April 18, 2024, 12:40:49 AM

Author Topic: T&T, USA in Goalless draw.  (Read 8157 times)

T&T, USA in Goalless draw.
« on: November 18, 2015, 02:59:36 AM »
U.S draws 0-0 away to T&T in second 2018 World Cup Qualifier.
USSOCCER.COM

The U.S. Men’s National Team drew 0-0 with Trinidad & Tobago in the second game of 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

With the draw, the U.S. and Trinidad & Tobago sit tied atop CONCACAF Qualifying Group C with four points each. Earlier Tuesday, Guatemala gained their first points of Semifinal Round Qualifying with a 4-0 away win at St. Vincent and the Grenadines to move into third with three points, while St. Vincent is last with zero.

The USA controlled the match and produced a number of chances. Two of those opportunities were the collective efforts of the starting forward tandem, Jozy Altidore and Gyasi Zardes. In the 29th minute Altidore made an excellent flowing move down the right flank and lofted a ball across, which a breaking Zardes missed getting a touch to by only fractions. In the second half the duo was at it again, with Altidore making a move on the right and floating a ball to the back post which Zardes headed off the bar in the 47th minute.

In the 78th minute, Jermaine Jones nearly buried a rocket from 30 yards out, but T&T goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams matched Jones’ effort with a great save, stretching out to the top corner and reaching it with a fingertip to clip it over the bar.

The U.S. attack improved as the match went on, with head coach Jurgen Klinsmann bringing on midfielder Darlington Nagbe and forward Bobby Wood, but the team was unable to find a game-winner. The MNT will continue its World Cup Qualifying run in March with a home-and-away series with Guatemala on March 25 (away) and 29 (home). The locations for those matches are still to be determined.

Goal Scoring Opportunities:

TRI – Kenwyne Jones, 13th minute - Kenwyne Jones collected the ball with space, and after a nifty spin move, hit his effort just left of Tim Howard’s goal.

USA – Jozy Altidore, 21st minute - Tim Ream’s throw in from the left touch line bounced into the middle of the USA’s final third for Jozy Altidore, who hit a half volley just over Jan Michael Williams’ goal.

TRI – Kenwyne Jones, 45th minute: Kenwyne Jones’ hard, driven free kick from 25 yards out made its way through traffic, but found its way to Tim Howard who pounced on the ball with the final play of the first half.

USA – Gyasi Zardes 47th minute - DeAndre Yedlin found the ball at midfield before speeding towards the Trinidad & Tobago back line and slipping Jozy Alitidore through on the right. Altidore hit a quick cross to the back post for Gyasi Zardes who nodded his reaction header off the cross bar.

TRI – Joevin Jones, 64th minute: After some possession around the area, Trinidad & Tobago’s Andre Boucaud hit a swerving ball for Joevin Jones on the right. Jones gained some pace in the box before hitting a well-struck effort that Howard did well to hang on to.

USA – Jermaine Jones, 78th minute - After a strong buildup in possession, Michael Bradley laid a ball off for Jermaine Jones who saw his effort from 25 yards tipped off the cross bar by Jan Michael Williams.

Additional Notes:

With his appearance tonight, Gyasi Zardes tied Claudio Reyna's record for most caps in a player's debut year for the National Team with 19.

After making his MNT debut in the opening Qualifying match against St. Vincent & The Grenadines, Darlinton Nagbe entered the match as a second half sub for Tim Ream to earn his second career cap.

Bobby Wood was the USA’s other substitution, coming on for Gyasi Zardes as both players earned their second consecutive World Cup Qualifying caps. Wood has now featured for the MNT eight times in 2015 and 14 times in his career.

The U.S. MNT moved to 71-36-33 all-time and 21-29-29 in away World Cup Qualifying matches.

The USA is 16-2-4 all-time against Trinidad & Tobago, holding an 11-1-3 edge in World Cup qualification matches.

The MNT holds a 5-2-3 advantage in away matches against Trinidad & Tobago and 4-1-2 in World Cup Qualifiers in the Caribbean nation.

All 10 U.S. matches against Trinidad & Tobago in Port of Spain have been decided by a goal or less.

Since 1990 World Cup Qualifying, the MNT is 25-2-9 all-time against Caribbean nations and 12-3-7 when playing them outside of the U.S.

