21 (38.9%)
Clynt Taylor
1 (1.9%)
David John-Williams
8 (14.8%)
Other
5 (9.3%)

Total Members Voted: 54

Author Topic: TTFA Presidency Polls; The countdown to election begins.  (Read 73439 times)

Re: TTFA Presidency Polls; The countdown to election begins.
« Reply #360 on: November 06, 2019, 11:03:23 AM »
i95 still d DJW propaganda arm.. doh really pay attention to dem no more

Merger of football slates looms
« Reply #361 on: November 08, 2019, 11:06:05 AM »
Merger of football slates looms
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

Two of the three slates for the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion's No­vem­ber 24 elec­tions could join forces.

Guardian Me­dia Sports has been re­li­ably in­formed that the merg­er is be­ing weighed strict­ly be­cause of fi­nan­cial is­sues, which have been the main talk­ing point ahead of the elec­tions.

A source with­in the elec­tion cir­cles said Ter­minix La Hor­quet­ta Rangers man­ag­ing di­rec­tor and pres­i­den­tial can­di­date Richard Fer­gu­son has been ap­proached by of­fi­cials of both the Unit­ed TTFA slate, led by William Wal­lace and from in­cum­bent David John-Williams' team to join forces to oust each oth­ers' com­peti­tor.

Iron­i­cal­ly, Fer­gu­son's slate was re­duced by one man fol­low­ing the de­par­ture of vice-pres­i­dent can­di­date Ed­di­son Dean, of Club San­do, ear­li­er this week to join the Unit­ed TTFA. A source said Fer­gu­son may con­sid­er merg­er talks if he is ap­proached but was al­so just as ready to go it alone. The source said Fer­gu­son was aware of a ru­mour of a pos­si­ble merg­er of slates but in­tends to en­sure that the fu­ture of foot­ball is placed in safe hands.

Wal­lace's slate com­pris­es vice-pres­i­dents Sam Phillip, Clynt Tay­lor and Su­san Joseph-War­rick, pres­i­dent of the Women's League Foot­ball, while in­cum­bent John-Williams' team in­cludes vice-pres­i­dents Col­in Par­tap, An­tho­ny Moore and Sel­by Browne, Vet­er­an Foot­ball Foun­da­tion of T&T (VFFOTT) pres­i­dent.

Wal­lace said nei­ther he nor any mem­ber of his team had been ap­proached but said he would wel­come the sup­port of any team. The Sec­ondary Schools Foot­ball League (SS­FL) pres­i­dent said his group has al­ways said that they can­not do it alone and would wel­come the sup­port of any­one will­ing to join them on their mis­sion.

It was just Sat­ur­day that Wal­lace joined his group col­league Kei­th Look Loy in rolling out a com­pre­hen­sive plan for how they in­tend to man­age the af­fairs of the game if they are elect­ed in­to of­fice. His plan high­light­ed glob­al sports­wear gi­ants Nike among a list of in­ter­na­tion­al spon­sors set to pump more than $30 mil­lion in­to lo­cal foot­ball should they be elect­ed.

With just about 16 days to go be­fore the TTFA elec­tions, Moore, of the John-Williams slate, said he too was un­aware of any­one be­ing ap­proached to join forces. How­ev­er, he said he would un­der­stand why the slates would want to merge.

"Both John-Williams and Fer­gu­son are the on­ly busi­ness­men who own teams and would, there­fore, see things dif­fer­ent­ly from the oth­ers."

He not­ed that mon­ey is crit­i­cal to run­ning T&T's foot­ball af­fairs ef­fec­tive­ly and as busi­ness­men they would know how to com­mer­cialise the sport.

"We must re­mem­ber that at the TTFA, we are not yet out of the woods with debt," Moore said.

"We have in­her­it­ed debt from the Ray­mond Tim Kee ad­min­is­tra­tion and it seems to be ris­ing ever so of­ten. The ad­min­is­tra­tors of the sport would have to in­tro­duce a debt-re­struc­tur­ing plan to cope with the debt while en­sur­ing pru­dent man­age­ment at the same time."

RELATED NEWS

United TTFA refutes claims of merger with Ferguson.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

THE UNITED TTFA (TT Football Association) group, led by William Wallace, is refuting any claims of a merger with another presidential candidate Richard Ferguson, as the race for the TTFA presidency heats up.

The TTFA will hold its Annual General Meeting (AGM) and executive elections on November 24. Wallace and Ferguson are seeking to unseat the incumbent David John-Williams.

According to a media release, "(Yesterday's) Trinidad Guardian publishes an article, which talks about a possible merger by Richard Ferguson and his slate with either David John-Williams or United TTFA.

"United TTFA wishes to make it absolutely clear that Ferguson has not approached us, nor have we approached him since he declared his candidacy and began his campaign of offers," the media release continued. "United TTFA has proposed a broad programme to the football community and the entire country, which it sees as the way forward to restructure and save our football. We welcome support for that programme from any quarter but United TTFA will not MERGE with any and everyone merely for the sake of winning the election."

The media release ended, "United TTFA stands on principle and programme."

« Last Edit: November 09, 2019, 02:33:18 AM by Flex »

« Reply #362 on: November 08, 2019, 11:20:03 AM »
"Both John-Williams and Fer­gu­son are the on­ly busi­ness­men who own teams and would, there­fore, see things dif­fer­ent­ly from the oth­ers."

#notgood4football

Desperation. And pragmatism, but thanks and no! Fergie use yuh head.

