Should we vote to suspend Israel

Yes!
2 (50%)
No!
0 (0%)
I don't care!
2 (50%)
I need to read up more on the situation.
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 4

Voting closed: June 04, 2015, 03:34:56 PM

Author Topic: Please Lobby TTFF to vote to suspend Israel  (Read 3746 times)

Please Lobby TTFF to vote to suspend Israel
« on: May 21, 2015, 12:31:27 PM »
Know that we are the ones to end Apartheid. WE have the power to shake down these walls if only we have courage. PLEASE add your ideas, links, actions that can get our representative to end it.

Recently we heard that Netanyahu cancel the plan on segregated buses back to Palestine only at the last minute. Hear about 'Settler' teams playing in the Isreali league while 'others' cannot.

The PFA also demands that five Israeli settlement teams operating in the West Bank—Hapoel Bika'at H'Yarden, Beitar Ironei Ma'ale Adumim, Beitar Giva'at Ze'iv Shvi, Alitzur Ironei Yehuda, and Beitar Ironei Ariel; which are allowed to play in the lower Israeli leagues despite residing in disputed territory—cease competitive play.
https://sports.vice.com/en_us/article/the-israel-palestine-conflicts-new-wrinkle-a-fifa-vote-to-suspend-israel

If this is not overt racism / Discrimination based on religion, then I just do not know anymore.

If in the space of a few years the perception of the world could be systematically shifted towards a reality of two men marrying...I definitely KNOW that we MUST end the perpetual imprisonment and torture of the people of Gaza.

Many on here can tell us that this is how the beginning of the end of Apartheid in South Africa was won. T&T CANNOT stand for this. Be brave Tim Kee! Be brave forumites!!!

Re: Please Lobby TTFF to vote to suspend Israel
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2015, 06:36:30 PM »
Israel faces Fifa suspension over claims it discriminates against Palestinians

Fifa president Sepp Blatter arrives in Jerusalem to seek compromise, as Israeli football authorities insist that ‘no laws or rules’ have been broken

Israel is facing a vote to suspend it from world football’s governing body over claims that it discriminates against Palestinian footballers in the occupied territories.

The Palestinian Football Association said on Tuesday it was determined to push ahead with the vote on 29 May at the Fifa congress in Zurich, which could see Israel follow South Africa’s apartheid-era regime and Yugoslavia – the only countries to have been suspended by Fifa.
Israeli football cannot continue as a vehicle to legitimise racism
Jibril Rajoub
Read more

On Tuesday, Jibril Rajoub, the head of the Palestinian Football Association, said he believed the issue would go to a vote and that he expected Israel to be suspended.

Suspension from Fifa is the most serious sanction the organisation can impose short of expulsion, and would see Israel’s teams banned from competing internationally.

The Fifa president, Sepp Blatter – who is seeking a compromise to head off the vote – arrived in Jerusalem on Tuesday for talks with the Israeli prime minister, Binyamin Netanyahu, and the Palestinian president, Mahmoud Abbas. Blatter has made no bones about his own opposition to the proposed vote, due to take place in 10 days, suggesting at a press conference that the motion was an abuse of Fifa statutes and “inappropriate”.

Speaking after his meeting with Netanyahu, Blatter said the prime minister had agreed to the proposal of a “peace match” between Israelis and Palestinians but would not go into details of what else was discussed.
Israel’s prime minister, Binyamin Netanyahu, with the Fifa president, Sepp Blatter, in Jerusalem.
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Israel’s prime minister, Binyamin Netanyahu, with the Fifa president, Sepp Blatter, in Jerusalem. Photograph: Amos Ben Gershom /EPA

Blatter admitted, however, that he had no authority to remove the motion from Fifa’s agenda – which Fifa officials say would require a two-thirds majority in the 209-member organisation to come into force.

“This is a very unusual and very serious matter,” said Blatter. “After meeting in Zurich with the two presidents of the associations concerned, I took the decision that I wanted to meet not just with the football but with the political authorities in both of the countries. Today was first step.”