- U.S. Men’s National Team Match Report –

Match: U.S. Men’s National Team vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Date: Nov. 17, 2015
Competition: 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying – Semifinal Round
Venue: Hasely Crawford Stadium; Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
Kickoff: 6:30 p.m. ET
Attendance: TBA
Weather: 81 degrees; Partly cloudy

Teams

USA: 12-Tim Howard, 16-Michael Orozco, 20-Geoff Cameron, 5-Matt Besler, 3-Tim Ream (6-Darlington Nagbe, 68), 2-DeAndre Yedlin, 13-Jermaine Jones, 4-Michael Bradley (capt.), 23-Fabian Johnson, 9-Gyasi Zardes (18-Bobby Wood, 76), 17-Jozy Altidore

Subs Not Used: 1-Brad Guzan, 7-Miguel Ibarra, 8-Jordan Morris, 10-Mix Diskerud, 11-Brek Shea, 14-Matt Miazga, 15-Kyle Beckerman, 19-Ventura Alvarado, 21-Alan Gordon, 22-Bill Hamid

Head Coach: Jurgen Klinsmann

TRI: 21-Jan-Michael Williams, 4-Sheldon Bateau, 5-Daniel Cyrus, 17-Mekeli Williams (16-Justin Hoyte, 76), 6-Radanfah Abu Bakr, 19-Kevan George, 8-Khaleem Hyland, 3-Joevin Jones, 14-Andre Boucaud (20-Keron Cummings, 82), 13- Cordell Cato (11-Trevin Caesar, 85), 9-Kenwyne Jones (capt.)

Subs Not Used: 1-Marvin Phillip, 10-Willis Plaza, 15-Neveal Hackshaw, 23-Lester Peltier, 7-Johnathan Glenn, 2-David Aubrey, 12-Carlyle Mitchell, 18-Yohance Marshall

Head coach: Stephen Hart

Stats Summary: USA / TRI
Shots: 7 / 10
Shots on Goal: 2 / 4
Saves: 4 / 2
Corner Kicks: 7 / 2
Fouls: 12 / 12
Offside: 3 / 1

Misconduct Summary:

USA – DeAndre Yedlin (caution)      45+1st minute
USA – Jermaine Jones (caution)         49

Officials:

Referee: Cesar Ramos (MEX)                                                                                   
Assistant Referee 1: Miguel Hernandez (MEX)                                           
Assistant Referee 2: Juan Joel Rangel (MEX)                                   
Fourth Official: Oscar Macias (MEX)   

Warriors stay unbeaten after fine display in 0-0 draw with USA
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Team stretched their unbeaten record to five matches with an impressive and strong showing in tonight’s 2018 CONCACAF semi-final round World Cup qualifier before a packed Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The game had all the ingredients of proper international football match and there was a tremendous atmosphere in the stadium from start to finish.

T&T are second in the group with four points behind the US (4 points) and ahead of Guatemala (3 pts) which trounced St Vincent/Grenadines 4-0 tonight

“I thought the players left everything out on the pitch tonight,” Stephen Hart said.

“They pushed themselves from the start and they never let up. I was really impressed with the way we handled the game but while a point is good I felt we had the chance to get the win tonight. But we’ll take it and now we have the rest of games to look forward to next year. I would have ideally loved to be going into the next set of games with six points but we’ve got four and we’ll work with that,” Hart added.

T&T captain Kenwyne Jones added: “The team really came out and give a fighting display and I don’t think anyone can be disappointed with what we have on the pitch tonight. It’s a good position to be in after two matches but we have a lot to look forward to still and we have got to stay together and keeping building as a team.

“The game itself was a good one in the sense that we showed that we could hold our own and we can compete with some of the best and I think we have been showing signs of this and great progress over the past two years or so. I think this is a good period for us and we have to keep pushing on from here,” Jones added.

A report in the Washington Post read ” World Cup qualifying is a two-year grind, pulling the U.S. men’s national soccer team to far-off destinations across Central America and the Caribbean.

These away exercises are not designed for artistic endeavors; rather, they are trials of composure and concentration. If everything goes just right, victory might be there for the taking. Most of the time, though, a draw will suffice.

Jurgen Klinsmann’s crew made few memories Tuesday, but with a 0-0 draw against Trinidad and Tobago at Hasely Crawford Stadium, the Americans passed their first road test of the 2018 qualifying cycle and remained atop the CONCACAF semifinal-round group.

