March 28, 2024, 07:51:02 AM

Author Topic: David John Williams Thread.  (Read 121635 times)

Re: David John Williams Thread.
« Reply #480 on: June 09, 2018, 11:50:51 PM »
Latapy on the attack
TT youth coach hits ‘unprofessional’ TTFA boss

ANDREW GIOANNETTI

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/06/08/latapy-on-the-attack/

« Reply #481 on: June 10, 2018, 07:24:11 AM »
Isn't Latapy and Latapy-George brothers?

Offline RichGFootball

• ....formerly Richard G. I'm not a newbie. Just new-ish from since Mpurcell days
« Reply #482 on: June 10, 2018, 08:40:15 AM »

All day and everyday.
Trinidad and Tobago 1st
Everyone else is 2nd

« Reply #483 on: June 10, 2018, 10:34:15 AM »

All day and everyday.

Family Fued, bc Latapy-George usually defends DJW...somebody call Steve Harvey.

« Reply #484 on: June 10, 2018, 10:34:33 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-06-10/collateral-damage-laventille-triple-murder

I can't help to think that part of the problem with people no going to football is the murders this is affecting people not to go anywhere. Case in point the triple murder in Laventille. How the f--k could this be. Read this piece of shit below.

According to reports, around 10.45 pm on Friday a car pulled up at the corner of Erica Street and the Old St Joseph Road, gunmen exited and opened fire.

James was in the yard of his family’s home playing a video game when he was shot.

He died on the spot.

The 16-year-old was a student of the nearby Success Laventille Secondary School and an aspiring martial artist.

Minister in the Education Ministry Lovell Francis yesterday tweeted his condolences.

How could this be. Why this kid could not be a up and coming sprinter like Zhanel Hughes who just run 9. something in JA yesterday. I going off the deep end today, dread.

« Reply #485 on: June 12, 2018, 04:47:26 AM »
John-Williams: I know what is the truth.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

PRESIDENT of the TT Football Association (TTFA) David John-Williams said yesterday he has documentary proof to contradict national men’s youth football team coach Russell Latapy.

In an email sent by Latapy to John-Williams and copied to the TTFA Technical Director Alvin Corneal, General Secretary Justin Latapy-George and Board members, the former national men’s team ace midfielder, captain and coach described as “unprofessional and unacceptable” the TTFA president’s alleged refusal to acknowledge “any communications regarding team matters, nor outstanding salaries and allowances.”

Excerpts of the letter was published in Saturday’s Newsday.

The 49-year-old Latapy, who was dubbed “the Little Magician” during his career with the TT men’s team, as well as in Portugal (with Porto and Academica) and Scotland (with Hibernian, Rangers and Falkirk), wrote, “On the rare occasion you have accepted my call, it is brief with the promise to return the call to address my outstanding payments and matters pertaining to my team, which to date I still await.”

Contacted for a response yesterday, John-Williams said, “You all have written an article. I have no comment to make at this time and I will respond appropriately in the necessary time.”

Pressed further, the former W Connection FC president and CEO stressed, “I know what is the truth. The only way I could respond to you is by you seeing documents.

“I wouldn’t even make a comment,” he added. “It will make allyuh stories look very, very bad. That’s as much as I would say.”

In an article published on June 5, two TTFA technical staff members revealed to Newsday the struggle they faced to get their monthly salaries on time and in full.

Also yesterday, John-Williams revealed that the TTFA extraordinary general meeting (EGM), which was postponed on May 30 owing to the lack of a quorum, will be held tomorrow at the National Cycling Velodrome. Couva, from 5 pm.

It is expected that John-Williams, who missed the May 30 meeting because he was recovering from a rib injury, will be pressed to provide answers about contractual arrangements on the proposed Home of Football project at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, coaching salaries, outstanding legal matters involving past national coaches and administrators, and a deal with local radio station I95.5 FM.

« Reply #486 on: June 12, 2018, 10:54:34 AM »
Tell we, nah!

« Reply #487 on: June 12, 2018, 12:50:29 PM »
dutty liar right to the very end.

Harford: It’s nothing personal
« Reply #488 on: June 13, 2018, 08:18:03 PM »
Harford: It’s nothing personal
Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

ANTHONY HARFORD, president of the Northern Football Association (NFA), has issued a call for accountability from TT Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, as the local governing body prepares for an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM), scheduled to take place at 5pm today at the National Cycling Centre, Couva.

This EGM is expected to deal with a few issues, including the contractual arrangements on the proposed Home of Football project at the neighbouring Ato Boldon Stadium, coaching salaries, outstanding legal matters involving past national coaches and administrators, and a deal with local radio station I95.5 FM.

The previous EGM was postponed on May 30 due to the lack of a quorum.

John-Williams missed that meeting because he was recovering from a rib injury.

Harford, TT Super League president Keith Look Loy, Veterans Football Foundation president Selby Browne and TT Football Referees Association vice-president Osmond Downer have been vocal in their call for transparency from John-Williams.

According to Harford, “The truth is people are interpreting this small group of persons who are standing up for fairness to be enemies. We are not enemies, we are seeking the interest of the stakeholders of football. And for too long, questions which are important, which are relevant to the running of football, have not been addressed by the president.

“My hope is that (today’s) meeting would be conducted in such a manner that the president will openly provide the information,” Harford continued.

“There is no need and there should be no anticipation for a theatre of war. What we are going to do is try to find out from the president, what is the status of the respective contracts that he claims the TTFA has given (out), that we have no information on. That is all!”

Harford, a former sports journalist and current director of All Sports Promotions, asked for clarity regarding salaries the TTFA reportedly owe to technical staff members of the national teams.

“Our case for answers was strengthened recently by (youth coach) Russell Latapy’s open rebuke of the president for the Under-20 staff who have not been paid for the longest while,” Harford said.

“I don’t know that anybody is against a Home of Football. I don’t know that anybody is against David John-Williams personally.

“There is nothing personal about this. We are simply trying to extract from David how (he is) spending the FIFA money that is allocated to Trinidad and Tobago. Are you looking after the debts of the TTFA? Are you giving contracts in an open and transparent manner? That’s all we are asking.”

Harford said he is pushing the TTFA boss for answers as he is answerable to the 30 clubs and 12 affiliates that fall under the umbrella of the NFA.

However, he noted, “(This) unfortunately descended into some kind of chaos from time to time because people are standing up and demanding answers.”

John-Williams was not expected to attend the TTFA EGM today as he was scheduled to attend Monday’s 33rd CONCACAF Ordinary Congress in Moscow, Russia. Asked if John-Williams was forced to remain in Trinidad due to pressure from the TTFA delegates, Harford replied, “I don’t think so. I give the benefit of the doubt to John-Williams. I think he was genuinely injured in an accident. We have not been told what has caused his injury, but he has had an accident. He’s been medically laid up.”

The NFA president has made it clear that there is no immediate desire to force John-Williams to demit office.

Harford said, “We have had no secret meetings. None of us have had any plan of attacks for David (today). I certainly have not been included in any meeting. We do know that it’s getting closer to a time when we may have to make a collective decision to act. What that decision is? We have not discussed it. That would fall in to place like everything else.