« Reply #363 on: November 08, 2019, 11:26:16 AM »
It's also added information that underlines that there is a haphazard approach to the incumbents' vision of a campaign and policymaking. The politics of convenience, road paving projects, clutching at straws in alliances, cheap tricks, cheap dates and illusions ... the politics of the past can't be our future.

« Reply #364 on: November 08, 2019, 12:56:36 PM »
Trinidad Guardian article re: Merger
United TTFA

Today's Trinidad Guardian publishes an article by Walter Alibey, which talks about a possible merger by Richard Ferguson and his slate with either David John-Williams or United TTFA.

United TTFA wishes to make it absolutely clear that Ferguson has not approached us, nor have we approached him since he declared his candidacy and began his campaign of offers.

United TTFA has proposed a broad programme to the football community and the entire country, which it sees as the way forward to restructure and save our football. We welcome support for that programme from any quarter but United TTFA will not MERGE with any and everyone merely for the sake of winning the election

United TTFA stands on principle and programme.

« Reply #365 on: November 08, 2019, 07:00:40 PM »
"We have in­her­it­ed debt from the Ray­mond Tim Kee ad­min­is­tra­tion". who inherited debt from jack warner. Ah fixing it dey for them.

« Reply #366 on: November 09, 2019, 02:34:41 AM »
DJW back-pedals on United TTFA police report.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

TT Football Association president David John-Williams does not plan to make a police report on what appears to be a forged document issued in the name of the Junior Sammy Group of Companies.

The letter purports to offer support to the United TT Football Association (United TTFA) at the November 24 TTFA elections.

On Monday, at a press conference held at the Home of Football, Couva John-Williams called on the police to look into the matter after the Junior Sammy Group denied that a letter endorsing the United TTFA and its presidential nominee William Wallace had been sent by its executive chairman – Junior Sammy – or the group’s subsidiaries.

“I call upon them (police) to investigate this matter seriously because it involves a forged document being used (and) forged signatures being appended.”

When Newsday contacted John-Williams, on Wednesday, to ask him if he would file a police report, he said, “That is not for me to speak about publicly. That is a matter for the offended person. Let’s just leave it as that, please.”

In a statement, on Tuesday, the United TTFA said it took “full responsibility” for sharing the letter at its presentation at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, on Saturday.

The letter bore the name Hugh Murphy and a signature under the title of chairman of the Junior Sammy Group and said it supported Williams and United TTFA in the TTFA elections, and as “the new administration of local football in 2020 and beyond.”

However, the construction giant, in a release, on Monday, denied issuing the letter and noted that as a corporate sponsor it has always supported the administrations of the TTFA and always “enjoyed a healthy and amicable relationship with it.”

The company statement did not refer to the name Hugh Murphy, although this person is listed on LinkedIn as the president of the Junior Sammy Co Ltd – a subsidiary – and represented the group on the board of the TT Contractors Association during the 2016-2017 term.

Police Commissioner Gary Griffith told Newsday, on Tuesday, that he can only look into the matter if he gets an official report.

“I have received no correspondence whatsoever. Nobody has filed an official report to me as of this time, so until then I will just wait out,” Griffith said.

« Reply #367 on: November 09, 2019, 09:51:31 AM »
When Newsday contacted John-Williams, on Wednesday, to ask him if he would file a police report, he said, “That is not for me to speak about publicly. That is a matter for the offended person. Let’s just leave it as that, please.”

Precisely.

« Reply #368 on: November 12, 2019, 02:52:25 AM »
John-Williams wants to finish the job.
By Narissa Fraser (Newsday).

ONE day after the senior men's national team ended its 14-match winless drought, TT Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams has announced he will be going up for president once again in the association's elections on November 24. He will go up against Secondary Schools' Football League president William Wallace and Terminix director Matthew Ferguson.

In a press release issued today, he said the TTFA has achieved a lot under his leadership, and he believes it is at the "cusp of breakthrough."

The team demolished Anguilla , FIFA's lowest-ranked national team, 15-0 yesterday evening to earn its first win since September 2018.

The TTFA boss said, "The work of this administration simply cannot be measured solely by wins or losses on the field, but by a greater appreciation for all that has been achieved throughout my tenure. Over the next two weeks, many questions will be answered and a lot will be revealed which will continue to open the eyes of the members of the TTFA.

"It is because of this I must say, it is time to finish what we started. There is too much that is fundamentally important right now to allow the administration of TT Football to alter the planned strategic initiatives at this time. We are at the cusp of the breakthrough that will see our game soar again."

In July, several respected former TT footballers, including World Cup goalkeepers Kelvin Jack and Shaka Hislop, and former women’s team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson called for John-Williams' resignation.

More recently, United TTFA – a group of football stakeholders who are aiming to unseat him in the forthcoming TTFA elections has been very vocal about their displeasure with his leadership.

And although in the press release he said, "There's no success without change," the TTFA presidency is something he wishes to remain the same.

« Reply #369 on: November 12, 2019, 07:05:49 AM »
Does The Guardian ever publish/issue retractions on Alibey's behalf? I see Alibey's "reliably informed" article regarding merger and I see a refutation of stated reliable information. But I'm unaware of a retraction.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2019, 07:08:42 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #370 on: November 12, 2019, 05:32:49 PM »
John-Williams wants to finish the job.

ONE day after the senior men's national team ended its 14-match winless drought, TT Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams has announced he will be going up for president once again in the association's elections on November 24. He will go up against Secondary Schools' Football League president William Wallace and Terminix director Matthew Ferguson.