The whole congress should raise the red card ... no​ one has said our demands are irrational or illegal
    Jibril Rajoub, Palestinian Football Association

Israel’s relationship with Palestinian football was defended by Ofer Eini, the president of the Israeli Football Association, who insisted that Israel had broken “no laws or rules” and had “supported and would continue to support” Palestinian football.

The sudden escalation in the long-rumbling row over the complaints against Israel by the Palestinian football authorities comes in the midst of a wider effort by Palestinians to internationalise their cause.

That has included their pursuit of a resolution on the UN security council backing a deadline for statehood and joining the international criminal court. However, Palestinian officials deny that the latest move is politically motivated.

The scheduled vote comes at a difficult time for Blatter, who is seeking re-election at the same congress while facing challenges on a number of issues, including pressure over the staging of the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

At the heart of the long-running controversy over Palestinian football are complaints that Israel does not allow free movement of Palestinian or foreign players, that its policy is discriminatory and that five teams in the Israeli football league are based in illegal settlements, in contravention of Fifa rules.
Palestinians hold banners as they demonstrate in Ramallah, demanding the expulsion of Israel from Fifa.
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Palestinians hold banners as they demonstrate in Ramallah, demanding the expulsion of Israel from Fifa. Photograph: Abbas Momami/AFP/Getty Images

Despite the creation of a liaison mechanism set up at the instigation of Blatter and regional football associations over the last two years, Rajoub said there had been no improvement for Palestinian footballers.

The draft Palestinian resolution lists six key arguments for Israel’s suspension, which include:

“Humiliating treatment at the border by the relevant Israeli authorities to both Palestinian players/officials and foreign delegations including Fifa.”
    “Violent acts by Israeli security forces during football matches (for example stoppage of matches, training sessions, arrests) and/or closure of clubs without explanation in areas under the authority of the Palestinian National Authority.”

We call on Fifa to suspend the Israel Football Association
Letters: The Israel Football Association has stood shoulder to shoulder with the country’s murderous regime while Palestinian footballers have been shot, beaten, bombed, and incarcerated
Read more

Rajoub has warned that if the Fifa congress did not vote in favour of its motion it would take the issue to the court of arbitration in sport: “ I think there is almost a consensus amongst member associations against racism, against the five clubs from the settlements and for our right to have free movement and access.
Advertisement

“The whole congress should raise the red card. We have discussed with everyone and no one has said our demands are irrational or illegal.”

In a telephone briefing, Rotem Kamer, chief executive of the Israeli Football Association, denied his association had control over security issues at the heart of the Palestinian complaint, adding that it was the preserve of the government and not Israel’s football authorities.

“We have found ourselves in the last two months in a political conflict that has nothing do with football in the region. It started two years ago. Now we find ourselves the target of an unprecedented proposal to be suspended,” said Kamer.

“This does not have a place at the Fifa congress. I believe football should be a bridge that shows governments that football brings people together, not be a weapon.”

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2015, 02:54:52 PM »
Almost there (people won't have to put up with this much longer). But I thought the case was articulated well in this article and shows the development that Blatter visited both sides and what he said to both.
Palestinian soccer players tell FIFA Israel violates their ‘basic rights’

Palestinian soccer body calls for Israel to be suspended from FIFA over ‘discrimination’ and ‘oppression’
May 20, 2015 1:15PM ET
by Patrick Strickland @P_Strickland_

RAMALLAH, West Bank — Nadeem Barghouthi, a 25-year-old who has played soccer since he was a child, says Palestinian athletes don’t have the opportunity to live like their counterparts elsewhere, because politics always manage to get in the way.

Barghouthi’s team, the Silwan Football Club in Israeli-occupied East Jerusalem, is no exception. In 2012, Israeli authorities temporarily shut down the club and claimed it had financial links to Hamas, the political organization that controls Gaza and enjoys wide support in the occupied West Bank. Barghouthi rejects the charge, saying Israel “considers all Palestinians terrorists.”

“We are just athletes like athletes anywhere else, not terrorists,” he said.

When Barghouthi’s team wants to play in other parts of the West Bank, members are subjected to lengthy searches at Israeli military checkpoints. Their Israeli counterparts are not.

