tumbled to the grown, the referee did not hesitate to point to the penalty spot. After the respective medical teams checked on both players, U.S. captain Carli Lloyd stepped up and drilled her shot to the right upper corner for the first score of the match. USA 1, TRI 0 (SEE GOAL)

USA – Alex Morgan (Lindsey Horan), 52nd minute: From just inside the U.S. half of the field, Lindsey Horan saw an open Alex Morgan streaking behind the defense and played a perfect ball to the speedy striker. Morgan timed her run well to beat the offside trap and was in on a breakaway before slotting her finish into the lower right corner from 12 yards out. USA 2, TRI 0 (SEE GOAL)

USA – Christen Press (Carli Lloyd), 62nd minute: Almost immediately after being subbed in, Christen Press made her first touch of the game count when Carli Lloyd sent her a cross from the right side and Press spun away from her defenders and let a powerful shot go from outside the box into the back of the net. USA 3, TRI 0 (SEE GOAL)

USA – Christen Press (Ali Krieger), 75th minute: Substitute Stephanie McCaffrey began a sequence on the right side taking the ball into the attacking third and then passing it off to Ali Krieger. Krieger took it to the end line and crossed to Press in front of the goal. Press shot with her first touch and the ball skidded through the legs of the goalkeeper for Press’ second score of the match. USA 4, TRI 0 (SEE GOAL)

USA – Christen Press (Lindsey Horan), 84th minute: Lindsey Horan's second assist came from the left flank as she crossed a perfect ball to press who met the ball powerfully with her head to score into the left corner and seal her third career hat trick. USA 5, TRI 0 (SEE GOAL)

USA – Lindsey Horan (Stephanie McCaffrey), 90+2: Another right side run by McCaffrey led to a cross and a brilliant dummy run from Christen Press, who let the ball run to the 21-year-old Horan, who finished smartly with the inside of her right foot for her first international goal. USA 6, TRI 0 FINAL (SEE GOAL)

Key Saves and Defensive Stops:

TRI – Kimika Forbes, 10th minute: Lindsey Horan send a through ball up the middle to Alex Morgan inside the box. She outran her defenders, but the Trinidad goalkeeper made a nice save to deny the USA a first goal.

TRI – Kimika Forbes, 34th minute: The speedy Crystal Dunn worked her way through defenders for a clear shot on goal, but her attempt was thwarted by Forbes, who stretched out to her left side and got her fingertips on the ball, forcing it to hit the right post.

Milestone Watch:

During tonight’s pregame ceremony, Carli Lloyd was honored for becoming the 10th woman in U.S. history to reach 200 caps. She achieved the feat in the WWC quarterfinal match against China PR on June 26 in Ottawa. She is the fourth active U.S. player to reach that mark and 10th overall American. Christie Rampone, Abby Wambach and Heather O’Reilly are the other three active players. She was also the third player in U.S. history to score in her 200th appearance. Wambach and O’Reilly are the other two.

Lindsey Horan got her second consecutive start for the USA after starting against Brazil on Oct. 25, and earned her fourth cap. She scored her first international goal in the 92nd minute of the game and added two assists.

Lloyd is in sixth place on the U.S. WNT’s all-time goal scoring list. Lloyd, now with 79 goals, is the highest-scoring midfielder in U.S. history although she has scored her last 16 goals playing as more of a withdrawn forward.

Christen Press scored three goals in today’s win against Trinidad & Tobago to make it nine on the year, second-most on the team behind Lloyd’s 18. Press now has 28 goals in her career with the USWNT.

Press’ performance against Trinidad & Tobago tonight was her third-career hat trick after scoring four goals against Argentina in Brazil last December and then three goals against Costa Rica on Aug. 16 in Pittsburgh.

With the win, the USA’s all-time record against Trinidad & Tobago improved to 9-0-0. The U.S. has outscored Trinidad & Tobago 61-2 in that span.

Hope Solo now has 141 goalkeeper wins and is the all-time leader in U.S. history. Brian Scurry had 133 during her career (1994-2008).

The shutout tonight was Solo’s 90th, also a U.S. record.