In a press release issued today, he said the TTFA has achieved a lot under his leadership, and he believes it is at the "cusp of breakthrough."

The team demolished Anguilla , FIFA's lowest-ranked national team, 15-0 yesterday evening to earn its first win since September 2018.

The TTFA boss said, "The work of this administration simply cannot be measured solely by wins or losses on the field, but by a greater appreciation for all that has been achieved throughout my tenure. Over the next two weeks, many questions will be answered and a lot will be revealed which will continue to open the eyes of the members of the TTFA.

"It is because of this I must say, it is time to finish what we started. There is too much that is fundamentally important right now to allow the administration of TT Football to alter the planned strategic initiatives at this time. We are at the cusp of the breakthrough that will see our game soar again."

In July, several respected former TT footballers, including World Cup goalkeepers Kelvin Jack and Shaka Hislop, and former women’s team captain Maylee Attin-Johnson called for John-Williams' resignation.

More recently, United TTFA – a group of football stakeholders who are aiming to unseat him in the forthcoming TTFA elections has been very vocal about their displeasure with his leadership.

And although in the press release he said, "There's no success without change," the TTFA presidency is something he wishes to remain the same.
finish the job? I thought you accomplished that by losing out on every regional competition in all categories and age groups, what more is left to accomplish? we’re at rock bottom now and the only place left to go is up.

« Reply #371 on: November 12, 2019, 06:30:34 PM »
TT's Trump, facts don't matter or somehow success metrics need to be re-defined while he diverts the blind with a plethora of garbage not even worthy of the attention of the asinine....good riddance guy, good riddance

« Reply #372 on: November 13, 2019, 07:19:22 AM »
WATCH: The United TTFA's presidential candidate, William Wallace Live from Tobago

<a href="https://youtube.com/v/7Gs4h8K4sa0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/7Gs4h8K4sa0</a>
« Last Edit: November 13, 2019, 07:20:58 AM by asylumseeker »

TTFA’s John-Williams calls for public debate
« Reply #373 on: November 13, 2019, 08:02:39 AM »
TTFA’s John-Williams calls for public debate
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

T&T Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, who is seeking to retain his presidency in the association’s upcoming elections, has challenged his competitors to a public debate.

The TTFA elections will be held on November 24. John-Williams will be going up against Secondary Schools Football president William Wallace and Terminix director Richard Ferguson.

He made the call in a one-on-one interview with Newsday, yesterday morning, at W Connection’s head office, in Couva. He believes it would be an opportunity for full transparency as candidates would be put on the spot, rather than having the benefit of an extended amount of time to prepare answers to crucial questions.

“I want a public debate. Anytime allyuh (sic) ready.

“I have nothing to hide. Contrary to what has been put out there, I can stand by my actions. Furthermore, I challenge my two opponents to a football debate. Let’s see who truly has T&T football at heart.

“I don’t even want to choose who the narrator (sic) (mediator) is. Bring anybody.”

John-Williams began his tenure in November 2015. While he is confident in his chances of retaining presidency, he believes the other candidates also have a fair chance.

“In an election, anything can happen. T&T football will get the leadership that it deserves. Nobody ever goes into an election not confident. But you check the history of T&T politics – everybody has a chance and is entitled who have qualified and met the criteria to run for office of the TTFA including me.”

On the topic of being satisfied with his tenure in office, he said, “If I’m permitted to say and pat myself on the back – I would say I gave it my best shot and if I leave office in the morning, history will show that I left the TTFA in a better place.”

He told Newsday while he understands receiving negative feedback is inevitable as a leader, most of the comments are usually “lies” and “innuendo” and many tend to focus on him as an individual, rather than the TTFA.

“Because of the approach that I took in terms of cutting out certain things and dealing with certain issues, people tried to malign my name. They paint the worst things about me. You know it have a saying, ‘The best thing since sliced bread’? I is probably the worst TTFA president ever to head the organisation.

“They malign me, they crucify me. Everything in T&T football was DJW but when we beat America out of the World Cup it wasn’t DJW. When the Home of Football will be open, it won’t be DJW. It will be the TTFA opens spanking new facility.”

In his press release issued on Monday, in which he announced he will be seeking presidency once more, he said, “There is no success without change and no change without conflict.”

Asked about this statement, he clarified, “Change has nothing to do with the presidency. It has to do with the change in the way we do things.”

“If you come into an organisation that didn’t own a parrot on a stick, that was in $30 million debt with an asset base of $197,000 and this president leaves it with $100 million, you decide if that was performance. I wouldn’t say.”

Newsday contacted Wallace for a comment on the call for a public debate. He said a local TV station reached out to him with a similar suggestion but he declined.

Wallace is a member of the United TTFA – a group of a group of football stakeholders who are aiming to unseat John-Williams. The group’s other members are Keith Look Loy, Anthony Harford, Joseph Sam Phillip, Clynt Taylor and Susan Warrick.

He said, “We (United TTFA) have a meeting, on Thursday ,so we will discuss that on Thursday afternoon and we would see if we are going to engage in that.” Newsday also attempted to contact Ferguson but all calls went unanswered.

« Reply #374 on: November 13, 2019, 09:54:22 AM »
Do not debate DJW; the time for that is past. Had he not been selective with the rules, then a debate would have been an opportune consideration. This from a man who couldn't even transparently communicate to the public of T&T that he was going to stand for office (his so-called best kept secret).