“Palestinian soccer players struggle to travel, and after a match, we always know that we could be harassed or arrested by Israeli soldiers when returning,” he said. “Israeli players, on the other hand, travel without problems and don’t face any restrictions. This is discrimination. It’s oppression.”

The situation has prompted the Palestinian Football Association (PFA), activists and politicians to campaign for FIFA — the international body that governs soccer — to suspend the Israeli Football Association (IFA) unless Israel lifts its restrictions on the movement of Palestinian athletes between the Gaza Strip and the West Bank and on imports of sports equipment bound for the Palestinian territories. FIFA is set to vote on the matter at its congress in Zurich on May 29.

Aside from expulsion, suspension — which would bar Israeli teams from international competition — is the gravest punishment FIFA can impose on member countries.
Thumbnail image for Can FIFA’s Blatter prevent Israel’s suspension from international soccer?
Can FIFA’s Blatter prevent Israel’s suspension from international soccer?

Analysis: New front emerges in the diplomatic battle as Palestinians demand world soccer body ban Israel

In Jerusalem on Tuesday, FIFA President Sepp Blatter met with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who told Blatter that soccer should be a “vehicle of goodwill between nations,” not a political tool. The next day, Blatter met with Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas in Ramallah, hoping to persuade the Palestinians to drop their suspension campaign and try to resolve the issue without taking their proposal to a FIFA congress vote. Blatter has also proposed a peace match between the Palestinian and Israeli national teams.

But Jibril Rajoub, the chairman of the PFA, says the campaigners have no intention to stop the push for suspension until their demands are met. “All we are requesting are basic rights for our athletes,” he told Al Jazeera. “The Israeli occupation’s overt oppression and racist policies, including movement restrictions for athletes, prevent us from participating in the game to our full potential.”

“Our cause is just, and FIFA has had to discuss Israel before,” Rajoub said, adding that the IFA’s inclusion of Israeli football teams from illegal Jewish-only settlements in the West Bank contravenes FIFA rules. In 2013 the PFA raised the travel issue in FIFA’s congress, prompting Blatter to call on Israel to ease the restrictions. In May 2014 Blatter visited Israel and the Palestinian territories and met with Netanyahu and Abbas, after Rajoub’s earlier calls for sanctions on Israel.

Asked if Israel has been in contact with the Palestinians about the campaign, Rajoub said Israel has “approached us only from a position of pressure and threats.”

He said he is optimistic that the FIFA congress will suspend Israel.

After a news conference with Blatter on Thursday, Rajoub said the suspension issue would remain on the table at the coming FIFA congress. “There will be no compromising on the free movement of our athletes and officials,” he said after talks with Blatter.

Earlier this month, as Rajoub led a FIFA tour delegation in the West Bank city of Hebron, Israeli settlers accosted and verbally harassed the group. Israeli settler violence against local Palestinians has become routine in Hebron, where hundreds of Israelis live in settlements in the heart of the Palestinian Old City and enjoy military protection.

“The soldiers came and prevented us from walking in the Old City,” Rajoub said. “It was the clearest example of Israeli racism toward Palestinians. The settlers harassed us and said racist innuendos. We told them that we were leading a tour for FIFA, and they said it didn’t matter because the area was only for Jews.”

In response to the Palestinian FIFA push, Israel’s Foreign Ministry has launched a diplomatic campaign against suspension. The Israeli Foreign Ministry has been in contact with sports ministers and soccer clubs in more than a hundred countries, allegedly providing information that proves several Palestinian athletes have been involved in armed activity.

Israel’s new minister of culture and sports, Miri Regev, spoke out Sunday against the suspension campaign, saying “a separation must be made between sports and politics, as long as there is loyalty to the state and its laws.”

Red Card Israeli Racism, a U.K.-based campaign that calls for soccer leagues and teams to boycott Israel, plans to protest outside the coming FIFA conference in Zurich. “We think it’s absolutely vital that Israel is suspended from FIFA and then makes good on obligations before it is allowed back in,” said group member Geoff Lee.

“The football establishment should uphold the highest values of anti-racism,” he said. He argued that Israel ought to be shunned “until it respects the human rights of all Palestinians and complies with international law.”