“We are simply demanding answers, and the truth, and we’re demanding since we put you in office, that your governance is what we have put you there to provide.”

« Reply #489 on: June 14, 2018, 04:26:01 PM »
These men corrupt and their collusion catching up with them

They expected the dictator wouldn’t turn on them too ? Lol  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Sociopaths have no allegiances

« Reply #490 on: June 14, 2018, 06:31:50 PM »
PRESIDENT of the TT Football Association (TTFA) David John-Williams said yesterday he has documentary proof to contradict national men’s youth football team coach Russell Latapy.
Documentary proof?

Ah wonder who was “flimmin”?  National Geographic?

« Reply #491 on: June 16, 2018, 12:39:55 AM »
John-Williams praised and censured at EGM.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

President of the T&T Football Association David John-Williams came in for praises for his genuine efforts to construct the now famous Home of Football in Balmain, Couva, but at the end of Wednesday’s reconvened Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) held at the nearby National Cycling Centre (NCC), a motion was moved to censure him for his approach.

John-Williams’ passion to take the sport forward was hampered mainly by the distrust he had for Board members, some of whom publicly accused him of wrongdoings, and as such the local football boss made decisions on his own, an action that contravened the association’s constitution.

His desire for development was recognised by the 31 members that showed up for the meeting and from it, 22 members moved a motion successfully to censure him, in spite of attempts by nine other members to change the word from censure to reprimand, which would have been a wrap on the knuckles for the local football boss.

The highly contentious issue of the audited financial statement for 2016 was received and passed after John-Williams, equipped with his laptop and a 500-page binder, provided answers to all concerns raised by his members.

The president, who has promised in the past that the truth will be revealed in the work of the home of football, did just that.

But he is still to produce contracts between the TTFA and more than 10 contractors to conduct work on the Couva facility.

John-Williams listed 15 contractors currently doing work there, namely Geotechnical Consultancy Services, Aleron Limited, CPML Contractors Limited, Quintessential Design Solutions Limited, Kamal Phulsingh, Deon George Welding and Fabrication, Clophas Medina Limited, AMA Transport and Contract Services, ECOTEC EPS Construction Technologies, Trabsbrokerage Services Ltd, Ready Mix West Indies Trinidad Ltd, Trinrico Steel and Wire Products Ltd, Ramlagan General Hardware, Point Lisas Steel Products Ltd and Alescon Ready Mix.

John-Williams also attempted to shield his association from negative reports reaching the public domain by asking Board members to sign an agreement that would prevent them from sharing key info with the media. This, however, was rejected as members demanded info, saying it was his obligation to do so.

One member who spoke on condition of anonymity said the future of the sport is in safe hands under the current president, saying no other TTFA president has achieved as much as John-Williams did in just over two years.

He said it was all about lies, vendetta and personal agendas that saw certain members accuse John-Williams of wrongdoings when the FIFA accepted that work on the facility was above board.

« Reply #492 on: June 16, 2018, 01:40:59 AM »
DJW reveals limited Home of Football info, admits to breaking up contracts to avoid tender.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams split FIFA funding for the Home of Football project between 15 companies—according to information he sent to Board members—in a move that allowed the administrator to avoid putting contracts up for tender.

Last week, TTFA Board member Keith Look Loy formally threatened to report John-Williams to the police if he failed to provide relevant information about the controversial US$2.25 million project at tomorrow’s Extraordinary General Meeting.

After seven months of questioning by the local football membership, John-Williams finally responded with paperwork related to the project on Sunday. John-Williams’ release contained 29 pages but the crux of his defence was two email exchanges between the president and FIFA Member Associations director Véron Mosengo-Omba and Development Programmes manager Solomon Mudege.

Mosengo-Omba and Mudege agreed, with caveats, that John-Williams’ proposed method for running the Home of Football project did not violate FIFA guidelines. Although it remains unclear—and unlikely—whether the TTFA Board was involved at all in the deliberations between its chairman and the FIFA administrators.

“Can you advise if there is a requirement for TTFA to engage in public advertisement and public tendering?” John-Williams asked Mosengo-Omba on 25 July 2017. “Or in the interest of expedition, we can go to the market in a selective tendering exercise?

“Secondly, apart from accelerating the project, we are of the view that procuring some [sic] the high cost structural material by TTFA and providing same to the selected contractor may bring some cost savings through avoidance of contractor mark-ups on materials purchased.

“Will this strategy be acceptable to FIFA and not compromise any of its governance requirements?”

Did the TTFA Board agree to this haste? And is John-Williams, a contractor by trade, referring to the royal “we” when he suggested that the local football body purchase its own high cost material?

John-Williams was so delighted with Mosengo-Omba’s response that he posted the latter’s letter and then reposted excerpts from it, in italics, to Board members.

“If the TTFA has the necessary expertise and is in agreement with the selected contractor,” replied Mosengo-Omba, “then the TTFA may purchase any materials that are required in the construction project.

“Once again, we urge the TTFA to be mindful of its obligations and ensure that there are at least three quotations for any material purchase which are for an amount of US$50,000 or greater…”

However, it is worth noting that the FIFA official—in the opening of his reply—made it clear that the regulations of the world governing body were not meant to nullify acceptable practices in Trinidad.

“We would like to confirm that it is acceptable for the TTFA to have a selective tendering process,” Mosengo-Omba began, “if this is also in accordance with how sport institutions may conduct their tender procedures in Trinidad and Tobago…”

And there was another stipulation.

“At least three independent companies should be involved in your selective tendering process,” said the FIFA official, “and TTFA should avoid any situation giving rise to a conflict of interest. This is in line with Article Eight—‘Obligations of the member associations and the confederations’—of the FIFA Forward regulations.”

John-Williams informed members that he then invited eight companies to bid for the project and received quotations from Monar Industrial Services Caribbean Ltd, Pace Construction Limited, Trinsulated Caribbean Ltd, Structural & Mechanical Agencies Ltd, Home Solution Ltd and RMSL Ltd.

Shanghai General Construction Ltd and China Jiangsu did not submit bids.

Pace Construction, according to John-Williams’ statement, “was recommended for the contract under initial evaluation.”

But recommended by whom? And what was the contract offered? And what were the bids received?

John-Williams offered none of that information but instead sought to assure members that they were in good hands.

“Given the President’s know-how in the construction business having over 39 years of experience,” wrote John-Williams, as he referred to himself in the third person, “the Association is in the fortunate position to have the necessary in-house expertise to collaborate with project manager and make educated decisions on the construction activity.”

How can TTFA members be sure that there was no conflict of interest when the football president also works in the construction business, apparently purchased “the high cost structural material” for the multi-million project himself, and was—according to Board members—operating without local supervision or oversight?

By 13 February 2018, John-Williams appeared to have chanced across a new strategy after a discussion with another FIFA official, Mudege.

“As discussed and agreed, the TTFA will be guided by the regulations governing procurement of services under the FIFA Forward Program,” wrote the TTFA president.

John-Williams then quoted to Mudege the FIFA regulation that caught his attention: “All contracts over US$50,000 but below US$300,000, three quotes must be solicited and received for the works prior to an award.