Focus on the delegates, doh worry about debating the incumbent. The delegates are internal stakeholders. His opportunity to court them was at the many meetings and AGMs that he ducked and reconvened.

John-Williams is hoping to rely on his usual conversational style to bully an outcome via courting public sentiment. If he wants to go that route ... a debate ... send him here. We will deal with him.

Dear presidential candidates, focus on acquiring delegates, doh focus on the peanut gallery.

What he could do is state publicly what attractions he used to lure and incentive Messrs Browne and Partap ... the footballing public is entitled to know that, particularly since the public domain was the conduit through which they brandished their opposition and highlighted DJW's need to neutralise them.

:whip:

Come again!
« Last Edit: November 13, 2019, 10:07:03 AM by asylumseeker »

United TTFA: We won’t take part in DJW’s ‘cynical charade’
« Reply #375 on: November 14, 2019, 06:24:46 AM »
United TTFA: We won’t take part in DJW’s ‘cynical charade’
By Andrew Gioannetti (T&T Newsday)

UNITED TTFA, the slate set to challenge the T&T Football Association (TTFA) executive elections at its November 24 AGM, has blanked incumbent president David John-Williams, who challenged them to a debate ahead of the vote.

A media release issued by the team, led by presidential hopeful William Wallace, said there had been ample time throughout John-Williams' tenure to communicate with his colleagues at the TTFA. They accused him of failing to do so.

"United TTFA will not participate in the debate among candidates for the post of TTFA president, so cynically proposed by David John-Williams," the media release read.

"For four years, David John-Williams has steadfastly refused to provide information to TTFA members and the general public – information which it is their right to have. Indeed, one TTFA board member, Keith Look Loy, was forced to resort repeatedly to the High Court to wrest information from the TTFA president."

John-Williams was interviewed by Newsday on Tuesday. He said he welcomes a debate against the two other presidential nominees, Wallace and Richard Ferguson.

John-Williams said: "I want a public debate. Anytime allyuh ready.

"I have nothing to hide. Contrary to what has been put out there, I can stand by my actions. Furthermore, I challenge my two opponents to a football debate. Let’s see who truly has T&T football at heart."

John-Williams' five-year stint as the embattled body's leader has not been short of controversy. Among the controversies was his unwillingness to release documents about the TTFA's Home of Football project in Couva.

That concluded with Look Loy winning a lawsuit against him, compelling John-Williams to release the requested information.

The release issued by United TTFA earlier today considered John-Williams's call for a debate a "cynical charade."

"With the TTFA elections mere days away, David John-Williams has embarked on a programme of political gimmickry. Last weekend he launched the ill-conceived TTFA League of Champions.

United TTFA said it had "unveiled a detailed programme for the salvation of TTFA and TT football," and was busy discussing its programme with the TTFA electorate.

It said it expected "more gimmickry" from John-Williams before the November 24 election "in a last-ditch effort to erase the aura of failure that surrounds him and his administration."

The slate's nominee for president, Wallace, who is also the Secondary Schools Football League president, is supported by Central Football Association (CFA) general secretary Clynt Taylor for first vice-president; WoLF president Susan Joseph-Warrick for second vice-president; and former TT men's team manager Joseph Sam Phillip for third vice-president).

John-Williams has announced a run for re-election but has not released his slate.

The third slate, led by Ferguson, includes Police FC administrator Raymond Thom for second vice-president and CFA president and businessman Shymdeo Gosine for third vice-president.

Eddison Dean, owner of local football outfit Club Sando, was nominated for first vice-president on Ferguson's slate, but switched allegiances to United TTFA earlier this month.

Newsday contacted Ferguson today for his response to John-Williams' invitation to debate. He also declined the challenge to a debate, and insisted the only reason for doing so was because the election was too close for it to be successfully organised and executed.

Ferguson was also asked to rate John-Williams's performance at the helm of the organisation.

He replied, "I think he did the job to the best of his ability."

« Reply #376 on: November 14, 2019, 09:38:10 AM »
Ferguson was also asked to rate John-Williams's performance at the helm of the organisation.
He replied, "I think he did the job to the best of his ability."

« Reply #377 on: November 16, 2019, 02:45:18 AM »
John-Williams names election slate.

TT FOOTBALL Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, who is seeking another term, has announced his slate for the association's upcoming elections on November 24.

Under the name Team Impactors, TTFA National Football Committee chairman Selby Browne will be running for first vice-president, while Anthony Moore, Tobago Football League president, will run for second vice-president. Southern Football Association representative Collin Partap will vie for third vice-president.

In a press release issued on Friday, the team said, "David John-Williams, seeking second term, is committed to performance, accountability and development.

"This team, with its vast experience in business, law, marketing and finance, shares an akin vision to return TT football to number one in Concacaf will build upon the foundation laid by the current administration.

"We encourage the membership to seek the truth, and measure based on performance and deliverables."

Team Impactors will go up against United TTFA, led by Secondary Schools Football League president William Wallace, and Terminix La Horquetta Rangers owner Richard Ferguson's slate.

Wallace's slate includes: Clynt Taylor (Central FA General Secretary) for first vice-president, Susan Joseph-Warrick (Women’s League Football President) as second vice-president and Joseph Sam Phillip (former TT Pro League Chairman) as third vice-president.

Ferguson's slate consists of Eddie Dean for first vice-president, Raymond Thom for second vice-president and Shymdeo Gosine, head of Central Football Association, for third vice-president.