A group of 19 public intellectuals, including American linguist Noam Chomsky and English novelist John Berger, published an open letter on May 15 in The Guardian calling on FIFA to respect the Palestinian call for the IFA to be suspended. The signatories pointed to FIFA’s 30-year exclusion of apartheid South Africa as a precedent. During the Yugoslav wars, FIFA also suspended Yugoslavia from 1992 to 1994.

In Jerusalem, soccer player Barghouthi said he and his teammates support the campaign but don’t expect FIFA to boot Israel. “We think it’s good to put pressure on Israel over the occupation and the way it affects all Palestinians, not just athletes,” he said. “We don’t think Israel will actually be suspended, but it’s good that there is more of the world’s attention on what is happening to us. We simply wanted to be treated like athletes anywhere else in the world.”

« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2015, 04:11:11 PM »
Know that we are the ones to end Apartheid. WE have the power to shake down these walls if only we have courage. PLEASE add your ideas, links, actions that can get our representative to end it.

Recently we heard that Netanyahu cancel the plan on segregated buses back to Palestine only at the last minute. Hear about 'Settler' teams playing in the Isreali league while 'others' cannot.

The PFA also demands that five Israeli settlement teams operating in the West Bank—Hapoel Bika'at H'Yarden, Beitar Ironei Ma'ale Adumim, Beitar Giva'at Ze'iv Shvi, Alitzur Ironei Yehuda, and Beitar Ironei Ariel; which are allowed to play in the lower Israeli leagues despite residing in disputed territory—cease competitive play.
https://sports.vice.com/en_us/article/the-israel-palestine-conflicts-new-wrinkle-a-fifa-vote-to-suspend-israel

If this is not overt racism / Discrimination based on religion, then I just do not know anymore.

If in the space of a few years the perception of the world could be systematically shifted towards a reality of two men marrying...I definitely KNOW that we MUST end the perpetual imprisonment and torture of the people of Gaza.

Many on here can tell us that this is how the beginning of the end of Apartheid in South Africa was won. T&T CANNOT stand for this. Be brave Tim Kee! Be brave forumites!!!
Are you some kind of a jackass? Do you even know the meaning of apartheid? Explain to this board how Israel is an apartheid state. Israel that beautiful land and country that has done more good for the world than all arab and muslin states put together. Do you see Irael hanging children and putting their heads on stakes? Do you see Israel killing men women and children simply because they are christians or non jews? I guess that you are one of those who has drunk the coolaid. Just remember these words never again and that Jerusalem will never again be divided. Shalom!

« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2015, 04:38:42 PM »
Are you some kind of a jackass? Do you even know the meaning of apartheid? Explain to this board how Israel is an apartheid state. Israel that beautiful land and country that has done more good for the world than all arab and muslin states put together. Do you see Irael hanging children and putting their heads on stakes? Do you see Israel killing men women and children simply because they are christians or non jews? I guess that you are one of those who has drunk the coolaid. Just remember these words never again and that Jerusalem will never again be divided. Shalom!

I think your definition of "apartheid" is a bit limited... if not off-target altogether.  Racial discrimination against Palestinians, Israels Arab citizens and it's non-white Jews might not be state-sanctioned, but make no mistake that a de facto system of racism pervades.

« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2015, 05:35:49 PM »

I think your definition of "apartheid" is a bit limited... if not off-target altogether.  Racial discrimination against Palestinians, Israels Arab citizens and it's non-white Jews might not be state-sanctioned, but make no mistake that a de facto system of racism pervades.

Bakes do you even know the meaning of Apartheid? Is America an apartheid country? Is T&T an apartheid country? if 2*0=0 and 3*0=0 does that mean that 2=3? Have you ever been to Israel? Do Israelis go into the Gaza strip or the WBank and blow up innocent civilians? Do Arabd sit in the Isreali Knesset? Does the Israeli supreme court have an Arab on the bench? are their Arab judges in the court system in Israel? Do palestinians and other arabs discriminate against blacks. Does an apartheid state spend its resources to bring Ethiopian , Indian , Chinese,Nepalese other black jews and allow them to make Aliyah to Israel?
Don't be lazy! spend some time and energy reading and researching and stop spewing the bilge of other people without having the actual knowledge.
Years ago there was another poster, called himself Truetrini who cut and paste for all its worth and spread the lie about Jenin. I tried with him and pointed him to the facts but nooo, he was doing a "PHD" and as such he couldn't be wrong because he heard this and cut and paste from other "luminaries." Guess what, he and the other "luminaries" were proven wrong. Jenin was proven to be one of the biggest hoax perpetrated on  an intellectually lazy readership throughout the world.
Don't fall into that category!!