“Any contract for over US$300,000 must be subjected to a tender process. All contracts under US$50,000 could be awarded to a single contractor or supplier.”

Mudege gave the green light.

“Please proceed as outlined in your letter—the TTFA’s procurement plans are in line with the FIFA Forward regulations,” replied Mudege. “Please send us any quotes, tender documents and final invoices as these are required for further payments according to your Statement of Approval.”

So, even as TTFA members urged John-Williams to reveal the tendering process used to hand out contracts on the Home of Football project, the president had found a way to not only avoid tenders altogether, but also to handpick companies without requiring quotations from multiple contractors.

And in an apparent effort to keep each parcel of work below US$50,000, Pace were out and 15 companies were hired instead.

According to John-Williams’ weekend letter, eight companies were given contracts: Geotechnical Engineering Consultancy Services, Aleron Limited, CPML Contractors Limited, Quintessential Design Solutions, Kamal Phulsingh, Deon George Welding and Fabrication, Clophas Medina Limited, AMA Transport and Contract Services Limited.

And another seven companies were hired as “major suppliers”: ECOTEC EPS Construction Technologies, Transbrokerage Services Ltd, Ready Mix (West Indies) Trinidad Ltd, Trinrico Steel and Wire Products Ltd, Ramlagan General Hardware, Point Lisas Steel Products Ltd and Alsecon Ready Mix.

“Upon further evaluation of the project’s cost with the project manager [Rossini Castro],” John-Williams informed TTFA Board members this weekend, “it was found that if the construction works be [sic] undertaken on the project is given out in several different packages […] to different companies it will result in savings for the TTFA…”

John-Williams appeared to believe he found a scenario that defied economies of scale, in which managing 15 companies would be easier and more cost effective than liaising with one.

Notably though, despite the TTFA membership’s repeated requests, John-Williams did not produce the contracts used to hire any of the 15 companies or show the paperwork used to hire Pace in the first place, invoices for sums spent thus far—including for the high cost material purchased under his direct supervision—or prove that any of his schemes saved the football body money.

Look Loy described John-Williams’ report as “window dressing” and “an attempt to confuse and distract members.” He insisted instead that he wanted a report from Castro, the project manager, with “concrete details on progress toward project completion […] and authorised payment to any contractor(s) by the Association.”

He stressed too that John-Williams should provide members with “budgets for works being conducted in Couva and the financial status of each.”

“The President must produce the information/documentation requested […] or face consequences,” wrote Look Loy, yesterday morning. “An invitation to State investigatory agencies (Fraud Squad and FIU), as well as a resort to FIFA, to come in and examine TTFA finances remain real options if he fails to do so.”

It is uncertain what the response from the majority of the TTFA’s membership will be at tomorrow’s EGM. And John-Williams’ critics are likely to come under attack tonight by I95.5FM reporter Andre Baptiste, who promised a tell-all in a two hour special between 7pm and 9pm.

I95.5FM is also a beneficiary of a mysterious contract from the TTFA president, which covered the cost of Baptiste’s travel and accommodation for international football matches over most of the past two years.

John-Williams’ listed the TTFA’s creditors when he took office, although he did not say how much of their individual debts had been paid off.

Notably, the sixth highest name on the list is former TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee’s son, Kareem Tim Kee, who was supposedly owed just over one million dollars for graphic work done by his company, LRJ Investments.

Only Russell Latapy, Anton Corneal, Graphix Advantage, PTSC and Evan Pellerud were owed more, although Pellerud has already been paid—due to a FIFA intervention—while Graphix won a legal decision against the football body in the High Court.

Presumably, more will be said about Kareem on I95.5FM, in what might be an uncomfortable evening for his father. Tim Kee is believed to be keen on challenging John-Williams to reclaim the football presidency.

« Reply #493 on: June 16, 2018, 04:16:10 AM »
Ratchee-fee, anyway you try to put. Why did the members have to do all of this for him to come straight. He skimming friggin money. And I eh trusting them two fifa official ah f--k. Them is friggin scamps. The 9 who did not want him to be censured or whatever, in DJW pockets. Them getting paid off Is only the threat of police from Lookloy opened up he backside.

« Reply #494 on: June 16, 2018, 04:49:36 AM »
Ratchee-fee, anyway you try to put. Why did the members have to do all of this for him to come straight. He skimming friggin money. And I eh trusting them two fifa official ah f--k. Them is friggin scamps. The 9 who did not want him to be censured or whatever, in DJW pockets. Them getting paid off Is only the threat of police from Lookloy opened up he backside.

Did "come straight" happen doh?

« Reply #495 on: June 17, 2018, 12:06:16 PM »
Pace Construction, according to John-Williams’ statement, “was recommended for the contract under initial evaluation.”

But recommended by whom? And what was the contract offered? And what were the bids received?

John-Williams offered none of that information but instead sought to assure members that they were in good hands.

“Given the President’s know-how in the construction business having over 39 years of experience,” wrote John-Williams, as he referred to himself in the third person, “the Association is in the fortunate position to have the necessary in-house expertise to collaborate with project manager and make educated decisions on the construction activity".
Seriously??? The members of the meeting can't be that nieve or gullible to accept that. This is not his private business, we want transparency.

« Reply #496 on: June 17, 2018, 01:59:50 PM »
the Association is in the fortunate position to have the necessary in-house expertise to collaborate with project manager and make educated decisions on the construction activity".

I know Flex go censor meh arse. the association is fortunate to have a man like he? But what the muddar arse I reading.

Offline RichGFootball

• ....formerly Richard G. I'm not a newbie. Just new-ish from since Mpurcell days
« Reply #497 on: June 18, 2018, 04:34:57 AM »
the Association is in the fortunate position to have the necessary in-house expertise to collaborate with project manager and make educated decisions on the construction activity".

I know Flex go censor meh arse. the association is fortunate to have a man like he? But what the muddar arse I reading.

So are we advocating conflict of interest?
Trinidad and Tobago 1st
Everyone else is 2nd

« Reply #498 on: June 18, 2018, 09:01:45 AM »

So are we advocating conflict of interest?
no conflict there, everything smooth-smooth. Monies in "good hands"

« Reply #499 on: August 05, 2018, 12:49:45 AM »
“[Why] the urgency?” John-Williams stalls for time over request to see Home of Football contracts.

It has been seven weeks since Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams assured stakeholders at an extraordinary general meeting that, although he had not handed over documents related to the US$2.25 million FIFA-funded project, members were free to drop in at the local football body’s headquarters to review the information at any time.

TTFA board member and Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) president Keith Look Loy is the only known person to have attempted to take John-Williams up on the offer so far. And, even then, it took a pre-action protocol letter—issued on 10 July—before John-Williams, the chairman of the TTFA board, even acknowledged the request from a fellow board member.

Still, even at the risk of another court case, the TTFA president continues to resist the call to immediately open up the football books to stakeholders.

Instead, John-Williams, through the TTFA’s attorney, Annand Misir, suggested that he was only willing to allow Look Loy to peruse the football body’s spending after 10 August 2018. There was a caveat too, as Misir twice hinted at FIFA intervention regarding the request for transparency.