The Americans did not create many opportunities, particularly in a drab first half, but they came closest to scoring after intermission as Gyasi Zardes and Jermaine Jones hit the crossbar.

“You know they are always going to be hard games,” captain Michael Bradley said. “You know they are not always going to be pretty. We’ve been through it before. We know what it’s like.

“If you are able to take your chance, the result can look different. If you can’t, it’s vital you are defensively solid and, at worst, come away 0-0. In those ways, it was a professional performance.”

The outcome left the United States atop the Group C quartet with a 1-0-1 record and four points. Trinidad and Tobago boasts the same numbers but trails on goal differential. Two teams will advance to the final round of regional qualifying next year.

Guatemala (1-1-0) kept pace with a 4-0 victory at St. Vincent and the Grenadines, which has conceded 10 consecutive goals since taking an early lead against the US.

The stop in Port of Spain rekindled memories of the 1989 meeting that decided a World Cup berth. The Americans have visited several times since, but almost 26 years to the day they dashed local World Cup dreams with a 1-0 victory, the pain remains fresh.

“Overall, a tie is all right,” said U.S. Coach Juergen Klinsmann.

This encounter fell very early in the qualifying cycle, leaving ample room for error. Still, after an invigorating performance at the Gold Cup this summer and a 2-1 victory at Guatemala in the group opener, the Soca Warriors saw a wonderful opportunity to further their cause on home ground.

In the hours before kickoff, the stadium was a festival of sound (rapid-fire percussion and soca rhythms) and color (red, red and more red). The scene was set for a T&T fete.

The Soca Warriors were quicker and more clever with the ball in the first half. The U.S. central midfield tandem of Bradley and Jones wasn’t synchronized.

For the most part, the Americans were forced to chase the game. There was nothing dynamic about their approach. Passing was impure. They absorbed pressure and sought to counterattack, fleeting opportunities stalling in the thick seaside air.

The Soca Warriors were the more vibrant side, but at home, they had to be. A home draw against the group favorites would not cripple T&T’s efforts, but such golden opportunities should not be misused.

The match almost turned dramatically two minutes after intermission, but Zardes’s running header on Jozy Altidore’s cross crashed off the crossbar.

It was the start of a much-improved half by the Americans, who bettered their possession game and tightened defensively. Geoff Cameron and Matt Besler made a strong case to remain Klinsmann’s primary center backs into 2016.

In his first significant action since returning from a one-year international sabbatical, World Cup star Tim Howard did not have to make any difficult saves.

Howard’s counterpart, Jan Michael Williams, preserved the tie in the 78th minute by getting a slight touch on Jones’s roaring shot from distance — off his hand and then off the crossbar.

Said Howard: “Exactly how we figured it would go — tight game, point on the road, all is well.”

T&T, USA in Goalless draw.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The United States and Trinidad and Tobago played to a 0-0 draw in their CONCACAF World Cup semifinal qualifying match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, last night, which puts both teams on four points following two Group C matches.

The US was largely outplayed in the first 45 minutes, with T&T generating the better of the chances, but Jurgen Klinsmann’s team did show signs of life in the second half.

Joevin Jones nearly gave T&T the lead in opening minute, when Kenwyne Jones played a diagonal ball back to him at the top of the US penalty area, but the Chicago Fire player’s attempt went over the crossbar.

In the 13th minute, Kenwyne Jones made a nice spinning move to his right and fired a shot that would have beaten US goalkeeper Tim Howard. However, the 18-yard effort missed wide to the left.

The best two chances for the US were both from long range. Fabian Johnson struck a nice line drive from 20 yards in the 19th minute, but the ball went right to goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams. Jozy Altidore’s dipping volley a minute later went over the goal.

Cordell Cato had another chance on goal for the hosts in the 26th minute. The speedy midfielder was played through by Khaleem Hyland, but his right-footed shot was off target.

In the opening minutes of the second half, Altidore found strike partner Gyasi Zardes with a curling ball across goal, but the LA Galaxy player’s headed attempt slammed off the crossbar.

That led to a counter-attack for T&T, as Jones sprinted down the left side of the field and played a nice ball across, but none of his teammates could reach it.

Joevin Jones had back-to-back chances in the 64th minute. The 24-year-old’s headed attempt was not hit cleanly, but he secured the rebound and fired a solid left-footed shot right at Howard.