- U.S. Women’s National Team Match Report -

Match: U.S. Women’s National Team vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Date: December 10, 2015
Competition: International Friendly; U.S. WNT Victory Tour
Venue: Alamodome; San Antonio, Texas
Kickoff: 8 p.m. CT
Attendance: 10,690
Weather: 65 degrees; Indoor

Scoring Summary: 1   2   F
USA                        1   5   6
TRI                          0   0   0

USA – Carli Lloyd (penalty) 22nd minute
USA – Alex Morgan (Lindsey Horan) 52
USA – Christen Press (Carli Lloyd) 61
USA – Christen Press (Ali Krieger) 75
USA – Christen Press (Lindsey Horan) 84
USA – Lindsey Horan (Stephanie McCaffrey) 90+2

Lineups:

USA: 1-Hope Solo; 5-Kelley O’Hara (26-Jaelene Hinkle, 46), 19-Julie Johnston, 4-Becky Sauerbrunn, 22-Meghan Klingenberg (11-Ali Krieger, 60); 14-Morgan Brian (27-Emily Sonnett, 68), 31-Lindsey Horan, 10-Carli Lloyd (capt.) (20-Abby Wambach, 76); 25-Crystal Dunn, 13-Alex Morgan (23-Christen Press, 60), 17-Tobin Heath (28-Stephanie McCaffrey, 60).

Subs Not Used: 2-Sydney Leroux, 6-Whitney Engen, 8-Amy Rodriguez, 9-Heather O’Reilly, 18-Ashlyn Harris, 21-Alyssa Naeher, 29-Samantha Mewis, 30-Rose Lavelle, 32-Danielle Colaprico.

Head coach: Jill Ellis.

TRI: 1-Kimika Forbes (21-Saundra Baron, 76); 4-Danielle Blair, 5-Arin King (capt.), 6-Khadidra Debesette (13-Janice Johnson, 82), 10-Tasha St. Louis, 11-Janine Francois (3-Mariah Shade, 72), 12-Ahkeela Mollon, 16-Brianna Ryce, 17-Victoria Swift, 19-Kennya Cordner, 20-Lauryn Hutchinson (8-Patrice Superville, 16, 2-Nia Walcott, 65).

Subs Not Used: 18-Kenedie St. Mary.

Head coach: Randy Waldrum.

Stats Summary: USA / TRI

Shots: 29 / 1
Shots on Goal: 17 / 1
Saves: 1 / 11
Corner Kicks: 10 / 0
Fouls: 11 / 11
Offside: 5 / 0

Misconduct Summary:

TRI – Kennya Cordner (caution) - 19th minute
TRI – Tasha St. Louis (caution) - 28th minute

Officials:

Referee: Lucila Venegas (MEX)
Assistant Referee 1: Mayte Chavez (MEX)
Assistant Referee 2: Enedina Caudillo (MEX)
4th Official: Melissa Borjas (HON)

Budweiser Woman of the Match: Lindsey Horan

Additional Notes:

Forward Stephanie McCaffrey and defenders Jaelene Hinkle and Emily Sonnett all earned their second caps. McCaffrey recorded her first career assist.

This was the USA’s second match at the Alamodome. The U.S. Women have now played 13 matches all-time in the state of Texas, including three visits to San Antonio. The USA played at the Alamodome in October of 2013, a 4-0 victory against Australia, and also played a pre-Olympic warm-up match in San Antonio in 1996 at Blossom Field, a 3-0 win vs. Sweden.

U.S. captain Christie Rampone will not be available for the final two Victory Tour matches due to ongoing issues resulting from a bone bruise in her left knee. Rampone has returned home, but will re-join the U.S. team for the final game of the Victory Tour in New Orleans.

Nineteen different players have scored for the USA this year, led by Carli Lloyd with 18 goals (16 of which have come since the start of the knockout rounds at the Women’s World Cup).

Lloyd’s 18 goals are a career high for her in a calendar year and nine more than her closest teammate. Press has nine goals and Wambach and Alex Morgan have seven each. Lloyd’s previous high was 15 in 2014 and 2012.

The 19 players to score for the USA in 2015 are: Kelley O’Hara, Morgan, Wambach, Amy Rodriguez, Press, Julie Johnston, Meghan Klingenberg, Megan Rapinoe, Morgan Brian, Lori Chalupny, Sydney Leroux, Lloyd, Lauren Holiday, Tobin Heath, Heather O’Reilly, Whitney Engen, Crystal Dunn, McCaffrey and Lindsey Horan.
Alex Morgan could be the next U.S. player to hit 100 caps as she is currently at 97. Becky Sauerbrunn is next in line with 94.

In 24 games played this year, the U.S. has surrendered 11 goals and has scored 72. The USA hasn’t lost a match since dropping its opening game of 2015 on Feb. 8 to France.

