March 28, 2024, 04:57:27 AM

Author Topic: Cautious Warriors need to score goals.  (Read 1969 times)

Cautious Warriors need to score goals.
« on: October 21, 2015, 01:57:42 AM »
Cautious Warriors need to score goals.
By Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

Nicaragua came to the Hasely Crawford Stadium for the first time with the expectation of getting some experience playing against a Caribbean styled national team, similar to Jamaica who defeated them in a close home and away encounter which booted them from the World Cup Russia tournament.

The Warriors engaged them with the expectation of benefiting from a developing Central American style, knowing that they have to face Guatemala within the next month on their path to the second round of the World Cup.

To the fan, the match was attended with enthusiasm following the victorious result against Panama last week.

What we saw was two teams approaching cautiously and ensuring that they used the midfield possession game in order to understand their opponent’s method of defense. The early results showed that the penalty areas were not utilized in the way that progressive teams will want. The Warriors were attempting to pressure the Nicaraguans into error around their own goal, and very nearly achieved their “goal”, except for shoddy attempts at finishing.

The pint sized Central Americans were seen hurrying their decisions while the Warriors went in search of an early goal. They did not have to worry too much as the job of finishing by Kenwyne Jones and his attackers was well short of creativity and clinical accuracy in the final moments of their attacks.

The visitors settled down mainly through their ultimate desire to play their game base upon cohesiveness. Players were not caught in possession, while the probably recipients of a pass showed themselves in convenient spaces vacant enough to allow them to create positive passing options.

They realized that the strongest area in the Warrior’s team was defense. All four defenders have the ability to  be aerially strong, tough tacklers and can carry the ball intelligently forward.

Daniel Cyrus and Aubrey David moved down the flanks with speed and good foot skill, features which forced the opponents to consolidate and whenever possible guide the attackers towards the restricted space near the touchlines.

Sometimes, the Warriors attack offered space on the flanks for Juan Perez and Oscar Lopez, vacant because the defenders were slow on recovering from their forward jaunt.

On both sides, the desire to interpass the ball in their own half of the field excessively tended to take the expected creativity off midfielders on both sides, leaving the fans with the hope of some attacking opportunities. Two feeble shots at goal, one from each side, was all that were executed in the first half, although each team reached into the penalty areas, without the composure and eventual aggression to turn half chances into anything, but lose balls.

The second half saw the glitter of Joevin Jones on the left and Trevor Caesar on the right which appeared to be the vulnerable routes. Clearly, four byelines, two each by Jones and Caesar, should have produced at least one goal.

It must be mentioned that although the visitors had greater possession marginally, the number of unforced errors of passing by the Warriors were about two in every five, a percentage which needs to be reduced to even one in every five.

Shots at goal were three by the host and two by the opponents, which created a sombre atmosphere by the good crowd.

Theoretically, the analysts will claim that a home team is usually considered a 2-0 winner, seeing that the visitors are unfamiliar with the surroundings and the crowd support which should have been guaranteed from the sidelines.

No need to mention how much work needs to be done during the month leading up to the Guatemala  qualifier away from home.

We do not have a good record when we play in Guatemala and that should invite some more critical training sessions in the department of attacking effectively. The realism is that no goals were scored in 90 minutes, a factor which should be the primary feature of that game.

Coach Hart will have to depend on some astute arrangements where the majority of players are playing at separate clubs across the globe. This may provide a good chance to get players like Keron Cummings, Willis Plaza, add to these names Cato and Trevin Caesar.

I know Hart does not place emphasis upon friendlies locally, just to get his at home players sharp and enthusiastic, but it has its degree of achievement.

Remember, practice makes permanent.

Re: Cautious Warriors need to score goals.
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2015, 04:38:25 AM »
The headline is misleading. Yes, our attack was impotent against Nicaragua, but we scored 15 goals in the previous six games, so is not like we eh know how tuh score. And we did create several chances, it's just that we did not take advantage of them.

Daniel Cyrus and Aubrey David moved down the flanks with speed and good foot skill, features which forced the opponents to consolidate and whenever possible guide the attackers towards the restricted space near the touchlines.
Who is this?

The second half saw the glitter of Joevin Jones on the left and Trevor Caesar on the right which appeared to be the vulnerable routes. Clearly, four byelines, two each by Jones and Caesar, should have produced at least one goal.
Who is this?

I know Hart does not place emphasis upon friendlies locally, just to get his at home players sharp and enthusiastic, but it has its degree of achievement.
When has Hart ever said this? We know friendlies have been hard to come by. Hart plays the games he's able to get.

« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2015, 05:56:28 AM »
Alvin is a dunce.