US coach Jurgen Klinsmann went to his bench in the 68th minute, substituting defender Tim Ream for Portland Timbers’ midfielder Darlington Nagbe. Bobby Wood came on for Zardes in the 75th minute.

Jermaine Jones saw his thunderous strike from 35 yards tipped just over the bar by Williams. The US couldn’t capitalise from the ensuing corner kick.

Howard got his first competitive start for the United States since last year’s World Cup, and right-back Michael Orozco also was inserted into the American lineup.

The US resumes World Cup qualifying with a home-and-home series against Guatemala on Friday, March 25, and Tuesday, March 29.

« Last Edit: November 19, 2015, 10:52:41 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T, USA in Goalless draw.
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2015, 05:31:33 AM »
WATCH: Post-match comments from Radanfah Abu Bakr
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/aBjg48PNV7M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/aBjg48PNV7M</a>

WATCH: Post-match comments from USA Head Coach Jürgen Klinsmann
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/tIq8VkBzkdg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/tIq8VkBzkdg</a>

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 06:14:21 AM »
All 10 U.S. matches against Trinidad & Tobago in Port of Spain have been decided by a goal or less.

very interesting stat.

Well done Warriors

« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2015, 06:31:59 AM »
How de hell we could play for a draw and we home?

They begging for support and de last 3 games we play home we cah score one goal or we playing like we fraid?

We have to win our home games, we cant be hoping for other results. USA was open for de picking.

Say what, a point better than none.

Well done T&T but ah just hope it eh come back and bite we in we ass.

We defence look better but USA wasn't no big test.

We need 12 points to guarantee us, right allyuh??

USA score 6 goals so far.

Guatemala score 5 goals so far.

T&T score 2 goals so far.

So when St Vincent start playing defence and put 7 man in defence when they play us, wha go happen now?

I real sour, but not ungratefully, better luck next time T&T.

Ah still happy, them fellas look decent and try they best.

Kenwyne, George, Boucaud, Joevin, Sheldon and Abu hold it down nice.

« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 06:40:46 AM by Sam »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2015, 07:22:59 AM »

They begging for support and de last 3 games we play home we cah score one goal or we playing like we fraid?

We have to win our home games, we cant be hoping for other results. USA was open for de picking.

So when St Vincent start playing defence and put 7 man in defence when they play us, wha go happen now?

U contradict urself a lot, bring positive and negative switches. But I understand ur points strange enough and enjoy reading ur posts. SVG doesn't know how to defend though, all out attack might be needed for them because the will really put a lot of men behind the ball

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2015, 08:33:50 AM »
This result has simplified things

If TnT wins the next two games vs St Vincent and the U.S. wins its next two games vs Guatemala, then both teams would be through to the HEX with two games to spare.

« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2015, 08:37:29 AM »
This result has simplified things

If TnT wins the next two games vs St Vincent and the U.S. wins its next two games vs Guatemala, then both teams would be through to the HEX with two games to spare.

Correct! Once we stay the course our place in the Hex will be booked.

« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2015, 08:59:15 AM »
Real like the effort Abu does ress dong. Man does try his best in the colors for sure.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2015, 09:03:17 AM »
Suffice it to say that the warriors performed beyond my expectations last night. Impressive performance indeed!  :applause:

Incidentally, I cannot help but wonder why the names of the TT players are not printed on their jerseys.

Also, a potentially dangerous situation existed at the point of entry to the stadium whereby there were absolutely no crowd control measures in place and the hundreds/thousands of patrons were in a bundled state, like cattle, moving along the roadway towards the entrance of 5 lanes (I seem to recall) for initial screening. Thankfully there were no untoward circumstances, as far as I am aware.

All best to TT. 

« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2015, 09:18:18 AM »
Incidentally, I cannot help but wonder why the names of the TT players are not printed on their jerseys.

Maybe they don't have enough jerseys. What if a player wanted to do a "cambia", TTFA might make him get back the jersey.

Also, a potentially dangerous situation existed at the point of entry to the stadium whereby there were absolutely no crowd control measures in place and the hundreds/thousands of patrons were in a bundled state, like cattle, moving along the roadway towards the entrance of 5 lanes (I seem to recall) for initial screening. Thankfully there were no untoward circumstances, as far as I am aware.

As much as we will put blame on TTFA for this, because it is their responsibility for WC, the stadium authority should know how to handle a situation like this by now. We have had many WC and big fetes at this venue. Why do we keep hearing complaints of shoddy security and crowd control?

« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2015, 09:39:23 AM »
Thank God I didn't go to that game.

As far as results goes, congrats guys.

The team have lots of potential that we are yet to see.

Good job Mr Hart.

« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2015, 09:52:49 AM »
Good focusing Andre Samuel. Iz all about the math.
If that scenario happens then the last two games will be gems with T&T more free to play more attacking football vs Guatemala at home & against USA in USA.
Of course our reputation is still important and I know Hart will not be careless
Anyway, we won't get ahead if ourselves. One game at a time.
Operation Haiti in Jan for the Copa then St Vincent!

« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2015, 11:56:11 AM »

« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2015, 12:26:23 PM »

we couldn't commit more than we committed last night mate. most of the game our central defenders were out of position in the attack leaving ourselves open for a counter, that is how much we pushed for the win.

if i was to blame anyone then i would have to pick on cato because he saw the lion share of the goal scoring opportunity, and let me be the first to say that his touches and finishing needs a lot of work for an attacking player.

jovin jones himself should have finished that clear shot he had in the first minute and should have placed it instead of going for power. we have st vincent next and the worst we could do is get 4 points from that outing.

then we have guatemala at home whom we should at least take a point from if not more. so no need to panic we haven't lost a game as of yet. just look at it this way, it's like we won our home game and got a point on the road. and this might auger well for our boys not having them get besides their self. they still need to remain a little hungry and desperate and not get too complaisant.  we in a good position man.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 12:29:22 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2015, 04:37:43 PM »
If we make it to de next rounds, we will definitely need to win ALL of our home games though, we cah play like Chelsea.

De entire team did their job.

Cato didn't have a good game, but ah still prefer him over Peltier.

Cummings shoulda start in a 442 formation.

« Reply #15 on: November 18, 2015, 05:46:12 PM »
went on big soccer only to see those swell headed yankee carrying on like somebody rob them. they actually thought that they out played us and should have won the game with their two silly chances. if jovin kenwin and cato had only took their chances well they would have been singing a different tune, like fire kilinsman now.

my belief is that klinsman would either walk away or he would be fired before their next game, just you wait and see. i think he just might quit with his german pride and all.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 05:51:13 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #16 on: November 18, 2015, 07:55:06 PM »
Cato shudda be subbed off for Cummings or Glenn

Offline toonmili

« Reply #18 on: November 18, 2015, 09:00:29 PM »
Fire Klinsmann for what.  Americans are unrealistic about their talent pool.  All their players want to run away and play in the MLS because they don't cut it in Europe.  Then they are surprised when their quality is falling.  They are going to make the hex, and win it.  What more do they want from him.  When he got the team they were not even doing that.
They are not world beaters because they don't have any real outstanding talant.  They like to take young players and hype them up (Freddie Adu,  Brek Shea anyone) until they crash and burn,  how many times have we seen this.  And they are doing it again with Zardes , Wood and Morris.  No one is next great American hope until they sign a contract with a top 4 English,  Spanish or German side and start consistently (not as GK) .  Landon Donovan could not even cut it at Bayern and he is their best player ever.  Being proud of  'murica can only get you so far.  They need skills. The only American with that natural skill is Dempsey.  They try teach talent too much.  You either have it or not. 
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 10:12:09 PM by toonmili »

« Reply #19 on: November 18, 2015, 10:57:06 PM »
For those of you who missed seeing it live, here is the FULL MATCH between Trinidad and Tobago and the United States.

Trinidad And Tobago vs USA - Nov 17, 2015 (WC Qualifier) - Full Match
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/aln_y3LUXVY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/aln_y3LUXVY</a>

« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2015, 12:03:42 AM »
I have no doubt we will be winning our home games...also have no doubt we will be winning more games on the road.

Playing at home can be more stressful for the players.

Hart's tactical prowess is second to none..he needs help though...he is doing a lot of work...and sometimes cannot get everything done.

All his decisions so far ...spot on..Abu is a wonderful defender...it's a blessing to have a #4 who can pass the ball so well.

« Reply #21 on: November 19, 2015, 02:49:36 AM »
La Forrest: ‘Soca Warriors’ need to be more hungry for goals.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

There is now a call for attacking players on the T&T ‘Soca Warriors’ team to be a lot more hungry and thirsty when it comes to scoring goals.