On 24 July—the deadline given by Look Loy’s pre-action protocol letter—Misir suggested that he was confused as to whether the board member was representing himself legally, since he continued to email John-Williams after his lawyer’s missive.

“Can you confirm whether you are still representing Mr Look Loy and whether your said pre-action letter does still obtain?” stated Misir. “Or is Mr Look Loy now representing himself? We will need to notify the FIFA accordingly…”

Misir then said John-Williams was only willing to allow Look Loy access to the TTFA’s financial documents after 10 August.

“Notwithstanding the need for clarification, my client has agreed to allow Mr Look Loy to view the documentation requested,” stated Misir, “and I have been instructed to ask for proposed dates when the process can be undertaken—we are looking at dates from the 10 August 2018 onwards…”

Look Loy’s legal team of Matthew Gayle, Sheriza Khan and Dr Emir Crowne were unimpressed by what they saw as an attempt to stall by John-Williams and his general secretary Justin Latapy-George.

“[…] As a board member my client has sought this information and is entitled to continue requesting the information,” stated Gayle, “until it has been provided in the proper ongoing performance of his duty as a director. This is an aspect which, in my client’s respectful view, the TTFA’s president and general secretary fall woefully short.

“[…] It is somewhat surprising that you have written at the eleventh-hour seeking, in effect, an extension of time within which to comply with Mr Look Loy’s demands. This is particularly concerning since the information and/or documents sought ought properly to be readily available at a moments notice; and you have given no reason for the extended time period for compliance or for the restrictions you seek to place on my client’s access.”

Remarkably, Misir suggested that—notwithstanding John-Williams’ promise to the football body, almost two months ago—it was Look Loy who owed it to the football president to explain his desire to see the books so promptly.

“In terms of your demand of the 25 July 2018 (at 2:49pm) for your client to access the documents the next morning,” stated Misir, “my client was unable [to] facilitate this at such short notice—you have failed to offer any reason whatsoever for the urgency of your client’s request.

“[…] I am instructed to reiterate the invitation to your client that he proposes dates after the 10 August 2018 (at his convenience) when this process can be undertaken.”

However, once more, Misir mentioned FIFA.

“[John-Williams] has confirmed that this matter is now being investigated by the FIFA,” he said, “and accordingly this correspondence, like my previous letter, remains a privileged document.”

What does FIFA have to do with Look Loy’s request for financial information, which is in keeping with the TTFA’s FIFA-approved constitution?

Wired868 asked John-Williams to explain FIFA’s involvement in the matter and his delay in showing the requested data. Was FIFA really investigating? Or was it a ruse to ask for a further delay in the future?

The TTFA president’s only response was that Wired868 should contact his lawyer.

At present, the local courts are on vacation; and will remain closed until September. It is unlikely that Look Loy’s legal team will ask a judge to break his or her vacation to hear the case, which means John-Williams could feasibly stall until then and still avoid another court matter.

Thus far, Look Loy’s request for financial transparency has been supported in writing by Central Football Association (CFA) general secretary Clynt Taylor, Northern Football Association (NFA) president Anthony Harford and Veteran Footballers Foundation of Trinidad and Tobago (VFFOTT) president Selby Browne.

However, CFA official, Collin Partap, is the only board member to openly support the TTSL president’s appeal.

At present, the TTFA board comprises of: John-Williams (president), Joanne Salazar and Ewing Davis (vice-presidents), Karanjabari Williams (NFA), Richard Quan Chan (Southern FA), Anthony Moore (Tobago FA), Joseph Taylor (Trinidad and Tobago Football Referees Association), Sharon Warrick (Women’s League Football), Julia Baptiste (TT Pro League), Partap (CFA) and Look Loy (TTSL).

TTFA vice-president Allan Warner is suspended for repeated absences, Sherwyn Dyer is sidelined due to the non-compliance of the Eastern Counties Football Union (ECFU) and the Eastern Football Association (EFA) is yet to replace its representative, Wayne Cunningham, who was blocked from serving on the board due to his dual role as a TTFA press officer.

An official from another sporting field, who spoke on condition of anonymity, suggested that Look Loy’s inability to win the support of the TTFA board was important, as it allowed John-Williams to use the football body’s resources to defy internal calls for transparency.

“No matter how repugnant [John-Williams’] behaviour might be, he is acting in his capacity as the president of the organisation and chairman of the board,” said the official, “and, as such, has a right to use the TTFA’s lawyer for legal advice, unless he is defending a position that is so negligent as to breach fiducial responsibility.

“It is only if [John-Williams] is acting in defiance of the board will his use of the TTFA’s attorney to defend his position become debatable.

“So, if there is a board decision on this, which person is it that is not prepared to accept the collective decision? […] Usually when one has such a fundamental difference with a head of organisation, that person would step down; because it can become untenable.”

Look Loy was defiant, though, and insisted that he would not give up the fight for transparency.

“That anonymous official could not possibly be serious,” he retorted. “I fight for my right and the right of every TTFA member to know our money us spent, the TTFA president continuously denies this right, and I am the one who should resign?!

“Is there any doubt why administrative rot is to be found everywhere in Trinidad and Tobago sport?”

For his part, Gayle suggested, perhaps predictably, that Look Loy was on the right side of this battle—legally and morally.

“I think it is extremely regrettable that it has come to the point of my client having to send a letter from his lawyer,” Gayle told Wired868, “to see the documents he has a right to see; and even more regrettable is the fact they didn’t make the documents immediately available as soon as they received the letter.

“It is particularly worrying for us because we are left to wonder what the reason for the delay might be.”

« Reply #500 on: August 11, 2018, 12:52:12 AM »
US Embassy: John-Williams dropped the ball.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Newsday).

US Embassy Chargé d’Affaires John McIntyre has issued a statement criticising TT Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, for "poor planning" and "dropping the ball" regarding women's team visa applications for the Concacaf U-15 Championship.

The developmental tournament kicked off on Monday, with several smaller Caribbean nations including Dominica and Antigua & Barbuda, as well as an invited team from Portugal, in attendance.

The Under-15 TT team was preparing specifically for the tournament and were reportedly "very disappointed" upon learning they would not be able to attend since their applications were not processed by the given deadline.

In the statement, which appeared on the embassy's website and Twitter page, McIntyre said he felt compelled to respond because John-Williams' "failure to plan is effecting (sic) promising football players from Trinidad and Tobago who we would welcome playing in the USA."

On Thursday, John-Williams was quoted in a newspaper report saying the TTFA applied for visas within the usual time frame using the normal procedure.

“We applied for the visas at no different time than we normally would apply," John-Williams said.

McIntyre, in his statement said, "In addition, your comments can adversely affect our ongoing efforts to grow our sports diplomacy programmes here in TT."

"I will be blunt," he added. "Mr Williams and the TTFA just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process. Our Embassy for months noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The Trinidad and Tobago Girls Under-15 representatives approached the Embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between."

"Many groups have successfully travelled to the USA by being prepared and planning in advance. In fact, if you look at our Facebook page from a few weeks ago you will see a youth team playing in the USA at a major football (soccer) tourney," McIntyre said.