While Wambach is the USA’s top scorer on the roster with 184 goals, Lloyd is next with 79 career international goals and Morgan has 56. Heather O’Reilly has scored 46.

Next on the Schedule:

The WNT will now travel to Glendale, Arizona on Dec. 13 (5 p.m. MT; ESPN 2, WatchESPN) and New Orleans on Dec. 16 (7 p.m. CT; FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports GO) to face China PR in the final two games of its Victory Tour. The game in New Orleans will serve as the farewell game for retiring U.S. legend Abby Wambach.

RELATED NEWS

Waldrum makes no excuses but says ‘fitness failed us”
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team head coach Randy Waldrum did not make any excuses for his team’s 6-0 defeat to the U.S. National Women’s Team in Thursday’s International Friendly at the Alamodome in San Antonio. But he did think the reigning world champions were fortunate to get the penalty call which saw them take a 1-0 lead before half time.

“Well considering we had only three practice sessions to prepare for the World Champions, I thought for about 60 minutes we at least held things down defensively,” Waldrum told TTFA Media.

”At that point our lack of preparation both tactically and especially physically broke down. Fourgoals were conceded in the last 25 minutes. I hope the FA realizes the importance of preparing properly moving forward,” he continued.

Asked how he felt the Arin King captained team dealt with the affair from the onset, Waldrum replied:
”I was actually very proud of the effort in the first half. We knew we wouldn’t create much offensively, but I felt our defensive shape was good. I felt the penalty was harshand once again Kimika Forbes was outstanding in goal.”

On the penalty call, he added “Yes I felt both players were going for a free ball. In fact Kimika got to it and punched it first. I also felt Morgan came in with her cleats a bit high as well. So yes, I thought it was a very harsh call.”

Waldrum said physicall fitness played a big part in T&T’s breakdown in the second half.

“The second half basically came down to the fact that since we didn’t have any proper preparation. Our players were not physically prepared. At the 60-65 minute mark we lost our way as our fitness failed us.  I love the heart that our team showed though in spite of this, and with some proper training we can be a major player in the international scene,” Waldrum said.

As to what T&T can take from the game as they continue preparations for the CONCACAF Olympic Final qualifiers next year, Waldrum said: “The biggest takeaway is that if we want the women’s program to be successful we have to prepare properly.

“We cannot continue to expect our players to play teams like the World’s Champions who have financial backing when we are not supported.  Just the little preparation we had last year during the W/Cup qualifiers, we played very well in the 1-0 loss to the U.S. This time the preparation simply was not there.”

Waldrum and his assistant Ben Waldrum will not travel to Natal, Brazil for Sunday’s match against Canada as neither were able to obtain travel visas in time to enter Brazil this weekend.

« Last Edit: December 11, 2015, 06:16:54 AM by Flex »

« Reply #128 on: December 11, 2015, 01:50:25 PM »
It's sad to see how far our girls have fallen off since last year. All because of inactivity. Steups!

But didn't they just won the CFU Olympic qualifying games less than a month ago?

They beat St Lucia twice, Jamaica and Puerto Rico?

4 games..

« Reply #129 on: December 11, 2015, 01:52:29 PM »
Is there a Highights video of this game?

« Reply #130 on: December 11, 2015, 03:12:53 PM »
It's sad to see how far our girls have fallen off since last year. All because of inactivity. Steups!

But didn't they just won the CFU Olympic qualifying games less than a month ago?

4 games..

They won, but it's hard to make a compelling argument that they played well collectively.

« Reply #131 on: December 11, 2015, 06:42:38 PM »
WATCH: United States Women vs Trinidad and Tobago (FULL MATCH)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/X4xnzFdg_Bo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/X4xnzFdg_Bo</a>

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #132 on: December 11, 2015, 09:05:23 PM »

4 games..

The performances in CFU and the US games show a lack of mental sharpness just as much as a lack of physical sharpness. Having spoken to a few players as well, its almost as though that they are mentally broken or emotionally drained and would need building back up.

« Reply #133 on: December 12, 2015, 06:17:47 AM »

4 games..

The performances in CFU and the US games show a lack of mental sharpness just as much as a lack of physical sharpness. Having spoken to a few players as well, its almost as though that they are mentally broken or emotionally drained and would need building back up.

Of course they mentally drain, because all they studying is money and crying how them eh get paid by Tim Kee who gone, not even here.

Like Flex say, is a new boss now, allyuh gone quite they to make threats, stay home then and meet with John Williams and get allyuh money and if it eh work out, quit.

But stop embarrassing our country and yourself.