This call comes from former national striker Ron La Forrest who expressed the view that the T&T team should have beaten the United States in the first half alone, of Tuesday’s World Cup Qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo. The teams played to a goalless draw which means they have both gotten a point each which took them to four points after two matches in the qualifiers.

The US team will now face Guatemala in their next match while the ‘Soca Warriors’ will come up against minnows St Vincent and the Granadines next. However, La Forrest who is considered one of the better goalscorers to have graced the colours of the red, white and black of T&T feels the Stephen Hart-led Warriors should not be in this position presently, had they converted the chances that came their way.

He singled out inspirational midfielder Joevin Jones who received a golden opportunity in only the first minute of the match when his name-sake Kenwyne Jones was fed a ball down the right flank and instead of shooting, he pulled it back for the onrushing Jones (Joevin) to spoon his shot over the bar. La Forrest said “He should have at least put that one away because opportunities that come do not ever come back again” La Forrest said.

The Warriors also could have scored when Kenwyne Jones turned nicely on his marker in the heart of the US defence but saw his shot just whisked past the right upright of US goalkeeper Tim Howard in the 13th minute. And later in the 25th minute speedy striker Cordell Cato sped past two US defenders from an earlier Jones (Kenwyne) delivery but miscued his attempt wide of the post.

La Forrest said full advantage must be taken when opportunities like these come. “I think our attackers definitely need to be more hungry and thirsty in front of goal. We have to be more forceful when we are playing in front our home fans and make visiting opponents afraid of us,” La Forrest explained. He however praised the T&T team for another good performance, saying “It is the first time in a long while I have seen a T&T team dominate an American team like that in the first half. I have not seen that in a long time, but the other side of this is scoring the goals when they come.”

T&T also had a good chance at scoring late in the second half when Jones (Joevin), on another of his trademark runs down the right flank, centred for Cordell Cato in the 64th minute, but the latter saw harm from the outstretched boot of a US defender and pulled away.

In giving his analysis of the game La Forrest said the US team also had a number of chances in the second period of the match and also could have won it.

He feels coach Hart should have brought in defensive midfielder Neveal Hackshaw much earlier as the Americans did their homework at the half-time interval and enjoyed most of the chances in the second half. “They were getting behind our backs consistently in the second half and I thought Hart should have realised this earlier and given them something to think about, which was to bring in a defensive man to stifle their attack” La Forrest explained.

RELATED NEWS

‘Gally’, La Forest want more clinical TT
By JOEL BAILEY (NEWSDAY).

FORMER NATIONAL footballers and coaches Everard “Gally” Cummings and Ron La Forest were both pleased with the showing of the Trinidad and Tobago team in their 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Fourth Round Group C encounter against the United States.

The match ended in a goalless draw at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Tuesday.

According to Cummings, “I thought it was a very good game.

I thought in the first minute of the game we should have scored. We let the Americans off the hook a lot of times.

“All in all, I think the Americans played too comfortable,” added the former TT midfielder and Strike Squad coach. “I think we should have put more pressure on them.

“We have an attacking style of play and I think that is missing in (TT) football right now. When you have somebody to hang, you hang them. We let them off the hook too many times but, all in all, it was a good result for us. And I think this performance augurs well for the future.” Trinidad and Tobago were noticeably slower, in terms of their intensity, in the second half.

Cummings noted, “(the US) had a header that hit the post.

“What happened is a cultural habit,” he continued. “We always start too slow. If you go to the workplace in Trinidad and Tobago, productivity starts an hour or two after. What you see here is a piece of the cloth. We always start slow in a lot of things. If we can (improve) that in our everyday lives, in the workplace, we’ll be a more productive country.” The Stephen Hart-coached squad will face St Vincent and the Grenadines in a pair of Group C games, on March 25 and 29.

And Cummings hopes that the technical staff utilise that time frame to look at newer players.

“There are always better players if you look around,” he said.

“Sometimes you may think you have the best team and there might have players out there who you may have to look at. As a coach, you never stop looking and scouting for talent.” The Hall of Famer also spoke of the need for more clinical finishing by the attacking players.

“I think the last chance that we had, when Joevin Jones hit the ball across, a blind man could have seen he was going to put it across,” Cummings said. “All you had to do was position yourself and we’d have an easy goal. That ball went straight across the field.