"Know, as you see in the news almost daily, we are committed to our relationship with the citizens of T and T at all levels, including sports diplomacy. Don’t let folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you."

US Embassy slams TTFA head over football visas.

COCOA IN THE SUN

CHARGÉ d’Affaires at the US Embassy John McIntyre issued a statement yesterday advising the public not to “let folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you.” The comment concluded a statement McIntyre issued on the embassy’s website and Twitter feed.

It criticised TT Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams for “poor planning” and “dropping the ball” over women’s team visa applications for the Concacaf Under-15 Women’s Championship.

The developmental tournament kicked off on Monday, and unlike several smaller Caribbean nations, the national U-15 women’s team was unable to attend because the TTFA did not obtain visas for the players by the deadline. The team was preparing specifically for the tournament and members were reportedly “very disappointed” to learn they would not be going.

McIntyre’s statement said he and his colleagues at the embassy rarely comment on visa matters, out of respect for applicants’ privacy, but added that he “must respond to the red-card commentary of Mr David John-Williams.” On Thursday, John-Williams was quoted in a newspaper report as saying the TTFA had applied for visas in the usual way, at the usual time. .

John-Williams said, “We made every possible representation, from the Ministry of Sport, from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Concacaf, the US Olympic Committee, to get a group appointment for the girls. And it was unsuccessful...It’s a situation that Concacaf needs to look at in terms of where they place the tournaments.”

However, McIntyre said in response he felt compelled to speak because John-Williams’ “failure to plan is effecting (sic) promising football players from TT who we would welcome playing in the USA. In addition, your comments can adversely affect our ongoing efforts to grow our sports diplomacy programs here in TT.

“I will be blunt,” he added. “Mr Williams and the TTFA just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process. Our embassy for months noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The TT Girls Under-15 representatives approached the embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between.”

McIntyre said the TTFA provided no names or details for the visa applicants, and even after matches were rescheduled, there were only two working days to process the applications, which usually takes seven to ten days. “...not to mention that this is peak visa season when most people have to wait six weeks just for a visa interview.”

He said many groups had successfully travelled to the USA by being prepared and planning in advance. “In fact, if you look at our Facebook page from a few weeks ago you will see a youth team playing in the USA at a major football (soccer) tourney.

“Know, as you see in the news almost daily, we are committed to our relationship with the citizens of TT at all levels, including sports diplomacy. Don’t let folks with cocoa in the sun mislead you.”

I WANT AN APOLOGY

Reached for comment yesterday, John-Williams said the release from the US embassy was an “outright lie” and he will be demanding an apology. In a brief conversation, he said contrary to McIntyre’s claim that the TTFA approached the embassy after it closed on July 31, the visas were paid for on July 26.

Newsday reported that U-15 women’s team head coach Marlon Charles selected his squad for the tournament on July 30. The report noted that the embassy scheduled an appointment with U-15 team representatives for August 28, long after the tournament’s conclusion.

John-Williams said the TTFA will “take its time on this one” but will certainly issue a press release identifying the embassy’s inaccuracies. Up to press time the TTFA had not issued a release.

LOOK LOY: HE

SHOULD WALK

TT Super League chief and TTFA board member Keith Look Loy is calling on John-Williams, along with vice-presidents Ewing Davis and Joanne Salazar, to resign after “international shame (was) brought upon our country by the attempt to blame the US embassy.”

Collectively, Look Loy said in a press release, “These three TTFA officials have presided over, indeed engineered, the calamitous deterioration of our football.”

RELATED NEWS

John-Williams: That’s a lie and we want an apology.

President of the TT Football Association (TTFA) David John-Williams said the statement from the US embassy which said he dropped the ball on visa applications for the Under-15 women's national team was an "outright lie."

John-Williams said he will be demanding an apology from the embassy.

In a statement earlier today US Embassy Chargé d’Affaires John McIntyre said Williams and the TTFA "just flat out dropped the ball on the visa process."

"Our Embassy for months noted that individuals and groups should plan well in advance for any trips to the USA. The Trinidad and Tobago Girls Under-15 representatives approached the Embassy about visas after we were closed on Tuesday, July 31 to get their visas by Friday, August 3 with the Emancipation holiday in between."

During a brief conversation with Newsday, John-Williams said contrary to McIntyre's claim that the TTFA approached the embassy after it closed on July 31, the visas were already paid for on July 26.

John-Williams said the TTFA will "take its time on this one" but will "definitely" issue a press release identifying "lies."

« Reply #501 on: August 15, 2018, 06:47:15 AM »

During a brief conversation with Newsday, John-Williams said contrary to McIntyre's claim that the TTFA approached the embassy after it closed on July 31, the visas were already paid for on July 26.

John-Williams said the TTFA will "take its time on this one" but will "definitely" issue a press release identifying "lies."

This man is an A-grade A-hole!!.... :bs: :cursing: :banginghead:

« Reply #502 on: August 21, 2018, 04:02:00 AM »
Should DJW stay or go? Wired868 speaks to five TTFA stakeholders on controversial president.
By Roneil Walcott (Wired868).

Is Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams still the right person to take the local sporting body forward? Or should John-Williams, as suggested by board member Keith Look Loy and former World Cup 2006 manager Bruce Aanensen, step aside for the good of the game?

Wired868 asked Northern Football Association (NFA) president Anthony Harford, Central Football Association (CFA) general secretary Clynt Taylor, Pro League CEO Julia Baptiste, Eastern Football Association (EFA) president Linus Sanchez, Veterans Football Foundation of Trinidad and Tobago (VFFOTT) president Selby Browne, Southern Football Association (SFA) president Richard Quan Chan and Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) president William Wallace for their thoughts.

Wallace declined comment as he said the SSFL is, at present, holding internal discussions regarding the happenings at the TTFA. And Quan Chan did not respond to our attempts to reach him.

However, Browne was forthright, as he referenced John-Williams’ recent acrimonious public exchange with US Chargé d’Affaires John McIntyre—after the Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Under-15 Team were denied visas to participate at the 2018 Concacaf tournament, due to the football body’s late applications.

“Any leader in his right mind would have stepped down after that incident involving the Women’s Under-15 Team,” Browne told Wired868. “I support Look Loy’s call for John-Williams to resign… That should have happened after the statement from the US Embassy.”

McIntyre accused John-Williams of trying to mislead the public and said his unprofessionalism was affecting the future of talented young local players. Browne said it was damning stuff and scoffed at the TTFA president’s suggestion that Concacaf move tournaments from the United States, when the two island republic was the only Caribbean nation that failed to get their visa applications done in time for the Florida trip.

“This man had the audacity to tell Concacaf to review where they’re hosting their tournaments,” said Browne. “When you have a US government official making that sort of statement [about John-Williams], I expected the TTFA to hold an emergency meeting to have him censured. But persons are operating as though it’s business as usual. It cannot be business as usual!”

Taylor, the CFA general secretary, said his body did not support a move to replace John-Williams last year. However, the recent occurrences are pushing him to rethink that position.

“I don’t like to do things like these where I’m calling for the resignation of a president and so on,” said Taylor, who unsuccessfully challenged John-Williams for the presidency in 2015, “because I believe that once in power you should be given a chance to serve your term. But we’ve reached a point now where we are being embarrassed on the international stage […] and we have to be careful.