« Reply #378 on: November 16, 2019, 07:11:01 AM »
John-Williams names election slate.

TT FOOTBALL Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams, who is seeking another term, has announced his slate for the association's upcoming elections on November 24.

Under the name Team Impactors, TTFA National Football Committee chairman Selby Browne will be running for first vice-president, while Anthony Moore, Tobago Football League president, will run for second vice-president. Southern Football Association representative Collin Partap will vie for third vice-president.

In a press release issued on Friday, the team said, "David John-Williams, seeking second term, is committed to performance, accountability and development.

"This team, with its vast experience in business, law, marketing and finance, shares an akin vision to return TT football to number one in Concacaf will build upon the foundation laid by the current administration.

"We encourage the membership to seek the truth, and measure based on performance and deliverables."

Team Impactors will go up against United TTFA, led by Secondary Schools Football League president William Wallace, and Terminix La Horquetta Rangers owner Richard Ferguson's slate.

Wallace's slate includes: Clynt Taylor (Central FA General Secretary) for first vice-president, Susan Joseph-Warrick (Women’s League Football President) as second vice-president and Joseph Sam Phillip (former TT Pro League Chairman) as third vice-president.

Ferguson's slate consists of Eddie Dean for first vice-president, Raymond Thom for second vice-president and Shymdeo Gosine, head of Central Football Association, for third vice-president.

I wonder what Ewing Davis has to say about being dumped.

« Reply #379 on: November 18, 2019, 01:23:31 AM »
President John Williams Responds.
TTFA Media.

As president of the TTFA, I wish to formally welcome to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago FIFA President Mr. Gianni Infantino and CONCACAF President Mr. Victor Montagliani on this historic occasion of the formal opening of the Home of Football.

Let me apologise for those miscreants, some of whom are members of the TTFA who are hell bent on disseminating misinformation to the general public that has no basis in fact.

Let me respond to the deliberate inaccuracies at the hand of Mr. William Wallace and others, that has continued for the past three years and provide the following factual account:

1. At a board meeting held on April 3rd 2018, the board appointed a tender’s sub- committee to oversee the awarding of contracts. Let me state that this motion was moved by Mr. Keith Look Loy and seconded by Mr. Karan Jabari Williams.

2. At a board meeting held on June 30th, 2018, the sub-committee reported to the board the decision to award contracts in keeping with FIFA guidelines.

3. At the AGM held on November 24, 2018, the President presented the meeting with a report of all financial details with respect to the Home of Football project.

4. With respect to court order, at the request of Mr. Look Loy, the TTFA has been fully compliant and neither Mr. Look Loy or the court has found the TTFA wanting or in contempt.

Finally, let me state categorically, that the audited financial statements of the TTFA were approved at three consecutive Annual General Meeting under my administration: AGM 2016, 2017, and 2018 along with the independent external auditor’s report.

We trust that this information provides a proper insight to rubbish the diatribe contained in the press release signed by Mr. William Wallace.

One would think that one week prior to the election, this anxious bunch would focus on their programs and aspirations to move T&T Football to number 1 in CONCACAF.

The vision of my team, having put in place the financing vehicle for making TTFA self- sufficient, would continue the focus now on the restructuring and pathway to move T&T football to the respectable heights on the field of play with the horizon being the FIFA 2026 World Cup to be hosted here in the CONCACAF.

Let me publically extend an invitation to those members to attend this historic occasion so that they can see, touch and enjoy this new asset of the TTFA.

Let me also remind those members that the AGM on November 24 will be held at the TTFA’s Home of Football.

Signed
David John-Williams President, TTFA

« Reply #380 on: November 18, 2019, 01:28:17 AM »
Wallace vows to revive football in Tobago.
By Corey Connelly (Newsday).

TT Football Federation (TTFA) presidential candidate William Wallace has vowed to revive the sport in his native Tobago if he wins the organisation's executive election on November 24.

He made the promise on Monday while addressing football administrators, coaches and players at the Ministry of Works and Transport's Conference Room, Scarborough, Tobago.

Wallace, campaigning under the banner of the United TTFA, is hoping to unseat incumbent David John-Williams, who has had a controversial tenure as TTFA president. John-Williams has confirmed he will recontest the position.

Richard Ferguson, owner of Terminix, La Horquetta Rangers, is also challenging the presidency.

Wallace assured local football, which he believes has declined over the past four years, will be revived.

He said Tobago has a pivotal role to play in this regard.

"We have done the work and we are saying it is time for change. And Tobago has to play a crucial part in this change."

Wallace, who has enjoyed a stellar tenure as Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) president, was also involved in the administration of cricket at various levels.

"For people who know me, things were happening in cricket in Tobago. You had high-performance centres going in Tobago. And now, we are going to bring that back through football. Tobago has a crucial role in us moving from where we are now."

Wallace, who was accompanied by TT Super League president Keith Look Loy, told members of the Tobago football fraternity the United TTFA has not been sitting on its laurels over the past eight months but has been actively pursuing support and sponsorship overseas "because money is a serious issue."

He reiterated several major international companies, including Nike, have already expressed an interest in supporting the United TTFA after the November 24 election.

"What we are trying to do is leverage stronger currencies – that could be multiplied by ten and seven – and you know what? There are people out there willing to help T&T."

He added: "But they are willing to help T&T after November 24, simply because they do not trust the persons who are in office at this point in time. It is as simple as that."

Wallace said the John-Williams-led TTFA has failed in the areas of transparency and accountability.