“I think we have to learn more about goalscoring, we need to concentrate a lot more on finishing,” he pointed out. “We defend with everybody and I think we need to attack with everybody.” La Forest, the ex-TT striker and Under-17 coach, in his analysis of the game, stated, “we’ll take the point for starters, but I felt we should have won the game from the first half.

“In the second half, we (saw) America take over the game,” he added. “It’s a game of two halves.

The second half, America take over the game, (our) shoulders dropped then, coming down to the last 20 minutes I think we brought back the game to balance. I think we should have won the game in the final (play), the cross ball that Joevin Jones sent in.” La Forest refuted claims that fatigue may have been a reason for the second half display by the hosts. “They’re professional footballers.

Tired is out of the question.

This is their job, this is what they’re getting paid to do.” About the latter pair of substitutes, Keron Cummings and Trevin Casesar, La Forest noted, “what I’ve seen, they bring a great punch to the team. I think Stephen Hart will take a look at them again, in terms of the timing of bringing them on. Those two made a big difference to us.”

« Last Edit: November 19, 2015, 03:52:23 AM by Flex »

« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2015, 03:34:12 AM »
Hart: We let them off the hook.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

“We let them off the hook.” This is how national coach Stephen Hart feels about Tuesday’s key World Cup Qualifying encounter against the United States at the Hasely Crawford Stadium which ended in a goalless draw.

“Yesterday the coach said we should have scored as least two goals in the first 15 minutes of the game. “We had three clear cut opportunities, two of which should have been converted but it just did not happen. The one when Kenwyne Jones squared back the ball for Joevin Jones on top the area, really should have been put in. And again when Cordell Cato got between two US defenders and shot....I think that too should have been converted,” Hart said.

The T&T team enjoyed almost total domination of the game, particularly in the first half of the game, much to the delight of the sold-out crowd that made their way to the venue. Football pundits have described it as a display unlike any other by a T&T team against USA, but Hart said the team played to its potential.

Hart, who is responsible for a string of excellent performances by the T&T over the past months, in the midst of a turbulent time in the sport’s administration, did not sound worried about the result but impressed upon the need to convert opportunities when they come.

In front of the proverbial “Sea of Red” the Soca Warriors were expected to score at least once. And Hart in pointing out some of the clear cut chances the team enjoyed, also singled out Cato’s missed header in the 64th minute of the match.

From this play, Jones (Joevin) raced clear down the right flank and centred for an unmarked Cato who was thrown off by a US defender’s attempt to challenge for the ball. Hart said an international player such as Cato should never have missed such an opportunity.

He also pointed out that despite the US having more of the possession in the second half of play the T&T was not penetrated and congratulated them for holding their own against their counterparts. After back pedalling for the entire first period, Jurgen Klinsmann’s men looked a renewed team after the resumption and created a number of chances.

“They definitely could have scored but had we scored at least the two goals, we would have had them against the ropes,” Hart said. He made it clear that though they were outplayed, his team was not penetrated by the US and congratulated them for the manner in which they were able to contain them and still create opportunities.

RELATED NEWS

TT coach heartened
By COLIN BENJAMIN (NEWSDAY).

Head coaches of the Trinidad and Tobago and United States teams Stephen Hart and Jurgen Klinsmann have both stated their satisfaction at securing a draw in their Group C, 2018 World Cup qualifier on Tuesday evening at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

After both sides defeated Guatemala and St Vincent & Grenadines in respective opening matches, the 0-0 draw leaves both teams in pole position to qualify for the “Hex” Hexagonal stage.

However, speaking at the post match press conference on Tuesday, both coaches interpreted how the proceedings went differently.

“To be honest I think we let them off the hook”, stated TT coach Hart, who was quite animated on the touchline in the second half as the Americans put their hosts under some pressure.

“I was pleased with our overall performance and I thought we controlled the game. Even in the second half when it seemed like they were controlling the game, they didn’t penetrate us with anything significant plays,” he added.

“It was a very tricky game,” said Klinsmann, “I think Trinidad and Tobago started well and played the physical game we expected of them as an improving CONCACAF side and in general what we expect to deal with versus such teams on the road in these qualifiers.”

The former Germany striker and coach continued: “However after 25 minutes, we took over and there were chances on both sides and I think we had the clearest one with Gyasi (Zardes) and Jermaine (Jones) hitting the post. But a tie is alright and it keeps us first in the group on goal difference.” Klinsmann chose to controversially leave out star forward Clint Dempsey for their two qualifiers and when questioned by media about that, the German defended Dempsey’s replacement Zardes.