“It was not a nice move to blame the US Government for what was clearly a TTFA error. I feel David made the statement thinking there would be no response from the US Embassy.”

Baptiste would not be drawn on whether or not John-Williams deserved to keep his post. Instead, she sympathised with the Under-15 players, who missed a chance to wear national colours for the first time.

“That experience the girls would have gotten cannot be measured,” said the Pro League CEO. “They have missed out on a great opportunity to get experience at the regional level. [But] I do not have all the facts of the matter [on the TTFA’s visa application].”

Harford suggested that a lack of available information has become a staple of John-Williams’ presidency; and it does not reflect well on the TTFA boss. He pointed to the TTFA’s US$2.25 million FIFA-funded Home of Football contract, for which John-Williams has refused to produce contracts and receipts for examination by the board or members.

“I was [John-Williams’] number one supporter but I cannot support what is passing as leadership right now,” said Harford. “His leadership style is absolutely tyrannical; this is a person who lacks any moral compass. Up to now, David cannot produce contracts for the Home of Football project.

“We agree that football needs a home such as this but we also need bills to be paid. The TTFA is up to its neck in debt. I don’t know how David could live with himself when his organisation is indebted to so many people.”

(Harford disclosed that his own All Sport Promotions organisation was liaising with creditors and, inch by inch, paying clubs what they are owed for the 2016 Super League season).

The NFA president’s view on John-Williams’ financial transparency was not unanimous, though.

Sanchez, the EFA president, said John-Williams answered all Look Loy’s questions at the TTFA’s Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) on 13 June.

“In the appropriate forum, [John-Williams] answered all the questions and provided all the facts via multimedia format,” said Sanchez. “The information in the TTFA books were read out by Mr Clynt Taylor and all the facts were presented… I was satisfied and the same concerns which Look Loy raised were addressed in that same meeting.”

But what about Look Loy’s attempts to view the Home of Football contracts and related invoices himself—which have been repeatedly blocked by John-Williams?

Harford suggested that, despite the verbal promises that Sanchez referenced, John-Williams was not true to his word.

“This is a completely baffling matter to me because […] the president expressed to the delegates that anyone was free to review the books of the TTFA,” said Harford, “and Look Loy immediately put himself forward to do just that… Now Look Loy is being denied that right and he is well within his rights to take the [legal] route that he has.”

Taylor concurred.

“Some people think that Look Loy may be malicious in his request,” said Taylor, “but he is a board member and he must be able to exercise oversight over the administration. Look Loy is right and I 100% support him. He is trying to be accountable as a director.”

The CFA official felt John-Williams should not shoulder all the blame for the TTFA’s failings, though.

“His heart is in the right place but that doesn’t mean he’s the right man for the job,” said Taylor. “He must be commended for the noble idea of the ‘Home of Football’ project; but outside of that he has failed miserably. […] You can’t be a good leader and just focus on that one thing.

“His problem is that he doesn’t trust the persons around him to carry out certain duties and he’s trying to do it all by himself… David isn’t alone in this. What are the VPs doing? What are Joanne Salazar and Ewing Davis doing?

“They cannot simply go into hiding when these things are happening. If David is going , he must be corrected. And that’s the problem.”

Sanchez suggested that John-Williams’ critics are in the minority and calls for his resignation were premature and would probably prove futile.

“There are only two persons from the [TTFA] membership who have called for his resignation,” said Sanchez. “That’s only two out of roughly 26 compliant members. You can’t [take] anything from that.”

Harford and Browne agreed only that John-Williams will not go willingly.

“The TTFA president will not resign,” said Browne. “He has adopted the same modus operandi as his predecessors. He has aligned himself to derive benefits from the FIFA president for his personal gain, certainly not for the benefits of local football.

“[…] At the moment our football is going nowhere, it’s going absolutely nowhere. How many players do we have in the English Premier League?

“[…] We have fallen behind. It’s a very sad indictment.”

Harford, who said he was one of the first supporters of John-Williams’ successful presidency bid in 2015, does not think there is enough impetus to shift the TTFA boss.

“David’s arrogance is built on one thing alone,” said Harford. “He plays the political game so strategically and he knows that he has the numbers on his side to survive any vote of no confidence from the membership.

“I support Look Loy’s call for [John-Williams] to resign but we don’t expect it. Things are not going to change easily because the culture David has brought in is now entrenched.”

Browne hopes that the next TTFA AGM spells change and he urged like-minded people to stand up to John-Williams. The announcement of USA, Canada and Mexico as co-hosts for the 2026 World Cup, he opined, was an opportunity that will go to waste if stakeholders did not act immediately.

“I will await the next AGM which will show failure in every single operation,” said the VFFOTT president, “and I await to see the persons who are still willing to put up with this nonsense.”

Taylor hopes the end is near for the TTFA president.

“We must change the way we manage and operate football in Trinidad and Tobago,” said Taylor. “We need to get the corporate sponsors and the man on the street involved before we can see change. This administration has shown that it is not prepared to handle the functions they were appointed to carry out.

“[…] We need strong leadership and John-Williams isn’t it. We need to take back our football!”

Harford described John-Williams as a poor imitation of disgraced former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner. The current TTFA boss, according to the NFA president, is just as shifty and selfish; but lacks Warner’s charm and savvy leadership.

Harford said he shudders to think of what further damage John-Williams and his cohorts could do with another 15 months in charge.

“David’s tenure has been lacklustre, disingenuous and unimaginative,” said Harford.

Taylor had the last word.

“The current TTFA administration lacks vision,” said Taylor. “The Bible says that a people without a vision will perish; and we’re currently perishing.”

« Reply #503 on: September 23, 2018, 12:08:17 AM »
David John-Williams kept TTFA in the dark.

Vice-president Salazar resigned on September 11

A FRESH cloud of controversy has covered the TT Football Association (TTFA) as its president David John-Williams has been accused of purposely keeping the TTFA board in the dark over the September 11 resignation of then vice-president Joanne Salazar.

Salazar indicated her resignation to the rest of the board on Friday – 10 days after she notified John-Williams and general secretary Justin Latapy-George of her departure.

It came as a surprise to the board as according to one board member, TT Super League president Keith Look Loy, they all believed she was included in the controversial voting process led by John-Williams and chairman of the TTFA technical committee Richard Quan Chan to select Shawn Cooper as head coach of the women's national team.

In another twist in the story, early yesterday morning – hours after Salazar's email to the board – Latapy-George also emailed the board and admitted he was aware of Salazar's resignation but said he was simply following orders from John-Williams not to immediately notify them of the development.

Latapy-George's email to the board read: "...as General Secretary I have been insisting since Sept 11 2018 that the required notice be sent and was, and remain under, hold instructions, in the first instance verbally and in the last instance in writing, from the President."

A TTFA press release on September 15 which revealed the selection of Cooper as head coach of the national women's football team noted "five gave approval of the recommendation, one abstained and three did not approve of the round robin process." Names of the voters were not issued.

"(The non-inclusion of names) is the smoke behind which he (John-Williams) tried to hide but those nine votes had to include her," said Look Loy in an interview with Newsday yesterday.