And I eh saying they dont deserve pay eh, so allyuh doh misunderstand meh.

Offline amielisadore

« Reply #134 on: December 12, 2015, 10:28:07 AM »
Quitting at the end of 2015 is actually something that a lot of them are considering. Remember for most its over 10 plus years (youth to senior) of no water or ice at training, having to borrow male uniforms, getting injured on duty and not even getting a "how ya going" from the FA.

It would be very sad though. This is arguably the "golden generation". The quality of players coming up just isn't at a good enough level. And I say that not only from results but from watching them train and in match situations.

« Reply #135 on: December 12, 2015, 11:11:41 AM »
Quitting at the end of 2015 is actually something that a lot of them are considering. Remember for most its over 10 plus years (youth to senior) of no water or ice at training, having to borrow male uniforms, getting injured on duty and not even getting a "how ya going" from the FA.

It would be very sad though. This is arguably the "golden generation". The quality of players coming up just isn't at a good enough level. And I say that not only from results but from watching them train and in match situations.

Excellent. Once again, solid awareness of the profound underappreciated value, the chronic betrayal, a betrayal that ellicits from some, just a loud extended "sssteupsss" like dey eating a diana power mint.

« Reply #136 on: December 12, 2015, 12:58:41 PM »
WATCH: United States Women vs Trinidad and Tobago (FULL MATCH)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/X4xnzFdg_Bo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/X4xnzFdg_Bo</a>

Thanks!

« Reply #137 on: December 14, 2015, 07:27:37 AM »
No USSF loan: TTFA accepted just US$12,500 for US victory tour games.
By Lasana Liburd (wired868).

Former Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips agreed to send the “Women Soca Warriors” to play two matches against the 2015 FIFA World Cup champions for less than the cost of airfare, according to documents leaked to Wired868.

The TTFA has remained in perilous financial straits despite a host of high profile engagements for its football teams like last year’s friendly international against Argentina in Buenos Aires. And match contracts have remained private and even kept from the executive committee.

However, Wired868 received documentation which suggested that, on 23 September 2015, the TTFA—then headed by president Raymond Tim Kee and Phillips—agreed to send the Women Warriors to participate in the “Victory Tour” for the 2015 World Cup for less than the cost of airfare.

The United States Soccer Federation (USSF) arranged games against Trinidad and Tobago in Honolulu and San Antonio and stood to pocket millions from two well attended fixtures, television rights from ESPN as well as other revenue streams including merchandising opportunities.

And, in return, the USSF, which is headed by FIFA vice-president Sunil Gulati, offered to meet only the cost for accommodation and inland transport for the Women Warriors as well as US$12,500 to go towards Trinidad and Tobago’s airfare.

Worse, after close to three months, there was no record that the USSF paid the US$12,500, as there was no sign of the money at the TTFA’s headquarters.

New TTFA president David John-Williams allegedly discovered that the sum was missing soon after he was voted into office on November 29 and contacted Gulati for answers.

Gulati, according to information leaked to Wired868, claimed that the USSF wired the money to the TTFA on Tuesday December 8. And, the following day, John-Williams allegedly asked Gulati to send US$10,000 directly to national team manager Sharon O’Brien, which would be then disbursed to the players as stipends.

Some of the money was also supposedly sent to the Trinidad and Tobago women’s players in Brazil.

That USSF payment soothed the disgruntled Women Warriors, who were considering boycotting the match up to Wednesday evening. It was erroneously described as a loan to the TTFA by ESPN analyst and ex-United States international star, Julie Foudy, during commentary of the US/T&T fixture, which the hosts won 6-0.

Wired868 failed to reach Williams for comment. However, Phillips confirmed the figure.

“(US)$12,500 was set aside for either a travel subsidy or match fees at US$500 per player and staff,” said Phillips, via a text message. “Since (Sport Ministry) usually pays for team travel, US Soccer would cut cheque to TTFA.”

Wired868 asked Phillips: whether he considered the figure to be a good deal for the TTFA, why the Sport Ministry’s possible payment for air travel was a consideration in a contract by the USSF and whether or not the US body had been asked to pay the US$12,500 before December and, if not, then why?

“Those are questions for Ray (Tim Kee),” Phillips replied. “As you pointed out, by October 20, I was no longer with the FA.”

Phillips was fired, four weeks after the USSF deal, for an unrelated matter. The former TTFA general secretary has previously boasted about sharing a cordial relationship with Gulati, who was listed as a reference on his CV when he was hired by the local football body.