“He has the smell for it, the fact that he is making those runs and getting into right positions means that he is on the right track as an attacker.” Meanwhile, Hart revealed that he had been planning for a while to play the midfield trio of Kevan George, Andre Boucaud and Khaleem Hyland together with Hyland further advanced. He also thanked the fans for coming out in large numbers.

“We have been working on playing that trio in this game for a while, but of course we didn’t want to make it obvious in friendly matches. They have a great understanding and move the ball around crisply. When Khaleem was high up the pitch, their two centre backs (Geoff Cameron and Matt Besler) struggled.

We started playing in front of them and it was possession for possession’s sake.

“I felt we should have put them under a little more pressure. The turnout and support was fantastic.

When they began singing the national anthem, it was very emotional and I thank them for that,” Hart concluded.

Before the next home and away qualifiers versus St Vincent and Grenadines in March 25th and 29th, the “Warriors” play Haiti on January 8 in Panama in a Copa America 2016 play-off.

Hart revealed he will hope to have camp starting on Boxing Day and hopes to have discussions with the Pro League clubs for usage of players and other matters.

« Reply #23 on: November 19, 2015, 07:21:52 AM »
LaForest or LaForrest, which one media guys? Is one "r" guys.

« Reply #24 on: November 19, 2015, 07:51:20 AM »
Cato shudda be subbed off for Cummings or Glenn

Ditto

The US Soccer report said:
With the draw, the U.S. and Trinidad & Tobago sit tied atop CONCACAF Qualifying Group C with four points each. Earlier Tuesday, Guatemala gained their first points of Semifinal Round Qualifying with a 4-0 away win at St. Vincent and the Grenadines to move into third with three points, while St. Vincent is last with zero.

The USA controlled the match and produced a number of chances. Two of those opportunities were the collective efforts of the starting forward tandem, Jozy Altidore and Gyasi Zardes. In the 29th minute Altidore made an excellent flowing move down the right flank and lofted a ball across, which a breaking Zardes missed getting a touch to by only fractions. In the second half the duo was at it again, with Altidore making a move on the right and floating a ball to the back post which Zardes headed off the bar in the 47th minute.

What match was he watching? Only the first 30 minutes of the second half, I guess!

« Reply #25 on: November 19, 2015, 07:52:49 AM »
And pronounced La Foray! with accent on the "a", like hooray!!
Daiz for de non-trinis & non-hatians reading.

« Reply #26 on: November 19, 2015, 07:54:07 AM »
Cato was great. Doh study dem.

« Reply #27 on: November 19, 2015, 08:27:31 AM »
I have no doubt we will be winning our home games...also have no doubt we will be winning more games on the road.

Playing at home can be more stressful for the players.

Hart's tactical prowess is second to none..he needs help though...he is doing a lot of work...and sometimes cannot get everything done.

All his decisions so far ...spot on..Abu is a wonderful defender...it's a blessing to have a #4 who can pass the ball so well.
Cosign

« Reply #28 on: November 19, 2015, 08:33:01 AM »
When you have somebody to hang, you hang them. We let them off the hook too many times but, all in all, it was a good result for us. And I think this performance augurs well for the future.” Trinidad and Tobago were noticeably slower, in terms of their intensity, in the second half.

And Cummings hopes that the technical staff utilise that time frame to look at newer players.

“There are always better players if you look around,” he said.

“Sometimes you may think you have the best team and there might have players out there who you may have to look at. As a coach, you never stop looking and scouting for talent.” The Hall of Famer also spoke of the need for more clinical finishing by the attacking players.

Some VERY good points by Gally here.

You have someone to beat, you beat them especially in games you need to win and home games.

The 4-5-1 formation and consistently keeping 1 or 2 decent strikers on the bench is also a concern.

Hart is getting comfortable with his team and sometimes that's not good.

Its always good to continue to seek new players and I am not saying the ones we have are no good, so guys, don't jump on me.

But using the same players all the time is not good.

Still want to say thank you though, Hart has done a excellent job so far.

« Last Edit: November 19, 2015, 08:35:48 AM by Errol »

« Reply #29 on: November 19, 2015, 10:32:03 AM »
WATCH: Scenes from Trinidad and Tobago’s final training session before the recent World Cup Qualifier against the United States
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/p0WwBrmjzYQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/p0WwBrmjzYQ</a>