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2015, 01:52:57 AM »
Warriors look to add to impressive goal tally.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Scoring 15 goals in seven international matches is by no means a lousy record in international football today. So to say the “Soca Warriors” have a lot of work to do in the finishing department based on the recent 0-0 draw with Nicaragua is not a fair statement.

Dating back to the 1-0 win over Haiti just prior to the CONCACAF Gold Cup in July, the “Soca Warriors” have scored in every game leading up to the 0-0 draw with Nicaragua, including seven goals against Gold Cup champion Mexico. The scorers include Keron Cummings (three), Kenwyne Jones (three), Sheldon Bateau (two), Joevin Jones (two), with Jonathan Glenn, Yohance Marshall, Willis Plaza, Andre Boucaud and Radanfah Abu Bakr, getting one each. They have conceded ten, including seven in the two clashes with Mexico.

The improvement in goalscoring followed a small drought up until the loss to Jordan in June.

Of course, goals win matches and it will be an important factor in the upcoming World Cup qualifiers beginning with the pair of games with Guatemala and United States next November 13 and 17, respectively.

“I don’t think there should be any worrying factor or panic about not being able to score goals just based on the 0-0 draw with Nicaragua,” said defender Yohance Marshall.

“We have been scoring goals although we have missed a few chances as well. I think once we continue to work on our areas which we know need addressing then we should be fine for the two upcoming games. A good period together before the Guatemala game, maybe three or four days will be important for us. Defensively we will like to be more efficient and avoid any soft goals and I think finishing wise we will get it right.”

T&T head coach Stephen Hart also added: “We created numerous chances and to say I was unhappy with the performance because of the result (against Nicaragua) would not be a fair statement.

“Of course we are aware that chances are there to be taken and we cannot afford to let them go by but we’ll continue to plug away with the right approach and mentality which the players have demonstrated so far and go out there with the intention of getting the best possible start to the campaign.”

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2015, 06:55:26 AM »
Keep up the good vibes Warriors.

« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2015, 08:38:48 AM »
Why the hell I doesn't check to see who is the writer before I read  :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: 

« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2015, 08:52:53 AM »
TM like you give Fuentes some ideas for that article ;D

Offline Coach

« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2015, 11:23:53 AM »
Mr. Corneal can one of your upcoming article headline to be on the EXCELLENT COACHING JOB BY ONE OF OUR OWN and then you can outline for us using your years of experience covering our national teams the good job you have seen Mr. Hart has done coaching our National team! It will be an interesting article coming from you.

« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2015, 11:28:42 AM »
Only when baby Cornmeal is reinstated and has the coaching job.
Then yuh go hear praise. Sick people.

« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2015, 01:20:58 PM »
When has Hart ever said this? We know friendlies have been hard to come by. Hart plays the games he's able to get.
I guess he mean a local XI vs Club Sando or something so.

« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2015, 01:22:08 PM »
Why the hell I doesn't check to see who is the writer before I read  :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: 

YES As I see is Cornmeal I eh bother.

« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2015, 02:23:39 PM »
Mr. Corneal can one of your upcoming article headline to be on the EXCELLENT COACHING JOB BY ONE OF OUR OWN and then you can outline for us using your years of experience covering our national teams the good job you have seen Mr. Hart has done coaching our National team! It will be an interesting article coming from you.

Cornmeal is a blue crab, who suffers from verbal diarrhea.... do you expect any good to come out of him?

pure envy and jealousy speaking there and Williams is cut from the same cloth...

Offline presspass

« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2015, 06:56:38 PM »
Everyone makes mistakes... and at least Alvin is consistent with it. Have never read one of his columns without at least two athletes' names spelt incorrectly. A simple but desperate appeal to the Guardian editors to correct Alvin's mistakes. The only problem is that Guardian editors are much more familiar with local cricketers' names than footballers (evidently).
And, with all due respect to him, none of his columns seem to include any real critical analysis.
In 2015, almost all mainstream newspapers cater for an international audience...Inexcusable, especially as Google is right at the fingertips.

Offline presspass

« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2015, 07:04:30 PM »
But to be fair, Alvin, almost certainly didn't write that headline.

« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2015, 07:27:07 AM »
Good to see the media being self-critical. For some time now, it has been clear that the Guardian accepts Mr. Corneal's contributions without editing - and possibly absent any review.

Ridiculous state of affairs that reflects poorly on the entire local product.

As to the content: it's up to them to demand incisive contributions. I have no issue with him focusing on local subject matter. Just maintain rigour.

(And in case anyone is wondering, I just deliberately alternated between American and British spelling).
« Last Edit: October 23, 2015, 07:36:29 AM by asylumseeker »