However, Phillips insisted that he got the football body a good deal and blamed Tim Kee for failing to take advantage of it by selling on the supposedly available television rights locally.

“The FA secured TV rights to show the match in Trinidad and Tobago,” said Phillips. “After Raymond’s action against me, it is clear the opportunity was not pursued. There was more than enough time to put together a tv deal between October 20 and December 6.”

Wired868 also asked Gulati, via email: “Can you confirm that the USSF offered only US$12,500 plus hotel and inland transport for the T&T women’s football team? Do you think that figure is a fair offer to Trinidad and Tobago considering the television rights and attendance at the game?”

Gulati replied: “Someone from our communications department will be back to you on this matter.”

Up to the time of publication, the USSF Communications Department had not responded.

Phillips, who previously ran his own match agency, Element Agency + Events, raised eyebrows regarding his role in facilitating games for Trinidad and Tobago’s football teams when the Warriors played Argentina on 4 June 2014.

The TTFA claimed the deal was done through an international match agent, World Eleven, but London-based Argentinean journalist Marcela Mora y Araujo—whose freelance employers include the UK Guardian and the US-based Sport Illustrated—claimed the match was arranged between the two football bodies.

“I was told by World Eleven that the game was not organised by them,” said Mora y Araujo, who was in Buenos Aires at the time, “but rather by the AFA directly.”

Wired868 also asked Phillips why he used his Element Agency email account to handle details related to that match, rather than his TTFA account.

“I have a glitch in my email where sometimes emails that go out go out with my Element address,” said Phillips, at the time. “I’ve tried to fix it and even disabled the address but emails still go out. I have to get that fixed.

“Element has never been a part of anything since I got involved in the TTFA.”

At present, Phillips is negotiating a settlement with the TTFA after he claimed to have a contract extension as general secretary that runs until 2017.

Former TTFA vice-president Rudolph Thomas insisted that the former executive committee never saw or approved Phillips’ extension.

Eight members of the Trinidad and Tobago team that faced the United States left San Antonio early this morning to join their colleagues in Brazil for the Natal Female International Tournament.

Stand-in captain Arin King, Khadidra Debesette, Janine Francois, Ahkeela Mollon, Mariah Shade, Patrice Superville, Victoria Swift and Karyn Forbes are all expected to represent the Women Warriors in Brazil.

However, Lauryn Hutchinson, Janice Johnson, Kimika Forbes and Brianna Ryce have all opted out for various reasons while Saundra Baron, Amira Walcott, Liana Hinds, Danielle Blair, Nia Walcott, Tasha St Louis and Kennya Cordner already either ruled themselves out or were overlooked for the trip.

« Reply #138 on: December 14, 2015, 10:02:36 AM »
Good stuff Lasana. You will be resented by those who do not want the dirty li'l bobol secrets to come out.
Press on please and help cure us of this old TTFA disease.
Horner yuh still dey? We eh hearing yuh breds.

« Reply #139 on: December 14, 2015, 12:27:36 PM »
FROM Keisha Layne on SWO Facebook page.

My girls and I were at the T&T vs USA game with our flags representing. Stayed for autographs but was disappointed that not one of the T&T players stayed to sign. As the team left the venue only 2 players acknowledged us by waving to us. Soca Warriors need to remember that they have fans as well. My little girls and I waved our flags til the end and stayed til everyone left the field. I know this was a victory tour for the the US, but come on. USA are not the only stars you are as well! I spend my hard earned money to watch T&T. My 6 year old said "Mommy, dey just leaving?". I also would have loved to see some fundraising shirts. Hopefully the next time we come to your match in February things will be different. In all the kids and I enjoyed your hard work and determination. They were inspired.

« Reply #140 on: December 14, 2015, 03:36:19 PM »
Sad to see the lady warriors so demoralized.
We need to remove all obstacles to the joy that they used to have.
Shouldn't be too hard to figure that out.

« Reply #141 on: December 14, 2015, 04:35:26 PM »

My girls and I were at the T&T vs USA game with our flags representing. Stayed for autographs but was disappointed that not one of the T&T players stayed to sign. As the team left the venue only 2 players acknowledged us by waving to us. Soca Warriors need to remember that they have fans as well. My little girls and I waved our flags til the end and stayed til everyone left the field. I know this was a victory tour for the the US, but come on. USA are not the only stars you are as well! I spend my hard earned money to watch T&T. My 6 year old said "Mommy, dey just leaving?". I also would have loved to see some fundraising shirts. Hopefully the next time we come to your match in February things will be different. In all the kids and I enjoyed your hard work and determination. They were inspired.