« Last Edit: May 25, 2015, 05:39:01 PM by sub1 »

« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2015, 07:58:54 PM »
Bakes do you even know the meaning of Apartheid? Is America an apartheid country? Is T&T an apartheid country? if 2*0=0 and 3*0=0 does that mean that 2=3? Have you ever been to Israel? Do Israelis go into the Gaza strip or the WBank and blow up innocent civilians? Do Arabd sit in the Isreali Knesset? Does the Israeli supreme court have an Arab on the bench? are their Arab judges in the court system in Israel? Do palestinians and other arabs discriminate against blacks. Does an apartheid state spend its resources to bring Ethiopian , Indian , Chinese,Nepalese other black jews and allow them to make Aliyah to Israel?
Don't be lazy! spend some time and energy reading and researching and stop spewing the bilge of other people without having the actual knowledge.
Years ago there was another poster, called himself Truetrini who cut and paste for all its worth and spread the lie about Jenin. I tried with him and pointed him to the facts but nooo, he was doing a "PHD" and as such he couldn't be wrong because he heard this and cut and paste from other "luminaries." Guess what, he and the other "luminaries" were proven wrong. Jenin was proven to be one of the biggest hoax perpetrated on  an intellectually lazy readership throughout the world.

Here's a nice neat cut an paste for you... doh hurt yuhself

noun
(in the Republic of South Africa) a rigid former policy of segregating and economically and politically oppressing the nonwhite population.
any system or practice that separates people according to color, ethnicity, caste, etc.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/apartheid

Here's another one:

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/SK2xxK8rU5k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/SK2xxK8rU5k</a>

I could respond to the rest of what you posted, but what's the point... it doesn't affect the definition of "apartheid" or it's applicability to the discussion.

« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2015, 08:13:57 PM »

Let's try 1483 innocent civilians last summerhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaza%E2%80%93Israel_conflict...the rest of it. yikes! i'll have to leave an ignorant one like you alone brother. I've been to israel a few times now. drive all over each time, but you can't go into gaza - a prison there you see.

« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2015, 09:25:21 PM »

Here's a nice neat cut an paste for you... doh hurt yuhself

noun
(in the Republic of South Africa) a rigid former policy of segregating and economically and politically oppressing the nonwhite population.
any system or practice that separates people according to color, ethnicity, caste, etc.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/apartheid

Here's another one:

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/SK2xxK8rU5k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/SK2xxK8rU5k</a>

I could respond to the rest of what you posted, but what's the point... it doesn't affect the definition of "apartheid" or it's applicability to the discussion.
You clearly have a difficulty understanding the difference between Apartheid and racism. If the nuances are tripping you up then my friend prepare,prepare and then prepare again if you are admitted to argue before the Supreme ct. because your compartmentalization is not coming through on this thread. Or maybe you can show me the deep nuances that I am missing. Then obviously the US is an Apartheid country. More Blacks per capita get killed by white cops in the US than non-white jews get beaten up by white jewish cops. Is Saudi Arabia an apartheid state? they still treat blacks as slaves and call them as such. You all are so naive ever learning but unable to come to the knowledge of the truth.
Cut and paste some more if you feel that it will somehow it will make racism apartheid. after having said let me make it clear that I do not condone racism. But it is a stretch and an idiocy promoted by those coming out of the Ivory Towers whose main agenda is to delegitimize Israel as a state. That, my friend , and God's face they will never see.

« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2015, 09:31:29 PM »
Ok Kounty we done! You have said your piece and as stupid as it is it is still your piece. I will remember that. Maybe one day you may have a rude awaken to real facts that are the middle east. Guess you won't be going back to Israel anytime soon.