For instance, he said United TTFA members have been asking for information about the contractors for the Home of Football in Couva.

Wallace said they are yet to get a response.

« Reply #381 on: November 18, 2019, 02:30:50 AM »
President John Williams Responds.
TTFA Media.

As president of the TTFA, I wish to formally welcome to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago FIFA President Mr. Gianni Infantino and CONCACAF President Mr. Victor Montagliani on this historic occasion of the formal opening of the Home of Football.

Let me apologise for those miscreants, some of whom are members of the TTFA who are hell bent on disseminating misinformation to the general public that has no basis in fact.

Let me respond to the deliberate inaccuracies at the hand of Mr. William Wallace and others, that has continued for the past three years and provide the following factual account:

1. At a board meeting held on April 3rd 2018, the board appointed a tender’s sub- committee to oversee the awarding of contracts. Let me state that this motion was moved by Mr. Keith Look Loy and seconded by Mr. Karan Jabari Williams.

2. At a board meeting held on June 30th, 2018, the sub-committee reported to the board the decision to award contracts in keeping with FIFA guidelines.

3. At the AGM held on November 24, 2018, the President presented the meeting with a report of all financial details with respect to the Home of Football project.

4. With respect to court order, at the request of Mr. Look Loy, the TTFA has been fully compliant and neither Mr. Look Loy or the court has found the TTFA wanting or in contempt.

Finally, let me state categorically, that the audited financial statements of the TTFA were approved at three consecutive Annual General Meeting under my administration: AGM 2016, 2017, and 2018 along with the independent external auditor’s report.

We trust that this information provides a proper insight to rubbish the diatribe contained in the press release signed by Mr. William Wallace.

One would think that one week prior to the election, this anxious bunch would focus on their programs and aspirations to move T&T Football to number 1 in CONCACAF.

The vision of my team, having put in place the financing vehicle for making TTFA self- sufficient, would continue the focus now on the restructuring and pathway to move T&T football to the respectable heights on the field of play with the horizon being the FIFA 2026 World Cup to be hosted here in the CONCACAF.

Let me publically extend an invitation to those members to attend this historic occasion so that they can see, touch and enjoy this new asset of the TTFA.

Let me also remind those members that the AGM on November 24 will be held at the TTFA’s Home of Football.

Signed
David John-Williams President, TTFA

SWF Reporter, does this exclude a salient fact? I do not recall there being actual scrutiny of the content but a sort of expedient acclamation by those present to move things forward after having had multiple attempts at transparency and accountability being frustrated.

Accountability and transparency ... items frowned on in certain circles because they are viewed as a luxury of the elite. Apparently I'm an elitist.  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: November 18, 2019, 06:08:47 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #382 on: November 18, 2019, 07:42:59 AM »
Reading the following in the NYT about Michael Bloomberg: "haughty in the face of facts ... That is the danger of a billionaire, a self-funder, a guy who has little interest in listening to others"

I spoke a week ago to someone who likes Ferguson, but was critical of his resistance to advice.

Read the Times and that conversation came to mind immediately.

« Reply #383 on: November 20, 2019, 07:37:53 AM »
One of the topics I see none of the slates speaking about is the need for improving aspects of the TTFA constitution.

The incumbent hasn't said a word on the matter.  Ferguson probably has a blind spot in this area. At least one United TTFA personality has touched on the subject in an individual capacity, but not per se in a campaign capacity.

There are a couple vexing deficiencies that should be addressed when the dust settles. One of them involves electoral protocol.

« Reply #384 on: November 20, 2019, 08:02:31 AM »
CFA/TFA election votes in limbo
By Walter Alibey, The Guardian

Six po­ten­tial votes from the To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TFA) and the Cen­tral Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (CFA) ap­pear to be hang­ing in the bal­ance, ahead of the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TTFA) An­nu­al Gen­er­al Meet­ing (AGM) and Elec­tion on No­vem­ber 24 at the Home of Foot­ball in Bal­main, Cou­va.

On Tues­day, Guardian Me­dia Sports learnt that mem­ber clubs from both Re­gion­al As­so­ci­a­tions are set to chal­lenge an al­leged un­con­sti­tu­tion­al elec­tion of the del­e­gates that will be vot­ing for ei­ther the Unit­ed TTFA, the Richard Fer­gu­son slate or in­cum­bent David John-Williams and his team on Sun­day.

The con­sti­tu­tion of the as­so­ci­a­tions, which is aligned to the TTFA con­sti­tu­tion, does not give a clear di­rec­tive of how del­e­gates are to be cho­sen.

How­ev­er, Clynt Tay­lor, the CFA's gen­er­al sec­re­tary be­lieves the gen­er­al mem­ber­ship of the as­so­ci­a­tion should be used to de­cide on the del­e­gates, as have been done in the past.

Tay­lor, who con­test­ed the last TTFA elec­tion and fell just short of John-Williams in the race for the pres­i­dent's po­si­tion in 2015, made it clear, how­ev­er, his for­mer boss and cur­rent CFA pres­i­dent Shymdeo Go­sine is guilty of a breach of the con­sti­tu­tion by en­gag­ing in the elec­tion of del­e­gates in the cen­tral zone.

Tay­lor re­ferred to Ar­ti­cle 37(3) of the con­sti­tu­tion which states - "Any Mem­ber of the Board of Di­rec­tors must with­draw from the de­bate and from de­cid­ing if there is any risk or pos­si­bil­i­ty of a con­flict of in­ter­ests."