Flex, tell Keisha, Thanx!!!!

« Reply #142 on: December 14, 2015, 04:36:52 PM »

Flex, tell Keisha, Thanx!!!!

I will.

« Reply #143 on: December 14, 2015, 06:01:31 PM »
WATCH: National Women’s U-17 midfielder, 14-year old Kenedie St. Mary, reacts to being given the opportunity to be in the Trinidad and Tobago Women’s squad for the recent game against the United States.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ChIjEuer7jA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ChIjEuer7jA</a>

« Reply #144 on: December 16, 2015, 01:41:22 PM »
Sam Houston State University’s Head Coach, Tom Brown, assists Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Team
By Jeremy Villaneuva (gobearkats.com)

It took one month for Sam Houston State University soccer head coach Tom Brown to go from preparing for a match against the eventual Southland Conference champions to preparing for a match against the 2015 FIFA World Cup champions.

Brown assisted Trinidad and Tobago’s Women’s National Team, the Women Soca Warriors, in its 6-0 friendly loss to the U.S. Women’s National Team last Thursday in San Antonio. Brown backed T&T’s head coach Randy Waldrum after serving as goalkeeper coach under him for with the Houston Dash this season.

“I believe any experience in which you can work with players of a higher level helps push you as a coach to raise your level,” Brown said. “You get to work in that environment because there is something that you can do to help the team get better, but I feel that I learn a lot too.”

Heading into the match, Brown prepped video of how the U.S. attacked on set pieces and what the Women Soca Warriors would need to do to defend as well as what they could do exploit weaknesses in the U.S.’s set piece defending. During the game, he focused on what the U.S. was doing to his team and offered insight to Waldrum on what the team could do to shut down the Americans’ opportunities.

“The speed of the [international] game is quicker and as a coach you have to be able to solve problems faster,” Brown said. “Things that I recognize in the game, observe in training or pick up in our coaching preparation can help me make our players better here at Sam Houston.”

Before the game even started, Brown and his side had to overcome problems beyond the pitch. After the USWNT cancelled the first of two matches scheduled with the Women Soca Warriors due to turf conditions, the coaching staff had trouble from the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association providing an adequate training camp before the contest. 

Then after losing a few players due to finals, the staff had to call-up players around the area, including a 14-year-old player who plays for the U-17 T&T squad, just to produce depth on the bench. Brown said this makes it hard on the coaching staff and players and is a constant concern on the players’ minds.

“Not only do you go into this game to compete against the World Cup champions, you already start at a disadvantage in terms of preparation,” Brown said. “This team wants to be successful.

“They were minutes from qualifying for the 2015 World Cup, and they know they can compete when they are prepared properly.”

The Women Soca Warriors will next gear up for the 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying in February at BBVA Compass Stadium against Guatemala, Canada and Guyana. Brown is hopeful the federation will retain Waldrum through the competition.

“I really appreciate the opportunity that Randy Waldrum gave me to work with the team,” Brown said. “I am honored that he feels that there is something that I can bring to the team to help them be successful. I would like the opportunity to continue working with the team and try to qualify for Rio 2016.”

« Reply #145 on: December 16, 2015, 03:19:14 PM »
Good to see that somebody cares about the lady Warriors

« Reply #146 on: December 17, 2015, 02:53:23 AM »
US women players thank T&T team.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

The United States national women’s team has issued a statement on the cancellation of the recent International match against T&T which had been scheduled for the Aloha Stadium in Honolulu on December 6.

Reports followed that the members of the US team were dissatisfied with the conditions of the field and made their feelings known to US Soccer which led to the decision to call off the match.

In their statement which was published on the Players Tribune website, the players thanked the T&T team for their understanding.

“We also want to thank our opponents, T&T. Obviously, for them to come all the way to Hawaii to play us is an incredibly long trip. We thank them for understanding our decision and for understanding that it comes from a place of wanting to protect players. This was not just about protecting our team, but about protecting their team as well.

“And this was about wanting to protect women’s soccer players in general. We have become so accustomed to playing on whatever surface is put in front of us. But we need to realise that our protection—our safety—is priority No 1. At the end of the day, we expect to be treated equally as our male counterparts. And we hope that, in the future, our fields and our venues will be chosen and inspected at the standard of an international match—whether it’s men or women playing on the field.”

The both teams met in the second scheduled fixture in San Antonio on December 10 with the US finishing 6-0 winners.