Let's try 1483 innocent civilians last summerhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaza%E2%80%93Israel_conflict...the rest of it. yikes! i'll have to leave an ignorant one like you alone brother. I've been to israel a few times now. drive all over each time, but you can't go into gaza - a prison there you see.

« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2015, 09:48:57 PM »
You clearly have a difficulty understanding the difference between Apartheid and racism. If the nuances are tripping you up then my friend prepare,prepare and then prepare again if you are admitted to argue before the Supreme ct. because your compartmentalization is not coming through on this thread. Or maybe you can show me the deep nuances that I am missing. Then obviously the US is an Apartheid country. More Blacks per capita get killed by white cops in the US than non-white jews get beaten up by white jewish cops. Is Saudi Arabia an apartheid state? they still treat blacks as slaves and call them as such. You all are so naive ever learning but unable to come to the knowledge of the truth.
Cut and paste some more if you feel that it will somehow it will make racism apartheid. after having said let me make it clear that I do not condone racism. But it is a stretch and an idiocy promoted by those coming out of the Ivory Towers whose main agenda is to delegitimize Israel as a state. That, my friend , and God's face they will never see.

You do such a good job of undermining your own presumed brilliance that don't even have to address it.  I'll just point out the fact that only a fool would think that Kounty (and I'll certainly let Kounty speak for himself) would think that Israel was officially an apartheid state.  So you going on and on arguing that it's not kinda makes you look foolish.  The use of "apartheid" was fitting, in the least ironic, given Israel's support of apartheid South Africa.  The official definition of apartheid as presented in the link applies to separation of races or ethnic groups based on their immutable characteristics, racism and apartheid are thus linked though not synonymous, but neither did anyone argue that they were. 

Certainly the legally-enforced second class treatment of Palestinians (who are not a separate state, but rather an occupied, and thus de facto part of Israel) where Palestinian citizens do not and cannot enjoy the same privileges as Israeli citizens, a discrimination that is based either on national origin or ethnicity... can legitimately be likened to de facto apartheid, certainly in the non-academic standards that passes for internet message board conversations.  But feel free to regale us with stories of trips to Israel and your insight as to whom God plans on letting see his face.

Moving on.

« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2015, 11:29:47 PM »

Ok Kounty we done! You have said your piece and as stupid as it is it is still your piece. I will remember that. Maybe one day you may have a rude awaken to real facts that are the middle east. Guess you won't be going back to Israel anytime soon.

My eldest daughter is leaving in August to go live in Israel for a year so I will be going back soon. I don't know how much logic counts over where u are, but nowhere in the world you have a people blocked off, all borders sealed, vetoed and blocked for independence and killed by the thousands each year because of their race (their own citizens). I post what the palestinian footballers say b/c I can vouch for that, you go up to that border and it is arbitrarily closed virtually every time. I have no idea how you try to blame ISIS activity on the palestinian people. I think the FIFA vote is a good first step to shine a light on what is going on and to force a resolution to this never-ending system. Because it is hell for a whole population for their whole lifetime and it is unjust. And no, you cannot compare what is going on in Israel to the US or Tr....I can't even finish that. It is Apartheid in Israel.

« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2015, 08:37:11 AM »
i know everybody has been dying to know  ;) nice pictur of handshake on link

Fifa congress: Palestine drops motion to suspend Israel

Palestine's football association drops its motion asking for Israel, which it accuses of racism and preventing the free movement of Palestinian athletes, to be suspended from Fifa.

The scandal-hit Fifa congress - which has also seen pro-Palestinian protests both inside and outside the event's venue - had been due to vote on the Palestinian proposal to kick Israel out of international football.

PFA President Jibril Rajoub cited three main reasons for Israel's exclusion from Fifa.

He accused Israeli clubs of racism against Palestinians, accused the country of preventing the free movement of Palestinian athletes, and raised the issue of five Israeli football clubs being located on Palestinian territory.
'Plastic surgeon'

Mr Rajoub said he had been persuaded to back down, but said that does not mean he will "give up the resistance".

His resistance includes demands that Fifa set up a "mechanism to monitor what is going on on the ground" and a request that Fifa refer the issue of Israeli clubs on Palestinian territory to the United Nations.