Tay­lor and a mem­ber of a TFA club said the on­ly thing that can hap­pen Sun­day is for the votes of the two as­so­ci­a­tions be con­sid­ered null and void, or the process used by the CFA/TFA mem­bers in the past, to be ac­cept­ed.

It is un­der­stood the CFA boss, on No­vem­ber 14 called a se­cret Board Meet­ing and elect­ed Gre­go­ry Mc Sween (Harlem Strik­ers), Al­lan Lo­gan (Re­al Cen­tral) and Wil­fred Ed­wards (Ref­er­ee) as their del­e­gates, a de­ci­sion that didn't go down to well with oth­er mem­ber clubs.

The clubs are sched­uled to meet among it­self to­mor­row to de­cide on a course of ac­tion to over­turn the choice of del­e­gates. Mc Sween, con­tact­ed yes­ter­day, said no one ob­ject­ed to the vote when the meet­ing took place.

An­tho­ny Moore, the TFA pres­i­dent has been ac­cused of breach­ing the same Ar­ti­cle 37(3) of the con­sti­tu­tion to se­cure votes for the John-Williams team which in­cludes him­self as vice pres­i­dent, John-Williams (pres­i­dent), Col­in Par­tap (vice pres­i­dent) and Sel­by Browne, an­oth­er vice pres­i­dent.

How­ev­er, Moore made it clear that clubs do not have any pow­er to elect del­e­gates, not­ing "If they want to, there must be a change in the con­sti­tu­tion for it to hap­pen."

He point­ed to Ar­ti­cle 79 of the TTFA con­sti­tu­tion which gives ul­ti­mate pow­er to the Board.

The Board of the TFA com­pris­es the pres­i­dent, three vice pres­i­dents and as many or­di­nary mem­bers. The del­e­gates cho­sen are vice pres­i­dents Denise Win­ches­ter and Samuel Orr and Board mem­bers Natasha Fran­cis and Hay­den Duke, who will be the al­ter­na­tive.

Moore said, as far as he is con­cerned the process used to chose the del­e­gates was above board and con­sti­tu­tion­al. "If the gen­er­al mem­ber­ship wants to chal­lenge the process, it can do so. There is a de­lib­er­ate at­tempt by the elite clubs to con­fuse those who do not know bet­ter, for the sake of a group of peo­ple who are promis­ing good­ies."

He said as some­one who has been in­volved in To­ba­go foot­ball for many years, he is aware that promis­es that can­not be achieved, are be­ing made. To­ba­go clubs are set to present a let­ter with their con­cerns on Sun­day.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 08:04:18 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #385 on: November 20, 2019, 08:28:59 AM »
As a candidate for office, Gosine should NOT be presiding over any activity with implications upon the electoral outcome. And worse yet if that activity is "secret". And Mr. McSween, no one objecting to the vote at the meeting is merely a function of who was made privy of the meeting. Under the circumstances it is not at all likely that objectors would have been invited.

Regarding Moore's comment that points us in the direction of what I raised two posts previously.

It's really eye-opening how many anti-democratic and anti-democratising manifestations and tendencies exist in T&T.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 08:36:01 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #386 on: November 20, 2019, 11:01:30 AM »
CFA/TFA election votes in limbo
By Walter Alibey, The Guardian

Six po­ten­tial votes from the To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TFA) and the Cen­tral Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (CFA) ap­pear to be hang­ing in the bal­ance, ahead of the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TTFA) An­nu­al Gen­er­al Meet­ing (AGM) and Elec­tion on No­vem­ber 24 at the Home of Foot­ball in Bal­main, Cou­va.

On Tues­day, Guardian Me­dia Sports learnt that mem­ber clubs from both Re­gion­al As­so­ci­a­tions are set to chal­lenge an al­leged un­con­sti­tu­tion­al elec­tion of the del­e­gates that will be vot­ing for ei­ther the Unit­ed TTFA, the Richard Fer­gu­son slate or in­cum­bent David John-Williams and his team on Sun­day.

The con­sti­tu­tion of the as­so­ci­a­tions, which is aligned to the TTFA con­sti­tu­tion, does not give a clear di­rec­tive of how del­e­gates are to be cho­sen.

How­ev­er, Clynt Tay­lor, the CFA's gen­er­al sec­re­tary be­lieves the gen­er­al mem­ber­ship of the as­so­ci­a­tion should be used to de­cide on the del­e­gates, as have been done in the past.

Tay­lor, who con­test­ed the last TTFA elec­tion and fell just short of John-Williams in the race for the pres­i­dent's po­si­tion in 2015, made it clear, how­ev­er, his for­mer boss and cur­rent CFA pres­i­dent Shymdeo Go­sine is guilty of a breach of the con­sti­tu­tion by en­gag­ing in the elec­tion of del­e­gates in the cen­tral zone.

Tay­lor re­ferred to Ar­ti­cle 37(3) of the con­sti­tu­tion which states - "Any Mem­ber of the Board of Di­rec­tors must with­draw from the de­bate and from de­cid­ing if there is any risk or pos­si­bil­i­ty of a con­flict of in­ter­ests."

Tay­lor and a mem­ber of a TFA club said the on­ly thing that can hap­pen Sun­day is for the votes of the two as­so­ci­a­tions be con­sid­ered null and void, or the process used by the CFA/TFA mem­bers in the past, to be ac­cept­ed.