In declaring Cooper as coach, John-Williams allegedly did not recognise votes from Julia Baptiste, Collin Partap and Sharon Warrick because they are provisional heads of their respective arms of the TTFA.

And with Salazar's resignation, that left only eight voters: John-Williams, Ewing Davis, Look Loy, Quan Chan, Joseph Taylor, Karanjabari Williams, Wayne Cunningham and Anthony Moore.

"Williams, Taylor and I declined approval and joined with Baptiste, Partap and Warrick in calling for a board meeting under article 35."

Newsday was unable to reach John-Williams by telephone yesterday. However, he responded to an email sent to him requesting information on the voting process. Among the questions he was asked was: "Did you include Ms. Salazar in the votes to appoint Mr Cooper? If not, who did the remaining 'yes' vote come from?"

John-Williams was also asked a number of other questions including whether or not he instructed Mr Latapy-George to delay giving the board notice of Salazar's resignation, and why aren't board meetings held with the frequency stipulated in the TTFA constitution?

He responded: "Dear Sir, I can confirm that Ms Salazar was not part of the voting process and was not one of the five persons supporting Mr Cooper appointment. Regards."

John-Williams was subsequently asked to name the five members who voted in favour of Cooper's appointment but there was no further response to the email by press time.

Apart from John-Williams, Newsday also made several attempts to reach Quan Chan to ascertain the members who voted in the selection process.

Latapy-George, in a response to Newsday about remaining silent about Salazar's resignation, stressed that he was just following instructions and protocol. He said, "My position was articulated to the president on a few occasions and I remain guided by the instructions received. Per Ms Salazar's notice now shared with the Board of Directors, I have since advised the Board of my efforts and will be guided by their instructions noting that the recognised structures of authority, in ascending order is the president, the Board of Directors and the general membership. I also remain beholden to the authority structures of the FA while seeking to achieve a progressive balance building a working relationship within and among each level of same."

The issue of poor and sometimes no communication in the TTFA continues to be a problem and reared its ugly head just last week when women's team manager Jinelle James was accused by TTFA brass of not making any request for a pre-tournament camp prior to national footballers begging on social media for help internationally to host one in the US. James subsequently provided email evidence where she did call for a camp but no response was forthcoming from the TTFA president or general secretary. She was also reprimanded for approaching the Ministry of Sport without permission to request funding for the CONCACAF Women's Championship. She revealed, however, she did have a conversation with Latapy-George on the topic and was given clearance to proceed. Her initiative bore fruit as the Sports Ministry has funded the team over $400,000.

HARFORD: WHAT IS THE TRUTH?

"Why didn't he reveal that Joanne had resigned?" This, according to Northern Football Association president Anthony Harford, is the question John-Williams needs to answer.

"Why did he (allegedly) ask Justin Latapy-George to say nothing? Why was that done? Standard protocol is that if a vice-president resigns, that ought to be news to the membership of football. A week or more later, you take this vote and now it is emerging that she may very well have been included but you have no way of knowing," Harford said in an interview with Newsday yesterday.

He shared his view on John-Williams' response that Salazar was not included in the vote.

"David is saying no because, of course, David has to get himself out of a hole, and we can't prove it. I cannot point my finger and say David definitely did not include or did include Joanne. None of us know. But David's track record is not a good one.

"North Zone is not sure of David," he added, "because David has breached integrity so many times in the past in his dealings with the board that we are not certain that he will now tell the truth."

Harford said he hopes Cooper's selection will be ratified at the next board meeting which will take place within the coming days with or without the presence of the president as stipulated in the constitution.

"Now, the thing is, David has been sharing this view that people are against Shawn Cooper. No one is against Shawn Cooper, you know. What we are saying, is David should have called a meeting. The head of the technical committee should have said, 'the technical committee has decided that the preferred candidate is Shawn Cooper.' But no one knows who the other candidates were. They have not told us who the candidates are."

Former national goalkeeper and ESPN analyst Shaka Hislop, who has over 71,000 followers on Twitter, shared his frustration with the newest debacle to affect T&T football.

He tweeted the following: "On the face of this story, we – our football – have gone from plain ridiculous, to int’l embarrassment...in a week...I accept only one side of these stories is being told. I await the TTFA President’s response."

« Reply #504 on: September 23, 2018, 12:20:17 AM »
Latapy-George: Speak to DJW about release; TTFA president accused of more violations.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Justin Latapy-George refused comment on allegations of dishonesty against him and president David John-Williams by Women’s National Senior Team manager Jinelle James.

However, inadvertently, Latapy-George hinted that John-Williams’ use of his staff might be creating issues within the organisation and sending mixed messages to the public.

Yesterday, the TTFA issued an unsigned statement which accused James of approaching the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs for funding without the approval of John-Williams and Latapy-George. And the football body further stated it had not sought funding from the government and “is currently seeking alternative financial support.”

Even as the football body was so advised the public, Latapy-George was submitting a proposal for funding to the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs—with a budget drawn up by James and himself.

“I met with the minister [Shamfa Cudjoe] on Friday along with Jinelle James,” Latapy-George told Wired868. “We were asked to submit a formal request for funding and, based on that instruction, Jinelle and I worked on a budget, which was submitted by noon [yesterday] to Mr [Anthony] Creed copying the director of sport [Patrice Charles].

“Creed asked that the budget be changed to sub-totals and that was done this morning.”

Further, Latapy-George said that, notwithstanding the TTFA claim to be seeking alternatives to the government, John-Williams and board member Richard Quan Chan accompanied him to the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs today to seek funding. He opted not to disclose whether their request was successful, although, last week, minister Shamfa Cudjoe promised to help once possible.

“The Ministry articulated a position [to us today] but it is for the Ministry to identify what that is,” said Latapy-George. “What I can report to you, is what I did as general secretary.”

So who was responsible for the TTFA press statement yesterday, which was also posted on the local football body’s website? And did Latapy-George approve of James’ initial approach to the Sport Ministry—a claim she supported by producing an email sent to the general secretary and football president?

Did the TTFA general secretary stand by the press statement issued by his own organisation, which directly contradicted the Women Soca Warriors team manager?

“I came into football with a professional reputation and, whenever I leave football, I intend to leave with the same professional reputation I came with—plus the experience I gained,” said Latapy-George. “With that particular release, you need to have a conversation with the president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association [John-Williams].”

Wayne Cunningham, who serves a dual role as board member and press officer—despite the TTFA membership’s insistence that he choose one from the two positions—confirmed to Wired868 that John-Williams issued Monday’s press statement.

(Coincidentally, the contents of the statement were revealed two days earlier by I95.5FM reporter Andre Baptiste, whose contractual relationship with John-Williams remains a mystery and concern for the TTFA membership).

“That statement come from the president,” said Cunningham, “so you can go ahead and say that.”

The TTFA constitution says its administrative arm or general secretariat (article 20.4) shall “carry out all the administrative work of TTFA under the direction of the general secretary (article 58).”

The general secretary is further referred to as “the chief executive officer of the general secretariat” (article 59.1) with direct responsibility for “organising the general secretariat (article 59.3h).”