Addressing the Israeli Football Association (IFA), he said: "I think you should not play some kind of plastic doctor or surgeon to try and defend and whiten the ugly face of a racist occupation."

He also told the IFA that he was "ready to shake hands, to hug".

The PFA has also previously complained that harsh import restrictions imposed by Israel on Palestinian territories, especially since the Gaza conflict last summer, meant equipment was being prevented from reaching players.

More than 2,000 Palestinians were killed in the Gaza conflict, around 70 per cent of whom were civilians, and thousands of homes were destroyed. Sixty six Israeli soldiers and six civilians were killed by Hamas militants.
'Bridge to peace'

Mr Rajoub's Israeli counterpart, Ofer Eini, said he wanted to "cooperate" with the PFA.

"I think that football must serve as a bridge to peace - peace that we all want," he said.

However, he rejected the call for referring the territorial issue to the UN, saying "any dispute we have inside Fifa must be resolved inside Fifa".

He then walked to the PFA delegation for the handshake.

Pro-Palestinian protesters have been camped outside the Hallenstadion in Zurich. Earlier in the day some protesters were prevented by security from entering the conference venue, and two female protesters were evicted after interrupting Sepp Blatter whilst waving a Palestine flag (see video, above).

« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2015, 09:04:05 AM »
What exactly was sub1 arguing???  ::)

« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2015, 05:20:12 AM »
Regev asks FIFA to act against inciting PA soccer chief
By Elad Benari, Arutz Sheva

Culture and Sport Minister Miri Regev on Wednesday called on FIFA to take action against Jibril Rajoub, the head of the Palestinian Football Association, following his recent inciting remarks against Israel.

In a recent interview on Palestinian Authority TV, Rajoub advocated murdering Jews in Judea and Samaria.

Actually, he told the interviewer, if not for world opinion it would be fine for Palestinians to blow themselves up on buses, at malls, etc. throughout Israel. But at least for now, he said, “the world will not accept bus explosions in Tel Aviv, so it is better we do not perpetrate those kinds of attacks.”

But the world would have no problem accepting – and even praising – attacks against “settlers,” so terrorists should concentrate on those, he added.

In response, Regev contacted the acting president of FIFA, demanding that Rajoub be condemned and that his attempts to take advantage of FIFA in order to promote hatred and incitement against Israel be thwarted.

"Jibril Rajoub's remarks are nothing short of incitement to murder,” Regev wrote on her Facebook page Wednesday, adding that ‘[Rajoub’s] words are further evidence of his real motives in the actions he leads against Israel at FIFA, while cynically exploiting international sports institutions in order to promote an anti-Israel agenda and supporting terrorism in a manner completely contrary to the values of international sport.”

“I sincerely hope that FIFA will not ignore the fact that the chairman of a football association encourages the murder of innocent people,” she added.

Rajoub, who is a senior member of Abbas’s Fatah movement, is known for his inciting statements against Israel, which include claiming in a television interview that Nazi leader Adolf Hitler could have learned from Israel about extermination camps.

He has suggested in the past that Israel "should be removed", and last year supported Hamas's threats to kidnap IDF soldiers on PA TV.

Most recently, Rajoub campaigned to have Israel suspended from FIFA because, he claimed, Israel was restricting the movement of Palestinian Arab players.

However, he withdrew the bid at the 11th hour, sparking anger among Palestinian Arabs, some of whom have demanded Rajoub’s resignation.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2015, 06:58:19 AM »
I'll settle this silly argument:  Israel is indeed OFFICIALLY an Apartheid state in practice.  It is official policy over there that the Palestinian people are treated as 2nd class...no, THIRD CLASS 'citizens'.  The dubious bigoted shameful insidious policies of Israel against the Palestinian people are a blight.  The GRAND THEFT of another man's country perpetrated by white Europeans against the Palestinian people in 1948, with the full support of then newly created UN, and the US Government, will forever go down as one of the saddest chapters in our history.

And please don't get me started on the False Flag attacks perpetrated by the Israeli government against its own people and its allies, as a pretext to justify its actions and shameful policies, and to further its geopolitical agendas.

« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 07:56:33 AM by OutsideMan »
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.