It is un­der­stood the CFA boss, on No­vem­ber 14 called a se­cret Board Meet­ing and elect­ed Gre­go­ry Mc Sween (Harlem Strik­ers), Al­lan Lo­gan (Re­al Cen­tral) and Wil­fred Ed­wards (Ref­er­ee) as their del­e­gates, a de­ci­sion that didn't go down to well with oth­er mem­ber clubs.

The clubs are sched­uled to meet among it­self to­mor­row to de­cide on a course of ac­tion to over­turn the choice of del­e­gates. Mc Sween, con­tact­ed yes­ter­day, said no one ob­ject­ed to the vote when the meet­ing took place.

An­tho­ny Moore, the TFA pres­i­dent has been ac­cused of breach­ing the same Ar­ti­cle 37(3) of the con­sti­tu­tion to se­cure votes for the John-Williams team which in­cludes him­self as vice pres­i­dent, John-Williams (pres­i­dent), Col­in Par­tap (vice pres­i­dent) and Sel­by Browne, an­oth­er vice pres­i­dent.

How­ev­er, Moore made it clear that clubs do not have any pow­er to elect del­e­gates, not­ing "If they want to, there must be a change in the con­sti­tu­tion for it to hap­pen."

He point­ed to Ar­ti­cle 79 of the TTFA con­sti­tu­tion which gives ul­ti­mate pow­er to the Board.

The Board of the TFA com­pris­es the pres­i­dent, three vice pres­i­dents and as many or­di­nary mem­bers. The del­e­gates cho­sen are vice pres­i­dents Denise Win­ches­ter and Samuel Orr and Board mem­bers Natasha Fran­cis and Hay­den Duke, who will be the al­ter­na­tive.

Moore said, as far as he is con­cerned the process used to chose the del­e­gates was above board and con­sti­tu­tion­al. "If the gen­er­al mem­ber­ship wants to chal­lenge the process, it can do so. There is a de­lib­er­ate at­tempt by the elite clubs to con­fuse those who do not know bet­ter, for the sake of a group of peo­ple who are promis­ing good­ies."

He said as some­one who has been in­volved in To­ba­go foot­ball for many years, he is aware that promis­es that can­not be achieved, are be­ing made. To­ba­go clubs are set to present a let­ter with their con­cerns on Sun­day.

Article 79 of the Constitution does no such thing!

« Reply #387 on: November 20, 2019, 02:23:40 PM »
United TTFA release: DJW candidate attempts to disenfranchise Tobago clubs

Consistent with the Tobago FA Constitution, TFA member clubs attended a meeting on Saturday 16 November to select three TFA representatives to attend the 2019 TTFA Annual General Meeting on Sunday 24 November.

Tobago FA President Anthony Moore, a fellow candidate of David John-Williams in the 24 November TTFA elections, declared two club representatives who have previously represented their clubs at TFA meetings to be illegitimate. On that basis he consequently declared the meeting to be lacking a quorum and aborted the meeting. He then advised the assembled clubs that the TFA Board had already selected three representatives to the 2019 TTFA AGM, and that TFA had advised TTFA of their names.

In response to this alarming development, TFA clubs held a meeting on Monday 18 November and unanimously agreed:

1. The club representatives so arbitrarily rejected by Moore on Saturday 16 November were legitimately appointed club officials.

2. The decision of the TFA Board to appoint representatives to the 2019 TTFA Annual General Meeting was unconstitutional as it had a quorum only because it was chaired by Moore, who should have recused himself according to the provision of the TFA Constitution (Article 37.3) requiring him to do so due to the conflict of interest.

Three representatives were elected by the clubs to attend the 2019 TTFA Annual General Meeting. The representatives were unanimously mandated by the meeting to vote for the candidates of the United TTFA slate.

United TTFA condemns the attempt by Moore to unconstitutionally disenfranchise Tobago FA clubs in their legitimate attempt to represent themselves.

Moreover, United TTFA condemns the abuse of the TFA Constitution and the democracy of the Tobago FA by Moore in the pursuit of his personal political interest.

The TFA clubs have officially written to the TTFA General Secretary and the TTFA Electoral Committee regarding the disturbing events described above.

United TTFA supports the effort of Tobago clubs to seat their legitimately elected representatives at the 2019 TTFA Annual General Meeting.

« Reply #388 on: November 20, 2019, 02:31:52 PM »
A Venture Credit Union official, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said the timing of the order was the business of the courts and had nothing to do with their organisation. The credit union, the official said, has been chasing John-Williams for years.

At present, Venture Credit Union is unwilling to give details on what John-Williams requested the money for. The company does not want a public spat; it just wants to be paid.

The official rubbished any suggestion that Venture had an interest in whether John-Williams remained as TTFA president, although the source suggested his financial problems might have ruled him out of public office in other fields.

https://wired868.com/2019/11/20/we-just-want-our-members-money-back-venture-credit-union-confirms-23-million-judgment-against-djw/
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 02:33:37 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #389 on: November 20, 2019, 02:49:01 PM »
Maybe Rowley sent Browne and Partap to "babysit" DJW. Wouldn't you send a guardian if you transferred politically sensitive public lands in the care of someone capable of detonating and imploding any semblance of public trust and progress constructed?

Someone with an all points bulletin?:

How could this person credibly be the face of the TTFA leveraging any prospect of ventures with commercial and corporate T&T!

The same person that alienated the US embassy? Give me a break!

The distance between the Ato Boldon stadium and Venture Credit Union is 5.4km. :busshead:
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 02:56:07 PM by asylumseeker »