However, Cunningham admitted that it is customary for John-Williams to totally bypass Latapy-George and directly instruct members of the general secretariat. Monday’s release was not approved by the TTFA board either.

“That is normal,” said Cunningham. “He is the president, so he can make a statement.”

“But even then—if you forget about whether that statement was cleared by the board or passed through the general secretary,” said Wired868, “the release did not say it was a statement by the president either. All it said was that it came from the ‘TTFA’…”

“Yes,” said Cunningham, “but that is normal.”

Latapy-George said he believed James’ stinging retort today—which accused the football body of a “chauvinistic and misogynistic” approach—was based on Monday’s release, which did not involve him. He stopped short of directly contradicting the TTFA statement or responding to the team manager’s allegations.

“I have never and will never engage in a public forum with matters—whether good or bad—between employees I am entrusted with supervising,” said Latapy-George. “I never have and never will—and that is whether by release or comment.

“[…] It is poor managerial practise to engage in any matters that may arise internally to engage in those matters publicly. My training, experience and previous employers would attest to that. It is not good practice.

“As such, I reserve the right to have a discussion with Ms James in a private setting under the umbrella of the TTFA.”

John-Williams did not respond to Wired868’s request for comment on his manner of instructing TTFA staff without seeking approval or alerting the board and/or general secretary. It is just one of a stream of constitutional violations that appear to have been committed by the controversial president.

On Monday, he revealed two more possible breaches in black and white.

“The Head of the technical committee on the advice of the Technical Director and team manager, made a recommendation to confirm Mr Shawn Cooper as Head coach of the team for only the Concacaf final Round to be held in the USA,” stated the TTFA statement, issued by John-Williams. “To expedite the process, the Head of the Technical Committee and Board Member prudently round robin (sic) the recommendation for board approval.

“Of the nine eligible voting members on board, five gave approval of the recommendation, one abstained and three did not approve of the round robin process. Mr Cooper has since been (sic) confirmed to the position.”

Apart from the issue as to whether Quan Chan was ever properly appointed as chair of the technical committee, which Quan Chan admitted was non-functional, the board has 12 members but John-Williams refused to acknowledge three members—who all voted against the proposed appointment—on the apparent grounds that they were provisional members.

The constitution does not deny provisional members any of the rights guaranteed to board members.

More to the point, article 37.2 suggests that Quan Chan’s attempt to find consensus by email—which John-Williams described as “prudent”—was actually illegal.

Article 37.2: “The Board of Directors shall reach decisions by a majority (more than 50%) of the valid votes cast. In the event of a tied vote, the President shall have the casting vote. Voting by proxy or by letter is not permitted.”

« Reply #505 on: September 24, 2018, 11:32:22 AM »
Ah eh read none of the articles.....ah tired....

« Reply #506 on: September 24, 2018, 01:34:21 PM »
Finally, it's beginning to look as if DJWs days are numbered. His people in the TTFF starting to have second thoughts?

« Reply #507 on: September 28, 2018, 01:50:36 AM »
DJW head to big, he feel he untouchable.

He to f00cking arrogant.

Somebody need to put two hard calpat behind he head and wake him up.

He need to go.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2018, 01:56:28 AM by Sam »

« Reply #508 on: October 02, 2018, 04:20:11 AM »

steupse just more unprofessionalism at the highest level of management in our football. Unfortunately this is the norm we get accustomed to seeing and hearing

« Reply #509 on: October 12, 2018, 12:57:32 AM »
Look Loy to take High Court action against John-Williams.

THERE are two ways in which TT Super League president Keith Look Loy or other Football Association (TTFA) board members may access information to the controversial TTFA “home of football” project in Couva, which is currently under construction.

Look Loy will either have to sign a non-disclosure agreement put out by TTFA president David John-Williams’ attorney – something he refuses to do – or he will have no choice but to take legal action to force John-Williams to release details to the board.

Look Loy said since he has no intention of signing the document, he is left with little choice but to pursue the matter through the courts, although it will inevitably add to the mounting debt the association faces through various lawsuits and arrears.

According to information obtained by Newsday, John-Williams’ attorney Annand Misir recently sent Look Loy and his attorney a non-disclosure agreement, which, if he signed, would effectively prevent them from disclosing the financial and contractual details on the FIFA-funded project to the board or make it public.

Last Wednesday, Look Loy wrote to the TTFA board by e-mail advising them of his continued inability to access information on the project, as well as John-Williams’ attempts to keep the matter private by means of the non-disclosure agreement, which he scanned and copied to the e-mail.

In the e-mail, Look Loy sought to remind the board members of the numerous attempts made, since December 26, 2017
, to acquire information on the project from both John-Williams and TTFA general secretary Justin Latapy-George.

Look Loy said after several unsuccessful attempts, he hired attorney Matthew Gayle, who wrote to John-Williams in July, telling him of a final request for information before the commencement of legal proceedings.

“This failed to convince the TTFA president that said documents should be made available,” Look Loy told the board.

On August 27, Gayle, on behalf of Look Loy, filed an application for leave to claim for judicial review in the High Court, which Look Loy said was done in the “interest of transparency and accountability within the association, and to ensure the right of TTFA board members – the governors of the association ­– to information, is respected.

“Following on this, and in the effort to ensure TTFA does not have yet another legal matter on which to spend legal fees, as well as to reduce conflict within the association, I made, through Mr Gayle, more than one unsuccessful attempt to secure access to the requested information without final intervention of the High Court.

“Finally, the legal representative of TTFA, Annand Misir, wrote to my legal representative offering to make documents available today (October 3) at 10 am.”

Look Loy said that on Tuesday, the day before, Misir wrote to Gayle in an attempt to impose a non-disclosure agreement “that seeks to limit and qualify my right – as a TTFA board member – to access and to report on said documentation to my constituency (TTSL membership) and to the TTFA general membership.”

Look Loy continued: “The TTFA board has never discussed and/or approved any contract for project works by any company and/or service provider in Couva. Indeed, in TT Super League all commercial agreements are discussed and agreed by the entire membership – not just the board – in the effort to ensure transparency and to eliminate the possibility of corruption, e.g. the League’s recent signing of a broadcast contract with TTEN TV.”

He added that the TTFA board never discussed or agreed any legal course of action in response to his High Court application. “The TTFA president and/or Mr Misir does not have sole authority to decide on same and should be required to table this matter before the board membership.”

The president’s refusal to present the requested documents.

Look Loy said, “contradicts his assurance to the 2017 TTFA Annual General Meeting that said documents are available in the TTFA office.”

The TTFA board, he said, “has never discussed and/or agreed the imposition of a non-disclosure agreement on board members regarding access to any TTFA documents. The president, and/or Mr Misir, does not have authority to impose same, which in any event would be unconstitutional and an illegal limitation of member representative rights and responsibility to report to their membership. I stand by my commitment to transparency and accountability in TTFA.

I refuse to sign any non-disclosure agreement,” Look Loy wrote.

He concluded by signalling his intention to go ahead with legal action in the High Court, “unless the TTFA board ensures the TTFA president makes all the requested documents available to me – and by definition, to all TTFA board members.”